223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Madison / Pittsburgh SE KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 54 user reviews. Phone: (724) 722-4444
CGID2453

Madison / Pittsburgh SE KOA

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   5   7   8   2   7   6   3   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$48
This is a great easy on/off highway campground. We were here just for the night and it was perfect for that purpose. We had a nice pull through that allowed us to stay hooked up with our 40' RV and even parked our additional car behind us on the site. It is mostly seasonals/long term from what we could tell. We did not find too much traffic issues inside the park except of course in the morning and evening as they were coming to and from work but was not a concern. Water pressure was good, WiFi was good. We did not hook up cable so we can't speak to that. They had a nice grassy fenced area for the dogs which is a plus. The staff was helpful and pleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$49
We camp with small children and a dog in a motor home. pros. 1. Some of the employees were nice 2. It is relatively cheap. 3. Some things for the kids to do. (playground, jump pillow, swimming pool.) They also had an activity. The cons: 1. This place was dirty - There were a lot of leftover waterlogged socks near the jump pillow from previous jumpers. Also, I noticed lots of cans and trash scattered throughout the park. 2. There are a lot of seasonal campers that seem to work for the natural gas company. They drove their huge pickups quite fast down the gravel roads. Also, at 5AM the campground became quite active and loud. 3.We were approached by one of the employees on a golf cart with another camper in tow. She demanded to know what time we were leaving (at 10:30 in the morning.) I told her about just before noon. Apparently, there was a mix up and they had double booked our site. There were numerous other open sites around our area. She had the next campers pull into the open site NEXT to ours but would not let me set up there. They had to wait until we were gone to move into our site. The whole time they kept giving us dirty looks but we were paid and intended to let our kids have one more jump on the pillow. We needed somewhere to double check some things before we head out on an extended vacation and this place served it purpose. I would not come back here for anything else though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$49
Rustic bath house with low water pressure. The outlets in the women's bathroom did not work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Staff very friendly. Sites were not level. Interior roads could use some work. Wi-Fi was spotty. Water pressure was low. Lots of traffic within the park, cars coming and going. Good for overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
Slow time of year, no one at office, Glad I purchased over the internet. Park is on a hill, but set up so most of the sites are level. It's been rainy so the campground is wet and muddy, typical for the northeast. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Very tight sites, not suited to big rigs. A lot of seasonal/permanents. Mostly gravel roads and sites, very dusty. Bathrooms were awful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$54
Relatively nice KOA. Sites were rather close together and set in trees on gravel pads. Length was questionable as we had a 40' 5th wheel. Trailer and tow vehicle had us edge to edge on the site. Park is extremely hilly. We barely fit in the pull through site they assigned to us. Sites are relatively level considering the terrain. Did not use bathroom or shower facilities. Pool looked nice but didn't use. Husband did fish in pond but didn't catch anything. We did see a guy across the pond catch a rather large fish, probably 12-14" in length. Water pressure seemed ok. Electric was fine too except it was closer to front of site instead of rear where our electric cord is housed. Nice mini store with ice, playroom/game room, and a few basic necessities. Staff was very friendly. Just off I-70 and easy to get to. Park roadways are narrow and gravel, turns are tight for big rigs. Very quiet at night except for the occasional 18 wheeler using exhaust brakes. Appeared to be several seasonal folks. Kids on the jumping pillow were a little rowdy but otherwise park was nice overall. Would probably stay again if just passing through: though it's a little pricy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
I had previously reviewed this campground last year and I am downgrading it. This year the park has new owners and there is lots of construction. They are putting cable and sewer in at more sites and a fenced dog run so the whole area is torn up with construction and that has made the lake muddy. All the transient workers have been consolidated at the upper end of the park, leaving us true RVers at the sites closer to the activities, which is nice. Even though their website says they have an ice cream social on Fridays and pancake breakfast on Sundays, those events were canceled for the weekend I was there and the workers seem to believe those events will not be happening often. They eliminated the game room in favor of a laundromat for the transient worker population. The pool and bouncy pillow are still there and great fun for the kids. The staff, some of whom I remember from last year, are as nice as ever. I'm glad they are upgrading the sites and adding the dog run, but the campground looks a bit like a construction zone. The sporadic nature of their 'regularly' scheduled activities is disappointing. I'm hopeful that the if I return by the end of the summer the campground construction will be complete and I will be able to give the campground a better review. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
Looks like this isn't a campground, but long term residence for working at natural gas fracking sites. Sites were tight and the place didn't feel inviting at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
