223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Colonial Woods Family Camping Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (610) 847-5808
CGID2492

Colonial Woods Family Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
240
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   8   7   7   7   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$49
This campground is probably wonderful for families. There are lots of activities, a lake and a pool, hayrides, etc. But not so much for old fogies like us, in a big rig. The roads to the campground are 10 miles of narrow, winding country lanes. The driveway into the campground is not quite one lane wide, with obstacles or drop-offs on both sides. There are few places for a small car to pull off to let an RV pass. The site we had (Lake-8) was so steeply sloped that we could not level the coach. It did not have 50-amp service or a sewer at the site. We had no trouble with the Wi-Fi. We found the camping cost to be very expensive – the second most we’ve ever paid anywhere in 15 years of RVing! We would not stay here again. It was my mistake to choose this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
This is a very different RV park from the ones we've been staying at for this past year on the road. We are used to well manicured, well furnished parks for older folks who are traveling. On the other hand, this very rustic park is family and kid friendly. Over the weekend, the place was crawling with happy children, running around unsupervised and seemingly safe. So, it depends upon what you are looking for. The place is tucked away in the hills and a bit of a challenge to find. Roads are paved and smooth, sites are gravel and fairly level. WiFi worked fairly well, though a bit slow at times. Our biggest gripe as full timers was the lack of sewer hookups. Our large tanks served us for five days before we had to leave. For families with small children, it is perfect. For Geritol Gypsies, it is less so. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Colonial Woods is a real gem. The roads are very wide at the campground, the sites are spacious, the group sites are excellent for get togethers. They have really good activities and a very child friendly atmosphere. Pets are welcome and were never uncomfortable. The store is well stocked and nicely staffed. There are a lot of permanent sites in nice locations, mostly well kept (by renter it appeared), and the overnite sites are nicely separated. The sites are mostly very level, with only one rig that I saw with more than two layers on blocks to get it straight. They have a great pool, nice athletic areas and well kept grounds. The mini golf is a little old fashioned but the lake and ponds are fun for any family looking to do a little fishing. The Delaware is nearby for more serious anglers. One issue - the main public restroom. I found that the stalls were WAY too small and I am only 5'10" and not overweight. Since we have a trailer it did not affect us much, but the one time I needed to use it I was pretty uncomfortable. It was clean, but it had an old fashioned door latch at the top of the door. They a have better restroom at the store but that is not very convenient to the camp sites. Considering they were upgrading the utility poles and had every site booked this last weekend, they could have aimed some funds at improving that facility. Hopefully it's high on their list of to-dos. Still, the rest of the park made up for that issue and I will return to this gem again. Colonial is a nice place to visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$49
Colonial Woods is great in most respects. The setting is heavily wooded, quiet, and secluded. The staff is helpful, friendly and eager to please. The store is well stocked with reasonable prices. I have many kudos and compliments, but I also have gripes. 1. For a CG this large to have so few restrooms is surprising. And, when you add the fact that there are no sewer hookups it's close to unreasonable. (they do have "honey wagon" service). There are only three bathhouses with a total of only four showers for men and I assume the same number for women. 2. The pool is located across the lake in the half of the grounds that is reserved for seasonals and perms. 3. The lack of useable Wi-Fi. Sporadic Tengo Internet is a disappointing waste of time and money. The wife says we'll go back. I'm not so sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$49
This was a rustically nice campground. When I reserved my site, I was under the impression that I was getting full hookups, and 50 amp service. They only have 30amp service, and no sewer. So the start of my camping trip was off to a rough start. Probably my fault for not double checking. Keeping things in perspective, all the employees were very nice and helpful. I didn’t like my original site, so they changed it without hassle. They informed me that it was OK to let my Grey Water run into the woods, so the lack of sewer was no longer a major problem, and we just ran one Air Conditioner to keep the breaker from popping. The campground was clean, and they have several small streams running throughout. Roads in the campground are either gravel or paved. The store was well stocked (they even had the cap needed to run my grey out to the woods). The site was not level. My levelers had my rear wheels off the ground. We were disappointed to find that there were no chairs at the pool. You need to bring your own. My family and I had a great time. We would consider coming here again, just not in a heat wave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Nice shaded family campground. Site was graveled, but not level. Had to block the front of the trailer to get it level, but not overly so. Electric and water worked fine, but the power and water went out for the entire campground on the last night we were there. Lots of activities for the kids. A very nice pool and lodge, well stocked camp store and very friendly staff. Would visit again. The rate reflects a holiday rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Very nice park and we had a great site (FS3) that was nicely treed with privacy between the sites. The ground is crushed stone and very level. Lots of things in the park - pool, tennis, fishing pond, nice store, mini-golf. The staff is very friendly and helpful - we had a pretty big mechanical issue with our camper and they were very helpful in assisting me. About 1 hour north of Philly with several things to do nearby. Nice campground, nice sites! We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
