214768 User submitted reviews online!!
MarVal Family Camping Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (918) 489-2295
CGID2260

MarVal Family Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
148
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   9   9   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Very low hanging tree branches on the county road to the park and within the park kept me from rating higher. Park managers seemed unconcerned about the trees on the county road saying it was not their problem. The park seemed to have quite a few permanent residents, but the place is very clean, with good sized level sites. Lots of family activities. One surprise was the lack of trash receptacles - you had to go to the far end of the park to find one. Aside from the tree branches and lack of trash bins, it was a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
Very nice friendly staff. Nice level sites. The trees could stand a trimming to avoid the roofs of taller trailers. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$26
Rate reflects the Good Sam discount. This campground continues not to disappoint! We managed to call after hours to get a spot at the last minute and after a returned phone call (10 minutes tops)we had reservations. Lot's of amenities for kids. Staff had exceptional attitudes. Elec worked as supposed to with very stable power. Concrete level parking pad. Lot's of space between sites. This was a great camping experience! We camp here regularly (2x this year). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Awesome park! Lots of activities for the kids. There is a swimming pool with a splash park. They have recently added a water balloon station. Frisbee golf has been added as well. Trout fishing in the river is excellent. We like the central location of the campground so close to the many lakes and rivers in the area. Within minutes you can be at Lake Tenkiller, Greenleaf State Park, Arkansas River, and of course the Lower Illinois River which runs right through the campground. Can't say enough about this gem. We definitely will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$38
A friendly, well-run, and lovely place to camp. The folks were very helpful; we had an escort to our pull-through space. A neighbor lent us a socket wrench and helped us with a water connection. The restrooms and showers are immaculate, and the entire campground looks like a fun place to be in the high season. We would definitely consider making this a destination campground. We've had a very nice overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$49
Park is beautiful. There are cottages and RV slots. Our space is a little small for a 39-ft rig but they did accommodate us at the last minute and the space they wanted to give us was unexpectedly occupied. The ground has more of a slope than I would like, it's hard to get our 5'er level without lifting the tires off the ground. If they have pull through sites, they don't have a river view that I can tell. That aside, the staff is very friendly and the river view is very nice to wake up to. There is a small store at the office and lots of activity centers. The town of Gore is somewhat small but there is a grocery store, a small cafe, pizza joint, and a hardware store. People are very nice here but it is somewhat remote. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$42
Outstanding family park! We got a free night because we stayed 5 nights. All reviews have pretty much covered everything. The pool was closed, but it looked very nice. So many activities for children! There were huge rains when we were there. It would help if a little more gravel could be spread; some of the cabins had loblollies around them, but the kids had a great time even though the Trail of Terror had to be cancelled because of the rain. That and the location of the trash were the only things that needed to be improved. We definitely want to come back. Everyone was extremely friendly. The Sunday morning breakfast was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
Our second time at Marval with an RV Group. We enjoyed it so much we will be back in October. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
Good Sam rate for a pull-thru full hookup. This is a family destination Park, even though we only used it for a one-nighter. Six-miles off I-40, quiet at night. Our site was a level concrete pad, shade trees, fire pit and picnic table. Lots and lots of stuff for kids do do, and the Illinois River runs through the grounds. Individual locking rooms for the showers and bathrooms, very clean. Wifi and cable TV worked fine. Friendly staff. The biggest negative is no garbage cans anywhere, why? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$46
This was our second time at this park. We had all our grandkids (5) and their mothers (2) join us on this trip so we rented a cabin as well as a campsite. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restrooms and showers we very clean as well as the campground in general. The cabin was clean and the kids enjoyed sleeping in the loft. There are plenty of activities for everyone or you can just sit back and relax. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$46
