223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Hot Springs KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (605) 745-6449
CGID2578

Hot Springs KOA

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   7   8   8   6   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Camped here in the early week so it was not real busy. Our site was plenty long but on quite a hill so had to pull way up to get to a "flat" area to level. This required that we unhitch and pull the truck up behind so the truck did not protrude into the street. Not a big deal for us as hitching up is not time consuming for us but a bit noisier for the neighbors in the a.m. Pool and restroom/showers are very clean and pleasant. Did not visit the laundry. Had a good a.m. and p.m. cafe menu if you didn't want to cook. A bit of road noise but nothing to interfere with sleeping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
A few miles south of Hot Springs, this quiet campground is situated on a slope in Ponderosa pine and juniper, and very convenient to many attractions in the Hot Springs area. The staff were very friendly and helpful, with lots of info on things to do (and there are lots). The restrooms were very clean and nicely appointed. The dirt/gravel spaces are rather narrow, although with all the trees, you don’t see a lot of spaces at once. The spaces we saw are pretty level from side to side, but slope substantially uphill from front to back; they could present a challenge for long, low-slung rigs. Wi-Fi is available and worked fine at our spot. The rate was $31 with a KOA card. We stayed in an Aliner popup on September 12th, 2013; we will definitely stay there again when we return to the Hot Springs area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
I'm conflicted on this KOA. The staff was friendly and check-in was painless. Our first site had a malfunctioning electrical hookup, but the staff was very accommodating in helping us find another site even though the park was at capacity. The main difficulty is that many of the sites should simply be closed as they are so far out of level as to be unusable. I had four wooden ramps and 10 plastic leveling pads and was unable to even approach level to the point that the fridge had to be switched to electric because the propane could not function on the slant. Adding to the problem is that the streets are very narrow and tree limbs have encroached on the sites making it hard to avoid damaging the RV. Having said that, there are some nice, reasonably level sites available. If you are able to reserve those sites, it would be a great park to base out of while exploring the Black Hills area. We did not use the showers/restrooms so no comment on that. I would use this park again but be very careful with my site reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
The campground was clean as was the pool. Not much to do in Hot Springs. The springs aren't really that hot. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Hilly, gravel sites that might be challenging to level for the largest of rigs. Good shade from trees. Playground was small and pool was nice. Seemed like more campers had a dog than did not, which was kind of nice for our dog. Dogs enjoyed use of some semi-dedicated open space to run around. Fellow campers were very cordial and quiet at nights. Hosts were very accommodating. Location provides very easy access to local attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
As stated before, this is an nice place. Plenty of shade but no grass. Sites are gravel and the roads are dirt. Sites are not level and this place is on a hill. Staff is nice, as are the facilities and the pool. They cook breakfast every morning. Cost $2.50. Pancakes, eggs, potato's. And a blessing, 'NO TV' Time to talk and play family games. Good place to overnight, but the Rapid City area is nicer and has better things to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This park is fairly centrally located to explore Mt. Rushmore, the Black Hills, etc. There are plenty of pine trees for shade. Sites are gravel but not level by any stretch. We arrived after a couple days of rain and the ground was quite soft and muddy. Driving through the park is challenging as roads are quite narrow with not much turning radius. There is NO TV of any sort. If you have satellite you may or may not have reception based on trees & site location. Luckily, we have a good library. Owners are very nice and helpful. Lots for kids to do. Pet areas are inadequate and unfenced. Our site had no grass. We were here 3 days but mostly visited area attractions. Not much quality or quantity for dining out in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$37
Nice KOA: standard amenities; friendly staff. We practically had the park to ourselves some nights, as it was late in the season. Sites and roads are gravel; some sites would be a challenge to get level but ours was okay. Situated in pine forest on a hillside with not much more than a gas station for 5 miles. Great place for a week to visit Black Hills/Rushmore/Hot Springs. Verizon Wi-Fi worked fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
On a hillside, the sites were shady though not quite so flat. The pool was nice though a bit cold. Friendly people running the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
The temperature averaged 100 degrees during our stay. Lots of trees. The owners were VERY helpful and friendly. Close to Mammoth Cave and not far from Custer attractions. Nice pool. Lots of area to walk. No cable or TV. Bring cards. We stayed 4 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
This had about the nicest restrooms I have ever seen in a campground. Clean and well lit. Very nice campground with sparkling clean pool. It didn't seem too close to any of the Black Hills attractions which would be a negative if you didn't have a vehicle. Super nice, shady, welcoming place, We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
What an excellent park - it has all the benefits of a KOA - nice pool, great amenities - plus those of a smaller, personal individual park. The owners are always on site, available, friendly, and helpful. The Hot Springs KOA is definitely kid-friendly and close to Evans Plunge, Wind Cave, and all the other attractions of the Black Hills. It's a great RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
