223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Tremont Outdoor Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 74 user reviews. Phone: (865) 448-6363
CGID2683

Tremont Outdoor Resort

Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   10   10   9   5   2   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2014
$60
We arrived at this park with high expectations. We were greeted very friendly by a lady in the office. We got all setup on our waterfront site and began exploring. There are No grills in this park so you need to bring your own. They had little covered decks out by the water on your site that was covered in nasty spider webs. I am thinking when they do the site check it wouldn't hurt them to take a broom and clean these off. The road noise is horrible. It is so loud that you can't hear the water running in the river nor can you watch TV or listen to a radio outside. We did not use the bath houses but were told by some friends that they were very clean. The pool was open but we did not use that, it looked to be nice and clean. The posted speed limit in the park is 5 mph and that is not enforced. If you are camping with children just know that people drive very fast in this park. They have a small play set for the children to play on that is in very poor condition. It has broken steps on it and the plastic that makes the tunnel that the kids crawl through has come unattached and is a danger for children to get cut on very badly. The cable TV works great but the WiFi is literally non-existent. You will not be able to do anything unless you are up by the office/camp store and then it is like a dial up connection, so don't go thinking that you will be able to use the internet because you won't. I will not camp at this campground again, I will try another one that is close by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$62
Twenty five years ago, we camped here in a pop-up. This time we went back in our 5th wheel. We enjoyed our stay since we had a back-in right on the creek with a covered porch at our disposal. The camp is getting a bit older, as are we, and could use just a little more TLC. The road to our site needs some new asphalt and it can be a bit tight for a larger rig. It is, however, very convenient to Cade's Cove and the Smoky Mtn Nat Park. The Wi-Fi was not very good at our site, but we had cable. I would return to Tremont CG but I would also look at some of the newer parks first. For the value, I believe it was just a bit overpriced and they give no discounts unless you stay for a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$42
Management at the park was wonderful to deal with. This was our first stop after picking up our new RV. The site was right on the river and quote possibly one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever spent. Tremont is definitely on our short list of favorite sites. You will not find a nicer RV Resort in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
First of all I've read some reviews and I strongly feel the person that wrote the sites are too close together or tight, they must be speaking about another Resort.??? They must have been up the road at some of the other RV Parks. I have stayed at 2 of the 3 parks that are down from here and They ARE extremely close, but NOT at Tremont. Tremont is very spacious and a Lovely Park/Resort . It's Extremely well maintain . A Very Secure & Family Resort. The restrooms & The True Laundry facility are immaculate . (Just as the grounds were) we had Resv. For 2 days extended for 2 more. Enjoyed it SO much Resv. For a wk. for Mothers Day and will make Resv. For June and will also Resv. One of the many Beautiful Cabins for our dear friends to stay in at the same time. Note we where Work Kampers /Managers at a 5 Start resort on the East Coast for a few years , so we have True Knowledge., of how a True Resort is to operate. The staff is extremely nice. The price is Well worth it, they are in the same price as the other parks. Resv. At Tremont and you'll ENJOY the nice sites and Security of the Beautiful. Surrounding . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
Nice waterfront sites with covered decks at each site overlooking the Little River. Sites were clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Roughly 7 to 8 mile drive to Cade's Cove. We always stay here when visiting the Smokies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$75
We booked Treemont several months prior to arrival because it was a good experience for us. Evidently management has changed and rates are going up! Very pricey for what you get. In addition, very tight for big rigs to maneuver and sites are poor quality. We won't go back to this place. Too many other campgrounds that are better quality. Bathrooms are clean and there is a nice pavilion. Wonderful river area and access. But if you want safety for kids and room to move- this is not your campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
The environmental ambiance of the Tremont RV Resort is phenomenal, e.g. the babbling brook, the proximity to the Smokey Mountains, and the weather. However that’s where the term Outdoor Resort comes to a screeching halt. I don’t mind paying top dollar ($32.00 per night) for a top dollar site, but I certainly did not expect to pay top dollar for a less than average facility. My first impression of the facility is that it resembles an RV parking lot... The sites are packed within inches of each other, no privacy between sites, no BBQ grills on any of the sites, my site was unpaved, uneven and sloped, the fire rings are rusted through and the majority were filled with water making them useless. The hot water in the showers was warm and nowhere near hot. The attitude at the main office was abysmal at best. This was my first and quite frankly it will be my last visit to this location. Even with the 20% discount it was less than favorable. I would have been madder than a hornet had I paid the $60.00 per night fee during the season. Plenty of other commercial facilities available which I am almost sure are a better value. Two words to describe this place: RIP OFF!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
Spent a week at this park and enjoyed it very much. Off season rate plus discount for 7 night stay made it very reasonable. I don't think I would pay the season rate but then I don't think I would enjoy a visit to Smoky Mountain Nat. Park during season either. It was very busy in November - can't imagine what it would be like during summer holidays. Townsend is a convenient location to Cades Cove, Pigeon Forge, Sevierville attractions but a nice quiet community to escape the commercial traps. Campground was spotless, staff very friendly, sites had space between them and services provided as advertised. Would stay at this location again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$65
