223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Astoria / Warrenton / Seaside KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 68 user reviews. Phone: (503) 861-2606
CGID2291

Astoria / Warrenton / Seaside KOA

Camp Information
Sites
311
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   6   8   9   8   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
Great camping if you have children. Park amenities included play parks, pool, bounce house, bike rental, etc. No garbage dumpsters because the KOA staff picked up your garbage at the camp site--incredible! KOA had pancake breakfast daily on the weekend and had a cafe on site that delivered directly to your camp spot. Large spots with pull-throughs available and wide enough to have fire pits on most sites. We have used several KOA camp locations in the past 10 years in WA and OR, this is the one of the best we have ever used. Super clean camp ground and security was good with restricted access for non-registered guests. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$65
The rate listed is an average of the rates we paid over several days. We were with a group for 3 days and got a group discount those nights. However, the other nights we paid a much higher rate plus the $2 per night per dog and $6 per day resort fee - Absurd! We were in an area with gravel roads and the dust was awful as well as having everyone speed past our campsite. The staff at the KOA was very nice and helpful, just about the only plus for us. WiFi barely worked for us, cell reception okay. This would be a great place for families with kids as there is lots for them to do, but not so much for folks who like some peace and quiet. We will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
In addition to nightly fee, $2 extra for each pet or child in your group, additional $6 per night for resort fee includes use of facilities and pancake breakfast even if you wish to have breakfast in your fully equipped motor home, friendly staff, nice park but why is there always additional fee for this and that. If I bring them in my coach, the fees should include my family unless of course I'm bringing my football team. Stayed over Christmas week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$67
Huge Park with lots for kids. Great Staff. BUT not really Big Rig friendly, very few 50 amp sites. Many sites with sewer connection at the very back of the site, you will need an extension to reach. Cable TV just OK. Wi-Fi worked well. They charge a $6 Resort Fee which they don't tell you and while it is on their web site, it is buried in the site. For $6 you get free mini golf and the bounce pillow, WOW! Fifteen minute drive into Astoria. Next to Fort Stevens State Park. With the hidden fee of $6 my cost was $67 per night and was overpriced. They should show this charge on the web site rather than surprise you when you show up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$47
It's a great place to bring kids. Lots of activities. We came on the 2 for 1 night special so the park was completely booked...all 300 plus sites. The sites are big and level. The staff is very friendly...from the person who cleaned our bathrooms to the person giving out popcorn for the free movie to the fellow helping us check in and taking down our license numbers... Koa definitely knows customer service. Cable TV good. Lots of wireless, but still spotty at times. Free pancakes - a nice touch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$61
Very nice campground, has all the amenities you would expect to find at a KOA. Well stocked store, very friendly staff and an on site kitchen that served free pancakes. Sausage,bacon etc is extra but very reasonable. We had a 60' pull thru gravel site which was not level but had lots of shade. Clean bathrooms and showers. Only downside is the price. $61 a night is pretty steep for a basic campsite with full hook ups. The Ft Stevens State Park is right across the street and may be a better value especially for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$53
Campground has about all the amenities KOA is known for, and is very kid friendly. Consideration is given for adult only hour at pool. Staff friendly and courteous but it took 3 tries to get us into a site with 50 amp that was long enough. Many fishermen with boats at sites so this could complicate making turns etc., with a big rig as roads are narrow. Sites are not all level and sewer connection needs sewer gasket to fit. Advertise free pancake breakfast but only pancakes free: coffee, bacon, etc., is a charge. WiFi questionable and cable snowy. Reason for 7 rating despite many amenities: it is a bit rustic and the price. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
Vastly over priced. Very nice office and staff. I paid for a paved site which is their "premium" site. Not level, very tight and short. Rest room was clean but small. Men and women share showers! One hook in the shower I used, low flow shower head, and terrible hot/cold control. If there is a next time, I will choose a gravel drive through which are much larger, nicer, and more convenient to facilities. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$61
