223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Mount Rushmore KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 113 user reviews. Phone: (605) 574-2525
CGID2576

Mount Rushmore KOA

Camp Information
Sites
500
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   2   3   7   7   7   6   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$47
We have camped here twice, at the beginning of the Sturgis Bike Rally, and have enjoyed it both times. Very clean campground and friendly staff. The campground is really busy during Sturgis, but the staff does a great job in keeping the area clean. Workers come around every day to pick up your trash and are willing to help or answer questions. There are a lot of activities for families with children, so this is a nice place for them. The added $10 per night activity fee that is charged for every camper makes this campground a little more expensive, but they do have a lot of things to do. The campground does get a little crowded, but all sites are nice packed gravel pads and each site has it's own fire pit and picnic table. There are a variety of campsites to choose from, so there is something for everyone. I'm not sure if my Nightly Rate is correct, but it's close to the amount we paid. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$72
We just returned from our second stay here and we were really looking forward to it as it had been a few years since we were in the Mount Rushmore area. You must pay a mandatory $10 per day resort fee on top of the already expensive rates. This wouldn't have been as bad if we could get Wi-Fi. The park doesn't have Wi-Fi throughout; just a few hotspots and impossible to connect at these hotspots. My husband commented to the staff on this, and they really didn't care. Apparently it hasn't worked in years. The staff really wasn't helpful. In past KOAs, the staff has booked other KOAs for us when required. Here they wouldn't and due to lack of Wi-Fi or a phone (our cells wouldn't work in the area) we couldn't book ourselves. We eventually booked by going into town and getting in a Wi-Fi location. I found a lot of inconsiderate people. We were in a pull-through spot (no back in available) and people were using it as a through way many times throughout the day. We wouldn't have cared if if was children, but it was adults as well. We really didn't appreciate it. It isn't altogether the other campers fault. If the KOA took out a few sites and put in walkways people would have less further to walk and possibly could help eliminate some of the people cutting through sites. Walked past some sites and could smell weed. I believe this is illegal in South Dakota. Didn't see a lot of staff monitoring the park. Those are just a couple of things we were unhappy with. I should have been smart and read the reviews before booking this KOA but neglected to based on our excellent first visit. After a couple of days we tried to find another campground but being a popular tourist destination this was not possible. If we are in the area again, we will stay at the local competition that has Wi-Fi (found out when we tried to check in and could connect with my iPad) and no daily resort fees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$75
If you have preteen children and a very healthy travel budget, this park could be for you. However, if you are desirous of a peaceful, spacious campsite with modern amenities (cable tv, wifi, 50 amp service), this may not be your best bet. On the positive side, we were able to procure a spot on a "same day" basis during a busy time of year. The restrooms and showers were clean and there was a nice open area to exercise the dog. The setting of the park is also quite lovely if one can ignore the hectic activities and crush of campers clustered very close together. We were charged $75 for a site that was supposed to be pull-thru, but we had to unhook to accommodate our 45' coach. The person who took our reservation did mention that the site was 60' long, but manuevering in such close quarters made unhooking mandatory to negotiate our departure. Further, we got 30 amp service rather than 50 amp. Fortunately, it was not terribly hot since our attempt to run 2 roof airs was unsuccessful. Our site did not have wifi or cable TV (which is only available in "deluxe" sites). Finally, our rate of $75 included a $10 "resort saver fee". I called to ask what that fee was for and was told it covered amenities primarily designed for children. When I explained we would not be using any of those amenities, I was told "everyone pays". I asked to speak to a manager and was transferred. I got voicemail and left a message, explaining my objection to the resort saver fee and the $3 fee tacked on because we were traveling with a dog. I left that message around 3pm and never got a call back. If you don't want a "Kamping Carnival" experience, there are other options in the area. We will never return to this campground. To add insult to injury, even though the manager never returned my call, we received a satisfaction survey shortly after our departure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$46
Our recent stay at the Mount Rushmore KOA was excellent. We stayed for a single night in May so we could visit Mount Rushmore. There was a small snafu when we checked in, but it was dealt with. Our space was in the back of the campground where we enjoyed the silence and darkness at night and giving us a great night sleep. There was a great playground that our kids played in and really enjoyed, despite the colder temperatures. Most activities were closed; I wish they had been opened because there was so much for the family to do. Would I recommend this park? Yes. Would we come back? Yes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
Great place to camp with kids as there are a lot of things for them to do, and most of it is included in the regular rate. If you're used to a "RV Park" type of place, where you don't have much space, then you'll be fine. I didn't expect the privacy of a state or provincial park as I chose the full hookups over the privacy since most of our days were spent checking out the Black Hills. Only gave it a 7 since I think they could knock about $10 off the nightly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$79
Great for kids, otherwise, not so good. This is a campground not a resort. Little separation between sites, no trees, some grass, gravel and dirt. Very poorly managed, nice but untrained staff (many from out of state), lots to see in area. No, will not return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$78
This appears to be a great experience for youngsters. Adults camp as well. This is a campground, not a resort. The price is too high for what this camp provides for adults. No Wi-Fi, no cell service, bad cable, poor water pressure, poor litter pick-up, inadequately trained office staff. One concierge did not know how to book a stay at another KOA. The restaurant and tavern were under-staffed and the service was awful. Almost everyone travels with pets. They have spent a vast amount of money on enticing families with children. There is only one place to exercise your pet and it is not fenced. Can you put up a simple fence for a dog park? They need to police the speeding carts and ATVs. The best thing about this park is the staff at the Stables. We will look elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$85
Location is perfect for the Black Hills exploration. Lots of onsite activities are awesome for families: water slides, fishing pond, 2 pools & hot tubs, ice cream/pizza/fudge shop onsite, hiking/biking trails, horseback riding, basketball court, inflatable jumping pillow and more. Negatives: Basically NO access to wifi unless you sit right in front of the office building; 3 yrs we have been here, & I can't figure out why they will NOT fix this. Due to location, there is no or very little cell service for all carriers. May be able to text in special spots and an occasional phone call if you are standing in just the right spot. Hill City does have very good cell service for all carriers & is about 5 minutes away. Deluxe campsite bathrooms are run down and need remodel, but rest were pretty good in other areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$93
This campground has many kid-friendly activities but feel extra "resort" fee per night is excessive. Sites very close together but level & easy access. Camp store well stocked. Staff friendly. Good location for exploring the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$72
