217805 User submitted reviews online!!
American RV Park & Sales was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (903) 872-0233
CGID2750

American RV Park & Sales

Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   7   8   7   8   3   3   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
Above rate ($27.50) reflects 15% discount on nightly rate for Escapees RV Club members. Ten or so pull-through sites immediately behind office are very nice concrete w/nice grass. There is not much other grass in the park. Nice meeting facilities. Free WIFI worked very well, as did the water & electric. We did not connect to sewer as we were there only for two nights. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Friendly staff, but that is the only positive about this place. It's not terrible, but it's mostly gravel, and they have not done much to make the place look nice. Dirty bathrooms; there were three different rooms, and only one had toilet paper, and it was just barely enough. It's just a "trailer park" if you need a place to park for the night. Quite a few long time residents with the typical stuff piled around their sites. We would not camp here again unless emergency . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Warm welcome by the manager couple. Did not have a front RV site as a Rally was due in sometime, (and this was Tuesday). We only wanted 1 night. We were given a site near the Shuffle Board, we felt shoved away in a corner. The sewer connections were all open, which is a Federal and State misdemeanor. Site was gravel and very uneven. The RV Park gave a very run down appearance, grass looked cut but lacked edges, needing lots of care. We asked for air due to a low pressure in 1 tire which we did receive. The road in through the town is a nightmare and we asked before when making the reservation for directions as our GPS could not locate the place. When we mentioned the road, the comment was, "Oh I should have given you a different route. Too late when we had already arrived, grr.. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$29
I can understand that if you stayed in the back of the park in the gravel section, your opinion and rating of the place could be quite different. But we were in one of the pull though sites near the front of the park, and they were very nice. The sites were long, level, paved, and perhaps a bit narrow, but adequate. There was no table. The utilities were placed well and worked fine. Wi-Fi was good, and we got several over the air TV stations. We did not hear any excessive highway noise. The staff was very friendly and competent. I would say that it is family friendly, but I did not actually see a playground or anything to entertain kids. There was a large grassy area where we saw people walking their dogs. As another reviewer said, this is not really a destination park, but it is great for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
This was our first night camping. We picked up our trailer in Rice Texas and drove the short distance to Corsicana. This is an older campground and has some maintenance issues. The management is very friendly and accommodating. They provided a checklist for new Casita owners which was helpful. We had a pull through site that was very level. Not many trees in our area so I think it would be very hot in the summer. Good utilities, no cable. Restrooms and showers were clean but older. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Great place to stay if you're passing through. Clean level concrete pull through sites and friendly people. No cable but 26 local channels available on the antenna. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$39
We've stayed in this park twice on our way back into Dallas. I wouldn't stay here other than it's really the only option for an overnight close to Dallas. We stay here so that we can get through Dallas on Sunday mornings when the traffic is light. The only thing that makes this place better than staying overnight in a Wal-Mart, is that it's quieter and we can hook up and put out the slides. The first time we stayed, we had a pull through spot up close to the front. It was a lot better than the 2nd spot which was in the back, in a gravel parking lot. They were having a rally so there were not sites up front. When cars drove through the lot it stirred up dirt and dust, which made sitting outside not very pleasant. The people in the office are very friendly and accommodating but the park is not a destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
We were part of a 38 big rig rally so that is rally rate...for a rally of big rigs(30'-45') there were pull throughs and a newish community/rally hall - plain, no decorations, but clean. But only 8 pull through sites had concrete pads and shade, otherwise we were put on 2 rows on "the hill" which is all gravel,no concrete,no shade and very unlevel, all coaches needed to use lots of level power. No tables-no extras. Lots of older permanent travel trailers and 5th wheels. Back section is all long timers, many older rigs and some rigs that looked deserted, with lots of "stuff" at the sites. Would be a dust storm in dry weather. Playground in need of repair. We will not go back even with a rally. I had my own wifi router but I heard that Wi-Fi was 1 bar max. No book exchange. Best Mexican food was El Pandero(sp?) just down the road and a great Navarro Museum Complex in town. Quaint old town-a must to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$29
We were put in the back part of the campground with the permanent residents. Our site was gravel - no grass or concrete slab for parking like the sites closer to the registration building. We had no problem leveling. We had plenty of space because there was no one else parked where we were. Wi-fi had a low signal, but overall wasn't too bad most of the time. Bathrooms are old and clean with narrow but clean showers. There is a playground for kids that has old equipment that would not pass a safety inspection for kids. There is a large field for dogs to run off leash. We also used the laundry facilities, and they were clean. No road or other noise. The permanent residents are obviously workers and were very quiet. Great place to camp if destination is Corsicana. We would stay here again if we came to Corsicana. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$22
