220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Jantzen Beach RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (503) 289-7626
CGID2363

Jantzen Beach RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
169
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   2   3   7   7   7   6   1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
It was hard to know about this park by looking at the reviews, so we decided to take a chance. This is a nice RV park. Nice sites, full hookups, trees, and great location for activities in Portland. If noise doesn't bother you, then this is the place for you! It is located in the flight pattern for Portland airport and military operations which fly from 6 AM to 11:30 PM. There is a railroad track very close by that runs day and night, using the horn the entire way! The noise isn't constant, but when they come by, it is very loud. There are not a lot of options close to the city, so for that reason it worked. Next time I will park further out of town and drive in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
We loved this place. Nice grassy sites with lots of trees and gardens. Clean restrooms and laundry. It's in good location with full access to shops, and it offers a lot by way of pleasant walking and cycling. They also offer long stay rates starting at a week. There is a gym and pools which were again, very well maintained. Noise is the only issue with commercial and military aircraft flying over but it wasn't too bad. We had a space just off the road and expected it to be noisy but funnily enough we didn't notice that too much either. The staff were great and very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
This was a very noisy park. The flight path for take off and landing from Portland airport is directly overhead. Military jets took off and flew directly overhead multiple times during our 2 day stay. There is a railroad switching yard close by and trains are constantly banging day and night. In addition the trains blow their horns day and night. We did not feel comfortable keeping our chairs, tables etc. outdoors when we were not there. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
This park is not as it claims. They are on the river, but the only spots by the river are permanent spots. It is noisy! Planes, trains, boats, cars etc. These old women are in the pool making a ton of noise rain or shine, no matter the temperature. This is not country living in the city, this is city living! It is not safe at all. Crazy drivers out on the road passing by, one crashed into a transformer, homeless people frequently wander through here it is scary. I say think twice We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
Park was nicely maintained and clean, restroom were stocked, and clean. We had interaction with 2 staff members, one was very friendly, the other acted as tho we were bothering her. As others have stated the park is very load due to being located on the Portland Airport flightpath. The majority of people in the park were long-term residents who acted as tho you were in their way. The one next to us stayed up late, partied, drank, slammed car doors until 2 am. I encountered one young couple showering together in the male showers, they acted as tho I was at fault for bothering them. Wi-Fi was very spotty. Due to the behavior of the residents will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
For an urban park, the location is great for exploring everything from downtown to Multnomah Falls. About 2/3 of the park is filled with permanent residents. Paved roads and paved, level sites are a plus, although the sites are a bit on the narrow side. Water, sewer, and electric hookups are well placed. Wi-Fi was pretty good. Rating gets dinged for the bathrooms & showers which are old, small, and lacking hooks in the shower stalls. Price reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$36
This park is convenient to Portland business district. Nice, clean, well maintained property with mature shade trees. Adjacent to a shopping plaza with Target, Home Depot, Old Navy among others. Easy on and off the interstate in our 43' bus. We will return to this convenient location again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
We have stayed here before and have had good experiences, BUT this time was different. We got there and asked for one of the several sites we had stayed in before and was told they weren't available and she put us in one next to them. Well,no-one showed in them for two days. The site she gave us had a tight entrance between a concrete power box on one side and a tree and pole on the other. I checked the tree and watched the box to make sure the toad cleared it,which it did barely, but missed the three inch limb stub on the tree and got the mirror, oops. Got in and hooked up and the power box took several attempts to get 50 amp power and I finally turned on ALL the circuit breakers and Voila, I had power. Tried the internet and that was a no-go uh-uh, no-way anytime. The neighbors all said the same thing and that it's been that way for AT LEAST three months. The office said that they'd check the box, but that didn't work.. Oh and guess who was parked RIGHT UNDER the wi-fi box. Told the office about the tree and there wasn't really any response, except they'd look into it. The guy in the next site said that one trailer had caught it already, two months ago and there had been two MHs that had taken their mirrors off too. The limb is very hard to see as it blends in with the tree. I do like the place, but the management was not very forthcoming and I may stay here again, but in a different site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
