206626 User submitted reviews online!!
Townsend / Great Smokies KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 51 user reviews. Phone: (865) 448-2241
CGID2681

Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Camp Information
Sites
134
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$54



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   9   10   8   7   10   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$54
We have camped here several times and they are always making things better. I would love to see more space between the big rig full hook up sites. I hate it when people are having a large fire and my electric cord is right next to the fire ring!! Heavy rains bring ants, we had ants on the power pedestal and they followed our hoses to the coach when it poured the one day! Please add a water station in the dog area, thank you. We will return, we love this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$62
The sites in this campground are small. We had a pull-through site but we had to unhook our car. Getting out was difficult because the sites are so tight. We had to have someone move a car to get out. The road out is very narrow. Good location to see the sites but not good for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$60
We go out of our way for a KOA. But this KOA let us down. Sites very close together. Dog squeaking all day. 50 amp did not work the night we came in so had to wait until the next day - almost drained our house batteries until we figured out what the problem was. Office did come to fix it immediately the next morning when reported that the 50amp did not work. Laundry very small with only three washers (had a fourth but it only had hot water). Office was pleasant upon check in. Off leash dog park is nice but had to wait for two aggressive dogs to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$57
We loved this park. The river was great to sit by and just watch. The location to Cades Cove and the Smokies was the best. Great water pressure, electric steady and cable TV worked OK, but not great (note..that may be my equipment not theirs). Easy in and out with our 34 foot with dolly tow, help if you want it but we had no problems. Quiet at night as most traffic doesn't go through the national park at night. The only issue which is common with KOAs is the fairly cramped sites and when another camper pulled in our view to the river from the main body of the RV was blocked, but it didn't bother us much as the sitting area was nice enough. We will be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$50
We LOVED camping here! The campground itself does have a couple of negatives in that some of the sites are very close together and sometimes the traffic can be a little too much in some of the loop areas. However, we were amazed at the level of service by the staff. One of the staff members showed us to our site and helped us to get set up. The campground actually has a garbage pickup each morning, where you can place the bag at the edge of your site and someone will take care of it for you, which we had never seen at any other campground. We had to report a bees nest near our camper, and someone was there within 10 minutes to take care of it. The playground for the kids was very well kept and we felt safe allowing the kids to play near the creek and around the campsites. Although we weren't able to attend, we were also told that the campground organizes a family outdoor movie night on the weekends, so the staff interacts with visitors on several levels. Overall, this was one of the best campgrounds we have visited so far, and we definitely plan to return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$51
The staff was very helpful on arrival and check-in. We were assigned a pull-through site which is what we had requested. However, it was so narrow that we were unable to extend our slide outs without invading the picnic table at the adjacent site. I returned to the office and they were very helpful in getting us into a better area of the park. The site we got was a back-in with a nice cement patio. It wasn't too long but plenty of room on the sides. We had 50amp, water, sewer, cable & Wi-Fi and all were in good working order. There are lots of big mature trees and very shady. This seems to be a family oriented RV park and extremely busy over the week-ends, we arrived on a Sunday and glad we were not here earlier as it quieted down on Monday. The KOA is only 1/10th of a mile from the entrance of the National Park. It's a very nice area, but the NP was crowded, even in late September. The actual site we had was OK, but tough to maneuver a big rig. It appeared that the KOA could use some clean-up and raking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$60
Nice park but the sites were very close together. Luckily we were here before 'the season.' Can't imagine the 'togetherness' when the park is full. The folks here were very nice. Don't choose the sites with river views as these are even more crowded together and you will pay extra for being there. Separate showers made bathing a treat. Bathrooms were squeaky clean. Pricey but the area is a tourist area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$48
