223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Harrison Bay State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (423) 344-6214
CGID2620

Harrison Bay State Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   4   4   8   7   8   7   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
Very nice state park campground. We were in area A, site 37, and all sites in our area were newly paved. Our site which was lake front has a nice metal fenced patio area. Several of the lake front sites had this. The bath house also looked newly built and featured 8 private baths with the sink, toilet and shower in each. They were ADA accessible and the showers featured a fold up bench with upper and lower shower heads. No Wi-Fi, but they are in the process of installing it. The towers are there already. Good cell service. Close to restaurants and grocery store. Papa Johns delivers to the campsite! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Pretty setting, we had site c22 at end of circle. The management was poor. There were no rules apparently regarding the number of cars allowed per site. One day there were 6 cars at a site on the circle blocking the flow. There's no fee to enter park so there were a lot of cars driving through. Sites were not level. There was trash left in our fire ring & others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2013
$10
The rate reflects a very-generous 50% senior discount that Tennessee gives anyone, resident or not, over 62 years of age. During our off-season stay, Area B was the only camping area open and it was crowded. We made reservations in advance and used the web site information for slope. Our site was listed as “slight slope” whereas others available were listed as “moderate slope.” When we got to our reserved site, we were shocked at the slope. There was no way that we would be able to even start to level our motor home in the site. There was no one in the office, but there was a ranger driving around. We were able to flag him down and he, very kindly, was able to offer us a site that worked. This campground is one of the worst layouts we have ever seen. Most of the sites are very, very far from level and very hard to get into. We were very lucky to get a nice site that the rangers said they “held back” for people such as us. Thank you rangers! We walked through the closed loops and they looked much nicer with much more level sites. According to the ranger, the loop we were in was the only one “winterized” but that the other sites are being set up for winter use. Our site had a left-over rug from a previous camper and lots of trash in the fire pit. Our neighbor had a trailer up on blocks that looked like it had been there for quite a while. It looked like a family camped out there for some time. The hookups were very strange. Our electrical hookup was a long ways away and our very long cord would just barely reach. The water hookup was an equal distance on the other side. Did I note that this is the strangest layout we have ever seen? Most sites were very close together and nothing for privacy. The campground is heavily treed but we were able to find a hole in the trees for our portable satellite dish to find DIRECTV. Our Verizon phone had a good signal and the date (4G) worked very well. We would not stay in this campground again during the off season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
We stayed here for an overnightand tried to extend by a day but area C was booked. Getting to site on waterfront was very tight with odd placed trees. Restrooms dated and in need of upgrade but very clean. Nice trails. View of marina and various sized boats stopping in was a great view. Would stay again when in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$16
We stayed here in area B, which is the only one with pull through sites. The sites were very hard to maneuver through, and often you didn't know if you were on a campsite, or still on the roadway. The sites themselves were very hilly, and it was almost impossible to level the rig. Water and electric hook-ups are a long way away, and we needed both an extension cord and a second water hose to make it work. The restrooms and bath house need to be torn down and replaced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
We live near the park and used it as our first trip with our new camper. When we got to the check in station, they told us to find a spot and then come tell us where it is. From the CG map, we tried loop 2, but the trees are so close to the road. We rubbed against a tree and tore the roof coating. We ended up near the ball field loop 1. After walking around a bit, we did see other sites that open enough for a newbie like me to get in. There were deer walking in the woods right behind out site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This is a state park campground that is nice but needs a bit of work. We stayed in C area (on the lake) and enjoyed the scenery and wildlife. Unfortunately it was crowded and that kind of spoiled it. Restrooms are old. They are clean but need to be updated. I would go back but will stay in area A or B the next time as they were not as crowded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
