219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Lady Bird Johnson Municipal Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 68 user reviews. Phone: (830) 997-4202
CGID2774

Lady Bird Johnson Municipal Park

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   5   8   9   10   10   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
We stayed in the "pecan orchard" part of the campground, not the upper portions near the airport runway. I am not sure there is a level site in this campground because it is constructed on a slope. Although the hookups were fine, the sewer connect was placed at an odd location, making connect nearly impossible. We used the dump station instead. A previous reviewer commented on the odd end-to-end pull through/back in sites, and it is peculiar. The design of the campground was developed by someone who knew little about RVs, and there is evidence the city has been attempting to retrofit. We were highly disappointed the pool was not yet opened (half way through June?). Part of the reason we chose this campground was because of the chance to cool off. Office staff friendly, efficient. Bath house was clean, but someone needed to take some time to clean the cobwebs from the ceiling. Looked like the stuff you hang out on Halloween. A mix of sun and shade, nice. Grassy lawn, with a few grass sticker spurs. Only two Digital TV stations on the antenna from San Antonio, you'll need the cable. C spire phone service was 4 bar 3G. Adjacent ball park practices and games were fun to watch. Nature center with extensive hiking trail system is about 1000 ft away. Speed limit at entrance to park is 70 MPH, so you have to be careful when exiting onto the highway. The LBJ home and Old Tunnel State Park bat watch were great stops for us. Fredericksburg shops were cute, friendly, and pricey. Farmers Market in the town square had some great fresh foods. Nearby laundromat across from the hospital was clean and good place to catch up on clothes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
A real nice city park. The sites near the office are a little close but very long. The sites in the Pecan Orchard down the hill are nice sized. Location is close to town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Your experience at this campground will depend on your rig & site! Read the past several reviews and you can tell all of these folks were in the large pull-throughs and not the butt-to-butt back-ins. The park puts rigs shorter than 35' into 1/2 of a 70' pull-through. So you back your rig up butt-to-butt with the rig behind you. You are literally 1 foot from the rig behind you when you get in "your" spot. To make matters worse, the hook-ups are in the middle on only one side. So one RV has the hook-ups on the correct (left) side and the other must run power & water under their rig, presuming they have a very long cord! Incredibly, some folks had pulled straight in and unhooked. Then another rig backs in front of them meaning the later rig must depart before the first rig can get their TV in to hook up. I've never seen such a poor set-up in my 90 campgrounds visited! Other than this ridiculous butt-to-butt parking, the CG is a 9 or 10. So I recommend you lie (yes lie) and tell them your rig is longer than 35' so you can get one of the nice pull-throughs or sit solo in one of the 70' pull-throughs. Oh, I almost forgot. The lady at check-in was berating someone on the phone who was complaining that their rig wouldn't fit in one of the back-ins. I watched several folks try to get in one of the back-ins only to give up and go somewhere else. Camp WiFi was slow but Verizon WiFi worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
Nice lady checking in and helpful. Next to airport, but it didn't bother us. Sites are OK. Large garbage cans at every other site. Showers/restrooms are old but clean. As stated in other reviews, if the toilet flushes, the shower flow goes away, but not for long. There are lots of stickers though so our little dogs were uncomfortable. But the town is a great German experience of food and chocolate! We highly recommend going to the National Museum of the Pacific War; awesome mix of video, audio, and real artifacts (planes, weapons, vehicles, subs). Must see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
Pretty, roomy sites. Bathroom and showers need serious updating - the shower handle has nearly corroded off. Someone flushed a toilet while I was in shower, and water flow dropped to a thin pencil, not enough to rinse a toothbrush. Planes are quite loud during day, but not at night. VERY quiet otherwise. I'd stay again, because of price. Showers are quite warm and roomy. I just disliked the corroded handle that worked oddly, and I really really hate the pressure problem. I'd just try to not go in peak season or peak usage times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