We stayed for the first time at Tremont this past weekend. Overall, the campground is clean, well maintained and very convenient to Smokey Mountain NP. We were in a 30 amp site on the river and it was nice to have a covered porch at each site, but I questioned myself if it was worth the price and all the noise. I was well aware of the price before we arrived, but the longer we were there, the more I questioned the $65 a night rate. We have stayed at many nice resort RV parks in the Southeast and this is one of the most expensive considering the amenities. This was also a very noisy campground on the "30 amp" side because it fronts a busy highway that is the main SE access into SMNP. After a few days we got used to the road noise, but I would definitely try to get on the "50 amp" side. I have heard negative comments about the management, but we had very little interaction with them. The only time we saw anybody was the morning we were leaving and we were running late. It was 10 minutes before check-out and they came knocking on our door to remind us check-out was 12:00. It was pouring rain all morning and I was running in and out of the rain to put everything up and was waiting for the rain to let up before we hooked up the truck. There is no leniency (even though they were half full) on the checkout time, so be sure you follow the rules. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$65
Tremont Outdoor Resort is our favorite Campground in the Townsed/Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area. This is our second trip and we stayed in the same site (by chance) that we did the previous year. Nice wooden covered decks on the river site, no issues with power, wifi or cable - but the water pressure is somewhat lower. You can not reserve a particular site (unless you book for a week), but we request a river access site and have not been disappointed. The pool is very nice, although chilly, and they cleaned it every morning. The bathrooms are very clean, but you need to remember a code to access. The staff does a good job of monitoring the camp ground as we watched them run off some rowdy teenagers that parked in the campground to drink beer and jump of the bridge into the creek! Easy access to Townsend and Cades Cove. Make sure you take your bikes as there are great opportunities to ride in both places. Although the price is more than we like to pay, it is typical for the area. We will be back for a full week next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
Wonderful park, with the cleanest bathrooms we have ever seen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
We just returned from a 6 night stay at Tremont. The location of the campground is awesome being close to Cades Cove and directly on the creek. It was fun just to sit on the wooden deck and watch people tubing down the river. The Wi-Fi does not work in the campground and cell phone service is not available unless you drive 1/2 down the road; however, the campground does offer courtesy phones. The pool was clean and nice. The store closes early every day which was a bit of an inconvenience. The management is not visible within the park and does not offer any kind of newsletter or updates. For example, a local church offered activities at the pavilion but we were not told anything at check-in and just happened upon it while walking. While we visited, there was a terrible storm with 70 mph winds that knocked out the power for up to 2 days and the pool was down for 24 hours. Management refused any kind of refund and/or come check on their guests. My family and I have camped for years and were very surprised by their lack of involvement. We had site A38 which was very spacious for that area. Very poor water pressure as well. The creek location would be the only reason we would return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
This is very nice park, just right outside GSMNP boundary. The staff were very friendly. The sites weren't on top of one another and neatly maintained. We stayed right on the river and it was so peaceful, even though we could hear the river flowing inside our trailer. They also had a little covered pavilion at the river side camp sites. My only complaint, and its not much of a complaint because a lot of parks are this way, but the water pressure was a little low and we didn't get real good Internet service where we were but it was probably because there were a lot of trees (which is a good thing) and we were down the hill. Other than that I would have given them a 10. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$90
We stayed in one of the standard cabins, 12'x25'. The cabin was clean & the kitchen was well-equipped. There is a sofa & cable TV in the living area, 2 bunk beds & a separate bedroom with queen-size bed. WiFi was pretty good but our cell phones did not work at the cabin. The staff were very friendly & helpful. When we reported a slow shower drain, someone was there to take care of it in less than 5 minutes. When I reported a hornet on our deck, someone came with hornet spray in a couple of minutes. Our only complaint about the cabin would be that the only lights in the living area & bedroom are the bright overhead lights. The cabins are situated on the side of a mountain immediately above the campground, which is very attractive & well-maintained. The Little River flows in front of the campground & the river can be accessed at the end of a short trail. Tremont is adjacent to Great Smoky Mountains National Park and only minutes from Cades Cove. We plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$48
Beautiful campground and area. Great relaxing place to visit. The staff was friendly. We stayed by the river and listened to the mountain stream. Very relaxing and worth the extra dollars to stay by the river! New bridge has been completed so do not worry about issues there. Excellent Wi-Fi. Spotty Verizon coverage at the campsite but the signal is great 1/2 mile up the road. This is the mountains so campsite was not level, but two 2x6's took care of the leveling issue. Awesome covered deck overlooking the river with picnic table and fire ring, but no outside grill. Bathrooms are old and outdated. Beware of ice bath if someone flushes a toilet while you are showering. Could use a little TLC. Great location convenient to Cades Cove and SMNP. Under 30 minute drive to fun parks, but without the congestion. Campsites are far more spacious than the ones in Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge. Price reflects an extra $4 per guest for our two children. We will definitely be back and would recommend this campground. Try the caramel apple cake at the Carriage House. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$85
