223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Mt. Pleasant / Charleston KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 115 user reviews. Phone: (843) 849-5177
CGID2509

Mt. Pleasant / Charleston KOA

Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$59



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   6   7   7   7   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$59
Generally speaking, KOA parks tend to be a bit pricey and this is no exception. Sites vary greatly here. We were looking out at the lake on a level site. Very pretty and spacious. Some sites in another area were not as attractive. Did not offer breakfast or pizza like many KOA parks. Personnel friendly and helpful. Shuttle to Charleston Thursday-Sunday, which would be nice; we were not there on those days. Plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby if you did not want to go into Charleston. Easy to get in and out of park and sites where we were. Would return for the lake view site and nice walking trail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$65
Park was well laid out. Not "pretty" but very functional and well kept amenities. Great walking/biking path through beautiful woodlands. Not the best value but overall good stop. Would be a $40 site if not for the KOA flag. Wrong side of Mt. Pleasant but still within 30 min. of Charleston. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$59
This is a yearly stop for us on our way north. Every year the park adds new features. This year was the huge dog run area. It is always clean, convenient to shopping and attractions, well kept, friendly. We will definitely return again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$59
We stayed here for three days in March and really enjoyed our stay. The RV park is pretty standard, full hookups, cable, and *gasp* Wi-Fi that works! Our space was on the 'B' row and it was pretty quiet. The laundry room was small, but adequate and clean. The playground was decent. The dog run was amazing, simply one of the best. I have two complaints. The first is they don't offer a weekly rate (normally one day free), the second is the daily rate is just expensive. We would have stayed for a whole week, but at $59 a day it just was not worth it to extend our stay. Would I recommend this park? Absolutely. Would we come back? Yes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40?
We stayed here for several nights while touring the Charleston area. The park was easy to find and access from Hwy 17. The surrounds of the park are nice with a lake, large grassy area, and a forest. The park is far enough off the highway and on its own road that there is no traffic noise. As a base for visiting Charleston it was great. It took about a half hour to drive to the historic district and was pretty much a straight shot down 17. The park is also located very near a couple of plantations that can be reached with a short drive. Also, there is a are a couple of supermarkets within a mile of the park. The common spaces are nicely maintained and there is a big dog park away from the campers, but on the lake. The down side of this park are the spaces. They are fairly close together and unless you are next to the lake your only view will be of the coaches 10 feet on either side of you. Our space had cigarette butts and other bits of trash scattered about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$53
Stayed here for 7 days in July on vacation with family. Site was fairly level but recent rains had made it a little muddy since all sites are gravel/dirt/grass. Had a good shade tree, but due to the closeness of the motorhome next to us, fire ring was useless unless we moved the ring (which they said we could). Recent rains had roads and sites a bit muddy. Good location for trips into Charleston and nearby sights. Shopping area nearby is nice. Important note though: if you need WiFi while staying there, get on a site close to office/store, we were on the edge and signal was poor or non-exsistant. Would recommend for family or non-family campers and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Nice campground. Dirt road, but solid good place for kids with pool and play grounds. Easy to maneuver in the park with a dingy. This our second time here and will be back. The lake has alligators, watch out for your dog. After my wife saw the thing she would not walk the dog back there. Good location for Charleston. If you are coming from the south on 17 do not go through town, go around on the freeway on the South side of town. The lanes are tight in town with a 40 ft MH and a dingy. Also, I clipped most of the trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Got 3 nights for price of 2 hence lower than normal cost. Second time we stayed here this year and it is a nice clean campground with good WiFi and cable. We used Verizon for phone service and it was fine. We would stay here again, if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$37
Very clean park, sites level, nice staff. Only negative AT&T signal about non existent, Wi-Fi signal very bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
This is one of the best KOA's we've visited. There are only a few lake front sites though. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the free 20 minute wagon ride through a neighboring plantation on weekends is a nice touch. The our site was level, and the hookups well placed for our rig. The WiFi and cable both worked quite well. We will be sure to return here when we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$36
Clean well maintained campground with friendly staff. Pull through by the lake was level. All services worked well with voltage in a good steady range during a busy weekend. Nice walking trail from the campground. Enjoyed our stay and will be back when next in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$34
We camped here to sightsee around Charleston, but had no idea the traffic to Charleston from this campsite would be so congested! The front desk were very helpful and let us switch sites twice because the first site was too small and the second site was a back- in (we wanted a pull-through). The campground was very quiet, there's a small lake and a nice nature trail. The sites were nicely spaced from each other. Take some time to visit Patriots Point Naval Museum in Mt. Pleasant and eat at Magnolia's in Charleston for some gourmet southern food! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
Park was nice and clean, but the roads were very dusty. Seemed to have alot of traffic thru park at all times of the night. Walmart and many stores were close. A little drive but pretty easy to get into Charleston. Good roads and highway to get to and from KOA. We'd stay here again. We stayed in a 5th wheel RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$60
My family and I enjoyed our stay at this campground. The campground was nice and well kept and we had a site right on the lake which was nice. The only complaint I can think of was that it takes awhile to get to downtown Charleston from there, especially with all of the stop lights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$55
VERY nice park, but VERY expensive. Lots to do, though, so, overall, it was a great place. Clean, quiet, VERY pretty lake, and the kids had a blast. Only complaints are the price and that the interior lots were a little cramped for a big rig (but we did get in just fine since I’m a great driver - grin). Would definitely stay here again, but it would help to win the lottery first! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$55
