219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Pioneer Park Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (814) 445-6348
CGID2486

Pioneer Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
392
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   9   7   8   9   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$42
Very pretty setting spoiled by a poor experience from start to finish. Young office staff gave poor directions to park, recent rains made for a muddy mess (up to a foot deep in some parts of park), very narrow sites, shut off our water without notice, bath house not clean (dead bugs and leaking urinal), pricey given that no amenities were open / available. Not sure this park should be rated as big rig accessible as, like the prior poster, our larger fifth wheel dropped onto our truck's bed rails due to the angle of the road and campground entrance. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
Fairly level gravel pull through surrounded by very muddy grass. Good power,water and cable. Useless Wi-Fi. Smashed a large gouge in the bottom of our fifth wheel overhang and a large dent in the truck on the turn and hill at the entrance. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
This is a very large and attractive RV park, a very pretty place to set up and explore locally. Our gravel site was fairly level and long enough for our sixty foot rig. Nice cable TV lineup, but in our site the Wi-Fi was spotty, sometimes dropping us. Good Verizon 4G data connectivity. Good laundry facilities. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Good location for visiting Flight 93 National Memorial; you pass through beautiful PA farmland to get to the park. Very bumpy and narrow interior roads. YOUNG staff sent us down the wrong interior road to our site...luckily we walked it first and made correct adjustment. All utilities worked well. Nice space between sites. Had a wonderful dinner at the Oakhurst Tea Room nearby (smorgasbord). Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
We stayed for four nights with our family, which includes small children. The campground is clean and well maintained. The bathrooms are a bit cramped in stall size, but clean. The pool was "open" but with a padlock on the gate. After the third time my family checked on it, we asked and were told that we needed to let the front desk know that we wanted to swim and they would unlock and send the lifeguard on duty. Once we started swimming several other families showed up since they too were confused by the pad lock. I suggested a sign on the pool with directions on what to do if you wanted to swim. Great playground for kids. My daughter enjoyed the activities. Many of the surrounding sites also had children. Game room was frustrating for kids since the majority of the games are the claw type 'game' where it is nearly impossible to win and all of them ran around $1 per play (including the car driving games). Far too pricey. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$47
We were in Site 324. Site was a level pull-through and had good power and good water pressure. We were able to access the park Wi-Fi using our laptop from the motorhome. We selected this park primarily due to it proximity to Seven Springs Resort. We stayed at the park while we were ziplining with the grandsons at Seven Springs. This campground seemed to be very family friendly. There were a couple sections with many very well maintained seasonal sites. Our section seemed to be mostly short term campers. We would definitely camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
A large campground. The hill side with trees is really steep. Even the flat area isn't really flat. It is an OK campground but a little pricey for what it is. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
We are giving this resort a nine only because sites are only gravel (and very little) and the road getting to your site is bumpy and a bit on the narrow side. On the plus side site was perfectly level and nice size lots and all the utilities worked great. Did not use their Wi- Fi so don't know about it. Bathhouse was clean and spacious. We were visiting friends in area so we did not use fishing golf pool etc., but they all looked great and well kept. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
While this campground is not in very close proximity to the PA Turnpike, it is a great location to visit the Flight 93 Memorial and several Mining museums and memorials. There are many activities for children, including fishing, paddle boating, and a pool. Staff is friendly and very helpful. While we were here, there was a private party at one of the pavilions. Highly recommended, especially for families traveling with kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
This is a gem of a park located in the Laurel mountain area of southwestern Pennsylvania about 45 minutes from the Flight 93 memorial. It is a large park with interior lakes stocked with trout and available for fishing at $10/day. We camped in pull through site 385 which was level and had good functioning utilities including cable TV. We were only here one night but would return if we should happen to travel this way in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
WI-FI did not work at our site. Campground is nice and kept up pretty well. Pool is large with lots of chairs. Lots of seasonal campers in this park. The scenery around this park is great. This park is located about 25 miles from the Flight 93 Memorial. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
Nice big park. We were here in the off season, but they seemed to have lots of activities. The WiFi was free, but did not reach the back of the park. It was worth it to stay here because the area is gorgeous. Nice golf course about five miles away, and the Frank Lloyd Wright Fallingwater house is 17 miles. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
This is a nice enough park. It is large and most were seasonal. Most all of the seasonal were well taken care of and clean. The roads and site are gravel and level. The cable TV was good but the WiFi was not free but our Verizon card worked well enough. Everything was clean and seemed to be well taken care of. It is a bit off the freeway and you have to go through the town, but it wasn't terrible. The pull through site we had was very long and the distance between sites was nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