Believe the ratings on this place. It is the best campground in Townsend in our opinion. We really looked for major flaws in the place but couldn't come up with anything substantial. The range of sites is great with everything from primitive tent sites to big rig pull throughs and in between. The foliage is gorgeous and the river sites, particularly towards the National Park side, are just great for wading right in and cooling off, although it was very cold right now. The playground is one of the best we have ever seen and the amenities including the camp store and restaurant were top notch. Wi-Fi worked in most of the park although near the river the signal started to get a bit weak but it worked. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We wont even look for another spot in Townsend. Doubt it could get any better than this. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$73
Great location on the “peaceful side of the Smokies”, just minutes from the NP. Plenty of shade with nice ambiance along the river. Sites are tight and the place is pretty busy this time of year, especially on weekends. Our site was shaded by a walnut tree which bombed us with fruit during our stay. Tiny laundry has only four washers, and only one of them has hot water. Cable was good. Wi-Fi was strong. AT&T cell service was non-existent. (Not the park’s fault, of course, but important to know.) Entrance is a bit tight, so swing wide because it’s more than a 90 degree turn. Entry can get congested quickly, but the cheerful KOAers are quick to come out to greet arrivals and send them to their assigned spots. We paid three different nightly rates. Would like to see a weekly rate, but when you have a CG this close to a NP apparently there’s no need to offer customer-friendly pricing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
Excellent park. Staff met us outside and directed us to our site. Once setup we were able to come back and finish the sign in paperwork. Park was clean and well kept, staff were very nice. We did not use the shower house or laundry so can't comment on that. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
The sites were a little tight, typical KOA. The staff was great, enjoyed talking to them. There is a lot to do in and around the CG. I was disappointed our site faced a different direction than I expected. The GC enjoyed the arts and crafts, we all enjoyed the movie. We also rented a lodge for our daughter and her family, we stayed seven nights and except for the fact it rained every day (nothing the CG can do about that), we had a great week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$73
We had a great time! Place was clean and friendly. We had a great site. We had to use the 'honey wagon' to dump. it was well worth the $10! The only down side was that the web site said lots of children activities and there was none! No movies or games like site had promised. We still had fun. The down side was all the camp fires and all the smoke...our smoke detector went off all night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
This campground had everything you could want in a park. Food service, clean restrooms and showers, friendly staff, nice pool, sites on the river, and decent WiFi. The park was easy to find and near everything that we wanted. Just a couple minutes away from from Pigeon Forge. We were able to rent tubes to go down the river right from the campground. Ice cream social on Saturday was fun and the day camp was also great for the kids. Loved the park and the people: we will be coming back soon! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$53
Wonderful park if you have kids or not. Children love it and so do the adults. The staff is nice and caring. We loved the restaurant: the chicken is the best. We enjoy our time here: for the past 3 years we have spent the summer here and can't wait to get back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
Townsend, TN, is definitely the most sane gateway into the National Park, as it is quiet and lots less frenetic than places like Gatlinburg. This KOA must be a fave for many families since they can tube on the river, buy fried chicken, get easily into the National Park, borrow or rent hot-rod bikes, and participate in activities and movies. The evening and day camp activities provided when we were here, were provided by a local Baptist church's ministry, with Bible lessons and games, so heads-up if this partnership would put you off. Maybe after we left the activities were provided by a local synagogue, but I do not know. A disappointment was the absence of an on-site or local dog playground. Since dogs are not allowed on trails in the National Park, you would hope to find a place to exercise them, but Townsend has none. The KOA has excellent staff and plenty of them, though we could do without the constant wheeling and smell of those gasoline golf carts every 30 minutes up and down the campground roads. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$90
We had a great time at the lodge by the river. What an exceptional setting. Beautiful weather and geat camgpround hosts. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$39
Absolutely beautiful park! We walked our dog around the park and along the Little River. Very tranquil setting. It was very nice to have a convenience store right there along with gas and propane for sale. The staff was extremely nice and helpful with information about the area. I would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
