218177 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Welikit Family Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (605) 673-3600
CGID2569

Fort Welikit Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   7   5   9   7   10   5   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Beautiful campground in the Black Hills. The sites are in the trees so you do not feel on top of your neighbor. Rare to find a place where you have all your hook-ups and extras but still feel like you are camping in the woods. We were so busy we rarely used it, but our cable TV was clear. The owners had just updated the WiFi system the day we arrived and we had good reception even with our site toward the back of the park. Bathrooms were some of the best we have seen. We did not have any issues with water pressure, but we do not use excessive filtration which has in the past caused us issues in mountain areas not on high volume city water. We came for a campground and not a parking lot resort and were pleasantly surprised. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
Some sites uneven and unlevel and you have to back uphill to get into them. Advertised wi-fi is very poor and on and off all the time. Water pressure not very good and cable tv is very fuzzy. Location is nice, but wouldn't recommend it unless you can find nothing else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
This campground is located in a beautiful pine forest on the edge of Custer, SD. The sites are fairly wide and the pull-through sites are level and long. The back-in sites, which we used in our 5th wheel, are a bit tight and a bit unlevel in some locations. The Internet is strong unless everyone is home in their campers using the signal. Water pressure at our site was low but sufficient. The office staff was pleasant and quite helpful. Bathrooms and laundry rooms are immaculate. The rate posted reflects the Good Sam's discount. We would definitely stay here again but be more specific with our site request ensuring a more level site. The campgrounds are very family-friendly. The large play area for children is located away from the camping area, ensuring a quiet surrounding. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
Nice park, friendly staff. Family owned and operated ....They care and it shows! The Wi-Fi connection was hit or miss.....but the rest of the park made up for it. Beautiful wooded setting. I would definitely go back here again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Nice clean place. Older crowd-gets quiet early. Very clean and nice restrooms. No problem for our 40' motorhome to get around. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
We used this park as our base while visiting Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Wind Cave Nat'l Park, Jewel Cave Nat'l Park and Devil's Tower Nat'l Park. The latter three being further away, but a nice drive. A nice treed park, very nice clean private bathrooms/showers and nice laundry. The site we were on did not have cable and the WiFi could only be accessed close to the office as one of their antennas were inoperable. It was quiet and clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
We camped here to see Custer State Park which is just a few miles from the campground and Mt Rushmore about 20 minutes away. We fell in love with the campground and Custer. The area was fantastic. Bathrooms were spotless. You have a private room with toilet, sink, and shower. Campground is nestled in tall pine trees. We definitely would return. In fact we liked it so much we will be workamping there next summer. By the way they have two Tipis, a covered wagon you can rent, and a tent area with covers over a deck that are next to again sparkling clean restrooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
Listed as big rig but only two/three site will accept. Many sites do not appear level. Tight road coming in but rest appears navigable. Truly a "woodsy" CG. Great cable TV. NOT motorcycle friendly: loose gravel on turns and hills. But that is not why it only gets a 5. Paid for 5 nights but decided to move on to a location that has paved roads. Told office ON THE DAY WE SIGNED IN, we wanted to leave a day early. Would not refund a day's worth. I find that EXTREMELY small and petty. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
We love this RV park! There were 69 cable channels,great Wi-Fi, shady sites in a pine forest setting, friendly hosts, very convenient to all the sites in and around Custer. We stayed a week. You do NOT get a Good Sam or AAA discount for a week's stay - only one free night with payment for six nights. If we stayed less, we would have gotten the discount. Still, we needed the week to see all there is to see in this area. We would definitely stay here again! Sites are not paved and we needed one leveling block, which was not bad. We think we made a great choice! Rate is without tax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$37
Nice campground, when we were here we were one of 3 campers, so it was really quiet. The only thing we didn't like was the enormous amount of deer droppings on the grass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
This was our third time at Ft. Welikit. We like the tall shade trees and the friendly atmosphere. They were most gracious about letting pick a site and we chose our site based on the length of our rig and circumnavigating trees. All dirt parking and the sites are narrow and uneven. Our particular site site was such that we had to put our chairs in front of our rig instead of near the front door. Picnic table was on a slope and not really usable. Nice playground for kids and it's close to Custer and Mt. Rushmore. Beautiful area which is the reason we will return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
We were staying in Rapid City, and wanted to be closer to fishing up in the Black Hills, so we drove up to Custer, and looked at all the campgrounds, before picking one to move up to. We found this campground, drove through it, liked the wide spaces and all the pine trees for shade, so we decided to stay. We liked it here so much, we stayed another month, they do have monthly rates. It is so close to all the great fishing and going into Custer for things. The sites are not on top of each other, table and fire pit at each site, bathrooms are cleaned daily, and they are individual bathroom/showers, each a separate room, which was nice. We are planning to come back here someday, and will be staying at this campground again. Gave a 9 rating only because of the dirt roads and site. If everything was paved, I would have given this park a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Large, spacious sites. Extremely nice office staff. Great playground for kids. Beautiful grounds are very clean with no cigarette butts discarded! Will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