This is the second trashiest site I've been to, and I mean that there is trash all over. The front office smells like cigarette smoke, the manager is extremely rude (other review sites concur strongly), the bathrooms are filthy, and we actually got in trouble for letting our daughter play outside. So we took her to the playground area and got in trouble for that, too, since it's for residents of the mobile home area. Same for the pool. For mobile home residents only. Some of the mobile homes have water views, but the rest don't. I'm not holding the barge horns or air traffic against the management, but beware that it's loud because of these things. Maybe you'll be like me and find these sounds comforting. If you don't, then you won't get much sleep. During our 2-month stay, we had to move spots every week to ten days to open up better spots for people coming in for a few days. At one point, the manager overbooked, so we had to go park our RV on the street for a night. This happens a lot, and there are often rigs parked on the street because their reserved spots were taken by someone else. At the end of our stay we were assigned to a spot about 25' long for a 36' long rig with so little turn area that driving our truck through the spot was tricky. That's when we left. One of the maintenance guys told us that spot is usually used as spare parking because it's not in a location that a rig can be driven through. If you have a problem, don't expect help. In a spot next to us a bunch of young adult men got drunk and partied like it was a frat house. When one of them said some raunchy stuff to my kindergartener and propositioned me, I called for help and was told to deal with it myself by staying inside, and they were only there a couple days. The manager's laxity is the sort of thing you expect to see in a movie about bad managers. The pluses are the proximity to shopping, and that is all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
We were here during fall colors. It is a large-capacity park, but the trees make it beautiful and not seem so crowded. Staff was helpful. We were in Site 958 near the back of the park so the Wi-Fi was marginal. Verizon service was good. Bathrooms were 6 of 10. We were certainly disappointed to have our bikes (which were new, we'd ridden them twice) stolen from our site on the second of our two night stay. Guess we will lock the bikes as we do our generators. The staff was apologetic and a woman from the park "walk patrol" came around to interview us. Sad that there is still so much more work to do to raise some people to a higher level of living with their fellow humans. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Beware that their weekly rate can be had for staying a week, but their monthly rate (even if just staying a single month) requires that you fill out an eight page application that includes providing them with previous years tax returns, etc. We signed up for a month, but ended up paying the weekly rate because we were not willing to provide the kind of info they required. Would have been fine it it listed it on their web site and spelled out their requirements, we just wanted to stay for 30 days and made a reservation based on that rate and their comments on the phone about getting that rate. We ended up having to pay the weekly rate for four weeks, which is much more expensive. It's a fine park...lots of noise from trains, plains, etc, but it is convenient to town and nicely laid out. The local guy who will offer to wash your rig for $35 does an amazing job. Just don't try to stay for 30 days for the rate they quote you. We paid $23/night when they quoted us $12.50/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
We only stayed here one night but we were impressed with the facilities, maintenance and cleanliness. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only downside was Wi-fFi was intermittent during the evening. Yes, there is some noise. You do hear the odd airplane, train or boat whistle, but it is in the heart of the city. We were able to cycle on nice, well-signed bike paths from the RV Park to the Max (light rail line) and travel quickly into the downtown where there are numerous bike friendly streets and a nice waterfront route. You can buy an all day transit ticket for $5 and the trains have bike hangers on board. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Yes it is under the flight paths for the airport. No problem. Just turn on your roof AC fan on and use a little sound generator. I prefer the rain sound, being from Oregon. We attended a military reunion at the Red Lion just walking distance down the road. The park was very neat and well designed. Good WiFi also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
The park was very clean & nicely landscaped. The staff was very courteous and helpful, and the bathrooms/showers were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40+
I'm in agreement with some of the other posts, the pull thru site was very narrow and our Wi-Fi reception was poor. If you absolutely need to be in Portland there aren't' many choices, but this park has many poor qualities. I read on one post about road noise, but that was drowned out by trains, tugboats, military jets and general aviation jet traffic from the airport. A lot of long term tenants took up many of the nicer sites, but overall the people we met were very nice. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Park was well maintained and facilities all clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only downside is the noise level from freight trains and airport. Train horns go off all night so if you're a light sleeper bring earplugs. Rate reflects Good Sam. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
