206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (423) 623-9004
CGID2660

Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   5   5   8   8   4   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
This is a convenient stop if you are traveling on I-40. Our site was a pull through, but had very little room between sites. Although we had a 50 amp site, we could not run both air conditioners due to low voltage. This was not a problem since the weather was not too hot. Bathrooms were very clean. The road leading to the campground had some low hanging branches, but we were able to avoid them. We would camp here again if traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
The inside and outside staff were terrific, even after a huge rainstorm was flooding the entranceway bridge. We were met and directed over. The entry road to the bridge is very narrow and tree lined. Sites were dry enough. The sites are designed so that utilities are situated at the rear of the pull-throughs, next to the toad, and the waste waters must run uphill. It was quiet and comfortable. We might stay again but I'll ask for a downhill drained site. The workampers made the difference. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Traveling down the road and this campground was convenient for us. People were very friendly when we arrived. Site was adequate. Not many campers there for a Saturday night. Place in is need of TLC. Pool area needs the most due to broken and old lounge chairs. Pool itself needs some help with broken concrete, chipping paint. No activities happening on Saturday, which is different for most KOA's especially Father's day weekend. But we slept well and on our way. Just under impressed for a KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
Usual KOA, a bit over priced for what you get , but I guess the KOA folks need their cut for advertising and other franchise costs,. Average park, gravel roads and grass/gravel campsites. WiFi was very slow so used my Verizon. Owners were very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
Owner's son was friendly and helpful in getting us a site for our needs, as well as filling our propane tank, even without a yellow KOA shirt. The campground is not luxurious, but certainly adequate, with close sites and narrow roads, but we had no problems with either with our 40 ft Class A plus toad. WI-FI wasn't the best, but okay. Some road noise from I-40, but no big issue. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Pretty nice campground and nice staff. No dog park, but lots of room to walk the four-legged kids. Level pull-through space, quiet, pretty peaceful and relaxing. It appears to have some permanent residents, but park was still quiet and lived up to KOA standards. The road back to the park from the highway was a bit narrow, but not a white-knuckle exercise. We'd stay there again if we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
Typical KOA. Run down, worn out. Needs gravel throughout. Desk clerk looked like a slob wearing a tee shirt not the typical KOA yellow golf shirts. A mechanical issue forced me to stay here otherwise I would avoid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Fun – swimming and fishing - electrical issues but could have been due to the heat and usage. Neighbor had volt meter – was nearly getting into low voltage red zone. Camp worker was kind to take off shoes before coming into camper to check power even though not required by us. Pool water very cloudy – still had fun. We had good tree shade to avoid intense sun on sun. Store not stocked well but Food City very close. Cost for ice too expensive in park store. Not a destination if looking for special activities with children throughout day but do have the pool and nice playground. We will return if in area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$50
Nice quiet park with friendly staff. Some noise from I-40 but not an issue with us. We were a bit confused about rates; receipt had extra charges for electric/sewer and internet (which we could not access). We stayed for one night; will return but will make sure we understand the pricing and not be charged extra for what seemed to be included when we reserved on the internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$37
The road into the campground is a little interesting, but not really a problem. Just be careful crossing the narrow bridge. Some sights are a little short & not very level, others are plenty long & level. Some site have low hanging branches that could be a problem for very high units. Plenty of cable TV channels (including HD stations). Internet strength is good & the speed is also good. Just a slight bit of noise from I-40, but nothing too loud. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
This is a way over price campground. It was $40 with our KOA Card. Many of their sites were closed for the winter. We had a pull through site and we were able to level. However a pet peeve of ours is campgrounds that do not trim their trees properly. We hooked up to depart and discovered that there was no way we could leave the site without hitting pine cone filled branches. We had to get on top of the RV and trim the branches before we could depart. WiFi was good. The office staff was very friendly. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
We stayed 1 night and it was a lovely site. It was a level pull through gravel site, wooded, but the trees were not oppressive. We had a nice view of the lake. The staff was nice and friendly and the Wi-Fi worked fine. There is a little bridge over a freshet with no sides or railing that might worry some, but it was no problem in our 33' 5th wheel and 3500 dually. We did not use the laundry, bath house etc. It had a fully stocked camp store, and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
