223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Meadow Family Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 57 user reviews. Phone: (865) 448-0625
CGID2678

Big Meadow Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   9   7   7   10   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$45
This is not the first time we have stayed with the wonderful folks at Big Meadow. This is by far our favorite campground. I cannot begin to explain the absolute friendliness and gracious hospitality of the owners and staff. They are by far the best! Our dog loves the dog park. The sites are level and pull through and have spacious grassy areas next to them, which makes it nice for us and our dog. The bathrooms are always clean and smell of bleach from their daily cleaning. The grounds are extremely well maintained and very nicely landscaped. We do not have children but if we did, the kids parks on site look extremely safe and lots of kid friendly fun. During our visit here this time, we stayed a week. It was a wonderful, very enjoyable vacation. Whenever we visit the Gatlinburg area, this is our number one campground and we would not want to stay anywhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
Very clean, nice level sites, next to River Rats tubing which is great for families that want an afternoon tubing down the river, convenient to Cade's Cove and not that far (30 minutes) to Pigeon Forge. Townsend lives up to its motto - quiet side of the Smokies. Very little shade within the park. Will definitely return to this park. Stayed here in 40 ft motorhome with toad, no problem, especially with super size site we had. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$55
Nice park close to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Townsend is on the "quiet" side of the Park next to the Little River. Friendly staff. Free and very slow wifi, but Verizon 4G coverage here makes up for it. Nice dog park. The 50 amp sites have level concrete pads. We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
We stayed here 2 months with a monthly rate. All staff are very helpful. They want to make sure your stay is enjoyable. It was great to have concrete pads because of rain. Very clean campground. We have stayed here before and will return 'home'!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
Nice campground with good presentation. Good wifi and cable. Little store with rv parts. The river is actually across a county road from campground. River sites are 30 amp. Sites are close together and rather short, but concrete sites (50amp)are level. Not bad for the price but would look at other campgrounds when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
Could not get satellite reception from site 66 moved to 72. CATV choices are limited. See their web site to check for your favorites. Trees are scattered so call ahead to see if the site is satellite friendly. Super sites are mainly concrete where you park but with gravel on the approach and departure. Each have a concrete pad to step out on and a picnic table. The raised concrete elevates you a little higher than the sewer connection.WiFi antennas are disbursed throughout the campground. The system was open and we never had to enter the password on any of our devices. Sites overlooking the river have a public road between the site and the river. The only campground exit road runs in front of the river sites. Aluminum cans are collected for recycling. Except for the barking dogs hear almost every evening (coming from outside the campground) it was quiet. Convenient location is the only way to justify the premium price We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$55
We have stayed at this campground several times and keep coming back because it is a great location, it is very well maintained, and it has good pull through sites. The premium sites have concrete pads. We stayed on the perimeter with a view of a meadow and the mountains out our front motor home windows. It is lovely. The landscaping is very attractive, too. The campground is gated with a security code. The staff are very efficient and helpful. There are shorter sites that back up to the Little River, and there is a two lane, blacktop country road in-between the campground and the river. We find it helpful to disconnect the tow vehicle before heading to the camp site because there is a tight turn right after the gate, and larger rigs may have to back up once or twice to negotiate that turn. Exiting is easier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$47
I had a beautiful site along Little River. There's a public road between the river and the sites, but it's not a big deal. Not much traffic. There's seating beside the river provided by the campground. The campground has beautiful landscaping, and the concrete pads and like-new picnic tables are great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
This park was by far the nicest private campground I've traveled to. Without question I would recommend this place to any traveler!! I typically stay in rustic state parks where there is huge space between neighbors, but basics are scarce. This past week, I participated in a group that had booked Big Meadow. Prior to my trip in planning and looking at the park map, my first thought was: "Oh my gosh, it's a Walmart parking lot." Upon arrival, it's anything BUT that. Reservations: A+ They there very informative on my questions and needs (I have two dogs). They recommended a site adjacent to the river. In fact a week or so prior to traveling, they called back and said there was a cancellation and asked if I wanted to move closer to my group. Very customer focused!! Campground layout: A+ There must have been a landscape engineer design the layout. Even though the density of sites is high, there was a good mix of open spaces and buildings. Also, most of sites have HUGE concrete pads. It made leveling, parking, keeping things clean inside a non event!! Facilities: A+ Clean, especially bathrooms and common areas. Dog waste bags strategically placed, very nice group meeting space, cool fire pit. I didn't use Wi-Fi however, most around me seemed to have no issues. Summary: This is a must stay. It is not highly commercial (the campground NOR Townsend TN). These people have put their heart and soul to provide a fun relaxing vacation experience for their clients, and it shows. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
