224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Pine Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 74 user reviews. Phone: (605) 673-4054
CGID2567

Big Pine Campground

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   10   10   9   10   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$32
I can be a really picky camper, and I could find nothing wrong with anything during our 2 night stay! We had a wonderful quiet stay. The restrooms were immaculate. The owner helped me park, and made sure I was level and happy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
Wonderful campground and I would definitely stay here again. What I liked the most about this place was that it was surrounded by forest (and was in the forest itself) so I felt like we were out in the wilderness. With other local campgrounds, you can see houses, stores, etc. from your campsite. The owners were incredibly friendly and escort you to your site. The campground was clean, quiet, and safe. The restrooms were immaculate and often smelled like they were cleaned a few minutes ago. Laundry room was OK, but it served our needs. Custer is a good, central location to explore the Black Hills. This campground is only about a mile west of town, so you have the wilderness feel but are still close to everything. I have a few criticisms (but don't let them keep you from staying at this great park) - the internet was nonexistent ever though our site was about 15 feet from a wifi hotspot. The laundry and recreation room are a long hike from most of the camping areas. And the roads get sloppy when it rains so you get mud on your vehicles (that said, I think most of the campgrounds in the area have dirt roads, so not like you have a choice.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
This park is all I hoped for when I made the reservation. The owners are actively involved on site. I was escorted to my site and he stayed there until I was level. They delivered firewood to my site at a very reasonable price. The sites are spacious and nestled under hundreds of Ponderosa pines. The park is convenient to the town of Custer, and all the other main attractions in the Black Hills. The Wi-Fi is as good as we have experienced anywhere, and the Verizon signal is excellent. The beautiful pines interfere with satellite unless you have a portable system. I definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Our family of two adults and two children ages 13 and 16 loved this campground for its location and "big pines". The campground is just two minutes west of Custer and 15 minutes to Rushmore. The campground sites are set in a gradually climbing hill and forest of pines with plenty of shade. We stayed 3 nights. Our site #54 was at the top of the hill with plenty of room. The site was level with easy hook-ups. The host couple are great. We called them to let them know we were running late and they waited for us past their closing. They escorted us to our site and helped us back in. The campground backs up to an open forest and felt like a real rustic get-away. The campground was clean and well maintained. Looking forward to returning some day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
This is one of the nicer campgrounds we've stayed in. Large sites, shaded by tall pines. Lots of grass. The owners are friendly and helpful. One evening there was a hail storm and he was out right away checking for damage and fixing a small washout in the road. The park is located close to many attractions in the area. There is also a mobile RV repair and doggy daycare close by. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
What a wonderful park! Extremely congenial hosts checked us in and escorted us to our site and helped us back in. Beautiful, quiet area in the tall pines. Centrally located to tour the Black Hills. We had good electric power and water pressure, but never ran the a/c - ran the heater instead! They even deliver firewood to your site. Only down side is no cable - I did manage to snake a long cable to our dish and get it between the pines for service. Good Wi-Fi service. We would sure like to come back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
We chose this campground based on its location and the wonderful reviews we read about it on this forum. The folks who ran the campground were very friendly and helpful when we had questions about attractions in the area. The laundry facilities were good. After a bad storm they were out and about, checking on the facilities and making adjustments to the road after the rain washed some gravel away. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Really enjoyed our time here. Good location to visit the area sites. Owners are friendly and helpful. Escorted to site and helped get situated. This is a campground in the pine forest, not a resort. Good gravel roads and sites. Full hookups and best Wi-Fi we've found. Located just out of Custer, nice and quiet, easy to relax. Would definitely recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Beautiful camp, shaded by mature ponderosa pines. Very friendly hosts. They escorted us up to our spot and helped us back in and get situated. We had a reservation for Memorial Day weekend, but we called ahead and came in a day early. Then, when we discovered how much there was to see in the area, we asked for an additional night. Would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Very friendly and helpful staff. Sites are large with trees and shade. WIFI is excellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Clean, quiet, and a good camping experience compared to an "RV Park". Excellent check in experience, escorted to our site, and assisted with parking the trailer. Owners are nice, very friendly, and well informed about local attractions, dining, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