Location, location, location! Perfect location for exploring Mt Rushmore, Needles Hwy, Iron Mtn Rd, Wildlife Loop, Custer and Crazy Horse. You can't beat the onsite restaurant and facilities for children. However, our complaints were several - after a heavy rain we saw many campsites flooded, but no apparent effort to move those people to another site. Set the temperature to Cold in the laundry and yet it washed with hot water (several others complained about this). We were in a deluxe site about 3 sites down from the office and the Wi-Fi was virtually non-existent. Since we have single parent daughters that we like to be able to be in touch with, this was extremely frustrating as AT&T cell service was not available either (obviously not the fault of the campground). Next door neighbor said she had the same Wi-Fi issues. We saw some really nice, modern bathrooms, but the one servicing the deluxe area really needed updating and repair. One time in there was enough. Yes, we would stay there again, simply because it is a perfect location for sightseeing in the Black Hills. If you have children, there are plenty of activities for them. But, I do think they need to address some of the issues that we were not happy about and I heard others complain about as well, so it wasn't just us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$68
We had a beautiful site in the tall pine trees, although 'unlevel'. Once more campers arrived in our area (it's a LARGE campground), we had to back out of our "pull through" site because of other campers vehicles parked partly in the roads. Since it is such a large campground, there were LOTS of people; lots of fires in the firepits in the evening/night and lots of smoke; making the evenings/nights very unpleasant because of all the smoke. We would only stay here again during 'off season'. First night was higher priced because it was a 'weekend'. Following nights were about $58: still pretty pricey, but it has lots of "family" amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$46
The people are very nice, though a bit understaffed. The bathrooms leave something to be desired, but the views are beautiful. We had a space by the bathroom and dumpster, but all I smelled was pine needles. Beware the back in sites, they are very small and at the back of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$15
This was off season for the campground and they only have dry camping. So no power, water or restrooms. I wanted to watch the debates and the cable and WiFi was still working so I setup. I was the only person there. Nice level sites, huge KOA that winds back into the hills. Very close to Mt Rushmore. Stayed there in a Camp-Inn teardrop trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
We stayed here 2 seperate nights. On the Tursday before Labor Day weekend we had a FHU, pull-through site for $60. The park was maybe 40% full that day. We came back for a second stay to take advantage of the $6 per person shuttle to Mt. Rushmore for the evening light show. On our second stay (Labor Day itself) we had a W&E, pull-through site for $40. The park was even less full that night. We were able to get decent WI-FI at both sites (probably because the park was not that full). Recent reviews have correctly raved about all the amenities (2 different pool areas, playgrounds, basketball, horseshoes, volleyball, trail rides, jumping pillow, etc.) at this park. This is part of the reason for the high nightly rate. Besides multiple pools, there are at least 5 bathhouses (each of which is modern with numerous showers), a second store (beside the one at the office) near the bigger pool area, a snack bar, and a full service restaurant, pancake breakfast, and so on. This is one of the biggest parks we have been to in years. Because the park is in hilly terrain, many of the different sections of the park are almost hidden from other sections. I don't know the numeric breakdown of the various types of sites, but they have FHU, PT, 50 Amp deluxe sites, tent sites, and everything in between. I can't imagine what it is like to be here when the park if fairly full (as it was over the holiday weekend). A mother with 3 kids at the pool on Monday said the pools were mobbed over the weekend. Very popular destination park for families on vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
This is a very large RV park, but each RV avenue is clearly marked so you can find your site again. Space between sites was ok, but then we just had a small travel trailer. Looking around the spacing seemed ok, though. Great for children due to the horseback rides and water parks and activities. Made me want to be a kid so I could play in the water and go down the slide. Lots of spaces to walk the dog. Restaurant and expresso coffee shop. Restrooms were clean but a bit small and crowded for the size of the park itself. People would sit on benches right outside the shower doors to wait, so privacy was limited. Movies were geared for kids, and chuckwagon dinner was not available due to some sick horses, I heard from staff. Pancake breakfast outdoors allowed some socialization and freedom from cooking or having to go out. Very close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse Monument. Again, great place for kids, but we did not have any. Fun and friendly atmosphere. Volunteer young adult staff was also helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$65
This is really a very nice family oriented park. Has everything kids could want to occupy them. My only issue with this park is it really does not have internet access. We have been here a week and have asked them to reset their router.. finally they did.. if you want to get on a page, click on it, walk away for 5 minutes and come back and maybe if you are lucky, it may be there. It also get no cell signal from Verizon or ATT. If you have to work any while here and need to communicate, stay elsewhere. You will have to leave and drive several miles to get a decent signal that will not be dropped. For this reason, I will not stay here again. Otherwise, it is a nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$70
Hand's down one of the coolest campgrounds for kids and families. Our kids loved this place. The included activities for free: ice cream social, bounce pillow, water slide, two pools, mini golf, bounce houses, and I am sure I am forgetting something else. The sites are a little cramped, but we didn't spend that much time at our site anyway. We had room for our rug and to put the slides/awning out. It can be crowded. We planned on utilizing this park as a "base camp" to visit Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, etc., but we barely left the park. Our kids were having too much fun. It's dusty and dirty because hardly and of the roads are paved. That's on bad thing. The pools were heated well and most all the facilities were clean: including the laundry rooms. We would recommend this park to friends because of the location and amenities. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
A fantastic campground with all amenities. Level sites, nice clean showers and restrooms, nice pool area, splash pad for little ones, two stores, super pancake breakfast for $2.50 each morning. All in all a very nice campground. Busy, but we like it busy. Nice play area, small water slide, horseback riding on site, and rental cars and ATV's. We will definitely stay again. Kids are already asking when we will be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$65
