221611 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Creek Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (717) 445-6161
CGID2407

Oak Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
311
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   8   7   10   9   7   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$50
New ownership but campground is still nice, and also improvements and upgrades being done. New sites added and also rentals. They enforce the rules here, which is good, as it gets really crowded on the weekend. Lots of things for the kids to do. My only complaint would be the wagon ride at night and the excessive use of the air horns during the ride, I am sure the children like it but less is good. Most likely will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
We have stayed here twice and because of our last experience will not go back, nor will the two other families that went with us. The campground is quite nice; very wooded, three playgrounds, pond, lots of activities; that is why we chose to go back. The management is the problem. They are very rude and not accommodating. The hill to get to your site is also very hard to climb up unless you have a golf cart or drive. We rented a golf cart and they were very strict and nasty when we needed to fill up gas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
We had a decent sized pull thru (#330), it was a little unlevel, but not too bad. The utilities worked well. There are some pretty steep hills to get to the sites. This place is mostly seasonal, staff is friendly. The pool was great except for there was not enough seating for everyone and most people had to bring their own chairs. A few bath houses and laundry rooms located throughout the park. A lot of scheduled activities. The only real problem was a loud party a few sites down that went on well after quiet hours, security was not seen after 11pm. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$47
This is a very nice campground. The restrooms were extremely clean. We had a nice quiet camp spot. The only reason for the drop in ratings was the fact that you could hear the race track in the distance. This was very annoying when you tried to sit outside and enjoy the campfire. The folks running the place are extremely nice and friendly. We had a very nice time camping there. I would go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$46
Good clean and quiet park in PA hills. Must drive several miles of twisty little roads to get there, then one steep hill inside campground-just take it slow. About 8 miles from nearest grocery store. Most of park are seasonal sites. Back-ins and pull thrus are big rig suitable. Sites are not level, but most looked close enough. ATT voice & data weak and Verizon 4G. Camp Wi-Fi and cable worked fine. You must haul your own trash to the bottom of the hill. No mail pickup. No rate discounts except for weekly 1 night free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$42
Great Halloween weekend. They had site decorating on Saturday night along with trick or treating. Very friendly staff. Had a site along the creek very relaxing. Will definitely be returning next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$57
Stayed Labor Day weekend with another couple. We called 3 weeks before Labor Day weekend to see if by chance they had any openings, the girl that answered the phone could not have been nicer. She accommodated us with no problems. We had site 107 along the creek & site 115 which is adjacent. Both sites were fantastic. Bathrooms & showers were immaculate. Definitely will be back. Only reason they are getting a 9 - the store closed at 5pm on Sunday night which I find a bit odd for a large holiday weekend, but we were able to get firewood by placing money in a slot in the office door. Very very nice setting, cant say enough about the site along the creek. Very large & spacious. would recommend to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
This is a very nice campground. Lots of seasonals, but well kept. The campground itself is well cared for. It has some macadam roads and the rest gravel in very good condition. Transient sites seem to be mostly gravel. A lot here may depend on what site you get. Some are quite large, some you may be a little closer to your neighbor than one would wish. I had a full hook-up site with no problems and easy access. Everything worked as it was supposed to. Cable good, Wi-Fi strong. Sites are shaded for the most part. The campground is hilly, but the sites appeared to be quite level for the most part. Since I had a nice big site, the only con was the loud campers on either side of me, but that wasn't the campground's fault. Quiet time was observed. Bathrooms were immaculate, with none of that push-button water nonsense one finds these days. When will people learn that efforts to limit water supply just makes for longer showers! The big hill everybody mentions was not a problem. If you walk it, just take it slow coming up. I will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$42
We have been camping at Oak Creek for a number of years. This is by far our favorite campground. It is immaculate & very well maintained. Clean restrooms & showers. Very friendly, helpful staff & owners. Permanent sites are clean & well maintained. All are very friendly & welcoming. There are many activities at the campground & much to do locally. Campground staff very helpful in giving info & directions to local area. Quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Great family campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$42
We have camped at Oak Creek for 15 years and have always had a pleasant experience. We have opted for a permanent site for the last 2 years and found the owners to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. The sites are kept clean. Rules are made to accommodate all campers and no one is singled out and longer stays are allowed as long as no one else is booked for the site and does include a small fee.Security is helpful in watching to make sure everyone's safety is #1. I would and have recommended this campground to everyone. I found you can not please everyone all the time but found the rules at this campground are very accommodating and friendly especially toward extended check out times since most are 11:00 in out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$85
