223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Murray Resort Park / Elephant Rock was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (580) 223-4044
CGID2241

Lake Murray Resort Park / Elephant Rock

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   8   9   10   7   10   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$21
This is a beautiful park on the edge of Lake Murray. The pull through sites are level and it does have a number of sites with nice trees between them. The campground hosts are friendly and helpful. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
We chose this park randomly, we were leaving Dallas early afternoon and wanted to find somewhere not too far away. We checked our Allstays iPad app and this park was noted. As always we check out other 'campers' reviews and thought this one sounded pretty good. We arrived and were absolutely delighted! This park is an absolute gem! The sites are wide and long and pretty level, the hook ups perfect and each site has a grill and a fire pit! We called ahead and were told to just go and pick our own spot and that the camp hosts would be along later in the day to collect our camping fee. There were so many wonderful sites we drove around a couple of times before deciding. There are some sites directly on the lakeside, some nestled in the trees and some more appropriate for a big rig like ours. We were initially only going to stay for 3 days but extended for another 2. Peaceful, well maintained, beautiful sun sets, plenty of wildlife and walking trails and the cheapest laundry we have encountered on our 3 months of travelling. Camp hosts are friendly and provided us with plenty of information about the surrounding area. They are also currently expanding the park and building more sites. Fantastic! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$21
Really liked the sites next to the lake. First time here and will be back next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$21
All the sites had level concrete pads and nice separations between sites. Restroom was clean . They have a laundry on site. We will be coming back to stay. Wish they would allow reservations though. Would have given this site a 10 if reservations were allowed We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$12
This is our favorite RV park. We come here at least twice a year. Sites are flat, well spaced and clean. Trails and lake access is wonderful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Nice park.Lots of shade.Very clean. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$21
This is one of our favorite stops. It is a state park campground with excellent facilities for a large rig. We parked a 36' coach with towed vehicle and did not have to unhook the towed vehicle. The pads are level concrete and the utilities are placed well for hooking up. There is plenty of room on the gravel portion of the pull through sites to park another vehicle. There are nearby trails through the woods where the dog enjoys walks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
We really liked this park, and would stay here again. Restrooms were clean, park is clean, and the cement pads were a definite plus. We rode around to the other parks at Murray on our motorcycle, and would say this is the nicest park Murray has. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Beautiful and probably the cleanest State park we've stayed in. Access for big rigs is excellent and the concrete pads are very level with long sites for parking towables. Many shaded sites with shrubs providing additional lateral privacy and plenty of room for slideouts. Elephant Rock is first come first served basis only. The other Park RV areas not as clean but are reservable. Great boating, fishing, golf available. Low handicappers may choose to travel a few miles to Chickasaw Pointe. We stayed 3 days in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
I really enjoyed this park. We got in on a Friday afternoon and got one of the last waterfront parks available. We were able to jump right out of the RV and swim in the lake. The water was unbelievably clean! The part that sucked was the pool (which we couldn't use) was too far away anyways, they should open that up to RV'ers. Otherwise it was a nice place with a great view plenty of spots to choose from. We'll go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
Very nice state park with clean restrooms and showers. You do need to pay to use the showers, but the rates are reasonable and I'd wager a guess that the fee is the reason the showers and restrooms are as nice as they are. Many of the sites have excellent shade trees, and the Lake is very accessible. We will probably camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
This is a good destination site for lake recreation. Our site was gravel and concrete. It was spacious, level, and had good access to hookups. Entry and exit were easy. Parking near hookups requires detaching the towed vehicle. There were lots of trails and grass for walking the dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$21
A wonderful family friendly state park. Stayed with kids and grandkids and found plenty to do and keep everyone happy. Sites at the Elephant Rock campground are level with lots of grass space in between. Secluded sites among the trees are available as well as sites at the waterfront. Staff was friendly and willing to help. The park is a real bargain and a wonderful place to stay. Put this one is on the must stay list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$19
Great park with good bike/hike trails. Verizon cell coverage was adequate. Very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
Moved here after scary experience at KOA down the road. Elephant Rock is excellent, paved level sites, good hook ups, clean, overlooking lake, large spots that were easy to get in and out of. Very peaceful in the evenings, at least in January which is the off-season for the Park. I highly recommend this site to anyone RV'ing big or small. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
Very nice campground, some pull through's, very nice sites surrounding the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$21
This is a great place to stay. The only complaint I have is that my cell phone did not have good coverage (Sprint PCS). They have a nice park for the kids and nice hiking/biking trails. They don't take reservations so if you are staying the weekend, try to get there by Thursday. Also, you pay at the site, they will come around in a golf cart, so just drive in and find you spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
We were on our way to Kansas and stopped at Lake Murray for the night. It was very easy to get to from I-35. Camp Hosts were great and very helpful. We drove farther than we planned on our way back to Texas just to stay there. Outstanding State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$19
Great state park campground. Swimming, boating and hiking available. Large sites with great privacy in addition to waterfront sites. Very busy and no reservations but well worth the trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$19
Have nice concrete pull thru with full hookup. For a weekend stop, need to get there early Thursday to get a full hookup site.Swimming pool at Lake Murray lodge. Very quite. The lake is about 4 to 5 miles from I-35. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$18
Very pretty park area! Several of the sites allow viewing lake out back windows with the rear of the 5th wheel almost hanging over the water. Good roads into park, large level gravel sites with picnic tables and shade trees. We stayed one night, mid week and only had 8 other RVs there. Convenient to I35 and we will plan to stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$19
We really enjoy Elephant Rock. Lots of trails for cycling/walking/jogging. Nice shady spots, most with decent privacy. Close to Lake Murray Lodge for typical lodge activities, swimming, mini-golf, paddle boats, pool, horseback riding, marina. Lots of restaurants in Ardmore as well. Only problem is that it fills up fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$19
Lake Murray Resort is a huge state-run complex with several campgrounds spread out around a 25 mile loop road around the lake. The campgrounds vary in age and facilities. We stayed in a newly developed CG next to the All Terrain Vehicle course (a third full-hookup facility in addition to those mentioned in earlier posts). Had a large, level concrete pad with trees and full hookups for $19 a night. However, I wouldn't recommend this particular CG unless you are an ATV fan. Finding a good site at Lake Murray can be confusing for first time visitors as each campground is separately maintained and you can wander for hours looking at the various options. The main ranger station can provide general information. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Stayed in Elephant Rock Campground. It was very nice! All roads were paved and park was very clean. Backed into a site that was ten feet from lake. Site was large and concrete. Site had table and built in bbq. 50 amp power was new and modern. Site was satellite friendly. Look forward to staying at park when it is not raining. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$18
Two of the camping areas in the park have full hookups. (Elephant Rock and Rock Tower.) Marrietta Landing (where we stayed), is at the south end of the lake. Showers/restrooms were very clean. Sites are gravel but surprisingly level. The park does have a lodge, restaurant, marina, tennis courts, horse stable, golf course, and airport. Definitely one of the best state parks in Oklahoma. The lake is very clean and clear. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$18
Oklahoma has 7 Resort parks in the State Park system. This was a beautiful well maintained area. Lake Murray has several campgrounds but only two with sewer hookups. The water front sites do not have sewer and cost more per night. Reservations are accepted only on some preferred sites. Golf course, tennis courts and a lodge are near by if that is your thing. This is the kind of place that will spoil you and lower your rating on other places. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com