Kid Heaven! This place is a massive kid playground no doubt about it. This is our 2nd year here with many more to come. The campground: Big rig friendly, level sites, Wi-Fi doesn't really work, clean showers/bathrooms, clean grounds, just a nice KOA. Resort: This is what you are paying for. You drive in here, throw the kids out the door, literally, and find them a few hours later! You have 2 pools, water playground, several playgrounds, waterslide, bouncy pillow, tons of rocks to climb on, movie theater, gem hunting, fishing and fire truck rides. Did I mention 2 places to eat, wine tasting every night and beer on a deck! Yep and a bar. Put the kids in the theater at 7pm and it is cocktail time! We pull in here and usually don't fire up the truck again for a couple of days. Horseback riding on site. Bicycle and hiking trails across the street. I rode from one side of the campground to the other to visit a friend and it is around half a mile, plenty of riding for kids. If you don't like kids, go somewhere else. If you have kids this is the place to be. The sites are about $40 for the full hook up. You pay an extra $6 per person for resort fees and other stuff. It is pricey for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Like others have said, if you have kids, this is the ultimate campground. There is enough for them to do to keep them occupied and then some. Some costs extra: like horseback riding and bike rentals. But so much is included: like two swimming pools, jumping pillow, mini-golf, basketball, volleyball, waterslide, movies in the evenings and the list goes on and on. There are also several restaurants, a $2.50 pancake breakfast, a free wine tasting from different local wineries every evening, and car and ATV rentals. Staff was friendly and helpful. It has a great location, near all of the attractions near Mount Rushmore and the southern Black Hills. We had a fun time; however, it's not perfect. We found the showers in the evenings to be dirty with poor pressure. The second night we camped, they jammed a huge party of loud tent campers right next to us. One of the pools sits right next to where the horses are kept, so you get the flies and smell. In all, if you have kids, you can't beat it. On the other hand, if you don't like kids everywhere: there are better choices nearby! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$90
This campground is a BIG BUCKS place to stay. As they expression goes you are paying for Location, Location, Location. Park is conveniently located to points of interest. Our first night here they put us on a site that was ideal for a pop up, not a big rig. Remainder of our stay on a Deluxe site. Sites through out park are small and tight. The rating one would give this campground would depend of what section of the park you stayed at and the site. There are sections of the park where campers are packed in like ants on a sugar pile. Deluxe sites are the ones that have cable. Digital TV over the air is not existent due to the high hills surrounding the park. If traveling with children this campground have lots of activities. Many have fees tied to them. There is a large staff at this park. Some are friendly while others are not. Campground has large number if Wi-Fi antenna which make for a good service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$65
We were a little hesitant to stay here because of the other reviews, and they are right. If you have kids and are staying in the Mt. Rushmore area I would highly recommend this KOA. The list of activities and amenities for kids goes on and on. The kids would rather stay at the campground than go sightseeing. If you don't have kids you may want to stay away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$58
The KOA web site base rate for the stay does not include the $6 (11% of base rate) Resort Fee that is added after the selection (kind of a bait and switch type of ploy since the resort fee is not optional and the rate is already too high). Site we had was poorly leveled side to side for a premium pull through site. Sewer connection was also the highest I have seen. Sewer flow was very hard to establish with the connection almost as high as the fifth wheel sewer connection. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$64
I have this a 7 because of its amenities, store, restaurant, pool, playground, horseback riding, car rental, 4wheeler rental etc. Sites are a bit crowded, no trees for RVs (didn't see the tent sites). Close to Rushmore and Custer State park. Wi-Fi didn't work in the back where our site was. I would stay again, though a bit pricey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$72
We really got taken by the additional fees at this place. Not only do they charge $4/kid/day extra, they charge an additional "resort" fee. When questioned about this, the check-in staff was apathetic. This place is a beehive of activity though and location is great; 5 miles from Mt. Rushmore and between Hill City & Keystone. We will never stay here again because of the deceptive fee practices, but if you can stomach these fees (especially with kids), you'll most likely enjoy this place. Warning, if you go in the late summer, be prepared to be waken up by Harley's at 6:30 am. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
A nice park if you don’t mind LARGE. It is very close to Mt Rushmore and has a lot of activities. We enjoyed the pancake breakfast and went for a 3 hour horse ride. We had a back-in (Site 649) which gave us a little privacy. The pull throughs near the front are on top of each other. The Wi-Fi was so unrealizable they should even advertise it as available. Cell phone is also spotty. But if Mt Rushmore is your destination, this is the best place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Big park, family oriented, lots of kids, relatively quiet but still noisy at times. Dirt pads that get muddy after rain, sites reasonably spaced but are not long enough to accommodate both 5th wheel and truck. If you are retired and looking for peace and quiet look around for another park. Expensive but has a lot of amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We stayed here for a week while visiting Mt. Rushmore and other local sites. The park is very large and has lots of families with children, but is well maintained and relatively quiet, considering the number of campers. Our kids enjoyed the jumping pillow, water slide, pool, and playground. All-you-can-eat pancakes for a nominal fee (I think it was $1.99), although drink prices are pretty steep. It cost our family of five over $20 for breakfast. The showers in the main shower-house were AMAZING - hot water, good water pressure, individually locking doors, and well-maintained. It's a busy park, with lots of kids on bikes, so we didn't like to drive through the park unless absolutely necessary. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Park was clean. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$70
Rental cars are junkers and expensive. Park is a zoo, it is soooooooo large. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$72
Huge park with tons of activities going on. Has a restaurant, pub, ice cream store, coffee shop, stables and horseback riding, general store. We stayed here since it was only 2-3 miles from Mt. Rushmore. Do attend the "night lighting" of the mountain. There is a shuttle from the park to take you and pick you up. Just sign up when you register. Lots of children when we were here since it was June. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$53
Great value! Everything you might need/want because it is also a resort. So many activities that we didn't have time to do all of them. Well managed - professional. More of a corporate rather than friendly feel. We rented a car, which was an older car at a high price, but the convenience was worth it. There was a hail and rain storm one night, and the maintenance crew was out the very next morning to clean/level the roads. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$70
This is our all time favorite campground. It has everything a kid or adult could ask for. We go out of our way to camp here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$65
Absolutely wonderful for adults, teens, and young children. Tons of activities, great staff, campground is HUGE! Love the separate swimming pool for adults. Shopping is fantastic. Nothing but positive for this park. Looking forward to another vacation to South Dakota. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$74
We stayed here for one night on our way out west from iowa and thought it was amazing. Our kamping kabin was close to the bathrooms, pool, water park, jumping pillow, and a nice stream. This place was truly amazing and somewhere you could easy spend a week at, whether it was renting an atv to ride trails, go horseback riding in the beautiful black hills, or enjoy many of their restaurants or $2.50 all you can eat pancake breakfast. This park is the nicest one I've ever been to. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$54
