223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Custer's Gulch RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 97 user reviews. Phone: (605) 673-4647
CGID2568

Custer's Gulch RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   6   8   9   9   8   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$34
This campground was very clean, quiet and had nice spacious camping sites. Campground was surrounded by trees, which we enjoy. It was very close to Custer State Park, close to Crazy Horse Memorial, Mount Rushmore and many other attractions in the area. The town of Custer is only about 3 miles, so very convenient if one wanted to go shopping or pick up a few items at the grocery store. Office staff was very friendly and helpful. We were here over Labor Day weekend and plan on going back the middle of Oct. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$41
This is one of the best campgrounds we have stayed in. The site were large and plenty long for our 34 ft 5th wheel and truck. The electric was solid, water pressure a little low. The Wi-Fi was great--fast and reliable. The office staff was friendly. The campground is very quiet and attractive. It is convenient to Custer State Park and to the town of Custer. We had good Dish TV and excellent Verizon broadband, as well. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
This park is only minutes out of Custer, a cute, little Western town, and 20 minutes from Mt. Rushmore. The access road was a long, dusty ride. The sites were on a gravel strip with grass between. We stayed in a large, level, back-in site with full hook-ups. We enjoyed the songbirds and the yellow-bellied marmots that live around the cabins. The ponds, however, were green and stagnant, surrounded by tall buggy grass and cat tails. We would probably pick a less rustic place is ever visiting again. We stayed 2 nights. Our rig is 43'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Overall we were happy with this campground. Spacious sites with room for big RV's, and plenty of room between sites. Far enough away from Hwy16A that there was no traffic noise. My only issues were relatively minor. The only restrooms they have are closed for 1-1/2 hours for cleaning. That is an excessive amount of time to clean a total of 4 shower stalls and 8 toilets. My other gripe was with the gal at the check-in desk. She does not like anything out of the ordinary. We showed up early (before check in time) and she was pretty rude to us about it. We explained that we understood we were early, and weren't expecting to be able to pull into our site if it wasn't ready. It just took us less time than expected to get there. Eventually she calmed down. I'm sure early arrivals aren't that unusual, and more courtesy could be shown to paying customers. Aside from those couple of things, it was a good stay. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
We had a fabulous stay at this fantastic campsite. Rate reflects a weeks stay but with a holiday weekend. One of the most spacious sites we have ever had, we were in the "pond" area which was perfect, so quiet with lovely view across the valley. Very friendly helpful staff. Only half mile to State Park and a couple of miles into the neat town of Custer. Mount Rushmore, Needles Highway and The Iron Road all easy distance. Grass area with picnic and fire pit. Tarmac roads and gravel sites. No cable but excellent wifi strong enough bandwidth for 3 devices, probably the best wifi we have ever had. We certainly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Great location. It was centrally located to all of the area attractions such as Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, cities of Custer and Hill City, etc. Sites are clean, level and well-spaced. Wifi strength was excellent. Rest room and laundry facilities were very clean. We selected this campground because they had rental cars onsite. It wasn't a luxury car - older minivan with 70,000 miles on it, but it ran well and fit the bill. There are excellent ATV trails right from the property. However, they have just a few ATVs available onsite but they were booked for all the days we wanted to used them. If ATV riding is a priority for you, I would suggested making a reservation prior to arriving. Only downside is there wasn't a pool. Overall, it was a great visit! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This is our second stay at this campground. If you want to be near Custer State Park, this is the campground for you. If you want to be closer to Mt. Rushmore, then you should choose a campground in Hill City, South Dakota. We had site #50 which is a satellite friendly back in. The sites are a nice size with grassy areas in between sites. The campground is quiet at night and people seem respectful of each other. The internet was great with good signal from several towers. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. The sites were gravel and well maintained. The office staff was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed our 6 night stay here and would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Beautifully setting, nestled in the valley surrounded by pines and Aspen trees. Centrally located to Custer State Park and all the Black Hills venues. Access roads and sites are crushed gravel and well maintained. Site is level with plenty of space and grass between sites. Would have been a 10 rating, but could not get Wi-Fi at my site (#18 near the back). Internet was available nearer to the club house. Rate reflects discount for 7 day stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Very nice campground. Worked very well for us to explore the Southern Hills. It was relatively close to Custer State Park which gave us a short drive to the Buffalo Roundup. Very quiet with large sites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
We have come here 2 years in a row because we loved it so much. It is a quiet, secluded park that is very well located. Our site is very large and level with lots of grass. There are walking trails behind the park and they even rent ATVs here to drive into the State Park. Everyone is friendly and efficient. I do not use the public restrooms so I cannot comment on them. I see that there are other reviews which mention the dusty road. Custer is a rural area and the roads will be gravel. It is a very well maintained road with no pot holes. Definitely a great place to stay while visiting the Black Hills. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
