224081 User submitted reviews online!!
Charlotte / Fort Mill KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 83 user reviews. Phone: (803) 548-1148
CGID2520

Charlotte / Fort Mill KOA

Camp Information
Sites
146
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   6   8   9   4   3   2   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
1st time visit with our new camper. Very busy campground close to the interstate. Bath house was not clean. Showers in men's. Only one worked properly. Showers in ladies. Found none that worked. I think that this campground is very good for the campers that are passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$41
There's nothing wrong with this park that some decent maintenance couldn't fix. The park is convenient to the interstate and easy enough to get around but the asphalt roads are crumbling as are the concrete strips that serve as parking pads. Rather than doing anything to repair the roads it appears that gravel has been haphazardly scattered around the site as if that is a solution. I'm not sure what park the previous favorable reviews were written about; it sure wasn't this one. It could be a decent park but that requires that it be maintained; currently it does not appear that the owners care about maintaining it. Verizon 4G signal was fine; there are tall trees, but we had no trouble getting a satellite signal. There is a small off leash dog run. One strange aspect of the park is the fact that the pull-throughs require you to pull through an unused site "behind" yours. Supposedly, they leave that site empty until someone is occupying the pull-through, but it does mean that someone could fill it while you are there thereby making it impossible for you to re-connect your toad, etc. It's obviously a work-around resulting from the fact that they don't really have pull-through sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
We arrived late at night and had to walk across a street and a parking lot to check in at the convenience store next to a bar. The site was a full hookup site and nicely level with a concrete pad for us to step onto from the rig. It was quiet and the facilities were very nice and clean. Interior roads were a little rough, but we did not have any trouble maneuvering. Other than the price, we were happy with our experience and it was perfect for one night. Also easy to get on and off I-77. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
A nice clean park near the Interstate, but without the noise. October visitors can enjoy a fairly sophisticated Halloween adventure adjoining the campground. With campground street names like Spooky Lane and Monster Way, it is obvious the owners are committed to the holiday. Very enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Our first stay in a KOA park. Very impressive, clean, big rig friendly, great staff. Brand new Publix supermarket next door is very convenient, and you can't beat their fresh fried chicken! One issue that is in no way KOA's fault is the off ramp of I-77 if your are traveling southbound...it is horrible! It is a double, right turn at the bottom of the ramp with these four foot tall reflective pole lane markers in between the two lanes that prevent you from swinging wide to make the turn. There is no way to make this corner without running over the markers if you are in the outside lane or running up over the curb if you are on the inside. If you are in the inside lane be very careful as there is a utility pole located very close to the edge of the curbing!!! We were in a 45' MH towing a 24' Featherlite race trailer...it was not a very nice way to end our day. What the heck was NC DOT thinking? Did I mention the Publix had really good fried chicken? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
The good: They have just finished new routing into the park, which is still confusing, but do able. When you see the big KOA sign, notice the small sign on the top of it that directs you to the next drive way just after the Valero gas station. They now have a small mobile office for check in on the gravel driveway. Host was very sweet, welcoming, and directed us to the site. The bad: This park has sold itself out so many times it is now a hap hazard mess. Sold out to the permanent campers in the back, sold out to the Valero gas station which takes up the front entrance, and big time sold out to the Publix grocery store. The pool area (which we did not even see until we left), is across the parking lot and makes it look like it belongs to another property. The campground was cut diagonally and sliced up. The interior roads are horrible and full of pot holes and pits. The bath house was extremely dated and had five shower stalls of which only one worked and was not clean. We were placed in a pull through that was a double ender, narrow with your neighbor almost on top of you, and was really just a gravel parking lot with weeds. State parks we have stayed at are luxurious compared to this place and half the price. Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
I agree totally with the two previous reviewers! We arrived after dark and in a driving rain storm. We were soaked by the time we hiked to the office in the gas station. The roads in the park are very rough and poorly lighted for identification. We would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
DO NOT STAY HERE! It has become a trash hole, hard to get into and sites are small. We told them we need a spot for a 40' 5th and we were given one that our back end is in the brush and the front is just off the road. The first thing you see when pulling in is NO OFFICE, it's in the Valero gas station 100 yards back. And the first two trailers are home made with trash all around them. KOA should drop this kampground - it's the WORST KOA we've ever stayed in and not up to KOA standards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
