224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Fall Creek Falls State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 54 user reviews. Phone: (423) 881-5298
CGID2669

Fall Creek Falls State Park

Camp Information
Sites
258
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   7   9   6   7   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
We liked the campground overall but had a problem with our site (A15). It was going against the flow of the road and took us almost an hour to get in. We noticed that other big rigs had the same problem in section A. Section B looks a lot better for our 36' RV. CG was very busy but didn't feel like you were crammed in, lots of room. We will go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
If you travel I-40 to Cookville or Crossville getting to Fall Creek Falls SP, take Hwy 101 to get south rather than Hwy 127. Hwy 127 is EXTREMELY twisty with tight hairpin turns. Also pack what you need for your stay. No box stores nearby. Fall Creek Falls State Park is a terrific place to get away from the outside world. No TV. No Wi-Fi. Cell service is spotty. But there is so much to do right there. Chattanooga is an easy day trip to Ruby Falls, Inclined Railway, and/or Rock City to name a few great sites. Bring your bicycle to ride miles of paved roads. Great, friendly staff. A very special place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
We give the campground itself a 6 while the park deserves a 9. There are 5 loops in the camping area and they vary in quality. Sites are close together in most areas with little privacy. Most of the sites are un-level and have front to back sloping. Avoid loop C where sites are very small and on top of one another. There are some nice tent sites (including park and walk in). Bathrooms are typical state facilities. The park is TN's largest and offers wonderful hiking opportunities. It has great creek swimming near the nature center as well as a pool. It is very scenic with multiple creeks and waterfalls. Park is heavily used. Reservations suggested in the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
Enjoyed our stay. Rated higher than likely should have due to natural beauty of area. Staff present was friendly and helpful which was improvement over last visit few years ago. Area relatively clean but facilities still need some attention/maint. Enjoyed the falls and trails/swimming holes. Campground areas fairly well maintained, did have good cell service and even internet thru Verizon but no TV reception (which is good thing). Well stocked store on site, plenty of activities. Even used laundry which was very reasonably priced. Will go back ! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Beautiful Campground! Some of the sites are difficult to get in to if you have a larger RV. Ours is 33ft. and took a few tries. Plenty to do in the park as it has abundant facilities. A store that has everything from food to camper supplies. Enter park using south entrance; much easier for RV's. Don't use TN30 if coming from I 40. That takes you to the North entrance. Keep going on 111 to get to the South entrance. Deer are all over the campground and aren't shy. Lots to do with hiking, tennis, pools, biking, and the scenery in the park is beautiful. Reminds us of the Smokies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
After camping, for the first time at FALL CREEK FALLS, I have come away with a few thoughts. There is a lot to see and do around this state park. On your first visit you can stay busy with short or long hikes, lots of sight seeing. It really is a beautiful park. I heard good reviews on the restaurant at Fall Creek Falls, especially the dinner buffets. In my opinion it's just OK. They no longer offer crab legs on the buffet every Friday. When I was there they had prime rib (I've had better), fish, shrimp, frog legs, chicken, ribs (very tough) etc etc on the buffet. I didn't think it was great, and at $18.95, not sure I would order it again. The campgrounds are very woodsy (I like that).. but several sites are close together. Tight turns, small roads and campers crammed up against each other. Some are paved sites, most gravel or dirt. I drove through all the campgrounds, in the park, and found several great sites. So the key here is to visit the park and pick out the sites you like best before you reserve. My site, D190, was not one I would camp in again. Not sure I will return to FALL CREEK FALLS very soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
Overall, the park was enjoyable. The trails were in good shape and like the namesake of the park, there are many waterfalls. Other notable features of the park are an Inn and golf course. The Inn is a bit dated, but it has a restaurant buffet several other campers were favorably recommending. Having eaten at other State Park restaurants, I was a bit skeptical. To my surprise and enjoyment the buffet was quite good and reasonably priced at $9.95. I also enjoyed the golf course, but there were many leaves on the course due to the time of year. Still, I think the course could have been a little bit better maintained. I lost a few balls in the middle of the fairway due to the excessive leaves. We did not use the restrooms or shower house, but they looked in good order. Be careful when reserving on line. Our site said it was level, but it was definitely not. We were able to level out, so no big deal. We camped here in a 42 ft 5th wheel. In general, the park would have rated higher if more effort was given to improving the overall appearance of the park. With that being said, we would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$15