We have camped at Colonial Woods 3 times in the last three years and it is a wonderful camping area. The first year we camped there we were put in an open site near the pool that we weren't sure we'd like. It ended up being a great place because the pond was just across the road and we could let our kids go to the pool on their own and be comfortable that we could watch them. The bathrooms were clean and the campground had activities such as a movie, ice cream sundae party and archery for families. There is a nice playground and camp store. Our children specifically asked to go back to this campground as we traveled through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Very nice campground. Seasonal sites are separate from the 'transient' sites, but the 'seasonals' have to drive their golf carts through the 'transient' sites to get to the campground store. Pretty much all of the sites are shaded by trees, and most of the sites are spacious enough for tents/PUPs/and most travel trailers - there's not many sites that would be comfortable for a big-rig motorhome. Bathrooms are relatively clean, but the only showers are in the bathrooms adjacent to the campground store/office. The store is well-stocked with RV and campsite supplies, as well as kid's toys and some clothing. The campground's ponds are great for fly or light-tackle fishing, and the swimming and splash pool areas are nice (but very little shaded) - the pool area is actually located in the seasonal section, so it gets well-used by those folks. While we were only there for three nights, they seem to offer many activities for kids and adults alike, including movie night for kids, bingo for older kids and adults, and they have a mini-golf course and shuffleboard courts on-site. There are quite a few attractions in the nearby area (we went to Crayola Factory, which is about 25 minutes north of the campground), but if you are looking for a nice, peaceful place in the woods to relax for a while, Colonial Woods is an excellent option. One of my 'wishes' though is for them to install showers at the bathhouses. Other than that, we were very pleased. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
We booked a week here after enjoying a stay for Mother's Day Weekend. We reserved site R6 (best in the whole place). It definitely fills up on the weekends. Not all sites are as private and quiet as ours. I can see some sites being noisy and on top of each other which is nice when camping with friends but not with "strangers". All staff and seasonals very friendly and their children included mine in the daily activities. We will book a week again next summer, maybe even two! Honey wagon (pump out) service was $5. Can't say enough about this great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
We had high hopes considering the reviews for this place. But, we won't be back. It wasn't terrible, just not enough to get us back. Our site was VERY UNLEVEL and close together. The pool was nice, but far away from the transient sites (over near the seasonals). If you have small children, it's a bit of a hike, especially at the end of the day when they are tired. There is only 1 dump station on the transient side of the campground. Needless to say: on Memorial Day weekend it was backed up! We drove over to the seasonal side, and were told we couldn't dump there even though no one was there. We ended up driving home with a full tank. It's unlikely we'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
Just returned from our second stay at Colonial Woods. We LOVE it here! We were in a spacious, creek side site (R6). Everyone very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
We camped here on our maiden voyage. The pull-through site was an interesting variation of the standard pull-through. Think of a horseshoe driveway. It worked out very well, the site giving us allot of privacy on the awning side, though that cut down on the people watching. Friendly staff and clean bathrooms (though the stalls were a bit tight to the knees). Good fishing pond for kids (catch and release). Nice pool and tons of kids on bikes/scooters/rollerblades. The roads are a little narrow, but the areas where you need to make a turn (maneuvering into the dump station for instance) were well laid out. Some seasonals were a bit snippy about unmarked 'private drives. ' We were walking on the road, not on their site, but that was really the only negative. We were looking for a nice place to go for a short weekend without leaving the campground, this fit the bill. I would definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Just got home from a wonderful trip here. We traveled with another family and we were able to camp next to each other. Had a great location close to playground, mini golf (fee) and camp store. Was a bit of a walk to the pool. I put my gear in the car and drove to the pool. It must be heated because