223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountaineer Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (865) 448-6421
CGID2682

Mountaineer Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   10   9   8   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
This is a great independent campground. Several of the sites back up to the river; we were fortunate to have one of these (site 13, maybe the best one in the park). The staff was fantastic, and there are several great restaurants in the area, one of which you can walk to. Great Smoky Mountain National Park is just down the road. The only down-side is that the sites are pretty tight, and there is not a lot of extra parking for tow vehicles or cars. However, we heard from several other campers that other parks in the area are actually tighter! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$46
Stayed here for the first time this spring and will definitely be going back! This is a small family owned campground. We were so happy we decided to stay here. We had a very nice level concrete site with a wooden deck directly on the river, and was only a couple of miles from the entrance to the Smoky Mountains. The owners were very nice and made us feel welcome the entire time we were there. The campground was clean and quiet. The restrooms and showers were spotless and accessible with a key pad which added a touch of safety and security. There was an affordable ice cream shop next door that was very nice to walk to after a day's hiking in the park! We are already booked for a visit in the fall! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$46
This is a wonderful, small, family park. It is very clean and well maintained. Cannot comment on the pool, as it was still closed in mid-April. Restrooms had a keypad on the doors so you had to enter a code to get in which provided extra security, and although a little older, the restrooms were spotless. They do have sites available on the river which were really nice, but they would not accommodate a big rig. That didn't really matter though as the campground is so small it's nothing to walk the very short path to the river, and we could hear it from our site anyway. The only negative I could find with the entire campground was the fact that the sites were somewhat tight. Sites on the outer ring had trees to navigate when you backed in, and you best beware of your slide-outs when you select your site. Also, the placement of the sewer drain tends to put it right at the edge of the concrete patio pad for the next sight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$41
We have been here since Monday, September 3rd and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The site (13) we were on overlooks the river and is truly beautiful. The campground is well maintained and the owners and camp hosts were very friendly and accommodating. We will surely be back to visit! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
This was our first trip to Townsend and Mountaineer Campground. We really enjoyed our trip. This is a small family owned and operated campground right on the Little River and only 2 miles from the entrance to GSMNP. Our site (12) overlooked the river and we had access to the river to cool off and tube. The pool is very nice - not the newest, but CLEAN and maintained. The bathrooms have a code pinpad for access and security. Any time I went into the bathroom and shower - they were very clean. I really appreciated that. Beautiful mature trees provide shade. We love being outside when we camp, and we all agreed we want to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Great campground with super friendly owners. They were there to help us back in and asked if we needed anything. Very clean facilities and a nice pool. The only reason I did not give it a 10 was due to the small sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
It is a nice campground, with new owners who are very friendly and very visible. Pets are welcome. There is a nice pool. When the campground is full, it is very tight with cars and people. Pulling out on a Sunday morning took longer than expected. Townsend is great, never left--no need for Gatlinburg! Site 23 is amazing for popups! Nice people, my husbands cell/wallet ended up on the road and someone turned it into the office and they locked it up for us. People need to be very aware of the Little River, two drownings in July 2011. The ice cream place across the field next door was expensive and terrible! The Back Porch is a great place to eat. Carriage Hill has a very affordable buffet for families. Also be aware most businesses close very early in Townsend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Love and will miss the old owners. Looking forward to what the new owners will bring to the already perfect place to camp in Townsend. We have been camping here for over eight years and have no plans on changing over to another campground. I love it here on 4th of July weekend, The Sundown across the street puts on one heck of a fireworks show, just bring your chair to the front of the road and enjoy. I live only 22 min's from the campground and we come up as often as we can. Very clean and well ran campground. Very pet friendly place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Extremely nice facilities. The owners couldn't be nicer. Most of the people we met that were staying there were repeat visitors. Well shaded camp sites. Slightly cramped as the camp sites are very close together, but it really wasn't a problem. It made meeting your neighbors that much easier. Bath house was always spotless. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