A good facility with very helpful staff who will help you out when you want to change site or need information. Our ambassador led us to our site enthusiastically and shared our dismay at the small and narrow site in the dark trees and suggested we return to the main, very modern and expensive registration building to request something else. It is good to remember that most site lengths leave little provision for a car behind behind your camper so add on your vehicle length when reserving a site. They have more sites suitable to tenters and tiny pop-ups or the big rigs. Roads get cluttered with vehicles parked willy nilly in front and behind their units because of this size issue. Buy all food and firewood elsewhere. Don's Express off exit 61 in Rapid City was our stock up point. A small bundle of wood is almost $6. Our site flooded in the rain and staff offered to help us move. Well drained sites are not evident after 2 days of rain. This campsite has resort activities and lots of programmed events: our kids loved it. Most sites are on top of each other: go for something in the 600's or get really picky off their hard to read map. Do not take their first offer. This camp ground could get really busy and noisy in the summer heat. Memorial Weekend is a great time to visit: lots to do and see and a very quiet campground this time out. Free garbage and recyclable pickup each morning is a nice little touch as is their focus on recycling. Ice cream is a good treat and the free wine tasting is a nice touch for adults. They check ID very carefully. All in all we were impressed with this campsite for their facilities and staff attitude but not for the campsites. It is a lot like camping in a parking lot so get really picky and feel free to get advise from the Ambassador. They know what is really going on. 500+ sites make for lots of traffic so if you like quiet and nature, this is not a good choice. If you have kids and want a top class resort experience, then have at it. Just accept the high price for a small campsite and a $6 per night resort fee for their WiFi which is very good, and the fun events for kids and adults. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$53
I can't give it a 10 without having paved sites and roads, but a 9.8 is right. Was here through the Labor Day weekend, and I still had lots of room. Great destination resort as well as a good base to tour from. One of the best campgrounds I ever stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$70
KOA speaking this has got to be the best one. There is plenty to do and close to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. A restaurant (full service) on site, horseback riding, coffee shop, ice cream shop, pancake tent, pizza place, all on site. It all comes at a price but the place was packed and we spend 4 nights there enjoying everything this place has to see, we came in a week after Sturgis rally so we didn't have to put up with all the clowns with the loud mufflers. Would stay here each and every time I come to this area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Site was not level, very wet with no shade. Having said this the high rating was for the amenities. Lots for the kids to do. Great store and central location for sightseeing. Very busy campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
DO NOT follow GARMIN's directions. If you are being directed to get here any way other than on Hwy 244, you won't find the entrance. Ours sent us down "Old Hill City Rd" and "Palmer Gulch Trail" this would take you down a two track to come in the back of the KOA. This is great if you are camping in an ATV. This is a great KOA. Lot's to do for the kids. Two stores, a water slide, nice pool, playground, etc. Very clean, friendly, etc. Sites are small, but we didn't spend a lot of time in our site. We like the shaded sites up on the hill better. We did the Chuck Wagon trail ride and it was a lot of fun. Great meal and great entertainment. This is an added cost and it is a bit pricey, but if you consider the meal you are eating and the entertainment, it is not bad. We enjoyed it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$52
Really fun campground. My kids wanted to stay longer just to play in the camp. Really reasonable car rental rates if you want to park your rig. Very close to Mt Rushmore with a nightly shuttle to the lighting ceremony. Great access to the Black Hills, Wind Cave and Custer State Park. Restrooms and showers were clean. They'll even pick up your trash each morning if you put it out. 100 miles of ATV trails connected to the park and rentals on site. Horseback rides throughout the day and chuckwagon dinners. Wish we could have stayed longer. Very friendly staff! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$77
We just spent 5 nights at this park, just 6 miles from Mount Rushmore. The location is great but we had no cellphone signal anywhere in the area except on top of MT. Rushmore and in Hill City. Also the internet was down 6 of the 7 days we were there. They said they were working on it but it was very upsetting not to have it as we had chosen the park with that in mind. They also have a mandatory $6.00 a night resort fee for amenities whether you use them or not. Children are $4.00 per night each child on top of a very high base rate. The showers were clean but could have been cleaner. Most of the older staff was friendly and helpful but several of the younger staff at the concession stores acted as tho we were bothering them with our requests for coffee, change and food. We are returning next summer with our other grandchildren and will not be returning to this expensive campground that does not meet up to the quality we had expected and paid for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This place IS a destination resort! Yes, the Black Hills of South Dakota are great too, however this is a resort that you could bring your family to, and NOT leave! From the $2.50, all-you-can-eat pancake breakfasts every morning, the extremely clean shower houses and bathrooms, to the Fantastic Cowboy Chuckwagon Dinner show. Even if you don't want to visit Mount Rushmore, the Crazy Horse Memorial, or See Buffalo in Custer State park: camp here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
First of all this is an expensive campground, but it's not a campground really, it's a resort featuring trail-rides (at an additional cost), swimming pools, spotlessly clean washroom/showers, garbage pickup at your site. This KOA has a lot of staff. We ordered pizza from the restaurant (lodge style appearance) and had it delivered to our campsite. It was a 16 inch monster meat and fed 5 people (two adults, two teens and a younger child) comfortably. I don't really know what else to say about this KOA. It's the best KOA we've stayed in. We do find KOAs don't always live up to their ads. I'm submitting this review as I sit at my picnic table early in the morning. We would stay here again. If you plan on coming here, reserve early, it's a popular place in a great location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
This is one of the nicest KOA campgrounds that I have stayed at. Lots of activities and "stuff" for the kids. Pancake breakfast at the big tent. Only a very short drive to Rushmore. Very busy campground so reservations a must. I would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
This is a family friendly campground "resort" which had all kinds of activities for children from a water slide to trail riding. It was filled, and there were many young families obviously having a great time. We could not get cell phone reception, but that was fine for a change. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$66
The Mount Rushmore KOA was the most disappointing of all the KOA parks we stayed in on our 6 week trip. They have a grand front office building, restaurant and riding stables, but the campsites other than the premium sites were not much and not maintained well. There`s not many premium sites so make your reservations early. The staff that assigns you your site needs training, 30 foot trailers don`t go well on 25 foot sites. We stayed at 8 KOA`s on our trip, most were not living off their location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$85
Camped here in their two room camper cabins. Absolutely loved this park! Tons of stuff to do for kids. Pancake breakfast for $2.50 a person. Took the shuttle to Mt Rushmore, this is the only way to go, you miss all the traffic and the shuttle fee includes your admission to Rushmore. Staff was excellent and camp store has everything you need. Will recommend again and again! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$63
Huge place-expect lots of traffic in and out. Lots of activities for kids but you can expect a zoo atmosphere on the weekends in the summer, during the week it was a little less hectic. Wi-Fi wasn't that great-worked best early in the mornings. Don't waste your time in their restaurant, way overpriced and the food wasn't worth it. Large well stocked convince store-great location in the Black Hills. We'd stay again if we ever get back up to that part of the country. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
