206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Palo Duro Canyon State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 81 user reviews. Phone: (806) 488-2227
CGID2733

Palo Duro Canyon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
114
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   10   8   10   5   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
We camped at the Mesquite Camp Area, which is by far the prettiest one to camp in. It has about 19 sites with plenty of space between sites. All have water and electric. Sites are level and road is paved in the campground. Views are spectacular. You also have to pay $5 per person per day for a use fee. For 2, people camping was $24 + $10 = $34 per day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
Stayed in Hackberry campground, which was only about 1/4 full, so lots of privacy. But there were also lots of flies, which was annoying. Not sure what was causing that. Note also that it's kind of pricey for only a water and electric hookup. They charge $24 a night for the campsite, plus another $5/person and a per night "entrance fee", even if you only enter the campground once and stay a couple of nights like my wife and I did. Hence the $34 per night fee that I listed. So I have rated Palo Duro a couple of stars lower, due to the flies and the high price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
This is an addition to recent reviews. The campground was fully booked for the 3-day Columbus Day weekend in October, and we did not have reservations. Luckily, we arrived Monday and were able to stay for 4-days until Friday morning. Mesquite campground is among the quietest at which we've ever stayed, without even a muted hint of a truck or train in the distance. The moonless nights revealed billions of stars and a brilliant Milky Way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$24
(Note that the $24 RV site fee for a 30 amp site does not include a $5 per person day-use fee.) Unlike the Grand Canyon, you drive down into Palo Duro Canyon to one of three campgrounds. (Steep grade with a couple of switchbacks, but easy passage - even for large RV's traveling SLOWLY!) We stayed in Hackberry campground, a great place, but if we stayed again we'd probably drive further back into the park to stay at Mesquite - simply for the view. It's almost eerily quiet in this park, and the 2.8 mile trail to Lighthouse and Castle Peak rock formations is spectacular. (The last 3/10 mile to the formations is not for the faint-of-heart...). Late September must be mating season for spiders here. We spotted four large Tarantulas on the hiking trails! (No problem - they seem more interested in getting to their destination than annoying anyone.) Note that we don’t carry a TV around so no cable service is necessary. We use the fifth-wheel primarily to have a comfortable place to sleep, a toilet and shower that don’t offer surprises, and someplace to store food. Other than that, we live outside! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$24
We stayed in Sagebrush Campground (I had reserved in another campground, but due to heavy rains it was closed). The $24.00 price does not include the mandatory $5.00 per person per day SP entrance fee making it $34.00 per person daily fee for 2 people. The female host was fantastic at her job. For a SP campground it was very clean and super quiet. The 10% grade with hair pin turns and no guard rail was trying. A beautiful place to visit. Have your toad gassed up and all the supplies you may need before your arrival. Be sure to eat at the Big Texan and visit The RV Museum in Amarillo while there, you will not be sorry you did! We very well may stay here again in season for "Texas", the play in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$24
Wow! What a gem! Beautiful scenery camping down in the canyon. We were on site 130 in sagebrush, room for our 45' with slides. The road down into the canyon is intense at 10% with 3 switchbacks in a class A and tow . Only con was that we couldn't open our awning due to tree, but where else can you camp in a canyon in your Class A? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
This park has been called the "mini Grand Canyon". I think that is a bit overstated. It's not a bad park, it's just a bit over hyped. The sites are listed as paved, but they are more of a asphalt and loose gravel surface, and just barley wide enough for the rig. When we were there the insects and flies were off the charts. Between the heat and the flies, sitting outside at any time of day was difficult. There was supposed to be no internet available in this part of the park due to location and natural obstructions. Reportedly the far end of the park was able to get signal if your carrier was AT&T. We were able to get a weak signal from our Verizon air card, outside mounted and antenna, and power booster. It was slow, about dial up speed, but it did work. We wound up leaving a day early just to get away from the bugs. If in the area again, I would look for a different place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
This is a great park to visit, one of the most scenic in Texas! At the entrance you can see a portion of the Texas State Longhorn herd, and visit the visitor's center which has natural and historical exhibits and gifts for purchase. After that, you begin the long, steep, and winding descent into the canyon. You will see the Pioneer Amphitheater were the "Texas" musical is held, the very nice Mack Dick Group Pavilion, as well as the Trading Post, which has food, groceries, gifts, and gasoline. There are numerous campgrounds throughout the park. We stayed at the Mesquite Camp Area, which is the farthest drive, but also the most scenic in our opinion. The sites have some slope to them, but not too bad. There is no cell or wifi service in the canyon, but who needs them with all the scenery, hiking, and wildlife all around you?! We really enjoyed out visit and can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