I would have given them a 10 as this campground has it all except decent trash pickup. You have to take your trash down a road 1/2 mile to put it in the dumpster. With all the work-campers here I can't imagine they can't have trash cans closer to the sites and pick them up daily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$43
Our first time at this campground. We took our two oldest grand kids, 7 and 8 years old, and they loved it. Lots to do for kids and adults. Playground, recreation hall, activity building, swimming pool, miniature golf, trout fishing and much more. The campworkers were very friendly and helpful. The restrooms/showers were clean as well as the campground in general. We are planning to camp here several times this summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$46
We would have given this campground a ten, but you had to drive a half a mile or so to take your garbage to their trash compactor. There are no local trash cans and they don't pick up. We had a great view out our front window of the river, but had to plug into the outlets next to us because their sites are designed to back-in instead of drive in forward. The staff were very nice about letting us do this because it was only for one night and there were no other campers in our section (312-315). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
Nice place, but be careful getting to it. We used our GPS, but should have followed the campground's directions. The is a sign at a crossroads outside the campground, but it is very misleading on where to turn. We missed the correct turn and had to drive for miles before we could turn around. However, once we were there, the stay was nice. The park was clean and spacious with large and level pads. The interior roads were narrow in some parts, but we were able to get around them. The campground has a lot of amenities as indicated on their web site, but we were only there one night and didn't get to enjoy them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
Wow...what a great place. There are nice camp sites with room between campers; very level concrete pads for most. There is a mix of permanent campers and visitors. If you like trout fishing, this is the perfect location in OK. There are plenty of friendly staff on site. The facilities were sparkling clean; pool needed a little attention, but overall great for kids. The staff will direct you to each site and ensure you know how to hook up. The Residents were friendly and access to river was awesome. OK fish and game stocks the river each week with trout and everyone seemed very happy with their stay at MarVal. We stayed on a Friday evening and it was nice and peaceful when quiet hours hit. We plan to camp here again this fall when it's a little cooler and the fish are biting more! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$39
Park is a great family park, a little hard to find but worth it. Great trout fishing. The trash is a vehicle drive away, which makes it difficult. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$26
This was a great park and I only wish we would have had time to explore all of the facilities and things they had to offer. We stayed one night and found a pleasant quiet evening on the river. We were looking for a place to spend the night but this park is more geared to fishermen and families that plan to stay for a little longer. Our stay was fine and we would stay there again. We happened to stay during the off season and were rewarded with a generous discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$37
Excellent campground, very clean and lots of activities. Only draw back is the location of the dumpster too far away from the camping area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$37
We stayed at the campground for a family reunion. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The bathrooms were clean and we enjoyed the swimming pool. The sites have concrete pads for the trailer, but no patio pad for your picnic table. We had mud build up in front of the entrance to the trailer from the rain we had. I asked management if they could bring some gravel to help out with the mud. They brought in two loads of gravel, but I had to spread it out because the manager said that they did not have the resources to help out. Ten Killer Lake a few miles from the campground was awesome! The only negative thing to say about this campground is the location of the dumpster. It's way out there. With the amount of staff I saw working around the campground, I don't see why they could not have a morning trash pick up. This and patio pads would make the sites even better. I would return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$37
This was a very good park and very friendly workers. There is a large number of work campers taking constant care of the place. There are many sites that have been taken over by cabins including about half the river front sites, but they seem to blend in with the site area. There are a large number of activities for kids to be supervised and not. The reason for a 9 and not a 10 is the only dumpster is at the end of a road about a third of a mile away from the camp ground. With all the workers they could have trash cans closer and just dump them once a day or so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
