219095 User submitted reviews online!!
Honey Bear Campground & RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (541) 247-2765
CGID2328

Honey Bear Campground & RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   8   5   8   8   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
Well maintained park, older amenities that have been carefully kept up. There is sun, shade, walking trails and meadows for dogs. Short walk to the beach. There are some long timers and a good mix of open sites for travelers like us. Everyone, especially owners, very friendly. Bonus is the Black Forest Kitchen where they make and sell a mix of German meats. Also, they do a German Dinner in the restaurant, rabbit and salmon on our night was yummy. The Siren Cafe in Port Orford has great homemade muffins that are perfect for an early start north on 101. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
A three night stay, and not a bad campground. Not manicured real well, but we had a super site. Ask for site #2 in the ocean view section. Wife did laundry, but half the machines were not working. They have a German restaurant, but it was not open while we were there. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Great place and people. $300/mo off season. $400.00 May thru August. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$1
Group rate. Pull throughs are big enough for 45 MH. Now the bad stuff. I was here in 2008 and power was so low it tripped my surge protector. This time I was with a group, and over 1/2 of us had power issues that were so bad we just unplugged and used our gen sets. One of our group was an electrician and used his test gear on circuits. He was not impressed. Also turns around entry are tight and per usual tress will scrape your coach. So not much improved or fixed since 2008. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$1
We were part of a group, thus the rate quote. Interesting park but even though our group possessed rigs of 40' or greater, it's hard to recommend this park for rigs this size. There are nice long pull throughs, but it's tight going in and out. Trees were also an issue and a few need to be trimmed. Although we didn't have any problems several in our group experienced low voltage and power issues. There is a German restaurant at the park and the beaches are within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
One thing: not big rig friendly. Honeybear is a nice park, the Wi-Fi did not work but our Verizon hotspot worked great from this location. They only have 30 amp sites but it is not a problem that close to the ocean. Six minute walk to the beach: very pet friendly. Just make sure you unhook your tow vehicle before leaving the front office! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Honey Bear Campground was off Hwy. 101 with easy access. Some sites have an ocean view, but we stayed 2 nights in #1, under the trees, which was very nice. The park is well maintained and has been there since the 1970's I believe. The bath/shower rooms are right next to the main dining room building in the middle of the campground. Since the showers are inside the bathroom, when anyone ran the water or flushed the toilet, the water pressure dropped and the temperature ran hot or cold, depending what was being used. These rooms are clean, but definitely need an update, especially the low / almost to the floor, commodes. When we checked in, the owner just pointed to our campsite and didn't give us any information about the campground or where the baths were or anything. We had to walk around & discover things for ourselves. We did have their German dinner one night, which was very good, especially the potato pancakes. Overall it is a pretty park about 15 minutes north of Gold Beach, Or (where we took a jet boat ride one morning) and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Fabulous little RV Park. The owners were exceptionally kind and helpful from the time we arrived. Had issues with Wi-Fi and they went out of their way to help get us connected. Cute German themed restaurant and the store is filled with all sort of deli goodies. We picked up smoked trout and a bit of black forest ham. Delish. There's a short walk to the beach. You do have to cross 101 to get there, but that was not an issue. Beautiful beach, so it's worth the brief walk. Pack a picnic and enjoy. Restrooms and laundry both spotless. Did not get a chance to eat at the restaurant (they weren't serving dinner the night we were there), but from what I understand, that is definitely our loss. Check out was at noon but they graciously let us stay a little longer. The only reason I gave it a 9 and not a 10 is the fact that the sites only had 30 amp. We will most definitely stay here again, especially to dine at the restaurant. Don't miss this cute RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Had a pull-through site. The laundry was clean. Enjoyed the German dinner plus the German wieners, brats & bacon we bought at the deli. The only drawback was in the morning the electric service wasn't good. Too many rigs using microwaves, hairdryers, other electric appliances at the same time. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
We stayed a week and love this well maintained, pretty park full of trees and flowers. It is quiet and offers all types of spacious sites: pull-through, back-in, sunny, shaded, ocean view, no view, grassy, paved, tent sites. The friendly and accommodating owners also operate the German restaurant and Black Forest Kitchen Deli on site, serving delicious authentic food! Walk to the beach. Recycling available. Clean laundry, huge cable channel selection, playground, campfire rings, tables and wi-fi. Wood for sale. Gave park a 9 due to only 30 amp service. We paid for 6 nights got one free. Plan to return on our next trip through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
We stayed 5 days. Love this park! The park is old, but very well maintained, very clean bathrooms, and over 100 acres of walking trails, and a short walk to the beach. There is a restaurant on the premises that serves the best German food we had ever had. Yum! The owners were extremely nice and accommodating to everyone. The RV resort stays very busy, so you'll need to book reservations early. The only reason I gave the park a rating of 9, and not a 10, was due to the limitations of the 30 amp electric hookups. It seemed like the best we could get out of it was 20 amps, at best. We'll be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
We LOVED Honey Bear Campground. The park is beautiful with lots of trees, flowers and large spacious grassy sites. The restaurant, camp store, deli and check-in looks exactly like the house Hansel & Gretel would live in. So German, black forest cute! You MUST purchase lots of deli goods. The black forest ham, white sausage brats & pepper sticks are the best I have ever eaten. This includes my many trips to Germany. We were not fortunate enough to dine at the restaurant during our stay, but I know we missed something delicious. We had a light view of the Pacific Ocean and enjoyed the deeded beach access to the ocean. We enjoyed a pull-through, full-hook up site. The Wi-Fi was very spotty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
This is a gem of a campground. They have a German Restaurant and the owner cooks for you. It's across the street from the beach, and the park is lovely; a wonderful place for a get together. Grass pull throughs, flowers everywhere and the owners are very nice.The park is quiet. They also make their own German sausage which was really good. We stayed here for one night and plan on doing so again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Woodall's says this park has a rec room with coin games and WiFi at the sites. There is NO rec room with coin games and the WiFi was so spotty and poor we couldn't keep a signal for longer than a minute, and that was one row from the building. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
