206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Beacon Hill Campground (Adults 16 and older) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 56 user reviews. Phone: (717) 768-8775
CGID2444

Beacon Hill Campground (Adults 16 and older)

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   10   9   10   6   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
Small adult park. Pretty easy to get level, some spots have decks, lower section is best for big rigs. Has good power, water, WiFi, a nice pet area, is close to things, yet out of town a bit. Loved watching the horse drawn buggies from our site. And we loved the area. We would go back if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
Sites are gravel surrounded by grass and the gravel portion is level. Campground is on a hill, and has great views. Utilities, including WIFI, are fine. Bathrooms and grounds are very clean. Staff and other campers are very friendly. Location is quiet yet close to lots to do. Surrounded by Amish farmland. We enjoyed watching them bale hay then spread manure across the street. This is a great place, wish we were staying longer. We camped here in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
This is a lovely adults only campground in a great location. The team running the site are really friendly and helpful. The campground is split into 2 halves and we stayed in both. The lower area is for larger than 34 foot motorhome and the upper has a 34 foot maximum. Each is really nice in its own way - the upper area has a very nice intimate feel. The pads are smaller in the upper area but plenty of space for us with a 34 footer. Each pad has tree shade. The views from the whole campsite are great. This is right in the middle of Amish country and young Amish girls come around the campground in their horse and wagon selling home baked goods and root beer. The site is quiet and yet close to Intercourse. We loved it and would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
Perfect place to stay in every way. Would recommend this to any adult. The people are so helpful. They have cabins, too. Was just wonderful country. Can walk to town. Can take evening walks out around the beautiful Amish farms. This campgrounds was pretty, clean, and you would love it as much as we did. We did not want to leave. A lot of return people camp here. There is no way anyone (adult only) could find anything wrong here We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
This park is beautifully maintained. Owners are very helpful and pleasant. Laundry room small but adequate and clean. Sites are a little snug with parking a vehicle, but very doable. We had a nice back-in site on the lower level which had a deck #31. The location was great for seeing all the sights in the Amish country. Rode Amtrak from Lancaster to Philadelphia for the day. Excellent way to go without hassle of driving and parking in a large city. Amish farm across the street, fun to watch them plant their new crop for the summer. Stayed 2 weeks and definitely would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
We stayed in this lovely campground for five nights (site #35). We did not feel the sites were narrow compared to most campgrounds we've visited. The owner was extremely helpful about things to see/do in the area. We so enjoyed watching the Amish farmer across the road. Yes, you will smell farm smells, but that was not a biggie for us. There is a wonderful gift shop at the end of the campground. Don't miss seeing the Mascot Roller Mill and home tour (both free) in Ronks. It's right down the road from the campground. The Bird In Hand bake shop is out in the country a bit, but WELL worth the few miles to get there. We have now decided to revisit Intercourse and the Amish area next year in part due to the wonderful experience we had at Beacon Hill. There are many campgrounds in the area, but Beacon Hill is the best for price, location, and atmosphere. You can walk into town (perhaps 1/2 mile?), and it is a slight uphill walk. Very do-able. You will have to dodge the occasional horse poo along the way. :-) We've stayed in some really poor campgrounds with our travels. It was a pleasure to stay in a good one! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Location is great for our use, close to things we wanted to do. Sites and roads are gravel and the park is on a hill so when it rains the gravel washes down to the lower part. We are at the very bottom of the hill/park. Side to side was off level about 2 1/2 inches. Voltage and water pressure is good. Also, WiFi is very good. It is the best value in the area. Monthly rate is $900 that includes electric since they have no meters. Still a little pricey. We are done with this part of PA so we won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
Our visit to Beacon Hill Campground was memorable. The owners were very cordial and helpful. They know how to run an RV park! We were greeted with fresh popcorn and enjoyed an ice cream social on the weekend. The restrooms were sparkling clean and welcoming. Our dog was treated like one of the family. We'll be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
The CG was awesome! As stated in other reviews, the sites are a bit tight, but very doable, and level. The owners were very helpful in places off the beaten path. Just ask them! Very centrally located in the Amish Country. If you want a clean, quiet, affordable site: Beacon Hill is the place for you! A working Amish farm located right across the street. (The smells of a working farm!) Also, this is an adult only (16 and older) CG. We stayed 4 nights and would come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Park has an upper and a lower parking area. We stayed in the lower, grassy area. Site was adequate. Sewer drop was strangely toward the front of and uphill from the RV, which made for careful tank draining. An adult campground and the neighbors were all friendly. Owner was very helpful. We will stay here again. Great location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