Ditto from previous rater. This place is downright dangerous. We have stayed here every year for 5 years on our way south but probably won't be back. The Publix supermarket directly next door has built a driveway through the KOA entrance. You need to pull way in past that driveway and walk a long way back to the office to register. I felt so sorry for older/disabled people. You can no longer access the fuel pumps with a big rig because the driveway directly in front has been blocked off for a sidewalk. I wouldn't be surprised if this KOA is closed within a year. Someone is going to get hurt here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
We have stayed here before but things have changed and not for the good. The camp ground gave access to the new Publix store and there is a road into the store. It makes for a lot of traffic. The gas pumps are no longer accessible from the road which makes it hard getting into. To get to the office you must cross the road to the store which has a stop sign but not many people stop for it. It is downright dangerous. We are here during the opening of this store and things are not good. Traffic is awful!! This will no longer be a stop for us it's too dangerous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
I made the reservation just before arriving- no issues. There is a lot of construction going on in the front due to a new grocery store being built. I was a little concerned about that. You have to check in at the gas station out front. That was a bit confusing. The staff was very friendly. I travel alone with my dog, and they had an employee lead me to my site and help me park, which was awesome! The campground was relatively empty. I had a site near the front, and was not bothered by the construction. WiFi and cable all worked well. I noticed no fire rings near any of the sites, which was a little annoying. Other campers were friendly. Some of the seasonal sites needed some TLC, but overall I was satisfied with the stay. The campground offers weekend events for families; however, there is no lake and there isn't much around since that park of Fort Mill is more residential. I enjoyed a little R&R trip, and would go back again. It is a good location for Carowinds, race track, etc. I live in Charlotte and was pleased with the location. I would go here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
It is a good place for an overnight stop or a base to do a lot of things in Charlotte but not necessarily a destination campground. Sites were large, as they allowed everyone to use two back to back sites as one large pull-through site with a nice level concrete pad. There are no fire rings so you have to create your own safe place for a fire. We were given a discounted rate because the campground is experiencing construction next door. The construction required their playground to be dismantled. We were not warned of this ahead of time. The jumping pillow was nice and the pool was nice. The game room had only a couple of games in it and none of them functioned properly. The permanent sites were hidden behind a fence and that is because some of them are an eyesore. We walked past them to get to the laundry and game rooms. The RV repair shop on site actually looks more like a large junk yard and is operated out of a mobile home type structure. There is a bar on site that you can hear the DJ from your site and traffic will fill up the entire parking lot at the gas station entry to the campground. The road at the entrance had large elevated manhole covers and was very uneven due to the construction making it an obstacle course to enter the campground. Also the site just two away from ours was allowed to have a large class A, a large enclosed trailer, a flatbed trailer, a Gator or Polaris type golf cart on steroids and 3 pick up trucks all on one site. They would work on their competitive dirt bikes during the day. We pretty much stayed away during the day and were only there at night making the campground functional for our needs but I actually elected to stay away more than originally planned because of the above stated things. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
Yet another rundown campground. Definitely not a kid-friendly resort. The previous reviews were spot on except we found the swimming pool to need cleaning. At $40.00 a night this place is way overpriced. The location 3 miles south of Carowinds Park is handy if that's where you're going. It's also not too far from Charlotte. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
Prior reviews are spot on. The good: cable tv, wifi, quiet, staff, close to interstate and convenience to Charlotte. The not so good: cleanliness, messy statics, sites not level, no place to outside sitting and broken down picnic table (site 12), tight turns, generally grubby atmosphere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
Price reflected is for a "deluxe" site which was a joke. Deluxe site consist of 2 broken concrete "strips" about 24 inches wide and about 40 feet long. Had difficulty placing dual rear tires on strips so that the leveling jacks would deploy in a safe spot. Interior roads are in a sad state of disrepair. Campsites narrow and picnic tables are ugly. Sites are not very level. Office staff very friendly. Propane and diesel fuel available on grounds. This could be a good campground if issues were addressed. Use caution when exiting I-77 south onto road as the lane is narrow and there are dividers in turning lane. Motorhome tires scraped curbing. Felt safe and access to Charlotte and shopping is convenient. Unfortunately, there are not many campgrounds in this area. Would stay here again but only because of that fact. Did not use restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$41