This is one of five campgrounds in Palo Duro Canyon State Park and I think the best, but it only has 30amp. Mesquite and Sagebrush campgrounds have both 30 and 50 amps and two other areas just have water. Hackberry is the second campground (Sagebrush the first) coming down the canyon before you reach the six river crossings that might have flash flooding on the Park Road. That is one of the reasons that we chose it, so that we would not get flooded out, and it is a good thing we did. During our first and second night a ranger came and warned us about ten at night that a big thunderstorm was coming through with possible hail and 70 mile per hour winds. We didn’t get the hail or the high winds on either night, but it was a thunderstorm with rain. Our site was well drained except for one section. Some campers left their rigs and headed back to the town of Canyon. We were fine. This is a pretty campground with water and electricity, shade and views of the canyon walls. Some of the sites are close together and even though you make a reservation, its first come to select your site. The canyon is beautiful but after the Visitor Center the drive down is a 10% grade with some switchbacks, but it was not a concern. The play Texas was being performed ($) Tuesday – Sunday, and it is just up the road from the campground. We went Saturday night and it was great but left early because of the storm. Cost depends on your site (primitive, water or w&e) and if you have a TX pass. We had purchased a TX pass five months ago and still had some camping coupons to use. Our first night was $24 and our second night with the coupon $12. It was a good stop but this time of year the storms are coming through this area. They have been in a drought so the rain is needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
Rate is for a back-in water and electric only site, roads and site were paved. Site was level. Very steep entrance road down into the canyon, but once in the canyon it is an experience that is awe inspiring. It is so quiet at night, but our night wildlife cam proved we weren't alone. Wonderful hikes abound, make sure to hike to the Lighthouse if you are able, and also fit. This is an example of what State Parks should be. We would definitely stay here again, especially in the off season when there are fewer people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
These comments are for the Mesquite campground, the last RV campground with 50 amp service on the park road. If you want to be 'in the action,' ask for a pad in Sagebrush, which is near the trading post and amphitheater. Pads are asphalt and mostly level port to starboard but have some slope bow to aft. Nevertheless easy to back in, good water pressure, reliable electricity. All sites have nice views with ample room between. An easy twenty or so miles from Canyon, Texas, where you'll find a superior museum about the area. If you like desert views and hiking, this is the place for you, but stay away during the brutal summer months and absolutely frigid winters. Had a tornado warning with the camp host rousting us from our beds at 12:15 a.m. They were prepared with instructions of where to take cover, etc. The ranger came after a while to let us know the situation and cancel the warning. So, go slow down the 15deg portion of the park road, watch for oncoming traffic, and enjoy your stay. Our rate includes park access fees for 2 people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
About what you'd expect for a Texas State Park. Paved roads, good electricity, gravel, level sites. A very steep entrance to this campground, however our 45' motorhome managed easily. Lots of very sharp switch backs. The entrance road is about 2 miles from the main road. Lots of deer and turkey throughout. Good hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
As mentioned Mesquite is probably the best area and deepest in the canyon. Great views, tons of hiking trails, no internet except maybe At&t I hear but no Verizon. The road in isn't as bad as you might hear. It would be better if you could pick your own camping site instead of having them assigned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
Love this spot, stayed an extra day. Mesquite is by far the best campground in the place. More room, more views. The colors and canyons are stunning. Avoid weekends if possible due to the crowds and day users who clamor everywhere. You can get 3G in the campground with AT&T but not Verizon. That's available at entrance gatehouse 7 miles away. Lots of cool hikes, especially to the Lighthouse! Not all that difficult except for last 100 yards uphill but so worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
This was my third visit to this campground. It is a lovely scenic place. However, it is heavily used and the facilities are poorly maintained. The gates do close early but there is lots of traffic in the park throughout the night which is troublesome. You are assigned a campsite when you enter the park. If you are tenting they send you to the tent only area. This would normally be a good thing except at Palo Duro there are no restrooms in the tent area. The tired and worn restrooms are a quarter of a mile away in the day use area. If you are a tenter you may want to pay for a full service site. When I got to my assigned camping site it was full of day use people who had trashed the site. They refused to move. A ranger came by and allowed me to move to another site. He also sent the picnic folks away. I don't plan to camp here again--too many management problems! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
Our introduction to the West. Drive down into a canyon to camp! Beautiful canyon walls that change color with the day. Lots of hiking and other activities (horseback, ranger led talks) available later in the season. We had turkeys and mule dear greeting us the next morning. Nice Museum and gift shop. Just wonderful! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
This park closes at 8pm and there is no way to enter if you arrive late. There is a small dirt loop with 4 spaces to the right of the registration area for late arrivals to park and boondock. We arrived about 10pm so we drove the loop and backed into a spot. We were the only people there and it was obviouly very quiet. We dry camped for the night and than spoke with the rangers the next morning. Parking in the loop is free so all in all it was a nice savings. Please note the only reason I put $1 for the cost is the software would not allow me to put a $0. I suppose hookups and having people around would have been safer but it was a good experience. Because we haul a motorcycle with us for touring we also saved driving the motorhome down the curvy road to the campsites and canyon area. It is really a nice road to take a motorcycle to see everything. Very pretty views and a few nice places to take a walk in the canyon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$34
