206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Foxwood Family Campground was rated 3 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (570) 421-1424
CGID2420

Foxwood Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
425
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   2   1   3   6   2   1   1   4   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This campground is the worst one I've been to. Everything was overgrown and rundown looking. The management wasn't very friendly. The roof was falling off the office building. The bathrooms were never cleaned the whole weekend. People in the campground were very noisy, very late at night. No activities scheduled. Playground was falling apart. A lot of permanent sites that look like nobody has been to in years. A few of the permanent sites had a very foul odor coming from them. Would never camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We wanted to go to a local campground to try out our new TT. For some reason someone in our group of 4 travel units picked this place. We all agreed we would never be back. Our sites were located in the first section (just right of the entrance). All gravel sites -- all only 8 ft wide. Most were covered with weeds & grass had not been cut in 3-4 weeks. Several sites had poison ivy right at the water hook up. We did drive around and check the rest of the CG out. Mostly permanents - not even seasonals. All interior roads are in desperate need of repair -- full of bumps and gullies - barely passable in a truck, let alone pulling a 5th wheel or TT. LOTS of run down trailers in the CG -- some looked like they had not seen use in 10 years. Full of leaves, garbage, furniture tossed about the insides, etc. Rental units old and not maintained. Huge junkyard of trailers within site of interior roads. Dumpsters were jam packed and garbage was laying all over the ground - don't think they had pick-up within 2 months. Store had lots of stuff in it but not the basics - they did not have tea or sugar. Minigolf course was not maintained and unplayable. No activities. The pool was clean and there were a few people in it. I did not venture into the bathrooms. Overall I would say that this is the worst of campgrounds. Would ABSOLUTELY encourage everyone to find another campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$90
We rented one of their trailers. It was falling apart, dirty and full of bugs. I had to have them come clean it again and I still used a whole jar of lysol. I could not bring any food in because black ants were everywhere. The water was very smelly. The toilets didn't work well and we had to clean up overflows and when we called them they just gave us a plunger. We wanted our money back because the whole place is so run down with trailers just left to rot away. They advertise a canopy in the pool area and it is a tarp thrown over metal poles. The pool could have used a coat of paint. The owners are very nasty. I would never go back and would not recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
We stayed here only because they did not require a week stay. The site we were assigned was so out of level we could not get our rig level. They were accommodating in that we could move around till we found one that worked for us. They had considerable empty sites! We wound up backed up to the road, very noisy traffic. Across from our site was an area that apparently had many stationary units in the past and was in the process (maybe) of being reclaimed for regular sites. We did take their 'hay ride' through the grounds, It is a very large place, but there are too many people that have made this their home. I honestly believe that some people have no where else. We will not return We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Has potential, needs some cleaning up. Sites were huge and level. Game room was nice, store was well stocked. This was nicer than we expected and nicer than some higher rated campgrounds. We may return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Not a good place to camp. Very outdated and the bathrooms smelled like sewer. Not very camper friendly and lots of outdated campers hanging around. I would NOT travel here again but you never know until you try. We left on sunday morning and no one was at the store to drop off our credit card for the gate so we left it with a lady sitting on the porch reading the newspaper it looked like she was a permanent one funny thing is she had 4 other credit cards for the others that left in a hurry too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2005
$28
When we finally reached this campground after several miles on a long, narrow road we found we could not make the turn in to the driveway without backing out into the street and then driving over their landscaped area. The person in charge (the only person there) was a snotty 15 year old boy who was apparently capable of speaking only in one syllable words. We requested a water & electric only site as we were only staying one night and were assigned a site that turned out to be in an area of seasonals with horrid, filthy, old campers. The interior roads were narrow, steep and deeply rutted. I could not avoid scraping the side of my RV on tree branches. The site was impossibly small for our 38 ft fifth wheel even if I had considered staying there. When I returned to the desk to get another site, the 15 year old boy was surly and rude. “I just gave you what you wanted” was his response. He offered us a site with full hookups for an additional $5 in a flat, treeless, muddy field. Rather than get another site I got a refund and left. This place obviously does not want your business. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
