218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Devil's Fork State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (864) 944-2639
CGID2552

Devil's Fork State Park

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   9   7   8   7   10   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
I was traveling north on SC11 and my GPS directed me to turn about 1/2 mile too soon, I was pulling a toad so I could not turn around, ended up driving on a tiny and twisty dirt road for several miles that finally did intersect with correct road to park. The check-in station is remote from the campground and is not very big-rig friendly for entry, exit or parking for registration. My site was a pull thru and was paved and level. The bath laundry house I would rate about a 6 on 1 to 10 scale for cleanliness. The roads in and around the campground are not very well marked so you need to utilize the map they give you for travel within the park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
Park is on a bluff overlooking Jocassee Lake with a few lake view sites, but most sites in the thick woods, and the lake views are poor until leaves fall. Some sites level, many have some slant. The sites are fine gravel with water and 30 amp electricity close beside the sites. The CG paved roads are narrow, irregular and windy with large riff-raff rocks lining them so careful driving is needed. Nice bath houses with tiled floors and nice showers, but a bit tired and counters definitely need to be spiffed up. The lake has many boat landings and pavalions which are closed for end of season. Canoes and kayaks for rent. The large beautiful lake is part of the Duke power company electrical generation system. Fine for over night and for campers with boats and for swimming. Give it a 7 for difficult CG roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$21
We had such a good time at this park. It is on Lake Jocassee which is just beautiful. The water was crystal clear. We had a kayak and took it out every day. The access from the campground to the lake was very easy. There are a couple of trails each about 2 miles long. You can rent kayaks, canoes, paddle boats right next to the campground. There are convenient beaches for swimming also. There are organized tours of the waterfalls in the northern part of the lake, but they are kind of pricey. The campground was well maintained and while we were there, they were cutting dead trees away. The roads and pads are all paved. There are large tent pads at each site. The bathrooms were cleaned each morning, and the showers had plenty of hot water. Had 3 bars on Verizon and the data never dropped. Picked up 7 channels on the TV (standard antenna). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Devils Fork is a beautiful campground located on Lake Jocassee. It is relatively small and was full during our stay. Lots and lots of kids. The roads are very tight to maneuver through with a large camper. The sites are wooded and shady and most are level. It is one of the more social campgrounds we have visited. I couldn't step outside without speaking to someone. That may put some people off, but I guess it depends on the experience you want in camping. We had fun. Devils Fork has two trails and is located near waterfalls so plenty to do. The boat ramp is not within the camp area but is rather large. Overall, it is a great campground and very well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$21
Nice location - close to many hiking trails and beautiful waterfalls - we hiked to Yellow Branch Falls near the Stumphouse Tunnel and Isaqueena Falls and all were great. The lake is very nice and especially nice for canoes and such. Since lake only has boat access at Devil's Fork only and does not have any housing/commercial development on it. Bath House was nasty and not well maintained and Dump Station was rather unkempt as well. We will visit again but are not hurrying to make of next reservation. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$22
This was a nice park. At this time of year the leaves are pretty much off the trees, and the sites along the lake have a pretty good view of the water, but you'll probably need to make a reservation for these if you'll be there on a weekend as even in Nov. they were all taken. The sites are a good size with good gravel, fire ring, and picnic table. The campground is adjacent to the picnic area with playground if you have kids. There is no beach at the campground or picnic area, but if you walk just a bit towards the visitor center you'll find a small beach. The campground has 57 RV sites and 25 "walk in" tent sites. The latter are just a short walk from the parking area, but a long walk from the bath house. We walked the 2.5 mile trail that takes off, from all places, the dump station (Yuk!). It takes you out to a nice point with a good view. We liked the place enough to plan on going back some summer with a canoe or kayak. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
I was here for a few nights enjoying the Fall colors and this is a great location to do that. The lake is beautiful. The campground however is okay. The sites are large and nicely spaced but are in need of some maintenance. The laundry facility was okay - the equipment in working order. There is a nice nature hike to enjoy, it's located near the visitor center which also has a hotspot for Wi-Fi access. My biggest complaint is the condition of the bathrooms. They were not cleaned once (that I could tell) in the 4 days that I was there. Not sure who was responsible for cleaning - the camp-host would check the building maybe once a day, but did not do anything to change the condition. The host left during my stay so maybe they just didn't care anymore. My rating is based on these observations but I think the campground deserves consideration. I would stay again but would not make this a destination site for an extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
Not only are the sites very wooded and well spaced, they are also mostly waterfront. The lake is enormous and the water is beautiful with the mountains in the background. We enjoyed it so much, we have already booked for next summer. This campground is a jewel! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
This is a good park if you have a boat. Lake Jocassee is one of the most beautiful lakes in the Southeast. For mere camping, except for fishing, the park offers very little and is somewhat remote. This is a family favorite in Fall, and should not be missed if you are in the area. The early springtime can be somewhat bleak. Note that currently the lake is down about 35 feet as of September 2008. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$29
We stayed here in early April, and the campground seemed a bit forlorn. Spring hadn't arrived yet, trees still mostly bare. My husband enjoyed fishing from the lake's shore, given the water's clarity even though he didn't catch anything. We also enjoyed hiking the 1-mile trail behind the park's headquarters. It's a nice little loop, with several footbridges across a babbling stream. From a 'view' perspective, I much prefer Dreher Island State Park, which we stayed at right before coming to this park. As other reviewers have mentioned, Lake Jocassee is partially visible from only a few of the campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
Overall nice state park. Rangers seem overwhelmed, provided us with the wrong access code for gate which is locked nightly at 9pm. Forced me, husband and 4 little kids to hike a mile back to our camper at 2 in the morning. Must drive or hike to lake for fishing. Only 2 trails. I think better options in the area but this park is clean with nicely done wooded sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
This is a very nice park! Devils Fork is located on the shores of Lake Jocassee, a beautiful mountain lake. Though none of the campsites are on the water, a dozen of them are within 100' of the water. The campground is heavily wooded and gorgeous. There was a good mix of tents, popups, trailers and motorhomes occupying the sites. The sites are paved with a gravel tent pad, picnic table and fire ring. Good hiking trails in the park and a lot of nice scenery nearby. Bath houses were new and well kept. One of the bath houses has a laundry. If you enjoy a beautiful natural setting, this park is for you. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
Very nice park, but have to walk to the lake down pretty steep trails, so not very good for small children. Lots of dropoffs as well at the sites. Would go back in a minute when my kids get older. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Beautiful area - on Lake Jocassie. All sites are wooded. Restrooms were fairly clean. Lots of spiders. Will camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com