Could've been a great weekend, but it was tainted by the staff. It was a great family weekend. 5 families in all with two being cabin renters, and three RV's. Seems to be a family run operation. The son patrols in a security vehicle and tends to stop and stare until you feel the need to ask him if he needs something, or if there is something wrong. Very uncomfortable especially if you're there with children. His mother seems to run the place. She speaks at you in a way that suggests she is extremely busy. Very direct, very abrupt, and very rude. Adds a big smile at the end of it as if she really wasn't irritated by your presence. Cabin renters were escorted out of the park at 1pm sharp as per the rules. Were not permitted to assist the family campers with packing up who's check out was 3. The place was empty, we asked if we could pay something to stay another hour, and were definitively put in our place. It's a shame. It's a nice clean place, but the staff, especially mom and son, really need a lesson in how to treat and interact with people. The park is beautiful, nestled in the woods and along a stream. It has clean gravel and paved lots. It's nice because it has steep hills and also flat land. Everything there is nice except for the owner. She was abrupt, impatient and rude to 5 different people on our trip when asked simple questions. Her attitude was the same 2 years ago. Sorry, won't be going back :) We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Very friendly and helpful staff. Campground was clean and quiet. The bathrooms were immaculate, heated and air conditioned. Daughter enjoyed the pool, arcade and playing in the nearby creek. Will definitely recommend, and stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$54
We stayed here over Memorial weekend with three other families. All of our sites were laid out nicely and you did not feel as if you were sharing a site with your neighbor. The bathrooms were very clean, air conditioned too. The employees were very nice as well as the seasonal campers. This is one of the more dog friendly places I have been in a long time. The creek has several places deep enough for a lab to swim and enjoy him/herself. There were many owners with dogs all of which were well behaved. The pool is on the smaller side for the size of the campground, but very clean. They have several activities going on throughout the day and always try to make it a family event. The one thing to keep in mind about this campground is that there is a big hill that separates the top half and lower half sites. They do not have golf carts for rent, so you either drive down to the activities or walk, sometimes you just have to plan ahead, but there is always plenty of parking if you decide to drive. The lake is on the smaller size, but has tons of fish: Sunnies, catfish, carp, etc. Although none of the fish we caught that day really amounted to much more than 5 inches or so, it was great to see the kids (even the big kids) enjoy themselves and actually catch something. There are two-three different park areas in the campground all of which are placed around activities to help keep the little ones happy. I would stay here again on a short weekend, where we do not want to travel far. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. We use it for weekend trips and extended trips also. The staff is very helpful and friendly and offer tips of places and things to see in the area. They offer large wooded sites and very well kept. They book early so plan ahead. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
We live close to Lancaster and enjoy visiting new campgrounds in the area. We recently spent a night at Oak Creek. Overall, we had a great time. The majority of sites were bigger than most and had a woodsy feeling, without being dark and gloomy. There were a few sites that had no trees and were somewhat small, but most sites were great. There were several well maintained playgrounds scattered throughout the park, and the swimming pool was a good size and well kept up. The store was adequate, and the staff was friendly. We spent about two hours walking around the campground-what we saw-quite a few seasonals, but all of these spots were clean, and everyone we saw waved and said hello. There is a creek near the front of the campground. I wanted to dip my toes in, but the sides down to the creek were rather steep, making this difficult in most areas. A previous review mentions a big hill. Yes, there is a big hill, but I thought this review meant that campsites were on the hill. They are not. You drive up the hill and come to flat land where there are additional sites. We walked up the hill and arrived at the top a bit winded, but heck we were camping; there are hills. Only one major disappointment--the bathrooms and showers. We visited three different bath houses/showers. The one near the office was clean, but the other two we saw, at the top of the hill, were filthy. Filled with dead bugs and dirt. Our daughter is not a huge fan of navy showers in the RV and will head to a bathhouse if it is clean. She didn't head anywhere this trip. Since the rest of the campground was so nice, this surprised me. Other than this, Oak Creek was a nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