Arrived late at night and had easy time locating our envelope and finding our 2 Premier Cabins. We had several youths and needed the 2 cabins. Premier Cabins sleep 6. They were clean and well equipped. Lofts are better suited for youth. Grills are a bit small, but overall good Cabins. Cabins are located on hillside and campsites down the hill on leveler ground. Check in Saturday morning was painless and lady was very friendly. We would do this again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$59
This was our fifth stay at this campground. As always, the staff was very friendly. Our site was riverside, and it is well worth the extra money for the soothing sound of the rushing waters while you sleep at night. The bridge entering the campground is a one lane temporary bridge at this point as a new, wider two lane bridge is being built. It is nearing completion and should be ready for spring campers. For now, caution should be taken pulling in and out as it would be easy to scrape the side of the bridge as you turn. Townsend is by far the best place in the Smokies for RVers. The town is resistant to development, making it quiet and peaceful. There are several nice RV campgrounds if you prefer one besides Tremont, but we think Tremont is the best. There are walking and bicycle trails from one end of Townsend to the other, so it is a great little town for those who like to get their exercise in. Some leveling is required for most of the 50A riverside spots, but it is well worth the effort once you get set up. The sites are spacious and all river sites have covered decks, fire pits, and picnic tables. Full hookups including cable and Wi-Fi. Just a great and relaxing place to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$55
Two people damaged their units on the bridge under construction going into the campground. Restrooms were clean, but not very nice given the price. The sites were nice size and we enjoyed being by the river. We were able to get satellite with a portable at our site, but very few where even this would work. Like the campground, but the bridge is dangerous. With my RV I had less than an inch of clearance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$60
Nice campground. We had a spot on the river with a covered deck. No cell phone service but good wi-fi. Good cable hookup with lots of channels. Still working on the bridge into the campground, so you have to swing wide to turn in. We would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
We have stayed at this campground 3 weekends in a row. We absolutely love the river sites. The bridge construction is a pain to deal with, but will be nice when finished. If the price doesn't bother you, I would recommend giving them a try. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$75
One of the top 5 campgrounds we've ever used. Spacious sites, clean pool and bathhouse, absolutely a joy. I have only 1 complaint: the campground office closes at 6pm. So how can my kids buy ice cream after dinner? It's just unusual, especially during the summer, to have a campground office close so early, especially when staff and workcampers live onsite. This is why I gave this campground a 9 instead of a 10. I highly recommend the river sites: they're worth every penny. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$60
This is a very nice campground. Some reviews state narrow roads, but they are mostly one-way and not a problem. Our site was not exactly level, but this was not a problem either. The spots on the river are very nice with covered shelters. My only real complaint is the additional charge per night for children - this is a little silly, as they do not take up any additional campground space. But in short, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Currently camped in a river site with deck overlooking the river. Great site, but you have to choose between river view with serious road noise (think Harley's with no mufflers) and quieter sites with no river access. Blazing internet, good cable and stable utilities. Great staff, very friendly and the entire park is clean as a pin. Pool is open, wildflowers are blooming, bike trails are nearby and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is literally next door. Great park in a great location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$60
We camped in a motorhome and had a site on the river. Site was level with a covered patio right over the river. The sound of the river was fantastic. The location for seeing the area was perfect. We would stay there again loved the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
We stayed here for the Thanksgiving week. The campground owner and staff organized a great Thanksgiving dinner where campers brought a covered dish and the turkey/drinks/bread/etc. were provided. It was well organized and delicious. The campsites are very nice. The waterfront sites each have a covered deck overlooking the river. The pool was closed but looks very nice. There is a game room for kids. The laundry room and bath houses were clean. This is a quiet well run campground. The staff were all very friendly. We have stayed here many times and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$73
We have stayed at Tremont four times now. It will be a favorite of ours from now on. This is a wonderful place to camp. The riverfront sites have a small, covered deck on each site along with fire rings at each site. The staff is very friendly and helpful. In the summer, there are several outfitters in Townsend who rent tubes for tubing the Little River. I recommend it. It is also quite fun to sit on the deck outside the RV and watch other people hit the rapids on their tubes. This is the closest improved campground to Cades Cove in the National Park. If you stay at Tremont, I promise you won't regret it. Be sure and reserve your river front site. The non riverfront sites you might luck into without a reservation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$65
Had great time: came in late the staff still meet me at office. They took me to our site and helped get us backed in on river front site. The pool was nice and clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$65
We reserved 2 sites next to each other for this Memorial Holiday. Check-in was easy, and the 2 sites were next to each other as requested. You are escorted to your site, and it was pouring rain at the time; the poor guy was soaked but still very pleasant and helpful. My brother-in-law appreciated that he wasn't charged extra to park 2 motorcycles he brought in his toy hauler. We did notice plenty of parking for extra vehicles in the campground. The power, water pressure, and cable TV all worked well. This is a very nice, clean, well run campground, and we look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