Park was great, but office and parts sale is not always open. Not much to do around Corsicana Texas except visit downtown area. Lots and lots of shops but more of a tourest trap now. Would just stay here again if only passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Okay... Nice stop over, if purchasing a trailer at Casita Trailers (up I-45 north just 10 minutes in Rice, TX). Friendly office staff. The place is clean, mostly crushed stone sites, lots of pull throughs. Restrooms were very nice, very big, and very clean. It was quite at night, except for a train that would not stop with the horn at about 4AM. The only real negative is that this park is located on the extreme opposite side of the town from I-45, which means a bit of an annoying long 4 mile though town trek each time across the main transverse thoroughfare (route 31). The road is rather old, with railroad tracks to cross, its narrow, busy, and was being worked on when I was there. A definite plus is you go by the original Collins Street Bakery going to and from the park. Do yourself a favor and stop in here for some tasty breakfast treats! If you do one thing in this town - eat here... There's a very busy Walmart, just east of the park, many other services on 31 headed out to the park's location. There's not much beyond it. I would stop here again if I had to come to Corsicana... felt safe. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
We only stayed one night as a stop over. This is an older park, but clean and quiet. The park manager led us to our space in a golf cart. Management and staff were friendly. We did not use the bathrooms or laundry facilities. They save the long paved pull through sites for overnight guests. We did not even have to unhook the toad. The only complaint I have is that the person answering the phone could not give directions. The RV site is located on Hwy-31, also called 7th Avenue, also called Martin Luther King Blvd. 7th Avenue crosses 7th Street and we turned there by mistake. We called for help, but the person answering the phone could not help us. Exit from I-45 on to Hwy 31 eastbound. Don't make any turns and you will eventually get there. It is not very convenient to I-45. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Didn't go to the Restrooms & Showers. We had a nice pull-thru site. Sites looked level on cement. Park roads paved just of the highway. Quiet. Owners friendly. Stayed one night on our way to Dallas. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$29
On the wrong side of town for convenience. Wi-Fi is really fast. A so so park but OK for over night-a little much for what they have. Met the older guy-fun but really works his tail off. Makes sure that you have everything and is a load of good information. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
There are several long paved pull through sites at the entrance to this RV park. Those are usually for RV rally's. The rest of the park is gravel pull throughs as well as grass back ins. The gravel pull through area is just a big huge gravel parking lot. If people would respect the 5m.p.h. speed limit you would not have to suck dust, but of course they don't including the older gentleman that drives his golf cart around. Zoom, zoom! The restrooms are individual with toilet, shower, and sink with paper towels provided. There is no soap, so bring your own. This is definitely an older park, so it is what it is. We stayed here 2 nights. Just feel $29/night is a little much for what it is, but then it is not a Passport America park. There is no cable, but you can pull the major stations in with the antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
This park is 5 miles west of I-45, through congested areas with heavy traffic, so it's not very convenient for an overnight stop. The road it's located on is quite busy so the traffic noise is excessive, worse than parks we've stayed at that are just off Interstates. Most sites are filled with long-termers; over-nighters are lined up on the pull-throughs located to the side of the office. Hook-ups are OK; Wi-Fi is strong and fast. Rate is rather high for what you get. OK for one night. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
Convenient to town, and the Walmart 1/2 mile away sells ice. Interior roads need work; some potholes caused RV to bounce excessively. Hosts were friendly and helpful; however, the office weekday hours were posted as 8:00-7:00, but was closed at 5:00 pm. WiFi was intermittent, but when active, worked very well (best signal was after dark). We had one of the few pull through spaces with shade, which helped in the afternoon heat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
The 6 score is being nice. Has new owners and they are trying, but they don't have much to work with here. Lots of gravel, irregular sites, lots of dust, dirt, Wi-Fi is very sporadic, no cable TV. Really only good for a quick overnight and go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
Wide gravel sites and nice friendly staff. There are limited supplies in the club house. The Wi-Fi was not working? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
We had a pull-through site with water, electric, and sewer. Campground was extremely neat and clean. Owner was extremely accommodating and helped several new trailer owners with set up and systems checkouts. He made himself available to lend a hand or answer any questions new campers may have. We stayed an extra day just to enjoy the hospitality provided by the campground owners. We will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Corsicana. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Nothing special but a good overnight place. Good Wi-Fi, level sites. Would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Easy access for big rigs. Sites are long and very level with convenient access to hookups. Free Wi-Fi that is very good. No cable but good signal on local channels. Great over night stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Treeless, gravel parking lot with Wi-Fi. You'd do better at Wal-Mart. We had to be in Corsicana for two days so tried it - won't again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Staff friendly and very helpful as far as how to get to Collin Street Bakery (we came this direction just to buy fruit cakes and goodies). Sites are long, paved and level. We were in Site 46 with full hookups, free WI-FI and even though no cable TV, were able to received a good number of channels from Dallas/Fort Worth. We will camp here, again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
OK if you need to be in the area or overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
This park is nothing but a big gravel parking lot. The staff are great and they keep this from being a zero rated park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