My family and I camp at Harrison Bay about 5 times a year. I have been camping here since I was a young child. It has always been a family fun spot to take a get-a-way vacation. We love the water-front campsites. We enjoy camping in the A site rather than C site. Disadvantages of the park are the restrooms. They really need major renovations. Especially in area C. There is also an issue with one of the park rangers who is very rude and unprofessional. Definitely needs a lesson in anger management. The other park ranger is a very helpful and caring person: takes pride in his job and makes himself like one of your family. We like the fact that this park is alcohol free and very kid friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
This is a gorgeous lakefront campground with decent sized sites. There is a restaurant at the marina and a two very small convenience stores close to the campground entrance. We were here during the week after school was back in, so the park was pretty empty. Most sites are heavily wooded and not too level, with some really nice lake front sites that allow folks with small boats to pull them right up to their campsite. There is a large swimming pool, but no official beach area on the lake. There is a "sandbar" area where many were swimming. The campground is actually in Harrison, TN and is about 15-20 minutes from Chattanooga proper. The two big negatives were the lack of sewer hookups and the shower/restroom buildings. They are old and yucky. They might have been clean, but they were so yucky that they felt dirty. Having said that, the campground itself is so pleasant I will return and just endure the 15 minutes in the yucky shower rooms. Too bad they don't have sewer hookups for longer stays: then we wouldn't have to use the showers at all! That would have boosted my rating to a 10. We were in a 5th wheel and getting around all the trees multiple times (to dump) was not something we wanted to do. Once we got set up, we chose to stay that way! If you enjoy natural settings, you'll love Harrison Bay State Park. Be sure to check out the TN Riverwalk in Chattanooga while you're here. It's about 15 miles of mostly level paved trails, with some at the river's edge. Great for walking, biking, picniking, etc. We rode our bikes here every day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$16
Nice quiet park, only one camping loop is open in the winter. The utilities are not real user friendly due to the fact that the water and electric, in many cases are not together on the same side of the campsite but are separated so you have to get creative in hooking up services, running one under your RV. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
Great for a short getaway. My complaints are the narrow roads through the camping loops. We almost got stuck in a loop looking for a site. Also, sites are not that level. But it really is a nice friendly campground. Very popular too. I highly recommend calling first during bust summer months because of the first come first serve policy. We have driven down and found there were no sites left. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Nice close getaway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$8
Got a senior discount. Restrooms and showers looked clean but need to be updated. You can stay 2 weeks, sites are tight but accessable. You have to watch where you park so that you can use your slideout and awning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$19
Roads are very narrow, sites very small. Recommend camping in pop-up or tent. Bath house not kept up. Needed a lot of maintenance on the grounds. Many of the roads were not possible to navigate with a large camper, these were not marked and impossible to tell until it was too late. A lot of backing on very narrow or unmarked roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
Lots to do, kids had a great time. Down sides = no sewer, tight roads and sites. I will be staying again though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$19
This campground has some really great features. Many of the sites were very shaded and the pool was wonderful. BUT, we were very dissappointed with the bathhouses. We were in a popup so we had to use the bathhouse. It was obvious that the facilities were not maintained or cleaned on a daily basis. Most of the problems with the bathhouses could be eliminated with a good cleaning and a paint job. This park looks a bit run down. Very sad it has gotten this way because it has some great features. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
The sites here are a mixed bag of shady, sunny, level, unlevel, private, out in the open, spacious, and tiny. There was a need for litter control and no where was this more evident than around the shorelines. The playground was fairly nice for toddlers (and really only for a child between the ages of 2 and 4). Wish there was sewer available. The tent sites were wooded, spacious and have their own private section. The non-tent campers (as we were) have their own three sections to choose from. Section A was the only section we would want to stay in, as the other two section's sites were rather close to one another. One negative was the inability to make reservations. All sections are on a first-come basis which makes it very difficult to plan a trip not knowing if you'll have a place to stay. There was a restaurant on-site with average food, a marina, only two hiking trails, a nice swimming pool with life guards and a very nice and large kiddie pool, and well kept asphault tennis courts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Outstanding state park. Roomy sites that are not right on top of one another. Trails, pool and lots of other activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com