This is a real nice campground and we have stayed here several times. The owners are always making improvements to the park. In the last year some of the sites and the WiFi have been upgraded. I would have rated this campground a 10 if it weren't for the following. My only complaint is that they don't seem customer focused. In my opinion, they seem to care about their campground, but not their customers. We paid for a week when we were here last year. We had to leave the day after we checked in because our son had emergency surgery. The owners would not offer a refund, but gave us a 5-day rain-check good for a year. I not only would have been more eager to give them repeat business if they had shown some compassion for our circumstance, but I would have been singing their praises to every RV'er I know. Fortunately for us, we planned on returning within the next year allowing us to use the rain-check. We had a problem with a minor leak at the water hook-up during our last visit. We heard a noise outside the motorhome and then lost all of our water pressure inside while using the bath. After using our water pump to finish rinsing we went outside to check the wet bay. The problem - the owner drove by on his golf cart, noticed the mist spray - turned the water off, and then drove back to his office. At the very least, he could have knocked on our door and told us he was going to have to turn the water off, or he could have assisted in stopping the leak. It was a very small mist spray that had leaked through the regulator attachment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Solid campground on the quiet side of The Smokies. Friendly staff, clean restrooms and showers. Quiet campground and they are not on the main highway going through town like most the other campgrounds. Good grocery store about a mile away. Personally I wouldn't want to stay on their sites between the office and the road. Traffic on the road and those sites seem tight. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
This park is a real nice park, clean and neat, it was built in 1995. The front sites have concrete pads, however for our 43 foot RV they are too small in width. Our RV fit perfectly on it, but very little space was left for our own enjoyment on it. The doors on the RV could not be opened without moving the picnic table off the pad to the front of the RV onto the stone driveway, my preference would be to have the RV site on crushed stone and have a nice concrete patio to enjoy. the concrete sites would be nice for a trailer, without slides and doors on the right side. Perhaps the park was build before the age of large RV's. The park has a security gate, not sure why it is necessary because the area seems safe and secure. The park is close to the Smokey mountain entrance and Cades cove. It has a laundry and a small store. Its a quiet park with not to many kids, perhaps due to it not having a pool. I would not be paying any extra for a river site. They are across the road from the river and you can hardly even see it through the trees. Plus they are located on the main road leading out of the park, so they must get a fair amount of road dust. This park is rated 5 star, but due to no pool or hot tub, no fire pits: I would only give it a 4 star. It was very hot when we stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
We had a wonderful stay here. Owners were excellent and loved the security of the campground. Owners were always working to make improvements on grounds. We stayed in pull through site behind office with paved patio. Just enough trees to be nice even though we were not able to get Direct TV at our site. Plenty of good cable stations. Level, good hookups. Home style feel here and great location to be just enough away from hustle and bustle of Gatlinberg etc. Will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
A super clean campground and super nice service, even helped me back into the site. I have some concerns I thought I should pass along. 1. The river sites are located on a small paved road where vehicles pass by at highway speeds at all hours. It is not safe for kids wanting to access river. 2. My neighbors electrical, water, and cable hookup is 3 feet from my patio, right at my door (makes for a nice view) 3. No place for a camp fire, the owners offer fire rings for a $20 deposit, but there is no good spot to use one without burning down your neighbors RV. 4. The campground has security gates with curfews. The gates lock at night and you cannot get in or out (even with the pass code). The owners manager told me I need to be in the campground by 11:00pm because the gates will lock until 6:45am. It makes me feel like a prisoner\hostage. 5. If I stay here again and I would consider it because of the the hospitality and neatness, I will opt for a site not located on the river\speedway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
Camped here with a rally group of 16 rigs. We were treated like kings. No problems at all. AT&T cell service does not work but who cares. Staff was great, owners were on site and helped anyone with questions. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