This is very nice RV park. The staff was very helpful in every way. We will stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
Loved the easy location to Charleston. There are several decent restaurants close by. Whole Foods and Trader Joes were nearby. The lake setting was very peaceful. Our only complaints were that the showers were small and cramped. The folding table in the laundry room was dusty. Would recommend this park to anyone exploring this area. All utilities worked well. WiiFi was a bit weak where we were between the office and the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
Great campground and would recommend to all. The sites are very level, easy to hookup and well shaded. The place is very clean and staff friendly. We had a campfire and they even pick up your trash! We stayed here for two days. If you plan to visit Old Charleston, the roads are VERY narrow and parking difficult. Take the carriage tour and the harbor cruise to Fort Sumter - you will not be disappointed. Would have earned a 10 but main access road and traffic is a nightmare. Construction every where and campground is not easy to find. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
First stay at a KOA and was very impressed with the quality and amount of amenities. Beautiful lake, convenient to shopping. Good hiking, rec areas, some shade. Nice people. Very clean. Will come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
When driving on the entrance road, we were impressed with the scenery. Spanish moss hanging from trees in a large area next to a lake. Then we made the turn into the trailer park, I mean campground. Seems there's a lot of construction going on around the area. There were many long term/permanent trailers scattered throughout the park. Ones with attached porches, steel sheds, temporary garages, etc. The people in the office were very nice. There's a nice store. Our site was level, good water pressure, and good Wi-Fi. The lower cable channels had lots of static. We didn't use the heated swimming pool, but there is a nice long nature trail, great for walking the dog. It's about 10 miles to downtown Charleston, but the road construction & traffic makes it feel farther. Because of the trailer park feel and the road construction, we'll probably stay at a different campground on our next visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$59
Very friendly staff, naturally beautiful setting, we are lakeside. This is a very nice safe area, seems secluded but you can take back road to Wal-Mart & more & you're there in less than 5 minutes! They have a nice playground (our 9 yr old thinks so!), and heated pool, bike/hike trail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
I always favor State Parks and will do so when possible, however due to the proximity of this KOA to the City of Charleston we elected to stay there. The front counter ladies were very pleasant and helpful with directions, suggestions etc. and even let us pick our site out of the open ones. The grounds were nice neat and clean, the two guys on the golf carts kept busy. We even enjoyed the heated pool in a bubble! (large inflated cover over the pool) The park had nice grounds and a very large lake. It is right off the main road but back enough that you do not hear the traffic etc. and the grounds make it seem that you are not in the city. I did not feel like I was in a parking lot. I was impressed all the way around with the VALUE of the stay. Would stay there again. Also the Wi-Fi was really fast! Good Job all the way around! Who ever is running this park is doing a good job! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
We have been here before, and were not disappointed with our return. Staff was friendly and efficient, sites are reasonably level. The only complaint we have is beyond the control of the campground, it's the ants that invade your rig. That said, we will be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$53
We were greeted by three very friendly members of the staff. This park was clean with gravel roads, nice level spaces. We used the showers and laundry with no issues. Nice hot water and clean. All of the support staff were friendly. One maintenance worker noticed we had ants and came back later with spray. The amenities were abundant. This is a top notch and well run KOA! I would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
Third time I have stayed here. We love this campground for it's location and cleanliness, and most of all the staff are very friendly. The bathroom / showers were clean with plenty of hot water. I even got to catch a few, nice sized bass out of the lake. No complaints with this place except for the little black bitting bugs, for which the campground cannot be blamed!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$45
Only downside is there are no shaded sites at this park. Otherwise a very nice campground!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
Would rate this campground higher if cable TV and Wi-Fi quality were acceptable: they aren't. Great location for visiting Charleston with dirt sites (making for lots of grit in the motorhome), well-located services, pet-friendly facilities and very helpful staff. Our site had reasonable space for our "big rig." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2010
$41
The best thing I can say for this park is that it is in a very good location to enjoy many of the Charleston area sites. The campground could use some improvement in several areas. The Wi-Fi service was terrible; the signal was weak and lost connection frequently. The cable TV service was fuzzy on many channels and I couldn't pick up ESPN at all. The campground would be wise to install some security lights around the park. After dark you couldn't see anything without a flashlight. All of the sites are dirt, none have a concrete patio or pad. This park is more expensive than it is worth. I would not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
Stayed here two months. Staff was sensational. Located close to everything you’d ever need. Convenient to Charleston. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
This is a quiet, peaceful place that is very people and pet friendly. The staff and the look of the campground is what the low country is all about. A laid back slower lifestyle and friendly people. Concrete pads and paved streets would spoil this campground's natural beauty. Cable TV and WI FI is free and has always worked for us. Carrying a flashlight at night to walk the beagles is no problem. The staff keeps up the great work and we will see you again in 2011. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
This park is nice but the area we were in needs a little work as in stones for the sites and roads. It looks like they have not done much work in these sites, but the sites on the other side of the office look fine. The pet walk was OK. The laundry was small only 4 machines $1.50 to wash. There is lots of shopping, with a Walmart nearby. We would come back to this park, but would stay on the other side of the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This is such a beautiful, friendly campground. We always have a lot of fun here and the staff even remembers our name! Great place to take your kids! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$49