This park is what you think of when you think "KOA", except that it is on a quiet road rather than a busy freeway. Excellent facilities, friendly staff, lots of activities for kids. Our big complaint is the Wi-Fi. For $61 a night, we expected a good connection. The Wi-Fi was so slow as to be almost unusable. It would work fine for a few minutes then slow down to a crawl. We were not trying to download movies or anything, just trying to get a little work done. Also, if you are a light sleeper, be sure to ask for a spot AWAY from the main road coming into the park. Lots of early morning fishing people leave in big diesel trucks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$56
We were really pleased with our stay here. A deluxe site near the store and pool building made for a great stay. Our site was paved, had nice grass and tree cover for shade. Our kids (3 & 5) had a blast at the pool and insisted on the free pancakes each day. This park is adjacent to Ft Stevens, which has great beach access and biking trails that we really enjoy. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$54
We had a wide, level site, gravel where we parked but the rest was sandy. Overall the park was clean but the road we were on was gravel and dusty. A great place to bring children. There are several playgrounds and a pool. The park was packed with families the weekend we were there. It is across the street from Fort Stevens State Park and about 5 miles from Astoria so location rules. Other than that it is very overpriced. We had a 30 amp back-in site without cable TV and paid over $50 a night. We were able to use our satellite TV, but some sites have trees that would block the signal so luck played a role in that. Wifi was adequate. Good Verizon signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Large, clean KOA. Front section behind office had large, shady sites with attractive foliage. Management very attentive to maintenance. Free pancakes and lots of stuff for families. Area offered so much to see and do. K9 park outstanding. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
This appears to be an exceptional park. Well maintain with everything you could reasonably expect in an RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Nothing negative! Clean sites and facilities, and knowledgable staff will point you anywhere you need to know about. The food in the campground cafe is cheap and good, and they aren't stuck to single recipes for the menu items. They have great coffee and lattes made to your liking. Quiet and good privacy. Great location. I stayed two different times for a total of about 3 weeks, and it was all good They warehouse your kids for a small fee even, and the kids seem to enjoy it! Glad we stumbled upon it! The Fred Meyer close by in Hammond sells rain gear! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$56
Very nice park but terribly overpriced at $56 per night after a "resort fee" is added on. This includes free pancakes but we never made it down in time for the free pancakes. They have an awesome bouncy pillow which was lots of fun for the kids and adults. Wifi wasn't working when we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$59
My reviews are from the perspective of a dad with lots of little kids. This place is what a KOA should always be. Lots for kids to do, clean park, helpful friendly staff. The rate reflects a utility site. There is no dump station, but there is a free one across the highway in the state park. The KOA features a mini-golf course, jump pillow, indoor pool, afternoon movies with free popcorn, and a free pancake breakfast. The owners obviously take pride in having a well maintained place. Locally, Seaside has a huge and beautiful beach and has a Santa Cruz feel to it. Astoria is nice, but a little run down, more for antiquing. The local area is rich with history as this is where Lewis and Clark's expedition reached the ocean in 1805. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. If the WI-FI ever worked, it would be a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$53
A park full of kids, dust and campfires. 1/3 of the park is paved, the rest dusty with dying grass. Lots of activities for the kids. Park charges a $6.00 activity fee which is not optional even if you don't use the pool or "free" pancake breakfast. Internet is very poor and Verizon is weak. It looks like the families are enjoying the park and the "Kamping" experience. A pricey park for weekend young families but not for older RVers. Setting is quiet, park is controlled and spacing wide. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$58
Great place if you are a 30something parent with a large family. Many activities for kids. Older folks used to nice accommodations will not enjoy this place. Virtually no sites are satellite friendly. Internet is quite slow. Cable is limited with no ESPN. Upper level sites are paved and suitable for non-towing class C motor homes or pick up trucks towing shorter trailers. Lower level is all dirt and gravel, but with a full arbor of shade trees. Check in is a real hoot...reminds me of an old black and white movie of a Chinese fire drill. The payroll at this park is substantial, but it appears as though the amount spent on training is minimal. All in all, my review is that this place is primitive and over priced. It would, however, qualify in the case of "any port in a storm" if I returned to Astoria and was desperate for a place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