This is the nicest state park we've ever been in. This is a fantastic park with lots to do and see. We are definitely returning to this park. Facilities, sights, rangers, etc. All get a 10. If you just have to have TV, Wi-Fi, and cell phones, you may not agree because that's not available. This is a state park with plenty of more interesting things to do than watch a TV, talk on a phone, or play video games. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
This campground is located within a very nice state park with waterfalls, hiking trails, restaurant, inn & other amenities within a short drive. We ate at the restaurant once. Food was served buffet-style & it was just OK. I would not eat there again. We stayed in loop B, which is shaded and hilly. Most sites required leveling blocks. The bath house is very dated (broken tiles, etc.) but well-equipped. The shower stalls are huge (about 3'x6') with plenty of hot water & a roomy dressing area. The bath house was cleaned daily. It was easy to get lost walking around the loop, as there are small loops within loop B. We saw numerous deer walking through the campground. They did not approach us but were clearly not afraid. There were also skunk & raccoon sightings. I would have rated the campground higher if the sites were more level & the bath house was updated. All things considered, this is a fun place to visit & I would go there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
The park was beautiful and well maintained as was the campground. Large roomy campsites. We stayed in B-143 which we reserved online thinking it was level (according to the website), but it was slanted enough that the front of the travel trailer tongue was all the way on the ground. We had water, electric, and sewer. No cable, internet, or Wi-Fi and very limited 3G on our AT&T phone. Another person had Verizon service and had no coverage at all. There is plenty to do within the park having beautiful waterfalls, hiking trails, biking trails and a pool. There is a camp store, a laundry facility, and a snack bar, as well as a nice restaurant that has a fabulous breakfast and lunch buffet. They also have a dinner buffet, but we didn't eat there for dinner. I would have given this campground a 10 if it had better cell phone coverage for emergency contacts. Be sure to fill up your gas tank before you get there because this park is 20 miles from the nearest town and you will be doing plenty of driving to see everything the park has to offer, and that's in addition to the hiking trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
We stayed for two nights and had an excellent time! The park is obviously popular, and we found most all of the sites were booked once we arrived (we made reservations and about 65% of the spots were booked one month ahead of our visit.) The park staff were very courteous and all facilities we used were clean and well cared for. The power pedestal was a standard type, in good condition, and our’s had no issues at all. There was heavy tree cover over the entire loop where we stayed (Loop E – 222) and the parking pad (gravel and grass) was completely level despite the rolling terrain in the campground area. There was a great deal of open space around our site, which would have allowed for just about any sized awning or temporary structure to be setup. We had a standard picnic-type charcoal grill, which was nice, that was in good shape, even if it was a bit full of ashes. The bathrooms were very clean and in older, but perfectly good condition, had a good number of facilities so that even with the loop fully populated there was no waiting. An especially nice thing that they had in our loop was a dish-washing sink that the camp host maintained (he was located in our loop and was a very kindly older gentleman.) He took great care to make sure that people did not wash their dishes in the lavatories and clog them up, even going so far as to provide a scouring pad for those without their own (we passed, but it was nice of him to keep one handy.) The park office sold wood but we did not purchase any so I’m not sure how much they charged per bundle. The park roads were all well maintained, but somewhat heavily traveled at all hours, and the staff were all friendly and courteous at all times. We only saw trash on the ground on one of the more obscure trails while we were there – the rest of the park was pristine as far as that goes. There were deer - everywhere - in the park the whole time we were there. There is a large conference center on site, which hosts a nice gift shop and a buffet (all three meals!) if you want a break from camp cooking. We ate at the dinner buffet and enjoyed it greatly. The trails were fairly well marked and there was plenty to do in the park. We were there for two nights and were able to hike all the trails, see four huge waterfalls and do a lot of wildlife viewing. There is also an exceptionally nice nature center that has a good selection of books, pamphlets, exhibits, etc. that is worth a visit. We put this park on our “must visit again” list and would recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
We spent the weekend at Fall Creek Falls. The campground has many level sites. If you make a reservation online, one can view a picture of the site to get an idea of how level the site. The park is a great place in the middle of Tennessee. Fall Creek Falls overlook is a very short walk to see the falls. Deer ran all over the park. The only TV channel we could pick up was a PBS station. We had no signal on our ATT cellphone. This is a great park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