We met friends who have stayed at Tremont Hills many times. We were able to book sites on the river which was a wonderful experience. The weather was cold and rainy so we weren't able to enjoy the park as much as we had hoped. The only negative? The entrance to the park is over a one lane bridge spanning the river which was quite scary in a 38' motorhome. But...we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
This was our first time at Tremont Hills Campground but it will not be our last! Open layout that gave us plenty of room with our fifth-wheel and truck. As you enter the campground from the main road you cross over the river on a three-ton limit bridge but do not hesitate you will be fine. We camp in B-30 which is premium sites but have many other great sites that have access to the mountain river. I hope that we can get back this fall for the changing of the leaves and stay at this campground! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$42
This is a nice campground, they nickel and dime you to death. You pay extra for everything. We like the KOA next door, the campground is nicer and the price is much better. The one thing that really bothered me was the employees standing outside the office smoking, it looks nasty and they stink! The young lady working in the office was very nice and friendly. The campground is clean and the river sites are OK, there is a road just past the river sites, and sometimes it was noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
This campground is making improvements: covered patio decks for each of the river sites in both A & B sections. Very nice. Next year they're planning on paving roads to limit dust, and to make other aesthetic improvements to buildings. Although expensive in-season, it's a fair price for off-season camping. Wi-Fi is pretty week, but does work. River sites in B section are a little deeper and a tad wider than A section, but due to 50amp service, they are more expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$55
This is a nice campground with a great location for visiting Cade's Cove. Site are pretty large and level. Free Wi-Fi and cable work well. Interior roads can be tight for a big rig, and branches scraped my motorhome on the way out. The bigger problem with this campground is the access over a single lane bridge with a 3 ton limit. My RV weighs 11 tons and big diesels can weigh more. I would not stay here again because of the bridge. It is a nice place for tents, pop-ups, and cabins. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$60
Tremont Outdoor Resort: a nice clean campground, plenty of room between rigs. Quiet at night and secure. Reasonable rates compared to others, there is a lodging tax added to total currently 14.25%. If you like to hike there are plenty of day hikes. You can walk to the entrance of the National park and take the first hiking trail on the right called Chestnut Ridge. Also you can bike ride from campground through Townsend on a bike path and back to complete a 10 mile trip. It's close to the park and there's lots of activities to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$55
Very pretty park right on the Little River. We had a lakeside site and they had just built a new covered deck for all the lakeside sites. It was very nice. It is the closest park to the entrance to the Smokies. We will come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$78
Nice Campground with older established facilities. However a bit pricey at $65 per night and $4.00 each for each additional person. Other campgrounds in this area average about $40-$45 per night. The shower water pressure needs to be regulated. If someone flush's toilet the water pressure drastically drops on the cold side. For the price I would have expected level sites with concrete pads. The state has placed a load limit of 3 tons on the single lane bridge but I drove 10 tons across it with no problem (Faith or stupidity?) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
Our family has decided that site 26 on the river is the nicest campsite we have ever used. Plenty of space between sites. Campground is very well maintained and folks were very nice. Premium price, but well worth it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
We camped here in April, and we had a wonderful time. The park is right outside the entrance to the Smokey Mountains and very close to Cades Cove. The campground is well maintained and quiet. ownsend is a quaint little town that does not have the crowds or congestion of Gatlinburg - which is why we picked it. If you want a lot of touristy activities like upscale restaurants, mini golf, and tons of shopping - then Gatlinburg should be your destination. If you want a fun and relaxing get-a-way that focuses on outdoor activities and the park - Townsend and Tremont are perfect! In reference to some earlier reviewers that complained about too many rules at the park - we observed that there are rules, but only to keep the place clean, quiet, and safe for campers. None of the rules were unreasonable or over the top. Great place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$58
Spent a week on the river at Tremont. Excellent campground, friendly and helpful staff. Camp sites were larger than most campgrounds in the area. Looking forward to going back this fall! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
We moved to this campground from the Elkmont Campground inside Great Smoky Mountains National Park because we couldn't get a wireless signal at Elkmont. We asked to check out our site to make sure we could get decent wireless reception before paying for our stay, and they didn't have any objections to that (and warned us that cell reception in the campground can be spotty). Our experience with the office and other staff was pleasant, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2008
$58
Where do I begin? I have been mislead from the start. I haven't camped here, but have had a very bad experience. I made my reservations in Nov '06 for June '07. I was not made aware the rates were going up the next year and was charged the higher price. When I called to question it, the manager told me they didn't have to give that info. I should have asked. They charge you 20 bucks each time you have to change your reservation, no matter how far out. I was going to have to pay 56 bucks extra for 2 kids, on top of 58 bucks a night. I drove through the cg last trip to Townsend, and it is not a resort. They have gravel interior roads and gravel sites. Not what I would consider a resort. I camped this past week in an Alabama state park with asphalt sites and roads. That is what you would expect in a resort cg.The lady manager is not overly welcoming, and told me point blank I WOULD NOT receive a refund, even after I explained about being mislead the entire experience. Buyer beware. Read the other reviews. There are nicer cg's in the area for less, and much friendlier management. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