If you have children, they will love the play area and putt putt course. Plenty of room for them to get exercise. The park was not busy, so plenty of sites to pick from. We were given a nice site with a view of pine trees out of our front window. Even saw deer one night. We asked for a site with satellite view and it was perfect for that. The sites could feel a little close together if the campground was busy. Many of the gravel sites were unlevel so be careful with that. If Wi-Fi is important to you, be sure to get a site close to the office, they advertise free Wi-Fi, but once you are two rows from the office, the signal is very weak, we had no reception at all. Good space to walk the dogs, good location to visit Hot Springs, Wind Cave and the Mammoth Museum and other attractions in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Gravel sites. Only a few that were level. Friendly owners. Excellent restroom and shower facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Wonderful park close to all activities like Mt. Rushmore, Custer SP, Wind Cave NP. We were greeted by the friendly staff all of who are definite assets to this campground. Clean restrooms and showers and easy place for big rigs to maneuver. We would definitely be return campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Great location, but the execution was a bit off. The Wi-Fi was very spotty while we were here, though we did have access at very short interval (it came and went). There's really no excuse for having bad Internet in 2011! The bathrooms were really old and only repainted (versus remodeled) to bring them up to KOA standards. The shower was lukewarm at best, not hot. The grounds, though, were really beautiful and shady and in a great location: on the fringe of Hot Springs really near many of South Dakota's major attractions. The KOA is right off a semi-busy highway, though, so you might get some car noise if you're sensitive to that kind of thing. The owner was very friendly and just recently bought the place, so maybe he'll clean up some of the lingering issues the campground has from the previous owners. Also, he does daily all-you-can-eat-pancake breakfasts for $2.50 a person, which I think is a very nice gesture. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
The people that run this KOA are helpful. The laundry is clean. Unusually ,the Wi-Fi would not work for us (Macs). It is really really hard to get a big rig in. We and others had to drop the tow to get in the space. We had to change the first space they assigned us because we could just not make it in. We tended to make our reservations at least 2 months in advance and I have noticed that by doing so with KOA you get the worst spots. Now we call early in the day we plan to arrive and pick our own space. We were here to visit the wild horse sanctuary, which was great, but next time will try to find a better campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
This park has friendly and helpful staff. Has a clean camp store, laundry, rest rooms and showers. We had a pull through site (just a one night stop) and we did not have to level. There is a nice pool and pavilion area. Pancake breakfast available in the pavilion at 7:30am every day. Some of the facilities are showing some age (the mini put area and some trees are in need of trimming.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
I stayed in this park for about a week. As with most KOAs, we were ramrodded into small sites close together. There were many trees that provided shade, but also made the driver have to jockey the rig in the site so that all slide-outs could open without hitting a tree. The staff was very friendly. The playground kept our little one busy as did the mini-golf. The daily pancake breakfast was a cheap treat. The pool was kind of dirty and very cold. We ended up there for one day at the start of the Sturgis motorcycle rally, so the price for the site went up to over $50. The location was pretty good for our needs (going to Pine Ridge Reservation), but next time might stay nearer to Rapid City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We usually use KOAs on our travels, but we were disappointed in this one. It's location is not good for wind and weather. It sits on the east end of Hot Springs on a high plain at the base of the hills, and the wind constantly blew through the campground while we were there. It was very hard to find level sites front to back, most are on hills. We were disappointed in the facilities, and Hot Springs is not much of a town. If going through the area again we'd stay in further up in the Black Hills, between Hill City and Rapid City. The only thing worth seeing in Hot Springs was the Mammoth dig site, but not enough to draw us back for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
The park doesn't know how long their sites are. I needed a long site and they said they only had 40' but I could go check it out, and I found it to be over 60'. There are roo many trees for my satellite dish to deal with and no cable TV. The Wifi had a good signal but poor bandwidth. Other than that it was ok as I only stayed one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
This is a very good place to stay, right in the middle of all the attractions, being all are at great distance between each. The bathrooms are clean but there are not enough for the number of campers staying on the grounds. 3 for the men and 3 for the women. There was a line each morning starting early. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is skunk weed around the grounds, which can cause your nose to wrinkle if the wind blows in the right direction. All the sites had trees and were level. The grounds were not crowded together and we were very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
WiFi barely covers first three rows of sites. Sites very close together. Pool was closed on this visit (Sept 11, 2007). Much noise from the highway with trucks roaring by. I'd not stay here again. Positives. Friendly accommodating staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
The campground had wonderful shade, which was very welcome in the heat of the plains. The sites were nice. Satellite access was touch and go due to all the trees, but it worked out. My only complaint was that WiFi was only available near the office. Our site was perhaps 50 yards from the office, but I still had to walk up there to get access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$48
We originally were tenting, but the weather was so hot that we requested a cabin with AC later in the week. Someone left unexpectedly and the owner, came to our site and offered it to us. He was very helpful, friendly, and personable, as were the attendants in the office. The CG was very clean, all the facilities in very good shape, with lots of trees and a very relaxed, campground feeling! We will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
We enjoyed our one night stay at this campground. We were having trouble with our propane, and the owner/manager took the time to help us figure our problem out especially since we were newbies. This park is very pretty and we had a nice pull-thru level site which we were very happy with. We would return to this park again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$25
My wife and I (plus 2 dogs) stayed here four nights in August, 2004. A great base camp for the Black Hills. The camp has nice shady spaces fairly widely spaced. Groceries, shopping, and restaurants are nearby in Hot Springs, a very interesting small spa town. There was no phone or modem at our site, but there were free local phones and modem hookups at the pavillion. The camp managers served a pancake breakfast each day we were there. We were assigned a spot near the highway and when we checked in, the attendent warned us about Jake Brake noise, but we didn't hear any. We'll definitely return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$23
This campground has new owners that are very nice. They went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. We came in late and they helped us set up our TT. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
1999
$22
Campground is near Wind Cave Nat'l Monument and approx 1 hour from Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse Monuments. Sites are level, wide and grassy with picnic tables. Access roads and pads are gravel and well maintained. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com