The campground was clean and the staff was great. They assisted in our travel directions and what to see in the area, basically catered to what ever we needed. We will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Only clean bathrooms are on the bottom level. Never once did they clean the top ones. First campground I ever went where a small pup tent is a added camping unit and not allowed. I have camped at over 25 campgrounds. My son has outgrown the trailer couch and we like to set up a small tent. Nothing to do during the week until the seasonals get there on Friday. Camp store closed at 7pm and basketball courts is rundown. Had great weather but this is one camper that they will never see back again as we couldn't wait to leave. I would think the other reviews are by the seasonals or friends of the owners. The first time a highly reviewed campground let me down and my lesson was learned. Terrible place that should close to non seasonals. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Very clean campground with many seasonal sites but they're newer rigs and the sites are well maintaned. Wireless internet was free and had no problems in our area. This is a large campground and is run very smoothly. The store is well stocked and the staff was extremely helpful and professional, prices were not bad either. Kids enjoyed the MIni Grand Prix event and I liked the home show expo (too bad more didn't show, probably due to the weather). We also saw lots of playground areas for the kids, not just swings and a sliding board either. This is also a very quiet campground with good sized sites. I may have given them a ten but it pouring on most of our visit so we didn't use too much of the campground, so I can't rate on things we didn't use. I can't wait to come back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Camped there, first time out and was really ok. Yes, there is a big hill but once you're up top, nice roomy sites. Bathrooms are ok, nothing to brag about, and the ones up top were ok to shower and use. Staff was nice, store was ok, had a great weekend with 2 guests for dinner. Would go back, not a friend of owner either,haha... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Great campground. Easy check in, staff was friendly and helpful. Restrooms and showers were the cleanest we have ever seen in a campground. Very quiet. Family member came to visit, got lost, called campground for directions, talked to one of the owners and got great directions to the park. We will most definitely be back. Great family campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
We all loved this campground! It`s a great location in the heart of PA Dutch country. A lot of activities makes this a really fun place to stay for everyone. We are planning to go back this summer and fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
Well this is our first season at Oak Creek Campground as a seasonal. We have spent two weekends here so far and love every minute. The campground is in a very rural area which is relaxing to stay in and travel through. It is not too far from many attractions and quaint towns. Yes, the campground has a hill but you will have no problem pulling a trailer up it, take your time. I pulled a 6000 pound 33 foot trailer up it with a truck rated for 6000 pounds towing, and had no problems. The owners will help guide you in. The stream is nice as well as the small fishing pond. The grounds are well kept, has nice playgrounds (3), and the campground offers you that all-around relaxation. Lastly, it looks like they have a good amount of transit sites that look easy in, easy out. All and all it is an enjoyable campground in a great central location to visit Amish, Antiquing, farmer market and the Lancaster / Reading area attractions. For us the best plus was the owners are really nice, which is what brings this place from a 9 to a 10 star campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
After 3 years of camping at various campgrounds, we decided to try a seasonal site this year at this campground. It has been a wonderful experience and we plan to renew our contract for next year. The family that runs this campground makes you feel like family and the long term seasonal campers went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Planned activities are fun. This campground is close to all local attractions from Hershey to Lancaster to Adamstown. What a find in Pennsylvania! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We stayed in the D Section on site D-26 and found our site to be very comfortable. If it wasn't for the steep hill, we would have given Oak Creek a 10 ! The staff was very friendly and professional. They have a nice well stocked store that is reasonably priced an offers most anything you could need. The restrooms were exceptionaly clean and well maintained. During our stay we had heavy rain that washed out the gravel on a few of the roads. The staff immediately responded with fresh gravel and a tractor to regrade the roads effected. We would definitely stay with them again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$41
We stayed here in mid-July of 2009 and enjoyed the wooded sites. Our site was too narrow for our liking. The campground consists of a lot of seasonal sites that appeared to be well kept. Our biggest issue with this campground was the fact that the pool, game room, and store were down the big hill and not real close to our site. It was quite a hike back and forth with the kids. Not sure we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Weather was bad when we arrived, no one outside greeting arrivals. Office staff was friendly, asked if it was our first time, gave us a map and told us how to get to our site. After climbing a very steep S curved hill, we were in the "D" loop in a group of sites very close to one another. Bath house with clean showers nearby as well as a nice playground. On Saturday evening we noticed everyone walking by with lawn chairs and a wagon ride full of campers. Since we didn't get any kind of an activity schedule at check-in, we had no idea what was going on. Overall layout of campground is awkward due to steep hill-pool, arcade, pond and everything else is at the bottom and its not a nice, leisurely walk. As the campground map shows- 85% are seasonal sites. This is a campground that seems to cater mostly to its seasonals, with very few nice, roomy spots with full hook-ups near the amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