We thoroughly enjoyed this park. Our site was at the back, bordered by National Forest Service property. It was peaceful and quiet - no road noise whatsoever. We had plenty of shade. The free Wi-Fi was marginal at best, but our Mi-Fi pulled in a strong signal. The laundry was clean, but limited to cold water only. Yes, it was dusty due to the dirt roads, but we stayed for 10 days and would definitely return. It was a peaceful haven between day trips exploring nearby Custer State Park and other local attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
As far I'm concerned, you could not ask for a more lovely setting, the area is just beautiful. We stayed for 4 nights and loved every minute of it. Check in was quick and easy. The sites are mostly back in with a few pull throughs, they all have a lot of space between the sites, our site was a premium back in site, had to do a good bit of side to side leveling but not too bad, the pads are gravel with a huge amount of grass for your front yard, very nice. The west end of the camp ground is set in an aspen grove. Utilities were good but are located at the very back of the site so you will need extensions on sewer hose and maybe water hose as well. No cable TV, was able to pick up 4 channels from the air. The Wifi was not the best but not too bad. Plenty of dog walking room as well. Fire pits at each site with wood for sale at the office. Just an awesome campground. Will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
While this park is in a very nice setting, this park needs a face-lift. Interior roads are very dusty as mentioned by another review. The worst part is that you will be charged 10 bucks to clean your rig(water use, I assume). That's a pretty good racket. Have a dusty road and charge for getting the dirt off. And there was a LOT of dirt and dust not only on the truck and 5th but inside the RV, too. Seems many drivers on these roads do not abide by the 5MPH speed limit. Had a problem with pedestal power which caused some power outages in the coach and lady owner seemed a bit miffed if I suggested I may want to leave if it couldn't be resolved. She needs to be a bit more empathetic in her kind of business. The male owner was very nice and so far has fixed the issue, and did so pronto. That was very good. The dust makes up for at least 3 points in this review. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
DUSTY, DUSTY, DUSTY! Electric and water are fine. Sites are well spaced. Wifi is OK. Satellite at most sites. People are friendly and helpful. Everything else is good, but the dust is terrible. The campground is down a quarter mile gravel road. After driving in that road our motorhome and tow vehicle were completely gray with dust. Dust from this road blows into the campground, and people driving in the campground raise even more dust. We left our windows open one day and the counter tops were gritty. Compartments with openings such as sewer and electric were dusty. There was so much dust in the air over our 2 week stay that our jacks would not retract without being pushed up. The owner occasionally puts water on the road. This makes vehicles muddy for a while, then it dries out and the road is dusty again. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
We paid a premium price plus $14 for a reservation fee and we did not have a premium site. We have the dirt entry road within 20 yards and an interior dirt road about 6 ft outside our front door. Other sites look spacious with lush grass, but our "premium" site is anything but. We are terribly unhappy about this since we seldom splurge for such expensive spots. There are no amenities, no pool, no activities, just a dirt road and a dusty narrow spot. We definitely would not return. We saw many nice looking parks in the area. I would advise anyone to explore other options. It's spot was hugely overpriced! We definitely would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
We enjoyed our stay at this park. It is very quiet, clean, and about 1/2 mile from the entrance to Custer State Park. We were escorted to our large, back in site. There is plenty of room between your neighbors. Our Wi-Fi worked well and we had no problem receiving satellite. They also have fire rings. Park is in a good location to visit area attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
This is a beautiful campground. Sites are large and well spaced. We stayed in site #22 which is about as far back in the trees as you can get. It is very well shaded and quiet. The CG is close to area attractions. We would stay here again, but maybe not so far from the restrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We very much enjoyed this campground. Large sites, set back off the main highway so nice and quiet. You do drive down a gravel county road for about 1/4 mile to get to the entrance of the campground and since there has not been any rain the road was very dusty. Although the park has Wi-Fi, it did not work well at our site and our AT&T phone service did not work either. I could get both of these services if I took a walk closer to the office. We were in site 18, it was a huge grassy site with firepit and picnic table. (Fire restrictions in effect during drought.) This campground is in a great location, just a half mile to the entrance to Custer State Park, which is just amazing. Mt Rushmore was about 25 miles away. The little town of Custer (population 1800), is a great little town, good restaurants, unique shops and you can get most of the supplies you would need. We would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
We really liked this park. Very convenient to many of the area attractions. We saw deer and turkey wander through the park. It was very quiet and we could see the entrance to Custer State Park from our site. We stayed in a "premium pull through." These sites were actually smaller than some of the other sites. Our site was on both the entrance and exit roads. Very dusty due to the drought in the area. The water pressure was low but tolerable. We will return but will choose another area of the park to stay in. The rate is for a one week stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