Sites very small. OK for an overnight due to convenience to I-77, but overpriced. Gas station & store on site. Looks old and kept up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2011
$44
Park was very dirty and noisey. Very expensive and not worth the money. Staff was very friendly and that was the only thing nice about this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$75
We stayed here for a Charlotte Nascar Race. This was the worst KOA we have stayed at so far. The staff seemed disinterested and bothered to help you. We were there before Halloween, and they put us on an end site right in front of the Haunted House. A diesel tractor was turning around right in front of us every 5 minutes from sunset until 11 PM toting passengers to the house. They drove way faster than the 5 MPH speed limit, and I was scared for my children's safety especially driving like this at night. People who were not campers were strolling through the park between the haunted house and the bar to God knows what hour. On the upside the rif-raff was all gone during the day and they had a nice playground/jumping pillow. It was also convenient to have a gas station right on site. I wouldn't stay here again, at least not during Halloween season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$46
Very nice campground overall. Staff was pleasant and helpful, laundry area was nice but I didn't venture to the bathrooms or the pool area. Mixture of paved and gravel roads, and mix of paved, gravel and grass sites. We didn't have any issues with any of our hook-ups and in general found the campground to be quiet and a nice play to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This campground serves the Charlotte NC area. The campground is well maintained and is convenient to I-77. Along with the usual amenities it has an RV parts/repair business inside the park. We have purchased parts from them, very friendly. Even though they are close to I-77, noise is minimal. When the Charlotte speedway is open, campground is usually packed, so make reservations early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$54
This is a very nice park clean and up to KOA standards. The sites were not too close together which was a nice surprise as we find a lot of KOA's are way too crowded. The BIG RIG PULL through sites are all in the sun, though, but the park is paved and has a nice pool and a big jumping pillow and mini golf course as fun additions. Big bonuses are Gas / Diesel station, convenience store, sub shop and RV repair shop right on site. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only negatives we can give is that the price is way too high for the location and there were no activities while we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
It is an O.K. spot for a night or two, however it was noisy with several bikers reving up their motors at the pizza place on the night I pulled in. The second night, a rooster began crowing around 3:30 in the morning. A little more grass and leveler parking spaces would have been nice. The showers & bathroom were very clean and neat. The personnel very friendly. It is conveniently located. I will probably stay there again when I go back on business. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
Arrived yesterday afternoon. Park says they have their own gas station. Yes they do, but I was glad I got gas at the Shell Station earlier. This cg gas station was getting new pumps! Has a strange entrance, fronted by a convenience store and the gas station. But once in, all was well. Clean, neat, had excellent cable TV and good 50AMP power. Good place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$45
We stayed here over the winter. It was reasonably quiet, although it was off season. We were actually in the Lazy Days section for long term campers. The sites are very small in this area. You can hear your neighbors snore. They won't pick up your trash although they do for the main campground. They charge late fees if you pay your rent or electric ONE day late. We did not have any safety issues here. Sometimes the cops showed up down at the bar by the office. This was a fairly decent place to stay but became very over-crowded as people came in the spring. Don't ask for anything extra because they will tell you that they will (help) but they never do anything that you ask. The staff was not very friendly. A lot of contractors stay here that leave ladders, shingles, cardboard boxes, plywood and other building materials outside. Some sites were a real eyesore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$49
We camped here Halloween weekend. The park was ok. Sites were a little confusing the way they backed into each other. It was not busy and we had the whole site, which was very roomy. Could use some kind of gravel, very muddy and dirty. No issues with leveling in our site. Was disappointed that they did not have any activities for Halloween. Not even trick or treating which we have found in previous years at other campgrounds. They did have the Campground Massacre going on which was an ok trail and campers received a discount. A lot of highway noise and people just stopping in for the night which made mornings noisy. Seems to be typical thing with KOA. There was a lot of car traffic on the road in and out of the campground which we think was coming from the large section of permanent campers in the back of the campground. A little expensive for what you get and location. We will not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$47