This is a huge park. Some roads paved, others gravel. We stayed in one of the "premium" patio sites with a nice patio table and chairs instead of the normal picnic table. They charge a nightly $6 "resort fee" that covers everything except horseback riding. Tons of activities for the kids. Wi-Fi at our sight was marginal at best and could use improvement. Staff was terrific. The bath house at our area was a bit tight. Stalls and showers kept clean, but small. Other bath houses were newer and nicer. We stayed here four nights on a deal to buy three nights and the fourth was free. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$70
Close to Mt Rushmore and many activities for the kids a plus the price is only hang up here. We should stay only several nights instead of a week. I would stay here again but, only for few nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$43
Great place to stay for the entire family. Great facilities and the people were very friendly!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$43
Advertisements for this campground stated a shuttle service available to go to Mt. Rushmore's evening lighting program, but upon arrival we learned it was not available in May. We went to this RV park because of the advertised shuttle, so we were disappointed to miss the ceremony. We had a pull-through site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
Great park, our only issue is, if you need cell phone service: there is none here. WiFi was inconsistent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
Great RV Camping park. Went in May so lots of availability. Close to Mt Rushmore Memorial. Suggest registration staff notify new guests about freeze alerts for water faucets into RV's so hoses and valves don't get damaged. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$42
The Park was very clean. It has good site sizes with nice patio, patio table, chairs and fire rings. There is a large gift shop. I would have given it a 10 except the restrooms/showers were old and could have used some work although they were clean. The WiFi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$42
It is a great park, close to Mt. Rushmore. The staff was well trained, it was almost like staying at a hotel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$53
This was our first "large" park camping experience. We stayed in the central part next to one of the main roads and the vehicle traffic was constant. They call their campground a resort, probably to justify the high price. They do have a lot of things for kids: water slide, pool, mini golf, jump pillow..., and they have a great pancake breakfast in the morning. But the price is too high. We paid $57.63 for water and electric hookups, no sewer. Sewer hookups are an additional $10. The pull through lots are fairly narrow. We had to put out our campfire before we could extend the pullout on that side! On the plus side, the campground is isolated and only 5 miles west of Mt. Rushmore. There is no cable TV. Although a very nice campground, would not stay here again because of the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$70
We had a great experience at this campground. The kids had a blast of a time. The amenities are great. Our kids did not get bored at all. The two pools were clean and fun. The horse back riding, fishing, bouncing playground, and general store were all great. The price was a bit high but that was the only negative thing I can say. The showers were beautiful. This was our second trip here and we will go back again next year. Location to Mt. Rushmore is perfect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This is the 2nd largest KOA in the country, and it had every imaginable amenity! There are tons of things for kids to do -- water slide, pool, splash pad, playground, movies, and etc. My ONLY complaint: we got a spot with water/electric only, and it was up on steep hill. It was extremely hard to get our 31 foot 5th wheel into the spot, and the bathrooms were all at the bottom of the hill! There were no bathrooms on the hill area, which had tons of spots. If I stayed there again, I would make sure I had a spot down below the hill. It is only 5 miles from Mount Rushmore! We highly recommend this campground, just make reservations in advance because it's always booked solid. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$71
Without a doubt the best place to stay if you have kids!! There are so many things for them to do there and there are always lots of kids for them to play with. We stayed in a premium site which included a patio with table and chairs. The site was very roomy. Great store and laundry facility. Very close to all of the activities in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
We reserved for 3 nights, stayed 3 nights, and then begged them to let us stay longer but they had no spaces available. Yes, it's a huge park as others have reported. We were in a site near the lodge (not a deluxe site) and it was a bit cramped. But once we were in, we had plenty of room to push out slides and unroll the awning. It's crowded to say the least, but we are people persons and like being around others. Loads of kids running to and from but we enjoyed that as well. Everyone from the staff to the campers were friendly. The amenities were wonderful from rental cars to on site bar and restaurant, horse back rides, ATV rentals, even an ice cream "parlor". It's a short drive from here to Rushmore and Crazy Horse but it's also a nice base camp to see all the other sites in the Black Hills. We really enjoyed our stay here and we'd certainly stay again without hesitation. Our only recommendation? Book early! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$80
I was fooled by the lodge. It looked like a great place to be. Employees were all very nice. Sites were so close I could not even open the awning. There are lots of kids all over the place. I would pick another place because it was too crowded. We went to eat in the restaurant and the girl said it would be a 45 minute wait time. There was no one in the place. She said it was because the kitchen was small. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$66
Great amenities, but most sites are nothing special. Some sites were nice, especially the deluxe sites, but the standard pull throughs were packed in very tightly and not very nice. The park was so huge and crowded we thought it looked more like a NASCAR event than a campground. There are several restaurants and shops on the grounds, as well as ATV and auto rentals. And then there is the mini golf, swimming pool, water slide, etc. that should keep any pre-teen happy. If amenities are important to you, then this is your camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
Best KOA we encountered on our trip from Michigan to California and back again, staying in only KOA's along the way. Horse trail ride (right on site) was great. Each night the horses are let loose to run to their night pasture--the fenced path they take runs along the campground--a spectacular site, don't miss it. Tons of amenities, kids will love it. Shuttle to Rushmore and Crazy Horse very convenient. Beautiful views surrounding campground. We loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$52
Excellent resort for families and kids. two pools and hot tubs, (unheated) water slide!!!! Both pools are open until 10 pm although only one allows kids after 8 pm, which allows for quiet time for adults only which is also nice. There are horse stables for riding and Chuckwagon dinners on site. They have RENTAL CARS just for users of resort, although a bit pricey ($50+ a day) but well worth it. There is a pancake breakfast tent open every morning and entertainment in evenings. GREAT STAFF. Negatives: WiFi only works down in main campground/around store and it doesn't work very well in the upper portion or far reaches of the park. The laundry is a bit expensive. Cable TV is only available on premium sites, and one can't use antenna or dish away from premium sites due to mountains. I was told by other occupants of park that they were charged higher prices for less of a space, that may have been due to their location in campground? It seemed a bit odd when we heard about this issue from others at this park. It should be noted that this is the second largest KOA in the country and they do very well operating this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$73