We were not as impressed with this park as previous reviewers. Worst issue was the internet. The internet connectivity was among the worst I have found. It simply didn't work except at odd hours when few were on. While the park's internal WiFi signal per se was fine, the service used by the park clearly has nowhere near sufficient capacity. If connectivity is important to you, go elsewhere. Other than that, we had trouble finding a level site, and the park layout is very disorganized. Also, if you have AT&T phones, there is no cell signal and you have to drive into town to get a signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Price reflects a weekly rate. We reserved a back-in site, but upon arrival we were given a pull-through. The site had mature pine trees for shade. The site was level; however, the toad had to be parked sideways behind the motorhome to fit into the site. The park was not crowded and was very quiet. So quiet in fact, that turkeys and deer were in the campground pretty regularly. Noise from the highway was minimal. The park is convenient to many tourist attractions in the Black Hills. All utilities worked well. We did not notice low water pressure as some have mentioned. The Wi-Fi was slow, but it did work at the site most of the time we were here. We really liked this park and will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Very nice campground, big sites, quiet but very near the small town of Custer and close to Crazy Horse, Mt Rushmore and other attractions. If you have a GPS the directions aren't right. Its a lot closer off the main road, the GPS wants to take you 3 or 4 miles further down the road, so look for the signs! Campground host was very friendly and helpful. Gave us several brochures of things to do in the area. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
What an awesome park this was! I felt like we were staying in a State Park with cable TV! This park is very wooded, close to town yet secluded, plenty of shade to sit out and be out of the sun with a firepit. We feel blessed to have been able to stay here! They had plenty of things for kids to do, lots of area walk in and close to everything in Custer. I can't think of anything this park could do differently to make itself better. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Stayed here 5 nights. We made last minute reservations while traveling through the state. The staff was very helpful and found us a spot even though the park was very busy. The park is very clean and well run. The WiFi is spotty, but it was better than a lot of campgrounds we have visited. Plan on staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
We stayed at four different campgrounds on our Black Hills trip and this was by far our favorite. Just a beautiful peaceful setting away from all the traffic noise and commotion of other campgrounds. The sites were well spaced and we had a large grassy area behind us for the kids to run around. Our kids had an absolute blast playing cowboys in the miniature fort/playground. We had full hookups and plenty of water pressure. The newer individual bathrooms were nice but did develop a line during the morning rush. We had deer grazing just over the fence almost the entire time we were here. The only downside was no pool. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This campground offers a quiet setting on a wooded hillside. Some sites look as though leveling would be a challenge but the friendly hosts pay attention to your needs. The restrooms/showers are very clean and nicely set up with generous space and lots of hot water. AT&T cell phone and air card service are nonexistent; Wi-Fi signal is frequently slow with a lot of dropped connections. Electric and cable TV hookups are good but water pressure is very low. Our cost was based on the weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Fort WeLikIt (We Like It) is a nice park under the pines, full hookups, with very nice individual bathrooms. We stayed here 1 week because there is so much to do. The bike trail is very nice, Custer State park is so beautiful; take the wildlife loop. We would stay here again. Not sure what it will be like during the Sturgis motorcycle rally. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
We enjoyed our week stay at this campground. Finally, the sites were spacious enough to relax along side our motorhome without being right on top of the neighbor. The atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing with many pine trees to shade your site. WiFi and cable worked great and facilities were clean. The location is ideal to visit Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, and the town of Deadwood. Our pull-through site was pretty level, even though we were on a huge slope. I definitely would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
Really nice campground in a beautiful setting. Site we were in had a little road noise but very tolerable. Very clean and well kept. As previous poster said deer and turkeys roam through the park. Some spaces looked a little unlevel but the pull thru we were in was fine. Wi-Fi and cable worked great. Very pet friendly. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
This is a lovely RV park that feels more like a state park setting. Lots of trees to provide shade and the facilities are spotless. Checkin was handled by a very nice and helpful lady. We hadn't been to our campsite 10 minutes before we noticed a bunch of turkeys walking through the campsite next to us. The Wi-Fi works very well and the cable TV has a large selection of channels. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
This was a nice park. The employees were helpful. The restrooms and showers were great! Laundry was clean and machines were in good working order. Very helpful map given out to us for the area. Best of all, each day we saw wild deer, chipmunks and turkeys just wander through the campsite. There are also tepees and covered wagons for family camping fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