We spent our first night in our new (gently used) Trailmanor. The sound of the river was wonderful. The employees were very nice and helpful. The river-front campsite was much less expensive than at the KOA. The out-of-season rate was very good for Townsend. (800) 448-6373 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$39
My primary complaint about this park is the poor attitude, poor service, and silly, ridiculous rules by the management/owner staff. The actual park is clean nicely maintained, and if you are someone without local friends who may visit and do not care which part of the park you stay in, you will find this park acceptable. But, God forbid if you have someone visit with their car parked alongside yours on the gravel driveway. They must move their car! Large pickup trucks in other sites that extend outside the gravel are acceptable, but the rule is one vehicle per site, and it is monitored with a vengence. If you have children you might consider having them carry ID with them that show their age-because they very likely will be approached by the management staff. Also, you should consider getting confirmation faxed to you about spots that are available, because what they tell you up front, and what actually happens when you register can be very different. The six day rule also does not apply to everyone; I would venture to guess it has something to do with who you know. We will not go back to this campground. It is a shame that this nice campground right next to the park does not have owner/managers interested in providing good customer relations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$38
This campground was clean, but the owners were very strict with children using the playground. Our daughter is 10 and her friend was 10, both playing on a very uncrowded playground. The owner/manager stopped them and told them the campground was for 10 year-old children and below. Feeling like they had been told to leave, they came back to the campsite. We had to have discussion with the owner/manager. Also, only one vehicle per site/beyond tow vehicle. My sister visited in a small car, no wheels touched the grass; the manager came to our site and had us move her car to a side gravel area, where children were throwing baseballs. We had to have the children stop throwing the ball, due to possible broken car windows. We will not use this campground again. They are not family friendly and do not believe in providing good customer service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$52
First, you must understand, my standard for a 10 is Fort Wilderness at Disney. Tremont is a great campground. Its location can't be beat as it is at the entrance to the Smoky Mountain National Park. We camped in a 32' camper and had no problem navigating the campground. The lots are larger than traditional private campgrounds and the river lots have private decks. The lots are gravel which is probably bad in the summer but was fine in the fall. The staff was very helpful and polite. Previous complaints about the staff had to be by people who broke the rules. I like the rules. They are focused on making the stay of others pleasant. The bath houses are clean. You have to have a pass code to enter them. The lots are NOT level (it cost them a point). The store did not have tons of stock but the groceries and supplies were reasonably priced. My only other complaint is one that is consistent for most campgrounds. I have three children and the campground charges $3 per night for each child. With the premium rate already being charged, I hated paying the additional 18 bucks (another point). Overall, I love this campground, in the fall. I can't wait to return for a tubing adventure, on the river, in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$46
This park is a nice retreat from the congestion of the Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg area. Tremont is a quiet town located about 20 miles from Pigeon Forge. This campground is on the river with many waterfront sites available. Sites are well spaced gravel pads. Restrooms were clean and the entire campground was well maintained. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Our only quibble was with the remoteness of Tremont from the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area. Twenty miles on the curvy roads means a 30+ minute drive to get from the campground to Pigeon Forge. Access to Cades Cove however is quick as the campground is situated at the entrance to the National Forest. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$55
We stayed in section B and had a river front site. The entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is just across the river and it carries a large volume of noisy traffic. The campground basically offers RV parking in graveled spaces that equate to parking lot camping in a mountain atmosphere. Nothing special, the constant roadway traffic combined with the inner campground traffic seemed excessive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
Great park, nice spot on river with new deck to sit on and watch the tubers. Only thing to not give this a 10 was the entrance on the main road was tight for 40' rigs. Then getting out of loop when leaving was tight due to bushes. Will return for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Used to be a nice place for the family to get away. Good location, right next to Smoky Mtn. Nat'l Park, closest CG to the park, right on the Little River. Improvements were obvious in the campsites (cable TV, new outlets, etc). Bathroom facilities were reasonably clean. Wifi only worked sporadically. The problem I have with the CG is the Gestapo staff. We had kids with us and the staff obviously wants to have unusually strict rules. Rules are good but these guys take it to the next level. I can go with kids not skidding bike tires, riding skateboards, etc. My son had to walk to the restroom a few minutes after 10pm. He was harassed by the golf cart patrol at the entrance to the bathhouse about not having an adult with him (he is 13 years old). Some kids at the KOA campground across the river set off some fireworks (it was the 4th). Golf cart Nazis came flying down to our site to accuse our kids of doing it. We had a 'bucket' light tied up in a tree. They never said a word but came to the campsite daily when we were gone to take it down. (two different neighbors had the same light setup - they weren't bothered the whole week). Has an on site laundry but all 4 washers had out of order signs. A friend who was camping a few yards away backed his truck up to my site to unload some firewood. Within 3 minutes, a golf cart pulled up and he was told, "chief, get that truck out of here". We were told in no uncertain terms to get the truck out of our site because their rules state only one vehicle per site even though he saw us unloading the firewood. A previous posted mentioned that it was as if the golf cart patrol was just out looking to make problems. We definitely found that to be the case. A big disappointment and we won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