This is a beautiful campground, but being a KOA is pricey. However, the river sites are worth it. There are two kinds of river sites: ones with full hookups and a deck above the river; and ones with water & electric right on the river. The w/e river sites are where we stay. In some of them you can just about step out of your camper right into the river. Same goes for non-river sites: The full hookup sites are smaller & closer together, and then water & electric sites & tent sites are much bigger and more private. As I said, this really is a beautiful campground. There is a park-like area by the river with benches and swings that is so peaceful and relaxing. The bathhouses are sparkling clean. Smoky Mountain Heritage Center is across the street, and is definitely worth a visit. Through the summer and into the fall there are concerts there on Friday evenings. Park is well maintained, by all those folks in yellow shirts puttering around on their golfcarts! Ubiquitous but unobtrusive. We live 15 miles away and come here and to Lazy Daze often. We prefer Lazy Daze for frequent short stays because it's cheaper, but you just can't beat Townsend KOA sites on the river when we really want to feel like we've been far away from home and get into the zone, as we call it. Yes, we know how lucky we are! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
If your family likes trees, this CG will be a good fit. In fact there are so many trees; they create obstacles entering some of the sites. The internal roads are mostly gravel and very narrow. Larger units will have a tough time maneuvering on the roads and entering sites without the help of others or movement of fire rings/other RV’s. Most of the concrete picnic table pads were old and generally will not align with most of the RV/TT doors, therefore mud is tracked into the units. We found the camp store to be overpriced. The staff did an outstanding job this weekend in dealing with constant torrential type rain storms. The creek in rear of CG started to rise due to the rain. The staff carefully watched this situation. They were proactive in moving units to assure no one was in harm’s way. We commend their diligence staying on top of this critical situation. We will again visit this CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
This was our first trip to the Smoky's. The price was too much for what we got at $65 per night. There is only 10-12' between sites, less if you have a slide out, extremely close together. The fire ring is within 3' of our rig and the pull through sites are not long enough for a TT/5er and truck, 35' max. We had to turn our truck sideways at the end which really put our truck in the road and caused a problem with other campers that had to do the same thing. We also had a problem with people arriving at 3 AM setting up camp that took them a hour to do. Needless to say not much sleep that night. The campground is clean, but that was the only positive thing I saw. They charge you for every minor thing like walk-in visitors I noticed. The store is overpriced so we went down the road to the IGA instead. We will not be going back there again, we found a few other campgrounds we like better with more reasonable pricing. I could have rented a room for what they charge here and saved on gas pulling my rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$58
This was a nice place to camp; lots for kids of all ages. We had motor trouble and were late getting there. They kept asking our friends if we were OK and even checked to see if another site would be better since we had to be towed in as we were only 5 miles from campground. Only negative thing was the firewood needed to be split into smaller sections and dried out for about another 4 months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$66
This is not the Little River Campground we remember. The hosts are not friendly and store attendants are worse. They were rude, offered no hospitality, and definitely not from Tennessee. The WiFi is horrible. The sites are too close together. The campfire beside us was within 3 feet of our 90 gallon fuel tank. The site sewer was stopped up and left a nice smell under our motorhome. They charged a friend four dollars to walk to our site, being he was not camping, after we paid over 65 dollars a night for the premium site. After many years of using this facility, we will not camp here again. It is over priced. They are obviously in it for the money, and rude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$58
Continues to be a great campground. The five year old and dog love it. The staff are friendly and helpful. Plenty of activities to keep the kids from getting bored. The pool and bathrooms were very clean. Wi-Fi works most of the time. Intermittent cell phone service. Can be noisy, but quiet time strictly enforced. We have stayed here at least five times. It does have a few quirks. It can be expensive, the interior roads need to be paved, and the smoke from the numerous campfires five feet from your front door can be suffocating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