it was so warm. Had a huge camp site with a fire ring. We could hear the bullfrogs croaking at night. I would give it a 10 but the very clean bathrooms were outdated. I didn't use the showers but my kids complained about having to hold the button to get any water. Loved it so much, I left my camper here to return next weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Just returned from our first stay at Colonial Woods. We can't wait to return! It was a great weekend. We were on Washington Ave (W12). Site was level but all big rock. Our site was spacious: most are. The pool was great for all ages: the 1 ft. splash pool and the 3-6 ft. regular pool were a big hit for our kids (3-5-8). We are booking again for August. Great campground for kid biking (nice paved roads in transient side of campground), good fishing pond, playground, and mini golf. Everyone was pleasant and quiet. Many dogs and all were well behaved. This is just the place to take them. It is very shaded and not much grass can be found. Not too many people left their campsite with their dog. Our dog needed some grass. So glad we found this gem close to our home! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
My biggest gripe is that the staff here is incredibly rude. Rudeness is something that can completely ruin your stay, and it is what made me rate this campground so low. The site we stayed in wasn't level and was very awkward to get into. The pools were not opened when we visited, but they looked very nice. They had some fishing lakes which looked very dirty (as in littered, with trash). The playground was very modern and updated. The bathrooms are spread very far apart. Also, be prepared for a very treacherous drive on your way here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
We stayed here for Heroes Weekend and had a great time fishing in the lake and attending the activities that weekend. The only problem we ran into that weekend was that the site we were assigned was extremely difficult to get into with our trailer because of the trees in the site. It took some help from friends, but we were finally able to get into the site. The positive thing though was that the sites were "stone" so we didn't have a problem with mud after the rain that first evening. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$40
My family has been seasonally camping here since I was about a year old: I'm 21 now. Throughout those years we've made some life long friends. The original owner handed the campground to his son a few years ago, and he has improved it immensely. The park, the kiddie pool, the shop, the cabins have all been completed within the last couple years. FYI: there is no PA system and never has been. They are very strict about curfews and quiet hours here. The bathrooms may need some improving as far as size and hand soap but are very nice for a campground bathroom! Overall this campground is a very nice place to go for all ages. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$44
This campground was beautiful! It was very well maintained with plenty of activities for the kids. It had a large, clean store; a very nice playground; clean bathrooms and large, shaded sites. We will definitely go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
Website gives the impression of a high quality, warm and welcoming family campground resort, however, this impression only lasted until we arrived and were stuck here until we decided to cut our losses and end our vacation early without a refund. When we called I said I'd make the reservation for 5 days to start and asked if I would be able to extend for the weekend and they insisted that I reserve the entire week with the opportunity to reduce our stay back to 5 days. We fell for that and got ripped off as they conveniently forgot about that possibility! They also cast us off into the crappiest part of the campground: completely isolated and right off the main road, far from everything. The staff was not friendly, the bathrooms were downright disgusting and the water shut off for the showers every 10 seconds. It took forever to heat up to even luke warm. The long-term campers would not associate or even return a simple hello to anyone they did not recognize. This park is not close to Sesame Place or anything else and it is almost impossible to get any cell phone service at all. Their website claims there is a baby pool but there is no such thing. The activities are not exciting either. While most campstores are overpriced, this one monopolizes on the fact that there is not a decent grocery store for miles, several towns over. We had high expectations and chose this campground over our normal choice for a fun, family vacation and we were extremely disappointed. Their website is misleading. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This park seems more for the seasonal camper, but the main entrance and surrounding area is for us temporaries, so we didn’t see much of the permanent folks. Biggest gripe was that the bathrooms are very outdated and small, but always very clean. The heated pool (which had a very entertaining new addition) is really far from everything, so expect a commitment if you take the kids for a swim. Take a cooler, and your own chairs. Overall though, the kids thought it was the best campground ever. They have daily crafts and evening movies. Big gameroom, nice playground, and the fishing lakes were great fun! Skip buying live bait. Hot dogs worked better. The sites were big, gravel and level: helped to drain quickly. It was quiet with a couple of exceptions. There’s so much in the area to do, if you are up for a daily drive: Dorney Park, Crayola Factory, Valley Forge and Philadelphia were just some of the possible excursions. This made for happy memories for the whole family. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