This is a very clean and well maintained campground. It is extremely quiet with a very friendly staff. The campsites are large and easy to pull into. We camped as part of a rally with 16 other campers some with 36 and 38 foot units, no one had any issues at all. There is a fair amount of shade. The trees are fairly young. All sites have lots of grass surrounding either concrete pads or dense packed gravel. Even with the gravel there was no dust. Not the campgrounds fault, but if you have AT&T don't expect to have cell service. The campgrounds Wi-Fi connection was fast and easy to use. Entry to the campground is controlled with gates that require a pass and are locked at night (midnight). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Very nice campground. Even during the height of the season, it was so quiet you could hear the leaves moving. Some sites right across the street from a mountain stream. We were all the way in the back and it was perfect for us. We keep to ourselves and are very quiet. We like that other people do too. Owners are really trying to make this campground a destination place and it looks it. We spent some time with one owner: she was delightful. We love Townsend and the fact that it's away from Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge and Sevierville and you come in the back way from Knoxville. Easy to find with large level spaces. They have reasonable rules and enforce them for the enjoyment of all the campers. Highly recommended. It's now our "place" in the Smokies! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
This was a nice clean park with great facilities. An excellent location for the quiet side of the National Park. Our site was nice, and the dog walk area was great. The only problem we had was with low power that indicated 110-112 with no load. We have a smart breaker that activates for both surges and low power to protect electronics and air conditioners. We stayed at this park four days and lost power six times on the second day. Two of the times we turned all appliances off and still lost power. The park owner said the problem was our breaker. We are now on week six of our trip and the breaker has not activated since. The owner did say that he hosted a large coach rally last year and their breakers were constantly activating. Once again, this was the only problem we encountered. We will return here when we visit this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Extremely rude staff. They were rude to my sister who came to visit us. They made her pay for my six month year old niece, and watched everything we did during their stay. There is NO SHADE, and if feels like you're camping in a parking lot. Horrible place to camp, will never be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$48
Big Meadow is a great destination camp for anyone wanting to visit the Smoky Mountains. The grounds are very well maintained and the staff is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
A great campground, you couldn't ask for a nicer RV park. The owners were great. If we stay in Townsend again this will be the place. The campsite was real nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
This is a breath of fresh air in this little town. The campground is well kept and very clean. The staff were very friendly and willing to answer questions. The only negative comment would be the lack of fire rings and a swimming pool. But, the sites are very level and wide and make up for these negatives. We have stayed in Townsend numerous times and have always had difficulty finding a park that was big rig friendly. I would highly recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Wow! What a wonderful campground. We loved staying here. Soooo quiet. Wi-fi was great, bathrooms were some of the cleanest we have ever encountered. Staff was very nice, very helpful. There is generous room between sites, some trees but not too many. This campground is in the middle of a big meadow, bluebird box right by our campsite, a nuthatch visited our campsite every morning for crumbs! We made day trips to Cades Cove, Gatlinburg, and Pigeon Forge and Cheerokee. Did some geocaching and were able to walk to many of the cache sites. Loved all the flowers and birds at the campground. Rained two days while we were here, no problem with mud or water drainage. Has a concrete pad and nice picnic table at each site. Excellent place to visit! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
Wow, where to begin? First: Missed their 1x1 foot road sign and had two drive over 3 miles down a very narrow and steep road before we could turn around. Second: At check-in, the employee made us feel that they were doing us a favor by letting us stay at their wonderful RV park (was not wonderful). Third: Rules, rules and more rule: including not leaving skid marks on the un-paved roads when riding a bike. ( I did so twice..ha ha). Fourth: Their "super sized site" was not so super, but the price was. All in all, we won't stay again and a suggestion to the owners: try another profession. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$55
Camped here in a RV 40' class A. Big rig friendly, it is not. Clipped the tree upon entrance to the hairpin turn to our site. Very hard to get into the site. Would not take our Good Sams discount due to the "Season". Sites are poorly maintained. Owners staff very unfriendly and not helpful. Seemed very upset that I nearly smashed my right side of my RV on their Tree. Which I did not! I would not recommend this park to anyone. Never did find a Big Meadow? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
Entry into this campground is rather abrupt on the end of a river bridge (good thing I flew Goggle Earth to know that). Nice, clean grounds, very nice concrete pad and full hookup areas. Nice office/store on grounds and staff very friendly. Sites are a little close, gives the feel of a trailer park, but worked well as a base camp. Stayed 3 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
Beautifully kept campground but sites are very close together. Stream is on the other side of a well traveled road. Owners were helpful, they parked our 33 ft travel trailer due to how close the sites were. Would check out other campgrounds in this town before staying here again. Even if it is clean and well maintained I prefer space over cute decorations. Rather steep rates for what we had there. Stayed 3 days We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
Very nice campground. Spacious pull through sites. Staff very friendly. Bathhouse clean. Close to area activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