We were greeted by a friendly staff. Our site was easily assessable and level. The restrooms and showers were nice and clean. The $2.00 fee to enjoy the city pool was well worth it. Our site was next to the Airport runway and we enjoyed watching the small planes come and go. We highly recommend eating at the Airport diner. The campground is very close to town. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Huge grass lawns, adjacent to municipal airport where we were treated to vintage WWII aircraft taking off mid-day! Several playgrounds of different sizes, great pool, no mosquitos! Our campsite was easily accessed - as were all in the park. Staff was friendly and gave us good a great recommendation for places nearby to eat out. This park is in the hill country of Texas and we loved the area and this park. One of the highlights of our trip! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Level campsites on tar and gravel with grassy areas in front/behind each hilltop (premium) site. These premium sites overlook the airfield and Hangar Hotel. Staff was very courteous. All hookups/sewer/cable/electric worked very well. Internet had an additional charge but staff informed us that it didn't work very well and facility is looking to improve that service very soon. Lovely nature trail with 2 Geocaches in park. Beautiful bird feeding station and Butterfly feeding garden. Trash service was often and grounds were completely free of litter. Pet friendly staff gives pets a "welcome" dog biscuit. Park was very quiet with minimal campers. Staff did space people apart when so few campers are staying overnight, which is very appreciated. We viewed other campgrounds while in the area and were very pleased with choosing this one as it is the prettiest, quietest, and least expensive. Very convenient to site seeing with our Toad. Local law enforcement was visible driving through park several times a day. We will definitely stay here again very soon. I recommend visiting April or May for maximum wildflower viewing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
For a state park this is very nice. Obviously there are budget cuts so very little maintenance goes on. The hookups were a little dated and worn. One of my friends had to call out maintenance to make repairs so his electrical would work. Maintenance was there in a jiffy. The people that work here are really great; whatever you want that is OK with them. The restrooms and showers are very nice and clean. Have stayed here before and plan on going back again. I like the fact also there is a golf course in the park. Very friendly people there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
The park itself is OK. It's quiet at night and overall clean. The Wi-Fi however, which you have to pay for separately, is a mere joke. I could hardly ever get a signal, even close to the restrooms where the antenna was placed. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
This is a county park three miles south of the village with 90 sites. Sites are close together with full hookups and cable. Wi-Fi is extra. It cost $30 and must be paid with cash or check. The park has a golf course, ball fields, a river that runs through it for fishing, picnic areas, dancing patio, and driving range. Park was very quiet and the staff was very friendly at check in. We went by a number of RV campgrounds driving west on 290 and I think this is the best one in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Very nice park. Convenient to local attractions and services. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
We are staying in this park for the month of Jan. and it's a great park. Its clean, staff are friendly and are ready to answer any questions. Its built in a pecan grove & most of the trees are very tall and there's pecans everywhere. Our rig is 40' long & they put us on 2 sites that are back to back, but only charged us for 1 site. We would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
This was a pretty basic park, however, it was good value for the two nights we were there. The Wi-Fi was through an outside carrier. The service was easy to hook up to ($4/night). The pads are gravel and weren't that flat. The camp is about 3 miles South of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
A very convenient park in a great area. Fredericksburg was awesome, very good wineries, golf, friendly people, and campground. We stayed a week and the facility was good. Airport immediately behind GC was not busy so noise was only intermittent and not a factor. Would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
We have stayed here before. This time I can't get many channels on the cable. The washrooms are clean and the staff are very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Nice city park a few miles out of town by the municipal airport. We have stayed here before, and it is still a great place to stay for the price. Upper sites are nice pull throughs and are side by side. Lower sites are back in. Rate shown reflects a weekly rate. We will stay here again when in the Texas hill country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Good interior asphalt roads although rough in some spots. Level asphalt sites. Nice park-good birding and hiking. Next to the airfield: fun to watch the planes, but can be noisy at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
We stayed here on a Friday through Monday. Staff was very friendly. The Park is clean. Wi-Fi is $4 per day. Cable is free. We will be back to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
This park is getting old and tired and more expensive. Washrooms are cleaned but need some paint at the very least. Wi-Fi is intermittent. Rather go somewhere else where there is more for your money now. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Great location to tour local area. Park was quiet and well kept. Sites are sand and gravel which results in more cleaning of the motorhome. Airport is out your front door and can be somewhat noisy (we had site 89). Water pressure was great and trash cans are at the end of the sites. Overall a nice stay, but I just felt like something was missing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
