214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Horse Thief Campground & RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (605) 574-2668
CGID2575

Horse Thief Campground & RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   10   8   10   9   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
A nice quiet RV park, with friendly staff. Close to all the tourist sites in the Black Hills. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This was a great campsite and my favorite of the 2013 season. Sites are spaced good. Fires are aloud at each campsite. Bathrooms were clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
The secondary road to the park from the main US highway is a little tight for a 45 foot coach with a tow. Lucky, it was only 2 miles. It was freshly paved. The check in was great, very friendly!! The roads were all graveled, but very tight. Our site had a large trees, pine with a table. The site was not level. Had to reposition the coach. Was still barely able to level it. Needed a lot more gravel. While we were there we encountered several large thundershowers. On several occasions the gravel road washed out. The owner was quick to fix things, which was fine. When leaving it was a struggle to dodge large rocks and the washed out shoulders of the gravel internal roads. If you're 40 feet and less its a fine place to stay. They will need to do some work to keep large rigs coming in. Really need to address the roads. Finally, the owners were very nice, friendly and very helpful. Place was very clean!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
I love this park, so beautiful to sit at the campsite and look up at the mountains in the morning and evenings. Nice and close to everything- Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, Keystone, Deadwood, and many many other attractions too numerous to mention. The campsites are nice and grassy! The staff is very friendly and courteous. I hope to come back here every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$49
Nice Campground with a secluded feel. Good service. Great play area for kids with adjacent big natural rocks to climb. Sites are not very level so leveling jacks are put to good use! The management was welcoming and most accommodating about letting us stay a couple of hours longer free of charge. Wi-Fi is terrible but this is often the case in many campsites. I would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
We passed up three other parks to stay at this one. Very nice, friendly staff. The camp sites are small, but far enough apart. I say small by the size of the gravel drive. You feel like you are camping on their grass, not the gravel. It can be a tight turn for larger trailers, but I saw nobody give up and move on. All utilities are within easy reach. This park is on the Needles Highway and it is being re-paved right now, so there is construction traffic and noise, but not before 7:30 a.m. It can be slow drive to Custer State Park with the construction delays, but not bad. Who's in a hurry here anyway? Big playground for the kids. Huge lawns for the kids or dog to play on. It would be very scenic here if it were not for the beetle killed pines around this area. We would recommend this park to everybody. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Stayed here 10 nights to visit the local sites. Great central location for Badlands NP, Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer SP, and Jewel Cave. We also did day trips to Wall Drug and Devils Tower from here. Nestled in the mountains and away from congestion, but still close to Hill City. Nice local shops, restaurants, and wineries. Wi-Fi fair at site and intermittent. Nicest restrooms and showers we have seen in an RV park. Many wildlife sitings in park including deer and turkey. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
This is a park that feels like your just camping in the woods. We had a large pull-through site in the back for a few nights. The sites have very good spacing. This is a clean, well run park. The staff was great and the location is center to everything. We will be back for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Very nice park and centrally located to tourist attractions. The owners and staff are friendly and knowledgable. The store has all the amenities you could need; there are 3 washers/dryers; and plenty of showers. We stayed here 3 nights and would have loved to have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
This park is located on a hillside with gravel roads. Most the the sites were fairly level with shade and grass between. The restrooms were ok, showers each had a private stall with change area, but kind of cramped. The Wi-Fi was not very good, strong signal but extremely slow (when it was working). Laundry facilities were nice and reasonable priced. Our site afforded us a beautiful view of the valley and hills across the road. Very little road noise. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
This is the second year we have stayed here with friends, and we enjoy the park. Unfortunately, pine beetles have really reaked havoc on many of the trees here (like much of the Black Hills) and the owners have removed hundreds of trees. The nights are nice and peaceful, though, and it was not at all crowded when we went. There is a nice big open grassy area to play games and the pool is also nice. It is also a nice home base for exploring all of the surrounding areas. We will be back again next summer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Road and campsites are more dirt than gravel. Restrooms are not very clean. Internet service is bad. Would not stay there again--too many other options in the Hill City area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
People here are wonderfully nice and helpful. The campground was very quiet, clean and in beautiful surroundings. We were here 2 weeks before they closed for the season, but would come back even in the busiest of times. Very convenient to all attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
We meant to go to Horse Thief Lake Campground and made the mistake of coming to this campground because we followed the road signs. Do not make the same mistake. It was not a positive experience. Our fire pit was on the side of a slope which made sitting by the fire difficult if not impossible. The pit had cigar butts in it so we passed on the fire. The sites were littered with cigarette butts and candy wrappers. The bathroom was very dirty. When taking a shower, the campers at the sinks can see in because the gaps between the door and panels is wide. But the gaps were so filled with dust and dirt maybe they could not see in. The toilets are old and outdated with signs instructing you to hold the handle down to get an adequate flush. Not everyone followed these instructions as evident when you entered a stall. The Wi-Fi was only available if you sat on the front porch of the check in office. The sites were very close together and unpleasant. We camp 45 days a year and this was one of the worse campgrounds we have stayed in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
