206926 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Rock Canyon State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (405) 542-6344
CGID2263

Red Rock Canyon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   9   7   9   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Beautiful park. Only downer is fact that you have to pay for showers. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$21
We stopped here for one night while traveling through. If you go to the end of the loop you will find three pull-through 50 amp full hookup sites. We got into the middle one but it was a tight fit for a 39'+ motorhome with a small car attached. It is a beautiful well maintained park with what looks like a new swimming pool and bath house. With our length we made it in and out just fine but it was tight. Most of the other back in sites look like they would accommodate our rig but looked to be electric and water only. Nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
Very nice park, deep in canyon. Be prepared for a curvy drive into the canyon. The Rangers will stop traffic at the top so you can make the turns coming out. Not meant for large RV's. Very interesting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
Rate reflects $2 discount for seniors. Water and electric hookups, dump station available, clean bathroom with pay showers. Sites are level and well-spaced. This is a charming, unique little campground situated down in a small canyon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
Price reflects senior discount, else it would have been $20. Level sites, well-spaced, with water and 30 and 50 amp electric. Dump stations available, only 3 sites have sewer hookups. Very pretty campground down in a long, narrow canyon. Bathrooms were clean. Individual showers and changing rooms are provided, with coin-operated showers, 50 cents for first 3 minutes, 25 cents for each additional 1 and 1/2 minutes. No WiFi, but good cellphone and TV reception, about 15 channels, which surprised me for being down in a canyon. Lots of greenery in the canyon, and pretty red rock walls in places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$21
There is a reason old wagon trains would stop here on the way to California. It is a cool shady respite from the hot, dry prairie, even in summertime. There is a babbling brook to the side of the site. The sun sets at 5 pm rises at 10 am because the sites are in the bottom of the canyon. Great little hiking trails. Sites are flat and lots of shade, well maintained, and nice facilities for a state park. There is a steep road with hairpin curves to get to the campsite. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Beautiful park, in a deep canyon. Clean park, with friendly staff. Quiet, with many areas to walk or bicycle. Our 28 ' trailer & 4 door pickup easily made the canyon descent & ascent. Would love to stay here longer next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
This is a great state park just far enough from the interstate to avoid traffic noise. I have stayed here twice and will stay here again. The park is very quiet. Sites are good size and back in sites are easy. I camped at the far end of the park. Tent sites are on grass. There are some very nice pull-through trailer sites with paved pads across from the tent sites. Since the park has a swimming pool it may be crowded during the summer. I was there during the week off season and it was less than half full. This park is very neat and kept in good repair. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
It's great to find a nice state park this close to an interstate (only 5 miles). We stayed here off season, and were happy to find that both water and electric and restrooms were all open. Nice trails, paved back-in sites (pretty level, too), and those scenic red rock canyon walls. A great find that we'll revisit the next time we're trekking I-40. This is another park where we have to wait for the ranger to come by to collect fees; sure wish they'd use the iron ranger approach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
The road is steep as a previous reviewer wrote. The Ranger said call when leaving and they'd hold up traffic so we could swing wide. It was easy for 40' w/tow. Lovely long strip of trees, tents, RV's, party shelters, between the 30' walls of a canyon. Handicap has very long, level cement slab, the others were gravel. Pool closed for the season. Some were fishing in what seemed like a stagnant stream, but a beautiful setting next to the red rock. We'll be back. Rate for 62+. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
This park is located about one mile south of downtown Hinton. It is marked on the road by a blue advisory sign, and then a huge wooden sign at the entrance. Once past the office, the road descends rapidly, with one very tight hairpin curve, and a second not so bad. Our 19 ft travel trailer and pickup had no problem, but I could envision a large Class A having a turning radius issue on the hairpin. Descent is about 100 feet down into the canyon. Once down, it's beautiful! Campsites are spread apart all down the canyon floor. We chose the first ones you come to. Further back are tent sites, some more concrete padded level sites, and grassy/paved pull-throughs. There is a pay bath house, and a free bath house. We chose neither due to insects. Camp host was friendly, and we spoke to office staff for directions, and they were helpful, too. The birding was absolutely spectacular! Mississippi Kites are nesting everywhere, with adults feeding on dragonflies on the wing and delivering to big white chicks in nests in the tops of cottonwoods. Now, the bad news. In the evening, a lot of teens drive in and out of the park, going to the back. Duration of stay was not long. We were suspicious that drug deals were going on in the back of the campground. No proof, and no one bothered us or anyone else, but it appeared as though it was pickup or delivery. Park rangers are present, but some sheriff's deputies need to patrol and make sure that is not happening. Also, people exceed the 15 MPH limit frequently. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
