214532 User submitted reviews online!!
Bull Shoals - White River State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (870) 445-3629
CGID233

Bull Shoals - White River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   7   10   10   10   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Shower water was a little hot and could not be adjusted. Park was very nice and clean. Will find a way to return as we enjoyed the park very much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
State Park with some sites on the river. Depends on the generating schedule from Dam for level of rushing water or trickle. Sites very close together on river side. In July, make reservations as it was packed. Trout Dock has fishing license and sundries. Mountain Bike trail needs to be maintained, fallen logs blocking path. Shady river sites are the choice to make in summer, and there is a delightful cool breeze in evenings coming off the water. Only one dumpster for entire park which was very odoriferous. There are also Rent a RV and Rent a Tent sites dispersed through park. Would return, but choose an off season time. Very crowded in July. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
A gem of a campground. May rank in our top three places we have ever stayed. Fantastic site right on the river. Plenty of space. Clean, clean, clean. Common areas are beautiful. Bath houses are new and very clean. Welcome office and shop at trout dock are well staffed and you can get what you need. Natural surroundings are so nice. The river is the main attraction, but there are also several nature trails. There is an upscale resort close by with a nice restaurant, and while it is privately owned, their nature trails are open to the public as well. Bull Shoals Lake offers lake activities just minutes away. One of the nicest and most relaxing times we have ever had. Only, be aware that there is a pump house across the river that makes a constant noise which affects the sites to the east of the trout dock. We will call soon to make our reservation for next year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
This was our first trip to this park and I was a little disappointed compared to other Arkansas State Parks. I didn't camp here for the fishing so that lowers my opinion somewhat. If you desire to be on the river in seconds, than this is the place. First the good: spots were level and the majority of them are within 50 feet of the river. Everything was clean and the staff was very helpful. Next the items that lowered the rating for me: majority of the spots are on top of each other. If you neighbor has a slide open, there is a good chance you may not be able to use your awning. The location of the picnic tables and fire rings are a little confusing. You wonder if the people designing the campground have ever camped. Our picnic table was located on the backside of our camper and the fire ring was less than 2 feet from our camper. I probably could have melted my siding if I used it. Many of the sites are located along a one way lane and people park along both sides. I could see having to chase down people to move cars to get into your site for long rigs. While these are all minor items, it's not something I have seen at the other parks in Arkansas. But they would not keep us from returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
Stayed in the recently remodeled section which is lovely and flat. All amenities. Could throw a rock in the river from your patio area. Huge sites. Quick walk to the spring. Lots of fishermen. Very pretty although dry this year. Would recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Beautiful scenery and beautiful campsites. Very large sites with asphalt drives and concrete parking spots. Most sites have a covered concrete picnic table. Overall, a great 5 night stay!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
We loved it here. We were on lot 51 right on the river. Next time I will try to get closer to the dockmasters to get the wifi on our site but there was a nice porch to sit on and tap into wifi at the dockmasters. The mist on the river was beautiful to watch. Groceries and restaurants were nearby. If only state parks had cable; my life would be complete. As usual staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
A nice park with plenty of sites. The rangers were nice and the fishing was excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
We stayed in #19 June 29 - July 3. This is a beautiful campground with lots of trees. We had to use a dish on a tripod stretched almost to the river to get satellite. The river was 8 to 10 feet higher than normal and the fishermen were out in force. We fished and caught some trout using sweet corn. We were really lucky with the weather - the highs were in the mid 80's and the lows were low 70's. It is very quiet here at night - no loud campers around a campfire. Also, something that was odd (but nice because there was no smell)was that there are no trashcans throughout the park. There is a dumpster area to take your trash. We camped here in a motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Love to fish? This is the place for you. The White River sites are fantastic, swimming in river not recommended below dam. Activities are weekly with Gaston Visitor Center full of information. Tje Guides were very helpful, the Park Rangers made our stay very pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$17
Beautiful park along the White River's edge. Park employees worked really hard to clean up from the damage done to the trees by an ice storm. Park is full of trout fishermen. Very quiet at night because everybody has to go fish early in the morning again. Caught a lot of rainbow trout with my fly rod. Bring your waders and olive colored 'woolly boogers'! I was told that Wi-Fi will be installed in April!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
We paid $19.00 the first night and were discounted to $14.00 a night after that for being over 62, and we were from out of state. A very nice state park with shade sites. We had site 26 which was in the shade and on loop A. We were on the river and had plenty of room. The only draw back to the site was it was muddy from recent rains. The grassy sites are closer together on loop B. Free Wi-Fi is available at the visitor center. We prefer this type of camping, having electric and water hookups in a state park is something we do not have in Ca. The only negative comment is the restrooms needed more attention. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
Nice campground, clean shower houses and restrooms, beautiful view of the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$11
We have stayed at this park many times over the last 10 years. It is a clean and quiet park with many shaded campsites. They do take reservations and I would recommend making one before going. The park is located on the White River and one can walk to the river for Rainbow Trout fishing. Most of the sites are large and easy to back into. I would recommend this Arkansas State Park especially if one likes to fish. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
The best trout fishing I've ever done. Being right on the White River is very nice. Well maintained and outfitted campsites could be a bit better spaced. Public baths & restrooms clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$10
GREAT GREAT GREAT! Will definitely go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
This is a great park, it's right on the White River, has a dock that you can rent boats and fish off of and they have a ton of activities and lectures and things to attend, including a scavenger hunt that my sons did. There's a huge playground, very nice modern shower bathhouse and tons of shade everywhere. You can get sites that are river front but book early, they go fast. A few of the sites are narrow, so choose carefully or ask the park guides for help. They are very friendly and we even saw deer behind the ranger station the night we checked in. Great place, with a new modern tourist center nearby, and Bull Shoals lake is close by for swimming and boating. Can't recommend highly enough. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
1 site has sewer, all others W/E only. This is a great camp ground. Our site backed up to the river and was close to the boat ramp. We enjoyed a nice view out the back of the trailer (screen room). Trout fishing is good. Cool campground in the evening due to cold water from the dam. Water level in the river fluctuates quite a bit depending on electricity generation. Church service on Sunday morning at the amphitheater. Gaston's Resort nearby has a great restaurant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$16
Fabulous sites along river. Great staff. Clean, well-kept. Great place for fishermen and families! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$16
Park is extremely clean and very neat most sights are right on the White River within a mile of Dam, great trout fishing, has a store in the park, very nice people that work at park and store, also very easy access for handicapped. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com