Decent place to stay when traveling through area. Staff was friendly. Park is very congested and hard to maneuver around. Park was full of people who were working in the area. Alright for one night but expensive for what you get. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
Best campground in the Pittsburgh area. Fine for Big Rigs. Not too tight for a KOA and reasonably priced. Easy on and off highway. Nice playground for kids and a small fishing lake. Country setting about 1/2 hour from Pittsburgh. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
Terraced campsites, the gravel roads were just a tad tight with a 40' fifth wheel and a hauler. Entrance driveway was steep, but we did not drag anything. Checked in during the day so we did not have any problem with the security gate. Our pull-through campsite was gravel, level and well maintained, with clear view of the southern sky for the satellite. We had to park the hauler perpendicular, behind the RV. The pool was already closed, but the bounce pad was a lot of fun even for adults. The employees were very helpful; park is dog friendly. Propane was readily available. This was our first time in cold weather. Stayed 2 weeks in our toy hauler with 3 dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$42
This campground is located hillside making maneauverability difficult. At the time we were here, the gate would not open with the code we were given and we could not contact anyone. The campground has just been sold and the current owner moving away. Many seasonal campers even when we were here. Closest campground to Pittsburgh. Definitely a must see city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$47
Older KOA with sites terraced into a hillside. Entrance road is very steep and the sites are narrow, but the grounds were well-kept. Shower was clean but water pressure was a trickle. Internet worked very well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$48
Mediocre at best KOA. It is obvious that the bread and butter here are the transient workers. Gate controlled access, but when you do an "after hours" check in, you get no access code in the envelope, only a warning that if you do not pay BEFORE you enter the park they will assess a $20.00 fee for coming to your trailer to get the money. Granted we came in late and left early so we did not see much of the place, only their setup which, like I said earlier, is tailored to the transient workers. Had we not found a kind stranger to loan us their gate code, I guess we would have not got in and they would have lost a nights rent. It still grinds on me to pay $48/night in off season when none of the amenities are available. I am seriously thinking about starting an RV park that has a number of set aside sites for the over nighters and charge them accordingly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Overall, this is a very nice campground. I camped here in 2008, but had not been back since. It is a bit hilly, but the sites are level. My only complaint with the site layout is that they are very close together. No problems with electric, water or cable TV. They had some nice programs for the kids; a pool dive for change, flashlight candy hunt and bingo. I think this park may be more quiet than normal since there are a lot of transient workers staying here (mainly roofers from out of state and Marcellus Shale gas workers). The upside is I saw almost none of the workers the entire weekend. They were gone early morning and back in the late evening. So even though the park looks full, there was lots of room in the pool and at the activities. The jumping pillow is excellent fun for the kids. However, the store is not well stocked and the game room is overrated. Plus you have to hike out of the RV area to get to the store. The staff was extemely friendly and helpful. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$46
Sites are not marked, but they do escort you to your site at check-in. They pick up your trash regularly throughout the day. Bathrooms were kept very clean. Pool was small, but clean. We even tried out the giant jumping pillow and enjoyed it! You could hear highway traffic very faintly at times. Service in campground store was not very good. My husband was ignored by two employees while trying to get our propane tank filled and then when I went to store I had to wait for another employee to come that was allowed to operate cash register to make my purchase. We had full hook up and were not happy campers when we were notified by a not very friendly staff that we would be without water for our last day due to a problem they were having. They told us to fill up our water tanks before they shut water off. They must have already started work on water lines because I filled our tanks with nasty water that we could only use for toilet flushing. I felt we should have received a partial refund for not receiving the full hook ups we paid for for last day and the inconvenience it caused. Overall some of staff were not very friendly but park was clean and enjoyable. Not sure if we would return, probably would check out other campgrounds in area first. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
A nice, clean campground about an hour outside Pittsburgh. Grounds and facilities were clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Not too intrusive. We were greeted at the front by a staff member who escorted us to our site. Site was almost level and an easy pull-through. Pool a little on the small size. A handful of permanent trailers, but all were well-maintained. A nice feature was the large inflatable "pillow" which allows kids to jump around. Only drawback was the dust kicked up from the stone driveways. If possible, avoid camping in the "red" section: sites 1-19, as it's the main driveway used by all campers to get to their sites. We were there and suffered from a cloud of stone dust with each passing rig. We would stay again. Will also check to see if there are other campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
This is a lovely campground with something for everyone. Lots of rain this season has created problems with keeping the sites level but otherwise the only thing I could see to improve would be a dog park - otherwise high marks! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$51