What a great park! We were greeted with a very welcoming check-in process that included cookie treat bags for our two dogs. The owners (Thank you owners) really understand customer service. We were escorted to our site and helped with the back in process. Sites are spacious and well shaded. The park is quiet and very relaxing. Wi-Fi can be a bit slow later in the day, likely due to lots of families and their electronics, but not a real problem. Highly recommend Big Pine. We will be back there next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Great RV Park. Everything at the park was spotless. Clean Bathrooms, Showers and Laundry room. The owners are very helpful and friendly. They even deliver ice and wood to your campsite. Love the campground! I would recommend this place to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Everything stated prior to this is correct. A very nice park; very comfortable and well maintained. A family owned business with a committed and responsible staff. Cell service good, satellite service very iffy. We did without for our 5 day stay. Conveniently located to several national and state parks and sites. We really enjoyed ourselves here and would stay here again if in the area. Water and electric stable and reliable. WI-FI good and reliable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Very nice place within reasonable distance to local attractions like Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore carvings. Check in was fast and very friendly and was immediately followed by an escort to my spot who provided help in backing in. Our space was about 100+ ft from neighbor, and it seemed most were about the same spacing. Owners made routine patrols checking all sites and taking care of guests needs. Showers are no charge, and laundry was clean and reasonably priced. Wi-fi was decent, but Verizon data connection was awesome with 4g connect speeds of 20M down and 10M up. Very nice place with very nice owners! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
This is a nice quiet park located near downtown Custer. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Roads and sites are sand and gravel. All sites are back-ins and all have a picnic table and fire pit. There’s plenty of room between sites. Wi-Fi and cell phone reception were very good. Showers and laundry room are very clean. Wash is $2.00 and dryer is $0.75. One negative is no cable reception. We were able to get satellite reception among the tall pines. During our stay we visited Jewel Cave NM, Wind Cave NP, Custer State Park, Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Spearfish Canyon and Devil’s Tower in Wyoming, albeit a long drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
We stayed here for a week, reserving a site to accommodate our two beagles who travel with us. Bathrooms and showers were clean, and the staff was as helpful in all respects. Firewood delivered to your campsite, and the general store had just about everything one could want. Our beagles enjoyed long walks at this pet friendly campground. Located a couple of miles outside Custer, we traveled to all the major attractions with ease. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
We absolutely loved Big Pine Campground. We stayed here for four nights and enjoyed every single one. The owners are such nice, friendly people. He took us to our site and helped us back in our trailer, making sure we were positioned right for our awning and hook ups. Then he carried the three bundles of firewood we purchased, right to our fire pit. The campground is nice and quiet, well treed and shaded, and the sites are spaced well for privacy. It's a great place to stay to see all the near attractions such as Crazy Horse, Mt. Rushmore and the Jewel and Wind Caves. We thought this campground was the absolute best place to stay, and at $36 per night was the best value for our money. I can't say enough good things about this place, and our family will absolutely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
We really cannot say enough good about this campground and the owners who run it. We have traveled extensively around the US and believe this is one of the best campgrounds we have every stayed at. It starts with being escorted to your site. While being a back in, The owner helps get you into the site and helps with any hook up problems. There were none. Fifty amp service is available, water pressure is fine. Laundry was clean and neat, maintained daily. The campground is meticulously manicured. The sites are very large with at least 25 feet between sites. The only potential problem is satellite access, it is challenging and could be virtually impossible on some sites. No cable and we understand there are few local channels. The location is handy to all of the local attractions. Again, this is a cannot miss campground. The rate reflects the Good Sam's discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
This spot was perfect and the people very friendly. The sites are large and very wooded. We really liked it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