I would have given this park a 10 but the water pressure was horrible. They were having trouble with their pump and had been having trouble for awhile. One night the water was off for awhile. The good news is the park is outside of the town of Custer in a beautiful location away from the traffic and noise. The sites are gravel and level. The park is well kept and managers are on site. Very clean. They need one more trash dumpster to accommodate all the trash. Managers were nice. I would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We really liked this campground. The location is excellent for visiting Custer SP and Mt. Rushmore, and is close to grocery stores and restaurants in Custer. There aren't a lot of shaded sites, but there are some. If our site had been shaded, I would have rated it a 10. The WiFi worked really well. There is plenty of grass and space to walk the dog, and there's space between the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
We stayed here for 7 nights including the 4th of July. Overall the park is alright. Most sites are fairly spacious and gravel. Hookups are in good condition and work well. Because of the gravel, there is some dust. Internet Wi-Fi worked OK, but did fade out at times. They did have a water problem and we were without park water for about 6 hours one night. When water came back on it was very cloudy. Also, they only have one trash dumpster and it was often overflowing. After seeing some of the parks in town, we would stay here again. They do rent ATVs and carts at this campground, which is a nice plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1
At rally so no idea of costs. Nice park. Wi-Fi was bad and that was only problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
We really enjoyed our stay at this park. The location couldn't have been better. Tucked away in the valley it was nice and quiet but still close enough to the amenities (shops, restaurants, etc...) in the town of Custer and the beautiful natural areas surrounding it. The staff was great handling both a last minute reservation and our car rental. The amenities of the park were everything we needed and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Site was not very level. The hookups were all in the proper location. Staff was friendly and check in was fine. The Wi-Fi was horrible. I will never stay here again because of the Wi-Fi. I could not even hookup, this is not right. Either you have Wi-Fi or you do not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Park is located in a very picturesque valley about 3 miles east of Custer. The lack of cable TV seems to be prevalent for all the parks in the area. Not sure why cable TV is not available. Only caught one station using antenna, and this was not a very good reception. The area around Custer is beautiful, especially Custer State Park. We visited Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, Jewel Cave and traveled the Needles Highway (don't miss this drive). Custer has a lot of shops, restaurants, and anything else a tourist destination should have. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
I agree with everything the last few postings have said. This place is perfect for our needs. Easy to get in and out, nice gravel level sites, good hook-ups, plenty of room to walk the dogs. Very convenient to all the area attractions and to the little town of Custer. Our Sprint phone and Hot-Spot worked OK in the campground. The only reason I am not giving it a 10 is that the Wi-Fi was a little spotty. We were only a few sites from the office and could not get service. All in all a great place to stay, we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
Excellent campground. We stayed for nine nights. Owners are very friendly. Park is quiet & full of deer. Plenty of space between RVs. Restrooms, showers & laundry are very clean. Will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We stayed here in September, 2011 for 6 nights. We were extremely pleased with this facility. The sites are large with excellent space between each campsite. This park accommodates all sizes of coaches and travel trailers. Our stay was during a busy holiday weekend and all 62 sites, plus tent camping was full. Even so, it was peaceful and quiet. The folks in the office were pleasant and gracious. This campground afforded us easy and quick access to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Jewel Cave, Custer State Park, the Needles Highway, and other Black Hills attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
This is a wonderful park. Clean, well spaced sites, off the road and quiet with a very pleasant and helpful staff. We will return and recommend it to our friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
We spent two nights at Custer Gulch. Our treed site was gorgeous (toward the back of the campground). Staff very friendly and helpful. Signage when coming from Custer is hard to see and your can fly by the entrance. We would definitely stay here again. Excellent base for Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
Quiet location, spacious site with good hook-ups but very unlevel. The entrance is hard to find, gravel, dust, bumps and potholes. No hot water in the laundry and lawn mowing every day for no reason. We stayed here for 3 days, but next time we will stay at a state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Very clean, beautiful location, widely spaced sites, Wi-Fi OK, close to major attractions. Small laundry room with no hot water! Water requires filtration or plan on brown stains in your toilet etc. Owner can be less than personable, rules seem to be written daily. Water pressure varies but usually OK. Owners seem to spend more time on their rental business (cars, ATVs, etc) than being good hosts to the campers. Workcamping probably not a good idea here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
We were here during bike week as well. The park is great. Spacious sites and very clean facilities. Staff was great and very helpful. I would have rated higher, but at all the sites all the hookups are together. Water, sewer and electricity are within 2 feet of each other and very deep in the site. For most not a problem, but for toy hauler it is. I had to back in the trailer, unhitch the trailer, unload the bikes, then rehitch and back in the rest of the way so I could get all my connections. Again when we left, it was the same. Hitch the trailer twice. Would not prevent me from staying here again, but it was somewhat of a pain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
