206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Bear Run Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (724) 368-3564
CGID2476

Bear Run Campground

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   10   2   3   4   2   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$49
Road to campground is curved and narrow. Go slow. Once there, a gate marks the entrance. Internal roads are paved, as are the lower pull-through sites, which are set aside for transients. Majority of sites occupied with RV's that are permanent. A big summer "go-to" CG. Heavily treed, so very difficult if not impossible to get satellite reception. No cable makes antenna necessary. Staff accommodating and helpful with area information. Not far from Pittsburgh. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$49
The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Although big rigs can be maneuvered into the campsites, I would not camp there again in my 42 foot motor home. While going to our campsite following hand signals of the helper, I nearly hit a short piling. Fortunately, the helper signaled me to stop, and I was able to backup and avoid it. Leaving the campground was not easy. I was unable to swing wide enough to avoid having my rear tires hit a rock hidden by a hedge near the front gate. I backed up and a staff member moved the rock so that I could proceed. Since there was no good place to hook up my toad between the campsite and front gate without blocking traffic, I elected to leave the campground and stop along the public road by the campground to hookup. If you do decide to camp there in a big rig, my advice would be to ride around the campground in the golf cart and carefully chose your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$49
Great park, very friendly staff. We only stayed overnight but will definitely go back again and stay longer. Small road going in so beware, but we thought it was worth it once we got there. Our 40 foot RV + towed = 62 feet long fit just fine. A nice gentleman escorted us in and went to the store for milk, they didn't have what we needed and someone was going into to town and they picked it up for us. There are a lot of permanent trailers but when we were there it was all quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
We camped here in a cabin in August. The staff are very helpful and kind. The scenery is gorgeous. Campgrounds are clean and well organized. We felt very safe and protected there. We swam in the heated pool, hayrides, trails, canoe rentals, live music, playgrounds, dog run, fishing, the whole deal. Kids had a blast! Cabin was very clean and comfortable. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves throughout the grounds, By far our favorite campground in PA. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We stayed here in July 2011 in a tent with my parents staying in a 5th wheel. The first tent site they were going to place us in was on rocks on a pull through because we wanted water/electric. We went to look at the primitive sites, and all of the tent sites were in a poor place and not worth the money. I had to ask to get reimbursed since the campground is run by teenagers; the 4 days I was there I did not see one adult working. They advertise on the website that there are walking trails and a close state park down the road. This was untrue. We drove everywhere; something I was not expecting. Thankfully I was able to use my parents 5th wheel for a shower/bathroom since the facilities were in horrible shape. I believe this is from the lack of adult supervision as I mentioned before. I will not be going here again, and I would not recommend it. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
I first have to say that the only reason I gave this park a three was because of the very helpful people that work there. Next let me say that if you have anything larger than a pop up trailer stay away from this place. We had to stay there as we were traveling north and we did not have much choice. We barely got the trailer into the place it was total stress, the roads are so narrow and they have a gate auto up and down arm to enter and exit. The pull thru sites are on the side of a hill.and it was terrible getting the rig in and out, my wife went four wheeling down the hill with the 12000 lb trailer bouncing and leaning behind her. I thought it was going to tip over. The bath house had pay (coin operated) showers. Some did not work and the gals told me that the women's shower was so dirty that they did not want to sit down while dressing. The men showers did work but were not very appealing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This park isn't worth the money they are getting for it. It is built on the side of a hill, so all walking is either uphill or downhill. Very hard on old knees. There is no cable TV and dish reception is impossible due to the surrounding trees. The sites are difficult to get into due to the unevenness of the terrain. It has very poor water pressure but the weather was nice. The only redeeming thing of the park and the only reason I rated it where I did, was because of the great staff that would do anything for the guests. If it hadn't been for them, it would have been a 2. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$53