The interior roads are very narrow. The sites are a little confusing; they have turned 2 sites into one pull thru. This might just be when the park is not busy. They did escort us to the site. There is a small patch of grass and an old picnic bench at the site. The office is part of a gas station They gave us bright pink wrist bands to wear while in the park. They did tell us that we could just carry them on our person. I thought the price was very expensive for what we received. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$44
This campground has a great playground and pool, the Bark Park is nothing special. The sites are not that level, we had to put 3 boards under one side and we still weren't level. The sites could use some TLC. They need decent crushed stone put down. I found it a bit dirty. Also beware the laundry is $2.50 a load (a bit expensive). I only rated it a 4 because of the leveling and the dirty sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$44
This is an average KOA park. I used it for a base camp to work in the Charlotte area for the week. The Wi-Fi is terrible, the strongest signal was 5 Mbps. The office told me that the signal was stronger in their lounge. Oh, there is a lounge/bar built next to the office. Cheap wings & beer. Convenient to Charlotte attractions. Looks like Halloween is a special holiday here. Park was clean, water pressure good, site fairly level and gravel. There are some concrete pad sites with a patio available. CG is located on the approach path for the airport so you will hear planes coming into land. Road noise could be heard outside, but inside was OK with the AC on. I will not be staying here again because of the terrible Wi-Fi, which I need for my job. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
Nicely maintained park. The lots are not really level side to side. If the park gets full, a pull-through site turns into 2 back-ins. Very convenient to local attractions and to the train into Charlotte. The park puts on a super July 4th program. They have a meal and then a great fireworks show. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We used this park as a hub to see all of the Nascar attractions in the Charlotte area, and it was a great location. The park is well maintained, the laundry room was spotless, and the office was really friendly. It is an older park that has an area for people to live, but that wasn't a problem. This park is one we just call an "average" park, but it is in a great spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$47
Excellent park with great facilities for kids, including a unique giant bounce pillow, a cool pool, nice laundry, and attentive staff. A good location. Well worth the money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Nice facilities, especially for kids. The office is inside a gas station: weird. Our first site was not level so we moved to another one that was much better. Sites are not paved so when it rained, everything was a mess. Overall, a nice place to spend a few days while site seeing in Charlotte. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$46
This park is very convenient to I-77 and Charlotte, yet is very secluded. No road noise and lots of shade for most sites. They had plenty of activities, and everyone seemed to love the jumping pillow. The fireworks show was very nice, and we enjoyed the karaoke by the rec area. The staff was some of the friendliest we have encountered at any campground. The store is a convenience store, with competitive prices, and an RV supply and repair store is on site to take care of most all needs. We hope to go back, especially when the haunted house is open. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$53
It is a good place to stay, especially when you are on the way to your final destination. There is plenty of shade and relatively easy access to sites. We rented the premium site so we could ensure a pull through for our motorhome with car on dolly. The site had a concrete pad for the picnic table and a tile path for the motorhome tires. Lots of grass which is maintained. The pool looked popular for the kids. There was an Exxon station on the site, however, when we left the next day the bay most convenient for motorhome access was out of gas. The RV Store on site looked like it was basically being operated out of an old motorhome - we did not visit. However, I'm sure if you needed a part, it was nice to have the store nearby. Yes, we would and will stay here again, on our way to other locations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Rate reflects a KOA discount. Nice park. Near Charlotte and not far off the interstate. No road noise. Very friendly staff. The campground has a nice store, on site RV service, a small bar/cafe and on site gas and propane. This is a really nice overnight stop. It has free cable TV, free WiFi that actually works. We were toward the back of the park and had a great signal. Sites are gravel and pretty level. Not really huge, but very good size for a KOA. Lots of shade and even a fenced dog park. Has a pool, miniature golf, a jumping ball and nice playground for the kids. Clean park: I did not use the rest rooms. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Great location, and a very well maintained park. Sites are level, most are shaded with easy access for larger rigs. Tracy's RV Service is located on site and they provide excellant service if you have a problem. We will definitely stay here again when we revisit the NASCAR Hall of Fame. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
