223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Silver Falls State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (503) 873-8681
CGID2381

Silver Falls State Park

Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   8   9   7   9   9   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
Over all great, especially for kids. Marked down because sorely needs a additional dump station. Only one available three miles away at group campsites and crowded even at midweek. Playground and ranger programs great. However, most programs and swimming area .6 miles from RV sites so if no towed vehicle a pretty good hike for little ones. Walking under waterfall cool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
What a gem! One of the nicest State Parks we have stayed at so far in our travels. Very spacious sites, with privacy, water, and electricity. Back in sites accommodated our 31 footer just fine. Friendly hosts and firewood was only $6 for a wheelbarrow full - a treat. They also provided a fire starter for $1 which worked fine. 4 Waterfalls were easy hikes for us, and we are not hikers. Went to South Falls, North Falls, Upper North falls, and Winter Falls. Definitely would return here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
Nice state park with awesome hiking opportunities. We enjoyed a weekend here, the sites are well spaced. We had absolutely no Verizon or Sprint coverage here, AT&T was our only working phone. Getting to this park takes patience, Hwy 214 going into and out of the park is a windy, twisty road for a large rig so patience is needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Stayed at Silver Falls for 2 nights and had a great time. Site was large w/ enough room for picnic and fires. Play structures were available. Restrooms/showers were immaculate. Close enough to Salem. Great hiking all around. Hosts were great. Wood was plentiful and cheap. Tent sites were very close to each other, but trailer sites were fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
Silver Falls State Park is really a destination featuring beautiful hikes and waterfalls; in most cases not a place for an overnight stay. We had great difficulty backing our 40 foot RV into our assigned spot. It was to such a degree that the campground hosts took pity on us and assigned us to an "emergency" site which was extra wide and had 50 amp plus full sewer hook-up. This is a beautiful well kept park. Most sites do not have sewer hookups. Verizon telephone and Wi-Fi service is unavailable. I doubt if satellite TV would be available in most spots. If I were assured my RV would fit, I would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
This is a wonderful state park, essentially at National Park quality. The waterfalls are wonderful. Some require some hiking, but not a lot of difficult hiking. In December, with lots of rain, the waterfalls were flowing at a maximum, so quite nice. The campground is nice, not wonderful. The positives are that most of the sites have privacy because of the vegetation. It is in a pleasant setting and close to the main features of the park. When we were there, the only sites open were in the "B" loop and about half of these sites had the water off. The negatives are that the campground is close to the highway going through the park and the logging trucks start at four in the morning. They use their Jake Brakes, and they make a lot of noise. It was not a major problem in the winter with windows closed, but in the summer with windows open, it would be quite annoying. They have only 30 amps hookups, but the power level seemed to be quite good, even though the power outlets looked dated. As noted, the water was off on many of the sites when we were there. The dump station is very inconvenient. It is in the group campground about 5 miles away. There are gray water dumps in the campground which could be used. No Verizon service. Satellite is available in only a few sites because of tree cover. Although the park is not too far away from a town, it has the feeling of being very remote. There are very nice hiking trails. The biking trails are OK, but when we were there they were covered with vegetation. All of this is worth it to see and hike this wonderful state park. Good work Oregon. We will definitely try to visit this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
One of the best of Oregon's parks. Great falls to hike to and bike path as well. Hint: The lower numbered loop is more open for sun if you're making reservations online. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
Nice big sites, surrounded by trees and brush that gave each site lots of privacy. Close walk to the Falls. Loved this campground. This is my second visit and I will definitely come again when visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$23