A mostly permanent park with little "overnight" traffic and a lot of empty spaces. We found it very difficult to level the RV in all of the temporary sites even though they were newly paved with asphalt. The park is clean but often crowded with traffic from the on-site convention hall that is used for weddings, proms, etc. Getting to the park is also difficult as you have to go completely through the city of Corsicana if you are traveling I-45. There is no bypass and the traffic is often very congested. It easily was a twenty minute trip from the interstate to the park. We probably will rearrange our schedule on the next trip so we can get to some other park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
On my trips from my home to Mississippi, I frequently stay overnight at this RV Park. It is easily accessible from the highway and serves nice paved pull-through pads. It is located just outh of Walmart shopping and some fine restaurants nearby. It is very clean and the Staff are very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$25
Long level sites for overnight without unhooking toad. Easy into and out of park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
Very convenient to highway with nice pull-thrus. Management very nice. The only problem was no TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
The park is very large and has pull thru's and back in sites. The management team were friendly. There isn't much to do in Corsicana, but the park isn't bad. Fill up on propane before you get there. I stayed for a couple of months and bought a load of propane for my coach. The price of propane is very high here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
Arrived on a Sunday. Park office closed. Rates posted and choice of sites posted. Fairly level sites and clean park. Saw manager at site later so went to pay. Rate he wrote on the form was $10 over posted rate for a 50 amp pull through($40 vs $30, making my Passport rate $20). But hey, it was Sunday, so I said nothing and paid up. Yes, they were personable, but a $40 gravel parking lot? By far the most expensive base rate on my entire trip and with the fewest perks - no pool, no hot tub, no rec room, no store, no cable or WiFi, no coffee or breakfast. No wonder they had very few guests. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
This is a really nice park. It is mainly flat not a lot of scenery that I saw, most sites don't have much shade but the sites are fully equipped, paved and level and the office and owner check in is very enjoyable. In fact, the owner treats you like royalty. He meets you at the gate, escorts you to the site and hooks you up so you don't even have to get your hands dirty. He is personable, knowlegeable and helpful. This was my first stay in my new Travel Trailer in an RV campground and it was a supurb example. I would recommend this park highly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
Nice park, quiet and very friendly. Have an RV mechanic on site for repairs or installations. Well equipped rv store, also. Mostly gravel sites, perimeter sites are well shaded, others open. Staff is GREAT! We will stay here again this fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
A very clean, neat campground. They sell a couple of park models and have a pretty well stocked RV store with an RV installer/mechanic on the premises. The owner/mgrs are very helpful. We'll use this park as base to explore surrounding area this spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
I picked up my first travel trailer and did not have a clue on what I was doing. The owner came over and walked me through everything. The park is more a parking lot and a bit out dated. Very dusty and windy but not bad for an overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$25
This place was great! We camped there in a travel trailer we had just picked up at a nearby town. The new owner volunteered to help us get set up and was extremely helpful. He picked up our propane tanks at our campsite and had them purged and filled for us, and the RV tech came out and installed a vent cover for us. They made everything very easy for us. Their helpfulness was very impressive, and the campground was very neat and clean. We would love to go there again just to be around the folks who run the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$22
This campground changed hands early this year and have improved sites with paving and leveling, also repaved some of the roads as well. The small hall is being setup for daily use except when rallies are in. The wifi is a totally new addition. The staff is friendly and all live on-site, including an RV Tech. The new owner seems to concentrate more on the campground and less on the sales as there's very few rigs for sale out front. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Sites not very level. Rained when we were there and our site turned into a mudhole. Would have given a lower rating but the people/staff in the office were so nice to us. The campground could use a lot of gravel and leveling. Appears they are more interested in the sales lot than the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2002
$20
This park is connected to an RV Dealership. Roads were paved/gravel. Sites were gravel, some level, some not level. Most sites did not have trees. Maintenance was adequate. There were some permanent residents. Park can handle big rigs. Be sure to visit the Collin Street Bakery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$22
What a great RV Park. We were going through Corsicana and had a break down. We came to American RV Park and they had a great supply of RV parts and a tech on site. We were so surprised at this park. It was really clean. It had large sites and the bath houses were so clean. They had Barbara Fairchild in concert when we were here and everything was unbeliveable. I could not get over all the things going on with the town the size of Corsicana. I would give this park a 10 rating. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Very clean park, newly opened area with large pull thrus; one of the best club houses in Texas. Staff very friendly, on site mananger; close to shopping mall. Great place for clubs large and small. Wish I was there now. Star Hall will seat about 600 people. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$23
Campground is located behind RV dealership. Sites aren't too level and office at dealership closes at 5 or so leaving check-in in the hands of an indifferent manager. It can be a difficult drive to get to the park from I-45 as you must cross completely thru town on main street ( narrow streets). We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com