Didn't check the laundry, but the restrooms were kept clean. The price is for a water/electric site. Helpful staff, and free coffee is available in the store. Watch for fuel station users not looking out for RV's entering as they leave, it is a bit busy just there due to competitive fuel prices. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
"Convenient" is the word for this campground. It is located just off I-77, very easy to access, and is also close to Charlotte and surrounding attractions (Carowinds, NASCAR, lakes, etc). You enter and exit through a fuel station that has the most reasonable diesel prices we have seen in the area. There are lots of activities for kids, a nice pool and playground. The grounds are level and well maintained. There is a little bar/grill and convenience store on the premises. My rating for this site would be higher, but the laundry facility was absolutely disgusting. They have a large number of machines, but they are dirty (some had standing, stagnant water in the detergent wells and one machine had dead bugs in it), and at $2.50 per load, I said "no thank you". But we would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
We stayed here for just two nights as we were visiting a few friends who live in Charlotte. We have two Shih Tzu puppies with us and found a very nice dog area that was fenced, with thick green grass for them to run without leashes. Wonderful for them after traveling and being in the coach for 4 to 6 hours. Found the people very nice and helpful. The sites were mostly gravel, level and very long. For those who have children: they have a swimming pool, playground, jumping pillow and bikes to ride. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$37
We used this for an overnight stay and enjoyed the close proximity of John's Place (bar and grill) right next to the park. We were able to watch the NCAA games and enjoy a pizza! John's is a small, clean bar with good finger food and several large screen televisions. The registration desk is located inside the gas station, but the check in process was easy and the staff was welcoming. We were escorted to our site. Also, we appreciated the fenced dog walk area. There was a large laundry room, but I decided not to use it. I'm picky about my laundry facilities! Easy on and off from 77 N. We would use this park again for an overnight stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$38
Pretty much open space, not much in the way of trees or other plants. On glide path for airport (plane every few minutes during day time, didn't hear any at night). Good level site, typical KOA with sites close together (12' to next pad). Friendly, helpful personnel at check in. Did not check the restrooms. Would stay again if passing through town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$41
First RV park I have reviewed that deserves a 10. The pull-through sites are over 60 ft long (we are 60 ft w/towing hooked up and had LOTS of room left). Big rig access is good. Site level. Satellite reception on our dish good; we were here in January, though. Wi-Fi strong and fast for Internet surfing. (Not for large file download though as it speed limits when downloading). Small RV shop on grounds. Office is also: a WELL stocked store; Blimpies franchise; pizza; Exxon gas station. Propane fill station on grounds. Staff friendly and helpful. Easy on/off interstate. Good access to Charlotte (was reason for our stay). Septic hookup placement is good. Dark and quiet at night for good sleeping. Wi-Fi and Cable are free. Will look forward to staying here again when passing through this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
Just returned home from our first camping trip at the Charlotte KOA. We thought the campground was pretty good. Pros: friendly staff, great playground with jumping pillow for the kids, Wi-Fi worked well from the campsite, cable hookup, dog walk area. Cons: price seemed a little high, gravel/dirt sites made for a muddy mess in the RV due to the rain. Didn't make use of the bath houses, laundry facilities, or swimming pool, so I can't offer a comment on those features. Enjoyed our weekend a lot and would stay there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$41
This park is very nice, easy in and out. There are gas pumps at the entrance so we were able to fill our motorhome while checking in. The store is well stocked. If you want you can order takeout sandwiches, salads, pizza or wings and they deliver to your site. We did not go into the bar but it looked nice. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$55
A good overnight stay. Peaceful sleep. The staff was polite and good security around a big city. Easy in and out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We arrived here and everything looked great...until we were escorted to our lot. There was a big rig behind us, with a truck parked on the side, along with 2 large motorcycles. The first night, these folks were in and out on those motorcycles, with music blaring, until 1am. Then, at 6:30am, they cranked them up, let them run for a bit then tore out of there. Someone's dogs started barking and it sounded like 2 grizzly bears! We did not sleep very well at all. The laundry was super expensive and those people behind us were drunk, a good part of the time. We probably won't go back there either! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Spots were terraced and it was not easily to get our RV level. All spots seemed to be back-ins. There is on-site RV repair, but closed when we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We came here to be close to Charlotte for a job interview. We are relocating from Boston. This is our first KOA and are hoping to find an alternative long-term park. The daily/temporary sites look nice. But long-term sites are not so great. Dirt/Rocky/no concrete pads. Staff is great and the neighbors too, I guess we were expecting more. The monthly rate is $425 + electric, the daily rate is $45 per night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Easy access off I-77. The staff was friendly and helpful. Sites are fairly level, many that you can pull-thru to enter. Many sites have some shade. Clean campground, but not well tended. Paved roads, but the camp sites need more gravel, and leveling, i.e. tree roots and mud are issues. This is typical of a KOA with amenities. Bathrooms were clean and well lit. Free morning coffee. Pricey campground and more rules than the IRS. We might stay here again. We camped 3 days in a 29 ft trailer, with a slide-out & paid $45 per night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$45
Our family often uses this campground as a base for visits to the nearby Carowinds theme park (we have season passes). We always find it very clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful as well. We appreciate the recently added dog run and our kids always enjoy the jumping pillow. Free WiFi access is available and works well in our experience. The daily rate is a bit high even with the KOA Value Kard discount and we would expect to see cable TV available at this price but we will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Very pricey for its location, however, if you're staying in the Charlotte/Fort Mill area you don't have much choice. They pretty much have the market cornered. The site is nice and it's clean and the staff are very pleasant, especially Bob who spent a lot of time on his golf cart keeping the place in order. We stayed here almost a month and had to pay the daily rate but had no choice. If it hadn't been out of necessity we would never stay here at their daily rate. There is nothing special about the location and there is nothing particularly special about the site other than it is very well maintained but we would expect that from a KOA site. We would stay here again if we had to stay in the Charlotte area but the high tab put a damper in an otherwise pleasant stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$47
A very over priced campground. Nothing more than a gravel parking lot with uneven sites. We only considered this place because we were tired and wanted off the interstate for a nights sleep. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$47
This campground's best feature is its proximity to Charlotte, NC and all of the activities the city has to offer. The pool is older and in need of some TLC. When we were there a woman was swimming in the pool with her dog. The management did come out and kindly ask her to remove the dog and she complied. This is a great campground to stay at if you are visiting people in or around Charlotte but not a "destination" campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Great overnight spot. Easy on & off Route 77. The staff there is very nice and the store is well stocked to include a bar, a Blimpie's sandwhich shop and a gas station. Pool is very nice and the park is well kept. Not much grass, but ample shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Nice place to stay for a few nights...jumping pillow was the highlight of the trip for my kids. Playground was awesome, pool looked nice. Not much grass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$44
The park was OK for an overnight stop; we reserved a pull through site for our truck and travel trailer. The site was not level and all gravel. There is not a lot of grass around here. The kids loved the jumping pillow and playground. It appears that they are in the process of renovating the pool area. Overall a decent layover but definitely not for an extended stay with kids. The staff was friendly and the gas station was one of the lowest around town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$38
This is a popular camping location for those needing quick access to south Charlotte and the surrounding area (especially race fans!) or just a quick getaway from the usual routine. The campground's main draw is it's proximity to Carowinds, Charlotte, great shopping, and of course racing. The evening staff is very friendly and efficient. The main purpose for my review is to inform those that are planning to stay at this campground to be on the lookout for electrical problems on the 50 amp full hook-up sites. We tried various sites, especially those in the vicinity of 64, 65, and 66 to find that the 50 amp connections were not operating properly. Connecting resulted in our EMS (Energy Management System) only powering 1/2 of our motor coach and appearing on the display as a 30 amp supply which they were not. Please take the time to test your site before settling in for the first evening. We were told that the management would take care of the electrical issues "in the next few weeks" before the start of the busy season. However, for our brief 3-day stay, we were relocated to the 130s area which did not exhibit the same 50 amp electrical trouble. The on-site staff, deserves a huge pat on the back for turning a problematic start into a great stay with a smile and by going the extra mile to make our stay perfectly delightful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$40
