214623 User submitted reviews online!!
Portside RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (541) 469-6616
CGID2300

Portside RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
106
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   6   9   9   4   9   9   7   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$41
We camped in a big rig - 40 foot class A with towed SUV. Level concrete sites with space for our SUV. The power 50 amp works properly. The WiFi is the best we have found in a year of camping. Fast. No dropouts. Easy to connect. Cable TV was excellent - clear HD. 55 channels, 5 news, 3 sports, 5 major networks. Good restaurants in walking distance. Near waterfront but views are of commercial marina. Very helpful friendly staff. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We stayed here a week. Great location across the street from the harbor. No fishy smell. Ten minute walk to the ocean. Check in was O.K. but staff was a little grumpy. Tried to put us in back in spot when we reserved pull through and then guide took us to the wrong space. Sites are a bit small. No landscaping separation. Sites are level and paved and have picnic tables. Terrible for pets, just a small gravel area and not a lick of grass. Restrooms were modern and clean. Showers are coin operated. You put your coin in and the shower turns on automatically, with no ability to regulate heat or turn it off. I found it a bit ironic since the parks like to say they make you pay as a conservation measure and then this park doesn't even allow you to turn off the water. I paid for ten minutes, but was done in seven and the water ran for another three minutes. No general store or RV provisions. Lots of restaurants at harbor. Large percentage of full time residents living in nice cottages. They are building more cottages on the hill above the park and ingress and egress are through the park. It's a bit busy and noisy during the workday as residents and construction equipment go back and forth. We looked around and still think this is your best choice in Brookings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
I would first like to state that the person who earlier wrote about this park was probably talking about some other park. There is no on-site café here and you cannot hear the waves. The ocean is a good 10 minute walk away. I have stayed at many places that were much better than here and a few that were worse. One thing that stood out was that several people were drinking and talking loudly while business was being conducted. Also their brochure stated that quiet time was 10 PM but drinking and loud talking lasted much later. I don't think I will be returning to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We lucked out and got the short front site overlooking the waterfront area. It is walking distance to fun stuff in the area, and the beach. Extremely clean and well maintained. All sites had cement pads so no blocking your jacks was required. Great cable, Wi-fi, and restrooms. Can't wait to visit this place again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$28
Cafe on site that was cute. Closed at 4:00 in January but can't blame them. It gets dark about then. Right on the ocean. Watch the waves break out the front window of our motorhome. Nice beach to walk on too. Wi-Fi was good and satellite was no problem since there aren't any real tall trees. Level, gravel sites with cement pad for patio. 66 cable channels. Sounds of waves all night. LOVE IT!! Best park in town of many parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2011
$31
Located up the canyon, no view. Mostly park models with very few RV spots. No satellite reception in the spot we had (35). Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Price of $22 reflects off season rate for gravel site. $28 for concrete site. All sites have picnic table. We enjoyed the area so ended up staying five nights. Restrooms/showers spotless and heated. Coin operated. Laundry great. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Very nice, clean park. All sites are concrete and level. Sits up a hill allowing some views of the Pacific. Walking distance to some restaurants. Has some park models but all units are well maintained. Staff is friendly and maintains convenient office hours. Would return here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
Very friendly campground hosts; helped us locate a sunny spot and park our rig. Concrete sites; ours was quite level. Appears to be clean and well kept. RV sites are surrounded by park models, occupying most of the campground. Not much landscaping, no trees, but since we were here in December, we wanted sun not shade. Middle sites a little close; back sites appear to have more room. Wi-Fi worked, but kept dropping the Internet connection. Walking distance to the port. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This campground is the most misleading place I have ever stayed in almost 10 years of RV'ing. It is more like a senior mobile home park than an RV park. Kids were not welcomed and residents acted as if we were intruders in their neighborhood. The park was clean but that's about the only thing positive. They have some wider spaces that were available but we were put in a narrow space (we have a slide) and there was barely room for a small table between our RV and the next. They told the driver of the 5th wheel next to us to pull as close to the back side of our RV as he could get so residents could park their vehicles next to him. I would not recommend this place to anyone under age 65 or with children under 18. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
