220560 User submitted reviews online!!
Ricketts Glen State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (570) 477-5675
CGID2481

Ricketts Glen State Park

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   9   7   10   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$21
We came to this campground because of the fabulous hiking here. Falls Trail 5-mile hike takes you past 21 waterfalls - stunning! The only drawback to this campground is no hookups, but if you can dry camp for three days in an RV or if you are a tent camper, definitely come here! Restrooms and facilities are very well kept. Visitor Center at the entrance is nice. No alcohol in the park (or be discrete). Note the approach from the south up Hwy 487 is steep - 18% grade. We disconnected our tow vehicle and slowly made it up the hill - well worth the effort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
We arrived here on a Sunday with a four day reservation. We explored on Sunday, hiked the falls area on Monday, and decided to leave on Tuesday, a day early. Beautiful scenery. The park was clean, the restrooms not so much. There was a nice enough snack stand at the beach area, where you could buy burgers, hot dogs, fries, ice cream kinds of food. We left early simply because we did what we came for (hiking the falls area), and honestly, there wasn't much else that we wanted to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$19
Ricketts Glen is a really nice state park with over 20 waterfalls and a small lake with boat rentals and a beach. There are two campground sections. One has some sites that are waterfront. That section is the most crowded. I stayed in the other section since no waterfront sites were available anyway. The bath houses were functional and reasonably clean, not brand new. The only real problem is that the shower water temp constantly fluctuated greatly. Tent camping is the most common since sites don't have water or electric. The sites are too small for anything but small trailers like pop-ups or mini-trailers. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
A wonderful park and campground. It was not very crowded since it is later in the season. I can see how the single shower house could get overwhelmed during a busy holiday weekend. We truly enjoyed the stay, and the falls hike is a must. The Glen is a gem of the PA woods. It rivals Watkins Glen, in my opinion. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
The campground was clean and maintained. There are no electric or water hook ups. The site is close to the 18 waterfall hike which was also a great experience. The quiet policy is 10pm so for just adult camping is a drag but if you have kids its a plus. You can't drink on the campgrounds which is again a drag for adults but if you have kids a good thing. You can find sites that butt up to Lake Jean which has good fishing. The bathrooms where well maintained, nothing fancy. They should clean the bathrooms 4 times a day instead of 2 times. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$19
I have stayed in many campgrounds, both private and public and this one is my favorite so far. It was in the middle of nowhere, which was a big plus for me. The site was level and shaded. There was a large amount of woods between each site, almost enough for a whole other site. We were waterfront but did not have a view. Driving through the park though we did notice several sites had nice views. There were so many animals. We saw geese (with babies!), a snapping turtle, birds, bunnies, lots and lots of chipmunks and even a bear! He was eating someone's tomatoes that they left out, so be sure to lock up your food or hang it in a tree because they really are out there! The showers were clean and centrally located. The rangers did drive by regularly which made me feel safe, and the people at the visitors center were helpful. There are some souvenirs for sale at the visitors center, including magnets, shirts and walking sticks. There is a store at the corner of 118 and 487, it is a few miles from the park but not terribly far. They function like the camp store and sell everything from tent stakes to sandwiches to firewood and ice. There is also a snack bar in the park and they sell firewood and ice if you catch them when they are open. They sell hot food and ice cream, we had french fries and fried mushrooms and they were delicious. The hiking is great and the waterfalls are gorgeous. It is a steep climb so be prepared. The beach is well maintained and quite large. All the buildings are new and very nice with stone accents. I am ready to book another trip for next summer, I am only waiting because you have to be 11 months or less out!!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
This is a beautiful, wonderfully maintained, secluded park - with an amazing hiking trail showcasing 22 waterfalls between 15' and 94' tall. The sites are quite large, with ample room for a vehicle and two large tents. Each site has a large (about 36") fire ring, and most have new-ish 15' picnic tables. Sites are very shaded with very tall trees. Just about every site has a 30-foot wide raised mound of fine crushed gravel for tent placement, which drains very well in rain. The showers and washrooms were very clean, with very hot water - the shower nozzles are very strong, though the men's room had a "handicapped" stall with a real hand shower massage unit mounted to the wall. The women's room apparently only had a hand-held shower in the handicapped stall. You should bring everything you need, there's no store within miles, and the campground is sparse - sites and a washroom. The CG runs on the honor system after-hours, with well designed instructions at the ranger station. I saw several ranger patrols, day and night, the two nights we stayed. The hiking trail is decently marked, but one of