This was our 2nd visit to Tremont. The campground is very clean, the sites are large, most have good shade and the staff very nice. Wifi is free and works well - cable is included. Fire rings are provided and wood is available (for a price). Cell phone service is hit and miss (not within their control) I do wish we had been able to reserve a different site as we were backed up to the main road (lots of traffic)and too close to the dumpsters (noisy, busy place!). I'll know to call sooner if we're going to be there again around a holiday (I thought 3 months ahead was enough). Try to get a river site if you can. The water level in the river was very low which made the tubing slow going - we saw lots of people with blown out tubes from hitting the rocks (again, not within their control). The only thing I would change would be to move the dumpsters to a different location and provide garbage pick-up so everyone wouldn't be driving to dump their trash. Other than that, we had a very enjoyable experience and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
We visited this campground due to the recommendations from this site. To say we were disappointed was an understatement. It wasn't the campground that was disappointing but the rude behavior of the management and staff. This campground will not reserve you an actual campsite unless you stay 6 days are more. I can live with that but we called the day before and spoke to a person whose name I'll not mention, who said we could get two sites together and one across as we had 3 families camping together. When we get there, the manager, starts booking our first person in and already has assigned them a spot so I ask where she is putting us so I could see if that was going to work for us. No answer. I ask again, and again I'm ignored as she continues to check us in. I had to ask four times to get the manager to answer me. When she finally told me where we were going to be I asked her about what the staff mentioned yesterday and she said "I ought to be lucky to get 3 together". I understand they have their guidelines so there is no need to be rude. Below are other instances of rudeness from the staff. - We had a visitor who paid to visit and park who came to our site to unpack some supplies. Before we can get the car move they show up on a golf cart and ask what are we doing with this car and it needs to move now. - When a camper had the entrance to the loop we were in blocked I went in the exit side to access the loop and before I could get out of the vehicle a golf cart rolled up and I received a lecture in my window about not entering the exit to access the loop. I should wait for the camper to move no matter how long it takes. - They require access to the bathhouse with a code. I went to the bathhouse and a 8 or 9 year old kid was trying to get in with the right code. I tried it and it didn't work. I go to the office and they tell me it will lock out after a few incorrect attempts and to wait a few minutes before trying again. Before I can try it again, once again a golf cart rolls up and I get a lecture on not typing the right code will lock it up. - We had another couple coming to stay in one of their cabins and when they called to get the total price it was much higher than the original quote. When asked why it was higher it was because they charge $10 for EACH child. When the couple mentioned they weren't told this originally they quickly and shortly said "we'll credit your card" and hung up on them. There were more instances but I fingers are getting tired. The campsites were nice, nothing extravagant. They were gravel and the road was gravel. Fire pits were in the ground and we were under a tree that dripped sap on everything. Hookups were strange as well as they were towards the front of the campsite. We stayed in (24,27,29) which strangely enough are all on one side across from the creek. Picnic table was broken and had to switch it out with an adjacent site. Also, they website map and prices are not correct. The numbers of the sites are different. They even charge you to use their dump station if you want to. Never seen that before. We will never stay here again. The Little River KOA is right next door and will receive our business from now own due to the fine customer service we have received from them before. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$32
Home type atmosphere, peaceful and quiet. The staff is very helpful when needed. Have made many improvements and are continuing to do so. We've camped here for about 20 years and always return because of the location and atmosphere. Easy access to the Smokies and Cades Cove. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2007
$45
Over the past five years we have been dedicated to this campground but unfortunately all good things must come to a end. We usually stay at Tremont Hills twice a year for a total of about 8-10 days. I have sent them business recommending them over and over but I can’t and won't do that now. The campground has new owners and they are not very people friendly. This past time we were there I felt like the management treated me like a kid. They wouldn’t let me complete my question before interrupting and saying”NO!” It was very rude and uncalled for. Originally I asked for a riverfront site and was told over the phone that they didn’t have any available. I sounded so disappointed that they stated that well maybe something will work out for us before we got there. But after they got us there they didn’t want to hear a word about moving over to a river front site. After the first night there we saw several riverfront sites open so I walked up to the office and I was going to ask if there were any riverfront cancellations that we would like to move over there and before I could finish my sentence I was rudely interrupted and told NO! There isn’t any. I took a step back and then was going to tell them that I was willing to move around a couple nights just to have one and again I was cut off and treated like a child. I must say that I have never been treated like that at any establishment much less a campground. We are now in the process of my finding another home campground for the Smoky’s. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$53
This was our first time staying at this campground, but it won't be the last. We enjoyed our stay. We have visited all the other campgrounds in the area and this is our favorite. Cell phones do not work here, but they do work just down the road. WiFi is very spotty. The management was very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
