215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Moon Mountain RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (541) 479-1145
CGID2332

Moon Mountain RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   5   8   9   8   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
We stayed for two days at this park three years ago. I forgot what a nice facility this is. The beautiful landscaping rivals any park we have used in 49 states and several Canadian provinces. All services are "as advertised" and everything is well-maintained. Sites have level concrete parking pads. We don't require a swimming pool, playground or other "resort" facilities, so this park is top-notch in our book. The $220.00 weekly rate is very reasonable for a park of such high quality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Park is tight on turns but lovely and friendly. It is on a hill so a bit steep for walking. Quiet and a convenient location. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
Moon Mountain RV Resort is a tidy little stop, but extremely tight for a large RV to maneuver through. The staff answers questions via email very quickly, and was polite in person. This RV resort feels more like a sardine can as the spaces are extremely close together and situated on a steep, 4%+ incline of asphalt- literally some of the sites do not have enough space to place two patio chairs outside of the front door. All of the pads are lined with loose rocks and difficult to walk on, especially for those that have four-legged friends with them. There is an area of grass up behind the entry drive where you can walk the dogs for bathroom needs, other than that, there is no place for exercise. The park is noisy as it is adjacent to the freeway. We stayed here in 37 foot RV and it was very difficult to maneuver into our site. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
We booked the RV park for a week, but extended an additional two days hoping we'd get to visit Crater Lake NP, but the Govt. closure persisted. The RV park is older and small, and the roads are steep and narrow. But the concrete pads are level and the sites are large enough to get the slides and awnings out. The hillside location does provide a dramatic view of the surrounding forest and the trees in the park are varied and colorful. Check in is a bit tight....our big rig and toad blocked the entire entrance/exit area and there is no room to queue. Staff is friendly and the manager is very hands on. The utilities all worked well and the Wi-Fi was good. Satellite reception was good as well. The restrooms are dated, but clean. The RV park indicates it is family friendly, but there are no such amenities. There are several pet areas including a small grassy area by the office. The park is on a dead end road and highway traffic didn't seem bad. One of he best amenities is just a short walk down the road, Tom Pearce Park, with a paved trail along the perimeter and another trail along the Rogue River. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
This campground is right next to I-5 but I hardly hear any road noise. This campground is on the side of a hill and they make it work. I got a 75' spot so I could park my motorhome and the trailer I tow. There is ample room to park the car next to the motorhome. I did look into the bathroom and laundry and found both to be clean and functional. This location is convenient to Crater Lake National Park, with a lovey drive getting there along the Rogue River, and the Oregon Caves National Monument. There are numerous stores close by as well as easy on and off to I-5 and US 199. If in this area again I will stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$29
Other reviewers have done a good job with the park reviews. The side hill is nice for view but steep to walk or drive. The park is very clean and the permanent residents seem very friendly. The park is on a dead end road which goes to a local park on the river. A walkway from the park leads toward downtown which can provide a nice circle walk which takes about an hour. We would stay again when traveling I-5 or if visiting the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
This park is built on the side of a hill, but the concrete pads themselves are level. Gravel surrounds the pad. It's hard to walk around the site as it has steep pitched land due to it being built on a hill. All utilities were strong and newer. Wi-Fi ran at a strong 7 MB download. Water tasted good and 60 lbs.pressure. Leaving the park is a bit difficult due to the street layout. Only one street in the park to exit out on. Very tight turns at the end of the streets. A nice little park for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
We spent 10 days in this park. Just below I-5, but not much noise. Certainly didn't bother us at night with windows open. Nice park with friendly hosts. Sites are narrow, but are tiered, so we had a fabulous view of the mountains and valley out our windows. Cement pads and very level. Great cable and Wi-Fi. Would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Park is next to the I-5 but not much noise is heard, none in our trailer. Staff are very friendly. The park is very clean and well maintained. There are 3 washrooms with large showers which were clean and there are 3 washer/dryers costing $1.75 per load to wash and same for drying. The sites, which are narrow are on a terraced hill which makes for great privacy but there was no real place to put a chair out and sit as we were 3 feet away from the edge of our pad. The Wi-Fi is very strong. We were woken up at 7:00 am by a garbage truck picking up a bin which was located next to our site. We would stay again, it's a great place to overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