the trail heads was under construction while we were there, adding about two miles to the overall hike. But that mile there and back was a relatively flat wide crushed gravel road. I hiked with several children (ages 8-11) and they did well, but it is a medium to strenuous walk. There are porta-potties at the trail heads, but nowhere to stop along the way - so take care of things before you go! It took us a little less than 5 hours to complete the loop. I would suggest taking the trail "clockwise" making Onondaga Falls your first stop - the second half of the hike is extremely uphill (two 60+' and a 94' waterfall along the way) and my wife and I agreed that it was much better to walk up this side, than down, especially with the kids. All along the trail, there were wet spots, but it wasn't very slippery - you should wear hiking boots, but we got along well in sneakers. Bring lots of water - as much as you can comfortably carry! A couple tips: While there is ample fallen wood to make fires, most of it is more than a half-mile from the campground. The first night there, I did well to make a nice fire from what I found (I'm an old boy scout...) but the second night I went into town to buy some wood. The Red Rock Store at the bottom of the hill will sell you a milk crate full of hardwood for $5. but if you turn right on 118, and follow to the oil dealer about a half-mile past the 118/487 split, he sells a washtub full for $4. A great deal for camping more than a few days. About four miles past there, then down another road a few miles, you'll find a great breakfast place - The Brass Pelican - that has the best sourdough buckwheat pancakes I've ever had. Not cheap (about $40 for the five of us) but a nice treat. Tie up your trash! A local told us that there were no bears sighted at the park, but several had been seen down the hill. While we were there, several head of deer strolled through our site, and I saw a raccoon the first night. Keep your site clean and stow your trash at night. If you're pulling a large trailer, there's about a five mile 18% grade hill you have to climb on 487 from the south - you may wish to seek out the road from the north to enter the park from Lopez, PA. I wouldn't want to pull anything bigger than a 21-footer up that grade. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$12
Visited Ricketts Glen mid-week in September and found it to pleasantly deserted. There were maybe 15 occupied sites within the two camping loops. We had a lake front site with a gorgeous view. Our site was level and gravel covered. Most sites were rather large with plenty of growth between them offering good privacy. Roads were all paved and trees were trimmed offering even the biggest of rigs adequate clearance. Ranger patrols were numerous, to me always a positive. Washrooms were spotless and showers were hot. Only negative of entire visit was that two of the four showers in the women’s washroom were out of order. Personnel at visitors center were both courteous and knowledgeable. Cell phone reception in the park was nonexistent. Park dumpsters are not within walking distance from the camping loops, so a short drive will be necessary. This park is located in the middle of nowhere, so make sure you bring any and all supplies you may need. No camp store located at park. Hiking within the park was outstanding, although trail markers were somewhat confusing. Overall an excellent place to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$14
Rickett's Glen is one of my favorite places to camp. They can accommodate up to 40' RV, although there are no hookups. We have always had a great experience here, and will be returning again next year. Be prepared to climb a steep grade on the road up to the park. The park rangers are always friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$12
Ricketts Glen State Park is a wonderful place to visit and camp. The park has two camping loops. The “Big Loop” is located out by the lake and the “Little Loop” is in more of a wooded setting. Chances are getting a site out by the lake would require making advance reservations. We stayed in the “Little Loop” which was only about half full. CAUTION: Getting up to the park from the south could be a little dicey if your tow vehicle is underpowered for the rig you’re towing. It’s a four-mile uphill climb at an 18% grade…..Ouch! Our site was level and had a gravel surface. People looking for all the comforts of home be aware, No hookups in park. Rest rooms were modern, spotless and showers were hot. Park Rangers and all staff were helpful and friendly and I did see Rangers making foot patrols after dark. Hiking was outstanding. The Falls Trail takes you down into the gorge past 23 named waterfalls. This hike takes between 3-4 hours to complete. Wildlife galore saw hawks, vultures, deer and skunks. Plenty of bear activity to a point of them being a pain in the butt. The only negatives were: no camp store so bring everything with you and cell phone reception in the campground was spotty at best. Overall we loved this place, would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Ricketts Glen is an stunning gorge. The waterfall loop is a glorious way to spend a day. There is a lovely little lake to paddle a canoe and swim in, with a nice sand beach. The sites are all primitive and there is a very limited number that we could get our fiver into. We hope to get back there this summer. Everyone needs to know, though, that this park is on the TOP OF A MOUNTAIN. The road south of the park is an 18% grade for four miles (I'm not making this up). There is a posted limit of 28 feet for RV's attempting this hill. The road to the north of the park is not a problem. So, let me repeat - approach the park from Dushore, not from Red Rock. South bad, North good ;-). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com