We had a wonderful time at this park, we took our horses and rode their trails which were all clear and clean. The coral was very roomy for the horses, and water was an easy access. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Very quiet park during the week. Good privacy in many spaces with lots of greenery and bushes between sites. Good hiking and bicycling in park as well as waterfall viewing. Camp hosts even go around park at night offering firewood to each site! Stayed in site b26 and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Great park with something for everyone. Has lots of trails for hiking, biking, horseback riding; place for kids to swim; waterfalls, etc. Only thing missing is full hookups. We stayed in B loop: which is where most of the RV's stay. Had large sites very well spaced out. Some sites have outstanding privacy: those sites on the outer loop 34,36,37,39 and 41 comes to mind. But if your looking for sun, stick to inner sites. We stayed at site 30 which was one of the few sites on the outer loop that had lots of sun. A loop is mostly tent sites and they are closer together. The A loop has great ambiance because of the tall trees. Site 72 appears to be an outstanding site for RV's, as it is large and backs up to small stream. A loop also has new bathroom/shower facilities. B loop has older facilities but they are clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
Others have commented on how wonderful this park is, with lovely trees and great hiking. I just wanted to add a couple caveats: 1. We made the mistake of reserving a spot towards the end of the A loop. Because of the proximity of the sites, we simply could not maneuver our rig back into the site. Fortunately, the staff was very helpful and found another site for us. 2. Verizon cell phone service does not work here. 3. Lots of tents, lots of campfires, and thus the air was thick with smoke. We are the rare breed of camper that would rather breathe fresh air than smoke. Because of the smoke, and only because of the smoke, sorry Silver Falls, we won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
We stayed at Silver Falls July 22-23; we didn't have a reservation and the first night they put us in site B-12, which is their "overflow site". It was very nice and spacious, but gets the afternoon sun. The next day we moved to B-25, which has to be the best site; plenty of shade and lots of privacy. All the sites in the B loop have water and electric hookup; in the A loop most of the sites are for tent camping, but we saw a number of sites with partial hookups. There are large clean bathrooms in the park and the showers are nice and hot and free. There are numerous hiking trails through out the park with spectacular views of waterfalls (there are 10 of them to see if you're up to a long hike). There are a number of places along the trails where you can go swimming. There are Ranger activities, a play area with a jungle Jim, bicycle trails. The have a small souvenir shop in the park (a considerable walk from the camp site), but other than a few bare necessities, no food or anything else. There is a small general store about 7 miles from the camp. The dump station is well marked and about a mile from the camp site; we had no problem finding it. We found the camp site to be very quiet, clean and well maintained; we'd stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
One of our favorite Oregon state parks, very reasonable in price, and central to many things to do. Great hiking trails and many waterfalls. B loop seems to be the best for larger units. We stayed in B-26 which was more then sufficient for our 34 foot 5th wheel and truck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Love this park. We stayed in site D-80 (which has a sewer connection), one of the few in the park. It was clean and shady but located in the loop filled mostly with tenter's. The sites were much smaller than in the RV only loop. The campsites were immaculate and the park regularly patrolled by paid, adult, staff as well as 2 camp hosts. My primary complaint about the park is the dump station which is WELL away from the park itself and difficult to find if you don't know where it is. However the falls, rain forest canyons, and lush vegetation make this inconvenience minor We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Gorgeous area of Oregon, will definitely stay here again, restrooms and showers were very clean. All of the sites were very large and included picnic table and fire pit, some of sites you could not see your neighbor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
We just returned from a two week family vacation and visited Silver Falls State Park in the Cascade foothills near Salem. This is a great campground in a very special place. Silver Falls is home to a temperate rain forest canyon which has ten waterfalls ranging from 30 to 180 feet high. The eight mile trail of the ten falls takes you by all of them, but you can easily access several from the road. Four waterfalls allow you to hike behind the falls as they tumble over the basalt cliffs. There is also a great four mile bike trail. The campground has great kids programs and is nicely wooded. The loop with sites 1-44 has hookups, much more space, and is closer to showers. The loop with sites 45-100 is far more compact with many sites closely packed. We are in a PUP so we like more space. Silver Falls is well worth a few days visit. This is Oregon's largest state park and one of the real gems in the state. Now I just need to return in the spring when the water is running high... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Super park! Lots of fun for everyone. Great hiking trails that dogs are not allowed on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