It is one mile from Custer,situated in a nice pine setting. It is twenty miles to Mount Rushmore. The first site we were given was extremely out of level. The second site, hard to back into because of trees ,but manageable. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
The interior roads and sites are gravel. The park is nestled in a forest and we were unable to use our awning due to the pine trees. Ours and most of the other sites are not level. We needed to use all 50 of my Lynx levelers to level our 5th wheel. Rest rooms and showers were very clean most of the time. Power and water were stable and constant. Local grocery prices were high, so we will probably stay somewhere closer to Rapid City next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This place is lovely! Plenty of shade, beauty, quiet, deer right outside the rig. We loved it. We rated this a 9 and not a 10 due to the sites being unlevel and some sites a challange to back into. Lots to do in the area, hiking, fishing, exploring. We would return here in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Wi-fi is intermittent and often does not function. Park has a couple of long-term residents who don't seem to follow the camp rules. Tent sites appear unlevel. Angle at which RV sites are located can make parking difficult. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Free WiFi, 50 amp hookups, water, sewer, cable TV and $30/night. We found our spot high on the hill among the trees. This is a very neat campground – old time and very comfortable. Very woodsy. We stayed here while we toured all of the area. Lots of deer and elk around, and we totally enjoyed our visit. Would stay here again any time. We have a 38ft MH, and it is a little wiggly getting around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$26
Well located park for visiting area attractions. Campground hosts were friendly. Campground is right off a main road and some sites back up very closely to the road. Our site just happened to be one that was close to the road. We had requested a level site as we wanted to take the truck camper off the truck during our stay. The site wasn't very level -- others in the campground would have suited us better. We liked them so much we extended our stay at the campground rather than move to another campground in the northern Black Hills as we had originally planned. Overall, we were satisfied with the campground and would stay there again -- provided it was in May before the summer rush started. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
This is a campground setting not an RV resort. Sites are well spaced, somewhat friendly people, quiet park, lots of pines. The laundry room is VERY SMALL only 3 washers & 4 dryers. There was a line waiting to use them when we were there. It looked like they were building a playground for kids. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
Remote campground similar to forest service site, well shaded, quiet and well maintained, particularly the bath/shower rooms, which were individual and roomy. Sites and roads were dirt/gravel. Very friendly and helpful staff, and a decent location for visiting nearby attractions. We camped here in a 37' MH with toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
This is a beautiful park located just a mile from Custer and very near Custer State Park. It's in a beautiful setting - very quiet and remote-feeling, yet close enough to attractions to be convenient. The owner and his wife are experienced RV park operators and do an excellent job. They provided great customer service and went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant stay. The only negative was that the WiFi service was sporadic, but I believe this was due to a problem with the ISP rather than the actual WiFi setup at the park. We were here for 8 days and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
Great park, propane avail, playground for kids, close to everything. Was a workcamper there for 14 mo. best place I've ever been. Definite keeper. Will go back. Was there in 2005, We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
I would call the interior raods and camping spaces in this campground rustic. Although "big rig spaces" are offered, there are very few that you can actually fit a big rig into becasue of the trees, especially if you have multiple slides. Although the parking spots are relatively level, there are few spots where the picnic area is level. Ours was so unlevel we couldn't sit at the picnic table nor in our lounge chairs outside. It seems that fill dirt may have been added to level the spot so there was a gulley that ran around the bottom of the entire parking space making it necessary to hop from out bottom step to keep from stepping off into a hole. The park advertises wi-fi but most spaces are too far away from the office and there are too many trees to receive it. Only the closest spots to the office receive wi-fi. Addtionally, the front of our space was about 10 ft off the main road. There are very few really nice, level spots that are close to the office that we would have loved, but those are always booked well in advance. The office staff was exceptionally nice and helpful but I would not recommend this campground unless you plan to stay "camper bound" while there. We jokingly re-named this campground "FortWeHateIt". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
Quiet! Long pull-thru under pine trees. Sites gravel not too level, dirt roads. Very friendly and helpful staff. Laundry. Good cable TV. WiFi good close in, repeater due this year. Almost like camping in remote forest. 1 1/2 miles from Custer, groceries, hardware, restaurants, rock shops. Centrally located for Black Hills sights including Mt. Rushmore. Several scenic loop roads nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
This is a new park opened in 2003. Gravel sites that are fairly level. Some are small, but they still are working on the property. Cable TV and WiFi are planned for 2004. Certainly would stay there again. Tall pine trees. The water has iron in it, which is typical for the area, so be careful doing laundry. Very nice clean bathouse and laundry. Friendly folks in a great area with lots to do and see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com