Overall, this was a nice place, and I would go back again. Staff was friendly enough as were seasonal campers. Activities were fun and very well attended, making it seem like a real community. Our creek site was very small-- adequate for two of us, but would have been tight if we brought our whole family. Sites in other areas were larger. LOVED the wooded setting. Bathrooms were nice with hot water, fresh paint, bright, and very clean at the start of the holiday weekend, but they were not cleaned frequently enough and were filthy by the end of the weekend with only 2 out of 4 women's toilets useable for the last 24 hours of our trip. Soap dispensers in the ladies room were never filled. Men's room had soap in 1 dispenser and none in the other for the entire weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
We enjoyed this campground. They accept AAA which saved $6.00 a night. Nice sights, roomy, clean and easy to back into. The biggest downfall here is the hill. If you are not using the pool, its really no big deal. I look forward to returning to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
We have stayed at several campgrounds in the area and this one was ok. The site that we had was not real easy to get into but there were others that looked like it would have been much easier to use. The major thing that I would caution people about is the steep hill that you need to walk down and up to get to the pool, if you stay in the upper level. One thing that the entire family did notice was the smell of the pool. the pool water itself looked very clean but the nasty smell that it left on your clothes was horrible. The staff was very friendly , they were more than willing to go out of their way to help you. If your looking for someplace that is active durning the week, this is not the place. It was like a ghost town when Monday came around. Not that that was a bad thing, just if you wanted something from the store it always seemed to be closed durning the day. The campground it self was average but I gave it a higher ranking becauce the staff was so friendly! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$43
We camped here in the fall, and the campground was not very crowded. Nice wooded sites at the top of the hill. Sites were large and great space between them. The staff were very helpful; check in went smooth; they delivered fire wood to the site and in general were very accommodating. A lot of seasonals on the lower level, but everyone was gracious. Nice hiking trail that leads to a unique rock formation. We are camping here again this spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$33
Some camp ground just have that "feeling" to them and for us, Oak Creek was like that. From the time we pulled in we knew we liked it there. The "main" road is paved, but the rest are stone/gravel. The stone roads are somewhat narrow but plenty navigable. The store was fairly well stocked but not wonderful. The pool was closed for the season but appeared nice enough and was fairly large. The fishing pond was nice, although we didn't catch anything. The creek runs through the front half of the camp ground and adds to the feel of the camp ground. A nice hiking trail runs up the side of the "mountain" to a pretty cool rock formation. Our site was level and wide. Most appeared to be about the same the size give or take. We had plenty of room to spread out and park. The rest rooms and showers were clean. The seasonals appeared well maintained as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$40
The campground was very friendly and had a helpful staff. It was a great serene campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$36
We were very pleased with this campground. They were very pleasant and accommodating. We plan to camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
If you would like a campground on the side of a hill then this is the place. It's not good for kids with bikes as there is no place to ride. We were put into a site on the side of a hill and all day long all we heard were these loud diesel pickups going up the hill to their campsite. The site was very small and lots of rocks... Will not travel here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$32
Very friendly staff and very accommodating. Our site was on the upper level. The sites on the upper level were large and shaded, very nice. Bathrooms and showers on upper level were new and clean. Activities for the kids and nice size pool. The one drawback is being on the upper level is too far to walk to the pool, so you end up driving more than you would like. The bathrooms on the lower level did not seem as clean as on the upper. Overall very nice experience and would consider returning. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
A nice campground. Sites were large with great shade. Bathhouses were cleaned twice a day and never had to wait for a shower. Pool is far away from 'upper level' sites, where the weekenders are. A caution - the hill to the upper level is steep. Do not let children ride their bikes on it. Signs state that there are no bikes in this area, but kids often do what they want. The cabins are nice for rental purposes. There are planned activities 'in season'. The camp store is well stocked, and there is a snack bar there for hot dogs, etc. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Cheaper firewood can be found at a house just before you reach the campground - on the right hand side. Some of the access roads in the upper area are a bit tight for big rigs, but the sites before the hill are for seasonals only. We will return when we go back to Amish country. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2000
$25
The park is nice in a way. Lot of old trailers stay on site at all times. Roads are small, one lane type. Site we had was on top of large hill and hard to get into. This site was a pull-thru, road in front was too small to exit. We had to back out into road to exit park. I think you have 11 pull-thru. Staff was O.K. The trees are very heavy and nice to look at. This park is out of the way to see the Amish people. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
1998
$25
Nice clean maintained park. Sites on upper and lower level hills. Rained heavily when we stayed in cabin. Many tent campers we're flooded out by storm. Huge pool, general store, snack bar, gameroom, mini golf, hayrides etc. Huge sites, streamside too. Very quiet, pretty landscaping. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com