If there ever was a 10 rating, this park gets it! All of the utilities are adequate. The Wi-Fi was over 5 MBPS when I checked it. Our Verizon connection was OK. The employees were very good and answered all of our questions so you may want to disregard the previous rating someone gave this park. The scenery from the park is just beautiful and it is just outside the entrance to Custer State Park. Bike and hiking trails can be accessed right from the RV park. This is probably in our top 10 parks we have ever rated. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
The good things:The park is beautiful. Nice layout. No cable TV Wi-Fi OK. The bad things: The lady in the office gave us wrong directions. We arrived and set up our camper. When there is a burn pit we have always gathered our wood from around the campgrounds and in the woods. The lady from the office informed us we couldn't gather the wood because it belonged to them to cut up and sell. There was no disclosure in the paperwork that we could not gather wood. She was not a pleasant person and we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
We were there during Bike Week at Sturgis, so the whole area was busy, but the owners were accommodating and flexible. Beautiful campground, clean, convenient location. Wi-Fi had been hit by lightning just before our arrival so was spotty, but where it worked (in or near the clubhouse) it worked well. We would gladly return, and plan to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We stayed at this park for seven nights (seventh night free). The sites are spacious, grassy and well maintained. The bath and showers are clean. It is located well off the main highway and is very quiet, situated in a picturesque bowl of pine-covered hills. It is located less than a mile from the entrance to Custer State Park and within easy driving distance to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse Monument. If you take advantage of the many activities available in the Park, this campground is a perfect place for a week's vacation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Nice campground, convenient to Custer State Park but away from traffic, in a gulch and surrounded by woods and mountains. Sites were not crowded. Good Wi-Fi. Laundry was small and busy. We rented a car from the campground, and it was in poor condition at a premium price. We were worried that it would leave us stranded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
A very nice park with courteous and helpful staff. Beautiful setting close to attractions, yet secluded. Nice bike paths and good fishing at the lakes. We stayed for 6 days. Only negative is that the laundry is cold water only, and the most expensive place that we did laundry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Very nice quiet campground. It is well maintained and clean. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Large spaces with plenty of room between sites. The road through the campground is gravel with and the pads are level. Wi-Fi worked OK. The water pressure could be better but is adequate most of the time. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Overall a very nice campground. First impression upon entry is not great with an old trailer and full trash bin at first view. Aside from that nice grass and pond to fish in. Accommodating and friendly. Chose a nice wooded site at the top of the loop, perfect for our dog with good areas to walk. Also, paved bike path outside campground on main highway. Room to roam! Nice clubhouse with borrowing library, TV, games. We couldn't get in Custer State Park (full) but are glad that we'd seen Custer's Gulch sign en route. Good location for sightseeing and nearby to cute little town of Custer. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Both male and female showers were shut down during our visit because they were painting. Common sense would tell you to shut one down at a time, so at least half of the building could be used. Laundry room was a bit dingy, and more expensive than most... and cold water only. No hot or warm water wash available. Not much in the form of entertainment for the kids. It states it has a playground, but I've yet to find it. Grounds are well kept. Some of the pull through spaces have a bit of an odd layout, but functional nonetheless. Friendly ducks visit the pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$32
We stayed here because of other reviews. It is a beautiful setting. We were welcomed with deer and wild turkeys. The owners were not there when we arrived but came to greet us later. Very friendly. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
We stayed in a class C. This was the second year we've stayed at Custer's Culch. The sites and grounds are clean and well maintained. The buildings are clean. Manager and staff are friendly and helpful. There is no pool, playground or other "kid friendly" amenities, which is one of the reasons we like this RV park. The sites are in the open with woods at the back of most sites. We will come back to this RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Very friendly and knowledgeable staff that checked us in. Provided us with lots of brochures and pamphlets and suggested their favorite places to visit. Has fire pits, picnic tables and a small store for ice, miscellaneous items and ice cream. Park is off the main highway so it is quiet and you have deer in the campgrounds. It is close to use as a base and travel to Jewel Cave, Wind Cave, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and a ride on an 1880's steam train. We will come here again and will recommend this to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Address: None other than almost 3 miles east of town on State Road 346, on the back side of a hill and off to the right, but well marked. A Good Sam park and daily rate. The park has multiple, mostly back-in sites. Back-in sites are very large and grassy if you are in the high site 40’s and 50’s. Roads and sites are gravel, no issues in rain. Many sites on the ‘hill’ are a bit closer, have trees and appear more the long-term guests. Most of these sites are really shady but could block satellites Internet: Due