214502 User submitted reviews online!!
Sesquicentennial State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (803) 788-2706
CGID2513

Sesquicentennial State Park

Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   9   8   8   8   8   8   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$19
Sites are very sandy and ours wasn't level at all. In fact we couldn't get our rig level, but were just staying one night and did the best we could. The campground road was very narrow and at times we only had a few inches clearance between the trees. The park was beautiful. Lots of trees and shade and very people friendly. It would be a great stop for smaller size rigs, but we probably won't stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
Very clean facilities. Sites are not level and some have trees that make it interesting to park the RV. Nice lake to walk around. Convenient to interstates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Camp sites: We stayed in site 81. It was a nice level and large site. It provided a lot of privacy for my family since the living side of my camper was able to face the forest. Many of the other sites also provide privacy. Not all of the sites appear to be very level. Some may prove to be fairly difficult to position yourself so as to easily level your camper. There are some ADA sites, but these in my opinion would be difficult to navigate in a wheelchair. The campground is nicely shaded and very clean. Large pines almost maintain a forest canopy and shade is easy to find. It is also well separated from the rest of the state park activities both visually and by sound. The ranger told us they almost never fill up and only are really busy during about three weekends per year. Mainly around the graduation of Fort Jackson students. Staff: The ranger was very nice and amiable. We only saw him when he stopped by at night to check us in. We saw other workers a couple of times during our stay as they cleaned the bath house and collected trash. Bath House: The showers and restrooms are well used, showing wear and tear, but are kept very clean. They are typical state park showers with tile walls metal dividers. They appear as if they could be hosed down without worry of damaging anything. Even so, they are clean and the paper supplies were kept stocked. Amenities: The park had signs saying games could be checked out including balls, books and other activities from the office. The park has lots of trails for hiking and biking. A lake provides opportunities for canoe and paddle boat rentals. Signs said no swimming or wading. I don't know that I would have wanted to because of the Canadian geese droppings which dotted the lake edge. Fun shaded playgrounds can be found and lots of shelters and picnic tables. This weekend was not a holiday, but even so the playgrounds, lake and main park amenity area was packed with people. Kids, families and people of all ages and cultures were enjoying the park. There were other amenities that we saw, but did not look into further. All in all, we plan to return and use this campground again. Reserve America has a two night minimum, but the ranger said calling the park directly would allow a person to reserve it for one night if this was wanted. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
We spent tree nights here and had a great shaded spot facing the woods. It was somewhat tight getting a class A in and out. The main road through the campground was so tight that we had large pine trees within six inches on both sides in at least four spots on the main road through the campground. Many of the sights are not suitable for large rigs. The campground is separate from the very busy public part of the park which is nice. In the summer there are boat and paddle boat rentals available on the lake. The campground is not on the lake. The rangers are very polite, helpful and friendly. They patrol the campground regularly. One left a note on our door about bad weather that was moving into the area. The dump station is right at the gate of the entrance to the campground which causes a traffic back up as people try to exit. There is no going around as there is a bridge within 50 feet of the dump site. In the summer this could be a real problem at the close of a weekend as there is only one dump. We were concerned about the security gate as it is not automatic. The gate is locked from 6PM until 6AM. You are given the combination to a lock which you have to unlock and swing the gate open, drive through, and then re-lock the gate which is way out at the main road. Overall it is the best place to stay in Clolumbia. Within twenty minutes of the University of South Carolina. It is very secluded but is in the main part of Columbia with lots of restaurants near by. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
We echo the comments by the previous reviewer. The bathrooms and showers were very clean, but privacy was limited to a shower curtain. About half the park was closed off during the winter season; most of these sites appeared to be tent sites so closing them off was to be expected. There were only a few campers when we were there. We found this campground a convenient stopover point on our way south and would stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$23
Great state park with a real woodsy feeling in the middle of a city off Two Notch Road. However, the road through the camping area can be dicey, I have a Class C and I had to pull my mirrors in to get between trees on each side of the road. I don't know how Class A's or Fifth Wheels would manage. Adequate spacing between sites. Plenty of shade if you are there in summer. Restrooms were clean. Pretty quiet at this time of year. Great TV reception on digital if you use the antenna. Good signal from Verizon Air Card on 4G. Good value for $22.50 that we paid. Dump station easy to get through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
We liked this park overall. Great dog park. The staff was very nice. The sites (most) were older. Some had been reworked in loop 2. Leveling took some work and electric boxes and water were not always together. The water connections were typically the ones that would have needed extra hose. The electric seemed to be in a normal spot for most rigs. There is a nice walking area around the lake. Do not take a pull through just because you think it will be easier. Many of them are on angles and have tough turns, especially out, for many rigs. The bath house is small but clean. We would camp there again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Large shady wooded sites. Some sites do have sewer hookups (5). Very large state park in the middle of downtown Columbia. Beautiful lake with fishing and boating. Walking, bicycle paths in all areas and trails. Saw the Park Ranger ride through several times checking on the area. Campground host was very pleasant and stopped by on several occasions to check on us. Will stop next time on our way to other areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