Having suffered a recent tornado in the local area the campground was surprisingly full. Many of the campers are contractors with ladders and other repair gear strapped to their trucks. We arrived around 1:00 during one of the few sunlit hours of the day. The park is about 1 mile north of Rt 70 on a paved, two lane road. The entrance is well-marked with the familiar yellow and red "KOA" sign, and the entry drive is more an "exit ramp" than a turn. Slowing to a crawl as you approach the driveway is suggested because the approach to the office is a short drive down a steep, gravel drive. Parallel parking is abundant outside the office. The staff greeted us warmly and was jovial and helpful. A quick look around the store revealed sparse, but adequate supplies not uncommon for this early in the season. Staff drove us to our site and stayed long enough to make sure we recognized everything we needed. Our site was level gravel with the utility post correctly placed mid-way on the site. The waste dump was slightly high but still below the level of our outlet. The sites are not too close together, with a typical 15 to 20 feet between gravel pads. The kids really enjoyed the bouncy pad at the playground. There is a small pond that was brown, but would be pretty mid-season. The park is situated up the side of a small hill but I didn't see any RV's with multiple leveling blocks under their wheels, indicating that the sites are level. We're over-nighting this stay and will be back on our return trip in a week. We're glad we chose the known facilities if KOA, and this typical park has not disappointed us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
Nice campground and well maintained. Laundry room was clean and washers/dryers worked well. Sites large and level, even though it was all on a hill. We were off-season, so it was pretty quiet. We would stay here again, if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
Campground has made great strides in improving for larger big rigs (45') like ours. Unfortunately they're the only game in town and expensive. Our lot was muddy and uneven, power good, decent wi-fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$41
Check in was easy and the staff was friendly. Our site was level, although it could have used some more gravel as after it rained for 2 days we had a mud puddle right at the steps. The Wi-Fi and cable worked great. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$41
This is our second trip in October. We were staying here mainly to go to Idlewild Park. The kids love the jumping pillow and playground area. You will probably need blocks to level. The park is clean and quiet. It is located close to the interstate and there are restaurants and shopping a few exits away on the interstate. Our friends stayed in a green lodge cabin which was very nice. I did not have a problem with the office staff. They were friendly to us. Maybe they were different people working. They had a lot of activities planned this Saturday for their Halloween weekend. A good park for a family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
I have to agree with one of the other reviewers that the office staff were not very nice. Having said that, the facility was acceptably clean, quiet and comfortable. We did have some difficulty setting up because the site on a hillside and unlevel. If in the area again, might (or might not) stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Okay for an overnight if you have to. The woman who checked us in was nasty. The kids didn't want to stay. We only stayed 1 night but would not go back due to the unwelcome feeling we felt upon checkin. The sites were tight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$47
Sites are on a hillside which means either your patio area is sloping and not very usable, or the sewer hose goes uphill to the drain, not very clever. There is a barrier at the entrance for extra security. There are a lot of seasonal campers but they have their own area out of the way and are not a problem. Staff in the office were very helpful. In the area we visited Fallingwater which was beautiful, and also cycled part of the Allegheny Passage. We would visit again but not at a busy time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
Easy to find and check in was pleasant. Our water/electric site was long, but muddy, and we needed blocks to level. Wi-Fi worked and cable was OK. It's not easy to see oncoming traffic on exit road, and reentry on the interstate is tricky. This is an OK park for overnight, but we'd not stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
This campground is only adequate for an overnight stay. Unfortunately, we usually stay longer visitng family in the area and this campground is the best of the worst close to our relatives. This KOA has very narrow sites located on a hillside and there is very little room in between sites. We chose a water/electric site because we damaged our rig getting out of a full hook up site. Smaller rigs may not have as much of a problem. Lots of seasonal campers located here. We decided not to use the dump station as it is slanted incorrectly and would not have allowed our tanks to empty. Verizon cell and air card service is good. This campground is not located in Madison, but in Ruffs Dale, PA. I-70 is really weird in this area. There are no acceleration lanes to get on interstate. You have to stop before entering and hope no one runs you down as you come up to speed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$43
I would recommend staying at the water/electric sites ( #001 through 008). They are pretty level and you don't have to drive very far up the hill. There are activities for kids on weekends, some are free but most cost. There is also a Pancake Breakfast on Sundays for a cost. The Full hookup sites are up the hill and then back down to your site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This is not a destination campground, but an adequate overnight stop. A reviewer from April '09 commented that the front sites were all dug up: well, they are still all dug up in late August. These dug-up sites are the first things you see when pulling into the camper area: very unsightly. It's quiet and treed, no road noise at all. The bathhouse might have been clean, but it was creepy and in drastic need of updating. The pool was on the small side but seemed clean. Staff in the office was very friendly. They have a fancy coffee maker in there and the woman on duty was very helpful in showing me how it worked. We would stay again if we ever needed to for a stopover. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