This is not a bad park but I rated low because it almost floods in the center part when it rains. We were lucky to be in between the two "lakes" that formed when it rained really heavy. One side drained quickly after the rain stopped but the other side did not and stayed muddy for days. There is no cell phone service but that is not their fault. The locked gate as we understood it was you can get out at any time, but returning after midnight you park at the office and walk to your site. Would be a problem for handicapped people, like me, luckily we are usually in before midnight. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Nice family owned park for family camping. The only thing that keeps me from giving it a higher rating is the bathhouse/restroom. Poor design, due to no windows to let in the light they put in full glass doors with a fence with 3/4' slots, to keep people from looking in. If one is naked and someone looks through the glass or fence, it is show time! Not a well thought out design. I would enlarge it and make it right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We have used this campground many times and have never had one problem! I would like to comment on the closing of the gates at midnight that was stated in an earlier post. I had an emergency and had to get out at 2am. I had no problem getting out or getting back in at 4am. You just have to have your pass code. They do not shut the place down: there are just measures in place that keep people from coming in at all hours of the night! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This is my first trip to this park and we really enjoy it The owner are friendly and very accommodating and the park is pet friendly. Campground is laid out nicely for a 40 ft.MH and had plenty of room, trees not a problem. Give it a try, we liked it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is definitely a mixed review park and you must read to see if the negatives apply to you. We made a long stay here because the sites were the best around or we would have left after one night. The park is relatively quiet and it's close to Cade's Cove which was our primary objective. This is a park located in a no cell phone service area. I mean zero bars all the time. Here comes the biggest disappointment for us. They literally lock the place up from midnight to 7:00 a.m. You can't get out of the place. If you had a health emergency you can't get out. What kind of lunacy is that? We wanted to bird and watch other wildlife. Cade's Cove was a 20 minute drive away and we couldn't get there in the early morning as needed because we were held hostage at the campground. We had no idea about this until we were completely set up and left the campground and saw the sign. We talked to the owners and asked about this and they refused to understand. We checked other campgrounds and couldn't get the same spot for the whole time we were there. In fact, it would have taken three moves and we would have no place at all over the July 4th weekend. If this isn't an issue for you then you'll like this place. We wouldn't stay here again, however. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This is my third trip to this park and we obviously enjoy it every time, hence the reason for the returns. I have never stayed at any of the other parks in Townsend since I have driven through most of them and they all seem like you could jump from one RV to the other, and barely get your slides out, without popping your neighbor a time or 2. Big Meadow easily has the most room in the area including Pigeon Forge (won't go back there) and Gatlinburg and its way more peaceful too. The owners were super friendly once again and very accommodating if you had a certain area of sites that you liked. My father and I had a golf tournament that we played in and needed 2 more golfers to complete our team. They went the extra mile and created, and printed us out a sheet requesting for some golfers and posted it around the park. Lastly, the access to the Little River and tubing is outstanding. My father and I went down it three times and had a blast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
We had a great experience at this campground. The owners were very nice and it is a very pet friendly park. The location is very convenient to both Cades Cove and Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg. They also have a great playground for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
Nice park. Close to Great Smokey Mtn NP. Sites were level, wide and clean. Would have rated this park higher, except for price. This way too expensive of a park. As a result, we stayed only one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
Campground is laid out nicely for big rigs 40 ft.MH and had plenty of room, trees not a problem. Pet friendly. Check in was very efficient. Wi-Fi was weak many times but does work. Beats the chaos in Gatlinburg and Pigeonford. 20 min. to Cades Cove. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
The campground is well maintained. Owners and the staff are friendly and helpful. We had a little trouble with the Wi-fi but, they got it up and running quickly. There is even a workout room, with the basics. However, I would recommend using the walkway in Townsend. It goes the full length of the town. River use is just across the street (tubing and fishing). There are so many things that you are close to from this campground. Security is good and we had a great feeling here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
Very neat and well kept park with a great staff and owners that live on site. Great location in a peaceful valley. Look forward to returning again for some R&R. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