This park is beautiful in the fall. Located near a river and Cades Cove, you can enjoy nature at it's best. The sites are will shaded and the ones with patios are great. The staff is friendly and helpful. We plan to spend a week their this fall. We do recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This campground is the last property before the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. It is nice knowing the river is pristine and has not flowed past anyone's sewers before flowing past our campsite! Shady and quiet, and in 2006 they added more river sites. We reserved the best spot (at least our favorite) and loved every minute. Looking at a campground map, the 2 sites on the river closest to the park have a large sandy shaded area perfect for our 1 year old and his tractors and trucks! Steps away is a short trail to the river's edge, and a shallow area perfect for wading or tossing pebbles in the water. We enjoyed watching the tubers' expressions of joy or trepidation as they passed by. Nights were quiet with only the river sounds and the occasional Harleys passing by. The pool is smallish, but the staff are friendly. The grounds have been exceptionally clean and parklike our last 3 visits. The only downfall is the entrance, a bridge over the river, one lane. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$42
This is a very good RV park located right next to Cades' Cove. It was quiet and very peaceful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$48
I wrote the May 2005 review and this was our second stay at Tremont. Everything was as good as we remembered. While I could complain about the $10 per night increase in cost, the money is being put to good use. A section that used to be primitive camping is in the process of having full hookups installed, and it looked like the work should be completed by winter. Other landscaping improvements were also noticed. The new full hookup section also features some river front sites, although they don't have overhanging decks as in the older section, and the sewer hookups are a more conventional style. Same decent spacing between sites as in the older section. When checked for this review, the restrooms and showers were clean but had not been remodeled. Note that the $48 per night is for a river front site with full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
Tremont Hills is one of the best campgrounds I have stayed at in Townsend. At first I thought the rangers were a little strict, but after seeing a kid wipe out on a bike and hurting his arm before being taken to the hospital I understand why they are a little strict. The grounds are kept very clean. Bathhouses are cleaned two to three times per day. I was really impressed at the time they spend keeping the place clean. Tubing on the river seemed like it would be nice. Did not do this because it was not very warm when we were there. Thought it might be a little chilly to do this. We will return Tremont Hills. I didn't give a rating of 10 because all sites aren't full hookup. We had water and electric, but cable and sewer would have been nice. Maybe they will finish upgrading all sections soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$46
We were very pleased with this campground. We were in the "A" section, nice big, grassy (gravel pad) sites with fire rings. Campground is very clean, but were surprised they didn't pick up garbage. Roads are a mix of pavement and gravel. We were originally given one site, but had to change to another site as it had steep grade to it and we couldn't get our 31' up it without tearing off the back bumper. Then had to move again the last day as we decided to extend our stay and our site was already reserved. (they let you reserve a specific site if you stay 6 nights) Campground staff was very nice and very helpful. Store wasn't over-stocked, but all we ever needed was ice. The river was fun but the tube rental fee ($8 a day) was a little steep in my opinion. Guess you pay for convenience. We toured the other campgrounds in the immediate area for future reference - we would definitely stay at Tremont again before any of the others. Wi-fi was adequate, laundromat ate my money and nightly fee of $46 includes tax. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - be sure to take a drive through Cades Cove and keep your eyes pealed for bears! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
Our site was in area C which has recently been upgraded to full utilities and right on the Little River. We were able to tube right up to our camper and had lots of space for the kids. Other than maybe 3 or 4 sites at Little River campground, this in our opinion is the best campground in the Townsend area. There's more grass and roomy sites than any other campground in the area. Amenities with full hookups including cable tv & wi-fi internet. The pool was nice and over all the experience was great. Playground wasn't as nice as Little River and neither was the entrance(s) to the river. However, neither of these were any real issue and the roomy sites with lots of grass made up for that. We'll be back to camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$38
We were right on the river, and it was wonderfully noisy as it rushed and tumbled. The campground is very nice and very quiet; new owners really friendly and helpful. Everything was super clean, and they are making many improvements. Our campsite was sodded while we were there. The pool and laundry room were about the cleanest I have seen. This park is very close to the entrance of Great Smoky Mountains NP and Cades Cove is a great day trip. Good IGA grocery store about 2 miles away in Townsend. We were in a motor home in May 06. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$42
Nightly rate is for a river site. All extra people cost $3 extra. Son and granddaughter spent one night, pushing the cost to $48 plus tax per night. Lots of improvements being made at this park. It is the closest commercial campground to Cades Cove. Cell phones do not work here. Might stay here again, but will probably look at some of the other area campgrounds a little more closely before deciding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$35