This is an excellent family oriented campground. One can hike, rappel, climb, etc. It's a very beautiful area for those that love nature and want to be surrounded by it. All showers were nice, and only one was a "pay" shower. It was newly installed and about a $1.00 for 4 minutes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$15
Beautiful State Park!! Quiet and well maintained. Road in is steep, but we had no problems in our 35' class A and towing. Cell phone and computer aircard (Verizon) reception was really iffy. Signals fluctuated constantly. We were able to get a TV Sat. signal without any problems. Our pull thru site (there are 10) was level and we had no problems getting our slides out. Great water pressure and no problems with electric. NO State Park signs for turn off on the freeway or on the road to the park. Use GPS if you've got it. Really enjoyed the park and had a great nights sleep! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
This campground is an oasis on the prairie but with a challenging access road. It is located down in a canyon, 5.5 miles south of the Interstate on U.S. 281. The fee we paid included the site and an electric and water hookup. We didn’t have to pay a park day-use fee in order to camp. This campground gets a rather low rating from me but that is largely due to the below average attraction of the region as well as my perception that the campground has below average accessibility for big rigs. This small state park is interesting enough but there really isn’t anything else of interest in the region. The best thing going for the campground is that it is not too far off of the Interstate. When we arrived, there were quite a few other campers there as well as a huge party in progress at one of the picnic shelters. The office was already closed for the evening and we just proceeded down into the canyon to pick out a site for ourselves. While we were eating dinner, a park employee showed up and collected the fee. There was no guidance at the office location with regard to after-hours arrival but the fee taker said we did right by helping ourselves to a site. There is really no reservation system for Oklahoma State Park campgrounds. The party in progress may have been the cause of the sorry state of the sanitary facilities but I suspect that their maintenance is always a low priority. The facilities were worn out but we were happy to have warm showers and the condition of the sanitary facilities was hardly insurmountable (and such details are not factored into my numerical ratings). The park is above average for government operated facilities in that it offers showers (which are included in the site price) and hookups. Unusually hard rains in prior weeks had spread quite a bit of red clay throughout the canyon. There didn’t appear to have been much effort to try and clean it off the park roads and pathways. The park headquarters and campground office is up on the canyon rim and features a small gift shop but does not stock any supplies of interest to campers. The park staff was friendly but otherwise average. The canyon is a green and pleasant oasis compared to the prairies above. It features some hiking trails and rare plants. While we saw large rigs camped down there, be advised that the access road down into the canyon is very steep and winding. I had to put our F-250 in the creeper gear to get us back out. I feel that other reviewers, here, have understated the challenge for big rigs. I've seen campgrounds pilloried in reviews for much less challenging access. Once you get down there, it is pretty spacious and the road layout is easy enough to negotiate. You might want to consider leaving any ‘toads’ in the parking area up on the rim to shorten your ‘train’. If I found myself needing a campsite while in the vicinity of this park, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$15
This was a very nice park for a couple of nights stay. The restrooms/showers were 1/2 mile from the site we chose so we didn't use them but they seemed clean enough although dated. Pool and concessions were closed when we were there. Seems to be a very busy local park with many, many families and scouts. We enjoyed it mid-week and had no problem with the steep, but short, road into the canyon. We have a 30 ft. Class A and would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Beautiful, scenic park with shade and good sized sites. Swimming pool (closed on Mondays) and snack stand. Full hookup sites have cement pads and are very level. Most others are grassy. Campfires allowed. Group and day use facilities. The road in is steep, but was easy to get up and down with our 34' rig. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$15
Hinton is about 2 miles South of Interstate 40 which makes this a convenient place to spend the night. Spaces with sewer hookup cost extra and pull thru are limited. The road entering and exiting the canyon is VERY steep, but we've seen Bluebirds navigate it, however to avoid a surprise we've elected to check the not accessible to big rigs entry on this form. The canyon is lovely and is very popular with campers in the summertime. Spring and fall are the best times. TV and cell phone reception are very poor to unobtainable in the northern end of the canyon, improving somewhat toward the southern end. The campground hosts and rangers are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com