Very tight layout for longer RVs, can be hard to get into spaces. Location not convenient and you have a lot of traffic to fight to get anywhere. Between jet planes and train whistles, very noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
As other have said there is airport noise, railroad noise and road noise. For the most part at night we did not have any problems with noise but it was there during the day. Pull through spots are very narrow but long I had to move the picnic table to the very edge of the spot to walk past my trailer with comfort. What really bothered me about this park was security or lack of it. There is no fence around the park, and in addition, it shares roads with a mobile home park. Anyone can walk off the street to the RVs on the entire perimeter of the park. Some of the spots back onto the street making it about 10 steps from the sidewalk to anything left out. I noticed locals rummaging through the dumpsters and recycle bins for recyclables to cash in. This was a park where I was glad to have a locking chock, hitch lock, and lock on my surge guard. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
This park depends on your goals for a park. Great location. You can easily take the tram to the city. Just off I-5. Great Wi-Fi. Good amenities. But it was crowded when we came and it was noisy with kids, dogs, etc. Also military jets in the am, airplanes all day, and a few trains at night. Other than that, they run a nice park site. And I may stay here again due to location and value. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This seems to be a great park if you want to back into your pad, not so much for the limited number of pull throughs. The pull through pads particularly in the center of the pull through section, are very narrow especially if you have slides on both sides of your coach. Plus, the hook ups are in the far back end of the pad, so you may need an extension for your sewer if your coach has a hook up in the middle or front of the coach. There is also a section of back-ins in the front of the park, where you are rear bumper to bumper with the guy in back of you. I would look at the map of the park before you book a spot. The airplane and train noise is going to be here because you’re near the airport and tracks, but based on the high occupancy of RVers that seem to be here for an extended period of time, most people seem to learn to live with it. Plus the airplane noise seems to be a function of the weather. During cloud cover you’re going to get more noise. This park is clean, well maintained, and very nicely landscaped. The park has free cable TV and Wi-Fi which work well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
We came down for the weekend as our daughter will be attending college in Portland. It has good freeway access, and plenty of stores and shopping in the area. The office staff was very friendly and helpful, and check in was a breeze. The grounds are very well kept, as are the pool facilities and restrooms (according to my wife; I didn't actually use them). The sites are relatively spacious, and there's plenty of grass and room to move around outside our trailer. This is a nice clean park, and we'll definitely come down regularly when we visit our daughter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
I almost passed on this park because of previous reviews. I am so glad that I didn't. The location is good. A short drive to Portland Downtown and the "interesting things" to see. It is true that arriving in Portland during rush hour is a problem, and rush hour begins at 2:30. All traffic is eventually routed onto a limited number of bridges, which will cause delays. However, prior to 4:00, the delay isn't long. Jensen's is a pleasing park. Lots of grass, three pools, a reasonable gym, and nice people to welcome you. Very nice place for dog walking. I do not notice a noise problem. I was there for two nights, Friday and Saturday. Train whistles can be heard, starting about 9:30PM. The last was at 11:30 PM on Friday and there were very few prior to that. I didn't notice any road noise at all during my entire stay. There are long term RVers. However, there are none of the problems we associate with that description. This park is well managed, well maintained, and a great place to stay, long term or just overnight. My motorhome is 42'. I tow a car, and had no problem maneuvering within the park. I would have rated this park a 10, but for the poor Wi-Fi. I will definitely make a reservation at this park for my next trip to Portland. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Had we known that we would not get a moments sleep, we would have driven a little more north. While the campground was clean, although we did not use any of the facilities, the noise at night was unbearable. So glad we were only staying one night. When we booked we were told they had plenty of spots and we would have a pull-through. Not only did we not get a pull through, the park appeared fairly full. There were pull-throughs in the front of the park, but we were forced to unhook our toad for the one night. Unless you don't have a problem with trains, tugs and horns all night, stay somewhere else! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
We stayed here as our favorite RV park in the area is now closed. I was kind of worried about traffic as we wanted to go to L&C college area and the Terwilliger area, but it really turned out ok. Just don't try to get in and out of town during rush hour, but we did find a couple of alternates. The park is very nice and easy to get to and around in. The lady in the office was very nice and helpful. We stayed here in the spot across the street on our very first trip in a travel trailer 10-12 years ago, and I don't think the place has changed at all. Very nice then and still nice now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$27