The park personnel were extremely rude to our guests. The sites are uninspiring. Will not be a repeat camper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
We camped here and had a great time. On the weekend, they have activities planned for the kids. They have a decently stocked store with Slush Puppies (my daughter's favorite part!) The jumping pillow, playground, and pool are all a hit with the kids. They have a lake for boating and fishing. The RV sites are good. The people are nice. They deliver ice and firewood to you. You don't really get a good deal of firewood for what you pay. But there are a bunch of regulations about firewood because of some bug so you are not supposed to bring your own. So you're stuck paying $6 for about 4-5 pieces of wood if you want some. Overall, a good experience for our family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$49
We stayed here in a pop-up camper. Very pleased with the friendly staff, shaded sites and very clean bathrooms. The fishing pond was excellent. We caught four different species of fish with the same bait. Close to turnpike and I-70 yet you would never know it. Overall an excellent campground, will definitely return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
The interior roads are in really bad shape. The whole area is very hilly - common for the area in general. The dog area is at the top of the hill by the dump station. My only complaint about that is it is not fenced in. The laundry is adequate and the staff is friendly. Due to the fact that all of the staff is new to the area, they weren't very helpful with questions about the area. This is not their fault, but we didn't see the owners at all. Too bad they aren't available to answer questions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$46
This park was downhill going into the campground and then up hill going up to the sites, but that is typical for the Pittsburgh area. The roads in the campground were gravel, but not well kept-- pretty rutted and uneven. The sites closer to the pool and play area are dug up-- looks like the sewer and electric are being re-done. Our 30 amp service wasn't working when we tried to hook up. The owner came and changed the breaker. The reason we stayed here was because it was close to downtown Pittsburgh, and that's the reason we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
A nice campground. We stayed here while visiting Pittsburgh area. This campground has a pond for fishing, swimming pool (small) and a very nice store stocked with about anything you would need. All sites are on a hill but all sites are level and easy access. They escorted everyone to their site while we were here with a golf cart (not necessary but a nice thing to do). One bath house for the entire area but not busy when we were here. Store doesn't open early but still a very nice place. Staff were friendly and helpful. The negative about this campground is their entrance. It is on a blind curve and coming out you have to be careful of traffic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$54
Overall the site was nice, roomy and very level pull through. Staff were very friendly, and a pleasure to talk to. Restrooms were borderline disgusting. I have a rule, I only use the camper toilet at night, unless the bath facilities are too gross to use. I used my shower and toilet in my Niagara all weekend. Other than that, it was a good time, and friendly people. I think their prices are a little high for what you get. the pool is tiny for a backyard pool, let alone for a campground. The jumping pillow is fun, but when you have a 2 yr. old, the older kids make it impossible for him to enjoy it. They serve a decent breakfast, hot cakes were good but the sausage wasn't at all. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
We stopped here for a quick overnight on our way West through PA. The park was perfect for this and would be great for a couple of days as well. They had a fishing pond, pool, and a big air pillow that was really popular. The store was nice, check-in was relatively fast and we had an escort to our site. The only complaint was that the pull through sites (which nearly all of them were) could have been a bit more level. They have all been back-hoed or bull-dozed so there really isn't a reason for them not to be a bit more flat and a few minutes at each site with a piece of equipment would fix this. Probably bothered us more because we were just overnighting. Still, a nice, clean, reasonably priced campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
We used this park as an overnight on our way to Erie. The sites were a little close but not objectionable and took very little leveling. The Grandkids LOVED the jumping pillow and the pool. Over all a fairly nice park with a pleasant and helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This is a nice park with very open narrow sites. My children loved the jumping pillow and playground. Showers had lots of hot water and were clean. Staff at reception was very friendly and helpful. Even though it rained a couple of times site was gravel so it did not get muddy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
We actually just used this as an overnight campground on our way through, but it was nicer than I expected. The kids enjoyed the campground for a little while, and the spacing of the campsites gave enough room for cooking and eating without feeling like you were in your neighbor's room. This was mid-week, and I estimate that the campground was 50-60 percent full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