This is one of the nicest campgrounds that we have been to. Very surprised for a KOA. The sites were long and roomy and clean. The staff was very friendly and check in was less than 5 minutes. Being the holiday weekend we were expecting it to be crowded and noisy but it was just the opposite. Wal-Mart was less than a mile away. It was a short drive to the Isle of Palm beach and about a 10 mile drive to Charleston. Had no issues with cable TV, Wi-Fi or ants as reported by previous reviewers. Will definitely be back next year as we preferred this much more over Myrtle Beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
Very nice park with a lake, hiking, paddle boats, and trees on most sites. The owners were very helpful in finding a vet and calling to make an appointment for us before we arrived with a sick dog. The store has the basic needs for campers and RVers with groceries, souvenirs and a great assortment of RV accessories. We stayed for a week and enjoyed the time here because we are close to Charleston and Patriot Point. There is about every brand name store just a short distance away including Wal-Mart, Kohls, Lowe's and plenty of grocery stores. Fuel is less expensive than most eastern states. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$49
We liked this park and how close it was to the city. It was very beautiful and clean. Our internet connection was good which is a huge plus. We would love to come back next time we visit Charleston. We also enjoyed the staff and nature walk. Go Gamecocks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$41
Overall good park, but pricey. Restrooms were clean until people showered in them. For this price they should be cleaned twice a day. Employees also smoked in the handicapped restroom, not cool! The nature walk was a good walk and we saw a lake turtle right in the path laying her eggs. The people were very friendly and they let me use their office computer to check my e-mail, very decent! Located right next to a Super Wal-Mart if you need anything. If not for the smoking, I would give it a 10. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
This was a difficult campground to rate. Overall, it's a decent campground with good sized sites randomly grouped. WiFi was decent, cable was excellent, lake was scenic, and the nature trail provided a good 30 minute walk. Now for the concerns. (1) Ants - we arrived during emergent season. Office provided no heads-up; our rig became infested. They came and sprayed but nothing proactive. (2) Litter - I picked up >125 bits of litter on our site, including fire ring. Obviously sites are never thoroughly cleaned. (3) Fees - $45 (after discount) is pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
One of the nicest campgrounds we've been in. We had good TV reception (hi-def) from the local stations and a nice spot on the lake. Close to restaurants/shopping and only a few minutes drive from downtown Charleston. We certainly intend to return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$45
This is just a pretty park. Spaces are very large. Television reception is poor. You might as well bring a DVD player. The Wi-Fi is fast. There is little road noise. It is located about 10 miles from Charleston. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$49
Great location: Short drive to Isle of Palms and Charleston. Plus, you can practically walk to Walmart! Easy access in and out. It's quiet and peaceful, but the lake was a bit smelly. We were glad we didn't pay extra to park near there. The site was long and level. The staff was very helpful. The Wifi was strong and dependable. Nice facilities, but a bit pricey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
Easy access to Kampground, although speed bumps on entry road made for slow driving - knowledgeable staff, easy Registration with reservations, and good set of written directions to points of interest, shopping, etc. Shopping center close by as well as Wal-Mart. Easy to maneuver within the park, site given was large, and level. Showers are separate from restrooms. And 24 hour quietness is a real bonus, staff is available for questions, help, etc. Laundry room has 4 washers & dryers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$53
This is a nice campground relatively convenient to Charleston (at 15 mi.) and the Isle of Palms beach (at 7 mi.). A number of RV sites have a nice setting overlooking or backing onto lakefront. We use this campground to avail ourselves of both the beach & Charleston in addition to visiting with relatives. Wi-Fi was good; however cable quality at our site was very fuzzy. We did not have the opportunity to utilize a number of campground outdoor facilities or restrooms. We had enjoyed our stay here at this campground earlier this year, but were very surprised to find that campsite fees had been increased by 43% this visit for no apparent change in amenities or particular seasonal increase (an attempt to reserve again in 2010 at the same time as our previous stay resulted in the same increased fee). This is a nice campground although not on par with the up-scale so-called "resort" campgrounds. When weighed against nearby Hilton Head Resort campgrounds, this KOA's current fees seem excessive otherwise I would give a higher rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
Very nice staff, showers and restrooms clean and new. Smaller pool (crowded in the hot weather) but it is in very nice condition. Large sites, but to be honest, what keeps my rating a 7 is that many of the larger pull thru sites are a bit rough. WiFi service very good, as well as a good selection of channels on the cable tv. SMALL store with a small selection and THEY DO NOT SELL MILK, although grocery stores including Walmart are within one mile. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$59
We did not perceive the ants to be the big problem that everyone else have mentioned. This campground is conveniently located within 10 minutes of beautiful beaches and downtown. It is very clean and has a lot to offer. We have two children and they had a great time here. I would highly recommend this as a great family destination. Blackbeard's Cove offered go carts, mini golf and lots of games: it is walking distance from the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$49
We stayed in site #18 which had a small tree for shade. The site was a nice long pull through as are most sites in the campground. Plenty of grass for our screened 10 x 10 room. The pool was clean and very needed in the hot weather. We also noticed a lot of ants (small ones) and the bugs were very bad (probably due to a lot of recent rains). The WiFi worked well at our site. The staff at this campground is top notch and they went out of their way to accommodate us in a cabin when we had trouble with our motor home. We would definitely recommend this campground and will stay again if we are in the Charleston area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We recently completed a six night stay at this campground. We enjoyed our stay, the only deficiencies we noted were there seemed to be few organized events for young children (compared to other KOAs we have visited), there were no concrete pads, and there was a problem with ants throughout the campground. Overall, the positives out weigh the negatives and we would recommend it. Try to get a lakeside site! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We're in site # 8 - a long, level pull thru with enough room for awning, slide out and 10x10 screen house - fire ring and picnic table also have their own spots outside awning or screen house. Pull thrus throughout the cg - very big rig friendly. Nice playground with sand base (swings, slide, etc) for the little ones. Very clean swimming pool with screened in room adjacent (several large picnic tables and ping pong. This room has separate space with 3 2 burner stoves, convection and microwave oven, double sink and slop sink. Lake on site has fishing (catch and release only). CG has good cable tv and good wifi in most sites. Bathhouse is very clean with 6 separate shower rooms. Staff is very friendly and incredibly efficient. Our picnic table broke and there was a new one on our site within 30 minutes. Also had problem with cable TV - resolved in an hour. Located very close to Wally World (in a center with several restaurants, fast food joints, and other stores). Publix food store within 1 mile as well. Charleston is about 10 miles south - easy to get to. We have no complaints about this campground. We'll definitely return when in the Charleston area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$64