The Good: The sites across from the office are level and grassy, access is easy and quick, right off of I-5. Easy access to Vancouver and Portland. Staff was friendly enough when I went in to pay. The not so good: If you arrive after business hours there is no self check in. The office is only open from 9 to 5 so if you arrive late and leave early, I guess you don't pay, more of an issue for the park than the RVer I guess. Sign on the desk in the office says they don't accept cash (I thought that was against federal law as paper money says "for all debts public and private" on it, but I digress. If you don't use checks or carry a credit card I guess you are out of luck. However, the noise has to be the worst issue and is out of the park's control. The airport gets very few flights after 11pm, and we heard no trains, but as the park is right on a street with lots of traffic and shares a driveway with a trailer park where they must issue one of those raspy, loud, obnoxious mufflers to every resident on move in, it is hard to get a quiet night's sleep. We stayed at another RV park which is within a stones throw from the end of the runway at Portland airport and it was much quieter. If you need a place to stay for a night, it will do, but if you don't need hookups, stay across the street in the mall parking lot for free and be on your way early. Price reflected a 10% Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$27
Nicely, manicured sites with bushes, grass, and picnic table. Wi-fi signal was good at times and slow at others. We were in the back of the lot (pull through sites), and there were lots of full timers. They were nice, but they smoke and walk their dogs often. Sites and roads are asphalt. Most sites were level and large enough to accommodate slides and awnings. Showers were hot and mostly clean. Laundry facility was priced well and was clean. Staff was nice. Great location, easy to get to, and very close to the outdoor mall. This park allows you to wash your vehicle on site. Trains can be heard in the distance, but we did not find them bothersome. Planes can be heard also, but they did not bother us at night. The only very loud planes are the military planes, and they didn't fly all that frequently during our 5 day stay. However, they can be extremely loud and did rattle the RV on the 2 occasions, during the day time of our stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
We stayed here from Thanksgiving night to Sunday. Wife wanted quick/close launch off for Portland Black Friday sales. 2nd time here, don't know why people complain about noise from trains and planes. Didn't notice them at all. Always find staff and residents VERY friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
It is impossible to sleep here. The trains blow their horns ALL night long about hourly, and you are in a flight pattern right under the jets. We tried to get refunded for the 2nd night after we explained the problem, and there was NO sympathy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
This is a good park to stay at if your frame of mind is to get out during the day and sightsee which there is plenty to do of in Portland. Small sites, decent bathrooms, but not quiet because of the nearby Portland airport, also trains. Did not bother us. Shopping right across the street. Very convenient to either drive into downtown Portland or take the train system nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
Easy access park adjacent to mfg home lot. Place is clean, with two pools. Grass and picnic tables at each site. Good satellite reception. Poor to fair (free) WiFi. Verizon and Sprint air cards acceptable. The noise from the trains at night is horrible. Needed a sleeping aid and ear plugs. Plane traffic can also be a problem. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Positives: Clean, well maintained park. Clean laundry room. Walk to major department store. 2 pools. Close to walking areas(got info from maintenance man). About 5 miles from train into city. Negatives: Rude office staff - don't ask for suggestions or help about anything. Park located under airport flight path, trains and river boats run all night. Noisy all the time. Cable TV - garbage channels - no variety. I-5 gets jammed up with traffic in that area. This park is located right before you cross the bridge to Vancouver, WA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This campground is near the city...it is very noisy but you become accustomed and it is not the campground's fault. Planes (F-15s occasionally), trains, and cars and boats/ships. Quite a lot to see...nice walking path along the river near the mobile home park. Biggest complaint is poor Internet service, goes out when people log on in eves, etc. The staff are not warm and fuzzy but you only have to deal with them once(at check in) then they don't bother you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This park is by far the absolute worst place we have been. The staff couldn't have cared less, to say they were unfriendly is itself a gross understatement. We had planned to stay for a month and because of that, we were put in their long term area which was terribly run down and less than desirable. We paid for two nights, stayed only one and moved on. It's a great location, but a horrible park with people that really just don't care. Need I say, we will never return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
