214868 User submitted reviews online!!
Rio RV Park was rated 2 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (866) 279-1775
CGID2725

Rio RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   5   1   4   2   1   3   1   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
Very bad Rv Park, changed owner, and they have no workers to fix things up, most sites don't work, they have very few 50 amps sites, only 4 or 5 pull-thru, lost of empty mobile home sites empty. We will never stay there again. Used to be a nice small friendly park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$36
Sites are interspersed with mobile homes that are year around. The area numbering the #100's for campers is right next to the road, and all of the road noise. The pool is not heated, and hot tub is not "hot". The park itself is okay, but doesn't have a "community" atmosphere. It is close to Brownsville, but you definitely need a car to get around. However it is clean and does feel much safer than other Brownsville RV parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
The roads and parking spots were in very poor condition. Attendant was very rude to my wife and OK to me. Pull through spot had my dingy in road and I was within 2 feet of a clubhouse roof. Really different from RPI catalog pictures and descriptions. We had paid for several days but left after only one night. In a questionable area of town. We will not stay there again. If we had read the reviews before, we would not have stayed there. The other reviews are right on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$23
Should have read the reviews before landing at this park. Pros: The workcampers who seem to manage the front desk and facilities were friendly, helpful and generous with their time. The price is based on weekly rate, no discounts offered. It's located in an area easily accessible to South Padre Island, Palo Alto Battlefield, and Atascosa Wildlife Refuge. We stayed over Christmas and New Years 2009 so we were included in the park celebrations of the holidays. Cons: It is a mishmash of mobile homes, and RV's with many, many Winter Texans. The roads are narrow and in poor condition. We saw them digging out and filling pot holes during our stay, but overall they are not in good shape. Initially, we were guided to a back-in site well back in the campground that had a 8 foot concrete pad in the middle of it. I would have had to straddle it with my 40 foot coach to back into the site. I refused and asked for other options. Again the workcamper who was guide and front desk attendant looked all around the park offering me another site similar size, again with an 8 foot concrete pad. I refused again, and they finally offered me one of the pull throughs in the very front of the park. Driving my coach around the interior road was nerve racking due to the width and tight corners. The pull throughs are grass, again encircled by narrow rutted road, but at least it was not difficult to get into. Because of the rains, the grass pull throughs get puddles all around them. Pedestals are old, but the power was good. Cable box hangs by its cables off the pedestal, but the cable reception was good with many channels. Water spigot was very low to the ground but water pressure was OK. We were next to the road and noise was a problem most of the time. Holidays in Brownsville are celebrated with fireworks, and with the housing subdivision across the street there were lots of of them for Christmas and New Years Eve. This is not the worst I have encountered traveling as a full timer but next time I will look closer at the reviews before pulling in. There is not much else that is any better in Brownsville. Go out to Mercedes or farther west to McAllen or Mission to find a decent park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2007
$29
The web site is misleading. This is not a nice park. Many of the activities listed on the site do not happen. We were there 5 weeks and the wi-fi never worked. The pull-throughs are very small and there was alot of mud. Most of the facilities are outdated and need repair. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2007
$27
Every post you have read about this park is absolutely true! This park is awful. A few things that haven't been mentioned include the condition of the hottub. Aside from the temperature problem, only 3 of the jets work and it is chipped all over; is in horrible shape besides always seeming to be dirty. The roads are just unbelievable, nothing more than a patch job everywhere. We love to ride our bikes, but you can't do that here. The trash is constantly overflowing, more bins are needed. Don't be taken in by the "fancy" web site. The owner has not maintained this park, just does patch jobs on everything when needed. He's owned it for 30 years and it is apparent that he no longer cares about the condition of the park and hasn't for some time. We've been here since Nov. We've had it and have decided to find another park and leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2005
$29
Park has very impressive web site. Campground did not meet my expectations. Park is also pricey compared to other parks in the area. All activities came with a modest fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2005
$29
Pull throughs a laugh, pool dirty, and nonclorinated. Water turned off almost every day due to broken lines, and park smelled of sewer. Mesquitoes rampant due to standing water and sewerage on several lots. Owner thinks he is retired like the tennants, too much time birding and photos instead of getting his hands dirty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2001
$26
Pull-thrus was a laugh! Big Rigs was also a laugh! Yes, they have places that if you are a excellent driver, you could manage to get one in there, but it takes lots of twisting and turning. Swimming pool, another laugh. I guess if one was from Canada, the cold water in that "heated" pool would be ok. The hot tub was either boiling hot or ice cold. The shower room and restroom area was clean in the mornings, just after it was cleaned. I would not go to this park, not with all the good parks in the Brownsville area. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com