Very nice park but it's a little tight for any coach over 40 foot. It is close to the freeway, but sits nicely below and the noise is not bad at all. On site host was great to visit with and takes excellent care of the facility. I would stay here again. Only reason I would not give this site a score of ten is that their internet is really slow. I have seen dial up transfer data faster. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Rate is daily rate with Good Sam. Park is right next to I-5 (though getting there takes some winding around). Road noise is obvious outside but not inside the trailer. Overall noise is not too bad given proximity to freeway. Good wi-fi and cable. Park is down a rather steep hill, but sites have all been leveled / terraced well and have concrete pads which helps with leveling. I had site 22 which was long enough to keep my truck hooked up to the 5th wheel (since just in 1 night). Some sites are back ins and / or shorter which would not allow this. To my liking the roads are a little narrow for what is obviously a newer park that they invested in to make level sites down the hill. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
A little freeway noise but quiet other than that. Terraced sites with enough room between them. Wi-Fi is excellent and cell phone coverage is no problem. Would not hesitate to stay here again! Campground manager is very friendly! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
This is a really nice place, but as previous folks have said some of the sites are kind of narrow and a bit awkward to get into. We got there after the office closed and had to self-register which was OK. We did see the manager the next day and he was really nice. I would stay here again as it's quiet, outside of town, and actually well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
I would have given this park a 10 except the site we were given was extremely narrow. Pull through site 19 was plenty long enough and level but just really narrow. The usable site width was only 14'8". With our coach placed so we could open the slides we couldn't walk past the coach to the rear. The driver side had a 6' steep slope up to the next site and the passenger side had a 3' drop off to the site below. You had to be very careful when stepping out of your coach. Still, the park was beautiful with the trees changing colors this time of year. The park was also very well kept and the staff was extremely friendly. Even with the narrow site we would stay here again. The park is convenient to town, gas stations and grocery stores. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
This park was delightful and extremely clean and well maintained. Clean rest rooms and showers. The Park management was very accommodating and friendly and very efficient. Easy access from freeway with their directions to follow. I would certainly stay here when ever passing this way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
This is a great RV park. The location is close to I-5, however we were not bothered by freeway noise. It was close to stores which was convenient. There are full-time rigs in the park however they were well maintained and you didn't feel like you were in trailer trash. The park was exceptionally clean, nice landscaping and level sites. The manager, was a pleasure and if you needed anything he was right there. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. Nightly cost are based on a 30 day stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Campground sites are level but the whole campground is on a hill so there is a lot of walking up and down hills. Dog area is at the bottom of hill and full of rocks and gravel. People are friendly and the manager was very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Wonderful. Very, very clean and great customer service We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Very clean park with many permanent residents mostly on the edge of the park. Interior sites were mainly pull-through and easy to enter and exit. Hosts were awesome - very helpful, knowledgeable about other camping opportunities in Oregon. Park is on a hill, so if you like a good walking workout this is the place. Showers were clean as was the laundry room. Close to the freeway, but noise was minimal. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$37
A wonderful little park. We have usually stayed one night on our way to and from California. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice, level, concrete pads. Free Wi-Fi is outstanding. Easy access from I-5. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Very nice and clean park. If you follow the directions on it's web site it's easy to find. Nice level concrete sites. Far enough from Interstate Highway 5 to be quiet but not too far. We made our reservations in June so that might explain the lower rates. Wi-fi is free and available on site. Good satellite access. AT&T phone worked great. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