Stayed here 2 nights, should have moved on. Sites very uneven, smell of sewer at our site, no cell coverage and no cable. Good Wi-Fi if you are close to the office. Looks like a nice pool for the kids. There are many many RV parks that are not advertised in the area that are cheaper and nicer. This is basically gravel and it was smelly. Too expensive for what you get. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
Good central location. Friendly staff. Pull-through sites were relatively easy-in/easy-out. Limited big-rig parking for registration. Quiet at night. Very good pricing for the area. Regarding the Wi-Fi: a fellow camper handled it best by sitting on the front porch with a laptop and a book. Connectivity is extremely slow, bordering on non-existent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Great experience! Beautiful park away from the highway; kids loved the pool (although a bit small) and the play area. Staff friendly and helpful. Seemed like the showers were crowded most of the time. We will go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
The family that runs this place is very friendly and helpful. Good for family and kids. Some sites are open to grass, others to dirt, so be conscience of that when making reservations. The best part of the trip for our kids was the daily hike/climb up a rock formation at the edge of the campground (lookout point). It gives a great view of the surrounding peaks and the valley. Campground is located on 87 Needles Highway, be sure to come in off of 16/385, unless you love driving a camper on hairpin turns on the edge of a cliff. Very conveniently located for main attractions in the area. WiFi is only for on the porch and service is very slow. Multiple shower stalls in bathrooms, but mainly for individuals, tight for more than one. Nice and quiet at night, no road noise, and the other campers were warm and friendly. Sylvan Lake trail was another great place to let kids explore and climb on rocks. Would have given it an 8 but we got one of the dirt sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Staff was very friendly at check-in. I did not use the WiFi but we were told by the staff that it was intermittent and slow. Sites are pretty close together. The park is very convenient to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Wind & Jewel Caves, Hill City and Custer State Park. Good Sam discount is available if you ask for it, they do not ask you. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
The sites are very small here. The first site we were given was very bad and we actually damaged our camper trying to pull into it. My husband complained and we were given a better site. However, he had to spend the next morning fixing our camper from the damage. They also use the end of a row as a camp site so it is difficult to navigate when pulling in or out of a site. I am not sure how some of the big rigs managed it. We did use their laundry, which was very clean. The bathrooms were also clean. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
New owners for very pretty campground. WiFi was intermittent and slow, but they are working on it. Some trouble with laundry being full of unattended clothing. Lots of kids, so can be noisy and some trouble with dogs off leash. Sites were pretty close together. Is nice to be away from road noise and is very convenient to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Wind & Jewel Caves. Very small tunnels on 89, so use 385/16 to find this park. Good Sam discount and a nice stocked store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This is a nice campground close to all the major tourist sites and worth the extra trip from the interstate if you plan on spending several days in the area. Though we had rain over a 24 hour period the individual sites were free of water or mud. Sites are not level but campers should have no difficulty leveling the sites. If you like a woody natural site this is a good campground with deer and fox visiting in the evening. Wi-Fi cannot be relied upon and local TV reception is very limited. Bring a book! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
My wife and I and our dog spent 2 evenings at this campground. During the day we were sight seeing and only in camp evenings. Nearby campers were a little noisy in the mornings packing up early to move on. Campground owners have no control over this, other campers could be more considerate. The campground well maintained and management and staff very friendly and helpful. The Campground very centrally located for sightseeing in Black Hills area. The WiFi was very spotty. Lack of phone service and TV reception was enjoyable for vacation. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This could be a nice park if they didn't pack so many people into such a small space. The site we had was mud and gravel and our jacks punched down several inches. If you're a tent or popup camper, good luck. There is one bathhouse for a large campground. While we were self-contained, I looked in and only saw 4 showers for a campground of several hundred people. There was only one dish wash area that was always backed up at meal times. While we were there, the Wi-Fi system was down. While this seems to be the norm at campgrounds (who designs these systems?), it was still frustrating since the big rig RV area is in a narrow valley, lined with trees. We arrived early in the week and no garbage was picked up while we were there for almost a week. As a result, the dumpsters were overflowing and trash was everywhere. I don't know if this is the best in the area, but I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Very nice park with VERY sloped sites, which is to be expected in the Black Hills. Bathrooms were nice, pool was clean, and the staff was friendly. WiFi not available while we were there. Told us it would be working the "next" day. The next day would come and we were told the "next" day. I needed internet access for work, and had planned on it, but never got it. No TV channels available, nor will you probably have a cell phone signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This was a beautiful campground, in a gorgeous area with the nicest staff. We would stay again in a second! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
