221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Columbus RV Park & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (979) 732-6455
CGID2742

Columbus RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   3   6   9   8   2   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$26
This is park is old and shows its age but is still a nice one. Sites are mostly shady with gravel or grass slips with one paved site they gave us. It is off the highway about ΒΌ mile so is quiet. There are many permanents/log term and while most are very old trailers, they are clean and residents respectful. Utilities including WIFI and cable worked well. I looked in on the shower/restroom facilities; they are old but looked clean enough. The owner was friendly and showed us to our spot. So if you want a clean, quiet place to stop for the night and don't need fancy, this is a fine place that I would use again if in the area We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$28
Easy on and off I-10. Staff was great, sites grass but level. Hook ups well placed. Hard pack dirt interior roads and exit needs smoothed out. Very rough exit road with many ruts. Large sites easily fit big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Easy access to Campground off Hwy 10. All camping spots are gravel. They are level and most have shade trees. Because of that I could only get partial reception on my satellite dish. The manager walked me to my spot and guided me in. She is a delightful lady. The electric amperage was 113, water pressure is good. The pull thru site was long enough to accomodate both the coach and the toad. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2012
$23
This is an old KOA that was bought by the present owners 12 years ago. It is my guess that they have done nothing to the park in that time, but suck the money out of it. Though it could be nice, it isn't. There are many old trailers that have been there for many years and have piles of junk around them. The spaces are of the type seen in KOA's in the past when trailers didn't have slides and a big trailer was 22'. They are small and VERY close together. We were planning on staying longer when we found this park online; after pulling in we knew that this park was only a stop over for us. The owner was nice and helpful; it's just that the park was depressing. I will say that the Wi-Fi was strong and the laundry was new and clean. We would only ever stay here again as an overnight stop over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
Interesting place. Lots of nice shade trees. Easy off/on I-10. Quiet park with level gravel sites. Some of the long-termers look like the road company from "Deliverance", but we had a quiet, one night stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
Nice Park. Had quite a few campers staying there, I am sure some were oil field workers, but we only seen 3 other sets of campers while we were outside walking our dog and during the time we were swimming. Clean and Quiet. We had just purchased our travel trailer and on our way back home we stayed the night to "Test it out". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
Nice campground well off the Interstate. Call ahead if checking in after hours as manager is not near the office. Great Mexican restaurant withing walking distance across the street. Only downside to this campground is the many permanent residents who begin leaving for work at 5:30 AM. Lots of pick-up truck noise and doors slamming. Wi-Fi worked fine as did the cable TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
It appears this campground has tried to shoe horn in as many RVs as possible, and has two RVs connecting to the same power panels. We were on a 50A breaker and the trailer next to us was on the 30A breaker. To much power draw and we lost one leg of our service. After some effort, we were moved to another site. The first site was mostly gravel but the second site was rutted dirt. The campground is full of pipeline crew folks and many of them tend to leave early for work which is not conducive to us old folks sleeping in. We will boon dock at a truck stop rather than stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Good park for short stay. Many sites occupied by "monthly" campers. Very good customer service, clean, level and good pull through sites for us. Do be aware of rooster crowing at nearby yard however at 5 AM! We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$21
This was a pleasant surprise.We arrived after dark and the staff set us up immediately. It is a clean and good place. It seems like an interesting small town and if we were in the area we would spend a day enjoying it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$24
There are mostly full-timers in the park and only a limited number of sites available for overnight guests. We were parked in a site littered with numerous cigarette butts and trash. We tracked in a lot of dirt and debris into our trailer as the sites are just dirt. The restrooms were very clean, but a little heat would have been very welcome. It is easy access on and off I-10. It is a little noisy, but not to objectionable. The actual cost was $23.50 and reflects a Good Sam discount. At 5:45 AM, one of the residents near us started his diesel pickup truck and let it idle for 5 minutes, followed by the slamming of doors. From then until 6:30 AM it was a constant stream of people leaving for work. TV cable was excellent, great Wi-Fi and the sites were fairly level. As others reported, there was no one in the office. We found the manager (?) doing laundry and he then came to check us in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$21