Rate includes KOA member discount and taxes. Wi-Fi speed .30 up, .60 down (speedtest.net), open (no code required). Very clean, organized bathroom and showers including bathmat and two hooks and spotless sinks. Very helpful front desk staff. Camp sites nicely spaced (not stacked together). Used two inches to level. Utilities well positioned, high & dry and leak free. Picnic table well position, level and freshly painted. Store and laundry in same building open until 8 pm. Gravel roads in good condition. Mature trees. BUT significant road noise from Interstate. In a tent camper it disturbed sleep. Would not return because of noise, but anything owners can improve, they do. Rated -2 points because of noise. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$44
Park is all gravel including the long entrance road which goes over a very narrow bridge. (Has no guard rails which will intimidate novice drivers with large rigs). Has no brochure listing the amenities, local TV stations, pet area, garbage requirements, etc. Registration requires an additional 20% if using credit card. Pens and other little things that are free at other KOAs, are not here. This park however, is nice and "woodsy." If in the area, I would use this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
My daily cost reflect monthly rate. They also have a winter rate lower than the "high season" rate. Great location for Appalachian Trail, Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Asheville, NC and Gatlinburg, TN. Owner and staff, every one of them, very friendly. Well maintained facilities. Older campground means mature trees are beautiful. Interior roads good, turns good. Better than most layout. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Very clean, large, private bathrooms. Gorgeous site. The people here are very nice and it was one of my favorites from a NV to NC and back camping trip. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
The folks here are great. We arrived late and our site would have been difficult to enter; however, a KOA employee was walking by with his dog (well after hours) and had us move to a more accessible site. The site was somewhat level, but a more significant issue was the over-hanging trees. We have a couple of new racing stripes. Also a large dog left a gift in front of our coach and no one picked it up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Nice park, had friendly staff. The only weakness is it is a little tight for big motorhomes dodging a lot of trees. Also the pads need leveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
Very nice pool, BUT this park is very overpriced in my opinion. Has very tight roads. No satellite service due to trees but for another $3 you can have cable TV, and for more money you can have 50 amp service and so on. I thought the person that posted a price of $48 had to be wrong, but it is possible if you have several children. Don't try to get in, or to this park after dark or after the office closes. Also, the road doubles back and you can see and hear I-40. The narrow road in crosses a bridge that looks like it is no wider than your motor home. You have to "bear right" at 2 very small signs nailed on trees. Miss one and you may wind up down a dead end street. They did have a 60' site since we did not intend to unhook the toad for one night. They guided me to my site with a golf cart. Mandatory in my opinion. This is a very old KOA. The night before we stayed at a former KOA with new owners that was $24 and much more suitable for a 1 or 2 night stop. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$49
This was a nice campground. The hosts were very nice and courteous especially when we arrived late that evening. They showed us to our spot and since the site they put us in the hook-ups were in the wrong side of the fifth wheel. They were nice enough to offer to get us longer sewer and water hoses if we needed, but we were leaving early in the morning, so it didn't matter. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
It was raining quite hard when we arrived and the water was a bit over the bridge, but the road was good and we arrived safely. We were given one pull-through site and got everything set-up. All utilities worked well - great cable and excellent wifi connection! The next morning we realized that space #19 was a bit snug for our 35 ft. camper with three slides. We spoke to the office folks and they gave us another site - easy to move through the park and get set-up again. This is an older park but it is well kept and the pool is beautiful! No fish in the pond, but it is nice to look at. The staff was very nice and they had a replacement tail-light bulb for the one we needed when we were leaving! We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
Overall the CG is good for an overnight, sites mostly level, full of shade trees. Hosts were very kind and helpful. The swimming pool was one of the best we have seen for awhile. It was well taken care of and clean. Downside - gravel road leading up to office - pretty good grade so we sat at bottom of hill until another camper moved as could not tell if enough room for two units at top of hill. We did not want to get stuck in the gravel (we experienced this in the past). There is a reasonable amount of noise from I-40 but with A/C on, it was not as noticeable. Big note to tall rigs - on entry road before getting to CG, cable & telephone wires very low. Winnepeg Vectra in front of us entering got the wires entangled on the roof of unit. Blocked road until they got on top via ladder to undo the wire. We would stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