This campground is not a bad value for the money. It is very handy to City Center Portland and has a good public transportation system. The park is noisy from the sounds of boats, trains and planes. Bring some ear plugs for nightime sleeping and you will be fine. It is hard to find a good place to walk the dog, but we found an industrial area down the main road, past the park. We found everything clean and well maintained and would camp here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Stayed about a month and a half. Sites and facilities were clean and well kept up. Cable TV was fuzzy, Wi-Fi was on and off with problems the whole time we were here. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this as a decent park for anyone to stay on on their journeys! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This was our first time here in about 10 years - it was not nearly as built up back then (no mall across the street). In-spite of some of the poor reviews given this park earlier in the year, we decided to stay here for the weekend since the main complaint (urban noise - trains, planes, and automobiles) does not bother us. The park has good facilities (FHU, 2 pools, limited cable, Wi-Fi, and adequate sites). Our main problem was that we had requested a roof satellite friendly site at the time we made our reservation and reiterated this request when we checked in. Our site was between two 30" trees and we could not get reception. We asked for another site (a number of more "open to the SW sky" sites were in our row). We were told the sites were booked. By the time we left on Sunday morning, at least 2 of these "open" had been vacant all weekend. It appeared that we were lied to and the staff was too lazy to do what little work it would have been to let us switch sites. Not good customer service. As big as this place is, there are not that many sites for over nighters in season. Most sites appear to be seasonal or extended stay (that's not counting the large "trailer" park next to the RV park). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Nice campground. It is part of a larger manufactured home park, but they are very nice and very well kept. The RV Park is separate from the rest of the mobile home park. The rate is per night for a week. We paid $169 for the week. I would certainly stay here again. The only negative is the air traffic. This park is relatively close to the airport. You do hear the airplanes taking off and landing, but I would not let that stop me from staying again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Rate reflects weekly rate. We have enjoyed staying at this park for 10 of the past 12 years during the Portland Rose Festival in May and June. It is located on Hayden Island in the Columbia River. The grounds are attractive and well cared for. There is aircraft noise during the day and railroad noise some nights. A short walk across the street is Jantzen Beach Super Center with some 30 stores currently open. Safeway is a short drive away on the island. A paved river front trail in the adjoining Mobile Home Park gives spectacular views of Mount Hood, Mount Saint Helens and Columbia River shipping traffic. Downtown Portland is an 8 mile, rarely more than 15 minute drive, even in rush hour traffic on I-5. It is this ease of access to Portland and Vancouver locations which set this RV Park apart from other RV Parks. Yes, I-5 traffic is occassionally stopped by Columbia River Bridge lifts for barge traffic, but delays are short and part of normal life in Portland. There are perhaps 5 to 7 major restaurants on the island and for a special dining experience one can try the quaint floating Island Cafe on the eastern end of the island. All in all, it is a delightful location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Staff was not rude,but not very nice. The groundskeeper was friendly. Most of the stores in the mall across the street are closed,except for Target,Barnes and Noble, and a Starbucks.Very noisy and not very well secured around the perimeter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
I heard everyone about the noise in this park, but no one mentioned the taste of the water. It seemed quite odd to me. They need a filter system. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
Jantzen Beach RV Park could be a great place to stay. The park is very well-maintained, neat, and easy to navigate, and though the staff isn't exceptionally friendly, they weren't particularly rude. They have a very reasonable weekly rate which we paid right away. We quickly regretted that decision for these reasons. The first is the incredible amount of noise here. You are nestled right between the train tracks and an air force base, so you get train horns all night and fighter jets flying over in the afternoon, impossible to ignore. Second, this park is on an island, and the only way to get there is on I-5, which is also the only way to get across the river to Washington. If you travel during rush hour, you will be trapped with all the commuters; no way to avoid it. At one point I was in park for 15 minutes 1 mile before the exit. Third, there is no beach at Jantzen Beach, not anymore. It is a huge mall space with Best Buy, Michaels, etc. Many of the sites (including ours) back up to the road behind the mall, with no fence separating the two. This led to a feeling of insecurity and additional noise from car traffic. If you plan to stay here and get a good night's sleep, make sure to pick up some earplugs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