This is a very nice campground. Owners were friendly and helpful. Sites were shady and well off the road so it was nice and quiet. Campground is located close to many of the major attractions so I would recommend it as a home base. Really enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
The owners are very friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our site which was right by the clean bathrooms. Since we were camping in a conversion van that was very helpful. We heard no road noise in our site. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Very nice campground with lots of trees, located away from the highway and quite. 50 amp sties are back-ins. WiFi worked through out the park. Campground is convenient to all attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
We found this park to be excellent. The majority of the sites are up in the tall pine trees, they are away from road noise and the location is great for the many parks in the area. This is a quiet park and the Wi-Fi really works throughout the campground, based on our cross country trip this is the exception not the rule. We would definitely come back to this park. We did a day trip to Custer State Park (bison, wild burrows) and then to Mount Rushmore and finished up with Crazy Horse. The downtown of Custer is very nice too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. This is a great place. Rustic, quiet, pretty, lots of trees. No bells & whistles, just a really nice campground. NOTE: for 50 amp you need to have a back-in site as the pull-throughs are only 30 amp; but the owner will guide you into your site & he made it really easy. Wi-Fi worked well. They have an air compressor for topping off your tires. Very friendly & helpful folks! We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
No reservation, but got a pretty good site at around 5pm. A dirt/gravel road winds through the hilly park to a dirt/gravel and mostly level site. Plenty of shade. We were near the back of the park, so there was plenty of room to walk the dog. Didn't use any facilities, and stayed 1 night. Very close to Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore. Overall a pretty clean and rustic campground. $35 is the max that I want to spend, which is what this was. $30 would have been fairer, but then who am I to say? Might stay here again because I know what I'm getting, but would check reviews of other campgrounds to see if there is a better value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This is an excellent park with lots of tall pine trees that provide shade and keep it cool inside. The hosts are excellent and really take good care of the facilities and grounds. The only negative we found is those trees also block any satellite dish signal. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
A great campground very quiet and relaxing. Spacious between trailers with lots of shade. It has a store, laundry, and game room. Good cell and Wi-Fi reception inside the trailer. Very good location for Black Hills attractions, and Custer is a great town. Very nice staff. We stayed here for two weeks and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Greeted by owners who are excellent hosts, and go the extra mile. Nothing is any trouble. Spotless amenities. Shady spacious sites and very strong Wi-Fi. Short drive to "The Presidents" and Crazy Horse, local villages and state parks. Checked other campgrounds and definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
Brand new owners. SUPER nice and willing to help you out with anything and everything. Would totally stay here again and would recommend it to everyone. Very quiet and just can’t say enough about the place. See for yourself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
Nice little jewel of a campground. Spacious, shades, and somewhat level sites. We were pleasantly surprised with this campground. No TV reception but you can find a hole in the trees for satellite. Store, laundry and gameroom. Good cell and Wi-Fi reception. Good location for Black Hill attractions. Very nice staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
This is a great campground. A true in the woods atmosphere which we loved. Deer right in the park. Spacious sites. Lots of trees. All spaces looked easy to get into. We had no trouble with our 36' motorhome. No cable or pool, but who cares, we are camping! Internet worked great & good cell service. Easy access to all the Black Hills attractions. The hosts go out of their way to make your stay a good one. We would definitely recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
We enjoyed this park, very quiet, just out of town but close enough. Very friendly and helpful owners. Beautiful area, lots to do. I can recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We really liked this campground. The sites were very spacious and not crowded at all. There is much shade available. The owner was very helpful about local attractions, We felt right at home as soon as we checked in. Very quiet. We would recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