This is a great little campground! Very clean restrooms and showers, good internet connection, very friendly and helpful owners. If you're visiting the Smokies/Cades Cove, this is a very convenient location. There is horseback riding in the area, tubing, and more. Great fun for kids and adults. We would definitely stay here again. NOTE: this would be tight in bigger rigs, but our 30 footer was fine and we watched a guy position his 34ft 5th wheel. Site #12 is the THE BEST. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
We just purchased our motorhome and drove to this park after seeing the reviews on this site. We had a wonderful time, the owners were extremely helpful to us. We forgot pillows and they loaned us some brand new ones they had for their cabins. We didn't have a cable and they loaned us one of those too. The outdoor pool, restrooms, and showers were clean and the fellow campers were very friendly. As first time campers we had a wonderful time. We will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Small campground with very close full hookup sites. Stayed five nights. Family owned/operated and very friendly. Very family oriented park with pool, park layout is great for children. The only problem we had was lack of water pressure in the morning when they were filling the pool, just poor timing. On quiet side of TN Smokies, only short drive to Cades Cove and nice country drive to Pigeon Forge area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$46
This is a nice campground. The owners are very helpful and pleasant. The sites are very close together, but we had a river site with a private deck overlooking the river that made up for the site closeness. Being right on the river is definitely the highlight of the campground. We spent a lot time sitting on the deck and walking along the river. We could watch people tubing down the river from out site. It was fun. The restrooms are very nice. A bench, towel bar and three hooks in the shower changing area - it's the little things that count, ya know. Restrooms are air conditioned and heated too! The location can't be beat for getting into the National Park and Cade Coves (a must see - go early in the morning to see more wildlife). There was only one small IGA grocery close to the campground. The town of Townsend does not have much to offer, but we were there for the National Park and not for tacky tourist stuff. We would return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
First time camping here. Very pleasant experience. Small family campground. Spaces are tight and there is barely any room between campsites. Owners live on the grounds and are nice people. This would be a 10 if the owners enforced the rules, especially about pets and speed. Some campers allow their dogs to run loose and don't clean up after them, and people speed through the campground. Campground and restrooms are clean. Many repeat campers and all very friendly. Will definitely return in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
Another great visit to this campground. We have camped here for over 10 years and still enjoy this campground. We have always found a clean campground, clean restrooms, friendly owners and friendly campers. This is a very shady campground. Rate is for river sites. Sites are small but during the times we camp there aren't many campers there so it doesn't present a problem. Don't travel with a laptop but understand that Wi-Fi works good. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$31
Management and staff are extremely friendly people and go out of their way to be helpful. Sites are close together and during holidays and week-ends campground becomes very crowded. Bathhouse and laundry room are kept very clean. Speed limit is not enforced and at times can be dangerous what with the children riding bikes and not watching out for cars. Would definitely recommend this campground but would not camp here during holidays due to how crowded the campground becomes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$29
This is an excellent campground. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Restrooms are always kept in excellent condition as is the laundry room and swimming pool. The only drawback to this campground is how close the sites are but in all the years of camping here have never had a problem with other campers. Everyone we have met at this campground have always been very friendly and that is what keeps us coming back several times of year. Townsend is a very peaceful town. Riverstone Restaurant is an excellent place to eat. Food is always served fresh and hot and you get plenty for your money. French fries are excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
This campground was very cramped. The sites were almost on top of each other. We had difficulty backing in and the people next door were in a make shift tent. Their firepit was closer than two feet from our RV. We were very unhappy and left after 10 minutes. We found a nice spot at Ye Olde Mill Campground. I called the manager at Mountaineer about getting my desposit back. He was making excuses about the other campers using the firepit for cooking or not using it at all. The large pile of firewood told us they planned to use it. He said he would only charge a cancellation fee of $20.00, but charged $29.00 for one night. I would not stay there another 10 minutes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
We have camped at this campground several times over the past six years and have always found it to be extremely clean. Owners live on-site and are great people and go out of their way to help you. Townsend is a great place to camp all year long. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$25
For being a small Campground, this is a "jim dandy" spot to leave your RV and head into the Smoky Mountains or Cades Cove! Extremely clean bath rooms, showers, and swimming pool. Townsend is on the "sleepy" side of the Smoky's but there are still nice restaurants and things to do. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com