We have stayed here happily for five years, but a problem has emerged recently. Management is changing your reservation and assigning another spot without advising you. This has happened to both our self and our friends' reservations made a year in advance for December 2012. The reason given: "regulars" who asked for these sites -- AFTER our reservations were made -- were given preference. We were given less desirable spots along the main road. In addition, our friends' reservations this past weekend were also changed, with their reserved spot given to "regulars" who wanted to be located next to each other. Our friends were assigned an alternate site that they could not use due to a tight approach. After working with accommodating weekend staff, they finally obtained a spot suitable for their fifth wheel. This policy is a management issue that we've not experienced in 10 years of RVing. As a government (city) run park, this policy of favoritism is especially inappropriate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Pros-nice staff, big enough sites, safe, cable TV. Cons-restrooms and showers are very tired. Hate that the sites are back to back when we have a back window. No clubhouse. Occasional use of a "Tasch" house. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
Pros: The showers were hot, and there was a nice warm heater in shower room. The Cable TV was excellent, just in time for the Super Bowl. Having at-site sewer hookups was handy. There is a 1-mile interpretive nature trail and bird-watching hut. There is a big area to walk dogs along the creek. And the price is right. Cons: Back-to-back RV sites, put our bedroom window within a couple feet of the RV behind us. And all the RVs are packed close together, not much space between them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Nice park with wide, level spaces and lots of shade. There is a lot to do and see in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
We came here to this park because of some of the reviews we read. Unfortunately our view is not the same. The sites on the ridge are very close together, long because they used to be back-to-back sites, but only about 20 ft apart. The "campers loop" is where we stayed because it looked somewhat roomier. It is, but when all of the sites are full you realize that there is little room from your neighbors. The main loop of the campground is all back-to-back sites where your rear bumper is right next to your neighbors in the adjacent site. For an RV park it isn't bad, it's just not any type of destination campground. The pool is big and very nice looking as are the tennis courts. The older bathhouses are tired but clean. The new ones looked good and were clean. There are garbage cans by each campsite that are picked up regularly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
We reserved for three nights, however, upon check-in were assigned a combined space (i.e., spaces 71/72) on the edge of a road on grass. No hard surface for our rig as other sites had. This space would not accommodate our two slide outs. We chose not to stay and requested our cash refund. When the receptionist "handed the money back" my wife counted it and was shorted $20.00. The receptionist could only respond with, "Oh I'm sorry." My wife showed her how to properly count back change. Upon exiting you have to negotiate between two steel posts over a drainage ditch. It was very tight and showed evidence of being struck by other RV'ers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
This RV park is part of a large municipal park that has an inviting nature trail, lots of grass (although our dog found lots of burrs), a golf course, and swimming pool. The sites at the very front of the park are rather close together but the park manager gave us space in the "horseshoe" where we had plenty of room to back in our travel trailer and spread out. It's a quiet park in the bustling German-flavored town of Fredericksburg that offers many historic attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
We were fortunate to get a spot for one night without a reservation. The campground appears to be very popular with "winter Texans." Access to our campsite was pull through, but was a bit tight for our 36' coach with towed vehicle. The sites were very deep, but the road into our site required careful navigation to avoid tables and trees. The grounds were clean and well kept. Tables and hookups were in good condition. We would stay there again, but would call ahead for reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
A bit tight on maneuvering in the lower campground, but still easy enough. Cable, Wi-Fi, plenty to do in the area, easy to find and swell folks in the check-in. This park is owned and operated by the city of Fredericksburg. If you like to play golf, bring your clubs, because the golf course is right next door. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
We were in Site 75 in the Horseshoe Loop. This is where to be: has paved roads, paved site. The other area has paved roads and gravel sites. Just about every site has shade. Picnic tables at all sites. Tons to do; tennis, swimming pool, ball fields, walking trail. Nice host. Short drive to historic Fredericksburg. There is an airport right next to the park. We only heard a few planes, all during the day. For peace and quiet, this is the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Nice park which is convenient for visiting the Fredericksburg area. Sites are pretty close together in the "upper" section (we were in #87). Sewer connection is in a strange location, and I almost ran over it. Caps were broken by someone who did just that. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We love this place. Spaces are large and level located in a pecan grove so shade is great. Satellite dish can be a challenge, but cable channel selection is excellent. Other utilities work very well. Third time we've stayed here while visiting friends in town. We'll definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We loved staying here! We were here to see the bluebonnets and wildflowers and, unfortunately, it rained the whole week. But the park was extremely clean, quiet, and the staff very helpful. We had a great view, and the only problem we had was the asphalt gave way on the rear end of the motorhome due to poor asphalt construction and much rain. We literally sunk our rear jack 6" into the asphalt. The motorhome across from us had the same problem and had to move their motorhome forward a couple feet in order to relevel. But, that aside, we would definitely stay here again, and look forward to staying here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
