214670 User submitted reviews online!!
Tohickon Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (215) 536-7951
CGID2479

Tohickon Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   7   5   9   9   8   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
Our rate reflects a special price they offer pretty often, and was for a full hookup site. This campground is a real gem. It is quiet, sites are well laid out and the staff really care. It is a family run operation and it can definitely use a coat of paint in a few places. The shower house is needs some maintenance to get it to a higher quality as well. That said, the creek running through is very peaceful, the open spaces are really well laid out for kids to play and the sites are moderately level (two layers of Legos were needed on the trailer). The store is well stocked, and the pool is very nice. It was still too cool to use but the area was well kept. There are a few group sites and their were a few parties going on and none of them were a problem. If you have dogs, avoid transient space 9, next to a pathway to the upper tier. We were there and had to apologize every time another dog walked by for our youngest pooch. He is not aggressive but a bit noisy. Other spots provide better privacy from other campers. The location is excellent for visiting local tourist sites like Philadelphia to the south and Bethlehem to the north. Shopping is only a few minutes away and an excellent Italian restaurant is just five minutes up the road. The goose population and the resultant, well, poo can be a bother. The area along the creek could be messy but the campsites and play areas were unaffected. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
This is a well maintained, picturesque campground. The permanent sites are removed from the transient ones. There was good space between sites, more than at a KOA. Wi-Fi was spotty at best. OK in the AM or late PM, but almost non-existent during the day. No cable TV hookups, but good off the air reception. Would recommend highly and definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
Nice park, family campground. We were in the off season and were able to get a spot right on the river. Was very nice and quiet. Sites had plenty of room, although there were only about six campers besides us. One word of caution. It is on covered bridge road. Depending which way you come in: there is a covered bridge 12' 1". Manager was great and very accommodating. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$44
Quirky campground set in rural PA just near a beautiful covered bridge (clearance 12’-1”). Appears to be several permanent or seasonal campers on the “hill” area of the CG. Many in need of work and a good cleaning. We were on the lower, more level area. Did not need to level at this site. Store and office were closed by 6pm when we arrived. The next day we went to square up and found that even though it was 2 weeks before Halloween, because it was a “holiday” weekend, that we could not get discount as Good Sam members. We did, however, get a discount for Thursday night and Sunday night. We were also told that they held THREE Halloween weekends in October, all considered “holidays”. Apparently campgrounds can call any weekend a “holiday” and not give discounts. We were not happy about that, especially since we didn’t see this info on the website, or on any of the paperwork. Internet reception is not so good. Bathrooms were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Nightly rates reflects military discount. I'm note quite sure we actually received the right discount on our entire stay. They offer active duty plus first responder discounts. My calculations would say no we didn't. We camped here for 5 days. The park is an "old" family run park. The bathrooms smelled of mildew something horrible. The showers I don't think were very cleaned the 5 days we stayed, as the drains were full of hair and the walls were full of creepy crawlers. Most sites are some what shaded. There is a gaggle of geese at the park they are near the stream and they defecate everywhere. The park tries to clean it usually at first light. There are a lot of seasonals there who stay in run down trailers, kind of makes the whole park look messy. This is a very wooded area and some sites are very wide and easy to get into and others are not. The Wi-Fi was horrible at best, I don't think I was ever able to connect the whole time we were here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
We were visiting the area for the Lenape Pow Wow at Core Creek Park. The campground was really nice and it was quiet for a weekend. When we arrive we were running late. We set up like usual and then took off for the pow wow. When we came back I realized that we did not have any shore power. So I went out and tried to take a look. The 30 amp and the 50 amp plugs were not working. I tried the 15 amp one and it worked. Good thing I brought my adapters. We got the A/C going to cool off the camper and I went up to the office to report the problem. The campground staff had someone there within 5 mins to look at and fix the problem. They had the 30 amp plug working within 20 mins and had no additional problems the rest of the time. I would like to say that when travelling to the campground you have to make sure that you can either fit under a 12 foot covered bridge or you have to travel the long way around. When taking the long way you have to be mindful of low branches and wires. Other then that we will definitely go back to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
