223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Memaloose State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (541) 478-3008
CGID2335

Memaloose State Park

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   6   9   9   8   9   9   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
Like others have said this is a beautiful park right on the river, which unfortunately backs right on to the rail tracks. You will encounter a few trains going by but the track does not seem to be terribly busy. Our site (B29) backed right on to the river and the tracks and we found it to be quite acceptable. We'll definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$24
Depending on your rig size, needs and availability this can be a fantastic CG or okay. The sites overlooking the Columbia are superb and the others are close although there is usually plenty of grassed space behind the rigs. Lots of trees so satellite TV will be iffy. Sites not real level. Hosts were very nice but they don't collect the fee: it's on the honor system. As previously noted the entrance can add about 14 miles to your trip if eastbound as you go past the CG to the next exit, get back on the interstate, and then go straight through the rest stop to the CG entrance. Unfortunately, when you exit, you do the same thing. Would stay here again in 45’ rig if traveling eastbound! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
Nice state park. The hook-ups were good and 30 amps was enough. We actually got antenna reception. The camp hosts were around and helpful and friendly. We will stay again when we are back this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
We used this campground as a base camp to visit the Columbia Gorge and surrounding areas. Need to remember that you have to go west on the interstate then turn around to go east. The sites were paved, but most of them weren't quite level. We were able to use our ATT cell phones and our MiFi hotspot worked well. Only a couple of TV stations from the antenna. My husband used the bathrooms/showers and they were clean, but they were cold also. We camped on the row beside the interstate, the traffic was constant but not unbearable. If we had gotten a site closer to the river, the trains would have been louder. Even though no train horns, there were a lot of them. We would stay here again, if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
This is a great campground, in a beautiful setting overlooking the Columbia River. There are many trees, well-spaced in lawn. The campsites are level and many of them easily accommodate our 40 foot rig. The utilities are conveniently placed. There are some negatives. There is only 30 amp service available. The trees prevent satellite reception in most sites: although with the beauty of the campground it is easy to forego TV. The campground is a little difficult to find. Go through the rest area near mile post 74 on Westbound I-84. If you are Eastbound, you will have to go past the rest stop a few miles and turnaround to go Westbound. We like this place and will likely return to visit some of the nearby attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
This was a very nice park. It's a bit awkward to access, especially from the east. You have to go past it, get off at the next exit & go back. It is right off the Interstate & thru the rest stop. The sites that are near the Interstate are very noisy A1 -16, & probably B 48,50 & 55. However, you could probably get satellite from one of those spot. We couldn't get it from the B19, but did move later to B43 & did get it there. We couldn't get anything on antenna. The park host was really nice & get everything very clean. There is a train that runs along the gorge, but you got used to it & it didn't blow it's whistle. The views of the gorge are very nice. It was a good spot to sight see Mt.Hood, & the areas along the gorge. The biggest negative would be that you can only go E from there, so you have to drive about 3 miles out of your way to go west or coming from the East. We were able to get cell service & our own wifi. I would definitely return here if I were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
Although this park is listed as Hood River, it is also only a few miles from The Dalles. You can only access the park from westbound I-84. I really enjoy this park. Lots of shade is available and very strong over-the-air television from Portland. The park is very popular with locals, so be sure to check site markers to make sure the site you select isn't already reserved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Great park for an overnight stay or several days. The park has very easy access off the west bound freeway through a rest area. The camp sites are mostly shaded under large oaks. There are trains but the sound does not seem to be a problem and they do not blow their horns in this area. After being very uncomfortable in the Cascade Locks Good Sam park due to very loud trains that blew their horns all night long, this park was great and less expensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
Probably the best state park I have ever camped in. Sites are generally level and well spaced out. Volunteers are fantastic and the park is well taken care of. Along the Columbia River Gorge, there is a great view. The only negatives are that it is right next to Interstate 84 and trains pass through the area frequently (you will have this problem just about anywhere along the Columbia River). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
Warning! DO NOT come here unless you have made a reservation online. A lot of confusion between the hosts and the park rangers as to which sites are First Come, First Served. Cones cover some sites for no reason. (State workers coming to camp, my guess). Only can stay 1 night in a Non-Reservable site. 11 sites online were X'ed out but yet the ticket on some of these sites said Reserved. Total Chaos! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
Another wonderful Oregon State Park. Beautiful green shady park setting with huge spaces between RVs. We love this park. The train runs by but it's not too loud. Easy back in spaces. Could stay here for a week and be very happy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
A nice place for an overnight in the Columbia Gorge. Sites are really easy to get into, even for a big rig. We were in the B loop and we had no issues with either train or highway noise at all. Unfortunately though, there was no river access at all when we were there. Apparently, some idiot let their kids play on the train tracks, and a train came and went into emergency, locking up all its brakes. It could have easily derailed. As a result, the river access is fenced off. Otherwise, a very nice well kept campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
A vastly superior Columbia River State park to Ainsworth and Viento. While the sounds of trains is still present, the trains go far slower and do not blow their horns. The park is well positioned in that the freeway is 20 feet above it and the train tracks roughly 10 feet below the lower point, so the noise from either is cut down drastically. This park is wonderful for those just looking for an affordable place to rest overnight, though I doubt it would be great as a destination given its location and the fact that the entrance to the park is also part of a rest area on Interstate 84. My only major complaint about the park was the lack of functioning lights in the Men's showers and the "warm" shower temperatures. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
This State park is beautiful but we experienced too much noise from I84 and repetitive trains. It is still a good place to lay down for a night or two. Trying to find a park most anywhere along the Columbia Gorge with train noise is impossible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