This is a wonderful campground. It is close to the road but I have double paned windows. It is an adult campground. The spot seem to be level for the most part and I did not have to raise or lower my coach at all. There are a couple that have a slope but the majority are very level. They are small and are for 16 year old and up it says on the sign. It had great grass, good power and a very friendly staff. You watch cows out your front window and we watched a guy plow the field with 6 mules. The buggies go by all day. The campground is tight but if you know where your corners are it is very doable. I am a big rig and do not have independent front suspension. I got right into my site on the first pull in. We were told when we called for reservations not to pull into the top part of the campground as we would not fit up there to turn around. I had to unhook when I pulled in the lower area and then back up a bit to make the turn. This is now one of our favorite places and we will be back soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Nice quiet adult campground. Owners were very friendly. Showers and laundry were spotless. Wi-Fi, cell service and TV all worked well. Some spots are tight. We camped here eight nights. We were at site #7 a tight one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
The folks who run this small park are very nice. Location, location. The sites are tight, getting into the streets are tight and I question why this park is in such demand. Yes, it is right across from an Amish farm (couldn't help but smell the manure) and yes you can walk into Intercourse. Beyond the location there is not much to say in a positive way. We would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
We visited here 5 years ago and coming back was just like returning to home. Located within a good walk to Intercourse, surrounded by Ambush farms and the only noise one hears, is the clip clop of the horse and buggy going past. Bathrooms are the best, always clean and the showers are huge with all the hot water ones needs. The Wi-Fi is also excellent, which is something we need these days. Saturday night is ice cream night and don't forget to get your popcorn on Friday nights. The hosts make you feel right at home and that’s just the way camp grounds should be, warm and welcoming! I recommend this beautiful campground to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Came for three days, stayed for nine! Very relaxing, great location in Amish countryside, clean facilities. Owners and staff were friendly and very helpful. Everything worked. Bathrooms aren't new but were sparking clean. Sites weren't very large but were nice and grassy. We have a 34 ft motorhome, had to move 3 times to keep extending our stay last minute, and didn't have any problem getting level or into sites as other reviewers did. We enjoyed the view of the Amish farm across the street (despite some occasional manure smell and large barn fans). Pick your spot as they have different views and pluses and minuses. Some shady others sunny, some had valley view that looked nice too. Got the weekly rate. Enjoy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
This was a return visit for us. We love this campground. It is right next to a working Amish or Mennonite farm with all the sights and, well, smells of that farm. Our site was on the end by the road and we enjoyed watching the Amish buggies go up and down the road. It is an adult campground with no one under 16 allowed. That was fine for us. We use the campground as a base and are gone most of the day enjoying the nearby communities. We would have liked cable TV, but the antenna reception worked well. The Wi-Fi was the best I have ever seen. The owners are very helpful. We look forward to returning to this campground when we are in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a great campground in the middle of Amish country. There is lots to do in the area. It is very clean and well maintained by friendly staff. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
We were in PA for my son's wedding. We had some concerns coming in as to what the shower/bath situation was going to be like. We were very much satisfied by what they had. The campground is on the hill side and in the country so you need to get used to whatever the "country" brings to you. That wasn't a problem at all. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Adult campground on side of hill. Some pull-through sites. Very friendly owners on site. Dog run. Amish farm across the street. Odor may bother city folk. Very relaxing. Back-in sites are easy to back into, just pull in and back up the hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Nightly rate based on 1 month stay. Stayed 3 weeks in the lower terraced section and 1 week in the upper section. Prefer the lower section as it is next to impossible to get satellite reception in the upper due to multitude of trees. (No cable in park). Bathrooms and showers are spotless and roomy. Owners are mellow and friendly. Peaceful setting and quiet as no kids under 16 are allowed. All hookups worked great. If visiting the PA Dutch Country, this park is in the heart of it and the place to be. Would return in future if near this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
