219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Eisenhower State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (903) 465-1956
CGID2755

Eisenhower State Park

Camp Information
Sites
179
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   8   9   8   9   9   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$15
We stayed at this park on a whim to try and save money from getting an out of state fishing license on Lake Texhoma. We were awesomely surprised. Our first site had ants on it but the park staff quickly relocated us. Our new site was quiet and deep in the piny woods. Fantastic fun for a family. We camped a few nights and had a blast. It also has beautiful views of the lake. They had a little swimming area my kids loved. i saw they had boats for rental but we didn't get to try them. Had fun fishing but didn't catch anything. All in all this was a great place to stay and we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$23
My family and I really enjoyed staying at Eisenhower State Park. We traveled with 2 adults, a toddler, and four teenagers for 4 nights. We arrived on late Friday afternoon and were assigned to campsite 89. The pull through site itself would have been fine but the picnic area was treacherous. It was quite steep and kind of rough terrain. I called the perk office and asked them if we could move because with a toddler, there was no way site 89 was going to work. We moved to site 74 and it was a nice site but we could not get our RV stable enough for our comfort because the site was so unlevel and going downhill. I again called the office, they are extremely friendly and accommodating. We moved our third time to site 63. Although it was one of the smallest site for the camper, we managed and were glad we did! It has a very large picnic/yard area. And you can hit the nature trails directly from the site. After moving campsites three times and after walking through the camping area, there are not many sites that are level. It was obvious that several people had trouble getting their campers level. The nature trails are great! There was some rough terrain a couple of times but overall we all enjoyed them. The restrooms/showers in the Bois D Arc area were okay. They were clean, but there are no shower curtains/doors on the showers. The shower water temperature constantly fluctuated every time a toilet was flushed, nothing we couldn't deal with though. The Park Rangers seemed to have a heavy presence in the area. We saw them driving through at least 5-6 times daily. Beautiful park! Lots of fun! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$23
This was our first trip to this park and we had a very enjoyable experience. We will return. Our site was not level, but pulling up on blocks took care of that. Even though the park was full, everyone was on good behavior and it was very quiet at night. The sites are well spaced and you're not crammed in on top of each other. Almost all of the sites are shaded and a few in the north section of the park have a slight view of the lake through the trees. I would recommend to stay away from sites 85 thru 89 as they were close to a sewer lift station and the smell was terrible in that area. Besides the nightly rate, you do get charged a daily per person admission fee of $5 each. If you have more than 2 vehicle units (our truck and trailer counted for 2 units) on the site, they also charge you an additional $4 per night for an excess vehicle fee. If your site hasn't been used for a while, the water will have a real bad sulfur smell for a few minutes, but that will clear up after a few gallons of water are run out. The area is hilly with a lot of trees and the hiking trails were great. The park rangers were friendly and they drove through the camping area several times each day. We did see several deer during our stay. Dogs are abundant, but they must be on a leash. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
We’ve stayed several times over the past six or so years. We like it because it has full hook-ups (Bois D’Arc Ridge area) and it’s close enough to the Dallas / Fort Worth area for a weekend trip. There are several hiking trails in the park which we’ve explored on previous trips. There is a small swim beach but as others have mentioned it’s quite a hike down the steps to get there. I don’t think we’ve ever been there that we didn’t see any deer. There is a little meadow just as you turn into the Bois D’Arch Ridge area and they are frequently there early in the morning or in the early evening. We’ve also seen them around the campsites. On one previous trip there was a couple deer within ten feet of our travel trailer. During this trip I saw a doe and fawn about two campsites away. They have two fishing docks which we’ve enjoyed using. During the summer months the campgrounds can be fairly crowded, although I don’t think they’ve ever been sold out when I’ve tried to make reservations. This past weekend the campgrounds were fairly empty. As with most of the Texas State parks were built by the CCC, so they are old and recent budget challenges have left them in disrepair. This year the budget situation has improved and I noticed that they had re-surfaced the roads in the campground. There is a yacht club in the park where you can buy bait and which has some boat rentals. The last time I checked the rental prices, they seemed pretty high and I think all they had available was pontoon boats. The nightly camping rate does not include admission to the park. If you don’t have a Texas State Park Pass, you have to pay $5.00 per day for each person 13 or over. By the way, when you buy a Texas State Park Pass, you also get a couple of electronic coupons for one-half off a day (night) of camping. The park has always been clean and the restrooms, while dated, are clean. Many of the sites in the Bois D’Arc Ridge area are not level. Several years ago we had a spot that was so unlevel, we overextended a jack on our old travel trailer. Many of the sites (particularly on the outside of the loops) are long enough for larger rigs. We were in site 82 which was over 100 foot long. They said it was “level” and it was level from front to back, but was not level from side to side. Our automatic leveling system had our right tires off the ground. They are supposed to have Wi-Fi available, but we didn’t use it, so I can’t report on it. We did have one complaint on this trip. There was a burn ban in effect, but it was not posted anywhere. I knew there were burn bans in some of nearby counties, but in the past fires were allowed in the fire rings. After we bought firewood from the park headquarters (again no mention of the burn ban) we were told by a Ranger that fires were only allowed for cooking and had to be extinguished after cooking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
First time to this Campground. Very organized. We were here over 4th of July and had a real nice time. We stayed in space 23, which had plenty of space, as well as a picnic table and fire ring. Sites all appeared level and the dump station was conveniently loocated. Easy access to self guided nature trail and park rangers were very accessible and helpful. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