We live fairly close and visited here for a test run of our new unit. Office staff very friendly and efficient. Camp store was being stocked as this was the first weekend they were open and appeared to have a nice variety. Interior roads leave alot to be desired and need work. Site was a nice size pull thru. Bathrooms old but clean. Nice playground. It served the purpose for us and is a good overnight stop. Would probally have rated higher if the overall appearance was more pleasing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
Nice place for an overnight. Friendly staff guide you your site and help you get parked. It is close to the interstate (I-76 and I-70). Gravel roads are a little rough. Sites are roomy and reasonably level. Nice playground for the children. Fishing available in season. This is our second time here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
As KOAs go, this is a very nice one to stay in. Good folks at the check in. Nice level spot at the top of the hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
Seemed overpriced for location. This was a gated campground. Interior roads were narrow. Most sites were pull-throughs and plenty long. The basic cable had good reception but lacked a few channels such as ESPN. (Important during football season!) Our site was level and the campground was very quiet. The pool was closed for the season. There was a small pond with canoes filled with rain water and a jumping pillow. The store/game room seemed well stocked but was located well away from the campsites. Trash was picked up at the sites daily. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$99
We were pretty disappointed by this campground. We rented the KOA Lodge (they only had one) and for the price ($145USD per night), we were expecting something fairly nice. What we found was what could have been a nice camping cabin, but it was placed in the most undesirable spot in the entire campground. It was sandwiched in between two other pull-through sites, which were VERY close. The lodge is at the bottom of a hill that apparently houses long-term or live-in campers, who's sites were cluttered and ugly, sort of like a trailer park. Our site had only 1 small tree, no privacy (the live-in people next door spent the entire first day staring at us). The roads were unpaved, the pool was closed until late in the 3rd day of our stay. The camp store couldn't have been further away, so we only shopped there once. The worst part was the cabin we rented. It was FILTHY with hairs all over the bathroom (shower & sink), the floors looked like they hadn't been swept in ages and the mattress' on the beds/bunks were possibly the worst we've ever slept on. I realize this is camping, but we have 4 young children so we paid the extra money to stay in a cabin, rather than a tent, as we had planned other activities (thank goodness) away from the campground. With the pool being closed, there was nothing for the kids to do. They couldn't scooter as the roads are very rough and rocky, the playground is tiny, though they did like the jumping pillow. Overall, I would not recommend this park unless you're just parking it for overnight. This could be a nice campground, but it is very run-down, unorganized with very few nice camping sites. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$31
Nice park for a one night stand. Good access to/from the tollway (I70). Interior roads are gravel. Sites are of modest size and messy. Needs mowing, picnic table doesn't sit level. Very quiet. Not much else in the area to hold ones interest (that we found). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Far from the best Campground I've been at! It's OK for an overnight, but beyond that I wouldn't stay there again for 3 nights. The office, store and game room were far from the campsites. The pool was small with old fashioned ladders that made it difficult to get out of. Most all of the sites were on a steep hill (which is not friendly to seniors and disabled) the toilets/showers needed upgrading...AND YET, they spent a lot of money on some kind of large "pillow bouncy" thing about the size of a tennis court...even though there was barely a playground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
We made an overnight stop here and although it was just adequate for that, not a place we would choose to spend more than one night. Very steep access road, sites tight to get in and out of and all sites are carved out of the side of the hill. The shower facilities were just adequate - water pressure was poor and although clean, bathhouse itself could stand some sprucing up. Once in the park we received a one time only code to exit thru the gate should we need to leave that evening for anything after 8pm. They did have a "pillow jump" that our children enjoyed. The game room was quite a hike from the camping area so we did not use it. Although not unfriendly, the staff were not particularly helpful either. Not a place we would choose to stay again unless we had to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
This campground is small, friendly and clean. They were putting in new sites when we stayed there. The campground is so quiet that you cannot even hear anything at night. The pool was clean and the camp store was convenient. We were impressed by the drive-through gate for safety. We enjoyed the pancake breakfast and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
Spacious KOA with nice pull-throughs for big rigs. Well run and expanding. Good access to Western Pennsylvania sites, and easy access off main highway. Not a lot to do at the campground, though. Would not be a place we would simply camp at, but is good as a home base for day trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
Pulling out of a pull-thru site I scraped the side of my travel trailer on a tree limb. While I should have been paying more attention, the CG should have cut down or trimmed the tree. Since I didn't want to unhitch my van, the pool and the store were too far away to walk. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$30
So So. Bathhouse was clean. Sites are not that great. Very close and small. Felt like a trailer park. Nice stocked store and lake. Friendly people. Playground needs updated and pool is small. Site had one very sappy tree. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com