214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Humbug Mountain State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (541) 332-6774
CGID2367

Humbug Mountain State Park

Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   10   9   8   8   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$19
Beautiful state park - just a short walk to a private beach right on the coast. This is not a RV resort! Quiet and clean. This could be the best value on the Oregon coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
Really pretty campground with good access to the beach. I would have given it a "10" except the noise from Hwy 101 is irritating with logging trucks passing by just across the creek along the edge of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$21
Located between two mountains, there is a short hike to a very beautiful Pacific Ocean Beach. Sites are paved, though prone to flooding in rains. There are two sections, each manned by friendly hosts. As a campground, it is excellent, but there is not much shopping in the area. Port Orford is expensive. Gas prices are 15 cents per gallon higher and the local food store is pricy. If you plan to stay long term, be sure to get supplies before arrival. There is no Internet, nor broadcast television reception. I could not get a signal on my Verizon cell phone. The only radio reception I got was from satellite radio. You are isolated. In case of emergencies, the hosts have landlines. While weather is usually very nice, you can encounter very rough Pacific Storms as they hit the coastline and get funneled into the surrounding mountains. I actually watched the winds flow in two directions. It is a quiet grounds that are great for perhaps a week. This is a great jumping off spot though. Go south to the California Border (about 50 miles south) and you will get any number of incredible Pacific Ocean views. Just over the California border is the famous Redwood Forest. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
One of Oregon's best kept secrets, this park's location (shielded by Humbug Mountain), keeps it sunny and warm while the surrounding area is fog-covered and cold. Sites are all paved, and there are some pull-thru sites available for big rigs. Restrooms and showers were recently upgraded and are spotlessly maintained by the staff, who are friendly and willing to help if needed. There are great trails up the mountain and down the coast, open areas for kids to play, and a trail to the beach. Throw in the the blackberries and huckleberries ripe for picking and it just doesn't get much better. Although Port Orford doesn't offer much, there's a grocery market and a great restaurant called the Crazy Norwegian. No broadcast TV or internet, but clear shots to the satellites are available from most sties. An amazing place. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Oregon State Parks are the best. This is a well kept campground in a nice setting. The sites are plenty roomy for big rigs and the hookups are great. We walked the Humbug Trail and had a great time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
Small beautiful state park with access to the ocean. It is very green and park-like with large space between RV's. The park wasn't very crowded when we visited so it felt very private. There is a access path to the ocean, and lots of place to walk in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$16
Great value as with most Oregon State Parks on the coast. $16 for power/water with free dump at entrance. Lots of variety with sites. Some are in the trees and back onto the creek, others are more open and back or front on to a open grass field. Large pull through sites available - up to 96 ft. Highway is visible and audible from some sites; however, it did not bother us as the road is quite at night. Short walk to secluded beach - beautiful views of the ocean from this beach. Humbug trail is accessible from campground. There are two loops. We stayed at the loop near the ocean and the highway bridge - it has the pull through sites. Showers were warm and clean enough. Lots of hiking trails start from this campground. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Oregon does state parks right. This is so very nice. Walk to the beach. 3 nice trails close by. Sits along a creek. Have stayed here many times. If you want pull through hookups reserve it. We were surprised at how busy it was and that we lucked out and got an electric pull through site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Very nice State Park, upgrades in process, 50 amp at sites now and a new dump station finished. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
We had planned to camp at Cape Blanco State Park but the temperature was in the 50's so we moved on to Humbug Mountain. When we arrived a couple of hours later, the temperature was in the 70's. The campground is beautifully sheltered in between Humbug Mountain and China Mountain and yet it is only a short walk to the beautiful beach from the largest camping area. Most of the sites are in a circle around an open grassy area, - adequate shade for most sites but not as much site separation as in many other Oregon campgrounds. There are good trails for hiking including the impressive climb to the top of Humbug Mountain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
This is a really nice park; not crowded; very quiet. You can walk the path to ocean or take a steep path to nearby Humbug Mountain peak for a terrific view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
Our family camped here in 2006. The dump station was not in use. We are told this is a problem at this park. Crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
This is generally a nice park and a good environment for kids. Most evenings there was a presentation in the amphitheater by park staff. The park is exceptionally well maintained and the employees are both friendly and helpful. The only reason we didn't rate this one a 10 is its proximity to the highway. Most mornings you wake up to the sound of a trucker's jake brake. Even though guests are encouraged to pick up after their pets, every single dog owner we saw thought nothing of it to let pooch make a dump in either a vacant camp site or on the center lawn area. Be careful in the nearby town of Port Orford, population 1190; it is a notorious speed trap. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
Good clean campground - Very good challenging hike - Humbug Mountain. Lots of blackberry bushes. Will return. Camped in Minni MH summer 2005. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Nice quiet campground, short walk to beach. All sites paved as are roads. Sites semi-private with trees and plants/brush in between them. You drive in, find a empty spot, park and then go to a "post" and fill out a small form and insert your money in the envelope and drop in the box. No reservations. Has dump station on way out. Six miles south of Port Orford. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com