There are minimal shade trees present in this facility. The swimming area is fairly nice. The deck facilities are minimal (no tables, no umbrellas, except for the life guards). They also have no ice vending machine available. The office staff seem to show a lack of concern for any of the requests/needs of their RV customers. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
The campground brochure did not mention anything nor did the map reveal anything regarding the proximity of the near by trains, airplanes, boat and highway noise that besets this other than that, seemly nicely maintained park. I was however alarmed by the approach late one evening, after 11:00PM, in our site by a disheveled and seeming drunk or high individual who identified himself only as Cowboy and asked for money and cigarettes or our Coach. I hoped he thought a joke. I do not know if there is any or if there is adequate security patrols or cameras provided by the park for their clients safety. In my web search for an RV Park nearest to Portland's City Center there were not many available and this one seemed to be the nicest and closest. There is a near by public bus service which will take you to the nearest Max Station which has a park and ride and a shopping mall is quite near by. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Management at front desk was volunteerism at best. Firstly, they were uncooperative over which space to use, when many were empty. All the best ones from the website photos had been given to long termers. No effort was made to ease my parking. Spaces are paved but there is no where to walk on the space when it rains except on the grass. Spaces are tight 90 degree turns, pads are narrow. My 36' fifth wheel left no where to park my tow vehicle as spaces are short. No pet area, which means everywhere is a pet area, even my space. The trash dumpster was located at the end of my pad, ugh, when it could have been positioned at a clear paved spot 35ft away. 90% of park is leased by long termers or mobile homes. There are no extra parking spots in the park without a permit. Lack of instructions on internet access codes, plus registration of personal information, and low metered limitations. By the way, the internet access code expires without warning. My two office visits were mildly disagreeable, positioning me as the problem. Hey, I'm just a guest trying to get service or answers! My conclusion was that RV'ers, who weren't long-termers, weren't worth the trouble. It is very noisy, all day Portland District airport takeoffs overhead, boat horns north and south directions, nearby trains, and adjacent divided roadway traffic. Now for the better, there is lots of grass and a good number of trees, all spaces 50 amp. There are two swimming pools. It is next door to a mall and restaurants, and convenient to Portland and Vancouver. We paid and stayed for a week. We do not intend to stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$31
Clean park, narrow sites, fair access for 40' MH. Convenient for the Portland/Vancouver area. But very noisy with airplanes, trains and boats. Second choice when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$26
This is a great RV resort. We were visiting family in Vancouver, Wa & this park was convenient. The grounds were very well kept. The bathroom & restrooms were clean. The laundry room was being redone & understandably a little messy but they had nice washer & dryers. We liked staying at this park & plan on staying the next time we are in the area. There is also a large mall next door & lots of restaurants within walking distance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$44
Pulled in late, couldn't find anything to register with, or site map. No info on wi-fi, so all I could find was a secure network. Nice level spot with a train in the background. Within walking distance to a lot of shops. Very well kept park. My daughter liked the playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$28
Nice big park, easy to navigate, and feels somewhat private since it has established landscaping. The staff was friendly. The only items that made me rate it lower was the slow internet, and the close proximity to the flight path to the airport. There is also a mobile home park on the site, but they seem to be well kept and not an issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$28
Great location, Close to highway, well maintained, only issue is it is located on the air-port flight path. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
A great park to stay in if visiting Portland, and if not it's right next to the river and lots of shops! Very friendly staff, nice side-by-side sites, clean bathrooms and reasonably priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
Huge park with flat, asphalt sites, bordered by small patches of lush green grass. Extra water spigot came in handy for watering dog bowls. We stayed there 5 days. Great proximity to Portland across the bridge, via I-5., though northbound rush hour traffic can be a bear. Laundry room clean and well lit all in working order. Staff very knowledgeable about local places of interest including printed material and advice. Didn't find the plane noise to be a problem as in previous posts. It decreased significantly at night. Earplugs worked for me. We will stay here again on our next visit to Portland. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Fairly roomy sites for a in city park. Nicely grassed areas, many trees, lots of shade. This is a plus and minus, depending on whether you use a satellite dish. Many sites block access, and the park cable system is only the basic networks, so keep that in mind when reserving. Excellent Monthly and weekly rates too. We have camped here the last 2 summers, and love this park. Nice pools, friendly staff (though once parked, they don't like to move you to another site). Exceptionally clean and well run. Many very large sites for big rigs. Other pluses are shopping center across the street, EZ I-5 access, close to downtown Vancouver, WA and Portland, OR. Only minuses are plane and train noise, and when there is an event at the auto racing track nearby, it can be noisy. If you are here on the 4th of July, it is an awesome place to view the fireworks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
