206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Top of the Hill RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (830) 537-3666
CGID2719

Top of the Hill RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$21+



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   8   3   8   5   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$21+
This is a very nice rv park. Nice people run it. Sites are gravel and level and spacious. They take PPA. Plenty of room to walk the dogs. We had no highway noise at our site. The only negative. San Antonio is over 30 miles away to the east. The town has all the amenities including a Super Walmart. There are dude ranches in nearby Bandera where we'll go horseback riding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
This park would be a 10 except for the noise from I-10 (especially the big rigs with their jake brakes). That, and the absence of the advertised free WiFi. They were working on the antennas every day for the three days we were here. We opted for the most expensive sites on the top of the hill, where the views of the Texas Hill Country were spectacular, as were the gale force winds (maybe just spring winds?). There was a fire a while back, so the clubhouse and laundry buildings were rebuilt and looked nice and new. The workampers were all very friendly and helpful. As far as there being no refunds for early departure, that's been the rule at just about every park we've stayed at. We look forward to returning for a week or so when it isn't quite so windy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$21
This is a very nice campground with all paved roads and good solid gravel sites that were level. The sites have a curb around most sites but they were smart enough to make the curb about one inch high so if you need to drive over the curb it's no big deal. The price indicated is for Passport America and it's only good for two days. If you want to stay any additional time you will be charged the regular rate less the Good Sam 10% discount. The only negative we saw was the sign that stated "no refunds" which IMO is very poor business practice. Our Verizon cell service was 4 bars and 4G. Satellite TV reception was clear from our site #58. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
We had such a wonderful time here that we came back a few weeks later! Huge pull through sites for big rigs. Sites spaced far enough apart so you're not right on top of each other. Beautiful views. Clean laundry with lots of machines. Nice pool and activities center. Nice area to walk your dog, but it's not fenced in. Lovely, helpful staff and office doubles as a general store in case you forgot something and don't want to go into town. A stone's throw from an excellent family restaurant, Po Po's, and bakery/cafe/gift shop, Smittyville General Store. Quick drive to San Antonio and Fredericksburg. 20 minute drive to HEB Plus grocery store. Quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
We arrived after hours but a manager happened by the office, as we were trying to figure out the late check in instructions. She was very friendly and promptly picked out a site for us...apparently there was a rally going on at the time that we were there. Site was a short, pull through, which was a piece a cake for our 24 ft, class B. Water and electric hookups were fine and well maintained. Site 50, that we were on, was quite level. Decently wide spots, gravel, in the area we were in, with a nice view. The park is on the top of a hill. TV reception, with just our antenna was good....getting quite a few stations. No wifi but cell signal with Verizon and cellular data worked well. You can definitely hear road noise. We were told that the $35 was already discounted as they were running a special. We just stopped for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2013
$37
We were promised wi-fi but it never worked, and they have no cable. Antenna reception is poor. Work campers were very friendly, but the owner didn't communicate with his staff so knew nothing. Maintenance workers were rude and unfriendly. I would never stay here again. They have a no refund policy which is not on the receipt nor on the info pamphlet. The policy is written on a piece of paper and taped to the desk which was covered by the maps. Beware!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$22
The park occupies a hilltop near the highway so traffic noise is very evident. Some interior roads are fairly steep but the sites are nicely leveled. Roads and sites are gravel; many of the sites are pull-through. Basic utilities worked well but the Wi-Fi was out of service throughout our stay. The buildings and common areas were very attractive and included a kitchen, game room, exercise room, clubhouse, restrooms, pool and patio. AT&T phone and data worked very well in the area. The price reflects a Passport America discount. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$15
We stayed here for a month in a "premium" site. The sites are large, the work campers are friendly. There is noise from the interstate in most areas of the park. Upon check in we were told that the free wifi was having some problems but would be fixed in a day or two. After our month long stay there was still no wifi. When I questioned the owner I was told it should be fixed in a day or so. That I am sorry to say was the last he replied to me despite 4 more requests about what was going on with it. Not very good treatment in our opinion. We will not stay here again because of the lack of concern from the owner. The rate is reflecting a monthly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Beautiful view. Far enough away from I-10 to be quiet. Great value. We wished we had a few days to spend at this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$14
Very nice park. The office person is wonderful. Had a problem with a burnt 50amp outlet and they replaced ASAP. beautiful views. Some sites are closer to the Interstate and noisy. Large sites. Will return We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