We camped here for 9 nights. The sites were very spacious. Pride of ownership was definitely reflected throughout the campground by the cleanliness of the bathrooms (well stocked with paper towels and toilet paper) and showers and by the way that the campground was maintained through grass cutting/trimming and garbage pick-up. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. I can't comment on WI-FI as I didn't need to use it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Park is quiet with nice shady sites. This is a really nice campground and the owners were working every day on something (painting tables, mowing, weed eating, etc) even through the 4th of July. It is convenient to many attractions nearby. The Wi-Fi was a little iffy but it wasn't a big deal since we didn't spend much time there. We were not able to get any TV reception and there is no cable connection but this wasn't an issue for us. We didn't have any electrical issues. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Quiet park set in the trees. Unlevel gravel sites and dusty roads. Bathroom was very clean but the laundry is in a very old, dark building. No cable. We were parked next to the Wi-Fi antenna so had no problem. Convenient to nearby attractions. Be sure to visit the Mammoth Site in Hot Springs and Custer State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is a adequate campground just west of Custer with easy access to the variety of attractions in the area. Lots of pine trees that provide shade and the upper section is very quiet. Not all of the sites are level, so some might be a little bit of a challenge depending on your rig type. No cable TV at all and you will only pick up limited reception with a standard antenna. The Wi-Fi does not work in the upper sections of the campground. The really big problem is the voltage level in the upper part of the campground with 30 amp hookups. With no load, you will get 120+ volts, but put a load on the circuit and it will drop to 106 - 107 volts, which is potentially damaging to electronics such as TVs, refrigerators, microwaves and your A/C unit. Beware of this problem you should camp elsewhere unless you have a surge protector/low voltage protector for your rig. That is why I have rated them as low as I did. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Staff was very nice. Very clean and modern bathrooms. Wi-Fi was not always strong enough to get at the site. We stayed in site 16, which had some electrical issues. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Park has nice clean bathrooms and showers. I could not get WiFi to work. We arrived during a heavy rain storm and had no problem driving up the hill to our campsite. Some campsites are very close together and some have distance between your neighbors. We had a very nice and secluded space and a very level campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Great place in the trees. Sites not exactly level but doable. Wi-Fi was lacking in the upper sites but worked well at the office. Very friendly office people. I would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
This was a great park with plenty of space between sites. The park was located within a hour or less of everything we wanted to do. We loved that we were surrounded by lots of pine trees! The park was also quiet at night and the other campers were very friendly. The restrooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and told us the easiest way to get to our site. The only negative thing that I could say was that the Fi-Fi wasn't available from our campsite, but we were too busy site-seeing that it wasn't that big of a deal. We would definitely stay here again and hope to be back. Rate noted was for a full hook-up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
Very nice place to stay in the area, especially for the price. We showed up at 9:30 pm but called ahead to tell them we would be late. They said no problem and left a map for us at the office with directions to our site. They have a special tenting only area that is quiet, out of the way of RVs and shaded for sites. The bathrooms and showers were only 200 ft from our site, that was great! Would highly recommend this campground to tenters and anyone with an RV. Only a couple minutes drive to Custer and a very pleasant area. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This campground was good and our space was somewhat level: we backed into a open space. Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions. Wi-Fi was only available at the office which was a small problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Could never get our RV leveled in the site we received and no other sites were available to us. They book solid with little or no leeway. Site we had was on the side of a hill. Also sites are very close together. Sites looked clean and were shady. Management was very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
This is one of those camp sites that appeared to be somewhat cramped and I stress the word "appeared." Our stay was for two nights in the off season and we pretty much had the entire camp to ourselves but on our walk about, we noticed that most of the sites were quite close to one another. The owners were very friendly and made us feel quite welcome. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
