223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Sioux City North KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (605) 232-4519
CGID2589

Sioux City North KOA

Camp Information
Sites
107
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$53



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   4   3   10   6   10   7   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$53
The staff was friendly and helpful. They showed us to our campsite. The grounds were well maintained. When checking in, it's helpful to go to the left side of the office otherwise you have to navigate around the park to get to the other side. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$43
As others have said, this park is pretty cramped. We asked for a pull thru with motorhome towing. Site not long enough with car hooked up so had to hook up at entrance. Streets are very narrow so tough getting even our 30 foot motorhome out of the site without the car. Very close to the Interstate and noisy when you don't have to run AC. Otherwise, clean and well managed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
Typical KOA - sites are close to each other, to close for us. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. Water didn't work due to just coming out of winter season. They tried to get it on, but to no avail. Owner refunded our money. We only wanted a discount, but he insisted since they didn't have what we wanted. Would stay here again if passing through. We just don't like sites one on top of the other. Some seasonal workers, but was very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$44
Park has really gone down hill since last time we were there about 5 years ago. The pull through sites were too short unless you have less than a 40foot Class A. We had to work it hard to get level. The wi-fi was almost non-existent. One night was enough. Next time we are in this area we will try somewhere new. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Rate was with KOA card discount; 30 Amp, water/electric. Staff was friendly. Park was clean & quiet; good place for overnight going through area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
This is a typical KOA. Sites were close together but fairly level. Full hookups worked fine. There are a lot of things here for kids and the pool looked clean and well kept. The dog run was okay, but dog owners really need to pick up after their dogs! They served a pancake breakfast on the morning we were there for $3. It would have been a good deal if the pancakes had been cooked all the way through! The staff was friendly and helpful. This place served the purpose of a place to stay for one night and if needed we'd stay here again for one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
Very nice park! Great store and staff. We only stayed one night but it was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$49
We stayed here overnight while travelling out west. Campground accommodated my request for a long pull through so that I would not have to unhook my truck. Staff was friendly and the campground and pool were well maintained. There were lots of activities for the kids (playground, jumping pillow, rental bikes). The campground provided us free pancakes and sausage for breakfast in the morning. The sites were fairly close together (somewhat typical of KOAs that we've stayed at) but were level and gravel with well maintained utilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Big plus is that KOA sells LP, seems like most campgrounds have quit dispensing it and can be hard to locate a dealer while on the road. NSC met the usual KOA standards: most everything was clean, well kept, our lot was graveled and fairly level. Like a lot of KOAs, it's very close to the interstate. While this makes for easy access, also makes for a lot of hiway noise. Biggest complaint was the Wi-Fi (or lack of it). When we arrived in the afternoon it wasn't working. Went to the front desk informed the clerk, she said they would reboot it, should take about 15 minutes. I no sooner got connected and it went down again. Tried again after returning from dinner later in the evening, it was not working and all the staff had gone home. Neither was it working in the morning before we had to leave. Since we were paying almost $40 just for W&E, would expect working Wi-Fi. Also the shower stalls are extremely small to begin with, then the door opens to the inside making it even more of a tight squeeze. Assume the one larger handicap shower is pretty busy all the time. The hot/cold faucets were very touchy, went from cool shower to so hot you had to jump back, but the small shower space made that impossible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Renovating the campground, but sites were good. Level gravel sites. Good place to stay when visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
It looks like the owners are working hard to bring this park back to standards. The check-in was seamless and our spot was level and tree shaded. They do an excellent job of keeping the area clean. It looked like there were a lot of "long term" residents and I'm quite sure it's due to the flooding of the Missouri River. As for activities for the kids, there are enough to keep them busy. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Great place for an overnight for us. Very helpful staff, convenient location. Use either exit off the interstate, Campground is on the frontage road between the exits. Clean and attractive KOA, well above average. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Nice little park with easy on/off interstate. Older campground, but kept up. Sites wide enough for awning to be out comfortably. Large, mature shade trees. Staff is very helpful. We stayed here twice, on way to & from Alaska. Laundry & restrooms were clean. We'd stay again anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
Way overpriced with no sound buffer from the freeway and our gravel site had pools of water from the rain. On the plus side: Staff was nice, Showers/restrooms clean and the Internet worked well. Would probably not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
It is convenient to all Sioux City attractions. The sites are shabby -- worn gravel, spotty grass. Many sites were waterlogged when we got there; in two days most (but not ours) dried out. Utility hookups are poorly arranged; sewer too far back (in fact we dumped by backing up to it when leaving). There is a very nice fenced dog park. The Pool (heated) was still open. There is lots of kid stuff. The cable and free wi-fi are both excellent. We would return for an overnight or two. The usual KOA prices -- too high, especially for 30 amp! Premium sites were nicer but even more too high! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Excellent park. Very well organized. We stayed eight nights. This park has a large friendly staff and is well maintained. If the opportunity presents itself we would stay here again. The camp store is small but that is not a problem since the park is close to grocery stores, retail outlets, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This campground located right off of I-29 with easy access on and off the interstate. The campground was very clean and well kept. Most of the sites were shaded with large trees. The staff was very friendly and the shower house and facilities were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
As you know, KOA's are slightly higher priced than most other campgrounds. But, at times, it is worth it. Such is the case at the Sioux City North KOA. Clean restrooms and showers. Level, pull-through sites of reasonable width. Many sites have trees that are not intrusive, just provide nice shade. Good cable channel selection and free WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