Very nice, nice walk to the beach. We especially enjoy the ability to have a good German dinner (served buffet style) occasionally when we have stayed here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
We only stayed here one night, Should have booked another night but we already had reservation for the next day at another RV park. The staff was very friendly at check in, The park was very clean and well groomed. The restaurant and pub is closed on Sundays and Mondays and we were here on a Sunday so we weren't able to eat at the restaurant. We did walk around the park to check it out, The little pond was really nice, They even have free fire wood available, Although you are only limited to three logs per night. The other campers were also very nice and friendly. The only reason I'm not rating this park a 10 is because we didn't use the restrooms or showers so I don't know there condition, But as clean as the park was I'm sure the restrooms and showers were just as clean. We did purchase some German sausage from the little store before it closed that evening. I will differently camp here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Very few sites have ocean views. It is 8-9 miles north of Gold Beach and nearest supermarkets. Yes, there is a stocked trout pond, but it costs $15 to fish for an hour or for the first fish; additional fish are $10 each. We stayed in early June, and the restaurant was closed, but Friday evening, somebody from the park came by and asked us if we wanted to eat in the restaurant that evening. Sites are very level and have average privacy. Flowers are beautiful throughout the park. Laundry is too small for a park this size. Beach is 6-7 minutes away through a trail that crosses Hwy 101. Wi-Fi was okay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Older park. It was quiet, but power was low and tripped my surge protector twice. I could see the Wi-Fi antenna yet its signal was so weak I could not use it. No 50 amp service and shared power pedestal. Very nice owners, but still it is an older park that needs some upgrading. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
The park attendant was friendly on check-in. We had a ocean view site (peek-a-boo type) that was nice. The WiFi was good with some problems at times connecting to the internet.(ISP issues not the rv park) Interesting restaurant with good hearty German food. Home grown entertainment was enjoyable. The Black Forest ham, liverwurst, knackwurst sausages and draft German beer were great. This is a family rv park that caters to the older crowd so is quiet and peaceful. The ocean beach is just a short walk away and is absolutely fabulous. There is a small laundry facility (two washers) that could get very busy as it would appear that people stay more than a couple of days here. The sites are level with some sites having a paved picnic area. Picnic tables are at each site. Cable is supplied which is not bad with just a few channels not perfect. We had a good time here and would stop again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
This is a very family friendly park that provides beautiful scenery and wildlife. The night time meal was well prepared and the show was very entertaining. The only reason we did not give this a ten was that the laundry room only has two washing machines. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
We chose a tent site here which was very nice, on the pond, nice grass, water, trees, very quiet, and picnic table. Lady in office was rude, store was almost non existent, restaurant was closed, and the bathrooms,showers were very far away. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Pretty CG, but the WiFi doesn't work and the meal in their restaurant was a disappointment. Some of the roads and turns were a bit tight for a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Great place to visit the local attractions from. The owners have there own deli and put on an authentic German family style dinner every night during the season, including entertainment. The campground is well cared for, and we will make it our Southern Oregon base again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Nice rustic campground with gravel/cement strip sites. Only 30 amps. Nice German deli and restaurant on site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
Perhaps the most relaxed place we've stayed to date. Huge variety of sites, from secluded and shady to open-to-the-sky for our internet satellite dish. All are pleasant. Owners run a great little restaurant on site and make the best Black Forest ham I've ever tasted! (Great sausages, too) We filled our freezer before we left. Concrete was plenty long for our 34' motorhome. Site was almost perfectly level, anyway. Owners corrected any minor problems immediately. If you require everything to be paved and regulated by a long rules list a la "resort," this place may not be for you, but if you want all the necessities and many extras in a relaxed, friendly environment, it really doesn't get much better than Honeybear. For example, all the dogs that needed to be leashed were (including ours, who doesn't have enough sense to stay in our site unless she's leashed), but the few who knew how to stay by their owners' sides could wander around their sites with their people unmolested. That's a dog- and people-friendly place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
Just a great little place. Owner/manager is German. They put on a nightly dinner-show which is both entertaining and economical. The Owner is the MC, singer and quite a performer. There are lots of shaded RV spots and the park atmosphere is very country with deer and turkey about in the morning. We will definitely go back. Negatives... Owner had a shortage of employees that knew how to place RVs and he was unfamiliar with how some RVs cannot back up or make short U turns. Also Concrete pads were terribly short and could not accommodate our 31 one footer; that caused some leveling problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$22
Fun park off of Highway 101 near Gold Beach, Oregon. The owners are very nice, and care about what they do. The German atmosphere, complete with dinners and polka, are fun, and would be especially appreciated by the 'Golden Age' crowd. Sites are large with cement pads, grass, shade. Bathrooms, laundry and showers are clean and well maintained. Playground needs an upgrade, and grassy areas need some TLC. Overall, though, a very nice park. Would stay again, and recommend to fellow travelers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
We have visited Honey Bear Campground several times and will visit again. While not directly on the beach, this facility offers a unique camping experience. Elk and wild turkey can be observed in the meadow during times of the day. We have also enjoyed the restaurant which serves steak dinners some nights and German fare on other evenings. The owner provides live music and entertainment and even a deli so that you can take some of the excellent food with you when you leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$18
This was a fun place to stay. Not too far from the ocean. The highlight of our trip was the German Dinner in the restaurant. I think it was about $7 and was delicious and the entertainment after was downright fun. Fun music and some bad jokes and a few good ones. It's not too far from Gold Beach and The Rogue River area We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com