This campground was on a hill. We either were walking uphill or down him. The staff wasn't very friendly. The spots were small. They had no TV but they did have wi-fi. Although the wi-fi didn't work well at all. The prices were very high for what we got. We will not be camping here again; that is for sure. One of the worst campground we have ever stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
First the good point. The front portion of my skinny site was level. I was surprised since this place is on a hill. The park is rated by Travel Life/Good Sam as a 9.5/9*/9. If this were true it probably would have been worth the $50 (with discount). This is a $25 CG. The road to the CG is a one lane about 1/2 mile. Big rigs beware. No satellite, cable TV or antenna TV. WiFi is hit and miss. Satellite radio was so so. Hook ups are on the wrong side and the water spigot is just a inch from the electric plug. The picnic tables sit on the slope so they are useless. Why bother having them? Trash truck came at 7:10PM. I will NOT return to this CG. Did I mention 2 useless speed bumps? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
If you like private tent sites and a lovely country location next to a beautiful state park then you will like it here. We camped at a primitive site. Lots of woods and shade. It is a walk to the activities and shower though, so I recommend bringing bikes. Porta potties are close though. The road is a bit rough going back to the primitive tenting area. They could invest in some gravel and maintain those a bit better. Nicely landscaped campground, nice activities,store and rec room and horses abound. The sites by the horse paddock are the best! Cabins are in nice wooded areas. Nice 6 foot fenced dog run area. If you have a large RV though you probably don't want to camp here. The RV sites are crowded and narrow. Other than that it is a clean, welcoming place. Great location off I-79. It was pretty full when we stayed here but people were quiet at night. Some people weren't obeying the leash rules for their dogs. They need to enforce that a bit more. And it is hilly here, which doesn't help the poor road conditions. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
I am very surprised at the relatively good ratings that this park received! When we first pulled up there was someone with a run-down motorhome next to us with his door opened right in front of our picnic table and our fire ring was filled with garbage. The sites are WAYYYY to close together. Also, if you are going to be visiting this campground, make sure you are up to date on your tetanus shot! The bathroom is run down with rust on everything, extremely humid and the toilets not properly secured to the floor. IMO, it should be condemned. As soon as we saw the bathrooms, we decided to pack up and leave, that was the straw that broke the camel's back. We spoke to the owner and explained why we were leaving. He didn't seem too concerned and, even though we were only there 1 hour, we were charged for the night. Whatever, I was happy to be out of there! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This camp ground was clean. The playground provides hours of entertainment for younger children and the staff was helpful and friendly. The only down sides were: our site was not level; we needed to use a bottle jack to get the camper off of the hitch; and the camp sites were a little close to each other. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
Good Sams rated this as a 9.5 park. Whoever wrote that review should be fired. This park has a beautiful setting, but that is as far is it goes. There is no cable, too many trees for satellite, and very weak antenna signals. Wi-Fi did not work, sites are not level and hard to even stand up on. There is no room between sites and side by side hookups on top of that. This is the worst high rated park we have ever stayed at. Absolutely no services for the prices they charge. I would pass on this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Even after reading the other reviews about this park we decided to stay there. We were attending an event in the area and chose Bear Run over a few other local campgrounds. We should have listened to the other comments. The sites are extremely close together. Upon arrival we found that tents were set up at the site next to ours but they were using our picnic table and campfire ring. The staff, which were plentiful and pleasant, came over to tell them to move but this only helped for a few hours. Unfortunately these neighbors did not respect other people's privacy. Returning later from a trip to the playground we found them using our picnic table (after I had already set it for our dinner) and using our lawn chairs. The sites around us were a little too close for comfort so we decided to spend our time away from the camper or eating inside. Even though the staff was around a lot during the day they were absent at night and the quiet time was not enforced. Until 2am we listened to a neighbor play Michael Jackson loudly in their tent. The positive parts of this park are the various activities planned throughout the weekend and the friendliness of the staff. This could be a fantastic campground if the sites were just a little farther apart. We will never, ever stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Sites here are small and slanted: definitely need levelers. We stayed mid-week and CG was about 1/4 full so we had enough spacing between others. The Wi-Fi at our site worked great. The office staff was very friendly and their store was