This is a beautiful and well-maintained campground situated in the Laurel Mountains of Pennsylvania. It has a very relaxing atmosphere but still offers plenty of activities for children and adults. You don't have to worry about reckless golf cart drivers since golf carts are not permitted here. We especially enjoyed the walking trails that meander through the woods. The best part of our stay was taking our three-year-old child around the campground for trick or treat. Most campers participated and were very friendly. The campground is very close to two state parks, two ski resorts, and numerous other local attractions. I plan on returning here next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
Overall a nice campground. We only stayed overnight but this would make a nice central point to tour this really nice part of Pennsylvania. There are small lakes all around with fishing opportunities. The sites are flat and open without much shade. I agree with the other reviewer in that the sites are a little close for a motorhome. I would also think this would be a very nice place to tent camp as many of the tent sites are right on the lake shore. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This is a very well-maintained campground and one our favorite places to visit. It is very level. Excellent for bike-riding. Bathrooms are super clean. They pick up your garbage at your camp site. They have kids activities on the weekends. It is a very popular place to stay and books up quite frequently. So call early for reservations. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This is a very nice campground. However, there are lots and lots of geese. It is impossible to walk around the goose droppings. Other than that, this one of the nicest campgrounds in the area. They have fishing, putt putt, tennis courts, a large pool, etc. The store is well stocked and well maintained. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
The site was level, but not overly roomy for our motorhome. The office was staffed by disinterested, but ok enough, teenagers. We had a pull through near the bathhouse which was clean and supplied the soap which I have come to find out not all bathrooms do. What surprised me was that they choose between 8 and 9 a.m. to close the bathrooms for cleaning, just the time when we wake up and want to use them each day. Very, very inconvenient for many people I would think. Large open areas in which to walk dogs was a plus. The campground is dog friendly and we have multiple dogs. The camp store was well stocked and prices were fair. There are 2 small lakes that are full of geese and it makes walking there difficult because of all the geese droppings left behind. Cable tv is available if you leave a deposit for the cable, but then the tv worked great. Internet is only available for use if you bring your laptop to the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
This park will provide directions to the Flight 93 Memorial Crash Site. After you check in at the main building, the driving area to get to your sites is kind of "reversed." You drive on the left side of the road, going to your site, and going out. Adequate spacing (not large, but adequate) between sites. Although each section has it's own bath house and shower, there is only one laundry area, in the main building. Regardless of where you are in the park, it's a hike to get to the laundry. The pool is nice, deep end is 9 feet. There are some good walking trails. Interesting garbage arrangement. You put your sack of garbage out near your post and it's picked up twice daily. The park has garbage bags if you don't have any. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
From this park it’s less than a half hour drive to the United Flight 93 National Memorial crash site. The sites are all gravel, level and spacious. There are too many activities at this park to list them all here but they include putt-putt golf and fishing. There are no discounts for any club memberships but no extra charge for pets. The only thing this park might improve would be reducing the size of their large car pass (5”x7”) that hangs on the mirror, which also doubles as a comment card on the back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This was our first trip here. We were put on the side of a hill that was difficult to get into. They put us into a site that was occupied by someone else. We were moved to a new site but it was not made for our 30' travel trailer. We had a difficult time backing in as we had to pull up a steep hill and bottomed out trying to cut in. We had no water pressure (nor did anyone else around us) and two campers on each side of us lost power. The staff was quick to respond but disappointing none the less. The pool was not heated because a part was on order. The fishing was terrible after paying extra to be allowed to fish in stocked ponds. I don't feel they were stocked as no one saw it get stocked. You pay for everything extra here. Considering the price of the site I think this was a little extreme. When we left we had a very difficult time getting out because of a hill, sharp turns and trees right on the edge of the turns. We were lucky to have some nice campers across from us and they pulled out with their pop-up so we could drive through their lot to get out. This site was not made for our size trailer. We gave them all of that information when we booked. I liked the activities for the kids but it was expensive. The bathrooms were crowded and dirty and I was disappointed. There are a lot of seasonal sites and they do keep you separated, which is nice. Had some wonderful neighbors on this trip but did not like the sites at all. The staff just didn't seem like they were prepared for the holiday weekend. If I do stay again it will be on the lower end as the top side is on a steep hill. You will be away from the pool and playground but by the lakes, golf, and paddle boats. The lower end has small trees so not much shade but it is level and easier to get in and out. But be prepared as the storage lot is there also and they do have a large amount of trailers stored. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
This CG was decent for a few days. We went following a storm, and for several days a field adjacent to ours was underwater. There were geese swimming in the field. This said field was also a storage area for campers not in use. The pool is NOT heated, regardless of what they advertise. The fishing permit prices for campers are a little ridiculous, esp when we never even had 1 bite. They charge for things like tennis court, and I thought that was highway robbery considering the price per night to begin with. They do keep the seasonal and transients separate, and you prob will not see any restrooms nicer or cleaner than these. They also do not have any children s activities planned for weekdays. The W-Fi only works @ store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