to park location on backside of a hill, the Verizon tower is blocked resulting in a 1 to 2 bar signal. Broadband is mostly non-operational. With a booster you might be able to work with the signal. The local Wi-Fi runs so slow (15 to 54-Mbps) you are limited only to messages if you have the patience. Concerns: We stayed here almost 4 years to the day. The daily price has gone up $7 but with limited options there is little way around the price. It is about 35 miles from Rapid City with Wal-Mart Super and Sam’s. If in the area it is likely we would stay here again; however, there are many new RV parks in the area in the last 4 years. Be aware some are on the highway and/or have almost no space between sites. Recognize they must make a year’s operation in about 2 to 3 weeks in August to survive. We would do some research if returning. Unless your visit is within the ‘bike week’ period, this park is well off the road making it much quieter most commercial parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a big, green friendly park. We were here for a week and didn't get in all there was to see in the area. Our site was backed up to the National Forest and was wide and grassy and level. We were just minutes from Custer State Park, Crazy Horse Monument and the cute town of Custer. Wi-Fi was good, cell phone signal was weak and antenna stations were iffy. No cable TV. We would come back here in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a very nice park. Off the road and quiet. We would definitely recommend it. The only draw back was there is no cable TV and absolutely no cell service. The laundry room is small, only 2 of each and is busy all the time. The owners and staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Spaces were very wide and spacious. We hated to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Nice quiet setting. Sites are mostly back in and have decent space in between. well spaced. Interior roads and pads are gravel but rain is no problem. Owner and staff were friendly. The park was very well maintained. Excellent Wi-Fi reception in the park. Great location near Custer State Park and all major attractions. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
Friendly, quiet RV park with large grassy areas between the sites. We had a very long back-in that accommodated our 41' motorhome, motorcycle trailer, and jeep. Centrally located for seeing all the Black Hills attractions. Verizon Aircard and cell phone reception was good. No AT&T cell service. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This is a very nice park with nice large and grassy sites. It is about 400 yards off the highway so it is very quiet. There is a nice walking trail next to the highway, great for dogwalking. I would have liked to have seen more laundry and bathroom facilities since there are only two washers and two dryers and two showers for men and two for women for the entire park. Since there are tent sites, it makes these facilities very busy at times. We had a spot that backed up to the National Forest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
We enjoyed the peace and quiet of this campground. Sites were nice sized and clean. Hosts seemed friendly and helpful. Bathrooms very clean. The wild turkeys, ducks, and deer near by were great entertainment to watch. Overall it was a nice experience staying at this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Large campsites, friendly staff and pets are welcome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
A fantastic park: has great owners and staff and wonderful views! There are large lots. Park is convenient location to all sightseeing. It's a must stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
We enjoyed the peace and quiet of this campground. The owner was very helpful and the bathrooms were extremely clean. The scenery was breathtaking: it's not just a parking lot like some campgrounds. We were sad to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
We have stayed here before and liked it, but this time we were disappointed. At check in, the owner acted like we were a big interruption to what he was doing and it didn't make us feel welcome. Got to our site and it was covered with small pieces of trash, i.e. butts, paper pieces, paper clips, broken pencils, screws, pop-tops from cans, and lots of pieces of wood as if someone had been chopping logs. I went and asked a work kamper lady for a rake. She asked why, I told her, and she got really belligerent and insisted that she had just cleaned it! I raked and filled up a bucket with trash and then she came up and "could not believe it". She said she would come back with a leaf rake, but never did. Along that same note, the next day three RVs on either side of us checked out and none of those sites were touched. They had butts and full fire pits. Other than that work kamper, we like this park as it is quiet, with decent sized spaces, and some shade during the day. We scouted other parks while there and we will probably try another park next time for a week, but might return another time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Rate quoted was with Good Sam discount. An excellent campground in a great location: close to the Black Hills attractions and close to the town of Custer. Very quiet, even though full to near-capacity for the Labor Day weekend. It should be noted that the laundry is cold water only. An on-demand water heater would be a big improvement. Wi-Fi worked well even though we were near the far end of the park. Distance between sites is about 20 feet or less. The person who checked us in was knowledgeable, but the Work-Camper we spoke to the following day was clueless about both the RV park and about the surrounding area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
I found everyone here to be friendly and helpful. The restrooms and campground were very clean and maintained. There was a lot more room to bring in the bigger RVs and a lot of space between sites: this didn't seem to be true for a lot of other places we looked at in Custer. I loved this location for its proximity to Custer State Park. This RV park was also tent friendly. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
A nice park. It's away from traffic, and has big spaces. Location was near the entrance to Custer State Park and also close to the town of Custer. Lots of places to walk your dogs, and friendly staff. Will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