This is a hard one – the campground is extremely neat and clean and seems to have reasonable rules. I reserved a site here partially based on the pet restrictions this park has (I do not have pets myself and like to relax in peace away from constantly barking dogs). When I got to the campground, unhooked and set up my fifth wheel I heard constant barking dogs from a nearby Motor home. After I finished setting up I went to the office to complain about the dogs barking, the campground owner asked me where the barking was coming from and she walked to the back door to look, I pointed out the motor home where the barking was coming from and she said oh, that’s “so and so” and those are show dogs. I inquired about their rule about not allowing campers to leave pets unattended. She stated that the dogs I was complaining about didn’t usually bark other than when the owners returned and that their rules only prohibited campers from leaving their dogs unattended outside, inside the camper was OK. I then told her that I would appreciate it if she cold do something about the dogs, she then told me “don’t worry, if you complain again I will give you a refund and ask you to leave”. I said OK and decided to tough it out (knowing well that it would be near impossible to get a site in this area for a full week without reservations). The next day the owners of the motor home had their dogs outside the camper in a pen, there were 8 dogs in the motor home (they were not disturbing anyone while outside though). I felt as though I had received very poor customer service from the owner when they said that they would ask me to leave if I complained again. Well the week went by and I put up with the dogs (they weren’t all that bad, I was gone during the day time each day). Then, on Friday evening I had some bad luck and was involved in a Fatal motor accident where two people were killed, I suffered only an knee injury and bruises. I needed to leave two days early to get back home as soon as possible, so I went to the office to request a refund for the two unused days, the owner said no problem (she had heard about the accident) and said she would be happy to issue me credit towards future stays (I realize this is common), I told her that credit would not benefit me any because I did not plan on returning here because I did not like to listen to barking dogs all the time. This is where it turned very ugly, (from the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh), the campground owner got very rude and told me that she could not control everyone’s pets, and that “NEXT, YOU WILL BE BLAMING YOUR MOTORCYCLE ACCIDENT ON ME AS WELL”. I could not believe what I was hearing, this was the rudest comment that I had ever received from another human in my whole life. I then knew that I was not dealing with a reasonable person, and I just walked away. By the time I had gotten back to my car (slower than usual because I was on crutches) the other owner (I assume was her husband) came out to my car and asked me to come back in and he would make it right, I told him I would have my wife come back in a few minutes and take care of it. In the end, the campground did what was right but this is NOT at all about money. This is a very nice campground but if you do have a problem and end up dealing with the person I dealt with be prepared to receive the worst customer service on this planet! I am not recommending that anyone avoid this campground – just this person. Just an FYI – the folks that did cause the accident that I got injured in was an older couple on a Goldwing Trike from Ocala Florida – the were riding in front of me when they lost control of the Trike going north on highway 129. When they lost control,they collided with an SUV towing a boat, sadly they were both killed instantly. I was injured when the trike they were riding was thrown back into my lane leaving me no place to go but hit it. I had slowed significantly but not enough – I hit the Trike and went over the front end of my bike and landed in the ditch – my knee is banged up but I will heal. The others will not. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
I originally booked this several months ago because I had a discount of 20 percent off that I had gotten from attending an RV show that "Big Meadow" had a booth at. When I received the discount, I noticed that it was not to be used on "Holiday weekends" which obviously makes sense to me. The 4th of July fell on a Wednesday, so I thought I would ask if I could use the discount and without hesitation was told that I could, which right off the bat was very cool in my book. I started to wonder about some of the other campgrounds in the area as my vacation time neared because Big Meadow doesn't have a swimming pool as some of the others in Townsend do. I called the KOA of Townsend, (formerly Little River Village), and was put on a list to get a river front site, if someone cancelled. They called on several occasions when one came available and each time I said "no". I felt like I should give Big Meadow a chance since they were going to let me use the discount. Arrival time came and I was very pleased. The Johnson's were as friendly as it gets and told my girlfriend and I about different area attractions like the "Y" swimming hole and good restaurants in Townsend. Those of you who read this, check out the "Y", its about 2 miles into the National park on the left, you will see the cars parked there. Great place to take a dip and the water is nice and cold to give you a super jolt to get your blood flowing!!! Also, they have a tubing place right next door, so you can get into the Little River right beside the campground. With all of this water stuff, I forgot all about a swimming pool, so it was no big deal. Now, of course I did have to drive through and see the KOA and I can honestly say I was glad that I didn't go there. The sites looked so close together, I am sure you could stick your head out your window and hug your neighbor, (if you wanted to, and I surely didn't want to do this). At Big Meadow, I had one of their sites over looking the River and my only real issue was the locals drove up and down the road that separates the grounds from the River like Indy car drivers. Cops could fund their retirement if they watched this supposed 25 mile an hour road. We walked around the whole park and the super sites in the back and on the side were huge. I will get one of these next time, they were so spacious and seemed very peaceful. No doubt I will stay here again, great place and again the Johnson's were super friendly!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$40