Very friendly staff. We truly enjoyed our stay here. Our cabin was on the lake and the view was absolutely beautiful and a joy to wake up to in the morning. They have a very nice nature walk through the woods. It was quiet at night which was nice. Dog friendly too. I did not want to leave! I would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$38
This must have been our 7th time here. Staff very friendly, gave me the premier lakeview site. We stayed a week. Will be back in April. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$35
This campground is well kept and in a pleasant setting with a lake and not too many trees. The staff is friendly and the facilities are good. This is our second visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$37
We enjoyed this park last time, so returned when in the area. It is not as "overgrown" as most KOAs, so we had no problem getting in and parking. We also enjoyed being right on the lake. We love the food in Charleston. This KOA is a little more conducive to "RVers" instead of just campers, but it still does not provide any pads or other nice to haves for full-timers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
A very nice park with large sites, mainly grass and sand, mostly level. WiFi and cable both worked great from site B-11. Bathrooms and showers are fairly modern and clean. Campground would have gotten a 10 from me except that we had to run the hot water in the showers for a good 3 minutes before it got hot, and the water pressure in the showers could have been better. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$23
We stayed two nights. Very clean, large sites, friendly and helpful. Very good CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
We were on site B-2. Verizon Broadband Access signal was too weak to work with and the campground’s free WiFi was unavailable at this site. The sites are relatively firm grass but it rained 5 to 8 inches the day we arrived and we had to stand in 5 inches of water to hook up electric only the first night. The many trees blocked our access to satellite TV and there are only four local stations that come in. We were here for ten days and stayed under Passport, but don’t believe the published rates. With all the Passport restrictions and the campground add-ons, our 50% savings amounted to about $4.00 (15%) discount per day. The roads are typical rough gravel but it was easy to negotiate our 40 footer into the site. The 50 amp service was very good and the water volume was also very good. About 70% of the RVs in the campground were trailers that appear to be primarily weekend use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$41
This KOA is in Mount Pleasant, SC, that is just north of Charleston. The location is ideal for visiting Isle of Palms, Sullivans Island, Charleston downtown, and the area plantations. The park is very easy to find and it location is near 3 food stores. The park has excellent wi-fi, cable TV, very long pull through sites. While we were there it rained 8 inches in one day and the whole park drained very well due to the sandy soil. There was very little standing water. The office staff is great and very helpful. The access to downtown Charleston is via the bridge that has an exit directly to Meeting Street and the Visitors Center. Also the office staff has a prepared local area sheet of info that proved to be great. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
Nice campground away from traffic so it was nice and quiet. There was a pretty lake on the property. Sites were roomy and Internet was great which is important to my husband and I. A great location when if comes to site seeing also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$39
People who work there are very nice and helpful. They give a sheet of frequently asked questions that was really helpful. The bathrooms were a bit of a hike and the sites were grass and dirt with thousands of ants (which invaded our camper while there). There were lots of fishermen there. We awoke the sound and smell of the next site's group churning/cutting up chum in a big five gallon bucket for their fishing that day. Still it was a nice visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$41
This facility offers a wide variety of site types. Ours was a large, level pull-through with conveniently located hook-ups. This campground offered a variety of amenities such as a pool, bike rental, fishing etc. It is located well off the highway in a quiet, serene setting, yet close to shopping and attractions in Charleston. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is a first class KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
A wonderful experience! The nicest staff that we have encountered, anywhere...and we mean every single staff member. Others have described the nice facilities. We were here for Labor Day and the park was full. Everyone was having fun and there was no "gestapo" like activity. VERY family oriented and very pet friendly (pet owners...lets give them reason to keep it that way!). Very nice setting. Lots of services nearby. This was our first visit but it will not be our last. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
We stayed here a little over a week. We liked the area well enough to extend our stay by a week but had to leave early because of hurricane Hanna followed by hurricane Ike. We had “ordered” a spot that had shade, but not too much, so that our satellite dish could find the satellite. When we arrived the spot was absolutely perfect. Reasonably level, shade, but not too much and the satellite receiver worked perfectly. The staff were very cordial and accommodating. When I called to request a credit back on my credit card because of our early departure the staff was very nice in providing the refund. There was absolutely no hassle whatsoever. We were provided with information and coupons for the many attractions around Charleston which we definitely used. There are a number of permanent residents but are situated in their own area and separated by trees. We had read in another review that there were railroad tracks nearby and the trains coming through apparently irritated the reviewer. Although we did hear the train go through occasionally it was never annoying and always short lived as far as the whistle – actually it was rather quaint. We stayed at the Passport-America rate except for the weekend holiday which we received the Good Sam rate of 10% off the regular price. We would rate this park in the top 20 percent of our stays and we would most definitely stay here again. A very enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