The campground was ok. The sites were level and gravel. There is not much grassy areas. There is a fenced in pet area. It looks like they are in the process of putting some sort of bench inside the pet run to sit. They advertised free wi-fi and what I found terribly annoying is when logging on they provide a disclaimer regarding their wi-fi and it states because it is free the quality cannot be guaranteed. What the heck is with that? In my opinion, they are simply advertising wi-fi as an added feature to their campground. The fact is that it does not work and if you get lucky enough to get online it is extremely slow There is no cable tv (except in the office) It is not distributed to the sites. Their staff stated they cannot get the cable company to come in and install cable. This place is ok for an overnight stay but I would not stay any longer than that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
Easy access. Prompt and courteous at desk. Nice pull thru sites. Terrible weather the night we were there. Overall, very pleased. Would recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$38
This park is easy to find from the Interstate. The interior roads are paved and the sites are gravel, adequate length and width. Wifi was acceptable except at times it slowed down, possibly as more users logged on. Staff is friendly and helpful. Only problem was at the first site we were assigned my electrical tester showed a faulty ground in the 50 amp plug. In checking other sites I found two more faulty ones before finding one that was OK. The staff promptly reassigned us to that site and said they would put the other sites on the maintenance list. This is a good park for 1 or 2 nights, but somewhat expensive. We would stay here again, however recommend checking the electrical outlets before connecting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$40
The office is in the Exxon station. The wi-fi is free and very mediocre. Some of the sites are very good, long, grass yard, concrete patio and some are not very good, back to back and very close together. We were in the back close to the Haunted House and the site was very good and level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
We stayed here staging for the October race a Lowes. A bit far from Charlotte but we had a nice level spot with friendly neighbors. I towed my motorcycle here and rode all over the state , if you are a bike rider, its a nice 2 day trip to the dragon and back. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$47
Very friendly staff although it seemed odd to find the KOA office inside a gas station. Our first site was not level and we asked to be moved. That was done with no problem. It's fine for a 'one day/passing through' kind of stay, but VERY pricey for what you get! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$47
Rate is too high for this KOA for not having cable and wi-fi that doesn't work well. Sites are stones and spotty grass. Ok for overnight stay, but couldn't possibly see spending more than one night here for this price. Conveniently located off interstate with gas station as check in area, nice place to let dog run-fenced in. People are very friendly at check in, just not worth the price for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
Expensive campground with not a lot to offer. The pool was quite dirty. The tiles had not been cleaned in a while. The pool furniture is falling apart. They do have a nice playground & jumping pillow for kids. The sites are mostly dirt & gravel. We expected way more for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
We stayed here for one night, and as a one night stop over, it was perfect. The staff was very polite and helpful. The campground has a great playground (with an awesome jumping pillow) which my kids loved and they didn't want to leave. The pool was large and clean. The bathrooms were clean and they had good sized showers. The campground seemed to be 50% permanent/extended stays. They only thing we didn't like was that many of the sites were gravel/cinder with very little grass. We were lucky and got one of the few lots that had a pad and grass (lots 134, 135, 136). Sites are very close. We would stay in this campground again. We travel with two small children. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
Looked like park had plenty going on. Checked in late, didn't realize until about 11:15 PM, they hadn't given us the bathroom combo. It happens. Thought 47.00 dollars was a little steep. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
Prices seemed high for a campground with poor wi-fi, and mostly cinder campsites. The pool furniture should all be thrown away. It was stained and warn out. The biggest problem is the lack of grass. Not really comfortable to sit outside your RV. The staff was friendly, no problem there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
This was a nice camp ground, we set up for one night. I loved having the wireless internet available. It was a bit crowded for our tastes but it was an enjoyable night. We would recommend it to others and would do a return visit if it fits into our route. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$42
This is a very nice KOA park, they have primarily gravel sites but are very level for the most part. It is very convenient for the Charlotte area and has a lot of amenities for the kids with a large pool and a jumping pillow. Most all of the sites have large shade trees which helps a lot. I believe that they really pack the campers in and they have NO pull through sites on race weekends so make sure before you go. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$33