We arrived on a Wednesday. Check in was easy, and they gave us directions to the site. The site we were in, FS2, seemed to be made over a swampy area. Lots of stone so we sat up high. Site had a picnic table and fire ring and PLENTY of room to move about. Lots of shade trees. The campground was quiet except for the group next to us who were having a lot of fun. They were quiet by 10 PM ( quiet hours ). My kids LOVED the pool. Pool water was slightly cloudy but very warm. Really neat splash pool for the little ones. The big ones enjoyed it too. If you plan to sit by the pool bring a chair and umbrella, as none are provided. I didn't have a chance to use the hot tub located within the pool area. FYI: no life guard on duty. Nice playground. Mini golf for a fee. Large pavilion and rec center with a TV and ping pong (for a fee ). A few games in the game room. Very nice staff. The camp store had tons of stuff to buy souvenier-wise, had camp supplies but not a lot of food, so make sure you bring enough of your own. Lots of seasonal campers that speed through the campground on their golf carts. I would come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
A nice campground with a friendly staff. Our site was a decent size with blue stone covering. One of the best set of seasonal campers we've meet-they were not snotty or sloppy like other seasonal campgrounds. Our only complaint-and this really doesn't have to do with the campground-is that we lacked any cell phone reception. The cell tower was too far away for our Verizon phone. Campers should be warned about this in case they are expecting an important call during their visit. Otherwise-great place to stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
We camped here for 3 nights and this was our first time at this campground. Sites are spacious and mostly wooded. The campground was very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were old and small but clean and adequate. I would have rated this one higher but the I felt the bathrooms and showers were in need of a face lift. The price was fair for the facilities and unlike some other campgrounds in the area this one has not raised prices and cut site spaces in half. Colonial Woods is now a family favorite and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$44
This CG is in my backyard . My family really enjoys it. We usually will keep our trailer up there for multiple consecutive weekends in the spring. It is really a family campground. The owners really take pride in the place. There are many organized activities for the kids. They also have done many upgrades in the past few years. I really respect there no tolerance on rude and unruly campers. But they are definitely not over the top. The only downfall for me is no sewer sites. I have definitely gotten spoiled over the years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$47
Our first camping trip ever, and what a pleasure. The sites were a bit small.. but the lake was awesome for fishing with kids, the pool was nice with a water play area. the store was nice, and so were the people. Rafting and tubing were close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$39
Just returned back to our trailer from an awesome Halloween night--Colonial Woods Campground has three weekends of Halloween. My little ones had tricker treating and the regulars--both week enders like us and the seasonals decorate their sites and give out candy. My kids loved it and I think next year we will do this instead of neighborhood trick or treating. After reading about the bathrooms and rowdy neighbors, I was a little nervous, but my sister had reserved this weekend and couldn't make it so we took their spot--I understand Halloween weekend spots are sold out quickly and I can understand why. Anyway, the bathroom stalls are not huge, but they are no different than any other public bathroom, BUT they were amazingly clean. Because we had such an awesome time today, I had to get my internet connection up and post immediately. Going to come back in the spring and do some fishing and again in summer to check out the pool. Also planning on Halloween again next year! I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
We really enjoyed our weekend at Colonial Woods. We were with a group of 3 other families. Two of them were in tents, and the other in a Hybrid travel trailer. We lucked out with sites C15-19. I say lucked out because we were in our own cul-de-sac. If we were camping solo (just our family) we probably wouldn't have liked it that much. There is not much privacy (unless you are in a group like we were). We couldn't imagine camping there and having your camping neighbors so close by. We understand that camping is also a kind of social thing, but we also like our space as well. Anyway, we had a great set up, and we cannot complain about our sites, because they were perfect for us. The bathrooms, was kind of scared after reading some posts, but were adequate. Cleanliness was not a problem at all. Our minor quips were that they didn't have liquid soap at the sinks, nor did they have paper towels, the bathroom at the camp store had paper towels, but no soap. They are minor quips, we are not complaining. The showers were free, so that was nice. The store was bigger than most camp stores we have been to. The prices were average. In the game room, only half the arcade machines worked. The mini golf looked in good condition, and the playground in front of the store was absolutely a blast with all the kids! It was huge, and had a ton of stuff for them to play with. The pools were awesome. They were clean, the kiddie pool was fun for the kids, and the spa felt nice. The carnival weekend was going on while we were here, and it was pretty crowded. So if you are going with a few people, I recommend our sites. Otherwise, you will be in the middle of an RV/Tent crowd. Otherwise, we had a nice, relaxing, perfect camping trip! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