This is a great park if you enjoy the Mt. Pleasant side of Charleston, which my family does. Even though it's away from downtown, there are many things to do. Wal-Mart is within 5 minutes, a family fun park is next door, and the Isle of Palms connector will get you to the beach in about 15 minutes. We enjoyed going to get ice cream at a place named "Ye Old Fashioned", only 10 minutes away. The park was clean, with clean bathrooms/showers, and really nice hosts. We will definitely plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Very nice, clean, well kept park. Staff very friendly and helpful. They all went beyond what was expected to ensure a good stay. Everything promised by their advertisement is delivered. No problems with power, water pressure, Wi-Fi, etc. Pool was kept clean and campgrounds is quiet at night; quiet time enforced. Good place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We had a Super nice site. It was large and had plenty of space between campers. We fished, shopped, and saw alligators. We had a super weekend. We would definitely recommend this campground. This was our second trip to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Nice KOA to park for awhile. A little tight for big rigs (over 38') on some pull throughs, but if you're careful there's no problem. Easy access off I-26 ( the Charleston location off Hwy 78) and a friendly staff to greet you and lead you to your campsight. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
A beautiful, well-managed municipal park with spacious, wooded campsites and a fair amount of privacy. The Park has a four-mile paved bike path, a lake, and a mini-water park for kids. They didn't have wi-fi when we stayed there but were in the process of putting it in. They did have a modem hookup available which we used. This park has excellent security. There is a manned gate until about 10 pm and after that there is an electrically operated gate that campers access with a code number. We would gladly stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
Stayed for 8 days & really enjoyed the stay. Management was very friendly & helpful. Restrooms & showers kept very clean. Place is also motorcycle friendly which was important to me, but no noise problems. This is one of the best KOA's I've stayed at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$39
This is a great campground. This was our first visit here and we were not disappointed. The campground was very well taken care of, and all of the staff we very friendly. The pool was very nice, and the basketball and volleyball areas were in good shape. The playground was in good shape as was the equipment. The roads were in good shape, and the new grocery store and other shopping areas that are located nearby are very helpful (you don't even have to get back out on Highway 17). The owners will give you a nice FAQ sheet that has great "local" tips on it. Didn't give it a 10 due to our site being a bit narrow and the fact that the camp store closes at 6:00pm. Will go back there, highly recommend. Great place to stay with kids or without, and close enough to Charleston, so that you can be downtown in about 20 mins. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$44
You know I'm not sure what the nightly rate is because we stayed a month. It was 453.05 for a month. The stay was very enjoyable. Lots to see when your in the area. Winery, Tea Plantation, The Market in downtown Charlston, Rainbow Row. Just a wonderful place to stay and the owners are a very nice couple and live on site. We will be back next spring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
Since we were there in the off-season, we were able to get a monthly rate. We spent 2 months here. We enjoyed our stay and found the staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed looking out our window at the lake. It was a quiet and friendly campground with plenty of room at each site. We loved the area as well--there were excellent restaurants in Mt. Pleasant as well as in Charleston. While we were there they completely retitled the bathrooms and showers. The rating would be higher if there had been sites that were not dirt and the sewer connection was not so high (hard to dump your tank when the sewer connection is higher than your drain). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$17
We stayed here under Passport America for $17, with 30 amp electric and water hookups. Almost all sites are level grass pull through with no pads, with an average width of 30'. Ours was a little narrower due to the electric box position. Wi-Fi connection was poor despite being 90 feet from the antenna. No cable, but there is local reception and sites are clear for satellite. Laundry room was clean with new equipment. It's 18 miles to downtown Charlestown and took about 25 minutes for the 3 trips we took to the city. We found the management to be courteous and helpful, despite being busy during Easter week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$43
We stay here 2 times per year and we were afraid that the new shopping center they were building in front along #17 would be noisy. We were very satisfied with the camp ground again. Didn't even notice the shopping center. And the new streets with traffic lights make it easier to get your rig back out onto # 17. Great staff great place to go. Keep up the good work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
Stayed here at the Passport America rate and it's the only good thing I can say at this, the poorest park I've ever rated. From the surly check-in, to the poor space, to the terrible Wi-Fi, I can honestly say I'd spend my first night in a Wal-Mart lot before I'd stay here for free. Some details: 1. Surly is surly. I'm a customer and if you think I'm too stupid to notice a condescending attitude, you thought wrong. 2. The advertised "free" Wi-Fi is a joke when the laundry room was full of laptops as a result of the antenna being unusable from as little as 30 feet away. I spoke to one permanent who purchases their own service since the campground's Wi-Fi is so poor. Past negative comments on this site have apparently not registered with CG management. When I complained in person, I was told to go sit in the laundry room. Sorry folks, but the laundry room isn't where I choose to do business! 3. Despite requesting a site close to the laundry room antenna, I was placed in a distant, unlevel site. Not sure if this was because I was paying PPA rates or just because the hostess was feeling especially surly when I showed up. 4. While only 11 miles from Charleston, the drive in is pretty much bumper-to-bumper and takes about 35 minutes. A much better choice would have been Oak Plantation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$43
This is about as good as it gets for us. The campground is set several blocks off a city highway, so it's fairly quiet. The site we were in (#25) was gravel and not level, but was spacious with grass, a picnic table and fire pit. It was fairly open so satellite is possible. There was cable TV (lower channels didn't come in) and Wi-Fi for multiple computers with no charge. There is a lake with free fishing, a pool that is covered, very close to shopping and just a few miles for Charleston for sightseeing. The campground was not at all crowded. I suppose everyone is in Florida, because it does get a bit nippy at night here. If you don't like dogs, don't come here. There were lots of dogs, ranging from a weiner dog to a Great Pyrenees, so we fit right in with our two. I just wish the price were a little bit more reasonable, the $43 is with our KOA card discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$19