Let's get it out of the way up front, this place is crazy expensive. I would go so far to say that if you don't have kids with you this place would be a rip off. This place is also a contradiction in that it has some attributes that rate on extreme opposites of the scale. Most sites are dirt, many are not level, and many (including our travel companions') had big areas that were a muddy flooded mess the entire 4 days we were there). Also, for over $70 a night I don't think cable TV should be out of the question, which you don't get unless you have a deluxe site (which are few). The main pool was neon yellow one day and it took 2 or more of us to complain before they closed it down. The water in the slide attraction was also always cloudy and not properly treated correctly the entire time we were there. The place is dusty from the heavy traffic, it's like Grand Central Station most of the day and night. On the plus side, the visitor center was beautiful, the staff up there awesome, the views and location are also awesome. The newer bathroom/shower complex is 1st rate in construction and they did a fairly decent job of keeping it clean given the amount of traffic through there. We also had wifi most of the time there, although at times it was very slow. We thought the on-site horse rides were a good value as was the $2 pancake breakfast. It is a great place to let the kids go all day no doubt about it but if you want reasonable fees, calm atmosphere, and room to spread out this isn't for you. If they could control the price and have maintenance pay attention across the board I could almost rate it a 10. We would consider staying again but only while the kids are small enough to enjoy/partake in all the activities there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$54
We arrived during the height of tourist season and the experience might best be described as an absolute mass of teeming humanity. Our preference tends towards dry camping in national forests with occasional stops at full hookup private campgrounds, so this wasn't really our cup of tea. The facilities are huge and well maintained with lots of activities for the kids, but everything was extremely crowded due to the time of year. I am hoping the brown pool water was due the source and not lack of cleanliness. Due to the lateness of our reservation, we had a water and electric only site. It was very tight and crowded and difficult to get into and out of in our 40 ft motor home. There were many other sites which would have worked for big rigs just fine however. This is a practical and convenient location, especially for families, if you can handle the crowds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$68
Pricey, but well located in the Black Hills for varied activities.. $3 one time pet charge and $5 per day resort fee included in listed price on this site. We stayed in one of the deluxe sites and had plenty of space between sites. Very large KOA, but well run and well maintained. Want to go horse back riding...they have it. Want to go down a water slide...they have it. "Wifey" doesn't want to fix breakfast...go for the outdoor pancake breakfast or on site restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
Had a truly wonderful time during our week here. Staff was really helpful and all were extremely nice. Sites were a good size. On site restaurant, not a KOA associate, was very good. Only problem we had was cell phone service, but what else do you expect at the base of a large mountain. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
We went on a two week trip from PA to Yellowstone & back. This was BY FAR the BEST campground we stayed in. Very clean, good security. Restaurant & other stores on site. Horseback riding, inexpensive shuttle to Mt. Rushmore, & ATV rentals with miles & miles of trails to explore. My family & I had a blast! The Black Hills are beautiful & if we are fortunate enough to return, we will certainly stay here again. Fantastic! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
If you are a family with kids then this is a very nice campground with tons of activities. Otherwise, this CG is very crowded and noisy with very short and narrow sites. Even with their "deluxe" pull throughs, finding a spot to park your toad is a challenge and the sites are so tight that your neighbor's campfire is right next to your coach. The roads are gravel and very tight due to the parking issues. They only have cable in a few deluxe sites and reception with an antenna is poor. If you are looking for peace and quiet in a beautiful part of the country stay away from this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
This park had tons of stuff for the kids to do like miniature golf, swimming, water slide, horseback riding, giant air pillow, splash pad. It is perfect for exploring all that the black hills has to offer. The campground is very busy. The restrooms and showers could use more than one cleaning a day, that being the only bad thing. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$85
Definitely a place you can go and stay a week and keep the whole family entertained. Kids loved the huge playground, pool, gameroom and other kids activities. Trail ride was great. Lots of staff, very attentive. The christian student group interacted well with the kids. Some people said they could even see some of the fireworks from their campsites. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$85
This campground is the best KOA in the system. I do not mind paying a premium if the campground is worth the money; this one is. They had a staff of about 100 with 10 of them a Christian ministry team. The staff was polite, professional and great with the kids. We had a full agenda of sightseeing and activities in the area which was a shame because the kids would have been happy just playing at the campground. They lead their horses off to their night-time coral every night, which made the entire campground stop and watch; it was a spectacular site. If you come here please learn from my mistake and plan a “down” day where the kids have a day to just play at the CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$56
Best campground we have ever visited. We have three kids, and they were kept busy with activities throughout our visit. only 5 miles from Mount Rushmore, and the drive to the park was very scenic. Gift shop and store were stocked well, which prevented trips to the small towns nearby. One tip. Camp in the valley, as the hillside sites are a bit unlevel, which makes set-up a little challenging. Overall, we loved it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
Very nice campground. Kids area was great. New restrooms were very clean. Very nice and reasonably priced laundry facilities. Horseback riding on site was very convenient and good value. Friendly staff. Great camp store. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$54
A super or mega KOA with nearly every feature imaginable. Friendly workers greet you from the moment you arrive. Site size are average to above. Two nice size pools and a water slide for the kids. WiFi was weak but I was at the far end of grounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$70
This is the closest campground to Mt. Rushmore, and the best park we have ever stayed in. There were more than enough activities to keep the kids busy and happy. The pancake breakfast is great, too. Be sure, however, to request a deluxe site with patios and patio furniture that substitute for the common picnic table usually found in campgrounds. The sites toward the back appear a little more crowded and less maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$57
We stayed here for 8 nights, and found it to be a great place. The price was a bit higher because we had a patio site, but we felt it was worth it. Jane, who works in the main check in-office, was wonderful. She went out of her way to put us in a site that would give us enough room for our rig and tow car. A very big atta girl to her. The roads in the campground are a bit busy but that is to be expected in a place this large at this time of the year. The amenities make this a wonderful place for families camping with children. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$47
We stayed here 3 nights. Well maintained park with friendly staff. Busy park with lots of kids since it is close to Black Hills attractions. WiFi early morning and evening was quite slow. Some driveways were quite narrow, primarily because the sites they served were very short for the rigs parked on them which necessitated parking the toad partially in the street. Very few shaded sites which helps satellite TV if you need it. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$47