Don't miss this "hidden wonder" on the Texas plains. The nice, well-spaced sites are surrounded by the most glorious red and white bluffs of the canyon. Stay more than a day if you can. Take the trails. Study the history. Go to the visitor center. This was our second stay and we will go back again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
The Sagebrush campground within Palo Duro State Park provides a convenient location for enjoying the park. Water and electric hook-ups are available; satellite reception worked well; AT&T phone/data service was very weak, sometimes out of network and frequently absent altogether. Restroom and shower facilities were adequately clean with plentiful hot water. The road into the park is steep with some tight turns, but navigable even by big rigs. Additional fees apply without a Texas State Park pass. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
Great campground - sites had electric and water. We showered in their facilities and there was great water pressure! Every staff member and volunteer we spoke with was friendly & helpful. No cell service at all. Large sites. Be sure to get fuel and provisions before entering the park. Note - additional $5 per person per day not reflected in camping rate. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
I love this park. It is so beautiful and unique. Go in the summer and see the "Texas" production on the outdoor stage. Fabulous! I would have given it a 10 if it had full hookups. We stayed in the Mesquite Campground. Private and what a view. If you love to hike and bike or just appreciate the great west, this is the place for you. I will be back good Lord willing, and the creek don't rise! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
We camped in the Sagebrush camping area. It was a beautiful area nestled in the canyon. Site was gravel but we had no trouble leveling the coach. We had a covered picnic table on a concrete slab. Electric and water hookups were sufficient. No sewer, but dump station was convenient. It was hot during the day but cooled off in the evening. We hiked each morning. Light house trail is a must as is Texas, the musical performed by college students in an outdoor amphitheater. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
This was our first ever RV trip. Also our first time to camp in a state park. We were happy to get a pull through site, but have to say that some of the asphalt needs repair. The showers and restrooms were all spotless. We were in the hackberry portion of the park but would have preferred the views of the rocks from the mesquite area. Just didn't know to request that. We loved all the hiking trails and the canyon in general. We have not been to the Grand Canyon yet so this was quite impressive. The folks working at the state park office for check-in were excellent and very accommodating. The burgers at the little store in the park were yummy! We want to return for another visit when the weather is a bit cooler. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
We make a special effort to visit this park anytime we're within 200 miles. This is a wonderful park where you are actually camping in a canyon. The showers were state park clean which means they were clean but shared with a few insects. There is no internet and not much cell phone service. If that's important to you skip this campground. If you love being in nature, this is your place! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
Beautiful area and nice park. We like the lower RV park better, but could not stay in that area as road blocked because of rain. Nice hiking and mountain biking areas nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
The stay was nice, but the seasonal bugs were running amok. We had issues with our cell phone (Verizon) once we started down into the canyon, but there are pay phones that available. We didn't use any of the restroom facilities although they were very close to our site. We'll stay there again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
This is one of the best state parks in Texas. The sites are large and well spaced. The restrooms and showers were spotless. They were even cleaned on Sunday morning, which is very unusual. The only negative is that there was no communication with our T-Mobile phone. The park host told us that AT&T usually works. Our campground loop (Hack berry) was very crowded on one end on Saturday. This probably made it a little unpleasant for anyone who wasn't in the large group of people on two of the sites. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
This is a really fun park with lots of trails, a store, and in the summer an outdoor musical with a barbecue dinner preformed by college kids. I have seen it and it is well worth the money. The park is in a canyon but the road is easy. There are multiple camping areas. Both times I have camped in Palo Duro I have been in a tent, so I stayed in the areas that did not have hookups. I have not seen the trailer areas. This park is very popular with locals so reservations should be made in the summer months. My only complaint is the rest rooms which are located outside the campground areas. Some can be a long walk. I had a great site for my tent but the nearest restroom was in the day use area. I was there on a Saturday night and all was quiet after 10 PM. Yes I would camp there again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$24
We camped in the Mesquite Campground which is at the end of the road down in the canyon. The road down into the canyon is steep, with a 10% grade for about a mile.The sites are large and well-spaced, with wonderful views of the canyon walls. No sewer sites are available, but we had water and 50 amp electric. AT&T cell and broadband worked well. This is a good park for hiking or just relaxing. We visited the Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum in Canyon, and it was great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