There is a working Amish farm right behind us, the hosts are great, the location is great, the Wi-Fi is much better than most. With that said the CG is much less than ideal for a large motor home. The sites are terraced and perpendicular to the road so it there was more twisting than I have ever done to get into the site. Then I had to drag out several boards to level up, something that I refuse to do at most campgrounds. Getting out may be a little easier, but its going to take several back and forth maneuvers to get lined up to the exit and I haven't yet figured out where to hook up the towed. I'm not saying don't come, because the location is great. Just stop by a lumber yard on the way and make sure you look at the site you're assigned before you try to get into it if you have a large motor home. In fact I'd definitely discourage anyone with a motor home larger than 40'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
The campground is very nice. We recently stayed here. The lady running the campground was very accommodating and very pleasant. The wifi signal was strong. The bathrooms were well cared for. The space was slightly off level. The spaces are gravel with grass to the side and trees for shade. The electric power was good, as was the water pressure. All of the sites have full hookups - some have 50 amp - and some have 30/20. No one under 16 is permitted here - which was no problem for us. Pets are allowed. You are right in the middle of the Amish Farmlands here and it is very pretty all around. It is very quiet. The only thing missing is cable TV. The price in this area cannot be beat. We would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$33
Very nice park, great facilities,and awesome location. Yes, the Amish kids visit to sell their baked goods, very nice. Great Verizon cell service. Did not use the offered WiFi. Walk to town and enjoyed it, but beware most of the businesses are NOT Amish owned and the stuff is garbage from China. Drive around and enjoy the country side!!! We will return... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$39
Saw the campground by using Google Earth, looked nice, so we called, and we are so glad we did! The owners are very friendly and accommodating, even when asking for an extra nights stay when booked. Water, sewer,and electricity all worked fine, except the water cut off one night due to a problem, but it was fixed by the next morning! Very clean bathrooms and showers, nice laundry facility on site, level and easy pull-thru sites and lower part of campground, upper side, back in sites just as nice. Had no problem with placing our 35' fifth wheel camper on lot. Quite area, plenty to see and do if not looking for the "commercial camping" experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
Nice and quiet campground. Staff was quite friendly. We had a problem with the 30 amp breaker tripping. The staff changed it out. Sites are very tight, and some are not level. Amish working farm across the street. If you are not used to smelling mule and cow manure, this may not be the spot for you. Lots to do close-by. We will come back. I have a 35 travel trailer, and it was all I could do to get my rig centered at the site, but we finally succeeded. If you are not looking for a child friendly camping facility, this is for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
This is a very quiet and peaceful campground, no kids under 16. The view from our site (site#1) was overlooking the Amish farmland, just beautiful. Cattle would come right to our campfire, there was a fence. Campground owners live on site. They have a free Ice cream social on Sat night, local Amish family also comes. During the week Amish children come by to sell homemade baked goods. The town of Intercourse is a short walk with many things to see. An Amish buggy ride thru the surrounding area is a must. We will definitely come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
This campground is a true gem! It's a little off the beaten path, but that is what, in part, makes it such a joy to stay. We booked a week originally, but stayed two. The campground is surrounded with farmland, and is within easy walking distance to shops and the charming town of Intercourse. There are no noisy freeways near by, only the clippety-clop sound of horse hooves and Amish buggies. Several times during our stay the local children came by selling with wonderful baked goods, jams and pickles. And there are farmers markets everywhere. During our stay, the farm behind the campground harvested tobacco by hand. It was quite a sight to watch. Be sure to visit Ressler's Mill nearby, the local pretzel factory and local canning store, and the Bird-in-Hand Bakery. If you are looking for a park with a swimming pool and mini golf (which we rarely use), then this park is not for you. However, if you are looking for a place to rest while visiting the Pennsylvania Dutch countryside that has delightful on-site owners, this is the place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
We love Beacon Hill and try to get here as often as we can. Wonderful location for views. The staff is super, the park is small and very basic (no pool or children under 16 years), perfect for a quiet and relaxing vacation. There are tons of things to do and see within miles of the park and the rates are consistently low. This is my #1. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
The people and the place was outstanding. It was a very relaxing place to be. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