First of all, don't let the bridge scare you. This campground has very friendly staff and a attentive owner. The bridge looks narrow entering the campground, the road is behind a neighborhood and off the beaten path but close to the interstate. However, once entering the campground you will see the pride taken to care for this place. It was mowed, landscaped, and gravel was well graded. The playground was dated. The pool was clean. The bathrooms were some of the nicest we've seen. They were dated, but very well cared for and decorated with a like home feel. The showers were hot and had Delta faucets. There is a small store with 50 cent coffee (with a donation slot). Our site was pull through, fairly level. The staff closed the pool, but once they saw our kids in swim trunks, they reopened it for another hour. We had a bit of trouble with our holding tank, and they were eager to share their knowledge and assist by letting us use tools. They have been campers for years, and understand the lifestyle. We highly recommend this campground if you are looking for a friendly overnight stay. We will stay there again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We were here for five nights and found the staff very helpful and friendly. The sites that we had and that our friends had could have been leveled out a bit better, but over all they were good. We were not able to have a mat out in front of our fifth wheel and this caused some problems with tracking in the dirt and mud after some rain storms came through. Also they advertise fishing, however there were no fish in the pond and the smell was very unpleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
People were very nice. Good area to throw the ball for your dog. Some highway noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
staff was friendly and helpful. restrooms were clean as were the showers. sites were very nice, owners making improvements to make park better, but was very nice now. some highway noise, campground was quiet, very convenient to on off ramps on I40. pet friendly park. stayed a week in a 5th wheel. would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Very nice Campground, very close to highway but no noise. Well run, very friendly and helpful employees. Sites were level although area around some of the sites were not. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
This campground is a good overnight stop. It is close to I-40 with easy off and on access. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The lake was empty, but that was probably due to a drought in the State. The Cable TV was $3/night extra and worked good. The wifi was free and we received the signal from inside our RV. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Facilities were nice and clean, WIFI worked great for a while, then dropped us. Sites were roomy, although some were at a great incline, but we were still able to level without having to use blocks. Will return when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
As noted by others, the entrance to the park is somewhat difficult, along a winding road through a residential neighborhood and across a very narrow bridge. In addition, the noise from the nearby interstate is significant. But it is also close to I-40 and a good stop for an overnight. They offer free WI-FI, which is a bonus, and the campground is clean. The staff are very pleasant. The sites are long enough for a 40-foot motorhome plus towed vehicle, and they are of average width (not cramped). There is an extra charge for cable television, and we were able to get a satellite signal from a remote dish. Newport, TN, has grocery stores, liquor stores and a Super Walmart for supplies. This is not a good destination campground but is adequate for overnight. However, we stayed for four nights, and the traffic noise became annoying. It is about a 30-40 minutes drive to the Smokies for hiking -- beautiful views along the way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$33
It is a real thrill getting to this campground--winding roads, tight turns, a very narrow bridge, and a powerline hanging low right over the entry road (I ripped off my CB antenna on this line). The sites are very unlevel, I had to extend my front and side jacks all the way out on the motorhome, then put them back up and put wood, etc., under them. At $33 per night, including a ridiculous charge of $2.50 per night for cable TV, this place is a rip off. On the good side, people in the office were very friendly, they led you to your site, and good strength wi-fi is available for free. But I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Nicest KOA campground we have stayed in. Well layed out pull-thru shaded sites. Owners were very pleasant. Great play area for the kids and a nice pool and pavilion. Grounds well kept. An intimate setting for quiet relaxation. Will be our only choice when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$42
Owners super friendly. We were only here overnight in a Kamp Kabin, and didn't really use much of the facilities, it was a very pretty little park. The restrooms and showers were very clean, well stocked. The store was small, but had the corkscrew we were looking for. If we were going to stay in the area for a few days we would definitely come back to this campground. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$35
Nice campground for overnight stays. Close to I-40 with good access. Sites are gravel, shaded, and nice. Campground is quiet. Baths and showers are very clean. I will use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$26
Campground staff was very friendly and helpful. My site had several small tree branches that might have interfered with opening the front awning and the staff immediately noticed this and cut the branches. The only problem with this campground was its proximity to I-40. There was quite a bit of constant traffic noise even though our site was in the middle of the facility. We couldn't sit outside due to this. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Nice campground with easy access to I-40. Clean pool, fishing lake, shady spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$25
Nice park, nice staff. nice sites. Near Interstate We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com