Good quiet clean park just north of Boerne. It is on top of the hill. If you have a big rig or long rig you can fit. Our rig is 65 feet and the pull-through we had, #57, was 90 foot. Hookups worked well and camp store sells propane and bagged ice. We would stay here again when in SA to visit son. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Easy access on/off of I-10. Really nice views of the surrounding hills. Mixture of travelers, quite a few permanents. Everyone was super friendly. They seemed to have all of the daily/ weekly travelers located in one spot of top of the hill. Utilities worked fine, but I did have a hard time connecting on to the Wi-Fi and it was intermittent at best. We stayed for a couple of days over spring break and enjoyed good walks up and down the hills! Some freeway noise, but we got used to it after awhile. Hope they get the hot tub fixed. Popo's restaurant, Don Strange Ranch, and Cascade Caverns close by. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$29
We stayed here for just 1 night while in transit. Top of the Hill is literally on top of the hill right above I-10. Although literally on top of a hill, don't let that intimidate you. It did us as we were newbies. It is very well laid out for big rigs to get in and navigate. Beautiful views. The wi-fi worked very well. We could get all the local TV stations with just the rig TV antenna. The jacuzzi was closed or not working. Nice club house/room. Many seasonal residents. Everyone was very friendly. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$41
The staff were friendly and helpful. The park is clean and a small store has basic needs. Plans include expansion. Most of the sites seem to be on a slant. Our site was so slanted that the sewer hose couldn't drain. The drain was also close to the back of our vehicle. Luckily we had two sewer hoses we could connect together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$33
Nice campground, friendly staff, level sites, good power and water. Exercise room, beautiful clubhouse, clean reasonably priced laundry. Campground is run by people who understand RVing. We stayed 2 days Passport America and 3 at the regular price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Great staff, good park, well kept. Terrible park for dogs because of incredible amount of burrs! We spent a lot of time after every walk, cleaning up dogs. We will only stay here again without dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
We camped here for one night on our way across TX. It was an easy access from I-10 at Exit #533, but the road inside the park was a little steep (they don't call it "Top of the Hill" for nothing). The facility was nice. We had a long, level pull-through with full hook-ups. This past summer they had a brush fire destroy 10 sites and the clubhouse, but they are working on getting the sites completed and the pavilion is finished. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Park is not far off the freeway. Very friendly staff that escorts you to your site. Roads seem kind of tight with some sharp turns but we had no trouble getting to our site without disconnecting our toad. There was a fire here several months ago so they are in the process of rebuilding the clubhouse, showers, laundry, and exercise room. The wi-fi was excellent. They did not tell us until we got to our site that the water was off due to a broken pipe but would be back on very soon. Unfortunately, lines kept breaking and after several hours they came around and told us we should fill our holding tank since they were giving up for the evening and the water would be shut off in a half hour for the night. We appreciated the notice. We paid the PA rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$33
Don't understand the site classifications? There is Sterling, Gold and Platinum. I had a Gold site located on the top of the hill. They escort you to your site, something I enjoy. A very nice site, gravel but level and plenty long for my 34 ft. RV and tow. Roads are quite narrow and tight turns, but was not a problem. Free Wi-Fi worked super. No cable, but there is a TV in the club house. I received two English speaking channels on the antenna. All in all a very acceptable place to stay long term or short. Staff was very helpful, informative, and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$34
This is an older park and the roads are a little narrow. Utilities worked great but Wi-Fi was unusable. Pull through sites are very long and with our truck and 36 foot trailer there was still about 15 feet of room. The sites on top of the hill are the best. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
I stayed for an RV rally. Some of our group was in one area and some in another so I wish we could have all been together. Most rally hosts do put guests in the same area and I had reserved months ahead of time. The WiFi reception worked one night and couldn't connect the remaining 3 days. Park was very well kept, nice views, good clean meeting room with a separate TV room with computer. There was a pool and spa but because of all the rain I wasn't able to use either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
This park could be a really nice park if the sites were maintained a bit better. The sites were gravel but need to be re-graveled. Sites were also not level. The back-up site we had was difficult to get into. There was an enormous amount of ants and stickers (sand burrs). Enjoying the outside was difficult because of that. Considering it was a holiday weekend, the park was not crowded. The park itself was quiet; there is noise from nearby I-10. Facilities were clean. Didn't get to enjoy the pool. For the price, you'd expect cable. Wi-fi signal was good and strong. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$33
