215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Norris Dam State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (865) 426-7461
CGID2661

Norris Dam State Park

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   8   9   6   10   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
We had no idea that the road into this campground would be so steep and windy with hairpin turns. The price of beauty I think. We had 50 amp power, water at our site and our phone and internet (both Verizon) worked. The site was nothing but dirt but our rig sat on asphalt and we did have a picnic table, a fire ring and a grill. We were glad we have a rug. It took some leveling but we managed to get settled and it was beautiful. There were few other campers near us; the campground was almost empty as it was a weekday. Most of the sites are very small and if it had been full we would have felt very cramped. I could see no evidence of camp hosts or park rangers. No one seems to clean these sites. We didn’t use the showers but they looked fair. We did enjoy the hiking trails that run near the campground. Because of the access and the size of our rig (38 ft fifth wheel) I don’t think I would come back. This place was definitely built for smaller campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$23
I stayed at the West campground which is atop Andrews Ridge. Rather steep, winding road up, but there were some mid-size travel trailers and smaller 5th wheels that made it. The bathrooms and showers were dated but clean. Water pressure isn't the best so I used my internal pump. Most of the larger sites are sloped somewhat. The sites on the outside of the ring are smaller but more level. These sites have a pretty steep drop at their rear. Being on top of the ridge provided solid 4G service on my Verizon smart phone and over the air TV wasn't bad either. The East camping loop has sites that are more level but there are high tension power lines running directly overhead. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Tried to stay here, but had to go elsewhere because it could not fit our 40' 5th wheel. Tight winding turns to get there. A good amount of driving just to get to and from the campground. For the brief time I was here Internet via Verizon seemed limited. If you are looking for a secluded park and have a smaller rig it could be a very nice place. Just not the place for us at that time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
Staff was super friendly and restrooms were immaculate. We had a spot close to the restrooms on the West side and they cleaned them 4 times in one day! Gave out free firewood for a donation to Girl Scouts. Had lots of family friendly nature events. Flat sites and other campers observed park rules. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
We camped here as an overnight during a visit to friends in Knoxville. We arrived after dark, so we had no idea what the park looked like. The next morning we were pleasantly surprised. The park sites are roomy, the parking pads are paved and in good condition, and the overall condition of the CG was excellent. We want to return to explore the campground more thoroughly in the future. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$11
Only primitive camped one night in the older (East) side of this park. Pretty good bit of wildlife walking around. Restroom/shower had a lot of spider webs which indicated that the cleaners were looking down a lot. Very quiet. The TVA Norris Dam is just below. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
A beautiful Tennessee rural setting. I camped in the newer section. More shade there. Though both are attractive. Sites are level and well maintained. Facilities cleaned daily. Friendly and helpful staff. A playground available for children with swings, sand boxes, etc. Interesting museums nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$17
The park was crowded when we stayed but the sites are adequate. We didn't feel like we were in a parking lot. There are fire rings for most sites. We would have given the park a higher rating if the bathrooms were clean. It didn't seem that daily maintenance was done for three days. (bring your own TP) This park offers many fun activities that are led by the rangers. We liked the bonfire. The local astronomy club gave campers an opportunity to view the stars one night. The playground was wonderful for the kids. Other than the bathrooms being dirty we were very pleased with this state park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$12
Very good park We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com