Across street from large shopping center. Park is clean and well kept. Lots of children in playground during the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
If you are looking for a place to stay that is on a commercial island surrounded by boats, trains and autos that sound their horns all night long then this is the place for you. If you want to be in the flight path of the airport then stay here. If you want to be camped in a parking lot next to a busy road and a shopping mall then go right ahead and book. If you want be parked in a spot that is not big enough for your trailer and auto even though you stressed the sizes of the vehicles and then get put back to back with another camper then this is where you want to stay. We were supposed to stay five nights but stuck it out for just one. We ended up parked in the drive of our friends home - much quieter. Oh, and if you want to be a part of a mobile home park then you've got it...this is the place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
Some of the previous visitors commented on "some urban noise." That is like saying the Titanic took on "some water." There are airliners taking off constantly overhead. There are trains. There are train bridge horns blowing all the time. The place could wake the dead. By the way, they have a "no refund" policy to keep complainers from leaving after the second or third 747 swoops overhead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
This is an urban setting, across the street from a shopping mall, with a mobile home park on the other side. If you have the expectation that this is not camping at the beach or in a forest, then this is a very nice place to stay. This site makes a good home base for exploration in the Portland area. As it is urban, there are nighttime noises and nearby traffic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
We stayed here twice. They have three pools, but we're not sure why they don't make one of them adults only. Nice sites and near everything. There is a huge mega mall across the street, downtown Vancouver, Washington is a short walk across the bridge, bus routes to Portland at the mall and a bike path all the way into Portland or Vancouver. The only reason this place doesn't get a 10 is the constant noise from everything: constant boat horns, long lasting and blaring train whistles day and night, airport and military jets right overhead. As soon as there is a moment of quiet, the lawn mower crew comes through (early in the morning). They mow constantly here. The maintenance shed is right by the pool and many of the sites, a lot noise coming from inside too. The sprinklers come on in the middle of the night and shower the outside of the RV and spray up into the trees. If you want peace and quiet, not a good bet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2006
$??
This park's primary asset is the location -- on the Washington/Oregon border with easy access to both Portland,OR and Vancouver,WA. As noted by other reviewers, there are a lot of long-term RVers here, however we found the park to be clean and well maintained and experienced no problems with any of the other "residents". We were, however, frustrated with management. We inadvertently parked in the wrong spot (we should have been just next door), but didn't notice or realize it until we were ready for bed. When we notified the office staff the next morning, we were told we'd have to move as the park was scheduled to be full that night. We did so, only to have the spot we had accidentally occupied remain vacant the rest of our stay. The park never exceeded 50% occupancy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
This campground shares a neighborhood with a trailer park and had lots of long termers. The bathrooms were not as clean or nice as advertised and we had to carry a pass to use the pool - which was inconvenient. We had a spot over a sewer lid and could smell the evidence each morning. We also had the dumpster on our site, so we had vagrants rummaging through the dumpster for cans, etc. while we ate dinner with our three small kids. My husband was also approached for money by another man while walking in the area. We never did see any security that was advertised - only a phone number to call. The so-called hiking trail was not convenient or easy to find and the office help was cool at best and rude at worst. I wouldn't stay there again if it was offered to me free! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$24
The campground is located in the city-there is a mall across the street with restaurants available. The park staff was friendly & helpful. There were a lot of permanent & long term residents. Park appeared cluttered as some sites were packed with vehicles & trailers. The voltage only measured 105/106 volts-far short of the 120 volts. An automatic sprinkler came on at 2:00 am and sprayed against the coach for ten minutes-I slept through being in the flight pattern & sirens, but not that sprinkler! All roads & sites were blacktop. Sites were adequate in size to accommodated any number of slides and any size motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com