Easy access from I-10. Has a very steep entryway and very friendly staff. Sewer hookups were too far away from the vehicle site we thought. No cable TV but good TV aerial reception from Austin and San Antonio. Too many long termers with messy sites. Really nice lounge, laundry, kitchen, showerhouse buildings, but steep climb to it. Level sites as far as we saw, some concrete, some gravel. Grass needed to be cut in alot of areas. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
This campground was nice and clean. The office workers and other employees were very helpful. There was a lot of road noise because it was on a hill next to the freeway. The trucks hit their exhaust brakes all night long. The price was high for not having any cable TV. The view from the site we were in was beautiful and after reviewing a number of the parks in the area, we decided this was the best one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
Nice park. Here for two weeks, March 23-April 6. Park well maintained. Texas hill country offered beautiful views. Didn't use bathrooms, pool, spa but all were available and looked clean. Used laundry (4 washers, 4 dryers), it was clean. Highway noise from big truck traffic is there but not overwhelming. Park staff are very friendly and helpful. Prices for a week seem high for the area but include electric. Monthly rates are very good. Didn't have any problems with the permanent folks, in fact, all seemed very nice and even helpful, offering uncommon local sites to check out. Sites aren't level but not extreme. Gravel sites with local vegetation which is kept mowed/trimmed. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
I have stayed here many times but this last time I was very disappointed. There was extremely loud highway noise and the barking dogs were allowed to raise cain all night long from several different campers. The managers themselves were bothered and yet no one did anything about it. This is the job of management. The monthly renters around the outside spaces were the source of most of the noise. I most likely will not visit again and that's a shame. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
It has great views and is very close to the highway. Although there are many sites, they are spread out and you don't get the feeling of a parking lot camping. The clubhouse is nice as so as the pool and the exercise room. There is very friendly staff. We will camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$34
Nice people, and a nice park. All the facilities were clean and in good condition. There is some noise from the freeways nearby, but not enough to be really bothersome to us. We would happily return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Very scenic park with beautiful hill country views. A little freeway noise nearby, but not really bad. We stayed here in July and the heat was brutal. Our site was totally exposed and our trailer was running about 90 deg inside for most of the day with the AC doing it's best. We were scared to leave our dog because of this. The park staff was great and although the climb was a little steep, no problems getting into the spaces. Icy wintertime I would not want to try. Great restaurant very close by.The pool and clubhouse areas were well maintained and lovely. I would stay here again in a cooler month. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Staff is good and friendly. Sites are wide and plenty long and mostly gravel. Good view of Hill Country. Nice quaint club house with homey atmosphere. Some road noise from US 10 but not too bad. Will definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$13
Located just a few miles west on I-10 from the city of Boerne, Top of The Hill is top of the list for me. The Resort has easy access to I-10 with the best views in all of Hill Country. The Resort is family owned, well maintained, and in spite of being built on a hill the access to all sites is easy for even the big rigs. The Resort is staffed with Workcampers who return year after year and are both friendly and efficient. After a quick check in you are escorted to your site and guided in. The office/store carries the essentials as well as a good selection of beer and some of the locally produced wines. Most sites are quite level with the exception of the concrete sites. All have 30 and 50 amp full hookups. The WiFi is strong all over but you will still miss your DSL or Cable at home. We stayed here for over two months and enjoyed the time here. We have made plans to visit the Rio Grande Valley next year or we would have reserved space here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Stayed here 3 nights to go to Fiesta Texas (30 easy minutes away). PA for 2 nights & 1 night at full rate. $3 extra per night for anyone but the first adult. Pool small but clean; restrooms/showers clean; game room & TV available. Lots of burrs so watch the dogs & kids when barefoot! Beautiful views! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
The roads into the campground are steep and narrow, but big rigs do get in. We didn't use the pool because it was a little chilly and the pool isn't heated. The hot tub looked run down and not very well maintained. The wifi is free and worked great the whole time we stayed, 12 nights. The biggest drawback for us are the terrible burrs everywhere. Our dogs were miserable walking, especially in the "grass". I was constantly pulling these painful stickers out of their paws. The laundry is small and the dryers took forever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
Camped here two nights...Passport American one night and 10% discount on the 2nd. Easy access and no problems getting out. Friendly people and nice $2.50 cooked breakfast on Saturday morning. However, some goat heads, (stickers), that my dogs picked up. We didn't experience all that much interstate noise, but did hear some. The place needs to be weed whacked around the concrete borders that outline all the spaces. Good location to restaurants and wonderful Texas Hill Country views...I saw the platinum sites...NOT for me. We camped in a gold site which was close by and very very long (nice :-)). We would stay there again if we went back to that part of Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