What a wonderful & large park. A lot for kids to do and very friendly staff. This KOA is located right across the street from Fort Stevens State Park and made for a nice central 'home' spot while we went sightseeing. Very dog friendly, too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
Across the street from Oregon state park: Fort Stevens which we could not get into. This is a Destination KOA so you are charged a RESORT fee ($6.00) on top of the normal rate that you can not drop. There are sites at the back of the park that are not good. Most sites are fine and if you have kids with you; they will have lots to do. We will not stay here in the future. Too $$$. Our rating could be higher if we were traveling with kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
A nice park with very accommodating staff. Conveniently located to Astoria area attractions. Free pancakes, level spacious sites. Only thing we did not like, were the many campfires in the park. We just don't care for smoky air. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
We were turned off by all the rules and signs at the last KOA we stayed at, but this is a very nice KOA park. We stayed in a long gravel site with grass, in the open. There are real nice sites in the trees too. The sites are pretty level. The staff was very nice and helpful. We didn't use the indoor pool or restrooms. Great location: Ft Stevens and the beach are not far away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$39
The park seems separated in two parts, the older one with shade and well landscaped sites fits smaller units, the other has longer sites, but not well leveled with holes. There are many "Happy Campers" who don't pick up after their dogs. Warning: Do not come with a clean MH, it is very, very dusty. We will not come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$76
We love this place. This is our second time visiting. Last time it was in an RV site, this time in a camping cabin. Our cabin was on Cutler's Cove which would have been nice if we'd lucked out with really hot weather, but since it was gloomy and raining when we were here. Our cabin was really dark and cold. The cabin was clean and had electric and a portable heater. Very clean. Nice porch. Kids loved the bunk beds. As usual, we loved the amenities. The pool was busy (and LOADED with chlorine, but I figure it's because a bunch of dirty kids are playing in the pool), as was breakfast time, but still manageable. Lots of activities for the kids to enjoy. The staff were great, especially the staff at the restaurant, snack counter. We did crafts in the afternoon one day, and they were super nice there, too. Love the location of this KOA as it is very close to the Fred Meyer and not too far from Astoria or Seaside. PLUS it's right across the street from Fort Stevens SP. Pancake breakfasts are delish, as usual. Movie nights happened every night, but our kids were busy with the campfire during this time! The mini-golf is in need of an overhaul/cleaning, as is the games room (seems like too much stuff is out of order). Will come back again: maybe next time stay in one of the full-service cabins. This place is really one of the best KOAs! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
We loved this campground! I wish we would have time to go back again before the summer is over. The bathrooms near the bouncy pillow were kind of dirty, but I suspect that's because they were used more than any of the other bathrooms. We used the showers further up the hill and they were great. Our site was gravel, but level and with plenty of space. They set up inflatable bouncy houses for the weekend, free pancake breakfast, free ice cream sundaes, Tie die T-shirt making, build a bear, baked slugs, mini golf. There was so much to do, my boys didn't know where to start. Nice playgrounds and pool. Store has everything you could need. There is a great state park with a huge beach right across the street. If we weren't moving, we would make this a regular destination! Sites are a little pricey, but definitely worth it for everything you get! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$61
This park is all KOA has to offer. It is a poster child for all things KOA. We stayed here 4 nights and every time I went to the rest room, it needed service. They have a once a day cleaning schedule but they should check supplies more often and check for any plumbing problems more often. The place allows dogs and has a leash rule. We observed dogs running loose at one site and the hosts did not remind the owners of the rule. An incident did occur there and a child from another site was bitten. The dog walk is along the edge of the property and is secluded. A fenced in area would be nice. The sites are all grass. Our pull through site was long enough we could stay hooked to the tow vehicle. The sight was level enough that no blocks were needed. Our adult children were with us so we used their car to sight see. The place is a kids dream! Bounce pad, miniature golf, bike rentals, pancake breakfast and lots of room to run. We loved the location, close to Fort Stevens, Fort Clatsup, Fred Meyers and Costco. We used the laundry facility here. It was clean and had several machines so we were able to get the laundry done in good time. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This place is huge. There is so much stuff for the family to do here. Our kids did not want to leave. We did crafts, jumping pillow, movie, made slugs on the fire: and we did not come close to doing everything. We were lucky and were upgraded to a deluxe site (I think it was because I requested on-line a back-in , full hook site). Our site was on a corner and big. It was a back in with full hook-ups and fit a tent easily. I would suggest these sites to anyone. The pull through sites were good, but the closer you were to the activity area, the noisier it was. The staff was nice enough and there were lots of them. While checking in, I had to pay an extra $5 for some unknown reason (even after registering on-line), but I guess they need the money. The only gripe I have about the site is that the employees do not pick up after the last person leaves. In fact, I do not think I saw a single employee pick up a piece of trash on the ground. They come by the sites to pick up trash bags, but do not pick trash. A definite down grade for this campground. The pool is very crowded and indoors. I think they sell time to outsiders to the pool. The smell of chlorine (or chlorimines) smacks you in the face at the door. I only used the restroom once while here and it was so dirty, I almost turned around, but I had to go. No toilet paper and paper on the ground (back to my earlier comment). The showers were getting hammered due to the number of people staying the weekend. We rode our bikes to Fort Stevens and there is an easy drive to Astoria and Fort Cladsop. Make sure if you go to the movie at night you bring a comfy chair to sit in. They only provide picnic benches. The daily free pancake breakfast was good. There are some sides to purchase to make a complete breakfast. Besides my housekeeping issues with them, I would return here to camp. We enjoyed our shaded, upgraded site and all of the activities. Just remember, this place is for the kids and there are lots of kids staying here. Happy travels and be safe out there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
I would recommend this campground for any kind of camping! The facilities were excellent and the scenery was great. The only drawback was the tent sites were not very private. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$65
The previous reviews are spot on as far as being a resort. We seldom stay at a KOA as we usually are sightseeing in the areas we stay. This time we have our 6 year old granddaughter with us. She loves the place. I was not pleased with the spot we were assigned. We had reserved a Deluxe site to have cable. They are very short and not level. The site we were assigned C3 was barely longer than our 40' coach. To level the front wheels were off the ground. We had to cut back a tree in order to put out the slides. The persons behind the desk including the manager do not have a clue. Appears there is no guidance as to suitability for MH types. Make sure you check out the site before committing to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
Kid's this is your place! There is an indoor Pool & spa. There is a free pancake breakfast. There are free movies each night. A jumping pillow accommodates 20 kids at a time. There is a small (tiny) golf course. There are bike and trike rentals. There is a great WIFI signal. It is a huge park. There are lots of camping cabins and tent sites. Beautiful Trees restrict Satellite signals. There are pull through sites up to 90 feet. It is across the street from Fort Stevens state park. There are loads of bike trails and interesting history. I did not use cable. I did not use laundry. There is trash pick up each morning at your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
This is a very nice KOA, was very busy with lots of activities. Our premium site was wide with lots of grass and trees but it took some doing to get out 41 foot rig backed in because of the narrow roads and pads. Once we got in and settled, it was great. Trees will make SAT reception difficult and the WiFi is unusable. Fortunately, our Sprint MIFI had a fast connection. The park was quiet, clean and well-maintained. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
Disappointed with this KOA. Our site was narrow and had brown grass. There were bigger, greener sites available (but we did not know until daylight and did not want to take the trouble to move). For the price one would feel they would cater to their "campers" better and set us up with a nicer site. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Actually, I'm writing this while I'm still here, so it's current! Good stuff first, then the issues. First off: this is a very pretty campground, with many trees, well laid out, just opposite an entrance to Ft. Stevens State Park, and a walkable 0.5 miles from the beach. This is a large park with many and generally nice facilities. There are no trash cans, because they collect your trash twice a day from your campsite. The two dog areas are a multiple fenced area with play structures and a beautiful treed path through a forest. A nice campground store, propane, and an internet cafe at the front, and clean, pretty indoor pool and spa, restaurant within the park, play area for the kids, and just a nice place to be. There is almost no road noise. With one exception, the staff was courteous and polite. Now the issues. The WiFi is pretty much worthless. This is a working holiday for me, and WiFi is important. Though the connection is good 54mbps G, they only have 1.5Mb to support 350 sites so the throughput basically doesn't exist. Takes about 2 minutes to download a page, and IE & Firefox have serious problems with it. I'm using Chrome here and I'm right next to the office! Fortunately, they have an Internet Cafe with decent free connection, which they leave on when they close, but you have to walk to it. The General Manager was specifically unappologetic (clueless) about the issue, even when I mentioned that I review the campgrounds I visit. An employee (thanks) let me know that this is an ongoing problem, and that "they have the money to deal with it." WiFi here bites if you want it in your campsite. If you camp near the office on the main in/out, morning and evening traffic is busy, as one might imagine for a big KOA. And since the pool, spa, and game room are there as well: just don't accept a site on the main in/out when you look at the map. Would be worth a 5 minute walk around, before you register to have a sense of whats here. Most of the deluxe pull-through sites are fairly short; my 25' bumper-pull trailer plus Expedition stuck out both ends. Most people would park their cars in the grass at the end of their site. This is a very family friendly place. Kids everywhere, and they have many things for them to do. So if you want quiet, this may not be the best place; but it does quiet during the middle of the day, and the night time is wonderfully quiet. I would stay here again, but not when I need to work. Also, I really recommend walking through the campground before you register to pick an area for your rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
This is a really great place - especially if you have kids. Lots to do here - the kids will never get bored. Our kids swam in the indoor pool (which is GREAT because it's generally cooler by the coast - even in the heart of the summer when we were there), played in the games room, rented the bikes, jumped on the jumping pillow, played in the playground and played mini-golf. We were there during the 4th of July weekend and it was crazy busy! The only time we really noticed it though was in the mornings for the pancake breakfasts - long lines out the door. Crazy! Otherwise, you really didn't notice the crowds. The facilities were great - clean bathrooms/showers, lots of washers/dryers, great store for buying extras and fun things for the kids. And, if by chance, you get bored here, there's always a trip to the nearby beach or Fort - which are also great. This place is totally worth the cash. Try to get a site near the office - the roads are paved and found we were heading more that way than towards the direction of the pancake breakfast. WiFi is accessible closer to the office, too. We are going back again this summer because my kids begged to go back. Next time, we'll be staying in a Kamping Kabin, as we sold our trailer! Can't wait to see what that is like!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This is an ok place. I thought it was pretty spendy for camping but you are pretty close to the beach. I thought kind of far to walk but you could ride a bike or drive. Very clean restrooms, I was very impressed at how clean the keep it!! I can't stand to stay someplace where you can not even use the bathroom because it so dirty!! Anyways they do have lots of things for kids to do here; that was another plus!! I have stayed here twice and will probably stay again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
Nice, clean park located across entrance to Fort Stevens State Park. Very family oriented park with a lot of activities for kids!! Excellent free pancake breakfast, pet friendly, clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This is a slice of heaven! The staff are happy, friendly, and helpful. Sites were well spaced, super clean, quiet, and the grounds staff even pick up your trash and recycling, while making firewood deliveries! What more could anyone ask for? The park is across the street from Stevens State Park which has numerous trails that lead to the beach and a number of historical sites as well. This place is in my top 5 favorites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Let me preface this by saying we are not into commercial type campgrounds. There are a ton of things to do for kids. Free ice cream, pancakes, jumping pillow, pool etc. However there is a complete lack of privacy and zero trees in the "cheaper" section by the jumping pillow. If you are into this type of campground it is ideal, however we like the trees and quiet. We stayed here for two nights before getting into Ft. Stevens. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
I absolutely LOVE this KOA. This is our second time staying here and each time it seems to get better. We had a large, corner site with a nice fire pit and plenty of room to move around. The kids love the jump pillow and the playgrounds. Very pet friendly. Clean laundry room. Very well stocked store. Close to the beach and local attractions. Wi-Fi was good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