This is a great place. It's located just outside the gate to Custer State Park which offers good hiking, fishing and scenic drives. Also easy to get to Mt. Rushmore. We spent 7 nights. They have large sites: level and well groomed. The campground staff was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again. Please note, I am not entirely sure of the exact rate I paid, so I estimated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
This is a very nice park for a base camp: you are in the middle of the Black Hills and can see all the sights and not have to travel very far in any direction. We were at the top of the hill in site 26 which was a nice site but hard to back the trailer into. Campsites are set at 90-degree angles to the road. Wildlife roam through the campground: we had turkeys every morning, deer, mule deer. The utilities are set at the back of the site: if you have a sewer hookup mid-way or towards the front of the trailer, then bring a second section of hose. The Wi-Fi was iffi: worked well if you took your computer to the reception center or laundry. There is a paved bike trail at the entrance of the park so you can jog or ride in either direction. There is no pool or playground for kids. The park leans more towards older adults. Overall it's a very nice place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
Sites were wide and level with lots of room for trailer and tow vehicle. The campground is well off the road so it was quiet. Excellent water pressure and no problems with power or sewer. Campground was well maintained and staff was friendly. We asked for a site with good Wi-Fi reception and had good line of site to the tower but we still had trouble about a third of the time. The fire pit was on a side hill so when we had a fire it was hard to get close and not be leaning. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a small campground. It is tucked in a meadow with both open areas and shaded areas. The sites are large, neat and clean. The staff is very helpful and willing to please. Our site had shore power problems and they moved us to an equal or better site. There is no pool, so there isn't much to do for children. If you're looking for a quiet, well maintained campground close to the sites of Mt. Rushmore this is the place to stay. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
Each access from US16A a few miles east of Custer and a couple miles west of Custer State Park entrance. RV park has a half mile gravel road to entrance, so the park is off the highway. Road noise is not a problem. Interior road and sites are gravel with grass between the sites. Sites are a good distance apart, so you don't fell like you're on top of your neighbor. Each site has 50 amp, water, and sewer with a picnic table and fire ring. Firewood is available at the office. Sites on the east side of park generally have some small shade trees. Sites on west side of park generally don't have any trees. Park has Wi-Fi, but sometimes spotty reception, if you are a distance from the centralized office. Satellite TV and Verizon air card & phone worked great. Roy in the office was very personable and helpful. We stayed a week with 1 night free. Parked averaged about 70% full during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Very nice RV Park between the town of Custer and the western entrance to Custer State Park. It has well packed dirt interior roads, and nice, big level sites on gravel, with a grass lawn area in front of each site. Surrounding pine trees give it that "woodsy" feel, but there could be more trees actually in the campground. It was sort of open. We have a small (23') travel trailer, and felt somewhat overwhelmed with the number of big rigs that were here, but we have found that is typical of an RV park versus a public campground. Still, we weren't the only smaller unit, and everyone was very friendly, regardless how big or small their rigs were. The hosts were very nice and helpful. I'd highly recommend this park, especially if you prefer the full facilities of an RV park over a public campground, as a great base camp for exploring the Black Hills. If you like public campgrounds with at least electrical hook-ups, check out our review of Custer State Park, Stockade Lake North campground, which is just down the road and actually in Custer State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Shore Services: 50amp, Sewer good, Water @ 40 psi - Wi-Fi: yes. Good at office but weak on outlaying sites - AT&T Cell Phone: No signal in campground but out on highway on top of the hill a signal can be received. - Sprint Air Card: poor signal - Verizon Air Card: Good with Freedom Antenna - Cable: none - Site: 6 - Site Size: long enough to park TV - Site Closeness: Good distance. can put out awning with no problem - Roads: gravel - Restrooms: good and clean - Laundry: 2 washers & Dryers both work well - Long term tenants: don't see any - Directv Satellite: good at most sites outside of trees - Discounts: Good Sams - Payment: credit card - Additional Charges: none but tax - Additional Remarks: I like this park. I drove around to see what others are like in this area. This one is better than most. Owners live on site and are very nice. The nightly rate is for 17days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We stayed here for a week over the 4th of July and we loved it. We had a 50 amp /full hook-up site which we had to back into. It was well-graveled with plenty of grass separating us from our neighbors. Level site with good location for services. No cable and definitely no AT&T cell phone signals. Wi-Fi in the club house. Nice people in the office. They charge $10 if you want to wash your RV and $5 to wash your car. Worth the money. Very close to the entrance to Custer State Park. Town of Custer is close by and it has a nice grocery and several hardware stores. Very quiet at night. Seemed to be always full to capacity. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