This CG is ok, they had just added a brand new kiddie pool . It is pretty neat. Although they have a pool attendant and the regular pool rules are VERY STRICT. You basically can just get wet in the pool. The bathrooms are really not that clean, and for a C.G that does not have full hook up you would think the bathrooms would be in better shape. Not really sure if we will be returning to this CG. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
We camped there over a 2 day weekend with friends of ours who had a small pop-up and had a great time. We showed up at the last minute and were able to get 2 sites right next to each other. The sites were large and easy to get into, and well marked. The main roads were paved, there was what appeared to be a nice new playground area, a great place for the children. They had some great activities for the kids. There was a large fishing pond with easy access. The pools were opening on the following weekend and were just replastered last week and were being filled while we were there. They look great. The store was nice and typical of most campgrounds at which we have stayed. We will be staying there again when we can. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
We went Mother’s Day weekend. We were a group of 4 families. We had sites W16 – A, B & C (nice stoned cul-de-sac) and W15 (a little uneven). Nice big store/office, a lot of camping necessities and also nice gift shop. Kids had fun doing the crafts and fishing in the pond. Bingo was a lot of fun. Mother’s Day breakfast was very good. Staff was both nice and helpful. Would definitely go back. Going to try one of the Halloween weekends. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$38
I have camped here six or seven times since 2004. My kids love the place, the lake and pond are great for fishing, the store, miniature golf, and game room are nice. The pool and new play pool for kids are a hit. I have never seen or heard a pa system, I wonder if the other reviewer was thinking of another campground. The themed weekends are fun and activity filled and the Halloween weekends are fun. I do have some negatives to note such as the small bathroom stalls and paper dispensers that are impossible to turn. Most of the sites do not give you any privacy. But all things considered, I will come back here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
We will never camp here again. The stalls in the ladies room are so small that when you sit (even an average size woman of 5'6" your knees hit the door. They have locks on the toilet paper which allows you to pull off only one 4"x4" square at a time. There is no soap or paper towels in the ladies restroom. A man even walked into the bath house while I was showering! We complained to the owners about the issues and THEY DIDN'T CARE! They said that they would not do anything about any of the issues we raised. Do not camp here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
This will be our third year of camping at Colonial Woods. My favorite site is W9 but there are lots of great others. The first thing to attract me to this campground was the clean bathrooms--nicest I have been in--the next was the friendly owners and staff. I have a teenage boy and he enjoys going to this campground. We are local, so I have to admit that we don't head out to the local attractions (Sesame Place, New Hope, etc.) but instead enjoy the relaxation and activities at the campground itself. Store prices are awesome--in fact, we get ALL of our propane tanks filled there because of the great prices. The owner's seem to strive for a nice family campground without a zillion restrictions which is really nice. We attended the Halloween festivities last year and they were great. This spring we attended "Easter" dinner. I have never seen/heard an outdoor PA system at this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
Our site was small and on a pile of stones (not small gravel). We felt squeezed in between two other campers. The campground had a pa system to announce events and activities. The first one we heard was for the 10 pm hayride Friday night. Our children are younger and were already in bed. We don't need to hear this late at night. They also announce quiet time every night. There were some fun activities for the kids on Saturday and Sunday. There were some young teens who appeared to be running around the campground unsupervised late at night. A large portion of sites appeared to be seasonal sites as well. Would only return if nowhere else to go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This is a nice well kept campground. There is a nice new playground, nice fishing pond and a friendly staff. Some sites don't have sewer, but they come around and empty your tanks for 5 bucks. Worth a look if you are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
This is the kids favorite place to stay. The fishing is good (and free). The pool is large and heated. There are many activities for the kids. They have wooded or open sites, motorhomes, trailers and tenters. Some places have a really good atmosphere, and this is one of them. We had a birthday party here one year. I would recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$37