We spent four days here last week. The staff was friendly and the facilities were very good. The main purpose of this review is to warn Wi-Fi users of the woefully poor wireless service. Internet access at this municipal park is served by an outside company at the rate of $4.00/day. During the two days that I purchased access, the download speed rarely exceeded 2 Mbps. Generally, the speed remained at 1 Mbps!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
Clean, accessible to golf course and city. Internet not usable, very few pull-thru's . We were in site 85 BD, which was huge. Most of the sites are back-ins which is OK, but a "pain". Plenty of room for big rigs. Very clean park, nice managers, located in the heart of Bluebonnet country (early April). All hookups have water 30/50A, cable TV, new internet planned. Inexpensive $25/night for all. Easy to find, just stay on TX hwy 16 until you pass the airport entrance. Avoid turning onto FM 2093 which is just North of the airport/RV site. If you make this turn and are in a big rig or pulling a toad, it may be miles before you can find a narrow unpaved road headed south; and there are no places to make a U-turn. Trust me. If you are arriving from the DFW area, do yourself a favor, don't take I-35 W, take one of the many FM routes south through Cleburne, Glen Rose, Lampassas, etc to get to Fredericksburg; especially if travel is done during the Texas Bluebonnet season late March to mid-April. The roads are great and less dangerous than I-35. Must see Museum of the Pacific War. One of the best outside of Smithsonian. Navaho Grill is one of the few good restaurants, but you won't go hungry, many places to eat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
Great park, love the nature trails and area's to be able to bike and hike. Friendly new manager and friendly staff. Enjoyed our stay and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This place has back to back sites; two rigs back up to each other to share the utilities. One rig has to have 30-50 feet of sewer hose to reach. Even though the park was only half full they would not let us move to a site where we could reach the sewer outlet. For the $$ you can go into town and stay at one of the other RV parks and get a site with utilities or just go into town and the Walmart will sell you another sewer hose to hook up with. For basically a spot to spend the night it was not much above staying in the Walmart parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Very adequate park owned by the City in a great town. I do not care for the back-end to back-end sites but I can put up with it. Lots of kids & tents in the area but didn't have any problems. We'll return ASAP. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Second time we've stayed here, and once again we were very impressed. This is a great place to camp short term or long. Majority of sites are shaded by large pecan trees. (They do drip sap in the late summer, but it is easily removed.) The entire park is very well kept, neat and clean. All utilities are top notch. WIFI is pay as you go. Verizon Broad Band gets five bars. There was an airshow of sorts going on at the nearby airstrip which was a little noisy, but on the other hand, it is great fun to watch those guys fly. We'll definitely come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Gravel pull through in open field near road, no ambiance. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
This is not a camping type of park. It is for winter Texans, for overnighting and for a base station for visiting the area. The sites are very tight. On most back in sites you will be 1 foot from the back of the RV behind you. The shower houses are clean but not the greatest I have seen. There is no privacy in the shower area. They also have a serious fire ant problem and most sites have very little grass. On the other hand the folks that camp there and the ones that run the campground are very friendly. It is close to downtown Fredericksburg. If I am going down for the weekend I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Our favorite campground in Fredericksburg. Quiet; nice folks to deal with; very reasonable rates. Next to an airport, but, we heard no planes fly at night. Large tree grove in part of the park likely to affect satellite reception. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$8
This park is too good to be true. Best park for the money. The nightly rate is based on the monthly rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
This is a great park that is really convenient to Fredericksburg shopping and events. The area we stayed in had the sites back to back and it was a bit tight because we have a big coach and the fifth wheel behind us was big too. The hook ups are in kind of an odd place so make sure you have a long sewer hose and power cord. The water pressure was kind of low, but we really enjoyed the stay. The airport next to the park gave us hours of entertainment, there must have been an air show this weekend, because we saw all kind of vintage planes taking off and doing formations. But we never heard a plane at night. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