We understand that this campground has just sold. I hope the new owners are as considerate and friendly as the present owners. We had some work done on our truck, and it took longer than expected. They moved us to another site and even then we were down to the wire getting out on a 4th of July weekend Friday. The folks that had the site rented for the weekend were terrific. They waited until 4:30 when the truck was done, and the office had made plans to put them in another site if necessary. Everyone was really great about us being in the site after checkout. The campground is grass and some gravel, all back-ins. FHU were good, and all sites have 50amp. There were activities for the kids on the weekend and a pool. Also activities for the adults. It got a little muddy when we had a thunderstorm, but for the RV's at least not bad. DON’T follow your GPS down Thatcher to Covered Bridge road if your RV is higher than 12ft 1 in. Call if you need to, but the covered bridge will take out vent covers and maybe an air conditioner. I didn’t have that problem but a brand new 5er next to me did. Overall a little pricey but a nice place to park. We were there 12 days. Don’t take site 7 without looking at it first. Rate reflects PA discount not counting weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
We camped here with another family. We had a good time. The staff was helpful and friendly. We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean. The sites were a nice size and we didn't feel crowded. Our only minor issue was that our site was mostly dirt. Some of the other full hookup sites had gravel and grass. We'll be requesting one of those the next time out. Seemed like the non-hookup sites were mostly grass. We will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
This was a nice enough campground; folks that run the campground are friendly and helpful. Much of the campground is seasonal, but the section that supports open camping is right on Tohickan Creek: so bring your fishing pole or just kick back and enjoy the picturesque view! The surrounding area is just as nice with back country roads, a covered bridge, beautiful old stone houses and barns, and a County Park and State Park (with a HUGE lake) just minutes away. The downside? These campsites would not offer much privacy or pretty views if the campground is crowded. We were fortunate that many of the sites around us were not reserved. But my real peeve? The campground did not offer recycling! What's up with that? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$44
This was a nice park with very nice staff. Left for an emergency. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
When we camped here, it looked like they had made many improvements, including a newly renovated pool and restrooms. The restrooms were kept very clean and have free coinless showers. They also have free Wi-Fi at all sites and the staff was very friendly. Very great fishing! The scenic view of this campground is one of the best you will ever see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
It is a long drive from the main road in to the campground. The road narrows & you see the covered bridge with the restricted height before you see the campground gate just before it bringing stress levels, if you have a tall rig, to the roof before they drop to safe levels again. Free WI-FI. Transients get nicest sites next to or near river. Midweek mid September the place was near empty. $18, PA rate We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
OK, the staff here are very, very friendly. But this is not a place to camp in a tent. They only have about 18 or so tent sites that are way too close to each other. They are dirt sites that do not drain well at all. We had to leave after we could not find a site that did not look like a swamp ! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
We were very pleased with our stay. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The pool was very nice.The bathrooms were updated and clean. The campground was located near many family friendly attractions. We were able to visit The Crayola Factory, Peddler's Village, and Rice's Market. We will be returning in the Fall for Halloween weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
I rated this campground a 1 because they did refund our money for our second night. We reserved a site for 2 days due to a family activity in the area. My husband and I took a walk early the first morning and encountered a rude, obnoxious man (employee or owner, not sure who he was). Another camper was attempting to return to his site after getting coffee and could not get the security gate to release. We were trying to help him as he had 3 children and a wife waiting. He rang the buzzer repeatedly for 5 minutes with no answer. Mr. Obnoxious came running out basically accusing us of trying to break in. He said we should use our gate cards. No such cards were offered to us at check-in or anytime else. When we explained that we were paid campers and had no such cards, he crossed his arms, sulked on the bench and said we had to wait until the store opened at 8:00. The young man explained that he meant no disrespect and only wanted to return to his site. Only then, after completely un-necessary cajoling by the young man, did he release the gate. We do not feel comfortable staying anywhere that we can't drive in and out of when we need to. And the rudeness of this little man topped it off. We hitched up, told the office of the encounter and moved on. Too many nice, friendly places to stay - why subject yourself to rude and obnoxious behavior! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
