224252 User submitted reviews online!!
La Pine State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (541) 536-2428
CGID2343

La Pine State Park

Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   9   8   1   7   6   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$28
We stayed one night on our way to Crater Lake. The park was full so you definitely need reservations. It was quiet but very crowded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
We reserved our spot through ReserveAmerica and stayed in the middle loop. VERY crowded and cramped together sites. We had one of the more spacious spots. There were so many children riding bikes everywhere that it was difficult to get to our site. Electric and water were good. A nice woodsy feel to the park, but because of the time of the year it was loud and hectic with screaming children and barking dogs, so we hooked up and stayed inside our rig. The park looks like it is set up well with a recycling station. Probably would not stay here again, but it appears to be a great family park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
We arrived without a reservation and chose to stay in the north loop. The camp host was super friendly and helpful in showing us which sites were unoccupied and would accommodate our motor home. Roads in the north loop were rather narrow, and there were some trees that made it somewhat difficult to back into the site we chose. Site had water and 30 amp electric, no sewer. We have both Sprint and Verizon data coverage, and we were able to get just enough signal from one (don't remember which) of those carriers to communicate with the outside world. The garbage and recycling areas are located a good distance from the camp sites, but the location is convenient to drop off everything as you exit the park. There is a dump station on-site. One thing this park had that we've not seen at other state parks was a fenced off-leash dog run area. The north loop appeared to have more space between the sites and it was more heavily wooded than the other two loops. If you're in a larger rig, I (the wife) would recommend either the middle or south loops. The husband thought the north loop was fine. We pulled out of our site on the first attempt, but it did take some maneuvering to get into the site initially. There were lots of families enjoying the park during the two days we were there. We would stay at this park again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This is a great home base for taking in the sights in Central Oregon. Typical of Oregon, the campground is very clean and efficient. The sites are large and open. The only drawback is a lack of disposal areas within the campground. You have to haul your garbage and recycles to a site on the way out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
We have camped here for nearly 30 years. While this park has gone through some changes it is still a typical Oregon State Park, meaning it is well maintained, clean and in a wonderful location. They have repaved the south loop this month, with plans to do more upgrades in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Sites very tight and close together. Branches scraped RV. Access roads narrow. Can only stay one night unless reserved in advance. Reservation requirement not stated in 2012-2013 official state park guide. Must have Internet access to make reservations or can call mon-fri from 8-5pm. Very inconvenient. Will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
I don't usually rate Oregon State Parks because they are what they are. Good and very camping like. However, if you have a bigger rig they make it tough. As an example, they will list a pull though at 79 ft but the curve is so great that they are usually very tough to get into. They also don't tend to keep their trees trimmed for either motorhomes or fifth wheels. This is a great campground. I just wish they would consider the bigger guys as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
The location on the Deschute River is ideal, but the policy of closing loops to crowd campers together results in a summer holiday weekend effect. Campers to the right, to the left, as close as can be, screaming kids from first light to well after dark, and no escape. I couldn't wait to get back on the road. Too bad. Sites are fairly level, fairly easy to pull through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
Terrific potential, poor execution. It's a huge state park, deep in the forest. Yet sites are jammed very close together, spoiling the experience. Might as well stay in a parking-lot-style park. It's almost as if they used the layout of a different park, which doesn't match the site. There's a nearby river, but park is oddly some distance away, with just two official paths to the river, plus many of unofficial paths that go right through campsites. If sites were better separated, there could be lots more river access. And the entire park should be closer to the river, which is really the ONLY attraction. The park is truly in the sticks, a long drive from major city Bend (La Pine is also some distance away and barely a town). TV and cellphone service is mostly absent, and satellite TV is iffy due to many trees. There's no reason to drive so far to get so little in such a potentially wonderful place. I won't go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
We enjoyed our stay at La Pine State Park. It has excellent mountain biking trails and hiking trails. The river is right on site but does not look like many people swim in it except at the day use area. Agree with previous reviews:quiet, nice host, beautiful park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
Nice State park. Clean, on site camp hosts that really care. Very quiet in day and no noise after 10pm. Fairly easy to maneuver a 40' motorhome and several more were in the park as well as large 5th wheels. Many pull through although you may have to back into a pull through. Sewer, electric and water available. Showers are clean. Satellite reception can be tricky but who cares; you're camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
We liked the campground. The spaces were spacious and quiet and clean. We would have liked to stay closer to activities but the price was good. Would stay again if nothing closer was available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Loved this park! Clean and spacious. Nice hikes. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
Very nice (typical) Oregon State Park. High desert country, but set in thick pines, so is much cooler than surrounding area. Easy back-in, level, full hook-up site. Excellent restroom/shower rooms (compare to Washington or California State Parks- yuck). Convenient to Bend, Crater Lake NP, Newberry Volcanic NM etc. A long drive, but we will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
While the state has upgraded to 50 Amp service recently, a lot of the sites are getting cramped by the trees. Large rigs need to be very careful when choosing a site not to get damaged by a tree. This has always been one of our favorite camping places and despite the tight spaces, still is. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
Another very nice Oregon State Park campground. It's a few miles off the highway, so was very quiet. We would definitely return to this one for more than just an over-night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
Sites are FHU, mostly level, shaded all for $17! Only thing, it fills fast! and cell/internet is iffy, big rig friendly, friendly staff, clean RR/showers; river walk and trails of all kinds ... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
The State of Oregon Park service finally upgraded the power from 20 amp to 50 amp this past winter on the middle and south loops. The north loop is still only 20 amp. If you have a larger 5th wheel, or motorhome, I suggest you use the middle loop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Nice old state park, the roads need to be repaired, and the restrooms need updating, but otherwise nice place. Camp hosts are terrific. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