There is something for everyone at FCF. We happened to be there for the Spring Wildflower Pilgrimage. Hikes were available for all ages and physical capabilities. All the staff were quite friendly and made an effort to make the stay better. My Mother-in-law stayed in the lodge and had a fine time. We stayed in CG - B. Our particular lot was not very level, but it was large and clean and well maintained. Cut firewood was available on the ground and split wood was available at the ranger station ($3.50). Food was good at the Lodge - Sunday brunch buffet. Not fancy but quite affordable. Manager did a good job of making Gluten Free food available for our grandson. The park is beautiful. It is well kept and has lots to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Nice park with great views of everything. Deer everywhere and some great swimming holes. Sites were not as level as I would like but were workable. Lots of hiking trails and some nice swinging bridges. Will go back with out doubt! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
This park was not what we were expecting. We stayed a week here (Sunday - Friday) in a reserved site (#93 in loop B). Our site was reasonably level, as were the ones close by. Campground is nice, but some sites can be very unlevel, be prepared. Trash can at each site, picked up daily. Most sites have picnic tables that cannot be moved. Be aware when positioning your unit/awning. It looks like all the bath houses except the one closest to us have been updated and kept clean. The B3 bath house is in poor repair and not cleaned well. Verizon cell service is one bar, at best. Wi-Fi is available only at the lodge. TV stations limited to PBS. The park does not charge an entrance fee. This is the first state park we have visited that did not charge a fee. The lack of a fee is obvious in the upkeep of the park. Overall, this is a poorly maintained park. Many of the facilities are in poor repair and not kept clean. The pool is nice, and in good condition, but check at the pool ticket booth for days of operation. It seems to change randomly and not posted anywhere else in the park. The lifeguards at the pool pay more attention to their friends hanging out and playing around than to the swimmers. They were so bad; I felt I had to make a formal complaint to the park office. We hiked on most of the trails in the park, and all had trash on the ground. I don't remember ever being in a state/federal park that was as poorly kept as this one. Other than the campground, there are very few trash cans throughout the park. Posted hours of operation for some services are not followed. The river swimming area can be dangerous. The concrete at the swim area and short dam is falling apart. There are many areas of exposed rusty metal rebar and reinforcing wire. We saw park staff driving around, but only once did we see a ranged outside, not in a vehicle. The park is poorly patrolled. Many hazardous rock areas have signs posted to stay off, but this is not enforced. Some observation areas have very poor or no guard rail protection. Common sense must be exercised in these areas. We may return in the future, as the area and scenery is nice. We now know better what to expect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
This campground was packed for the weekend. It was hard to find an empty site as many are reserved. E Loop has a first come circle which is very nice and near bathhouse. Most sites are fairly large, shady, on gravel. For non-reserved sites, they tell you to pick a site and set up, then go back to the office and pay. When you are driving your camping unit, it is hard to claim a site with something un-removable. I'd recommend this place on weekdays. Falls and other activities are a long way, so a vehicle is required. Buffet ($16) at lodge was very good (Prime Rib, Ribs, Chicken, Catfish). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Nice state campground. Restrooms and showers were really nice. ( we camped in section "D" ) which is a new section. The sites weren't all that level, but we were in the mountains. LOL! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Very nice park and a pleasant stay. The sites are pretty nice, roomy, and well spaced amid huge hemlock and pine trees. Very pretty. Restrooms/showers are terrific and very well maintained. Only stayed one night and never saw park attendant or ranger. Paid via honor system which was a bit confusing. Never had a camp fire, but saw wood for sale, but saw no way to pay for it. The falls and bridges were very pretty and interesting to see. We stayed in our van and the upper road in would be a real challenge to a big rig, in my opinion. Would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
The park is beautiful but the campground is the worst that we have experienced this year. We will probably never go back but if we did we would stay in one of the nearby private campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