This is a beautiful park with the Little River running through it, you can tube from inside the park. We stay here in July and December every year. You are 1/4 mile from the enterance to the Smokey Mtn. Ntl. Park. and 14 miles from Cades Cove for bear and deer watching. Also, you are only 12 miles from Piegon Forge, 14 miles from Gatlinburg but in the small, peaceful town of Townsend. KOA offers gas, grocery and supplies, broasted chicken, ice cream and fudge. Also, they have hey rides, yes hey because the kids all yell hey to the other campers, water fights, outdoor movies and kids crafts. Just a wonderful place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$56
Spaces a wee bit tight getting into, but once there had plenty of room for the slide outs. Our in-laws had a spot with great shade, we had very little. Lot of highway noise and per the typical KOA way over priced. Staff was very friendly and they had a lot of activities going on for kids to enjoy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$46
I feel this KOA is quite expensive but we didn't plan ahead and wanted to be close to Cades Cove. I think we could have gone next door to Tremont and saved some money but we didn't try. We actually spent four nights in this park in 3 sites. Our riverfront site was quite expensive as it was around 70 on a Sat night. We were in site numbers 35, 8, and 13. On all 3 I could get online, however if I wanted it to be fast, I went closer to the office. They must reserve specific sites here, for the one we had to move from, was never occupied so I guess those folks paid and didn't show up. I think the next time I'll plan ahead and save some money for we are in the park all day so I don't see a need to spend that much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$48
I booked our reservation at this KOA campground because of the previous reviews, but I can assure you that this campground is not all that good, and we will not stay here again. Our site was not level and actually very difficult to level, plus very small and backed right up to the camper behind us. There are some beautiful shade trees but the campground is dusty and just too close to the site beside you, behind you and in front of you. As I said - we will not be staying here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
This campground is very peaceful. It is very close to the Smoky Mountain Park and one of the closest to Cades Cove. We will be returning to this campground very soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$44
This is a great park, very convenient to the Cades Cove section of Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Sites are a little close together, but acceptable. The park has a nice country feel to it, with plenty of trees. People, both staff and other campers are very friendly. We don't have small children, but the place seems kid friendly. Lots of kids playing in the playground having fun. Cable works well, free WiFi is OK. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$62
Our second time staying here, and it was just as great!!! Pull through site the first time was very easy to negotiate. Back-in riverside site the second time a little more tricky due to the sites across the road, but still negotiable. Great "beach" area along the river for playing with the kids and the dog. Pool and bathrooms very clean. Staff friendly and open to any questions. Sites clean,well maintained, and fairly big. Summer activities for kids {outdoor movies, hay rides}. Great playground with new and updated equipment. Gravel drives around campground, but the community has a long bike path that makes up for it. Gameroom also great addition. Camp store was nice for forgotten supplies. Overall great place!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
The location is great for visiting the Smoky Mountains because it is very close to the Townsend visitor center and some of the most visited sections of the Park. The best features are probably the shade trees and WiFi. We also enjoyed an outdoor movie with popcorn that was shown on a big inflatable screen. The sites along the river have the best views. All sites in this park are very small. My awning and slide were less than 10 feet from my neighbors campers. Parking is tight and you might have to get someone to move their vehicle to get your camper in our out of your site. The store is excellent. Another good feature of this area is a paved bike/walking path that runs from this RV park all the way into town so you can bike to restaurants, the visitor center, heritage museum, grocery store, and dollar store. We stayed 5 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$70
This is a very wonderful campground, BUT it has completely overpriced itself. We had a site booked for this coming June on a riverside site and after their price increase this year, our site would be $93 a night (two adults, two children and one small dog). The campground is not that nice! We did feel that the workers were very overwhelming. We joked about how the minute that somebody pulled out of their site, the "worker bees" would flock to sweep the site and clean out the fire pits -- almost ridiculously. They came up to us twice to make sure that our 20 pound dog was tied to a lead. They were everywhere!! We planned on going back this year, but just will not pay the overpriced rate. Too bad that this is happening because it's a family oriented campground that soon will be eliminating the family population because of the price!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$43