This is a wonderful park/resort. The owners were the most helpful of any we have ever encountered. The grounds were super clean ( I even saw the owner cruise by in his golf cart and stop to pick a cigarette butt up). The sites are wide which is a plus in my book. We will be sure to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$42
We love Big Meadow. We camp here often. Staff is friendly, sites are nice size, facilities are always clean and tidy. Nice relaxing cg. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
Staff was friendly, helpful and informative. We had a super site #16. We had wi-fi right at our motorhome. Very clean and well taken care of. We noticed that at 6 am the owners were up and cleaning the office, laundry and bathrooms. We will definitely be back at this campground again. We met several people that have been coming here for years. That says a lot as to what kind of campground this is. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
This is a nice park with a mostly friendly staff. The roads are gravel and the turns are tight but the premium sites are over-sized concrete pads...very nice. They claim to offer free wi-fi at your site but that is simply NOT TRUE. The wi-fi only works at their office. And they take their rules VERY seriously, they have a lot of them and a violation can result in an eviction without refund. We mistakenly broke two rules and were severely scolded for our bad behavior. NO ALCHOHOL OUTSIDE YOUR RV. Can you believe that rule? One of the owners rides around in his golf cart like the Gestapo looking for violations. If we ever return to the area, I think we'll stay somewhere else.. maybe some place with a pool.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Really hot so it will be great when the trees are fully mature. Very pretty, near river, incredibly clean. All staff very nice and helpful. They have free Wi-Fi but it is currently only accessible near the office. Also, if you have Cingular cell service, it will not work at this camp! I stayed for a month and would definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$30
We have camped at Big Meadows several times in the past few years. The owners have always been extremely helpful and nice. It is a well maintained campground and the restrooms are always clean. Every Thanksgiving they have a dinner. They provide the ham and turkey and the campers provide the rest. They have planted trees but they will take time to grow. We camp with dogs and have never had a problem at this campground. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$42
I just read the reviews for Big Meadows and I can't believe what I read. My wife and I stayed at the campground for 4 months starting July 9, 2005 and we both agreed that the campground, area, facilities and especially the service deserve high marks. This hard working family were always courteous and helpful,and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. I don't understand why certain reviewers were upset about the campground rules. As far as I am concerned, all campgrounds must have rules and they generally are very similar. A campground without rules or with minimal rules wouldn't have many repeat campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$37
During one of our past visits to this area, my husband and I toured several campgrounds, and initially Big Meadow was our second choice because our first choice was more scenic. Well, we stayed in the first choice last time, it was scenic, but it didn't have 50 amp service, WI-FI, a cell phone signal, and premium pull through sites with concrete pads for the motor home and patio. And the staff at the first choice were unfriendly and acted as though it was a supreme effort to respond to a question, much less a request. Big Meadow is so much better! The owners are friendly and efficient, and the campground is clean and well maintained. The premium sites are excellent for motor homes and big fifth wheels. The rules are clearly presented, and they are based on common sense and courtesy, not something silly. The campground is close to the Smokies and away from the hectic pace of Pigeon Forge and Sevierville. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
Regarding the negative Review by the man from Knoxville with the pack of dogs in the little Pop-Up camper; I was camped nearby and if I had not been leaving the next day, I would have confronted him personally. He and his dogs were loud and disturbing to that area of the campground. I have 1 small dog that goes with us and we either have her with us or we Board her over in Sevierville at the "Doggy Daycare" while we are camping. I have been camping at Big Meadow Family Campground for about 3 years now and we think that it is the most friendly, caring and pleasant place to stay in the Smokies. We just returned from a 6,000 mile, 15 State Trip out West and we found no Campground that we liked any better than the Big Meadow Family Campground. The Campground owners are some of the finest people I have ever dealt with. They have the rules to make your camping experience more enjoyable and peacefull and secure. We love to camp but we do not like camping where people bring packs of barking dogs and the people are also loud and scurrilous. I am thankful that the staff at Big Meadow stands up to people like that. Camping should be fun and relaxing and friendly. That is why I like to camp at Big Meadow. They do not put up with loud and abusive dogs or people because they know that the vast majority of campers do not like to camp along side of inconsiderate people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