We spent 2 nights here. The ranger station said it fills up on the weekends, so we came on a weekday. We almost got stuck trying to back into a site on the B loop, but got out with no damage. We did find one in the D loop. There were some big rigs in there. After riding in the A loop, some of those looked good. Full hookups. A lot of the sites are reservation only, but lots of vacancies midweek. Nice bathhouses and the trash picked up daily. Very nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Nice park but very isolated. We stayed in area A site 8 with sewer and there was a large grassy area across the street where children played frisbee and kickball which was a little noisy around supper time. The sites have a lot of gravel and not much grass. There was no Verizon phone service. The park has a general store, but there are no grocery stores, restaurants or gas stations nearby, just miles and miles of trees. If you have any type of serious illness, I would not stay here because the closest hospital is miles away. The trails have a lot of rocks and roots. The two waterfalls did not have much water flow when we were here in mid-September. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This was the best. They have a new section that is first come. All paved roads, our site was paved. We stayed in the new "D" section. Everything was great. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Let's start with the positives first. All hookups were fine, sites were all paved. Access system is primarily first come/first served, although there is a substantial part of the B Loops that are reservation only (and they let you know it). Hiking trails are excellent. Scenery magnificent. Great scoops of ice cream at the snack bar. Shady and lots of animals to see in the campground and park. For negatives, there were many low hanging branches that could rip a roof or awning. Trees caused us to back off our paved site in order to move the awning out. Our site was on a slope both forward/backward and sideways, and leveling blocks had to be used (mandatory). Our door ended up in dirt, which turned to mud after thunderstorms. Site was essentially raked of leaves and was rock and mud. Yukky. Litter and plant debris all over the campsite, I literally picked up trash all over the site and park. The B-Loop reserved area had more "elegant" campsites that consisted of gravel around the picnic tables, while the others had only natural soils/mud/rocks. Young college girls at check-in counter have the personality of a brick post. DTV reception was limited only to PBS. AT&T phone service was iffy at best, worked better east of the park near the Bledsoe Phone Co-Op building on Hwy 30 E. Wi-Fi was available only in the parking lot of the hotel 2 miles away. Main pool was closed on Mondays and Tuesdays (why in summer???). Although we did have fun in the park, I am not sure we would specifically camp here again because of the mud and unlevel campsites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We always have a great time at Fall Creek Falls State Park. The campgrounds are always packed during the summer but it just makes for great camping neighbors. The restrooms are clean and a Park Ranger patrols regularly. We stayed in Campground A and my only complaint is there are only 3 showers for the entire campground which makes for long waits in the evenings and mornings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$13
We stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday, and we had a wonderful and relaxing time. As always, the park trails and waterfalls were the highlight of the stay. The campground itself was less than half full, and a couple of the loops were closed for the season. The bathrooms were clean, ample hot water, and good pressure. The bathrooms near the playground loop were more modern than the one we used by the walk in tent sites but it was also more crowded. We dined at the park inn buffet, and it was very good. Be prepared the weekend dinner buffet prices are a little higher than some state parks but the food was good. The only negative was the park inn staff. They seemed very uninterested in helping the campers locate the alternate station to buy firewood (the main camper registration desk was closed for the season) and just seemed uninformed or uninterested in other park amenities. However, all of the other park staff, including the restaurant employees at the inn, were very nice, helpful, and informative. We will stay here again. It is a great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Check in leaves a bit to be desired as the guy behind the counter is not very friendly, and you have to pick your spot BEFORE you check in which was a bit weird. There was tons of spaces available, and I ended up staying in loop D in the only pull-thru spot I saw in loop D. It rained nearly the entire time I was there so I did not get to go out and see much of Fall Creek Falls. I plan to return and see a bit more of it. I cannot speak for the rest of the RV campground but loop D was quiet and for a more primitive type place pretty well maintained. I enjoyed watching the deer walk through the camp in the mornings and the solitude of being there since we were one of only a handful of people staying in loop D. One word of advice is make sure you fill up as soon as you get off of 40 if that is where you are coming from. There is only 1 gas station near Fall Creek Falls and they do not sell premium, only regular and plus. Also be prepared to clean a ton of pine needles off of your awning, slides, roof, truck etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Handicap sites were excellent. The whole park is beautiful. Some sites are too close together though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