We camped here 24 years ago, as it turns out, liked it then and still do. They've made a lot of changes since then - pool, wireless, etc. This is one of the few places we've had to use the campground's wireless and it was off and on, but manageable. The kids seemed to be having a marvelous time. It's a lovely setting under tall pine trees near Rushmore and other Black Hills attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is a nice, peaceful campground. It is a little far off the main road, which is why we rated it a little lower. The bathrooms are old, but clean. Some sites were a little hard to pull out of because of the angle and trees. We would camp here again. Wi-fi is almost non-existent at the sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
This campground our first stop of a multi-stay trip. We had site 59. Its almost the farthest from the lodge. It was clean and easy to access. Our site was wooded and shaded. Hookups worked well. Bath/shower house was also clean and large too. Nice heated outdoor pool. WIFI did not reach our site despite having extra antennas in the campground. I sat on the porch to do some work. Connection was slow, but reliable. I would stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
The campground itself is not too bad and it is centrally located for local attractions. Our site (121) was a pull-thru with gravel and grass,and fairly level. The WI-FI did not work for several days and the office personnel attributed it to "the weather". When it finally did work it was extremely slow and would not connect most of the time. Staff considered WI-FI problems a pain and did not seem to be concerned. I agree with a previous comment that overall the campground was okay but the staff was not. If you want a "rustic" experience, this might be alright for you... There is no cell service, no cable TV,no local TV, and satellite reception only from a few sites.We will make another choice next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$27
Everything was perfect! The only reason we give it a "9" and not a 10 is because of the gravel sites. Utilities are in the right spot. You really have Wifi at your coach. Very quiet, way off the main roads and close to ALL attractions! We would definitely recommend this site and come again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
Sites pull through, but I needed to take off toad first as you must park in front of your motorhome and the sites start going downhill, not flat. Large park, close to Mount Rushmore and Custer State Park. We used Camp Club USA and our fee was half and owner was very easy to deal with We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
Great park like setting. We have a 31" trailor and had no problem finding a space. WIFI worked fine for us, but was told it didn't work at some sites due to trees. Great location for sightseeing. We felt like we were camping out in the wilderness. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
We used this campground as a base camp for checking the area, such as Needles Highway, Mt Rushmore, and Crazy Horse. It is centrally located for easy access. It’s basically located on the side of a hill in the woods. Loved the views, wildlife, and atmosphere. Also, my daughter loved the playground and play area. Their water has a lot of minerals in it. Clogged my water filter after two days. WiFi is a no go. Staff did their best but kept saying my computer was not compatible, but neither was anyone else’s because everyone was having the same problem. Staff was friendly and helpful with directions and area information but they did seem defensive with the WiFi. Seems they get quite a few complaints. Verizon air card and cell phone were both no go’s. Ended up traveling to Hill City and sitting in the lobby of the Comfort Inn to get internet and cell service. Not sure if we would stay here again. Glad we camped here in the off season, I would not want to stay here in peak season. The price was good for the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
We stayed here in '93 and again just recently in aug. '05. We loved this campground! The views were excellent, and you felt as though you were camping in the Hills and not just a field. The sites at the back of the campground (behind the bathhouse), which BTW is clean, are all gravel. The sites at the front have grass and were very nice. It is centrally located in the hills. Overall a nice campground I would recommend to anyone! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Horsethief Campground in Hill City, SD has tremendous scenery around the place. The campground itself is okay and it is centrally located. Our site (126) was a secluded site but was on a hill. The trailer leveled okay but everything else (chairs, tables, etc) would not level. The driveway for the trailer and the surrounding area was all dirt (very little gravel) and we had a storm come thru which ended up giving us about 5 inches of mud all over every item we had outside. The campground web site boasts of having WI-FI available. While this is true it is extremely slow and would not connect most of the time. I asked the staff about this and they did not seem to care that I was having an issue (which I later found out that other campers were experiencing the same thing). The staff was very distant and not polite at all. Overall the campground was okay but the staff was not. I would not recommend the site to others at this time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This campground has a great central location north of the Needles Highway in the Black Hills. Many of the sites have shade, and others have a view of the nearby mountains. Our kids loved the playground, and my wife loved the washer and dryer, saying they were the best she has seen. The bathrooms are clean and nice, though they can get crowded and there is offensive graffiti in several of the stalls. We found the staff very friendly. We definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Rude staff. Sites not level, asked to relocate and was told that there were no other sites available even though several remained open throughout stay. Would never stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
Stayed with my son and family 1st week of 10/05. Found staff easy to deal with. On day of departure, 4 inches of snow made us unsure as to leave or stay. Owners assured us we could stay beyond the 11am checkout to make up our mind based on weather and road conditions. Spaces are close and back-ins at some sites might pose challenge. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2001
$26
Very tight turns. Very rude staff. One of our group was washing off his rear stabilizer and berated for washing it by owner. Cruddy laundry. Owner screamed at customer. One of our group put a broken pine branch thru the wall of his 5th wheel on a turn -if it had been sawed off this would not have happened. We shall not use this park again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com