This is a great state park with well maintained facilities. Our rate reflects a Texas State Park pass. Close to the Plains Prairie Historical Museum which take an entire day. There is a 1.5 mile switchback ascent when leaving the park with about a 10% grade. Longhorns are often seen at the entrance. If you are not using AT&T you will need to go to the entrance often for cell and internet service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Park is clean & quiet, sites are level, restrooms are clean. Hiking is great, museum is great, trading post is great. Cell signal (Verizon) available at ranger station. Mesquite loop has a few muddy sites (if raining) but has the largest sites in the park. Park hosts and rangers were helpful and accommodating. Would definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Great stay in Mequite campground. Sites are spread out. 50, 30, 20 amp and water at every site. Bathrooms well maintained by campground hosts. Covered picnic tables. Great roadways. Sites are chip and seal paved. Everything else is red sand, scrub, cactus and gorgeous! Everything in our rig is covered in red dust after 5 days and we love it. Hiked day long hikes to top of rim: 1-2 miles and 2,000 feet vertical. Amazing. Cold, windy nights and hot, calm days. Wouldn't want to be here April through September! Gorgeous in March but October would be better. Verizon MiFi did not work. AT&T 3G worked well. If it rains, everything is impassable mud. But then river flows making challenging crossings and source of cool diversion. Great wildlife viewing and photo ops. Can't wait to return (in Oct). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
Typical of an older state park. An outstanding place to visit. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you are into Texas history this is a must visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
Similar problems as others on breakers. Just could not keep our AC on and it was at least 110 degrees. Playground for kids was OK. More than likely will not come back here. About 15 miles from Interstate plus another 3 miles down to campsite. Stayed in Hackberry area with limited shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We camped here on our way to Colorado. We had never visited and wanted to see the part & the "Texas" musical. We arrived at the beginning of the worst heat wave and drought Texas has had in many years! We stayed in the Sagebrush camp area in a handicap access spot. It was very nice - paved spots and walk ways, 50amp & water, but no sewer. The restrooms/showers were right across from us. Clean, but very hot during the 100+ degrees during the day. All the spots are nice though only the handicap spots are paved. There is not much shade in this area - some around the picnic tables in the late afternoon. The Hackberry Camp area has some shady spots (#1, 3 & a few others), but they fill up quickly. The musical was very good. It is outdoors & only during the summer - after dark. We probably won't camp here again in the summer, but it would be a great destination for hikers, bikers and horse back trips in the fall - spring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We just returned from a week's stay at Palo Duro Canyon State Park. Magnificent! Yes, it was hot, very hot, but we confined outdoor activity to the mornings and late afternoons. We stayed in the Mesquite camping area which had 50 amp service and water. There is no sewer hookup but they have 3 dump stations within the park. The spaces were long (we have a 39 ft. 5th wheel) and had ample room for out truck. Excellent covered picnic tables for each site and great water pressure. We were one of the few sites that had cell phone reception (ATT) and 3G. We went on an hour trail ride. Wish there had been a bit more history or geology thrown in. We attended the show "TEXAS" and had dinner beforehand at the venue. The dinner was good and the show was GREAT! One thing I want to mention to anyone thinking about going: drive into Canyon and go to the Panhandle Plains Historical Museum. It is the 2nd largest historical museum in Texas and I was overwhelmed to find this jewel hidden away in the nice small town. Canyon is only 12 miles away from the State Park. Will I go back? OH YES! Makes me proud to be a native Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Palo Duro is a GREAT place. Note that it is a very steep descent into the canyon on a switchback road. We have a 38 foot 5th wheel so it was a little un-nerving. Just go SLOW. We stayed in the Sagebrush camping area. The site was a back-in site but our back window had a great view of the canyon wall in the distance. The site was level left to right but not front to back. It was also fairly short but it worked just fine. The views in the canyon were beautiful. The park employees and rangers were very nice and helpful. We spent most of the day just driving around looking and taking photos. There are some spectacular views especially at the visitor's center / store. We also attended the "Texas" musical show and it was very good. We would definitely go back and stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Nice campground. Lots of wild turkeys and some deer. Staff is "just doing my job". The visitor center is a store and not knowledgeable at all, (did not even know there was water in the stream running through the canyon). The trails are sand. The scenery is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
This is a very scenic campground, located inside the canyon. There is 10% grade for approximately 1 miles going into the canyon. The campsites are spacious with great panoramic scenery. There is an abundance of hiking trails with all degrees of difficulty. There is also horseback riding stables located in the park, a visitor center and a few cabins overlooking the canyon. We were misled by the park staff at check in. We requested a 30amp site and were told all the 30amp sites were taken except for small sites, therefore we were placed in a 50 amp site for $3 additional fee per night. While exploring the campground, we discovered only 2 campers in the 30amp area. This was an intentional ripoff by the Texas State Park system. Had we been staying longer than 2 nights, we would have demanded a 30amp site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Wonderful park. Walk ourselves silly. Meet wonderful people. Views are breath taking. Only thing that was a little crazy for us is Friday evening the park filled up fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