The park is one of the most visited in Tennessee, we were told. This year they did not take reservations for campsites and they stayed full almost all the time. The sites are not level and in Loop D where we stayed the sewer was up hill so was very difficult to drain. We noticed that most sewers had this problem even in the other loops. They have started remodeling some sites and were going to do some this summer but the budget didn't allow for it. All of the park rangers and office people were very friendly. The lodge had a Friday night buffet of catfish and frog legs, missed that one but hit the buffet on Saturday and Sunday. Of course the falls are beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Great park! They are doing renovations this year, so no reservations! Loop A is done, we stayed at A20. Sites are many different sizes, and some are laid out wrong, as the awning side is away from the picnic tables and fire rings. It can be a bit tight for big rigs in some spots and the whole area is heavily forested. Great trails for hiking and beautiful waterfalls here. Dinner at the lodge was a bit pricey, but nice. We will come back in warmer weather to enjoy it even more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Really love the park and the many attractions and things to do, it is beautiful. We stayed in section A and besides section B they have the largest sites that can be reserved. Wi-Fi is available at the Inn which is about 3 miles away. Cell service is in and out with maybe two bars at the max. You can get three bars at the top of the hill before you turn into the Village or Gold Course. We stayed for 5 days and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Awesome park, Tennessee State Parks are like resorts. Olympic swimming pool, 11 have golf courses, lodges, reasonably priced. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
This is a wonderful park! There is so much to do, and the hiking trails and waterfalls are great. The camping sites all have fire rings and plenty of space on each side. We saw a lot of wildlife from our campsite which backed up to the woods. The bathrooms were well maintained and had great water pressure. We stayed here three nights and wish we would have stayed more. Many hiking and biking trails. The trails are also pet friendly. We stayed away from the playground area since that is the busiest and noisiest area in the campsite area. The rest of the camping areas were quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
We enjoyed our visit to this campground. The scenery was beautiful and the campground was great. We camped in Area A which has been recently redone. It has larger sites than the other areas, but only has full hookups at the Handicapped sites. The roads and sites are very tight and are not big rig friendly. Most sites are also somewhat un-level. Area D has full hookups, but is nothing special. I don't think these can be reserved. Area A has the most activity, but has few hookups and tight sites. I would not even enter Area C if I were you. Area E is very tight with no scenery. Area B has numerous full hookup campsites, but small sites. There is no cell phone service at the campground. The bathrooms were clean, but can only accommodate a few campers at a time since they have been made handicap accessible. Overall, this was one of our favorite campgrounds. The Falls are beautiful, the hiking trails are great, and the swimming holes and swinging bridges make it a must see location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
This park is beautiful. We camped in E221, which appeared to be an older section. Plenty of deer running around and planed activities for kids and adults, but sign up early as they fill up quick. Some of the sites appeared to be kind of hard to get into with larger trailers or RV's. Make sure you tell family the parks phone number in case of emergency due to lack of cell phone coverage. The Inn's food is wonderful and they have free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
This state park is very large and there is a lot to do here. If you get to the park early enough, you can get a site with a sewer hookup. They do not have very many sites with sewer hookup. They do have a newer section, but we were told that that was for groups. The bathrooms and showers were the reason for rating this 7. And, even that is generous, because they really were awful! The rest of the park is delightful. The buffet at the Inn is "country" cooking and wasn't too bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
The Fall Creek Falls were beautiful water falls without having to hike a long distance. The deer ticks were really, really bad, though. Be aware of this and go prepared with bug-spray, especially for pets. Several in our camping party pulled multiple ticks off of themselves. Still, it is beautiful with a lot to do, and we will go again! Book your reservations way ahead of your visit. (800) 250-8611 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Our very first trip in our motor home. I am thrilled this is where we chose. The lots vary in levelness. Our lot required a little leveling but was the most beautiful site! Very shady with lots of privacy. The bike paths are paved and an easy ride. The biggest surprise? The food at the Inn was absolutely delicious! Blackberry cobbler, banana pudding, perfect catfish, over-the-top pulled pork, homemade chicken and dumplings! Are you kidding me?! The camp store was well stocked with all things a camper could need. Pools were not open yet but we would not have used them anyway. A beautiful, beautiful park. Bravo! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
This place was very beautiful. Fortunately a friend who lived in the area recommended it and came to show us the sights. The highest waterfall east of the Mississippi, 256'. The sites are widely scattered. Forget about pull-throughs. Trees are tight. Definitely not big-rig territory. There were only two sites to pull through. One was occupied and the other was difficult to get in and out of. No bathrooms or showers within walking distance. No picnic tables. Scenery is spectacular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$13