When we checked in, the manager said the park was a "hidden gem". He was right!! It's VERY well kept and quiet at night. It is tucked away from town about a mile and even though it's close to the highway, the way it is situated you don't hear it! Sites were wide, long and level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Hard to find. Level sites, but very narrow with very limited landscaping or space between sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Very nice park and easy to find off the highway. People in the park are very nice and everything is nicely maintained. Just stayed for an overnight but met many people in the park. Has level concrete pads and very level areas. Good room for a 42' rig or larger. Close to everything yet it felt like you were in the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
A lot of sites in a small area: good thing they are terraced, which gives the impression of a little more space. A valley view from most sites is OK but definitely not spectacular. Not a blade of grass anywhere: paved interior roads, concrete pads with gravel and some young trees and bushes for landscaping. RV park is newer, clean and well kept. Most sites are narrow, only a few sites have picnic tables, mine and many others didn't have room for one. No fire pits. They charge 2 dollars extra for each dog. Two dog areas are basic and dusty. Park is very close to I-5, sites furthest away are best but all sites have at least a low and constantly there freeway din. Wi-Fi good, cable tv good. NOT my type of place. I like some grass, no road noise, a little room to roam and enough space to put out my awning and relax. While some sites do have a little width many do not. Mine had 4 feet of space outside my door before the slope/terrace started. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
We loved this place and were so impressed by it. We really liked how the sites were terraced so you never felt like you had a neighbor right next to you. There is a lot of mature landscaping, so the RV resort is really pretty. The on-site manager was very friendly and helpful to us. We arrived after hours and he quickly showed up to help us get checked in, drove us to the site, made sure we were set up before leaving. The site was really wide and long so we never had to unhitch our tow vehicle. If in the area, we are definitely staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
The pictures on this park's web site do not do it justice. All the sites are terraced, giving each space a great view of the valley. Just as Jack's Landing RV and Bridge View RV Park are located right next to Interstate 5, Moon Mountain RV Park is also on the interstate but you do not see the highway as there is a hill and many trees and shrubs between this park and the highway. These features also cut down on highway noise. You are just down the road from Pearce Park, a beautiful park on the Rogue River. Sites are level concrete pads. We have 40' coach with four slides. We had plenty of room for the coach and our tow vehicle. Cell service is great. Wi-Fi is strong and constant with only a minimum of down time. Water pressure good and electric service constant. The laundry and bathrooms are the cleanest I have seen. The on-site Manager, is very knowledgeable of the area and more than willing to help you with information on places to see as well as all the good places to eat. We stayed here two months and used this park as our home base while visiting many of the attractions in this part of Oregon. If you have time you should see the following: Crater Lake, Thundering Waterfalls Scenic Byway, Jacksonville loop, Oregon Caves, Giant Redwood National Park located on the Pacific Coast just to name a few. We will definitely stay here any time we are in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Price shown based on a 7 night stay. This is a nicely kept little park. Most sites are terraced on the side of a mountain, and at first glance, look like maneuvering might be difficult, but its not. We had no trouble in our 35' fifth wheel. Sites are a bit narrow, but you'll have no trouble getting slides on both sides out. The owner and manager are very nice, and very helpful. I got little gift packages for each kid AND the dog when I checked in. I know a previous poster had an issue with the lower dog walk being near a leach field, but I've never heard of that being detrimental to anyone's health. The upper dog area is up a steep hill, and there is some rubbish up there, not trash, but bits of broken up concrete, wood pile, brush, stuff like that. Neither official dog area is ideal at all, but there is a nice spot up on the hill behind the office where you can go, and would be a perfect place to fence in for a really nice dog run. The other negative here is the price of the laundry facilities. $1.75 for washers and the same for dryers. I thought that was pretty steep. There are also only 3 of each machine, but I didn't have any trouble getting my laundry done. I would have done more, but decided to save it for the next park due to the price. We found this park extremely convenient to get around Grants Pass, which is a lovely little town. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
We stayed a month. Close to town. Close to Rogue River. Beautifully landscaped. Very clean. Very accommodating. Fast Wi-fi connections. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
Very friendly staff. Clean and neat sites. Great water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