nice. The restrooms/showers were clean. Saw several families with tents. Summation: this is a nice place if not jammed with people: this can be true about alot of campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This campground had a very friendly feel. I felt safe there as there was a gated entrance. The store was wonderful and the Tree lined sites were excellent. However, the sites are in no way shape or form level. It took us quite a while to be able to sit comfortable on our site. We also basically ate dinner with the people next to us due to the fact that the site are very close quarters. Backing campers in was a very difficult task, so difficult in fact that some people left the park. My biggest complaint would have to be the bathrooms. There were a lot of people there and the bathrooms were FILTHY! The curtains did not cover your body and there were clumps of dirt and hair all over the floor. We will not be staying there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
The campground was just okay. We don't plan on returning. We typically camp at state parks, and are used to more spacious sites. The sites at this campground are extremely crowded and close together. Luckily we knew our neighbors since they were family! We watched a family pull in next to us, look at the site and then leave due to the lack of space. If you are a family who likes a nice, level, spacious campsite, this isn't the place for you! The entire campground is hilly. Most sites are on some sort of hill, and substantial hills at that. The camp store was nice. The pool was nice. The bathhouse is old, but it was surprisingly clean. Easy access to Lake Arthur. Canoe and kayak rentals available at very reasonable cost. Overall, campground is pricey for what you get. Also, you have to pay for showers! Women's shower curtains were cut short and men's room didn't have any shower curtains at all. Creepy! Port-a-john's throughout campground to make up for sporadic placement of bath houses. Probably the biggest drawback to this campground is the noise. I-79 is visible from the front of the park and the nighttime noise from interstate traffic can be bothersome. It was hard to fall asleep with the hum of tractor trailers breezing by at 75 miles an hour. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$47
This park certainly does not deserve the high ratings given by Trailer Life and Woodalls for many reasons. First, the exorbitant rate of $47 per night was charged to my credit card in full for our 3 night stay when I made my reservation 3 months before our arrival. Then upon arrival I had to ask for my Good Sam discount as a refund. There are only about 6 pull through 50 amp full hookup sites and they are very tight for large rigs, very narrow, steep on the sides and not level, have low voltage (average around 112 volts), and very low water pressure (around 20 psi.), and this is when the park is not close to being full. Lots of seasonal RV's, most which haven't moved in decades. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
We camped at Bear Run Campground over the July 4th holiday and had a great time. Overall the campground is very well maintained, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The majority of the sites are for seasonal campers, and most are very well kept. Our site was one of the larger ones on the property but still smaller than we prefer. The camp store was well stocked, and prices were reasonable. We would definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
We stayed here one night on our way to northern Ohio. It was about the 2/3 point of our trip and borders Moraine and McConnell's Mill state parks, both areas we wanted to spend a little time exploring. Our site was in the Pine Meadows area of the campground, which has water/electric hookups. This area is quiet and pretty well removed from the rest of the CG, which is nice, but is not well suited for any trailer but the very smallest. The road is narrow and tightly bordered on one side by trees and the turn-around is very rough and tight. Once we had the trailer backed in, we were pleased with the site. There is a horse pasture directly behind these sites. The showerhouse/restrooms are at the top of the hill, above the pasture and equipment barns, so it's best to drive. Bring your quarters for the showers! The showerhouse is fairly old but was clean enough and the water was hot. This CG has a number of different areas, some of which are on hillsides. The Pine Meadows area is sloped but we had no problems leveling. There are also primitive tent areas even more removed from the main CG. One entrance, and a boat ramp, for Moraine State Park are less than a mile from the CG entrance. The CG maintains the boat ramp, according to a sign posted there. Overall it seems like a nice, well-kept private CG. Of course, there are many seasonal sites, but all that we saw were well kept. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This campground was cramped, noisy, and sloped. After parking our fifth wheel there was no place to park the truck. Sites were muddy and very sloped. The regulars were yelling until around 1 A.M. with dogs barking constantly. Rigs were coming in and setting up until 11:00 P.M. Facilities are nice and tent sites look spacious. However, the kids were loud and roaming all night. I would not recommend this place if your looking for a quiet weekend getaway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$39