Visited park in a 40' motorhome. This was our first visit to this park & we were very pleased. It is located about 8 miles north of I-40, but worth the drive. This is a full service resort that have grounds that include river access, horseback riding, miniature golf and a beautiful pool. Their main road is blacktop & interior roads were gravel. The sites vary from river front backins that are gravel to wide open pull thru sites with a concrete pad. The staff was friendly & helpful in assuring that we were assigned the type of site we wanted. They offered a 20% discount if visiting park Monday through Thursday and a $15 coupon if more than 1" of rain during our visit. There are four things that if management addressed would make this a "ten". The mowing & weedwacking needed to be addressed, a little more gravel on some of the roads would avoid mud when it rained, some tree trimming to 14 feet to make this a more big rig friendly park and set up trash pickup. A walk to their trash compactor is about a 1/3 of a mile one way. We will visit park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$46
At first glance it is a very nice(not great) park. Then you find lists of rules for everything and extra cost for everything. Your trash must be toted about 1/3 of a mile; rent a recumbent trike is $ 9.00 per hour; a golf cart (drivers age 18) costs $ 99.00 for three days. The pool was not open; the cafe was not open; the rec room was not open. They had a mystery night game, but no one knew anything about what was going on. Most of the park personnel we nice, but a couple probably would qualify for IRS employment. River was very very low, not the park's fault. This is a four month park as is the entire Lake Ten Killer area. A lot of full timers. It appears the park really wants to go to cabin status as they are moving in more and more nice cabins. OK, but we have stayed in better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
Would recommend. The float down the river is well worth the stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$36
Enjoying Mar Val will depend on the site you get. The reservation desk is not much help in this regard. Didn't like the executive sites which are stuck at the end with no trees. We felt best sites were #146-#151, pull thrus with shade and full hook up. #205 is on the river, nice & shady but no sewer. Our kids enjoyed the pool & river. Call well in advance if you want a specific site. Don't forget to look at Greenleaf State park while there. Nice place as well. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$33
We enjoyed our stay at Marval which is a kid friendly park. I would go back and do recommend it. The park is well maintained. There is over 100 acres and it has 1/2 mile frontage on the Illinois River. Lots to do: swim, fish, horseback riding, mini-golf, volley ball, playground, cable TV and activities on the weekend. There are big trees for shade for a good number of the sites. The park has new owners and they have added more cabins, a new bath house and meeting room. There are 3 pavilions for groups to gather. There are golf carts to rent to get around the park. There are sites along the river with water and electric hookups. A new store is at the entrance in case you need something. The gate to the park operates with a security card you get when you check in. Note: cell coverage is limited or not available inside the park but a short distance down the road you can get coverage. Wifi is available for a fee which I thought was steep @ $6.95 per day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Marval family campground is a good place to go if you want to let the kids romp. The have a clear river backing up to the park that is often shallow enough to splash and tube a little in. There is a small fishing pond we had success in. Someone caught a 35 pound stripper in the river while we were there!The pool is clean and they have putt putt golf. The staff is friendly and seem to like kids. The draw back is that the some of the sites are a bit jammed together and people are always near your site. If you don't mind that is is a nicely shaded park which offers all the amenities we need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$32
Wow! Discovered this park by accident. It is located approx. 5 miles South of Lake Tenkiller dam near Gore, Oklahoma. Very family friendly park. Multiple activities for children, teens and mom & dad. Swimming pool, playgrounds, miniture golf, basketball, volleyball, horseback riding and fishing. We arrived on Friday evening and were greeted by the nicest staff, even had a staff member run and get us a bag of ice before their park store closed. Woke up Saturday morning to childrens arts and crafts, ceramics for mom, an ice cream social and a water ballon fight for the older kids. The park also has 34 cabins you can rent that are near and next to RV sites. Watched several families with grandparents in an RV next to the grandchildren in a cabin. I was invited by a staff member to fly fish with him on the lower Illinois River Sunday morning. The park has 1/2 mile of river front, about a 3 minute walk from our RV. They also have a childrens pond where kids fish free. Lake Ten Killer is an 8 minute drive north, one of the clearest lakes in Oklahoma. Boating, skiing and water sports abound with several lakeside restaurants nearby. An absolute wonderful FAMILY FRIENDLY park. We will return and will be bringing friends to enjoy this wonderful place. (May 2004) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com