Much nicer than a commercial site, other than no sewer hookups. Two dump stations however. Narrow 10% grade to get down to campgrounds. Hiking, biking, horseback riding (your own or guided rides). "Texas" show after June 1. Wild turkeys and deer visit your site. Clean restrooms/showers. Don't miss the gift shop in the Visitor center, or the soft-serve ice cream in the Trading post. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
We stayed in the Sagebrush campground, which is the first one after reaching the bottom of the canyon. The sites are fairly well-separated, and not too far from level. This campground is close to the excellent CCC trail to the museum at the top of the rim. Good biking is available through the 5-mile-long park, but there is quite a bit of traffic along the road (as well as 6 water crossings, all but one of which was dry when we were there). The only negative was the large number of flies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
We stayed at the Mesquite camp ground and found it to be really nice. There's enough space between sites to spread out and have your own area, but you're close enough (40-60 feet at least) that kids can get together and play. We'll definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
What a spectacular area, wonderful views of the canyon, quiet location among the trees, fire ring, covered picnic table, all well maintained, lots of privacy, level sites with lots of space, and contrary to other reports we had a strong AT&T 3G signal, clean bathrooms, the hill coming into the canyon is fine, lots of switchbacks just take it slow. Our campground was Mesquite, and we had to go through 5 river crossings but had no problems. The Trading Post is useless for basic supplies, but they do breakfast. On the other hand the Park Store is a gem, really nice quality souvenirs, books, jewelery etc. There is a Wal-Mart in Canyon. Lots of wonderful trails to walk. This really is a gem of a place, and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This place is wonderful. This was our second visit, the first being almost 4 years ago and I always wanted to return. It was magical the first time and the magic did not wear off on our second visit. Awesome views all around you of the red canyon walls. Yes, the grade down into the canyon is a bit steep, but it was less daunting the second time around, and the switchbacks mitigate the steepness. It is not a reason to avoid coming here. We stayed in the Mesquite loop both times and we think it is the best. Large and very separate sites. All sites in this loop are satellite friendly. It is the furthest loop into the park which we find desirable. There is no Verizon signal anywhere in the canyon. Plenty of hiking trails for anyone so inclined. Water and electric hookups only, no sewer. That not withstanding, I would rate it higher if it were not for the $5 per person park entrance fee charged for every day camped here on top of your camping fees. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
As you drive into the camp sites watch out! You turn a corner and you are headed down a very steep road. As new RVers, it was scary, but what a view. We went in the heat of the summer, luckily there was a freak cool front, that brought the temp down into the low 90's. The terrain is desert. Great hiking and walking paths. The show TEXAS was fun, and is a must see for anyone from Texas or anyone who wishes they were from Texas! Great state park, we will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
As we live in our camper full time and stay in a lot of state parks, Palo Duro is one of the best! It has lots of things to do, and the scenery is unsurpassed. One item that did stand out was the friendliness of the park rangers. They seemed happy and excited that you were here and their enthusiasm is catching. So far this summer, this park has been the highlight of our trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Wonderful campground with large spaces that were not crowded and had vegetation between them. The site we were in, had a gazebo also. As the others have stated, there is no cell or aircard service at all. We needed to up to the entrance to make any calls and we had two different carriers. The road going down to the park is very steep and winding. I had some concerns about pulling our trailer uphill but it turned out to not be a problem. I would recommend planning your trip for a cooler time of year as it was over 100 degrees when we were here in June. The rate shown includes the 5$ per day per person park entrance fee which is not mentioned if you make your reservation online. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We were hesitant to camp here so late in the summer, but it was wonderful. We stayed in Mesquite, which does require 5 water crossings, but there was not any problem. We liked Mesquite because it was away from the traffic, beautiful views and close to hiking and playing in the creek. Hiking, biking, playing in the creek and equestrian riding are all part of the parks entertainment. Seeing the musical drama "Texas" topped off the entire experience. We look forward to returning in the fall in order to hike to the Lighthouse. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This is a wonderful state park. What a gem! There are hiking, biking, horseback riding trails. Our campsite had a 360 degree stunning view of the canyon. We stayed in the Sagebrush loop (closest to the entrance) in a back-in site with water and electric. Each campsite has a picnic table with a gazebo over it. The bath/shower house was immaculate. We had the pleasure of having a flock of wild turkeys grazing around with a big, old tom turkey keeping watch. We checked out the other campsite loops, they are much farther into the canyon and could require a water crossing if there is an abundance of rain. Some things you need to know: 1. the one road leading into and out of the canyon has a 10% grade and it is 1 1/2 miles in length (our diesel pulled our 14,000 lb 5th wheel up that grade in 1st gear just fine). 2. There is NO cell phone or air card service available in the canyon (Verizon is our service for both). 3. Cheeseburgers at the Trading Post fit the 'Cheeseburger in Paradise' definition perfectly for us. The daily rate does not reflect the $5 per person per day park entrance fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