Overall this park is a fantastic park for the rate paid. Some people may be put off by tight turns and small spaces in the larger area of the park. Others may be put of by the airport right next door to the park. I rarely heard the small cessnas as they take off. We were fortunate to be there when many warbirds came for the day. I am an aviation buff. Some sites will have hookups on the wrong side of the RV so be prepared with extra long hoses and electrical cords if needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
What a great place to camp. Beautiful sites, wide and shaded. All utilities work very well. Good voltage on AC and outstanding water pressure. WIFI is pay as you go but the signal strength is excellent. Only tiny complaint is that the pecan trees which provide ample shade also produce ample sap which coated our Airstream. Not a big deal. It washes off with soap and water. We would DEFINITELY camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Shhhhhh! Don't tell anyone about this park! $20 a night for full hookups with cable. Most sites are paved, level, and some pull through. The pool is $1/per person/per day but it is Olympic sized and with an 11ft diving section. The sites are super far apart by RV park standards and lots of shady pecan trees. There is a nice new play ground right in the park. The only con is that on some of the back 2 back sites you may have to run your electric and water under your trailer, but there is sewer on BOTH sides. We enjoyed sitting outside and watching small planes take off at the airport. We will absolutely stay here again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
This is a great park. It is located close to town on Highway 16 to the south. The sites were spaced very nicely with plenty of room and level. The park is well kept and we enjoyed walking down by the creek and the nature trail. All of the basics worked well (50 amp power, water, sewer). The park is next to the city airport but that is certainly no problem. We probably heard about 4 or 5 small planes a day. We stayed here about 8 or 9 days and would certainly come back. If you are going to Fredericksburg, don't miss this beautiful RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This is a great park. It is located close to town on Highway 16 to the south. I would say that about 70% of the sites were occupied. The sites were spaced very nicely with plenty of room so we didn't not feel crowed at all. Bob the park host was very nice and helped us get settled in. He came by twice during our stay to check in on us. A very nice fellow. The park is well kept and we enjoyed walking down by the creek and the nature trail. Our daughter enjoyed the play ground equipment near the golf course. All of the basics worked well (power, water, sewer). We took our kayak and enjoyed a short run down the creek from one dam to the next damn. The park is next to the city airport and we did hear planes coming and going. We probably heard about 4 or 5 a day (we stayed for 2 nights). If you are going to Fredericksburg, this is the place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Shhh! Don't tell anyone else about this park. It is a delightful area 3 miles south of town. Roomy side-by-side sites on gravel, full hook ups with cable for $20. Wi-fi available for $3 but so weak it's not worth bothering with. Standard municipal type bathrooms that are clean. Next to the airport but just a few small planes took off or landed so not a noise problem. Some of the pull thrus require you to either pull in and back out or back in and pull out if you have a big rig but there's plenty of room to do it easily. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Nice spread-out park. We stayed at the upper part of the park, close to the office, very long spaces. We didn't do a lot at the park due to the weather, it rained both days we were there. Staff friendly/helpful. Close to many major stores and small shops. Some spaces close together. There are other facilities: fishing, BBQ, baseball fields, etc. but it rained so we didn't really use the park...WE SHOPPED, which there is not shortage of doing in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
One of our favorite places to stay in the Hill Country. They now have free wi-fi. We have stayed in spots where it worked and spots where it doesn't. Although a county airport is next door, we have only heard loud (jet) traffic on the weekends and not at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
This is a nice municipal park with nature trails, bird feeding station and good golf course. While the daily rate is $20, it is $250 a month with all amenities included! It is a bargain at the daily rate, but the monthly rate makes this place a steal. Many sites are under pecan trees. It is pretty windy many days and nights and is next to the town airport. There are no night flights and most of the planes are little. We would try to get back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
Very nice little park in the hill country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This is probably the best kept secret in Texas. Great park with large sites, huge grassy patio area between sites with picnic table. Lots of shade trees. Our site faced the airfield - minimum noise except for private planes taking off and landing. A Municipal Park owned and operated by City of Fredericksburg, with full hookups, including large selection of cable TV. Our site was treed but still rooftop satellite friendly. Extremely friendly and helpful management. We are planning a winter return stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