We enjoyed our selves at this campground.they had a nice store, pool, playground, and etc. It was in a nice country setting. We walked on some nice scenic trails. Close to Moraine State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
The campground actually has trees which is a nice change of pace these days. If you aren't looking for full hookup, there are some nice level sites for overnight stays. If you are looking for full hookups, you will be on a hillside. We stayed in the campground after Labor Day so it wasn't very crowded. We were able to pull into our site because the site behind us was vacant. It would have been very difficult to back into the site due to the narrow roads in the campground. The campground employee guided us into our site and had us pull the trailer right up to the road. He then directed us to park the truck behind the trailer. We parked this way because to make the trailer more level. Unfortunately campers took up residence directly across the road from us. When it was time to leave, they weren't at their site so we had to move a lot of their items just to get our truck in front of the trailer to hookup. You will also hear the interstate noise 24 hours a day. This campground is better suited for smaller trailers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$36
My famiy and I camped here on the July 4th weekend of 2005. I asked for a pull through and was given what they consider a pull through. I was directed to the site and guided in by an employee. The extreme angle twisted my coach and leveling was difficult. The next day I was asked to remove my bike rack from the rear of the coach to accommodate another camper who was pulling in behind me. I told the employee I had a pull through and why was someone pulling in behind me? He stated that we don't have pull through sites. Good thing I was not pulling my car this weekend. The camper behind me was so close I had to turn sideway's to get between my coach and his trailer. the campground is on a hill and getting in and out is very difficult. I had to ask the camper below me and across to move their cars so I could leave on Monday. The management had packed in so many campers that weekend we felt like sardines. The pool closed at 7:00pm Why? I have emailed several times to the management and have gotten no response. I would not recommend this campground, nor will we return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$26
This is a nice campground that I would recommend to anyone coming to the area, mostly because it is the best in an area with sub-par campgrounds. However, the area is well maintained. The rules are enforced, though I noticed a few less-than-savory teenagers wandering around at night trying to bum cigarettes. I was able to sit around the fire after quiet hours with a couple friends and not be hassled about noise (though we are fairly considerate people.) there are plenty of things for kids to do here and I feel the family atmosphere here more than most cgs I have been to. But still, the roads are not paved, the sites are close together, there are too many permanent sites (albeit fairly well taken care-of compared to most), and the site I was in was very uneven (never could get level) as were most of the sites around me. Probably the best campground to see Pittsburgh from though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$30
We were told by the owners that this park was "big rig friendly". When we visited, there were only a few sites in the entire park that could accommodate a 40' coach. Most of the park is built on a steep mountainside. When we departed the campsite, the steep angle of the departure road caused us to drag the back end of our motorhome doing over $1500 in damage to the coach. We visited in the fall when the owners were doing lots of fall cleanup, including flushing of their water lines. We ended up using over $200 in water filter cartridges because of the sediment in the well water. So the way I figure it, that month of camping cost us over $2000. Not a good camping experience for a large motorhome owner. The owners here are very friendly and the campground is very well maintained. This would be a great location to camp for families with lots of kids in a small trailer or RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
We stayed at Bear Run for one night during our vacation. We had a very nice time. The staff were very helpful in parking our rig, and giving us directions for the sights of the area. The camp store is nice and offers a wide variety of gifts and supplies. There were a lot of seasonal sites however mostly in another location. They were also well maintained. The site was very level and very easy to pull in and out. While we were there we drove around the camp. There are lots of primative tent sites way up in the woods that looked nice and quiet. They also had a few cabins that are nicely secluded by pine trees. In fact we didn't even notice at first they were there. Each is separated by a large row of nice pine trees. Although only there for a night, it was definitely a place we would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$22
We stayed at Bear Run while visiting Pittsburgh and had a lovely visit. The staff were very helpful in parking our rig, using the modem, and giving us directions for the sights of the area. We will surely try to go back there. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com