This park would be nice if it was taken care of. The grass was very high and we had to give the staff a hard time to get it mowed! Even though they knew ahead of time we were coming, they did not mow the grass of clean the sites. The cable tv is a joke, 3 channels is all we could get. The sites were very hard to back into and were not anything like what the map shows! There are a lot of permanent campers that don't look very nice! The view was not existing because of the bushy trees everywhere. We also paid extra for premium sites with solar lighting and the solar lights did not even work at any of the sites!!! This place needs a lot of work!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
Stickers or prickers! Call them what you'd like, but this park is covered with them. This made it difficult for our kids or dog to play outside. The office/store was a nice first impression. The park was not crowded at all, which baffled me as to why they put me in the spot they did. We paid for a premium site. Someone escorted us to the top of the hill to our site. The some roads are paved, but some are gravel. Most of the sites are granite gravel pads. I had a difficult time getting in my site as it was so tight. There was a telephone pole within 5 feet of my door, which prohibited me from extending my awning. The view was pretty, but I could only enjoy it from inside the trailer. We went to the pool, which was surrounded by cheap, rotted, plastic patio chairs. The pool was one of those fiberglass pre-fab pools that they sell on the side of the highway. It was not level in the ground and was very small. The staff was friendly, and worked hard. My thought is they need more than one grounds person for this entire park. They need to work on their grass too. For the price they charge, we expected a lot more. Its seven miles from town. We really enjoyed visiting Bourne, but would choose a different camp ground next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Stayed there on Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$36
A nice place to stay, but there was noise from the freeway starting at 4:30 in the morning. We were on top of a hill. They claim to have cable, but we could only get 3 useful stations. The pool wasn't clean, which may be due to the time of year we visited, which was the end of April. They had a nice clubhouse and we didn't use laundry or shower facilities. Pull thru was long, but hookups were at the very back of the sight. You needed a long hose to hookup. The woman in the office was very nice and friendly. We would rate it higher, but the noise and cable factor were important to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
Great park in the hills. Gravel sites are generally level. Small but very clean bath house. Wi-fi was fast and reliable. We visited San Antonio, just a thirty minute drive away, and also hiked at the Guadalupe River State Park, 13 miles west. The town of Boerne has markets, restaurants, and lots of antique shops. The highway is nearby, but road noise is minimal. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$18
Great park! We had a level 72' pull-through with mature oak trees around us, but plenty of clear sky for satellite TV. Free WiFi with a very strong signal at our site. Clean laundry with four washers and four dryers. Great views from up here, but there is some freeway noise. Grounds are immaculate and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The $18.33 Passport America rate drew us here. We don't normally stay at $36 RV parks, but we decided to spend two nights rather than one after we saw the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$27
A very nice park with great views of the Texas hill country. Gravel roads and gravel sites. Some sites will require leveling. The pool and club house are great. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. A good place to stay and visit nearby Fredericksburg and San Antonio. A nice place to go for a weekend getaway, or overnight on your way west or east. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
We love to camp at this park. The pool is clean and wi-fi works great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
Very friendly (in fact, loquacious to voluble) reception staff, very helpful in picking out just the "right" slot for you. Hillside sites with truly impressive views. Well-placed hookups, clean sites. Ours had very good shade. We were just "passing through," so we didn't check out the pool, the showers, and so on. We did use the WiFi, which was somewhat weak (at our site) but usable once we found the "right spot" in our trailer. The staff was very generous in allowing us to slide our check-out time so that we could do some shopping in Boerne. I would stay there again, and almost certainly will. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
Nice, clean, campground with all the amenities you would expect. While close to the interstate being on top of the hill gave you not only great views but little road noise. I plan on exploring the hill country on a future trip and will you them again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$26
Very friendly and welcoming staff. Great view, the rows are staggered so each row has unobstructed view, with the club house at the very top. Clubhouse has a pool, hot tub, deck with rocking chairs, TV, computers with internet access, air hockey, kitchen, community fire ring with free firewood, horse shoes, foosball table (but no ball) and pool table (75 cents). Discounts for: 10% Discount for Members of Good Sam, TACO, and AARP; 15% Discount for Members of Escapees Weekly and monthly rates available. Extra charges: $3.00 for each child (extra camper over age 9) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Easy access to and from I10 west of San Antonio. Very nice clubhouse and pool with hot tub. Small well stocked store on site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com