Beautiful, clean campground. Friendly, knowledgable staff. Just purchased by KOA, however, honored our rates at the time of our reservation. Only negatives are that the campsites are close together and entering and exiting the park is very tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$26
Fantastic campground in a beautiful location. Staff very helpful and easy to deal with. Limited number of 'open all year' sites. Becoming a KOA campground. Will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$40
The campground staff was friendly and helpful and the grounds were extremely well kept. The facilities were both modern and clean. We stayed in site #3 and although it was not a river front site, we had an excellent view of the river from our rear RV window and from the fire ring area that is located at the rear of each campsite. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$45
This was our first time to Little River Village but will not be the last. Our site (26) was tucked away in a corner and a little difficult to get into but was adequately size, relatively level and concrete patio was great for kids. Campground had special activities planned for kids to celebrate Halloween which our kids, me too, enjoyed. Bath house was immaculately clean and saw them being cleaned numerous times each day. Lot of care was taken to keep falling leaves removed from the road and sites. We are thinking about 2007 reservations for the same time next year as this trip was just about as perfect as one could expect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
Beautiful park with lots of trees and a gorgeous river. This park has it all. There's a "big RV" side with many pull-thru sites, as well as a more natural, rustic side nicer for pop-ups, truck campers, and tents (many with water & electric). Wi-fi worked at site, but sometimes got overloaded in the evening. Facilities are spotless and staff is exceptionally friendly and service-oriented. I'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$50
Fantastic place! We had site 11 on the water which includes a deck looking over the river. Very quiet location but close to the action in Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, and the Smoky Mountain National Park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
The location is great, next to the river. The registration process was quick and easy. Generally, management was friendly. However, they had a really bad skunk problem. It bothered us two nights in a row. Management would not work with us to resolve the problem reasonably. So we were forced to end our vacation early. They also charge an additional $4 per guest per day per site. If you are camping with 4 people, that is an extra $8 per day to add on to the site fee. It was nice having a store on the property to buy stuff, but it was greatly overpriced. Just drive or bike to the IGA just down the street. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
We drove over 5 hours to camp here and made our reservations months in advance. As soon as we arrived, I took the children to the pool. This is where I made a crucial mistake, I allowed my children to enter the deep end (8 ft) of the pool by bending over hands-first instead of feet-first. This was considered a dive (there was a no diving sign) and one of the employees came rushing in to severely reprimand me. She accused my children of doing handstands and flips which they most certainly were not doing. I apologized and didn't let them do it again. I was wrong to let them do that, but other campgrounds we've stayed at allow this if the deep end is 8 ft. But I was wrong and I am usually a rule-follower, not a rule breaker. But since I made this mistake, I was continually watched by the campground employees. One even parked at our site on her golf cart and watched us one morning. I was on the computer and my husband was cleaning the grill. She sat there for at least 5 minutes, staring but not speaking, until my husband asked if he could help her, then she told him that she hoped he wasn't making a mess because their employees had to clean the sites. It was a gas grill and he was only washing it off. Bearing this in mind here is my assessment: Positives: (1) Good access to the creek (2) Clean restrooms (3) Clean campground (4) Bike trail across the road (5) Great preacher at the church service Negatives: (1) Nazi-like employees that watch you like you're a criminal (2) The campground store has 100% markup (3) Tube rental is a rip-off. Go up the street and rent for 1/2 the price of the campground (4) There is a rule not to leave dogs unattended. We didn't take our dog but I wouldn't risk it if you plan to leave them for any time at all. (5) Sites are very close together. Overall this is a pretty nice campground if you know all the rules and can obey them without exception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
This campground is one of the best campgrounds in Towmsend, that is not unless you want a site that has no hookups at all. The staff is friendly, pool is cleaned daily, and the staff really keep up with everything on the grounds. I noticed that some one was driving around to look at the campground and the staff used radios to make sure that the car was not "invading" any campers. That made me feel a little bit more relaxed about leaving home. The office staff was very friendly and helped answer questions about some of our mountain adventures we took while there, we were able to rent our tubes at the office. My 12 year old daughter is very active and she never once said that she was bored. They are many other campgrounds here but alot of them look like that they are hard to get in, no trees, or no pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$45