We camped here on Memorial Day in site #570 shortly after the resort opened for the year. This is a very good campground with a variety of sites. We arrived late at night and they left us a map and welcome pack for us. Our initial site was close to the entrance and very easy to set up in the dark (And the rain!) The next am, when we were ready, they moved us to our reserved site on the hill away from the main area. We were the first RV in that part of the campground and they forgot to turn on the water! A short time later, the water was on. This is the only reason the cg didn't get a 10. Water pressure was low near the top of the hill, but better at the bottom. I highly advise a filter, the water comes from tanks situated around the area. This is the second time we have stayed here and would recommend it to anyone! Pick your sites carefully, big variety. The main area is essentially a parking lot, but where we stayed was on the mountain and very wooded. When the rain came, it got muddy fast! We even had snow! Several specialty shops on site with two small stores at opposite ends of the resort. LOTS of cabins scattered around. Two pools, although only one was open at that time. Staff was very friendly and helpfully! Rental cars available on site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
This is one of the nicest parks we stayed at. It was close to the end of the season and we got a really nice site. The park was very well maintained and the owners were very cordial. We do plan to go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$42
A beautifully maintained park, very knowledgeable staff, lots of creature comforts. It is mostly geared to adults after Labor Day, as we have stayed here twice. A resort feel...not your typical KOA. Convenient to Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and all the other sites of the area. Easy access for big rigs with no surprises. Much nicer than the other area campgrounds we checked out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
Very nice park. Deluxe sites are wide and fairly grassy. Good television and WiFi reception, lousy cell service. Park has a nice hotel, cabins, car rentals, pool, nice gift shop. Mount Rushmore about five miles away, Crazy Horse monument about seven miles. Very pleasant experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$57
This is the only campground we have ever pulled into a site, began setup and then decided we just couldn't stay. We have never left a campground in over three years of camping, we never expected to have to leave a KOA, usually very nice places. Only camp here if you are only planning a quick overnight stay and make sure you stay in the "deluxe" sites or forget it. We unfortunately had made a reservation for one of the nice perimeter sites with a view. Important note: there is NO cable except in tightly packed deluxe sites and the all the "kid" amenities, aside from the pool, cost a small fortune ($60) per family for a fun pass. Our spot was in the middle of a 'parking lot' field, with no trees and a muddy camping site. We were staying 5 nights and were so depressed over the unattractive surroundings, not to mention exorbitant fees, $4 per child a night (we have 2) and $3 pet fee a night, we went to the office and asked if we could move to another site, we would have been willing to pay more. They would have moved us but had no deluxe sites left. So we called Rafter J Bar Ranch Campground up the road and asked if they had room and moved our motor home to their place. (VERY NICE, read my review of their campground). This KOA has a nice front area, and a restaurant on site, and the deluxe sites seem nice enough, though very close together. This is a VERY BIG campground, a lot of people moving around, very busy place. Some people may enjoy the bustling energy of crowds, but we kind of like to kick back, relax and enjoy the peace of nature. We were so relieved to drive out of there, we feel fortunate they were booked out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$53
Stay away from this park! From reading the description you would think that this park is great family destination. Being in the Black Hills of South Dakota and near great attractions such as Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse Monument it has the potential for being a really nice place, but unfortunately it is not! The sites are muddy and uneven. The bathrooms are absolutely outdated and filthy! They advertise a wate rpark on site, but when you check in they tell you that you have to pay an extra $60 to use it. They do have a pool that you can use without an extra fee. We did not go in it, but our neighbors did and they said that it was very dirty. They have horseback riding onsite which is nice and pretty reasonable. The women inside taking care of check-ins are very nice, but the older man working outside near the check in parking is very grumpy and he will yell at you and bang his radio on your car if you do not pull up far enough! We have been to many KOA's, some nicer than others, but never have we been to one as dirty as this one. KOA should be embarrassed to have their name attached to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$46
Well maintained with a lot of activities for kids. We were here around the 4th of July and the pool was a little crowded for so many people. Nice stores, restaurants, and ice cream on site. The WiFi is there but I could never get an IP address and was not usable, they said there were too many people, which I did not find to be an acceptable answer. We stayed in site 189 or 289 and the trees had to be trimmed and it was fairly tight, not nearly as nice as most of the other spaces. I think they only rented out these sites on really busy weekends. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$52
Pricy, but worth it. One of the best parks we have stayed in. Closest park to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments. Very well maintained park, well stocked store, and on-site pizza and ice cream shops. Water sports, climbing, hiking and horse rides. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Not much shade available in main area, although tent, and pop-up sites were well shaded. Rental cars available so you can visit all the local sites without a toad. Busses available for Mt Rushmore tours at very reasonable rate. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$68
Very nice KOA. We went horseback riding, as well as utilized the laundry facilities, ice cream shop and the store. Our boys enjoyed the scavenger hunt and for a prize they received a free round of miniature golf. This place is so large that I was able to do a 5 mile run just inside the KOA campground! We were gone most of the time visiting the attractions, but we would recommend this campground to anyone especially after seeing the other campgrounds available. The grounds could use some work, that is why I'm giving an 8 out of 10. This campground has everything else you could need for an enjoyable stay. We camped here three nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$48
This is one of the better KOA's and one of a few I would return to. Great site, fun things to do, close to everything. Pancake breakfast is great. Wifi did not work the entire time I was there, but heck I was out most of the time anyway. I'd come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
Wonderful park. Beautiful scenery and excellent amenities. We are definitely looking forward to our next visit here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$42
Has Car rentals available. It was late at night and a shepherd vehicle guided us to the site. I chose it for the location nearby Mount Rushmore. It was a bit pricey compared to other campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$55
Great Park (never given 10/10 before). But you pay for it of course. Wonderful value if you've got kids as they would never be bored unless it rained. Cable channels limited and WiFi just a little iffy at times. The place is enormous (2nd biggest in USA we're told. Reasonable food outlets and shops on site, which is lucky because it is miles away from anything else. Queue for "all you can eat pancakes" every morning. Careful where you are allocated a site. You could be literally a mile away from the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