The owners are very accommodating and friendly. Gave us information on local attractions. The park is immaculate and very pleasant with many pine trees. The laundry is handy and clean; WiFi is in the office, but you can sit in your car and access it in front of the office during off hours. Excellent park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We camped at BIG PINES CAMPGROUND over 4th of July weekend in 2008. We really enjoyed this campground. Our campsite was #39 in the upper loop right next to the bath-house. This campground had one of the cleanest bath-houses we have ever had at a campground. The owners took pride in their campground and it showed with their kind service.Tall pine trees are throughout the campground and the sites (on upper loop) were very nice a spacious.I highly recommend this campground...but make sure to reserve one of the campsites in the upper loop. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Nice park. Sites are large. Employees are very friendly. Reason for lower rating is no local or cable TV, and must go to office for Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
We stayed at Big Pine Campground for two nights. The staff was friendly and helpful. The local map they supplied was necessary and guided us to area attractions. In this dry area, dust layers everything. The sites are dirt and the roads are gravel. Terrian is hills and in a forest of mature pines, so it was shady. Our picnic table was permanently installed on a downhill slant. We enjoyed visiting this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Nice (but crowded) showers and restrooms. Beautiful, spacious sites with lots of room. Sites were not, however, level. Very friendly staff; nice office and amenities offered (but office is a good walk from campsites). Lots of wonderful shade trees and sparky mica gravel. We stayed two nights and now that we're up the road in Spearfish wished we had stayed a third. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Used this park as base camp to explore this corner of S.D. It is up in the trees and tight, but moving a 36 ft. class A in and out was no trouble. Sites are mostly level. Rest rooms clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. They helped arrange a rental car for the week from local dealer. Quiet park. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
One of the nicest parks we've stayed at in the last 30 days. We spent a week at this park and absolutely enjoyed ourselves. Glenn & Marcy, owners of the park, are some of the nicest people you'll ever meet. Glenn was a great guy and has a really nice truck he's been working on. Marcy runs the desk and store and is a pleasure to see 1st thing in the morning. They have coffee, excellent DSL in the office (great Sat TV too) and WiFi which will extend right into the game room. My 7yr old loved the playground and gameroom too. The laundry was clean and did a good job washing the clothes. What we really liked about the site is that you're way off the main road as the sites are set back and up the hill. This gives you a great view of the valley and a nice quite evening. Glenn is up at the crack of dawn making sure your stay with them is a fantastic one. Then he's off in the kitchen to cook Marcy's breakfast. Now how great is that? The restrooms are super clean (could eat off the floor) and the showers were strong, hot and soft. Couldn't wait to get back to take a shower each day. We enjoyed our stay and Glenn & Marcy so much that I would have loved to buy the place next to them because they would be wonderful neighbors. We highly recommend staying here and we know your memories will be a good one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Nicely wooded, clean and quiet campground, near to Crazyhorse, Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. Good Sam and Passport America (not valid 7/1 - 8/15) discounts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
GREAT park! It's beautiful and very reasonably priced. We've stayed at the KOA and Beaver Campgrounds in Custer and they DO NOT compare to Big Pines. The restrooms were clean and the showers were large. They also had great water pressure. Our site was large, but all sites here are not created equal so you might want to check them out. There is also an ATV trail in the back of the park where we walked our dogs. It's wide and well maintained. It was a great place to hang our hats. The Wi-Fi worked well. We would definitely stay here again. It was a great value for our dollar and the staff was great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
If you like being in the trees, this park is for you. The sites are on a hillside and were level. It rained while we were there, and the droppings from the trees made a mess of our motorhome and everything we left outside. We couldn't receive any television coverage. Would consider another park in the area next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$29
This place was great. The best owners ever. Water/Sewer/30amp was perfect. I will come here again and again. Close to town and to all attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$29
I'm not sure why the 2 previous people posted that it was difficult to get through this campground with a motorhome. We had a 40' motorhome and had no problems. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved all the trees. There's too much to see and do in the area to sit and watch TV. If someone complains because they couldn't get a signal, they should stay home. The restrooms were impeccable and the campground was kept very clean. Owners and staff were very friendly and attended to our every need. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
This campground is best suited for 5th wheels and travel trailers. As another member posted, it is really TIGHT fit for motor homes. We have a 40' and it was difficult to make the turns, and it was very tight. There are so many trees we couldn't get any tv reception from satellite or antenna. The owners are very nice people. We believe if they would thin out some trees, and improve some of interior roads it would be better. Because of the above we would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