A nice park for the Passport America price. Large pull throughs with full hookups. Most of the sites are all grass, some gravel or concrete. The WI-FI was free, but spotty at times. Convenient location South of Charleston. Some train noise from a freight line about half a mile away. No store, but nice laundry facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$46
This was our second stay at this campground. The first was two years ago. We had the exact same space as before, backed up to the lake. It was a nice setting with one major drawback: workers remodeling the "caboose" cabin next door to our site started working with power tools and hammers every morning at 8AM and worked until 6PM. Even on Sunday. As this is a vacation destination, some consideration for early morning noise would have been appreciated. Since our last visit, a very large shopping center has been built across the lake from the campground. While a buffer of trees shields the center from view, it does seem like the noise level in the campground and from US17 is much louder than before. This is now a suburban/urban location and you shouldn't choose it for peace and quiet. It is a great base camp for touring the Charleston area. For that reason, we'll keep this KOA on the list of places to stay when we make our next trip to the Charleston area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$36
We regularly use this campground. Always nice, friendly staff, and everything as it should be. Pool has a cover over it, so that it can be used in the Winter. I didn't use it this time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$35
We camped here at Christmas, and received a discounted rate for having a KOA card. Usually during winter camping you cannot take advantage of all the amenities. They have a heated swimming pool enclosed by a tent, which we found to be a nice touch. As mentioned in another review, the nature trail was poorly marked. While we did not use the bath house, we did check them out and found them very clean. The sites are a mixture of dirt and gravel. We had a pull through which was fairly level. They do have cable TV, however it was more important to us to get a satellite signal for the NFL Sunday Ticket. We were told that all of their sites are satellite friendly and we did not have a problem getting a signal. It was a very easy 10 mile trip to downtown Charleston for sightseeing. There is plenty of shopping within blocks of the campground for groceries and supplies. I only have one complaint. We requested a lake view site. When I made reservations, I was told nothing was available. In fact, I was told they only had 2 sites available. During our entire stay, there were many more than 2 sites available. Also there were sites across from us overlooking the lake that were used for overnight campers. You would think that somebody camping for 4 nights would get a preferred spot over somebody there for 1 night. Especially since when you make a reservation they can not guarantee a particular site. They will only try to do their best to get you the site you want. I have run into this at other campgrounds as well and really do not understand it. Regardless of this flaw, we would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$15
We stayed there under Passport America while visiting friends who were also staying there. We were very satisfied and would return. Wi-Fi was hit and miss but usually got a signal. Only drawback was the dirt road that will get your MH dirty. Definitely recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$30
Really enjoyed our stay over Thanksgiving holiday. Office was closed when we arrived, but our info. was readily available and we easily found our site. It was a long, level pull thru with plenty of space between rigs. Went up to pay next morning and found free coffee and donuts. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. WiFi worked very well (it was fast too), and we weren't right up by the store.(site #3). Bathhouse was spotless and individual shower rooms a real plus. Limited activities, as it was late fall but large area called Blackbeard's Cove right near the entrance to the campground more than enough to entertain children and teenagers. Very, very close to WalMart and Lowe's shopping center - can be accessed without going out onto Rt. 17. One suggestion: Turning left from Rt 17 into the campground can be tough. If coming from the north, turn left at light before the campground (new bank on one side, large subdivision on the other). Either that or go past the campground and turn into WalMart parking lot, go to the rear of the lot where new road is. Turn left there and you'll find the campground within 1/2 mile on your left. Would recommend a stay here anytime. Good location north of Charleston. Also recommend 2 places to eat. Gilligans, in place called Seaside Farms or Sewee Restaurant. Ask in office for directions to both. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
We stayed here for two nights in October while visiting the Charleston area. The sewer sites are fairly open with not much shade, which is great if you have satellite tv. The park was very quiet when we were there. We did manage to have some difficulty parking our tow vehicle by the site, as it was a bit short, however we managed just fine. The office staff was friendly and helpful, although the office was closed when the sign said it should be open. The laundry area was close to our site and clean and convenient. Did not use the pool, but others did. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
We made a reservation earlier in the day with the Passport America discount program. After being checked in, we proceeded to our assigned site while navigating a seemingly endless minefield of potholes. Low and behold, the site was much too short for our trailer and the lady at the desk offered us two other sites, but said we would have to pay an extra $5 per night because they were full hookup sites. We didn't like being treated this way...the lady making reservations made a mistake and we felt we should have offered the other site(s) at the same price. We didn't like the hassle and treatment we received and left - Oak Plantation Campground (4 miles closer to Charleston) is much nicer anyhow we found. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$39
This KOA park was our favorite park on a 2 1/2 month camping/rv trip. KOA's were of a consistent good quality throughout the entire trip. This one, however, was on a beautiful lake on a former plantation, with a wonderful hiking trail around the park. Fishing was included, with no license needed. We saw small alligators, magnificent sunsets, and a full moon over palmettos trees at night.We spent 4 nights here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$39