We don't understand how come this campground cost so much. We had a plain un-leveled gravel site, no concrete, no asphalt, no trees, no shrubs, no flowers. We stopped here because the Fort Stevens State Park, just across the street was full for the weekend. Over there, it's half the price for full hookups sites! We would not recommend this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$50
We stayed at the KOA and went to the Crab Festival. The park was full and we were lucky to get a site even for one night. The location is beautiful - wish we had more time to visit the surrounding area. If you have a chance to do so, visit Astoria and go the festival. You can catch a shuttle bus at the park that goes right to the festival site (for the huge sum of $2). Will come back and stay at the park in the future. It is very well appointed and is very family oriented. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$46
This park offers many amenities for groups and for families. We chose it because of the location and its nice grounds. Too pricey if you only want a good campsite. Staff was friendly and efficient. They are pet friendly and we discovered a large new fenced dog area (2 large sections and a small section in the middle) and they have agility equipment! The pool is really nice, spa is hot and both are enclosed. Lots of covered BBQ cooking spots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$70
The facilities were good and clean as to be expected, the deluxe pull through site was a little tight, the other campers were the real problem. Seem the management does not really enforce quiet time and general tidiness. One of the sites started chopping firewood at 6:20 AM and also was disposing of Grey water from their outside kitchen on the roadway, along with other late night noise it was not ideal. The real beef I had though was the price at $70 a night it was about $20 more than the price shown online and KOA head office seem fine with that so I felt it was a bit of a rip-off. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This was my second time staying here. This time the park was crammed and I got an alternate site from what I reserved. I reserved a full hookup, pull-through site for 2 nights and got a back-in site #K15 with trees scratching my back the first night with no sewer and cable. After complaining they then moved me to a different back-in site with no cable #K9 with trees scratching my side. Plenty for the kids to do though. It is an awesome park, with 3 playgrounds, an indoor pool with more rules than the military, no pool toys. FYI: they follow standard KOA policy not to answer the phone. Don't pull-in on the very right check-in lane: their trees tore our slide-topper and scratched our motorhome. Carry trimmers with you as you will need to trim the trees and blackberry bushes at the back-in sites. Bring a shovel so you can fill in the holes that the previous camper's dog dug. Their Wi-Fi is unusable on the back end. Bring your own firewood: I bought 3 bundles and 2 firestarters. I spent 4 hours trying to keep a fire going long enough to make 3 smores. Left 1 bundle in the fire pit for the next camper. Amazing what you'll do for the wife and kids. They should also keep the breakfast going till 11:00. With as many staff members as they have, they could spend a little more time on the lots. I do have to give them kudo's on their trash pick-up service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Yawn. Sorry but there is really not much to do here. The jumping pillow was fun for about 10 minutes and the bike rental is handy since there is lots of pavement to ride on and a nearby state park. The laundry room was efficient and the staff was helpful. The sites were wide with no trees. The beach was close by but it's cold and windy, the aquarium was a joke but worth the admission to see the seals beg for sardines. We'll skip this next time when visiting Oregon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Great spot. We have stayed in a lot of KOAs and other campgrounds around the country and this is one of the best. We stayed in a deluxe site. Very well-kept, lots of trees make it a little tight in a 40 ft motorhome but manageable. Only concern in the place was fuzzy cable reception. The unpaved sites down the hill are a very different story--dusty and wide open. We have used most of the facilities--bouncy pillow great fun but can be crowded with kids. The pool is indoor and OK but it was a stuffy place to be on a warm afternoon. The proximity to the Ft Stevens State Park is great. Bike trails are easily accessible right across the road from the entrance. We had made reservations for 4 nights and tried to extend by 2...place is very busy and we could only get one extra day. Make your plans in advance. This place is worth a return visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$51
We loved this KOA. We got a premier site and were very satisfied with it. The place is very clean, had fun free activities like making smores, an ice-cream social, movie night etc. Our three kids enjoying the three playgrounds, bouncing pillow and swimming pool. We would go back here in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