Big Meadow Campground is the overall best campground we have ever stayed in. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The sites are very well landscaped, bathrooms are clean, and the playground is well maintained. When checked in we were advised of the rules of the campground, none of which were out of line. These rules are for our benefit, so we were pleased and happy to follow the rules. We take exception the review concerning the barking dog in the tent camper. These rules are made for everyone's benefit and enjoyment. We do not own an animal, so it is very annoying when there is a barking dog close by, but we do understand that this sometimes happens, however, taking offense to the staff for trying to be sure that the other campers are not disturbed, is quite selfish. Big Meadow Campground is extremely nice in every way. We would rate them much higher than 10 if it were possible as we were very impressed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
I read the recent bad review about Big Meadow Campground and I strongly disagree. I have stayed at Big Meadow Family Campground in 2000, 2001 and now for a month in 2005. I have always found the campground to be a very satisfying experience with the owners/operators more than willing to accommodate the needs of the folks staying there. They are helpful, friendly and provide a wonderful atmosphere in which to enjoy the many activities nearby in the Great Smoky Mountains. I find it refreshing that they have very simple rules, which allow all to enjoy the campground as long as they have respect for the rights of others to enjoy it as well. I would note that I have had dogs in the past; and have stayed at a variety of campgrounds during a two-year full-time stint traveling around the country. This appears to be a classic example of the typical dog debate & part of the reason why some campgrounds do not allow dogs & others segregate pet owners to certain areas of their campgrounds. Having been on both sides of the fence, I can certainly understand the respective positionsit is nice and convenient to take your pet along if possible. I think the key is that pet owners need to know and abide by the rules, ask for them upfront, and then be respectful of others. One of my dogs was a great watchdog and barked whenever he was alone. Knowing this, we did not take him camping. This was not only common sense, but respectful of others who may or may not like to hear him bark. Just because your neighbors do not vocally complain when you asked, does not mean that they found your behavior acceptable or respectful of their rightsmany folks do not like direct, open confrontation when they are trying to have a good time. It may be that the owners were doing their job and not waiting for a complaint but heading off problems. Wish more owners would do this. For the record, I did hear the dogs but did not make a complainthad I been in an adjacent campsite & stayed there during the day, I likely would have complained though. Not mentioned by this reviewer was the fact his dogs were in a soft sided pop up campernot the best place for a 160 lb great dane who may or may not be aggressive when children ride by on their bikes. Lastly, I would point out that it is incumbent upon the campground renter to inquire of any rules due to their special situation. Had you told them upfront that your dogs barked when left alone, they likely would have told you it would be a problem. I believe that Big Meadows Campground provided options to this renter (who in reality knew these going in but chose to ignore them for whatever reason) and he was well treatedmindful that the other renters here also have the right not to hear this persons dogs bark all day or bark whenever someone walks past their rig. The responsibility for the pet and its behavior lies with the pet owner, without exception, not with nearby renters or the campground operator. I have no problem giving the Big Meadows Family Campground a two thumbs up recommendation to anyone contemplating staying in Townsend Tennessee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
My wife and I live in Knoxville TN which is approximately 40 minutes from Townsend TN. Pigeon Forge TN and Gatlinburg TN are both easily accessible from Townsend, so we decided to use it as a base camp for my sons summer visit from TX. Being able to tube the Little River in Townsend was also a draw for us. So my wife and I drove out to Townsend to scout out the campground locations. We were really impressed with the quality of the campgrounds available in the area and were very excited about the possibilities. We picked up pamphlets for several locations and returned home. We called every place we could find and they were all booked for the week that we needed. We were so disappointed until we found a campground on the Internet by the name of Big Meadow Family Campground, so we gave them a call. The lady my wife spoke to said they did have some sites available for the days we needed. We wanted to book a site over looking the river but one would not be available until 2 days after we needed to be there. We went ahead and booked one of their lower end sites with the understanding that we could move once the site overlooking the river became available. There is a price difference between the sites but we wanted to make this visit as special for my son as we could. My wife told the lady that booked our stay, that we had 3 dogs and asked if that would be a problem. The lady assured my wife as long as we cleaned up behind our pets that they were more than welcome to be there. We were so happy to have a place to take my son. He loves anything to do with water so this was perfect. My wife and I took our camper up the night before he was to arrive and set it up in the first of the 2 sites (site 24) that we were supposed to stay in. Upon signing in my wife was given a sheet of rules for the grounds. There are no campground rules posted on their site so this was the first time we had seen this list. One of the rules says you are not to leave you pets unattended. I took this to mean that you couldnt leave your pet tethered outside of your camper. We love our dogs like they are our children and they live a pampered life. There are also other rules like, children are not to slide, skid or spin the tires on