We camped here over the Memorial Day weekend. We completely enjoyed our stay. The owners and employees were terrific. They even spent a lot of time helping me track down a problem with my refrigerator. The only negative that we found was the motorcycles at the store. It was apparently a gathering place for the weekend. The noise was terrible and continued all day for the whole weekend. Other than that, this is one of the best campgrounds that we have used. Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$42
This is a great campground that is located very near the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. This is a family style campground that can accommodate large motorhomes to small tents. The managment does an excellent job of keeping this campground clean. Bathhouses are cleaned daily, the pool is clean, and sites are cleaned. There are many shade trees, the Wi-Fi does not reach all sites due to the trees though. There is an area for tents without hookups, porta potties are located in strategic areas to accommodate tenters during their midnight emergencies. Some sites are located right on the Little River which flows at the back of the campground (some have sewer hook-ups but most of the streamside sites do not have sewer hook-ups). The sites are level, but they are not large, I would consider them to be more accommodating than most in regards to size for this area. There are many activities for families (playground, basketball, game rooms, swimming pool, tubing the Little River, bike rentals, I have seen hayrides during the fall). I always stay at this campground when I am in this area of the Smokies, it is friendly, clean, accommodating to my needs, and it is well patrolled by management. There is a restaurant, gas station with small store that has several camping amenities on site. You can buy your firewood in the store and they will deliver right to your site for you. Do NOT miss the fudge shop that is located in the restaurant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$40
Very friendly staff work hard to ensure that the campground is kept spotless. Bathrooms were always spotless. Showers were always clean and there was always plenty of very hot water. Laundry facilities were always spotless as well. Pool was clean. With all the rain, we were unable to tube. Great playground and game room. We were very pleased with the campground and the staff. Only downside would be the closeness of the sites to each other. This was our first visit to this campground, but it most definitely will not be the last. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$32
Nice, neat, and clean family atmosphere. Love the location with easy access to National Park, Cades Cove, and Gattlinburg. River front sites need further development for motorhome access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$34
Our yearly fall destination when the leaves are turning. Sites on the creek are very pleasant. Best part is the bike trails into Townsend and the proximity to the park. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
The campground was clean and well kept but sites were very close. Several of the concrete patios and fire rings had been ran over as campers pulled out of the pull-thru sites. They have several amenities for recreation including playground and basketball courts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$36
A very well maintained campground on "the quiet side of the Smokies". They have a nice playground and pool for the kids and a "lazy river" that runs along the back of the campground. Our only complaint was the size of the sites. We told them we had slide-outs when making our reservation, but our driver's side slide was withing inches of hitting the neighbor's awning. Those neighbors left the day after we got there, so it worked out ok, but in peak season we would have been very cramped. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Very nice family park. Close to Smokey Mountain National Park entrance. We've camped here several times and always find it to be clean and well run. If you are going to the Smokey's to relax and visit the National Park instead of the tourist traps in Gatlinburg and Sevierville, this is the place to be. Although we list 5th wheel as our last visit, we've visited here in a Motorhome and Tent Trailer. We have friends who camped in a tent. The campground is well suited for all of these. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$25
Although this park is well maintained and landscaped, we found the campsites very close together. It is a typical private campground, crowded, congested, and jammed up. The road looping through the campsites had trucks and toads parked out on it because the sites did not have sufficient space for parking. Our site was very narrow. The fudge was delicious. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2000
$25
Beautiful park! We go there once a year. Park is located out of the hussle and bussle of Gatlinburg and is located next to park entrance. Campstore and restaurant on premises-trY THE FUDGE-BEST AROUND. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com