I purchased a KOA Value Card for a 10% discount. However this campground offers one free night per week. But they will only give you one or the other. So it turns out the free night was a better deal! The KOA Value Card was a waste. Overall a nice facility but we have a few complaints: 1. Ant infestation: after our first night we discovered ants in the motorhome. I discovered that a whole army of ants was marching right up the right front stabilizer. So I sprayed the area. The next day my wife found ants all over the bed. We discovered that they were coming in via the cable TV cable from outside! I sprayed that area. However, the next morning, they were marching in again! So I strung the cable TV cable and electrical cord up in the air so they they wouldn't touch the ground. My wife also called the office. They sent someone out to spray. For the next week we spent many hours scooping up hoards of ants with a wet sponge and washing them down the sink. We're back home now and I still don't know how many ants are in the motorhome! 2. The first evening we went on the nature trail by the lake. After walking about 25 minutes we came to the end of the path at a "T." There was no sign indicating which way to go. We must have gone the wrong way because we came to a dead end. It started to get dark and the mosquitoes started to bite. This concerned us a bit and we contemplated turning around but we had no flashlight. We went the other direction and luckily found our way back. Now for the positives: Very clean, well-managed, and quiet. The wireless internet worked well except that you have to log in for access. Occasionally during browsing you are redirected to the login screen again and you have to log in again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$41
The back in spaces are good sized. The camp store is good and has a lot of brochures for the area. The pool is quite small for a park of this sized and there are hardly any chairs around it. The lake sites have a nice view, but the rest of the park has little in the way of landscaping. Not many trees to block a satellite signal. I think all the sites are gravel. Grocery stores are close by. There is a adventure center close by for kids (mini golf, go carts, etc). Free wifi that only works close to the office. I thought this park was over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Great campground. Staff very friendly. Pool is nice. Laundry was pricey. Wireless Internet was hit and miss. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$41
Good park. Planned on two nights but Tropical Storm Barry came through and we extended our stay. No problem with the office to do this. Interior roads are sand and since it rained a lot sand was pretty much everywhere. Entrance comes up on you pretty fast to turn in. The entrance road has several speed bumps that must be taken very slowly. Very few seasonals. We will return if staying in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$12
The park was wonderful. We wanted a nice quiet get away and that's what it is. The pool was refreshing and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a picnic table and fire ring on our site. For a small fee, they brought fire wood to us. The lake was low, but we still enjoyed the view and even caught fish! There was a gas station less than 1/4 mi. away, which was very convenient. The bathhouse was very clean, and the free wireless internet at our site was nice. We will be back soon. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$21
The park was clean. Easy to find, easy to check in. Plenty of trash receptacles, nice clean pool and very quite park. The first night we did notice the train, but was easy to ignore. Lots of extra grassy areas to walk and exercise the dog. The other guests were friendly and thoughtful with their dogs. Ducks were walking the grounds which was fun to watch. Gas was less than 1000 feet from the entrance with easy to pick up supplies. Propane and ice were available at the office. The wifi service worked wonderfully. We were not disturbed and other than the weather being very warm we had a very enjoyable time. Next time in this area we would only come during a cooler time of the year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
This park is gravel sites, plenty of room to spread out and they have a very nice small lake that can be used for fishing, canoeing or kayak use...no swimming because of the presence of alligators. The sites are fairly level but it was necessary to shim up some. It is a very good park to stay in while visiting the Charleston area We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
The campground was OK. It was fairly quiet except for barking dogs on some sites which is not the fault of the campground. This location is close to everything in Charleston. The only negative we found was about the pool. We went there on Saturday, but there weren't enough chairs. Several people were standing waiting on chairs. Of course, people had "saved" chairs and were never there. The Wi-Fi wasn't strong enough to support a busy campground, but at least it was free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$32
Again they score a 10. Staff friendly, campground's nice and clean. Will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
We camped here using Passport America membership. Park very dusty and dirt roads. Grass needed mowing. Site did have table and fire ring. Reminds us of KOA due to pricing - pay extra for 50 amp, pay extra for sewer, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$23
They offer discounts (Good Neighbor & Passport) and then add on 'extras' so that the price is back up to the price for Good Sam's Discount, if you want anything more than back-in, 30 amp, and water. This is more than a little 'shady' on their part. During heavy rain almost all of the campsites had standing water around the units. Make sure you have something under the jacks as they will sink. Interior roads could use a lot of work. Staff was nice when we checked in and were working all of the time doing routine maintenance. If the interior roads were better we would probably come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$46
Our first trip to Charleston. We enjoyed camping in this campground. The campground was convenient, yet away from the main drag and noise. The employees were very hospitable and helpful. The only negative that we noticed was that the office and store closed at 6 PM. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$39
This is a average CG, the price is a bit high for such CG condition. The access path can be improved, the old unusable miniature golf can be removed or fixed. The site on the lake are nice. The cable didn't work. The free WiFi is good, the speed is between 2.0 - 11.0Mbps. The location is convenient, water pressure is good, the site space is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Great place to stay while in Charleston. Very clean and well maintained.This campground gets better every time we stay there.Stay here and enjoy Charleston. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$39
Stayed here for 4 nights. Bathrooms were kept very clean and camp store had everything we needed during our stay. My only complaint is that the wireless internet did not work most nights. When the office opened in the mornings, I would report the problem, they would reset the modem and the connection would work again. The cable tv system is also currently not working. We took our kayaks and spent some time on the lake there. Would return again as there as a lot to do in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$38
Staff was very nice, everything was well kept and clean. Pop-up trailer sites are a little small, and not very much shaded area, but all in all a good place to camp, would camp there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$49
Friendly staff, clean park, quit, would highly recommend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$18
Sites grassy and mostly level. Pool was nice and kept clean daily. Entire campground kept very clean and orderly. Nice stay and good camping We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