This is a very scenic park. There are 5 water crossings to the Mesquite Campground so don't try this if it's been raining a long time. The sites are dirt and gravel. Some sites may need leveling. There are hiking, biking, and horse trails. We thought the price was expensive - $25 plus $3.00 entry fee per day per person. There is no cell service in the canyon. There is a dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
This is the nicest state park we have ever been to. It is clean, well run, and very scenic. There are trails for hikes, bikes, and horses. The campsites were roomy and easy to get into. The canyon itself is gorgeous. The only cell phone that will work at the canyon camp sites is ATT. We had internet access with our Verizon air card after we hooked up our Wilson Trucker Antenna. This park is so nice we stayed an extra day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
This is a beautiful park with fantastic views of the canyon. The sites are situated on the floor of the canyon where they are protected somewhat from the constant wind on the rim. The trails are great, they vary from moderate to difficult. We enjoyed our stay and will go again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
Great state park. We visited in the spring, so it was 90 degrees when we got here in the afternoon, and 50 at the canyon rim the next morning. Bring layers! Sites vary quite a bit, but we got a nice level one with lots of trees/bushes sheltering us. Turns out we were on the deer trail and the deer are quite tame. Thank goodness our German shepherd has gone deaf. We had time to get him inside before he smelled the little herd! We were only overnighting, but would DEFINITELY come back again, especially to do the horseback riding that is available in the park itself. Don't miss the museum/gift shop: some of the nicest southwestern art and gifts we've seen anywhere. Also, if you need cell phone/Internet, our AT&T worked at the canyon rim but not, of course, at the bottom. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
This is a beautiful park. The camping is at the bottom of the canyon so it is twisting and turning going down but it is not a problem. Everybody is very nice and helpful. It was 116 at the bottom of the canyon we had the a/c on and after about 30 minutes of it on the breaker blew. I would guess it was just hot. My a/c would not come back on I drove back and let them know I switched sites still no luck we slept there very hot we left in the morning; we where going to stay another night but not without a/c. I stopped by to let them know to cancel the next night they where very nice refunded my money I did not expect that. The rate is $27 plus there is a $5 a day for a day pass. We will stay there again when the a/c is fixed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Very scenic state park in the Palo Duro canyon. We stayed in the first RV camp area you come to on the road down into the canyon, Sagebrush. This area is also within walking distance of the "Texas"' play. The road in to the park seemed very narrow and winding to us first timers, so we did not go all the way to the bottom of the canyon, but will if we ever get back with a car. The few scenic turnouts we came to were also very small for a motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
We stayed 2 nights to explore the canyon. We saw lots of deer! Great hiking for all levels. The canyon is beautiful, especially the walls at sunset. Lots of biting gnats or flies. Be ready! Rangers were the best. Pay attention to the water level sign warnings if you go in the rainy season. We would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
This is a very nice place. There are lots of trails and things to do for the family. We stayed at the Hackberry Camp Area. It had lots of wildlife -- turkeys, deer, gophers, coyotes. The canyon is beautiful. Showers weren't as private as other state parks. Trails are well marked. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
Wow! What a great place to spend a week. Great campground deep in the canyon with good size sites equipped with water and 50 amp service. Go, but plan lots of time to hike, mountain bike, horse back ride, and enjoy the "Grand Canyon of Texas"! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
The sites are good sized and some shade. Bathrooms were clean. There is much to do there. We hiked and explored caves. We saw deer, turkeys, and coyotes up close. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
I've been here before, everything was pretty much the same: The Texas Show was great, the meal before the show was presented by a new caterer - delicious! Of course it was hot, our meters read 106 degrees during the hottest parts of the day. I would rank this higher however the electricity in the canyon surged this day. In our last stay there was no problem. This time we could not run our AC at 106 degrees without tripping a breaker, we even changed sites. This is our third 5th wheel and it is new, so we thought it might be our breakers, we had things checked by a mobile tech and he said he had been to the canyon many times to only report of surging voltage in the canyon. When we moved sites the same thing happened again. Luckily we had our generator with us for a place another park on our way to California, which we are at now. We have stayed in Albuquerque, Las Vegas, Sequoia National Park and now Yosemite without this trouble. In Vegas it was 110 degrees, AC running all day without a trip. So it is without a doubt an electrical problem in the park on hot, crowded days. Overall the park is a really fun place to visit, lots of CCC history. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