What can you say about this park that isn't good. It is neat and clean,the hosts are great,the scenery is great and the weather was wonderful, even for the first week in April. Some of the sites are a little tight to get into, but I wouldn't want any changes to them as the bushes really are part of the place. The experience is more than be appreciated in less than several days though, so plan on spending that much time there. We were told that there were a million day and overnight users last year,so plan your reservations accordingly. Will be going back ourselves this summer.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
This is a very popular State Park. It is normally full on the weekends even during the off season. We loved it here, there are so many beautiful waterfalls to visit. There's a 7 mile hiking trail with 10 beautiful waterfalls to visit. A 4 mile bike path and 25 miles of trails for horses, hiking, or mountain bikes. Horse rentals are available during the summer. The sites were very roomy, plenty of room for our rv and our toad. We were able to get a satellite signal for our dish but unable to use our cell phones (Verizon). We were here after Labor Day and it was busy but very quiet and NO road noise!! 15 miles to the north is the town of Silverton, it has just about everything there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$17
This is a beautiful campground. We arrived on a Wednesday without reservations and obtained the last available hookup site for 2 nites. They had no space available for the weekend. There are 44 hook up sites located in a loop, all sites are back in and vary in size. There is a second loop of about 50 sites that contains a few smaller hook up sites with the rest being designated tent sites. The sites are well maintained and the camp host will sell you a large portion of wood ( in a wheel barrow which you take to your site ) for a very reasonable price. The park contains numerous hiking trails of various lengths & difficulty. There is a 4 mile loop paved bike path as well as a swim beach. The old lodge contains a snack shop as well as a small gift store. This park is located about 18 miles off of hwy 5 along a scenic back road. It was slow going but quite scenic and we had no problems traveling the road in our 36 foot motorhome w/our tow vehicle attached ( we are over 63 feet as we travel attached down the road ) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Beautiful campground. Do go on the website to look at the map for sites. We have a 32 ft. 5 wheel and many of the sites are perfectly perpendicular into the site. Really hard to back in. The sites that are on the outside from #2 to #43 are easy to get in. Nice park to hike and bike ride to the 10 waterfalls. Good area to swim at the river for the kids. Plenty of hedges and green grass.The nearest small grocery store is 5 miles away. Nearest town is 10 miles. Be sure an check out the Oregon Garden about 10 miles from here. Beautiful botanical gardens with a tram ride. They have outdoor concerts too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$16
Very friendly staff and camp hosts. They have really worked on the facilities at this campground since we were here about 18 years ago. Falls are still beautiful. Lots of new trails for hiking, bicycling, and horses. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
Great hiking. The hookup (W/E only) loop of the campground has a site for every taste, most with good separation. About half have a shot at satellite TV. The RV dump is three miles to the north toward Silverton. Both the north and south approaches to the park have stretches of narrow, winding, and steep roadway. We prefer entering from the south from Sublimity because the total distance of such roads is less. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Stayed here in March, 2003. Campground is beautiful. Nice combination of open and shaded sites. Most sites also have privacy with trees and/or bushes between the sites. The parks attraction is 10 water falls - all accessible via hiking trails. Several of the bigger falls are accessible by car and a short hike. Incredible. The only disappointment in the campground was that the playground had nothing in it. I don't know if they are planning new equipment or if the lawyers got to them. We will be back to find out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$22
The Park can only be described as marvelous. Towering Douglas Fir trees, wonderful hiking (incuding the seven mile trail around the seven water falls) and biking, some huge sites (ours was paved, level and eighty feet long by about 50 wide). The sites on the south side of the entrance are more open and grassy. On the north side they are under thick forest canopy where grass can't grow. You can go on horseback trail rides, wonder the huge picnicing area near the main falls (that you can walk behind). There is also a horse camp we intend to try out some day. Silver Falls is one of the prettiest of Oregon's many great parks. Can you tell I'm an Oregonian? We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com