their bikes, they are not to ride over 5mph, sewer connections are MANDATORY no exceptions (my camper is self contained, so I wasnt sure how I was supposed to hook to the sewer). We set our camper up on a Friday night and I picked my son up from the airport the next day. It was rather late by the time we arrived at the campgrounds so we decided against cooking, opting instead to go get some Hot Wings for dinner. We put the dogs inside of our camper with food, water, in the air conditioning and headed out. Upon our return we found a note attached to the door, saying that our dogs had been barking. The note said we were not to leave the dogs at any time from that point on. Now I have no doubt that the dogs did in fact bark at some point (they are dogs), but they were not barking upon our arrival at 10:20pm. My wife was upset by the note and by the possibility that we had caused a disturbance. I assured her that we would go to the office the next morning and work something out with the campground owners. So the next morning I went to the office and there was a gentleman at the counter. I laid the note on the counter and he asked me if he could help me. I said that I wanted to see if we could work something out, to which he immediately replied you have no options, you can either take the dogs with you or kennel them! I tried to explain to him that we were there to go tubing in the river and a Great Dane that weighs 160lbs would be rather cumbersome, but he again snapped either you kennel them, or you take them with you! Seeing that he was going to be unyielding and not listen to reason, I explained that we would pay for that night and go ahead and leave so that we would not to be a bother to the campgrounds any further. He said that was fine, but that there would not be any refunds of any of our money! I asked him why that would be the case and he said you brought this on yourself (it does say in their list of rules that you will not receive a refund if you are evicted, but we were never asked to leave). I told him that we would park the camper on the site we had paid for to save having to hall it back to Knoxville that day. I told him that I would just come pick it up later, on the day we had paid through and that is when he made what I felt was a threatening statement. Greg said you can leave it here but I will not be responsible for any vandalism and damage to your camper. Now at no point when we signed in did anybody at the desk make any comments about the safety of our camper, so why (unless he was making a threat) would he say something like that? So my wife packed up what she could, and took the dogs back to our home in Knoxville TN. My son and I moved the trailer from site 24 to site 1. It was a little strange that during the moving of the trailer, several of the campers around us came over to ask us if we were leaving. I explained that we were just moving to another site, but I also took the opportunity to apologize to them for any annoyance my dogs might have caused. Not one of them knew a thing about what I was talking about. They said they had only heard the dogs bark right when we left. The whole incident ruined most of the day, but we were able to get one run in on the river tubing. We have camped in the TN state and national parks and have left the dogs in our camper with food, water and even air conditioning, every time weve gone camping. We have never had a single complaint from anybody. Im not saying our dogs are perfect by any means (they are definitely dogs). I just feel like a family oriented park should have been willing to work with us. Our campsite (number 1) was right across the street from the playground. I expected noise from there and I was not disappointed. During the day that is to be expected and those kids deserve to play their hearts out. After all it is vacation for them too. We love kids and really enjoy watching them in the campgrounds weve visited. But kids making noise during the day is no different than dogs making noise. So why were they trying to require us to stay in the camper with the dogs at all times? They were unwilling to listen to any options but their own. I would have been willing to check on the dogs every 2 to 4 hours, and agree to be back at the camper by a certain time in the evening, but we never got to that part of the conversation. I would love to tell you to go to their web site and read their rules for yourself, but alas they do not have them posted on the site. There is a reason for that is several are overboard for a business that is supposed to be about having fun. I felt like, I would be doing many campers (especially with pets) a grave injustice, were I to just let this incident go without bringing it to light for others to see. Thank you We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
If you like sites with no shade you will love this place. The river sites have a public road running between the sites and the river. I believe the staff could be a little more friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$35
We enjoyed our stay here very much. The campground is well designed, obviously by people who have actually camped in an RV! We stayed in one of the pull-thru super sites, which is extra long, with a concrete pad. Would highly recommend these sites! They even had gravel around the hookups, so your hoses, wires, etc... do not get muddy. The staff was very friendly, and the bathhouse was clean as a whistle. Would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Very nice park. Open sites that are not too close together. This is one of the best campgrounds in the Townsend area. Close to GSMNP and Cades Cove. The owners are very very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$28
Park was very clean. The host were friendly and very helpful. All site were graveled, level and well maintained. Sites were not on top of each other however some were fairly close. Gatlinburg,Pigeon Forge and Cades Cove are all less than an hours drive away throurgh beautiful mountain roads. Would highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com