This is a beautiful campground. The staff is very friendly. We camped here in early May 2007 so it wasn't crowded. The campground is also close to all major attractions. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Wonderful family park with lots of activities... great store for groceries, not over-priced. We loved the on-site horse trail rides. We realize this was bike week, but even though we had reservations months ahead, we were placed in a "tent-sized" site, and our toy hauler was barely squeezed in! Thank goodness there was not a camper behind us to the back left, because we had a "catty-corner" back out up a hill - very poor parking area for our rig and very nerve-wracking. Customer service was excellent, however - we will definitely come back here, but will request specific sites next time around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
Campers were squeezed like sardines. No privacy. Some sites had little or no shade. Very noisy with campers coming and going all the time. Barking dogs inside campers during the day. KOA charged extra for use of water slide. Pool broken and out of use for 3 (maybe more) days. Camp stores frequently out of ice. Evening movies cancelled due to more broken equipment. KOA field staff rude, bossy & crabby. Restaurant wait staff was terrible. Bath house was nice (closed 1 1/2 hrs. for cleaning.) Turned us OFF to camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$70
Go to the site to check rates according to how you are staying. It all depends on what kind of site you want. Also you HAVE TO book in advance. We did a year in advance since it was prime travel season. We've been here twice and would go back again. Very clean, well maintained. Nice activities for the kids: 2 pools, great stores, nice restaurant and awesome outside pancake breakfasts for $2.00. It's very close to Mt. Rushmore: with shuttles running there and to Crazy Horse. They also have horseback riding here which is always a must. The kids playgrounds are very nice too. Would highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$55
This was a wonderful park for our visit to SD. Close to everything we wanted to visit. The stable and trail ride was wonderful. The park was clean, well taken care of and had a friendly helpful staff. The view of the Black Hills at sunset from our coach was beautiful. Never in the 5 days we were there was did we have a "noise" problem with the campground, even though there were many families with children. We would highly recommend it to visitors to Hill City, SD. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$46
This CG was WAAAAY too large for our taste. I'm sure it's great for families with children, but the noise factor from SO many kids was not pleasant for us. Yes, this was close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse, but there are others in the area. We saw one or two we'd try next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
This was a great campground. We stayed here for two nights. This campground is very close to the Crazy Horse Memorial and Mt. Rushmore. Although we didn't use many of the facilities, there were tons. Swimming pools, activities for children, several clean laundry rooms, a dining room, a fast food place, a candy store, and a big general store. This KOA had good security and was clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
This place is huge and has a lot of amenities, and a lot of people. Before reserving here we read the reviews describing the packed-in conditions but were able to secure a "more private" site at the edge of the woods. Upon arriving we found these sites to be just terraced sites, just as crowded as the sea of trailers in the meadow. The toilets were clogged in the women's restroom and showers were not clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$42
We stopped for an overnight on the way back from Wyoming and got the last site with full hook-ups. The sites were typical KOA, close quarters, but the park was well laid out and the WiFi worked well. Use virus and internet security, because I was attacked by a trojan within moments of logging on. The nightly shuttle to the Mt. Rushmore lighting apparently books up very early, but there are rental cars on property and it was quick and easy to rent. The pools were clean and busy and people sat quietly by their fires after quiet hours with no loud noises after quiet time at 10 p.m.. We would stop here again for an overnight but it is too big and crowded for a long stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$59
CG is convenient to Rapid City/Hill City attractions. The sites are level. Problems exist with the management of this cg. When making reservations we were not told that only the premium sites had cable tv. The premium sites are nice but not worth the increased rate of $11. Some of the staff were rude and possessed no people skill. I'm 65 years old and didn't know I was a "dude" until told so by one of the staff members. The road in the park was horrible. Deep ruts were everywhere which made traveling around difficult. If one can find another cg in the area then I suggest you go there. The company that owns this cg also owns the Capitol City KOA and the KOA in Harpers Ferry WV. We've stayed at those cgs and they are not much better than this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$45
This place is great. Beautiful campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
Wish we would have stayed long enough to use the many activities they offered. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
Very nice campground located right off needles highway. You feel as if you are really camping in the hills. Beautiful views all around you. Very nice staff and some of the cleanest bathrooms I've seen. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$49
Tourist trap, packed in like sardines, sites are not level, dump station right in the middle of the entrance to park, charged for shuttle ride to lighting ceremony. way to big for our tastes, but close to Mt. Rushmore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$45
Note that the rate is higher than normal as we were there during bike week. We got a site off behind the lodge which was totally treed and shady. If you get in the main part of the park there is no shade. We've been here before and didn't realize that the section we were in existed. It was really nice- a little on the hilly side and the turns getting in and out were a little tight but we made it without any problems. The park offers a little of everything, you can eat here, go riding or hiking and some shopping too. It's a nice place even though it's so big. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
This is the best KOA we have ever stayed at! It had everything close and so much to do for the kids! We really appreciated the pancake breakfast, the nightly movies in their little theater and the water slide was a huge hit with the kids! It's very close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial. There is so much to do in this area...we wish we had stayed a week rather than 4 nights. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$52
We camped here last month while visiting the Mount Rushmore area. It is a typical KOA, in that the sites are pretty much jammed together. I would recommend that you get a site as far away from the main road as possible as it is very busy during the summer and the heavy traffic seemed to ignore the 10 mph speed limit. My kids loved the water slide they have which cost an extra $10 per day to use for the whole family. They also have horseback riding available for somewhat reasonable prices. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$35
I camped here for the annual Sturgis Rally. I really enjoyed this campground. It has a wonderfully well stocked general store. The restaurants were very good. It was a great home base for touring the Black Hills. The staff and service was great. The sites were a little small but tolerable. Our only complaint was that the showers were not maintained very well at all. I would have thought that during the busiest time of the year, the owners/operators would have made sure everything was kept top notch. Also, the hot water ran out if you were not at the shower before 6am. We had a great time staying here and will certainly be back again in the future. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$35
This is a large family-oriented campground with fairly spacious sites situated in the middle of the Black Hills of South Dakota. It is very close to all the local tourist sites such as Mt. Rushmore. There are several camping cabins available as well as a lodge/motel and large family type cabins available. It has a nice quiet location and we truly enjoyed our stay here. Friendly staff helped make our stay pleasant. We stayed in a tent trailer in June of 2004 and used our heater every night and most of one day. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com