223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Spearfish KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (605) 642-4633
CGID2605

Spearfish KOA

Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   9   9   8   7   8   3   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$57
This was quite a disappointment. Sites were very narrow as well as the access roads inside. Amenities were on up to the fees charged. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$95
The Staff was able to juggle us in the week before "Sturgis" festival,Since everything was booked. The park is beautiful and well kept. Plenty of activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
Here is one of those almost perfect campgrounds, but the bar is set high if it is a KOA along with the high fees. In the case of Spearfish KOA this is a fine example of where expectations, fees, facilities, and services are all in-line and acceptable. Unbelievably friendly owners/managers. All aspects of the Spearfish KOA are impeccable other than the fees perhaps being high or not in the budget for some if not many campers (one reason, but certainly not the main reason, a large family such as ours camps is to be more economic when traveling and vacationing). The stout KOA fee structure is the only negative especially when we start getting whacked with the extra person fees on top of the nightly fees. Most definitely the place to camp if en route along the I-90 corridor through South Dakota to other locals for example in Wyoming or Montana,but would also be a perfect place to camp if you were staying in the Black Hills for a weekend or week to see all the incredibly beautiful sites of the Black Hills, SD. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
The staff are very helpful people. It is well run. Much to my surprise there was a scrapbook store in the campground. We have many happy memories. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Nice park. The sites are very long and easy to get into. The restrooms were clean and nice. Staff was very friendly and they offer breakfast and dinner during the season. Food was pretty good. Had good WiFi. The sites are a bit close together, but do have a bit of grass between. Might be a bit crowded if full, but we enjoyed our night there and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$44
A beautiful, peaceful park. Foolishly expensive tho. The owner is very helpful and friendly. Very nice long pull thru site plenty big enough for our 38' motorhome and 30' cargo trailer to stay connected and still have room to park our car in our site. There is a heated pool here but we didn't use it. Also, there is a community camp fire pit rather than fire pits at sites which we prefer, but this may be a city ordinance, but perhaps because the sites are a bit close it would be too dangerous. We would probably stay here again but would try other campgrounds in the area because this is typical KOA very over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
We enjoyed this campground. The staff was extremely helpful and happy. We had a minor problem with our hitch and they were quick to provide a couple of tools I needed to repair. The services all worked great. Our original assigned site was full sun, but the staffer suggested an alternate shaded site, checked its availability, and moved us right over. We were there 5 days and loved the area and campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
Pull-through sites, pretty level, no shade. Bathrooms weren't the cleanest I've seen. Wi-fi didn't work and the staff didn't seem to care that it didn't work. I only saw kids working in the office - none of them could have been over 18. They weren't very professional. The pool looked clean. Watch your step - dog owners didn't clean up after their pets very well! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
Ribs were great at $9.99 half rack. Buffalo burgers tasted like costco sirloin frozen patties and tasted very ordinary. For two tablespoons of cold beans, three pieces of lettuce, a slice of tomato and a slice of pickle with the buffalo pattie and bun you pay $7.50! Go with the ribs. All you can eat ice cream between 7-8pm was good value. Pool is very simple and small and drops from 3-5 feet VERY quickly. My son slipped under the rope when others were playing with it. Fortunately my other son saved him! Merit badge for son number ! Great store even though it was 50% memory maker stamp album stuff. Obviously a side business. Great selection of international beers and close proximity to a small river for fishing makes this place a good stop for Deadwood, Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Kids park is very good and the cleanliness was the big factor. Not as amazing as Mt. Rushmore KOA which is high and offers everything but well placed next to the I-90 and within 10 minutes of Deadwood, an hour to Rushmore and 40 minutes to Crazy Horse. Mt. Rushmore $8.00... Crazy Horse $25. That was a big thing. Crazy Horse was like flea market with everyone trying to sell you something and the face in the mountain six times as far away as the faces on Rushmore. Rushmore was excellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
This is a nice park. The front office staff was very nice, although if watching a television program you were second. The sites all have grass, however due to the heat are very dry. The laundry room, bathroom and pool were clean and inviting. We were there during a very hot time and the power did go off several times, the workers kept blaming it on the town power company but however it turn out to be their power problem, but would not own up to it. The maintenance man was not real helpful during this time and didn’t seem to know a lot, except for how to be condescending. The restaurant up front was not real good and had a ton of flies. The Mexican restaurant ½ block away was very good. All and all we would stay there again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$36
We stayed in our motorcycle trailer/converted camper. The property, while clean, is very flat, unimaginative, treeless, and boring. The owners were very nice and even had sugar free ice cream for us! Their scrapbook store was interesting, but it seemed a waste of space to me for no one was in there the entire four days we were there. We would stay here on an overnight basis, but for extended stays there are more interesting CGs for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$28
One of the best KOA's we've stayed at. Spacious sites, easy access off Interstate, lots of grass. friendly staff, clean restrooms. Onsite (mexican) restaurant for breakfast, lunch, dinner. Also a Mexican restaurant next door if you want a Margarita We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com