We would have preferred Custer State Park, but because of the Buffalo Roundup, that option was out. Good place as headquarters to get to all the parks in the area. Wi fi weak but ok, showers very clean and cheery. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Well, this is not a "perfect" RV park as the last reviewer claims. Perhaps they had their own internet and tv set-ups, and didn't need the laundry room. This is a nice place for the Black Hills but be aware that the wonderful shade from the pine trees means you probably won't get a tv signal with an antenna. And the rustic, woodsy setting is on a hillside so big rigs and trailers will have an interesting haul. The laundry room, gameroom, WiFi access and office are way down the hill and a tiring walk back when carrying your stuff. Still, the owners are very nice people who work hard to keep the place clean and friendly. A great deal with Passport America, tho only on 3 weeknights. PA rate was $13.50 for FHU. Sites mostly level; some a bit tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
What a perfect rv park, if you want to relax!! Owners are very gracious. Extremely peaceful, no traffic noise. The owners really take care of the park. We only made reservations for 2 days but extended our stay 2 more days. Will return without a doubt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
This is a great campground. The only down side is that it is on the south end of the Black Hills. In order to go sight seeing you do have a 30 or so minute commute to Mt Rushmore and other area attractions. The restrooms were spotless and the staff was great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
Excellent location and setting. Wooded sites, with plenty of room. Great place to stay to visit Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, the Badlands, etc. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
Wonderful park, was more like a state park campground than an RV campground. Cleanest restrooms we'd ever seen at a campground. Free wifi near the office. VERY friendly management. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
If you are looking for CLEAN restrooms and showers this is the place. The management run a first class campground, they aim to please: how nice!! Its a little tight for big rigs, but one can get in and out OK. The best sites are way at the top on the far end. This is, in my opinion, the best campground in the southern Black Hills. I had to rate it a 10 because of the super friendly atmosphere, the unbelievably clean restrooms and the unsurpassed overall maintenance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
We camped here for the 4th of July celebration at Mt. Rushmore. The campground is very well kept. The restrooms are spotless at all times. The shower set up is great your clothes, etc. do not get wet while you shower. The laundry has 4 washers and 4 dryers all in working order. The campsites were all shaded as you are in the National Forest. The campground is on a hill BUT the sites are all level. We had water and electric but there are sites with full hookups also. There were some very big rigs in the campground when we were there. We enjoyed this campground and would go back again and highly recommend it. It is about 22 miles from Mt. Rushmore. It is a Good Sam Campground so got our discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$31
Beautiful park-like surroundings with sites between huge Ponderosa Pines. Definitely one of the shadiest and most private sites we saw in the Black Hills. Wireless Internet does not reach through the park but the air-conditioned "Internet Hook-Up Room" with DSL and free coffee more than makes up for this. Very clean rest-rooms and the air-hockey in the game room was a blast! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
Great campground. I don't know if the restroom/shower building is new or not but it was cleaner than any we've ever seen. The staff was VERY friendly and we will definitely stay there again if we revisit the Rushmore area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
A very clean, secluded campground. Big rigs may have difficulty with a few sites, but the owners are very accommodating. Close proximity to many activities. Almost like staying in a National park except with all the amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$27
What a great place, suited us 100%. Would go out of our way to camp there again. The owners made sure we were perfectly satisfied with our site, lovely people. They even clear out your firepit every morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$27
The camp sites are large and well separated. They are wooded and secluded off the main road. The owners make a daily round to clean out firepits and rake out areas that campers have just left. A very clean place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Roads are gravel and dusty, but otherwise good. some trees too close to road making a tight fit fot large rigs. The restrooms are very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Campground is deep in the pines, with every site surrounded by high pine trees, and 30-40 feet away from the next site. More like a natiional forest campground than a commericial one. Very highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com