We camped in the newly redone part of the campground. Most sites are easily accessable with a 37 motorhome but some are nearly impossible. The sites were paved with a charcoal grill and picnic table. The handicapped sites were paved and concrete under the table and grill. The large recreation area has playground for children and plenty of room for most anything that a family would want. Deer were everywhere. The park personel were great. Also, reservations can be made for this new section. Use the Tennessee State Parks website and call in the reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$10
We camped here on a cold winter weekend. Only two loops were open and there were a total of four campers in the entire park, although there was a group from UT in the group area. The restrooms in loop D are new and were very clean and heated, but we could not camp there because it was reservations only. (There was one pop-up camper there). The restrooms in our loop were old but were clean and functional. The area is beautiful and we enjoyed the trails very much. The campground was certainly adequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
In my opinion this is the nicest State Park in Tennessee. Beautiful scenery, wildlife, hiking trails and campground. The restaurant is a plus. I would recommend this park to anyone. You can't go wrong with this park. The only thing that some may not find appealing is that it is not near any towns but if you are well prepared to camp you wouldn't need to shop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$19
We have a 10 yr. old son and a 14 yr. old daughter. We loved this campground. There are so many things to do! It cost two dollars each to swim in the olympic size pool and my son loved jumping off the diving board. They have numerous free classes throughout the day such as knot tying, hiking, snake shows, etc. They have several waterfalls which we hiked to and several swinging bridges. There is a paved bicycle trail from the inn to waterfalls, and which goes around their beautiful lake. For a minimal charge you can also rent paddle boats. Fishing seemed to be a popular past time. At night, there are 2 ball games for campers. The first game is kids 12 and under and the second game is for ages 12 and up. My kids loved this. There is a rec room where you can play pool and ping pong. There is a great pool side snack bar with great cotton candy ice cream and a general store and a souvenir shop. We went horseback riding also. It was twenty dollars per person for a 45 minute ride. We got a sewer site in campground loop D. Our site was number 190. They are renovating the A loop to include sewer on all of those sites. They have numerous volleyball, tennis, baseball fields, etc. If you love hiking and biking and the outdoors, this is the place for you! We went down one trail called the cable trail that was straight down and you hold onto the cable as you repel down and once you get to the bottom you are at the bottom of the waterfall. It was wonderful! We camped here in a hybrid camper and saw many other hybrids and popup campers. There were also many 5th wheels and motor homes. The staff and rangers were knowledgeable and very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
After reading how wonderful this park was from Frommers (which rated it #1 in the state of Tennessee in many categories), I had very high expectations. I was completely disappointed!! I had reservations made 7 months in advance and discussed in length with the employee taking my reservation that we wanted a site with full shade. When we pulled into our site, we were in full sun. I figured that there was some mistake but when I went to the office to switch sites, I was told that there were no other sites available (may I add, that she was very rude!) That didn't start our week stay off on the right foot!! The pool is great and the falls are nice but I thought the campground was in desperate need of some TLC. The roads getting to the campground are hairpin curves and it is literally in the middle of nowhere. I wouldn't let our kids ride their bikes out of our campground loop because the roads in the campground are treacherous with cars buzzing on them. I would not return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$16
Very nice state park with a lot to see and do. I will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
This is our favorite Tennessee State Park. While it is an older facility and some of the sites are rather small, there are several sites that can accommodate a 30' trailer and long-bed, crew-cab truck. The main reason that we love this park so much is that there is so much to do. There is lake and numerous streams for fishing, hiking trails, breath-taking scenery, swimming pools and swimming holes, and our two daughter's favorite - a general store with lots of rock candy! I would highly recommend this park, but try to arrive early in the week if possible as it tends to fill up on weekends. This is especially important for those needing a larger site. If you cannot locate a site in the park, Lost Cove RV Park on Highway 111 in Spencer can serve as a backup. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
This park is absolutely beautiful. The lake is lovely, and the falls are breathtaking! We made reservations, and my in-laws lucked upon a spot near us (without reservations). The reason for my rating is we camped with our daughters, aged 12 and 16, and they each had a girlfriend with them. The campsite was adjacent to the large field, which was great, but the girls had to bike across a two-lane road (a public thoroughfare through the park), up a hill, and around a curve to get to the pool. I am slightly overprotective, and I was ready to leave by the second day, from the stress of wondering if they actually made it to the pool! If this park had a gate and was secure, it would be a simply perfect 10! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$24