We stayed here as part of an RV rally so I do not know the rate we paid. Our cost for three days was all-inclusive, but I am guessing that our host probably paid about $34 per site for full hookups. This campground was one that we definitely will return to. Although it is quite basic in facilities, it was in a lovely location and within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. We will return on our own later this summer. The campground is quiet and relaxing but also allows for easy access to the charming town of Intercourse in the very heart of the Amish heartland. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
Exactly as advertised, Adult only and right across from working Amish farm. We had site 34 and some tree limbs were in the way of the antenna. When I notified the office, the owner came out in about 10 minutes and trimmed the limbs. Wow, great service and knowledgeable of area. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This campground bills itself as an adult park since it has no playground, pool, gameroom or anything else to entertain kids. If what you are looking for is a quiet, scenic setting, centrally located to many of the attractions in Lancaster County: you will love this place. Amish horse drawn buggys clattered up and down the road behind our site during the day and at night all was quiet. The owners were very friendly offering advice and literature on what to see in the area as well as hosting a free ice cream social on Saturday evening. We met RVers from all over the US, many of whom had been on the road for months. The campground does have two distinct halves, one completely shaded by tall oak trees and the other more open and grassy. The open area had slightly larger sites and 50 amp service while the shaded part had sites that were shorter but still had 30 amp plus water and sewer. The tight site which required some manuvering even to get our 23 ft trailer into, is the only reason I didn't give this campground a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Hosts/Owners were extremely nice. Access from Interstate pretty easy. We couldn't receive the satellite in our spot. They had no problem moving us. Had to move from a pull through to a back in. Campground is very hilly but sites are pretty level. Would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We stay at Beacon Hill often, only living two hours away. We always enjoy our stay and look forward to returning. The sites are tight, but the convenience of the Amish shops and food are worth it. It's great seeing the Amish buggies clip clop by, and viewing the farms across the street. An Amish girl stopped by and sold cakes and cookies. Beacon Hill is always very clean and the owners are the friendliest we have ever encountered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
The campground is exactly as advertised. No amenities, but a nice and quiet place for adults only. Nice views, very relaxing. It was a treat for us to wake up every morning by a rooster. You can hear the Amish horses on the roads and see animals roaming around on the neighboring farm. This place is in the heart of Amish country. The owners had literature of things to do and helped us plan our day each morning and they gave us the heads up that everything was pretty much closed on Sunday. This helped us plan accordingly. We did not use the bathrooms but our neighbors in a pop-up said that they were amongst the cleanest they have ever seen. I don't have a lot to compare it to because this was only our second trip, but I took off one star because I felt the sites were small for a place surrounded by huge farmlands, however, we would go back again if we could pick our site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We liked this park because it is adults only, it is a lovely setting, and it is not large. Friendly helpful owners. Well-kept and attractive park in a picturesque setting across the road from an Amish farm. We were backed up (read bumper touching sidehill of road)to a local road with little auto traffic but enjoyed the clip clop of the horses pulling the carriages. Five minute walk into Intercourse. We were parked on the upper level and it is definitely most desirable. The lower level was shoulder to shoulder big rigs crammed in like cord wood. The sites are tight, but doable, and there always seemed to be a fellow camper out to help another get backed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Our first visit here with a 27' trailer, stayed at site #9. We thought the atmosphere and owners were very pleasant. The bathrooms were very clean and had music streamed in; the showers were very clean as well. The even # sites have a fire ring that is big enough to cook on, the odd # sites have a smaller movable ring. The town of Intercourse is close enough to walk, or ride a bike to. There were horse and buggy's going up and down the road all the time. We will be going back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
This is a nice, clean park that overlooks an Amish farm. The nice owners were on site and ready to assist us any way they could. The bathrooms were very clean and had music streamed in; the showers were very clean as well. This campground has a lower and upper part; we were in the upper part and getting our 30' fifth wheel in our site was close but it was doable. Most larger rigs were in the bottom section. No one younger than 16 is allowed in the park which I believe made for a quieter campground. The campground is convenient to most everything you will want to do or see in the area. We enjoyed our visit and will stay there again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