WOW: never seen restrooms and showers so clean. The bathrooms were very nicely decorated and always clean! The campground manager was very nice. Lots of ground to walk a pet. Nice small wooded area by a stream. We saw about 30 deer one day. Very convenient location. Many places to eat in Columbus. Their Internet was very good and easy to hook up to. TV cable was excellent. Everyone was friendly. Sites are fairly level. Although the website says no railroad tracks, there is a railroad track up a ways and you can hear the horn twice a day but not enough to interfere with sleeping. They do have a library, but we found it difficult to find someone in the office to use the library. They do not man the office, only when someone pulls in. This is a disadvantage. The only real big problem we found is that when it rains it is very muddy. They need to add plenty more gravel. We stayed here a week and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$19
I was with a group for a weekend rally. The staff was terrific. My heat would not come on in my rig so I called the office asking if they had someone to help me figure it out. Within half a hour I had help and it was fixed. Since it was getting cold I couldn't have been happier. We were allowed full use of the meeting room which was very clean. The bathrooms were decorated in a very cute fashion: more than any other camp restroom I've seen. The Wi-Fi was good and strong as was the cable TV. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
This is a good place to stay for a night. The overnight sites are large pull throughs. Mostly long term trailers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
Wonderful office personnel. A great stop after driving through Houston on I-10. Site sufficient size, with fire pit and picnic table under a tree. Many full-timers living there. Bathrooms are extremely well-kept and attractive. Stayed 1 night because on a schedule, but would happily have stayed longer. Lots to see in the area (painted churches). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
Nice little, well-kept campground. Lots of grassy area for tents (no hookups). Sites are easy, level pull-throughs with picnic table and tree. I can see where the one poster felt the sites were too close together because if they used every site, your near-side slide would probably be darn close to your neighbor's awning but, at least while we were here, they parked campers at every other site which was very nice. Several permanents here; several seasonals; and several campers belonging to men working over towards Houston. No problem with electricity; cable TV is great; and they have 5 Wi-Fi sites to choose from. Close to shopping (HEB, small Wal-mart) and a great seafood restaurant: Nancy's Seafood Grill. Don't miss that! We'll stay here again if we're in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
The park was small and near the highway, so you hear highway noise, but it's still an acceptable place to stay for a weekend (I've seen worse!). Their power and cable work well so we were happy. The scenery at the park, on the other hand, left much to be desired. But we traveled around to make up for it. The park hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Pool was small but and not open when we visited in May. They have a nice patio with rocking chairs and swings around their club house. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
The spot I was in was so narrow that the neighbor's slide was so close to my slide, you could hear their TV. There was electrical problems on the pad. The 30 amp wiring was sticking up in the air. This place was a shambles. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
Very nice campground with friendly staff. The site is located far enough from I-10 that you do not have the road noise as many parks do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Staff very friendly. Good grass or dirt level sites. Not bad at all. Good space between sites. Would stay here again. We camped here in truck/camper but most were either motorhomes or fifth wheels and there was space enough for slide outs, etc. Wifi and cable worked fine. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2008
$15
Nice place but the owners were somewhat rude. It was one of my first RV park experiences and was concerned this would be the way they all were. Have been comfortably surprised that this is the exception and not the rule. It seems those who are most concerned with the aesthetic value of their parks, forget that if you treat people with as much importance, they'll forgive a bit of the aesthetic shortcomings. But treat them poorly and they remember for a very long time! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
I really liked this park. Restroom is clean AND cute, owner very nice and had little bandanas for my dogs, and a package of microwave popcorn for me. Plenty of dog-walking area. These are grass sites and it was raining so things were a bit muddy, but all together a nice experience. This campground is not marked on the highway signs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
We stayed here overnight. Easy on and off freeway, cute little campsite. Owner friendly. Wifi did not work, but were informed that it was $2 if it did work. Sites were level. Not a bad place to stay for more than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$23
There is an extra charge for WiFi and 50 amps. You must pay by cash or check to receive a discount on the daily rate. Their website is representitive of the park. The park is less than a mile from Walmart, fast food, and a grocery store. A very suitable park for an overnight stop on interstate 10 in eastern Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$17
I stay here 5 times a year, and have never had any problems. If you stay Sat. nite, go and see the Columbus Opry C&W music show in town. Rest Rooms & Showers are clean, and I can always find a spot for my pop-up. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com