Obviously that Aug. 05 review was written by the campground owner: no mention of their experiences there yet touting that it's convenient to Land of Make Believe (at least 90 minutes away!). Anyway, I DID camp here just this past weekend and we liked the campground. Not the absolute best, but still above average. I had no problem with the size of the pool as another reviewer did. They were probably 90% full or more and the temps were in the 90's but my family didn't feel the pool was overcrowded. The pool was cloudy and had way too much chlorine. Unfortunately the owners don't enforce the dog-on-the-leash rule and my kids were scared to death as we were approached by two large dogs roaming the path to the pool. The dogs were owned by a seasonal camper so I'll bet the campground owners are aware of them. I also had VERY loud neighbors past midnight, but no security, no owners in sight checking on what goes on at night. On the positive side, the sites are larger than average and most were shaded. The whole forest ground was covered with gravel but at least we weren't right on top of our neighbors. The store is very well stocked, prices are reasonable. The little pond did have quite a few fish (small sunnies) and they were easy to catch, even for my 5 and 7 year old daughters. Like someone else mentioned, the pool is quite a hike from most of the campsites (except for the seasonals). The bathrooms were clean but had no paper towels or soap. There were only, I think, a total of 4 men's showers and 4 womens showers in the whole campground. And they weren't in the bathrooms, they were near the pool and near the store -- far from most campsites. The water was hot in the showers, but only one temperature: HOT! Too hot for my son. And hotter than I'd want as well. No sewer hookups and the honey wagon doesn't run on weekends; not very convenient. The kids activities were pretty good on Saturday -- hay ride, Christmas crafts, Santa, movie. Mini golf is 1.50 for kids; shuffle board, free with $5 deposit, we couldn't find the tennis courts! As you can see, we had some minor problems with it, but still rated it fairly high. It is better than average. Oh, and you must check out Ringing Rocks County Park about 2.5 miles away. Bring your hammers, you hit the boulders and they ring like bells. Only 2 places on Earth where rocks like this have been found! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Ok this is a fairly nice place but the mosquitos at night are horrible got way too many bites on me and my kids and us even sprayed each other. The pool was way too far to walk to and it was very small for all the people in it that hot hot day. The site was a little small besides all that this place is OK. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
This is a great campground. I can not say enough nice things about this campground. The staff and owners were so nice. The bathrooms were clean. The campground is well maintained. The location is great for visiting Dorney Park, Sesame Place or Land of Make Believe. It is family oriented and we had a wonderful time there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$33
We stayed here July of 2004. Our site was shaded, spacious, and clean with gravel. Friendly staff, although we had a small incident where a few campers pulled in late at night. Management commented "It happens". They never said they were sorry. Campground was beautiful and roads were paved and some gravel. Fishing was decent. We caught small bass and sunnies. Bathrooms are clean and modern but it seems there are not enough showers for such a large place. Mangement enforces pool rules and supply a few loungers. Clean pool and hot jucuzzi. Ringing Rock Park just around the corner and is a must see...just for the workout and laughs. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$33
We have stayed at this campground several times. We've had enjoyable stays every time. The only problem we had was a very rainy weekend flooded the area of the campground we were in. Our site didn't have much stone so it became very muddy. The other sites we've stayed in have had plenty of stone and were not muddy when it rained. The sites are large and shaded. Plenty of fun activities for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$40
This CG has a lot of trees around the sites with a fair amount of underbrush between them. The pool was definitely heated (on the rainy Memorial Day weekend we were there we saw steam coming off the water!) The office and store were nice with adequate parking. The playground was a little dated but seemed to be in good shape. They have an indoor rec hall with big screen TV and alot of room for Bingo. There was a nice dance at the outdoor pavillion. There are several small lakes that were picturesque and inviting to fishers. The bathrooms were clean (a real challenge on a rainy weekend) However, there are very few showers and they were small. It is very much a family friendly place. We had a nice time and would like to go back sometime when the sun is there also. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$32
Park is very nice. people were very friendly as were the owners. owners were onsite when we were there. pleanty of things for kids to do. nice pool. whirlpool right next to pool for adults only! nice level sites a little close but not bad. rec hall was large and clean. miniture golf course very nice better condition than most we see. we are going again in June 2003 and keeping camper there for 4 weekends they store it during the mth for 25.00 mth. very cheap. cheaper than we pay at home for storage. They will even set it up and take it down for 25.00 a task. many things set up to do for kids and adults on weekends. I LOVE THIS CAMPGROUND! Last time we camped in a popup this year we upgrade to a tt. They also have tt to rent a little price but worth it if you have no camper. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com