This is a city municipal recreation park with 90 sites. Full hook-ups with 30/50A. In addition, there are bathhouses, a pool, tennis court, 78 cable channels. picnic areas, pavilions, and a nice public golf course. No laundry facilities or fire rings. The majority of the sites are double side by side or front to back pull throughs. The dual hook up facilities are located in the middle of each site. Meaning- in one way or the other - you are going to share a site if the park is full. Avoid the back in only sites 73-80 unless you are happy doing a lot of back to front leveling. The front to back pull throughs are at least 30 feet but the side by side sites are awning to awning. Sites have trees to make it partially shaded, but they typically don't interfere with satellite reception. There is no road noise. The C/G is adjacent to the municipal airport, but airplane traffic is very light. The park is well maintained with a helpful staff. Voltage and water pressure are very good, even when it's are crowded. Any RV over 35 feet will find the front to back pull throughs a bit tight, but it is manageable. If I were rating the C/G by itself, I'd give it a 7 or three stars. But due to the amenities, closeness to town, being well maintained, and a $20/night fee, I give it an 8 or four stars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Clean and quiet. Run by the City of Fredericksburg, sites are $20 per night. Everything at this park was A+. Without question, the best value in Fredericksburg! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Very nice park. We were located at the top pull through sites along the airport runway. Noise was never a concern - very few airplanes. Good level site w/ full hookups. It was a bargain for this particular area at $20. We had a heavy rain, but puddles and mud was not a problem. Nice, helpful employees in the office. Because of weather, we had to extend our stay several days and we were accommodated without problems. Location south of town makes it a very nice quiet area. We will plan to stay here every time we are in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Very nice park at a reasonable price. We will gladly camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
Good for the price, but sites are small. We had to put our 24' trailer in caddy corner to park. Good space between sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
Lovely park on the south side of town. Enjoyed watching the occasional small plane take off and land from the municipal airport. Noise was never and issue. Playground is small. Deer and turkey sighted. Pool admission is $ 1.00, tennis courts and golf close by along with nice walking / biking trails. Creek to wade in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
This is a wonderful park managed by a friendly staff. There is so much to do here we keep coming back. You have a golf course, swimming pool, tennis courts, basketball court, volleyball area, fishing and more. Everyone we have met camping here were friendly. We parked our trailer for the 4th of July and watched an excellent fireworks display. This is our favorite RV park in Texas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
Very clean park with a true bargain price. We stayed here and visited the River Walk in San Antonio taking the toad rather than the motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
Very nice place. WiFi excellent. Don't let airport location scare you. About two or three take offs and landings a day. Golf course in park is very nice also. Showers are not private, but still very clean. Nice city park to use as a home base during visit. Some snow birds in park. Very nice views. Pull throughs on top of hill by airport runways. back ins futher down hill. Would return. This is a beautiful area and Fredericksburg a super town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
This was an excellent park for the low nightly rate. Full hook ups at a good area for 20 bucks is hard to find. There is a golf course sort of across the street and down a little. There is fishing at the municipal park area, baseball diamonds, and a large recreation area. We stayed here while visiting Fredricksburg and had a great time. The employees that run it are very nice and helpful. They have some pull through sites toward the front without a lot of shade and an area in the rear in a pecan grove with lots of shade trees. The only complaint I had at all is the site areas are gravel and ours was a little hard to level on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
Nice enough park. Friendly office help. Gravel sites, some better situated than others. Many sites are tandem with two rigs backed up to each other. In the front area where we stayed one night, your door opens directly to the other persons door about 12' away with a picnic table between. Since our neighbors dog was a barker, everytime we exited with our dog the barking started. The lower area was somewhat better designed. Utilities worked very well. Bigger rigs might find trees a bit challenging in some spots. Ok for overnight or short term visit to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Wonderful park on the edge of town. Adjacent to small municipal airport (no airplane noise while we were there) and county fairgrounds. Plenty of room for slideouts.Fire rings and picnic tables at each site.Playground and creek to wade in. Hiking trails. Golf, tennis and swimming were available for a small additional fee. We stayed in a motorhome in 2003. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com