My kids just told me that they "loved it". It was a very nice, quiet location. This park is close enough to town, but far enough away that you really feel like you are out "in the woods". The owners are very friendly. We played volleyball! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Wonderful campground with lots of space between sites. Just outside Custer SP which is a wonderful facility. Wi-Fi signal was weak and the price of ice was too high. The back in sites are not angled they are 90 degrees to the road. Fortunately, there is plenty of space between sites for mistakes. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This is a quiet campground with fantastic owners and hosts. We made reservations on-line back in January and arrived late Monday after the July 4th week-end. The campground did not have our reservation and was completely booked. Owners were very apologetic and accommodating. Put us up in the grass overnight and moved us to a site in the back the next day as well as compensating us with a credit for the inconvenience. Campground is somewhat secluded off the main road with large sites, right next to Custer State Park and convenient to all the attractions. It does not have many amenities for children which makes it nice for those who just want a peaceful relaxed atmosphere. Wi-Fi and TV reception at the site were not good but we were able to go to the clubhouse and log on there. Rest rooms and laundry facility were spotless. Owner checks and cleans all vacant sites daily. Plenty of wildlife in the area. Saw deer in the campground several times. We checked out the other campgrounds in the area and felt this was by far the best. I would highly recommend it and am looking forward to returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
I called ahead and made reservations with Elaine for 8 nights nine days which allowed us the one night free. Upon arrival we were greeted by Elaine and her husband, the owners. In a nutshell this is one of the nicest RV campground we have stayed at, it was wonderful. The spaces are huge, the area is grand and its quiet as a pin there. The location was perfect, we had deer in the yard daily and our RV spot backed up the a wildlife area. We were one half mile from the entrance to Custer State Park and perhaps a mile to town. We travel in a 40 foot motorhome, the people next to us were traveling in 45 foot motorhome and had plenty of room left over in their spot. The grounds are very well maintained and park laid out very nice. We already have plans to return next summer. Wi-Fi reception was good, we had a fire ring and view of the pond. This campground RV park is a jewell. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
This is the nicest campground we have stayed in for quite some time. The management was friendly, the RV sites well maintained, the entire park was clean. We will stay here again. We are full timers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This park has long, level spacious sites. No problem there. They need better directions from I-90. I had to call twice and they said everyone gets confused so it wasn't just me. The sign at the entrance could use a "turn here" added to it. It's hard to decide if they mean "right at this driveway" or the next one. The Wi-Fi may work at the office but didn't at our site. We do not have satellite and cannot get any TV reception. There are only two showers and two commodes for the whole park; also, only two washers and dryers. I based my rating on no pool and these other inconveniences but I'd stay again, especially considering the other parks I've seen in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This was a very nice campground in a great location near Mt. Rushmore, etc. The road is dirt and the sites are gravel with good spacing between. There are about 8 good pull-thru big rig sites for bus with car trailer size rigs. Hosts were great. Satellite could be a problem in some of the back-in sites. Wi-Fi worked most of the time. Verizon air card worked. There is no AT&T service for cell or internet here! Rating can't be higher - there are no amenities here such as pool, exercise room, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
A very nice park. We have camped here before and will do so again. The sites are well spaced and the setting is wonderful. Close to all that the Black Hills have to offer. It has none of the so called "amenities" (pools, spas, giant rec rooms etc.) the larger RV parking lot parks offer which is why we like it. Much more like camping should be. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
This is our 4th visit to this park. Why? Very large grassy sites with full hookups, great satellite and cell phone reception and great people including the hosts. Also, it's only 1/4 mile from the highway so it's very quiet and dark at night to stargaze!. Really convenient to the neat town of Custer and only a mile to the west entrance to Custer State Park (a must place to visit). We love the area with its rock formations and drives through the State Park. We will visit here again when out west. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
This park is big rig friendly, pet friendly and ATV friendly. It is quiet with a rustic ambience. The sites are large with lots of grass and space between the sites. The owners and work campers are all friendly and accommodating to camping needs. We will be staying here as often as we can. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
This is our first visit to South Dakota, arriving from California. Beyond doubt this is one of the quietest RV parks we have ever visited. This park is convenient to most major attractions in South Dakota and the Black Hills. Operators are super friendly and helpful and checked to make sure our visit was all it could be. Propane is not available in the park, but is just 5 minutes away in Custer. We would gladly stay here again. Nice wide sites, plenty of room between, lots of grass and beautiful view. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
The new owners were very helpful and friendly. The camp sites were very clean and all facilities were in good working order. The campgrounds were quiet in the evening, and away from the road noise. We stayed for 3 nights and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
Quietest campground we ever stayed in. Well off road with very roomy sites. Pull thrus available but we took a back-in site to have rear windows facing into woods. Wildlife abounds, saw deer, prong-horns, and wild turkeys in the campground. Deer were daily visitors. We have a 35' fifth wheel with a Heavy Duty Truck, plenty of room. Abuts state park land and nature preserve. Centrally located and convenient to most Black Hills attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