This park is our favorite local state park to camp in. The sites are very varied from sewer hook-up to wate/electric only. There are some big rig sites. You have to look around. The falls are beautiful, and they have many hiking/biking trails. The restaurant has a great buffet and the lodge/cabins are very nice. Superior golf course with deer roaming freely. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$20
I suppose it's not fair that I rate this park as we never really camped here. However, we tried. When we arrived, we asked the teenager running the office if there were any sites available. His response was "your welcome to go see." We drove through the entire non-reservation area looking for two sites relatively close as we were camping with friends.. The ONLY site that we could find with another site in the near vicinity was next to a tent site with about 15 people on it! Besides resting under the nice blue tarp shelter, some of them were watching what appeared to be a 27" TV placed on a tree stump. The park was very crowded and there where plenty of blue-tarp campers. We are usually not that picky. However, this was the first time that my wife asked that we not stay at a campground. She was worried they might keep us up at night. So we drove over to Rock Island State Park and got a nice quiet and shaded site (from an adult manager). Perhaps we need to visit Fall Creek Falls in the winter or fall when it isn't quite as busy. Be forewarned that this park requires good maneuvering skills, particularly for those with larger rigs - no big rigs here. I suppose the falls are pretty. However, our impression of the campground was so poor, that we didn't hang around to see the falls. (Rated 3) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$21
Just got back (March 2004) from a long weekend at Fall Creek Falls and had a great time. We have 3 small children (7, 5, and 2) and they had a blast. There is a lot there for them to do and the campground was full of other kids to play with. The bathhouse was clean, but the showers ran out of hot water. Most of the sites are manageable, but I did see some that would be a tough fit for large rigs. Overall, this is a great place. We liked all the other families with kids: could always find someone to play with or ride bikes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$17
We just got back from here and it was not at all as nice as I expected. First of all, we were told before going by the staff that they could not take reservations although we had a party of 5 separate RV's and we were driving over 2 hours to get there. So we get there at 8:00 that night and there is not enough room in the area where there was 50 amp hook ups which 2 of our RV's required and had to go searching in the dark for a site. We finally found enough spots for all of us. The next morning while paying, we hear her say to someone on the phone that they could make reservations which really was upsetting. Besides that, the campground was tight to get around it, and the bath house was really dirty! The only good things I can point out is the beauty of this place. Beautiful waterfalls, and scenery. Lots of wild life to look at. But overall, unless it is warm enough to go outside and you can make a reservation. I don't recommend this place for any other time of the year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This was our first visit to this beautiful state park. The hiking trails, golf course, day-use area, and ranger programs were great. The campground, however, wasn't so good. We stayed in the full hookup D loop, and if you have a big rig, be aware tht it is VERY tight. One gentleman pulling a 35' Hornet dug his rear stabilizing jacks into the asphalt trying to make a turn. Many sites are pretty unlevel, so bring some wood to help yourself out. We came in on a Wednesday and about half of the sites were taken. By Thursday afternoon there were probably about 5 left and by Friday morning everything was gone. The state of Tennessee is having trouble maintaining their state parks and it shows in this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This is a wonderful park. There is lots to do. Hiking, golfing, bicycling, etc. We did golf on the 18 hole course. Lots of wildlife. Wonderful waterfalls in the park. Shaded sites but the road into the sites is tight. Enter the park via hwy 111 from the south of the park is the straighter route. We were in a 32' motorhome and were pulling a trailer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$18
A state park csmpground thst truly csters to all in the family. Wonderful scenery, great waterfall, nice hiking trails and superb swimming - whether it be at the swimming hole, cascades or the pool ($1.50 per day per person for campers). Great public golf course with a great rate of $32 (cart included) for 18 holes (just don't play the course in Fall unless you are ALWAYS on the fairway as leaves will eat your ball(s)). Lodge / inn has a good buffet. 4th of July has been our time eveyr year and they have an outstanding program then for kids. Planned activities every day for every member of family. Probably one of our favorite parks. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$18
Campground has it all, fishing, sight seeing, hiking, playgrounds, golf, biking, laundry facilities, etc. Only problem is access to some areas is sort of tense and camping sites vary widely as to width, depth, levelness and separation. The scenic drive is worth taking, allows easy viewing and access to the falls for which the park is named. We'd visit again just to enjoy more of what the park has to offer. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com