The facilities here are fair and the staff is friendly. The owner made a point of telling us how he kept the park quiet after quiet hours. We did not find this to be the case. It's pretty tight maneuvering with a 40 foot coach and a car in tow. We opted for a water and electric site for our first night out. The first site they took us to had our tow car hanging out in the road. The escort suggested we unhook it. I told him we reserved a pull through specifically so we wouldn't have to unhook and we had told them how long we were. He came back a few minutes later and took us to a different site. This park is okay, but what's really outrageous is paying $39 for a water and electric site for one night! Oh, by the way, they informed us after we registered that the water and electric sites don't have cable TV either. Nice touch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
Stopped overnight on our way north. Easy to find right off the Interstate. Park was clean, lots of shade. Early in the season so park was not crowded. Fenced dog run complete with hydrant. Usual KOA amenities. Staff was friendly. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Stayed here two nights. Didn't notice the road noise nor any other outside disturbances. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay here and will return again when in the area. They do need a few more longer sites for those of us with larger rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
Nice campground and well cared for: you saw the staff out continually checking on things and keeping it cleaned up. Lots of activities for children when we were here. Bathrooms are a little dated and slightly small, but were clean. The pool and other areas are in great shape as well. It's close to the Interstate, but noise wasn't that bad. Actually had more noise from all the new housing developments/apartments that now surround the park on 3 sides. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
It is a very nice spot with easy on/off access. There are nicely landscaped grounds and facilities. It has friendly, efficient staff. We would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
We have stayed in well over 50 campgrounds during the past two years and reviewed many. Rating of 10 is a first for us. This campground has everything, although some might encounter a slightly unlevel site since they are gravel. The sites have tables, fire rings, and many have a park bench. The grounds are shaded for the most part, well kept by a friendly staff, and problems are addressed immediately. There are all kinds of things for kids and adults, including mini golf, volleyball, horseshoes, bean-bag toss, a toddler playground, fenced pool, peddle bikes, etc. There is even a fenced dog area. We stayed a week: spent time in the park, and found it to be everything a KOA should be. Easy on and off to I-29. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
We stayed overnight and found it very clean and friendly. Our site #BB was a Superior grade and had concrete patio with double swing, fire pit and nice table. It was a gravel pull through site. There is easy access to I29. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We stayed here without calling ahead for a reservation, but the folks were real accommodating. The roads were very wet as the area had seen quite a bit of rain in the past couple of weeks. The showers and restrooms were very clean and worked very well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Not a bad place for an over night. Sites are a little tight in a motor home. It was muddy and it appeared to have many people living there on a permanent basis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
The roads in the park are tight for large rigs. We stayed there after a rain, and much of the park was muddy, ruts in the road. The price varies widely (as with most KOAs) depending on what hook-ups you want, including (in my opinion, overpriced) cable. Not much for options for campgrounds in this area - there is a city run park in South Sioux City, Nebraska, that is more reasonably priced. This is an older park. The restrooms and showers are dated, but very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
Nice full service (FHU, 60+ channel cable, WIFI, and a pool. As at our last stop, it was too cool to use the pool. Park is well laid out with a lot of pull-thrus and some back-ins. New owners are in the process of expanding the Cable system to more sites - it is currently about 50% coverage. It looks like the kind of place that might be a bit hectic and noisy in the summer if there are a lot of families camping. Not much nearby - you'll probably have to hop on I-29 and go a stop or 2 south into Souix City, IA for decent shopping or places to eat. Still, I can see staying here a couple days next time we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$41
Although the campground was quiet during the middle of the week, we found this park amoung the friendliest we've stayed at. The owners went out of their way to assist us and visited our site to make sure we were comfortable. Everything is clean and appears to be in good condition. The camping store is well equiped. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
Typical KOA, only complaints are it is a shade tight for a big rig and they charge for every little item, i.e. playground is $3.00 per child. They have a very nice fenced dog run, I guess I paid for it when I told them I had a dog. Great Work Kampers. I'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Nice sites for overnight or a few days. I would stay here again. Appears some locals stay for extended periods. Sites level. Sites well defined. No grass just small aggregate (small stone). Can be a little dusty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
Pull through sites were a little tight but alright. Nicely shaded and landscaped. We were there for a quick overnight and found it as expected. Might be a little tight for extended stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
We used this KOA as a overnight on the way to Mount Rushmore. It has gravel pads. They had all the ice cream you could eat for $1.50. The showers and bathroom were very clean. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$41
Very well kept KOA. Typical older KOA park with very confined sites and not easy for a 45 foot big rig to negotiate interior road turns. Entry gate is just barely wide enough for a 45 footer to turn with a towed vehicle. Friendly and helpful staff but not much they can do about the typical KOA crowed sites originally designed for smaller rigs. Good store with just about anything you would want. Well landscaped sites but not big rig friendly layout. Very good wifi service at this park. I-29 noise is very obvious when trying to sleep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
Arrived in a rainstorm and half of the sites were flooded; none with 50A were available, so had to settle for 30A (no price break, of course). Can't blame them for the rain but they could work on their drainage, the whole site was flooded with two or more inches of water. WiFi was free but very weak. Cable was free and had multiple channels. Shady sites and friendly staff, but over priced for a one night stay. Very noisy as the interstate is right next to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$26
This KOA was fairly nice. Showers and bathrooms clean. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$25
Nice park, only real choice in vicinity. friendlier then average staff for a KOA. Rating isn't higher because of the many permanent tenants the appearance of whom will make you want to be sure everything is locked up and tied down. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com