Nice,clean site, believed to have recently changed ownership as amenities were still being brought up to scratch. Lake needed attention, trails need attention, pool receiving attention as we left. Be aware the trains are loud and needs a few days to get used to. Some residential dogs too but again only bark at beginning and end of the day. We will return, but with ear plugs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2006
$28
This CG did not come close to the description in the travel guide! Sites were nothing more than muddy/grass. There were school buses coming/going for the semi permanent resident's children and dust would fly. We were super tight to our neighbor and CG was poorly maintained. We opted to leave early, losing a night's cost in the process. Worth it to us to move on down the road. We learned a great lesson with this trip (our maiden voyage). Check out CG's BEFORE paying for 3 nights. If we reserve, we start with one night and work up. Lesson learned the hard way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$15
Nice rural campground, free WIFI started while we were there, friendly owners, great setting. They are Passport America and Excapees members. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$32
The park and pool area was beautiful and very clean. Our camp fire was interrupted by the owner's Rotwiler which got out of his electric fence. He was a nice dog, but we didn't know, so we hurried into the bus once he started to eat the hot dogs we were eating when he approached. They sprayed for mosquitos when we were there, and they were still very thick. The water was clean and smelled/tasted good. The folks in the office were very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
We stayed here in September of 2005. We really liked this campground. The staff were very friendly and everything was well maintained. Shopping and eating was close to the campground. The beach wasn't too far away. Very nice campground!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2005
$26
Grounds are operated by a very friendly couple, however office was closed most most mornings till after twelve although the sign posted stating office opened at 8:30 AM. The pool is small and was closed 4 of the 6 days of our stay. Rest rooms were antiquated but clean, showers were need new "heads" and lighting could be improved. Brochure stated that propane was sold, however it had to be gotten off site 5 miles away. Computer hook up was through the pay phone located in the laundry room. Campground information sheet states that boat rentals were avaialble . . . which consisted "ONE" paddle boat which was NOT in servicable condition. To sum it up this camp ground is ok if just used for a base camp for exploring the surrounding area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2004
$16
An okay place for exploring Charleston and surrounding areas. There are train tracks within a half mile or so, but we weren't horribly bothered by them. There's a lot of forest between the park and the tracks, so the noise is somewhat deadened. That, and the fact that it was quite chilly in December and we stayed inside most of the time made the trains a non-issue for us. I'm usually extremely sensitive to train noise, but these didn't wake me up once in 3 nights. (In summer, with open windows, the story probably would have been quite different.) Level gravel sites, well-maintained grounds, very nice and helpful office people. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2004
$33
Nice quiet park except for train, comes almost hourly some nights. Could be a little nicer landscaped. They are a Passport Park, so half price was worth it. We camped here in a We camped here.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2004
$30
The Campground was nice and quiet. Its off the road a little bit which helps. The people who ran the place were friendly and helpful. I'm not sure if they owned it or not. Very hot and muggy when we went. Rained alot which caused some of the areas in our site to puddle up. Watch out for the Red Ant mounds. We had one right by our sewer hook up. All in all a fairly nice park for a few nights stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$32
One of the nicest KOAs I camped at. Clean and a very pleasant staff made my stay enjoyable, and my site very large and shaded. Close to Charleston but far from noisy. Will go back when in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$28
The park is on US17, making it convenient to Charleston, but is well back from the road, so it is quiet. They have a well-supplied camp store and grocery stores, restaurants, and supply stores are nearby. Good facilities for kids. The pop-up spaces have no shade and are a little narrow, but not uncomfortable. Dogs are allowed, but there is not much of a dog-walk area. The park is on a lake and when we were there (June), the mosquitoes were awful. I think this park would be OK, but only outside of mosquito season. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$32
Loud train & barking dogs nearby, cute resident ducks who visit your site, nice staff. Would not return due to night time dog and train noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$26
This is a very run down campground with many people who live there full time in rusty old campers. We requested a shade site away from the pool and they put us in the full sun right next to the pool. When we went back to give them space numbers that met our requests we were told that those were booked for the weekend. Well, hello, we are here NOW! We had unfortunately already paid or would have done as the gentleman in the office did and said, "YOU are not getting ANY of my money". It is supposed to part of our Good Neighbor Park membership and they are supposed to charge $11 per nite but we were charged $16. Very rude, very uncaring managers. The place is a dump with kids running all over the place. Very noisy. AVOID this place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Stayed here in May 03. Nothing has changed. They said they had topped all roads with gravel, but during a rain they still had mudpuddles. The worst thing is that the sites are black dirt and are lower than the roads, so that when it rains, the coach was sitting in a large puddle that we had to jump over to step into the coach. The sewer connection for the coach to our right was under water when it rained, and the sewage mixed with the puddle. This was only 8' from our coach, if I had put out my awning, it may have hit the next coach. Very tacky place. The "lake" is a pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Park is easy to get to from Rt.17. We believe the park is under new ownership. The roads into the campground were mostly gravel and dirt but there were many holes. The upper area of the park appeared to be mostly permanent setups many of which needed attention. This took away from the rest of the park. The available sites were mostly pull-thrus and mostly in the open. The sites were big enough but had little or no vegetation between them. The biggest problem was mud. Most of the sites had some grass on them but we had rain while we were there and most of the area we were in was either flooded or muddy. The lake could be nice but when we were there it appeared to be somewhat dirty. We believe the owners are trying to clean things up and improve the campground. If we return to the area we would have to check for improvements before deciding to stay again. If no improvements we would look for some other campground. Also, there is a RR track nearby with frequent noisy trains. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com