This is the best we have been in!! Friendly owners on site, Bathrooms and showers were spotless. Large level sites with lots of space between neighbors. Absolutely no noise or lights at night. (we did not see a child there=quiet) We spent three nights there but wish it were longer. We will return!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
This is a very clean and quiet campground. We were in site #13 and received a great satellite signal. Deer, turkey, and ducks visited the campground daily. The restroom and showers were very clean. It is located close to everything we enjoy in the Custer area. We have been to the Custer area many times. We will return to this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
Small family run park. Very friendly owners. Quiet and off the road. Long wide sites. Well maintained. Laundry only has two washers and two dryers so it can jam up. Only a mile from the entrance to Custer State Park and three miles from town and grocery store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
What a beautiful park!! We camped here in July and were so pleased. The staff is friendly and helpful, surroundings are gorgeous, and the park is centrally located for area tourist spots. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
Clean and quiet. Large sites. Staff was fantastic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Very busy during Sturgis Bike Rally, however, campground was very quiet. Far enough off of the road to not hear any noise. Some sites along the west side have good shade, but you won't have WIFI because of the distance from the antenna. Good laundry, showers. No other amenities, but didn't want to pay for things I don't use. Hosts were great and felt very safe and comfortable. A great find if you're looking for a campground to base out of for everything in the Black Hills. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Great campground with bid sites. Their WIFI needs some work. The host were very informative about the area and very nice people. Very near to Custer State Park. Convenient to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Rate was for 4 adults. Sites were very roomy. We had a site in the back of the park. Good view down "gulch" of forest walls and hills. Good level gravel site with spotty grass. Wi-fi did not work at back of park. Bathrooms were well kept but could use upgrading. Great location right outside West entrance to Custer SP and just outside of the town of Custer. Easy drives to all Black Hills attractions without driving the same road over and over again. Good 4th of July fireworks show in Custer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
This is a very pleasant campground. Quiet, convenient access to area locations, fairly nice view, with plenty of hills and rocks for the kids to wear off their energy. Staff is very nice, and they keep the CG well maintained. Nice picnic tables and nice fire pits. Wi-fi was fairly good about 10 sites away from the office, but probably sites further away would not have good access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Nice quiet little park right next to Custer State Park. Very helpful staff that keep it well maintained. Good cafe right across the highway. Lot's of wildlife in the area to watch that sometimes come right into the park for fresh grass and water. There is a small pond in the middle of the park. Sites are long and roomy. Verizon wireless works good. Campfire rings at most site with firewood available at the office. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$21
As full time RVers we found the campground to be exactly what we like - no pool, no hot tub, no playground, no game room - just a clean, quiet, nicely kept RV park with huge sites. The pull thrus and back in sites are all 75 - 100 feet long with about 50 feet between them. No large trees to block satellite reception but plenty of lush, green grass, a nice pond in the center, and great views of the surrounding mountains. Free WiFi that works well. Campground hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area attractions. The west gate to Custer State Park is only ¼ mile away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
This is a great park to use to see all the area attractions. It is quiet and there are lots of deer and wild turkey around in the evenings. The camp host are friendly and we really enjoyed the surroundings. The wi-fi works great as long as you are at the front of the park. If you let them know ahead of time that you want wi-fi, they will put you near the front of the park. There is no pool or cable TV, but we would definitely stay here again. Your views are wonderful of trees, hills and wildlife. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Stayed here for 1 week in June. Great Base Camp for area attractions. Experienced hosts and very friendly. Quiet park set back from road. Wi-fi worked good. No pool, but the climate is very nice. Large sites with plenty of room. 40 ft. Motorhome easy to get around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
Very nice campground, the sites farthest from the road have more shade. Very cool ATV trail connecting to the campground. The host was nice and strict about certain ATV rules in campground. Nice bathrooms and showers. We saw deer every evening at this sight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Great park to stay at for visits to the Mount Rushmore area. Very friendly folks who keep control of the park environment. They are G/S and other discount-friendly and have weekly and monthly rates. Well off the road so it is quiet, even during Sturgis Bike Rally Weeks. Convenient to all the Custer State Park sights with all the important hookups. Only 3 years old and very well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We stayed in summer 2003 with our 5th wheel. Nice place. Pretty spendy though for not having any amenities to really speak of. But the park hosts were really friendly and made you feel good coming "home" every day. I would stay again, but probably as second choice for the area. No laundry facility on site. Gravel roads and spaces. Grass and trees were great. Killer flies. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com