This is a very nice park with great walking trails and plenty to do. It is old and dated. The electric there is not even 30 amp, so air conditions will "trip" the switch on occasion. The sewer connections are the old fashion 90 degree elbow type. The roadways are narrow, and I had a very difficult time placing my fifth wheel in what was reported to be a 50 foot pull through. Nothing had been mentioned about the 45 degree bend in the driveway. I had to back in from the top. Still, we spent a very pleasant 3 nights there and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
I suppose you can say this park has big rig access, but it's not designed for big rigs. It has very few long sites and the 8? foot site we got took some maneuvering to get through and into with our 5er and semi. The pull-thru was curved and trees were close enough that careful consideration was paid to not damage the rig or the trees. The rangers said they'd never seen our combination in the park before. Since this is a state park, to say it's BUSY is an understatement. It's a great family park, like most of Oregon's state parks. It's in a beautiful setting, like most of Oregon's parks. It offers easy access to a whole lot of what Oregon has to offer outdoors. It's affordable. Downsides are 20 Amp electricity only. Very few sites with sewer, and the sewer connections are nearly nonfunctional. They are side-feed pipes, meaning drainage goes in from the side, not the top, and at ground level. We couldn't screw the sealing ring into it, so we just set the hose into the pipe and placed something over it to hold it in place. This means you don't drain your black tank, because there's back drainage out of the pipe onto the ground. The good thing is that the rangers said they're closing the park this winter for 7 months and refitting all the sites with 50 amp and new sewer systems. It'd be great if they widened the sites a little and added some more big ones. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
We enjoyed this park very much nice wooded spaces plenty of privacy between spaces it is best to stay in the loop with out full hook ups they are much closer together and very noisy it is best here to just opt for the water and electric nice nature trais on the river and very kind helpful campground host in this section they only have 20 amp service so make sure you have an adapter we did not and the campground host let us borrow one we only stayed one night but wished we had longer We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Stayed in the north loop which was a bit of a challenge for our big 5er. But the area was roomy and quiet compared to the RV loop around the store. It was central to many side trips. BUT the mosquitos are HORRIBLE!! or at least they were in June We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Many folks rave about LaPine but we were not all that thrilled. We stayed in the loop without the full hookups because we wanted more space and indeed there was quite a bit of room between sites, but compared to other Oregon State Parks, LaPine seemed tired and worn. There was a huge pollen bloom and the mosquitoes seemed to be having a convention so perhaps that shaded our opinion. Still, the location is great, the cost low and there's no shortage of pine trees so its hard to be too critical. Plenty of trails for hikes and lots of pretty river views nearby too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
This is a well maintained park. I stayed only a short time but enjoyed the park a lot. The Rangers were efficient and helpful. The only drawback was the crowding at the first of summer, when I stayed there. I would return and stay maybe before school is out though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Very nice state park with adequate facilities, bathrooms were dated but clean, sites had 20 amp service, park is in beautiful area and many recreational locations are within an easy distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
The fifth stop on our recent family vacation was La Pine State Park, about thirty miles south of Bend. We had a great time here, but sadly the park is in need of some maintenance. The loop roads and pads are in poor shape. There are plenty of hookups, but all are 20amp, OK with us, but not many of you. The bathrooms are clean, but very dated except the shower building. The garbage and recycling are up the hill near the entrance gate instead of the camp. The state park is in a lovely pine forest on a series of bends of the Deschutes River. There are three campground loops. First you will come to the North loop, where we stayed. This is the most spacious of the three. There are no river views from any sites, but many short walks through the pine forest. The middle loop is where the showers are. Both the middle and south loop are more tightly packed, but still OK. The pine forest doesn't give much privacy, so we liked the more spacious North loop. But the reason we loved La Pine was the trail system. The park is filled with miles of beautiful hiking and biking trails. We couldn't even come close to riding them all in the two days we were there. If you like to mountain bike on moderate trails, this is the place for you. Another great thing about La Pine is the location. The park is five miles off Hwy 97. Just a mile down the road is the turnoff for the amazing Newberry National Volcanic Monument(which has some beautiful campgrounds as well). Just to the north on 97 are the Lava Lands Center, the Lava Cast Forest, the Lava Tube, and the High Desert Museum. If you want to explore all of this, La Pine can be a great jumping off point. Although the park reminded my of the financial difficulty in maintaining state parks these days, I will probably return someday if only to ride the rest of those trails... We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$17
Sites on middle loop only have 20 amp service. With big rigs (we have a 43' 5ver) be prepared to get out and move tree limbs so as not to tear off antennas and such. Tight area to drive in but doable. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$17
Great park. Have been here numerous times since 1999. Try to visit at least every other year. Good spacing between sites. Good walking paths near river. Lots of good wildlife to view. Don't forget peanuts for the squirrels! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$17
Paved sites, nice separation between them. Frozen water spigot in the morning. Thankfully the sun was out and didn't take too long to thaw. This is our second visit and we'll return again. Lots of new trails for walking/biking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$13
Finding a park in the Bend vicinity without highway and RR noise is a challenge...this one certainly qualifies. Great location and a nice variety of sites for everything from a tent to a big rig. Sites all require some leveling and many don't have much visual separation from neighbors. If you go late or early in the season be forewarned: 2 of the 3 loops are closed and only a few sites have winterized water hook-ups. The state reservation systen doesn't tell you which ones. Plan on bringing your own water. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Very nice state park. Have been coming here since 1998. Friendly staff and camp hosts. Will continue to come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Beautiful state park in the Eastern Cascades. Large shaded sites and lots of things to do. Stayed there as a overnight stop but am planning as a destination stop next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$15
Located along the Deschutes River, 22 miles south of Bend this is a really nice rustic, wooded cg with full hookups, firepits and lots of trails. Deer roamed through our site each day. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com