This park has so much potential but state funding is hurting its looks. Some sites have been upgraded and will hold big rigs, but many more are in need of leveling and expansion. There were electrical problems on some of the sites when we were here over Memorial Day. The back area seemed nicer than the front, with mostly tenters staying in the front section. We enjoyed our stay and will go back if we are in the area. The convenience of being in town was very nice, yet you felt like you were in the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
This is an old State Park campground and no one was there! It needs a lot of work. The campground itself sits right in Columbia, and you are close to all types of shopping. That is the only bonus to this campground. Not on our list of return to parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$21
RV park reviews doesn’t indicate that this place is big rig friendly, but our 20-foot truck with 38-foot trailer had no problems, and we saw some bigger rigs too. The park was well-labeled with good signage; we had no trouble finding it. The roads to the campground were wide and paved, but the campground roads were narrower and gravel. We didn’t have any significant problems getting around on the roads, but a few turns were a little tight. Our parking space was reasonably level and sandy. Each spot had a fire ring, picnic table, and lots of shade. The nearest bathhouse didn’t have hot water, but we were able to walk to another one to take a shower. The water tasted okay, so we filled our tank. We enjoyed bike riding on the roads and trails. The park also had a lovely setting with a nice lake. We liked the Junior Ranger program: the prizes were better than most parks, and the playground was great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$18
We stayed here for a couple of nights recently. The campsite was comfortable and level. It was a little interesting maneuvering a towing big rig between some of the trees, but a good test. The only thing we were disappointed in was the weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$13
This is a wonderful spot if all you want to do is relax and shop. There wasn't much to do here. There is a lake, but because of rainy conditions we weren't able to fish. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
Nice park. Check-in was organized and easy however, we never did find the dump station on our way out. They re-cycle which is admirable but don't let you know that ahead of time. It is a large park and the map we received was hard to read - we never did find the lake. Would stay here again when we have more time so that we can explore it more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
A great location with lots to do around the area including shopping, movies and restaurants. Lots were of nice size. Playgrounds, hiking and a lake are not in the campground, but a reasonable walking distance within the park. Since we camped on a holiday weekend, it was crowded, but surprisingly not noisy at all. Park Ranger was nice and drove around to inform us of an upcoming storm so we could prepare. Bathrooms could have been cleaner, but I suppose for a holiday weekend they experienced heavier traffic than usual. We will plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
Great place if you need to be in Columbia, SC. Lots of places to walk, and things to do Stores are close by, and gate is secure at night. (Campers are given a code to get in and out after hours.) Most campsites are large and roomy. They are working slowly getting them level too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Park has hiking and biking trails. Lake for fishing and swimming. Campsites seemed smaller than typical for a state park but not too close together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$15
We really enjoyed this state park. The geese living at the lake were very entertaining. There are several walking and bike trails. The packed sand sites are large and shaded. There are wooden picnic tables at each site, but no fire rings or individual garbage cans. Bath facilities are clean and have hot showers. There was nearly no road traffic noise, but occasionally distant muffled military training booms could be heard. This was funny (the army base training sounds) our first night because we thought a thunder storm was approaching...which wouldn't be very fun at all in a pop-up. We look forward to camping here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2005
$16
Dear RV Diary: Daddy says I have to be "nice" when I write this: but ewwww, GROSS! And memo to me: if the "Trailer Life" book says,"fair, dirt roads," translation: rut-filled, narrow roads with HUGE potholes. Sites (and we checked them all) were small and NOT level. I think I saw one guy make a skycraper with his LYNX leveler blocks. There should be a sign that says, "Class A's, DON'T EVEN THINK OF PARKING HERE." There are NO FIRE RINGS. Oh, you can HAVE a fire, if you bring or find your own wood, but no firewood or ice is sold here. The park itself is nice if you like a trip down memory lane. I am sure it was Columbia's chi-chi destination spot fifty years ago, but now, there are so many Canadian geese in the "lake" that one has to walk through goose-poo to get to the edge. Notice how I didn't say "beach" even though, ironically there is plenty of sand around, no one has thought to make the cleanliness and health safety an issue. The nature trail needs blazing and was kind of scary rather than fun. Like a scene out of "Deliverance." We did go canoeing and the ONLY reason this park will merit even a four, is because the staff members were very nice. A sort of benign negiligence, if you will. There was a line to get to the (again) narrow dump station and because of the rain and poor drainage, it was difficult to ascertain whether you were looking at a potential health hazard (raw sewage) or just, well, poor drainage. Hence another EEWWWW. So, dear traveler, use this park ONLY in extreme cases and at your own risk. As we have given it four out of five "EWWWW's," we won't be coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Stayed on an overnight on the way to Florida in November. Less than 10% occupancy mid-week. Gates locked at night (off season, anyway). Surely worth a longer stay. Good spacing between the sites. Distance from interstate was, as I recall, further than Woodall's says, but it's still easy to find. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$16
We stayed here for a quick getaway for my family, park is clean and probably a good place for a stopover for the night and plenty of restaurants in the area. We will go back for weekend getaways. Lake swimming and a nice playground for the kids, close access to I-20 and I-77 sites were smallish but plenty of room for our 25' travel trailer We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com