Arrived on a Thursday and they were all booked up. They did find one spot with water and electric for one night. They only take reservations during the summer. There are no "walk ins," especially on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Might have potential IF you were in a camper, trailer or RV. However, we were in a tent, and the gale force winds were NOT fun. We were also on the A loop, and by the train tracks. There were at least 20 trains a day, and many at night (whistling and all). On a positive note, the playground was nice, and the camp hosts were friendly. We did leave a day early, and noticed many other people did not stay for their entire reservations. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
One of our favorite Parks anywhere. Have stayed here dozens of times over 20 years. Nice respite from Gorge heat. Restroom/Shower conditions put both Washington and California State Parks to shame, not to mention costs. Lots to do in area at any time of year. Get the "Fruit Loop" map and follow it. Don't miss "Packers" or the Alpaca Farm. Say "Hi" to Charlie the Pyrenese @ the Alpaca place. He's one very cool dude. Some noise issues between the freeway and the trains, but the train horn noise seemed less than usual the last time we were here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
The big plus here was a friendly and helpful host. It's a beautiful setting on the Columbia River, with clean restrooms and showers. Since I am not that great at backing in and out of tight spots, the angle in which my campsite was, could have given me problems if I were not able to pull up in an adjacent, across the way site and then back in. Anyone with an extra person watching would not have had to worry about it, but I was by myself. Host was kind enough to offer help but I was able to pull in to the driveway opposite and back in as there was no one in that other driveway. I camped one night and would camp here again if the opportunity arises. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Very nice park; some freeway noise as others have noted but it wasn't a problem. Great washroom and shower facilities. This park is very pet friendly; there is a large grass field between the campground and the river which is perfect for dogs. A river beach is accessible via a trail from the campsite, but beware of trains: they come almost silently sometimes. They usually toot to warn beachgoers though. Swimming is available, but children should be watched very closely. Train noise at night was not a problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
This is a very nice campground. The highway noise is a slight problem. Sites are larger then average size. The grounds are clean and well mantained. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
It is a beautiful park! The sites are right on the Columbia River and it is a short easy drive to Hood River. The sites were large, level and easy to access. We picked fresh blackberries right by our site. We only heard a train once and it was during the day. The highway is right there so if you are tent camping it might be a little noisy, but inside our trailer, it was minimal. The staff was very nice and friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
The site descriptions in ReserveAmerica list 20 Amp service only but we had 30 at our site (A-9) as did the rest of the full hook-up sites. With high 90’s as the daytime temperature this was appreciated. If you disregard the traffic noise from I-84 you have an almost picture perfect campsite. During the day the traffic noise in the sites directly backing on the highway is annoying but it seems to diminish in the evening. I didn’t notice the trains but relative to the highway the rails are a good distance from the full service facilities. Once you leave the campground it takes about 10 miles of driving to return. Your trading this inconvenience, however, for the opportunity to stay in a beautiful part of the Columbia river gorge - inexpensively. The river view sites are truly awesome but I believe they're all without utilities. The facility is loaded with family’s and kids so be alert. We would gladly return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
This is a smaller park that has become our preferred campground when meeting family from Eastern Oregon. It's a great halfway point for us. Columbia River is nearby, though it's not an easy hike down there. Didn't notice as much noise from the trains this year, compared to past trips. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
Nice state park, kind of noisy, but you are between a freeway and train tracks so it is expected. Didn't hear any train whistles at night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
This is one of our favorite Oregon State Parks. It has lots of green grass and the sites are not too close together. There is plenty of room for slideouts. The view from some of the sites is outstanding. You can see the Columbia River with its barge traffic and the occasional windsurfer. You can see the trains that travel the Washington side of the river. There is also a train that travels just below the bluff on the Oregon side of the river just below the park. This one does create some noise because there is a trail from the park to the river and they blow their horn to warn the hikers. I don't mind this noise at all and in fact enjoy it. A couple of points that surprised me are that they only have 30 amp power and they do not have a sewer connection that seals. They use the old opening that bends parallel with the ground and you have to take the connector off your hose and cram the flexible hose down the tube. I thought this had been outlawed years ago. Anyway, it is a beautiful park and we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
As others have mentioned, you can't get away from the train noise. This is just a fact of life along the Columbia Gorge. We didn't find the trains too horrible at this park, especially when compared to their noise level at Viento State Park which is further west along the river (Viento is by far the noisiest park we have ever camped at when it comes to trains!). In spite of train noise, we would camp here again. The park is quite lovely from a scenic standpoint. We enjoyed the Discovery Season rate of $16 for our full hook-up site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
This is one of the prettiest and nicest parks we have been to. We have two kids and the large grassy areas for them to play were wonderful. The only reason it gets a 5 is that the trains came through at night and blasted their horns so loud we had to leave. We have stayed at many parks were the trains come by and you hear horns, but this was unbelievably loud. The train is about 50 yards from the sites. I spoke with the Oregon Parks and they told me that the Union Pacific drivers do it for fun and we should complain to them. We would love to go back but the noise was too much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$21
Very clean, neat, and beautiful park. The only down side for us was how far the park was to the historic scenic road and some of the other activities that we were interested in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Awesome Oregon State Park on the bank of the Columbia River in the middle of the Gorge. Most sites are reserved long before summer as this is the windsurfing capital of the known world.. Lots of things to do here and in the area. There is a small beach on the river about 200 yds down a hill and across the rr tracks..Large number of trains, but you don't really notice them...The view far surpasses the noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$21
Oregon State Park on the Columbia River. Nice grassy campground with paved roads and pads. Great sites for kids next to the playground. Great sites for kidless overlooking the river. Secret of Memaloose is found down a 1/4 mile path to a beautiful little sand beach on the river. Fun side trips include visits to Historic Columbia River Highway and windsurfing access. Only thing that kept me from giving a 10 is the I-84 road noise (not terrible but there). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com