This was a nice park. We only stayed overnight but did not have any problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$55
This campground is well worth the money. The camp sites are large, spacious, and beautifully kept. The amenities are numerous and the staff is quite helpful. They provide garbage pickup at your site each morning. This was our second time here and we would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
The campground was very clean and well staffed. We had a problem fitting our trailer into a site, but the staff quickly accommodated our request and we were assigned a new site. Pool and hot tub facilities were clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$48
We stayed here "pre-season" and were very impressed with the place. As mentioned in other reviews the full hook up pull-through sites were very tight. However all amenities worked as advertised. The swimming pool was excellent. I would like to see a decent dog run area, that's about the only thing this place is missing. Its location directly across the road from a State Beach is excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
This is a great campground! We really enjoyed our stay. They offered off-season rates and military discounts. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$57
The best KOA we have been in in 15 years of travel. There are dozens of cottages, hundreds of ten sites, deluxe sites with trees, 80 to 90 85 foot pull throughs in an open fields. Super Wi-Fi, good DirecTV reception. Free pancake breakfast on weekends in the summer season will many other food choices for cheap prices. Great staff, clean, dogs and people well controlled. Excellent laundry, playgrounds, game fields, an internet cafe. Every site is flat. Most excellent in every respect but pricey. We will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$65
Many different types of camping sites available here. Front desk people were nice to us. We were here in August and it was very full. We had a pull through and the sites are pretty close together with many trees around. Roads are tight and alot of traffic most of the time. There were fire pits at the sights in our area. The free pancakes for breakfast were great. WiFi wasn't working good at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$51
Large park very well laid out. Price is way to high for what you get. Stayed one night then went somewhere else. At this price you would think you would have no dust, cable TV and clean sites. The area was very dusty with the traffic going by, the Cable TV did not work, and the site was very dirty. Campfire ring full of garbage and broken glass all over the site. One of the worst KOA's I have stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
This is a very large park with relatively unimproved 'sites' which felt more like 'overflow' sites. We were happy to have a place to stay for one night on short notice, but you need a reservation to get one of the nicer sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$56
Took 25 minutes to check in, and not just because it was busy. There where 3 employees at registration when I got into line, and I was the 5th person. Then 2 of them left, leaving only one person to check everyone in. There was eleven people behind me by time I finally got done. Set up reservations 10 days in advance and still could only get 2 nights. The premium sites are nice, but expensive. The "cheap seats" are like a parking lot. And of course the wireless didn't work, not to mention my $56.00 site had a mercury light in it which gave it all the class of a Walmart lot. The cable only has something like 9 channels and the trees that provide nice shade, prohibit the use of satellite. As in the last post, the fire pit was full of cigarette butts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$52
Ended up at this huge KOA because the adjacent Ft Stevens State Park was full. Our site was in row F which is the least developed part of the property (ours was, at $52 a night, one of the least expensive W/E only sites available). Sites were very close together and not particularly well maintained; tall weeds in lawn, someone's 6 month cigarette butt collection in the fire ring, picnic table extremely weathered. Definitely not worth the money. Tried hard to get into the state park -- we drove through and it was much prettier and better maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
A nice, clean, good sized park. There is a large indoor pool, but it's only 4' deep and is rather noisy when there are lots of people. They do have adult only hours, but they are late in the evening. We stayed in one of the "regular" sites, down the hill a bit from the "deluxe" sites, and had plenty of room. Most of these sites do not have cable hookup, but since we have a satellite dish, it didn't matter. One of the nicer KOA's we have stayed at. The WIFI worked very well. This is a super park for children and families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