One of the better commercial campgrounds in Townsend, but you have to choose your site carefully. I recommend the "A" section until the owners finish renovating the other sections of the campground. Some of the sites are a little close together, but overall this is a pleasant place. Although the riverfront sites are more expensive than the interior sites, we found them the least desirable since they were VERY close to one another and slightly eroded due to high volume use. The new managers seem to be devoted to renovating this campground, and it should continue to get better every month. Two little incidents bothered us though: We reserved a riverfront site two months in advance, and a couple of days before we were due to arrive, I got a phone call from the manager telling us that there had been a "mix up" in the reservation and we would not be able to have a riverfront site afterall. Since we were only staying three nights during spring break, I'm sort of suspicious that we actually got "bumped" in favor of someone who was willing to rent the higher priced site for the full week. I dunno...maybe it's my imagination. The second incident will bite you: although the sites have a firepit, there is no grate to use to grill your meat. Coincidentally, the office just happens to have grates for sale for $12. So bring your own grill or be prepared to purchase one at the office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$34
Great location. The new managers seemed friendly. Sites are very nice. 90 plus cable channels. We had the best site here: #41 on the river. A large MH might be tight getting through. Best week of camping we have ever had. Easy access to the SMNP areas. New management seemed to be doing a lot of painting and cleaning. Sites were very clean. Wooded setting. Larger than MOST all other campgrounds. Make sure you have long sewer hose for some sites. No complaints from us. Easy drive to town for groceries. 30 minutes to Dollywood. Sites on river could get noisy during summer months with tubers and road traffic into Smokey Mtn Nat. Park. Get something in the "A" section. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$37
We usually stay at this campground at least once a year and have been for years but this last time the owners/office people was really rude. There was one lady that was really nice but I think she was a work camper the other lady was really hateful when I asked about staying an extra night. She was completely rude and didnt even let me finish getting my sentence out when she snapped at me we dont have any". Im not even sure she knew what I was asking about. We left and went next door to the Little River Campground. We had a wonderful time over there. I dont know if we will go back to Tremont Hills anymore. Nice campground but the staff needs to be more helpful and understanding. The people in the office/store act like you are bugging them when you go up to the office for anything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$32
A very nice place to stay. Reservations were handled with no problems and the staff was friendly. In the full hookup section the sites are mostly level gravel parking and patio areas, and sites are separated with a strip of grass. Compared to other campgrounds in the area, these sites seem to be a little bit wider. We had a river view site, which had a small wooden deck overlooking the river. Highway 73 is right across the river so there was some road noise, but after dark traffic is almost nonexistent. There are only a few pull thru sites and in my opinion they were not as nice as the others. As a previous review suggested, the location of the hookups on each site varies but if you bring long hoses and a 30 or 50 amp extension cord you should have no problems. Cable TV had roughly 90 channels with perfect reception. We did not use the rest rooms or showers, but when I checked for the purposes of this review they were clean and seemed to be in good order. In fact, it looks like some remodeling had been done in the past few years. This park is roughly 30 minutes from Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, regardless of what route you take. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2004
$38
We selected this campground after visiting several in the Townsend area on a previous trip. We chose it because it was the most attractive and seemed to offer the most amenities, even though it did not have 50 amp service. Getting in and out of the front driveway was difficult for our 40 foot motorhome, though we managed. We found the staff to be very unfriendly. At the time of our visit, we had two elderly parents in hospitals in Florida, and our cell phone did not have a signal at the campground. I explained the situation to the staff person and asked that they notify me if an emergency call came through for us. She snapped at me, "We don't do that. You'll have to check the bulletin board outside the office." I understand that the office can't personally notify every camper about every message, and I am more than willing to check a bulletin board. But I feel that medical emergencies should be handled differently and more thoughtfully. When I was in the office, I noticed that the staff were also impatient and huffy with other campers and with other questions. When we returned to the area this September, we stayed at Big Meadows Campground, which is not as pretty, but the amenities are all there, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$35
This is a great campground! Plenty of space between sites. Most of the other campgrounds we saw were very cramped, but not this one. Tremont is on the Little River, which is great for tubing. Campground has plenty of shade. It is about 30 minutes or so from Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We will stay here again when visiting the Smoky Mountains. Owners were very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Sites were very uneven and the hookups were at the front of site leaving little room to back in. Rest rooms were fairly clean, but very old and in need of a new coat of paint. The plumbing in the bathrooms was very poor, if you were in the shower and someone flushed - stand by for some cold water. The pool and river were great and this was a fun place to explore the smokies. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Good - bathrooms and showers clean. Bad - Sites were mostly dirt. A little rain made our site a muddy mess. Located on main road out of National Park. At times, loud traffic. Female owner/manager was especially rude. When I went to the camp store to buy ice and firewood, she made me feel like I was an inconvenience to her and taking up her important time. I ended up driving to another store for these items the rest of our trip. If you can, stay elsewhere. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$29
Sites were very uneven and short. The hookups were situated towards the front of the back in sites. Black and gray water must run uphill to reach the sewer hookup. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$23
This is a great campground. We have gone there ever year for almost 12 years. The sites are nice and shady. There is a swimming pooland a camping store. There are also cabins you can rent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$23
Large level sites. Very close to Smoky Mountains National Park. Very clean park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com