Stayed here in a class C. Owners very friendly and the park was clean. This is a campground for adults and children, 16 and older. There are no activities. However, we found quite a bit to do in our three day stay. First, this was the friendliest bunch of campers I've ever met. Everyone waved and talked to you. We walked into the town of Inetercourse (took about ten or fifteen minutes)and did some shopping. There is also a pond with swans and fish (which you can feed, provided you have quarters) right across the street. Also,an Amish farm right across the street and a lot of Amish going up and down the road. One thing I should mention-no place to have a fire. I saw one group of campers that brought a fire ring and were using it, and the store sells firewood, but there were no established fire rings. A nice, relaxing place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
Very nice park owners, are very personable and knowledgeable of the area. Sites are level with gravel base and grass surrounding them. Most sites easy to get into and the hookups are right where they need to be.We stayed two days wish we had more time.We stayed in a travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
Spots are tight but doable. The owners are very nice and helpful. We had to move twice in our 1 week stay but we did not have reservations and were OK moving around so we could stay. The turnaround at the top of the campground is tight for a 40' motor home but we made it. Be careful down below as the upper sites have steep drop offs. Lots to do in the area and the owners will offer lots of suggestions. They have Wi-fi and it was just OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
We stayed for 10 days. Searched all around Amish country for nicest outdoor location for our wedding with suggestions from owners of CG, and then held our wedding right at the this CG - it was so nice there. Wonderful views and very peaceful and private! Amish farm across road, and homemade bakery products delivered to campground daily. Owners on premises. Adults only. Just outside of town. Spotless showers, grounds, laundry. Wi-Fi worked fine. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
The park is an adult only park. The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. It is in a large Amish community. Lots to do in area. We stayed 10 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This is an okay campground. Not as pretty as we heard it was. It is on a hillside and the sites are stacked in there. We will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We came here for a week, but are staying a few days longer. Beacon Hill Campground is centrally located for touring Amish country and lots of other activities. The owners are very friendly and helpful. When we had a problem with our awning they came over and helped fix it. Rates are $32 per night but $3 extra for 50 AMP service. WiFi signal is very strong, however there is a tree at our site that blocks the rooftop satellite dish on our MH. On regular TV we get Lancaster Channel 8 clear, but that's about all. The sites are small and staggered down the side of hill which means our picnic table is not level and we have a clear view of our neighbor's septic hose, but otherwise a wonderful park. They allow pets but NO children. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
We stayed here 3 weeks and enjoyed the area. The owners were very helpful and knew the area well. The sites are a little tight pulling in, but they gave good advice for best approach. The best part of the stay was watching the Amish Buggies and talking to the farmer across the street. We were also invited to an Amish, Mennonite church service and lunch with a family. Even though it is up hill to town and no sidewalk, the walk is nice and lots of shops right there. The Wi-Fi service was very good and we enjoyed the ice-cream social in the park on Memorial Day weekend. Definitely an excellent place to see Amish Country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Small, family-owned campground in a perfect location to visit all the lovely towns in the area. This is an adult-only campground, must be 16 years or older. The campground is located on the side of a hill; big rig, pull-thru sites are at the bottom of the hill, smaller, back-in sites are at the top of the hill near the office, laundry, and bathrooms. While sites are big enough for our 40 foot fifth-wheel, it was "challenging" to find a spot to park our truck. We ended up with it parked right outside our door. The owners are working on finding more parking. Speaking of the owners - they are onsite and take great pride in their campground. The grounds are well-kept and clean. There is a really nice, large dog pen for your puppies to play in. The campground is just across the road from a working Amish farm. It has been a wonderful experience watching the family work their farm. It is so quiet and peaceful here. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
We have found this to be a wonderful little park to use as a base while exploring Lancaster County. It is right in the middle of all of the attractions that we like to visit. It is adults only, but suits us just fine as our children are now grown. Why a nine? The sites are a little tight, so a campfire makes me a bit nervous. That is the only drawback that I can think of. But to just sit after a day of sightseeing, this park is perfect for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Sites & roads a little tight. Gravel sites & roads. Road noise from PA -772. Animal smells from dairy barn. Managers very helpful & friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