We really had a better stay than last time when we had to stay in the back row in a p/u..We were supposed to have a premium site, but we were too long for them and got the next level site and actually had a better one for less money..The staff is extremely helpful and they tour the cg at all hours, but aren't obnoxious..The food is good and they also had a great concert on the Monday we were there.BD. All in all this KOA is a cut above them all and we will stay here again..I would have rated this a 10, but I am still trying to find a perfect one.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
This is a nice park but we felt it was over priced. We have taken our grandchildren there twice. It is a nice park for children because of the swimming pool, game room and climbing structure. It is not a place my husband and I would choose without our grandchildren along on the trip! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$46
Very nice campground. We were only stopping for overnight, but decided to stay for a second night because we liked it so much. We took a deluxe site. Pretty large, good sized grassy area surrounded by shrubs/trees. Not completely private, but better than we'd had recently while traveling through other states. WiFi good. Cable TV good. Friendly staff. Very quiet at night (we were there Sunday and Monday nights but there were still a decent amount of campers there). Deluxe sites are close to the playground, pool, office, and game room. Would have given this campground a 10 but the pool filter didn't seem to be working well. Pool water was cloudy and even though the filter was running, there didn't seem to be enough pressure to get it clean. Other than the pool, we have no complaints. Gorgeous indoor setting for the pool and hot tub. Too bad it wasn't clean enough. We would have enjoyed swimming indoors because it was cool during our visit. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$45
We were here in February last year and had a great time. We still had a great time this year, but downgraded the rating for a couple reasons. First, the pool has been made available to the public, so even on a day when the campground isn't busy, the pool may be (it was for us). This was VERY disappointing as Astoria has a public pool already. If we wanted busy we'd go there. Second, there were some other campers up partying late at night, and nothing was done to quiet them down. The bathrooms, while still clean, weren't as sparkley clean as last year. I see this KOA didn't get the president's award this past year, and these couple of details may have made the difference. Despite these couple of things, the WiFi worked great, and it's a great location. I don't think we'll be back next year as we didn't LOVE it like we did last time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$39
Awesome Store, Great Staff, Large sites - Nice Park. Pool crowded, faraway and shallow. Kids found most games in game room were broken. WiFi is available only in area close to Kitchen. We would likely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$50
A very nice layout. Park is very pretty with trees and many amenities such as cooking structures. I would say that families would like this park more than we - a couple with 2 dogs. Sites were tight but fortunately, the park was not busy. Mosquitos were terrible, but not their fault. Front desk staff very friendly but the guy in the golf cart doing the maintenance was into "hot dogging". Once he skidded to a stop (going too fast) and a second time he took a corner too fast and the garbage fell out of the back - yuck. The pool and spa building were impressive. Bottom line - great for families. Pricey if you don't use the amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$40
Wow. This is a great park in the off-season! I can see where it would be crowded and a bit much in the busy times, but it's phenomenal now. The good: Friendly staff, clean and neat grounds, free internet, very clean bathrooms/showers, great indoor pool/spa (also clean), well stocked store, and lots to do at the campground and in the area (bring your bikes!). The "other": The spaces are narrow, and depending on the landscaping, can hinder the awning and/or slides, so park carefully to allow for slides. The deluxe sites are paved, and the others are gravel. But the gravel sites seem pretty level. Overall, this is a great campground with lots to do. Definitely family friendly! We may make this one an annual stop (in the offseason). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$48
Great family campground. Excellent bathrooms and laundry. A little expensive for us and the wifi didn't work while we were there. We prefer Fort Stevens State Park, which is across the street. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$35
A nice, clean, good sized park. Large indoor pool, but only 4' deep. Since it is inside, it gets noisy when lots of people. Have adult only hours. "Deluxe" sites are paved and closer to pool, store and showers. They are nicely landscaped, which doesn't leave much room for awnings, large gatherings in one site or long rigs (+45'). Regular sites, down the hill a bit from the deluxe sites, are more open, wider, longer and lots of grass. But most of these do not have cable hookup. From all the sites, it is a walk up a slight hill (not steep) to the main building. Nice private showers, but vent fans could do a better job. One of the nicer KOA's I've stayed at. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com