This was a nice place, however, we were placed fairly far from the attractions, such as pool, rec hall and etc. We didn't have much shade, thus making our camper pretty hot. The pool was not heated, my child's lips turned blue. So we didn't stay there long. The fishing ponds were not enjoyable either, they charge $12 per adult, for 2 days of fishing. We didn't even get a bite. I didn't see one person catching a fish the whole time we were here. I mean if you are going to charge that much to fish, at least have some fish in the ponds. The fire pits were fairly far from our camper door, which was strange. I noticed several of our neighbors saying the same thing. The fire wood is kind of a rip off, a few small pieces for $2.50. The store was ok. The game room was ok. Laundromat was fairly expensive at $1.50 for a small washing machine load. They charge to use the basketball court and tennis court. Roadways were too narrow, only one way across to where we were. There was country band on Saturday night, which was nice. Lots of geese running around, defecating all over the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
We've been here several times, with and without the grandkids and everytime was great. The kids loved paddle boating on the lake and I enjoyed fishing even though it was a little extra. We found the sites on the loop in the back to be the larger sites and during the week its more secluded. The campground is only about 30 mins from the Flight 93 crash site. Looking forward to camping here again in the near future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
We visited this park with another family who had a child. Although we intended to tour around the area, there was so much for this child to do at this park that we ended up mainly staying around. It was a very impressive park with both sunny and shaded sites. Very clean with fishing in stocked lakes, swimming, a great playground, putt-putt, and even line dancing on one evening. It's a beautiful area with wonderful views of forested mountains and even a winery close by. The only reason I didn't rate it a 10 was because our particular site was on a hillside and it took awhile to get leveled. That said, I would highly recommend this campground. It's a 'keeper.' We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
This is a very nice campground and well taken care of. It was convenient to us as we were traveling along the Penn. turnpike. We only stayed one night but enjoyed our stay very much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
A very nice, well run, clean campground. We were there during Thunder in the Valley so there were a lot of motorcycles but it still was a pleasant weekend. Very clean restrooms, heated pool, well stocked store and many activities. Lakefront site #25 was really nice. The campground is within a half hour of both Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and the Flight 93 temporary memorial and crash site. Both are a must see if you are in southwestern PA. We will return next time we are out that way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
Staff was pleasant and the CG was well run. Sites were clean and, although it was busy for the weekend, spread out enough so you didn't feel "packed in". The pool and playground areas were well kept and activities were planned so as to keep the children busy in the evening. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$24
I would have given a higer rating if they would have had tent sites that were shaded. The shaded sites were mostly reserved for seasonal campers and those with full hookups. We were in the middle of a field with no tree cover with temperatures in the mid-80's. I also gave this campground a lower rating because they charge to use their basketball court. I was stunned. They also charge to use their tennis courts as well. They have a nice pool and luckily the use of that is included with your camp fee. And, one other problem was the free-roaming children, who did not hesitate to cut through our site constantly. I brought this to the attention of management and they said they'd handle it, but never did. I don't believe I will be camping here again, especially since five miles down the road there is a beautiful, quiet, shaded state park called Laurel Hill. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$27
We camped here in a 26' travel trailer in May 2005 as a stopping point on our way to and from Maryland. We had our 6-year old son and two dogs with us. The restrooms were very clean and the campground was very well kept. We stayed on a site right across from the lake. The site was large and the view of the lake was nice. Although the main road to the campground ran between our site and the lake, this did not pose a problem for us as the campground was not overly busy at the time we were there. There is a nice playground area and what looked like a very nice pool. They also have mini-golf and basketball available. The office staff were friendly and helpful. This is a great place to stay and enjoy the Laurel Highlands. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$30
This is a beautiful and well thought out campground. It is user friendly for big rigs with many pull through sites available. It also has many tent and primitive campsites available. The surrounding Laurel Highlands are beautiful and their 4 lakes are very pleasant. There is a very well thought out and useful activities center there with a lot of very inexpensive family activities. Fishing is great there, the pool is very nice and heated to boot. Camp store is more than adequate and everything is very clean and well maintained. We stayed three nights and I would love to go back for a longer stay again later this year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$26
This is an all-around great family campground. There are 3 lakes, ample fishing, nice pool, planned activities for kids, Saturday night entertainment (band or bingo), paddleboats, bastetball, playground, mini-golf, church services, tennis, and a great loop for kids' bikeriding. It is very beautiful and well kept. Showers and bathrooms are very clean. Lots of nearby attactions. Great customer service. I can't say enough great things about this campground. Dogs are welcome. Gets very busy, especially on holiday weekends. If you don't want all the kids around, don't get the sites nearest to the office or around the main lake across from the office. If you have kids, they will love it here. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com