I wasn't thrilled with this place. We have a 26" MH, and the owner (owner's wife) stuck us in a tiny space (#17) that we barely fit in, lengthwise. I had called for a reservation; we were arriving late at night; and there were plenty of empty spaces that she could have assigned us to. It felt like she wanted to keep all those spaces available for big class A's that just might also happen to show up at 10pm with us. This tiny space didn't have its own sewer, like the bigger spaces. We would have had to used the fixed dump station. The location is nice, and there isn't much freeway noise given how close it is to the freeway. Many of the spaces seemed to be long-term residents. This isn't a park for pet owners. There are two "pet areas." But the lower pet area is actually a steep hill that leads to a very busy street. Oh, and it's also a septic leach area, which is very unhealthful for our dogs, not to mention the humans walking them. There are signs that prohibit dogs from urinating on plants and bushes (like we don't know that already) and the park rules state that they will fine anyone who doesn't pick up after their pets. I don't have a problem with penalizing owners who don't scoop their dog's waste, btw. But the overall tone of the park is that they don't like dogs at all, and they prefer that we don't bring our dogs to their park. But they do charge a $2 per pet charge on top of regular park fees. For what? This dog owner won't be going back. So they get their wish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
The park is still a nice place but the main problem is that it is overrun with permanent residents and ones that leave for work early on noisy motorcycles! Not good for the weary traveler. I realize that park owners need the income but at the same time they are running off good customers. Friendly check-in. Some freeway noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$43
We really enjoyed this park. It was very clean and well maintained. All sites were paved with small grass and tree dividers. Very close to State Park (Rogue River?). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
This park finally has new owners, yea! We have stayed here before and the previous owners were more concerned about selling and getting out than taking care of business. New owners seem nice and am sure will do well. Would be a 10 except for some freeway noise and no wi-fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
Clean, well landscaped park. Friendly helpful staff. Some long term tenants but spaces were well maintained and clean. Good access to Hwy 5 but minimal noise from freeway was not a problem for us. Best thing about this park are the bathrooms. Instead of just a shower stall, you get a big bathroom with huge shower, sink, toilet, heater, seat, hooks for clothing, etc., all to yourself, and they were immaculate. Only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is the lack of spa or pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
If you are passing through Oregon on I-5 and need a place to stay for one night (or even longer!) stay here. This was a very nice park, level sites and spacious for all rig types. Highly recommend this park to fellow RVer's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$24
I give the campground an "8" and only because of no wifi and the closeness to the freeway noise otherwise it could be a "10", but the owner's wife a gets a "1". We arrived and paid for 3 nights stay and while gone all day on the second day we arrived back to find a nasty note on our rv that stated "Checkout time is 12 noon!!! This site has been reserved." When we arrived around 4 pm I went to the office to find out what they meant and was told sorry they had made a mistake and we were fine where we were, and the owner's wife had left the note, but did she come back and remove it, NO! She was also overheard complaining that somebody had left the lights on in the men's bathroom. I understand that this park has been sold and waiting for the new owner to take over, thank god or we would probably never stay here again, and we have stayed here several times before! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$23
We used this park as an overnight stop and it worked just fine. Nice little park on a side hill. Nice spacing between your neighbor. Interior roads are paved. RV pads are concrete and flat. Close to the freeway, but remarkably quiet. Friendly host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$99
Clean and aesthetic grounds and very clean facilities. Very helpful and friendly staff. Campground does slope but the use of tiered, concrete level sites with paved roads with such a pretty vista make it a non-issue. Nice base camp in a great recreational area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Very nice campground. Friendly owners, they lead you to your site. Sites are all "tiered" and spacious with surrounding hill and mountain views. All paved roads and concrete pads to park on. Park is only a few years old. Many trees planted and will provide shade in future years. Instant phone hookups are $2 extra per day. Would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Appears to be a fairly new facility. We were quite surprised that though the I-5 freeway is pretty close, we didn't hear a sound -- the park is downhill from the freeway, so guess that had something to do with it. Showers and bathrooms were immaculate, staff are very friendly and helpful. There are not a ton of planned activities, which made it ideal for us. We'd rather stay in a nice clean, quiet place and go elsewhere for our recreation, than have all the campers around us doing their recreation in our face. Would definitely stay again if we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com