We enjoyed our mid-August weekend here. As others have noted this park has FHU, cable (70+ channels), and WIFI (it worked well for us at our site near the office). Again, as others have mentioned, there are a lot of park models (and many seasonal/extended stay customers)and the park and sites do not appear to be that big rig friendly. I am not sure how many sites they have available during the summer season for a one or two night stay. Although within walking distance of some restaurants, other RV parks, a public beach, and the harbor, you have to drive to get into town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
It was very difficult to back in our large 5th wheel. This is not really a big-rig friendly park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
Nice rv park with great location in immediate area of Port of Brookings-Harbor. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free WiFi, cable, although the WiFi was unreliable at night. Across the street from two local restaurants and nearby to Port commercial center, commercial fishing boat basin, sport boat basin, and another shopping mall. Crab was available for purchase at the dock. Security seems good as owner family member lives on site. Some concrete paved areas, with other areas road paved only. Big rigs can be accommodated. Surrounded by trees and protected from the wind, this is a nice location. About half of the park is composed of newer park models. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$26
Small park located near the port. Cramped with tight turns, the spaces are small and close together. Parking for a toad or towing vehicle is very limited. The park is partially filled with park models. Staff very friendly and helpful. Park is clean and well maintained. Compared to the rest of the parks in the immediate area, this appears to be the best one. Not a good place to bring children as there is little to do in the park. Would stay here again for a one nighter but it is definitely not a distination park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$24
Nice location on the water. To much local traffic coming into the park to view the ocean. They park right in front of the RV and block access as they sight see through the drive. I would hate to be there in the summer when the local crowds flock in to enjoy the beach in front of the RV's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$15
I have no idea why this park is rated as high as some of the previous ratings indicate. As previously indicated, the greatest percentage of the park is and continues to be converted to park models. This leaves only a small percentage for RV'ers. If you are looking to meet other RV'ers and enjoy the social aspects of RV'ing there is little opportunity here. The paved spaces are fine and can accommodate even a Prevost as we saw. The Wi-Fi is spotty, the bathrooms are excellent, the managers are nice and helpful. Overall, it appears that the owners are reluctant to spend much money on the place. Examples are overflowing trash container (at times), cable TV that has no local channels (LA and NY why knows why), a little used hodge-podge of a rec room, and a pet area that is nothing more than a gravel area on the side of the park. Based on our initial disappointment with this park (since we planned to stay for a month) we checked out 5 or 6 other parks in the area. As we found they were no better and some worse. So this place is not terrible, just not greatest either. There is much to do in the area, you can walk to the harbor, shops, beach and restaurants. Verizon cell phones work great here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
This was a good overnight stop for us. Lots of park models here and few RVs. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We chose this site over others in the area as we needed a good laundry facility. This one was great. Lots of machines and a very clean laundry room. I wouldn't spend more than a night here, as there are more rustic parks in the area with much better views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
This park started out being our 3rd choice (couldn't get what we needed at the first, didn't care for the 2nd) but ended up being our best choice. We liked it so much after just one nite, we went into the Front Office the next day and converted from a 3-wk stay to a monthly - and saved money, despite having to pay our electric usage! We liked our wide "premium" site with its glimpse of a water view and managed to eke out a strong enough WiFi signal at least once each day because we were close to the Front Office where the antenna was. The staff was friendly and helpful and bathroom and laundry facilities were kept clean. We had already decided we'd return next summer if we could get our same site back, however, they are converting several more sites to Park Models. One of the permanent guests across from us has been scheduled to move to our site after us due to his row of spaces being converted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$36
This basically a park for permanents with only a few spaces for overnighters. It is tight and the "free wi-fi" has a range that is severely limited. Sites are not level. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$34
This is our favorite park in Brookings. It is very clean and has large paved pads for big rigs. They take you to your spot and help you park. One man in particular is very helpful with this and also in answering your questions about places to see. Stores, restaurants and harbor are all within walking distance. We have stayed here many times and will continue to do so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$23
Beautiful small park one block from ocean.Very quiet and well maitained.Paved sites are the nicest.Walk to fishing harbor,beach and restaurants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com