We visited this campground in Sept. We rented one of their cabins for the weekend. When we arrived they had already closed for day, when I made my reservations I told them We would arrive around 6 she said thats fine they close at 6 since it was after Labor day. As we pulled up after driving 2 1/2 hrs, no one there. Had to knock on the trailer at the end and ask if he knew a number. Finally we got let in. After registering we went to our cabin. Walked in and Wow, How Dirty was the floor. Looked like we were wearing shoes all weekend. That should have been my first indication this wasn't going to be very good. Next morning went to take showers. No water pressure at ALL!! Just TRICKLING water. My daughter said what a chore taking a shower. The Bathroom was not clean at all, faucets very dirty and toilets were awful. The campground not kept up at all. A lot of old trailers setting around and old cars with flats. The people who are supposed to take care of campground just sitting around all day. Not very friendly. When talking to a lady next to our cabin she said she camps a lot in the summer, like us, and said this was by far the WORST campground she has ever been to. I have to agree. I was very disappointed. I have never been to a campground like this. The showers were enough to kill the whole weekend. Would not recommend this campground ever. I had sent them a email when I got home but no reply. I have to do something about this campground so I thought I would come here to vent. I spent over $200 for that weekend trip for 6 of us! We camped here in a Campground Cabins.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
Family and friends camped here over the Holiday weekend. There were a few things that bothered us. One) The bathroom facilities - there were two stalls by the store. Not only were they teaming with mosquitos (the structure was built right over a marshy stream) but someone had sprayed mosquito spray all over the place (even on the tiolet seat). There was only one other set of restrooms which was located near the playground. This was also the location of the only showers. Since there were only three women's shower stalls for the whole campground, there was often a wait in the morning. The water was either cold or scalding hot or cold. Sometimes the water pressure was sufficient, other times it came out in a trickle. Two) the playground - there was a rather mature poison ivy vine growing on the wooden playset. I cleaned up the trash the first morning as there was stuff that I thought could either harm children or just make a general mess (such as an aluminum can with its top torn off that someone had been using to set off fireworks, or marshmellows strewn about). I didn't do the trash pickup the second morning because they didn't restock the empty papertowels in the women's room (which I used to pick up the trash) until after 10am. The third morning I did see someone else picking up the trash. Don't know if he was a fellow camper or a campground official. Three) The miniature golf. The golf course was so poorly maintained I was absolutely shocked to find out they charged you to use it! Four) The pool was supposed to be opened that Saturday. By Sunday the foam was still so thick on the surface that I went to inquire about it at the store. I was appalled to find out that they considered it available for use! I was even further shocked when they told me it was only 48 degrees! I can't believe such conditions wouldn't pose a significant hazard to young swimmers! Certainly there was no way my four-year-old was getting in there. Five) there didn't seem to be any monitoring of unruly campers. Campers and residents played loud music and were generally noisy well into the night. A fellow camper related a incident that she had witnessed around 2:30 am where an apparently drunk or under-the-influence camper was ranting, raving, and cursing for 45 minutes looking for someone who had apparently almost run over his friend. Six) As another reviewer mentioned, there are very run-down camping sites that need to be cleaned up. It's a shame because the campground had a lot of potential, but my other family members and I are in agreement that we will not be returning to this one. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
Campground is not in fantastic condition although the showers and bathrooms were clean. The store is well stocked. Most of the rental sites are all in the wide open areas, not much shade. There are a lot of old run down seasonal units. Most should just be knocked down. The people are pleasant and helpful, but they need to put a lot more effort into sprucing up the place. It is in a beautiful part of the state with a lot to do in the area so it could be a great destination in the future. The fishing pond was covered with water grass. There was also a sewer line back-up about 2 sites away from us over the Memorial Day weekend. We will not be back until some future positive reviews are posted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$22
We stayed here in July. Lots of activities (arts/crafts, bingo, hayrides, potluck dinner, karaoke ) All of the activities were free. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Sites were nice and large. Bathrooms were cleaned a few times a day. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com