I love this park. It is not the biggest or the best but there is a quality of life here that makes me feel warm and fuzzy. We go here when we want to do nothing but sit back and relax. We love to get the sites by the stream and watch the kids fish and play. I will be back again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
Tohickon was an average campground. They did have a craft activity and bingo for young children on Saturday AM. The game room was OK. Several games out of order, but not a big deal to us. The owners were very nice, helpful and friendly. We also met some very nice people. The store has minimal basic supplies and the restaurant, which wasn't open yet, looks like it would be a good alternative for breakfast. The wireless worked well at our site. We didn't need to use the showers so I don't know how they were. But, we did stop in to use the bathroom. They looked clean, but no soap or towels/blower to wash and dry your hands. Many of the seasonal sites looks very run down and need a good cleaning. The sites are relatively ungroomed - no concrete pad, lots of leaves from the fall. We did notice some garbage in the wooded areas/along the paths that could have been cleaned up in the fall/spring. The playground was fairly decent. But, next to it looked a little like a junk yard. We probably won't be back because there are just too many other nice campgrounds in the general area. But, it wasn't a disaster. I just think there are nicer campgrounds. We camped here with 2 adults and 2 small children (3 & 6). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
This would be a very nice place in the summer. We were able to get a satellite signal and the internet was reliable. The road to get here was narrow, windy and had lots of trees but since we've been in the part of the country it's something we've grown to expect. Special attention must be paid to the directions to get here if you are over 12 feet high as one way is through a covered bridge. The owners are very nice and helpful. There is a store and a restaurant on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
This park has the potential to be a real gem. Unfortunately, it falls way short. Granted, we were there at the end of a long cold winter, but the unpaved roads were so steep and riddled with HUGE potholes they were almost impassable in some areas. The sites are settled in between the many tall trees and the many boulders, leaving little room for slide outs or parking. Lots of permanent park residents in aging units of all kinds, many with built on "rooms". Booked this one off the internet...won't do that again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
An old fashioned, affordable, no activity, no guest fees, just make your own fun, type of campground. Nice pool, clean and affordable on-site restaurant, nice game room, and new electric service are the upside. Off the main road, full hook up sites are close together, and lots of older dated seasonal trailers are the downside. Updating the bathhouse should be the next order of business here. Overall, not a bad place to stay for a weekend, and definitely better than the local competition. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$36
Well we just got back from Tohickon family Campground. We had a great time with a nice weekend. It's real hard for us to have a bad time even at bad campgrounds. Our over all rating for this CG is low. For us it started at the directions. We have a tall Rig so couldn't take the Covered Bridge route and had to use the alternative route. The directions are a little messed up that were supplied. Once at the CG the entrance needs to be cleaned up as the families house sits right there and is in need of work. The office is real nice and has a new restaurant in it. One good thing is they accepted Good Sam discounts but aren't a Good Sam CG. Pool and kiddy pool are still close but look fine. The new playground is also real nice. Now they put all weekenders down at the bottom of the CG by the river. Hope that it hasn't rained for a few days otherwise you will be in a mud hole. The sites are small. The sewer hook ups are hard to use and way out of the way and not worth it. Our site and some others had nice level gravel pads. The picnic tables are all in need of being repaired. We had a old fire ring that had broken bottles and cans in it. Our site wasn't cleaned up after some else had used it. Also had lots of old leaves that weren't raked up at the start of the season so it was hard to keep the TT clean. As to the rest of the CG they had a lot of older trailers most in good shape but needing a cleaning. We did find a lot of garbage (cans and such. one picnic table) off on the sides. They also had a sewage treatment off to the back corner you didn't want to be close to as the smell was strong. For the price it wasn't worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com