The camp site is on somewhat of a steep hill, so getting there can be a problem. Our site was shaded and very comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The town of Intercourse was very close by and easy to get to. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Although pull through sites are available, ours was difficult to use. Sites are very small and those on the side of a hill difficult to park in. We had a pull through and were forced to back the unit out of the site because the interior road was too narrow to actually pull through to depart. The campground is in the middle of the Amish community, just outside of Intercourse. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Lovely location half way up a very steep hill in the rolling countryside. This park is located in the middle of farm country so if you do not appreciate farm smells, sights and sounds, then this place is not for you. Quietest park we have ever stayed in, probably due to its "adults only" nature. Sites were very level but small and tight to maneuver in. Not all were large enough to have a fire ring. Overall, very well maintained and clean with friendly, helpful owners. The principal attraction is the nearby (1/2 mile) Village of Intercourse and associated Amish/Mennonite related shops, farms and lifestyle. This park is an excellent base location for a Lancaster County stay. Most folks we met in the park were there as tourists during the day returning to the park to relax in the evenings. This was especially nice since most shops in the Intercourse area close around 5:30 p.m. while many restaurants close by 8:00 p.m. We will return to the area and this park in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
This is a quiet little park that makes a nice place to stay to visit Lancaster & the Amish countryside. The owners have removed 3 former campsites & built a nice garden sitting area with benches that overlook the beautiful Amish farm land. We really appreciated being able to sit & enjoy the view & watch the buggies go by. There is an Amish hat shop at the end of the dead end street that this campground is located on. So, you will see buggies driving by all day. You will wake up to the sound of cows mooing & horse hoves clomping. It's just delightful. They have a fenced dog area where your furry friend can run without a leash. There is no store, no activities schedule, no pool & no kids allowed. This is a place to relax and see the local sites. The campsites are close together, but everyone was very quiet, & the park is neat & clean. The bathrooms are really clean with nice big showers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$28
Definitely different then the usual campground. Really a full service parking facility to store your equipment while you enjoy the Amish Country. No other amenities, but there is so much to to around the community you would be foolish to spend any time at the campgrounds except to sleep there. You are in the real deal Amish Community. Not a recreated tourist trap. Take the time to learn about these "Plain People." They are kind and considerate of tourists but would rather be left to go about their business. Beacon Hill Campgrounds has excellent accommodations for whatever your needs are. The sites are level and hook-ups are easily accessible. A little tight to get into. Very nice people run the place. Best part of our stay was meeting the other campers who were mostly older, retired people with very nice equipment and lots of interesting experiences. Really enjoyed morning coffee and sharing stories. Great place for mature adults to use as "base-camp" for a very enjoyable vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$30
The "pull through" site we had was difficult to enter. The only way to enter or exit the site was from the street. The site was level with gray stone. Pulling through was impossible. Going from the leveled lot to the interior roadway there was a drop so severe that as our truck climbed down the hill, the truck bed started to push into the floor of the trailer. That is why we had to back out. The restrooms were locked. The farmers were in the field working with noisy machines until late and the constant smell of horse dung was hard to ingnore. At sunrise, we were awakened by gun fire in the field across the way. The staff seemed friendly until we wandered around the park looking to explore. We were subsequently directed elsewhere for entertainment. All of the services worked. It was inexpensive, and the scenery was pretty nice. But, I think the next time we camp in Lank'str (that's how they say Lancaster), we will book elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$29
This campground is exactly what they advertise on their web site. It's main draw is the location. They are right outside of Intercourse Pa. in the middle of Pa. Dutch country. Intercourse has several (over 100) shops filled with crafts and the like. There are no planned activities and no pool. It is quiet and very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The walk into town is not for the faint of heart, less than a mile but up and down hills. Use caution as the roads in this area have no sidewalks and no real shulder to speak of. All in all, we had a nice relaxing and quiet weekend. A nice place. The only negative was getting my motorhome level in the site. Took several attempts to find the right position and blocking. I would recommend this campground to anyone who would like to do the "tourist" thing in Pa. Dutch country. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com