A magical place; descending the 10% grade into the canyon is a bit daunting, but worth the trip. The campgrounds are all well kept with large spaces and beautiful views of the rock formations and incredible colors. Sewer hookups would be nice, but there are multiple dump sites throughout the park. We stayed in Mesquite campground, 8 miles from the entrance; quiet, dark, and isolated. Wild turkey roam the campgrounds like domestic chickens - bring birdseed. Deer and desert sheep are also easily seen. A great visitor center and not-too-bad snack grill. Make sure you stop and see the two giant longhorns near the entrance. A great stay - another superior Texas state park. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
This is a beautiful place to spend time. The only drawback is the 10% grade over 1 mile to get in and out of the park. It's quite a haul but the scenery and wildlife are worth it. It was quiet and peaceful except on the weekends. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you don't have a Texas State park pass the daily rate for RVs is $24. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Beautiful place to stay. Skip the pull-thrus in Hackberry area. The pull-thrus curve and are difficult to get in to. A back-in would have been much easier for us with our 32' 5th-wheel. Hackberry has lots of shade and wild life. We saw deer, turkeys, and even a tarantula. But, if you want a view of the canyon walls, then stay in the Mesquite area. Also, the sites in Hackberry did not seem as level as the sites in the Mesquite area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
This is a scenic and large state park located at the bottom of its namesake canyon with three looped RV campgrounds and two primitive tent only sections. The tent areas were not impressive. Most of the RV sites in Sagebrush or Mesquite are back-ins that will accommodate larger RVs with 50A needs. One half of the Mesquite sites are not level. The Hackberry section is 30 amps only and generally for rigs less than 32 ft. All camp sites are easy access in and out and they have picnic tables and fire pits. There is one or two playgrounds in the park, but none are convenient to campsites. There is no laundry and no cell coverage. Satellite/TV signal coverage was good. In west Texas trees are usually shorter mesquite or live oak and are for site separation, not shade. The park has a visitor’s center, small store/restaurant, horseback stables, hiking, and biking trails. All worth visiting. I camped in Sagebrush and the voltage was very low when the weekenders showed up. It wasn’t possible to run the air conditioner. Imagine, no air in 90+ plus temps! Weekenders have as much right to good voltage as anyone else. It's a park problem. The 10% grade entrance road is not a real issue, but the three sharp blind curves are. The road is narrower in the curves. Two long RVs could not safely pass each other at those points. It is an accident waiting to happen so don’t traverse it during a heavy traffic period. Be aware that, in addition to the campsite fee, the Texas State Park system charges an entry fee - - per person, per day, whether or not you move in or out of the park. Cost wise, you can camp in a commercial park with considerably more amenities. No one could be disappointed with this park if they understand what it was intended to be. A place to camp, without amenities, where one can experience unique and scenic surroundings. Even with its unique environment it is absolutely not a 9 or 10 rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
I stayed at the Cow Loop cabins. They contained the bare essentials but were clean and comfortable. The restrooms and showers were clean, but because of the lights, contained a lot of bugs. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
It was hot, but dry air kept it bearable for July. The view is great, and going to see Texas and the meal before hand made it worth the whole trip. Was a bit worried about the 10% grade going down and coming back out, but it wasn't a problem. The sites were easy to get into and there is even a little store in the bottom of the canyon that serves a very good hamburger. The scenery makes this park and would definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
We stayed here two different nights as a stop-over. The first night we stayed in the Hackberry area. This is good if you want some trees and shade, but it blocks any view of the canyon. Also, we were assigned a pull-thru and found it hard to maneuver our 31 foot trailer into. I would suggest a back-in in this area if you have a longer rig. The second stay we were in the Mesquite area. This is the place to be if you want a view! Beware, there is not much shade and in the summer it is hot! But the canyon is amazing to look at. The only downfall to this park was the low voltage. Make sure you have a voltage meter and a booster would be helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
We spent two nights in the park which we found clean and well-tended. The staff was friendly and courteous. We stayed at the Sagebrush Campground which had very spacious, level, paved sites. Now this is an arid part of the world so you can't expect large trees. No cable, but we got excellent local TV reception from nearby Amarillo. The musical production of TEXAS was quite good and the catered meal beforehand was excellent. We found the dump station clean and working. We would certainly camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
The park is very scenic, situated in a canyon. The wildflowers were abundant. We saw many different bird species and a deer. The park was full of mountain bikers enjoying the hills. Rehearsals for "Texas" were going on at night, but we didn't get to stay for a performance. It had the usual problems of Texas State Parks with lack of funding for maintenance. The dump stations were both backed up with sewage. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
This was our first big trip in a new 24' Fifth Wheel. We researched this park and were a bit concerned about the steep descent into the canyon. However, we had absolutely no problems. We camped in the farthest loop where it was very quiet during the week and busier on the weekend. The weather was fantastic, the campground staff were very helpful and the walking/hiking trails were absolutely top-drawer. The scenery was spectacular and the weather warm but not too hot which made it okay for our golden retriever as long he had shade and plenty of water. The visitors' center was interesting and the staff led a nature walk. Canyon is about 25 minutes away and has good shopping for groceries and opportunities for wireless internet. We took dozens of photos in this very picturesque park. We were warned of access roads blocked due to flash floods and we experienced that firsthand. This and a serious tornado threat were all part of the Palo Duro experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