We overnighted as part of a trip to Oklahoma and Colorado. This a very pretty park with a large lake. The pull through sites were asphalt with picnic table and fire ring. Some sites were not level. The rangers were friendly and helpful, allowing us to choose our site and recommending several local restaurants. There is an excellent swimming area within the park, but requires a short hike and water shoes for protection from the rocks. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Pretty park! Really nice shade trees with plenty of space for our rig, tow, tent and truck. Comes with a nice picnic table and fire ring. Saw a doe the first morning. There were several trails to the lake, or you could drive really close and walk in. Nice big lake, fun to even drive around. Boat rentals were too expensive. Rangers are friendly and pro-active. The tornado storm that hit OK was coming our way and they came around to notify us to watch out for strong winds and rain. If the tornado was heading our way they would use the bull horn to let us know. We were fine that night, but the next day it got a lot worse, so we left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
We camped in site 81. No water views in the park but level, nice trees, picnic table, fire pit, very quiet, and staff helpful. Will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
Rate reflects TX State Parks Pass coupon rate for FHU site. Not in the top tier for a Texas State Park. Our FHU pull-through was described as "semi-level" and it was a lot more semi than level. Plenty long, however. Sites are rather close together and lacking in privacy for a state park. Lots of trees. Excellent Verizon signal, nil ATT. Showers were adequate. Tables & fire ring/grill at each site. Next time we're in the area, we'll stay at the nearby COE campground instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
Our site was short as was most in the loop we stay in. We had asked for a water view but found out all the sites are on a bluff and the trees cover the water views. Park ranger did notify all of us to a major pending wind storm. We will not return to this park as others are nicer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$17
This is our favorite State Park. There are plenty of activities available at this park including fishing, hiking, swimming, boating and biking. If you’re quiet and patient the deer will amaze you. Don’t miss this one, but watch out for the pet rattlesnake in the office! The snake behind the glass is real and alive. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Beautiful campground. Nice large sites and nice fishing piers. We were just passing through and wanted to do a little fishing. It was very HOT for June. I wouldn't mind coming back at a cooler time of year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
Park is beautiful. Sites are very small and uneven. Some are not big enough to navigate into. Sites are close together with little privacy. Will not take the trailer back, but is a great place to see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$9
We camped in the full service sites. All are pull-thrus and they were not level. We considered this only a good stay for a pass through night. There were several campers that were U-Haul redos in the area that had sewer connections. Kind of tacky. There is no lake view in the full service camping sites. We were here when there were no leaves on the trees so you can imagine in the spring or summer there is absolutely no view. We would not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$21
We liked this quiet campground on the lake with lots of shade trees. No WiFi, but my AT&T air card worked OK here. The folks in the office were very friendly and helpful. The sites were large and very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
We have stayed here several times and I rate this park a 9. We would recommend it highly because it is family friendly, and the rangers that are here are very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
Nice park on the biggest lake in the state. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$15
This was a great park. It is just over an hour north of Dallas, and is a great getaway! The sites are spaced very well, so neighbors are not too close, but there are also group sites available. Dennison is nearby, and convenient for any shopping needs. There are some very nice views of the lake, as well as some good walking trails. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Visited the park for Labor Day Weekend, even though almost every site was booked the park was quiet and clean, it was very peaceful and we really enjoyed the stay. The only issue we had was bugs, lots of bugs in the evenings. It was perfect place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Nice SP with pretty views. Some sites are not that level, so bring a few blocks to level up with. My family of 4 would stay here again, both kids under 5. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
We love this park. Just across the dam on the Oklahoma side of the lake there is a wonderful catfish restaurant called Wendy's. The food is excellent and reasonable. We love this part of Texas and Oklahoma and are planning to move very near here in the next 12 months or so. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
Nice State Park with a variety of sites available. Plenty of water/electric and plenty of full hookups available. Mostly shaded sites; some were level and others were not. We have stayed here in our 29 foot 5th wheel and we would do so again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$19
This is a beautiful park. The staff was friendly. The lake was easily accessible either on foot or by car. I took my labrador retreiver to the lake with us and he had the time of his life. There are lots of hiking/biking trails in the park. The only draw back was (as others pointed out) the unlevel sites. Most of the sites I saw were not level (bring blocks). We arrived just before dark on a Friday and all of the level sites were already taken. Additionally, the web site indicates that they have an off-highway vehicle area, but that's somewhat misleading since you have to tow your motorcycle/4-wheeler to the small riding area (not practical if you towed it behind a motorhome). We will definitely be returning to this park soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$19
Sites are easy to get into. All are pull through. Sites 67,69,72,89,91,93 are all good ones we have stayed in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Nice camping facility. Most sites are pretty big and give you lots of room to enjoy. A few are on the inside of a loop road that makes them seem pretty close to one another, in particular, the odd numbered sites between 67 and 83 (not including 73 which is on the other side of the road for some reason). These would be nice if you are camping with friends or other family, but a bit close for my taste otherwise. Area is SLIGHTLY hilly, so the sites aren't terribly level. In general though, we have been able to get the trailer leveled up without too much trouble on several visits. Did find one site that wouldn't work for us though. Swimming beach is nice though a bit small. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2000
$14
Park is off I-75 at exit 72 then via TX 91 for 4+- miles. 48 sites have full hookups and are all pull through, 38 with water and elec only are back in. Sites aren't terribly level and separation can be poor. Sites have picnic tables and fire rings. CG has playground(s), dump station and several hiking trails. Access to Lake Texhoma affords boating, fishing and swimming. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com