Our 3rd time at this KOA. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bathouse's IMMACULATE! Kids loved the jumping pillow and putt putt course. Very few people here this time. Very quiet this time of year. Very enjoyable. We will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2006
$31
Worst campground i have stayed at!!! No consideration for guests overall. Noisy !!! Late night noise till 3:00am. Security non existent. Sites not near level had to move to 3 different sites We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
The first campground we have had trouble with appropriate site for motorhome. The first site we were escorted to was surrounded by trees,and it was impossible to back-in our coach. The second site did not have 50 amp service. The third site was the only one they had left for a 39' coach and was solid dirt with large tire track ruts. Would only recommend the large pull-through sites. Most campsites are back to back sites and very small for large rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$41
Excellent site. Great location one exit from Carowinds and MUCH CHEAPER than the Carowinds campground. Also a shuttle is offered from the KOA to Carowinds, but unhooking the RV and boondocking in the Carowinds bus lot is a much better solution for an RV. The lot is even much closer to the main gate than the auto lot. Plenty to do with the kids at the campground. The star of the show is the "jumping pillow". This is an amazing feature that adults and kids alike enjoyed. I will look for other sites with a jumping pillow in the future. The pool was very clean. Not too much chlorine like some other campgrounds. While "mature" staff were relegated to more menial duties, the younger staff were a bit less customer centric, thus the 9 out of 10. On-site Blimpies and pizza with discounts for both. VERY GOOD FREE COFFEE for campers. We will seek this campground out again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$33
Restrooms and showers were immaculate! Pool was huge and clean. Nice little putt-putt course and the kids also loved the bouncing pillow. VERY nice shaded sites. Nice staff and great quick shop on site. Close to interstate 77 so easy access. Only thing missing was concrete pads and cable. Otherwise I would have given it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$47
Used as an overnight stop on Monday, Memorial Day. Campground is clean but sites are very close together. Most sites are gravel and shaded. There is a clean pool, clean bathouses, playground, and a giant bouncing "pillow" for the kids. There is a camp store with a Blimpies, a bar and grill, and a gas station on the property. I am sure the campground is a great place to stay for race fans. I give it a 6 because I think it was overpriced (I don't have the KOA discount card) for just an overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
The people at the check-in counter were nice and helpful. They escorted us to our site. I was disappointed that they didn't have cable but that was my fault for not reading. The Wi-Fi worked great. We were close to the road and it sounded like the race track was outside every night. If you stay ask for a site away from the entrance. We needed to get to downtown Charlotte every day for classes and the location worked for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$40
Nice large sites with a nice cement patio, there are two cement runners for parking on. There is no WiFi or cable at this campground. Overall the campground is very nice but, it is pricey for what you get. There are other campgrounds in the area that have more to offer than this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2005
$35
Below average facility. Owner very rude and obnoxius, especially with children. Staff at the store were unfriendly. Made you feel as though you were interrupting them. Would not camp there again, even though it was very close to my destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$45
Stayed here for 10 days during the race weeks. Found that the teenagers on 4 wheelers are gone. Only complaint is there is not any grass at most sites, just gravel. All in all a very enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2005
$33
Spent a week here while checking out my new RV before hitting the road. Very noisy campground with a lot of permanent residents with noisy trucks continuously driving in and out of the grounds. Also, there is a bar on site and on weekends the drunks with their souped up cars are screeching in and out and blaring the so-called music from their radios. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$35
This campground was our first nightmare! RV's were squeezed into tiny places. Sitting outside our travel trailer, we were less than 10 feet away from the RV beside us! There was no privacy or peace of any kind here. Sites were extremely unlevel. We were unable to have a campfire because we were so close. Registration was inside a convenience store with no room! No place to park while registering. Only 22 sites have full hook up. This park was run by teenage boys who spent their time zooming around on 4 wheelers and golf carts. We heard lots of complaints while we were there. It was overpriced and very run down. Down the road we found a nicer campground that we will remember for our next trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2001
$33
Typical overpriced KOA, rude staff, unlevel sites and DOUBLE the price of any other park in the area. We cut our stay short and stayed only one night. Even the laundry was overpriced. Don't stay unless desperate. Other parks in the area were much friendlier, half the price and had better sites. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com