We had a great time at his park. We started off in the spacious, mostly open Mesquite campground area located approximately 8 miles from the entrance of the park. The steep grade is easily managed in a large motorhome. Wild turkey were every where and the canyon walls are beautiful in this area. Our only complaint was there was very little grass only red clay which can easily track into your RV. This campground is in a flood prone area so we had to move to a different campground as severe weather hit the area. We chose the Sagebrush area over the Mesquite section. The Mesquite area seemed too tight and not as spacious although the highly treed area was tempting. We liked the Sagebrush perimeter grassy sites the most. Although we didn't get to use them because of the storms, the partially covered picnic areas were very secluded. If we are in this area again, we would most definitely return. There is great hiking and awesome views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
Our favorite park in Texas. Great scenery, great hiking, great photography. Lots of wildlife like deer, turkeys, coyotes, Texas Horned Lizards (seen a few), roadrunners, tarantulas, scorpions, snakes. Everything is just great! Also great for kids. Nice playgrounds, lots of rock climbing and some of the water crossings are nice sand and mud holes for the kids to play in. We have been here a few times and our favorite camp side is the Mesquite Camping Area at the very end of the park. No shade but spectacular views. Perfect around spring or fall. Great place for the Thanksgiving Weekend. It can get cold in the night. But will stay warm during the day. Clean facilities and very friendly staff. If it weren't a six to seven hour ride from DFW, we would be here more often. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$15
Spectacular scenery and ambiance. Great hiking trails and views of wildlife. Mesquite loop has best views and largest sites. Entry road is steep but no problem with our 36' fifth wheel trailer. Definitely worth a visit! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$17
The Mesquite campground is spectacular. From the sunrise view coming up over the canyon walls to the sunsets at the end of the day, this place is just the best. The roads are easy to navigate with lots of room, even for the largest rigs. The Hackberry sites may be smaller but the scenery there is almost as good. The Sagebrush loop is pretty but the sites are nowhere near as private as the other two campgrounds. Wildlife is everywhere. Coyotes, turkeys, deer and hawks abound. The bathrooms were spotless, probably the best we've seen in a TX state park and although we were not there during the Texas show season it's still worth the drive to this great place. My number 1 state park by a wide margin. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
We stayed in the Sagebrush Campground; there were gravel pads, large in size, semi - shaded, with covered picnic area next to each site. Flies were a problem while we were there. There is a 10% grade driving into the park. Lots of hiking and wildlife. the signature trail is the Lighthouse trail and should not be missed. We loved this campground and would gladly return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
Wonderful scenery. Easy access to the bottom of the canyon. We pulled a 30' travel trailer. Spacious like most state parks and of course hot, it was July in Texas. Visitors centers, stores, horseback riding, trails, covered picnic tables and fire rings at most sites, although burn ban in effect. We stopped through on our way to New Mexico. The Texas show was pretty darned good, a lot better than I was expecting. I am basically a skeptical person, and was thinking this was going to be a production similar to one a low rate theme park. I was totally incorrect. Very good production, music was good, very entertaining. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
This State Park is beautiful if you like canyons and desert. The campgrounds are very well planned. Like other reviews say - the drive into the canyon is steep but do-able. Unfortunally, while we were there the temps were above 100 degrees in the bottom of the canyon. Would go back but only in the winter or early early spring. Canyon, TX is a very nice town about 10 miles west of the park entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
What a gem this place is. Desert camping in the middle of the 2nd largest canyon in the U.S. Huge sites with a wood canopy over the table. The sunsets are spectacular. The price includes $8 to get into the park and $20 for the campsite. If you're staying for more than a few days the price is less since the park entrance fee is a one time charge. This park is wonderful for hiking, bicycling or just relaxing and admiring the beauty of the desert. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
This was an unbelievably beautiful park. It was a little tricky getting a 39' RV down into the canyon with steep grades, blind curves and switchbacks. We smoked the brakes on the trailer coming down, but it was carefully doable and more than worth it! Hiking the canyon is a must. There is horseback riding available which we didn't get to do but heard it was worth it. A one night stay turned into 3. There were herds, flocks, whatever of wild turkey running around, along with deer and roadrunners (our favorite) and several other bird species. They had a nice gift shop and a small take out restaurant/grill. This is a must see if you're into canyons, photography, wildlife and awesome scenery! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$12
A beautiful Park, beautiful Canyon! There is lots of wildlife and birds. There is a wonderful, scenic 8 mile driving tour through the Canyon. See the picture tour on their website. Outdoor drama, "Epic Texas" presented in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com