224106 User submitted reviews online!!
Bayou Shores RV Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (409) 744-2837
CGID2778

Bayou Shores RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   1   6   7   4   9   5   5   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
We are here in a 45ft coach with 4 slides. There is plenty of room in site 32 and its right by the water. The other sites are smaller, but not bad. Its a great park and I was pleasantly surprised after reading bad reviews online. The employees are friendly. The only complaint I have is that there is dog poop on the grassy areas, but that caused by disrespectful campers that don't pick up after their pets. It would be hard for the park to monitor and police all pet owners all the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2014
$37
We were supposed to stay here 4 nights but checked out after one night. The sewer connection was open and about 18" above our sewer outlet so no gravity flow to drain tanks. There was an open sewer connection for the next site right outside our entry door with spilled sewage around it. The electrical box for our hookup had the ground wire dangling from the box and not connected and there were wires uncapped coming out of a conduit right next to the water connection. There was also dog feces right near our walk path to get to our door. The manager was totally unresponsive when we told him about the issues and of course refused to issue a refund. We had read some other reviews about the park but thought it couldn't be as bad as reported but found it to be worse. Don't stay at this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2014
$37
Sites are extremely narrow. With our slides open we were right up against the hookups for our site on that side and only had about 3 feet from our door to the next sites sewer connection. Sewer connections were open and appeared to have some spillage around them. We don't have pets but park must be pet friendly as "deposits" were in several places on our site. Site is grass and dirt. There were deep ruts due to mud when last renters were there. Due to issues with hookups and condition of site we left first thing next morning as soon as we could locate another park. Office person was unconcerned with our issues and refused to refund the remaining nights we had paid for. It was worth the money for us to move. Will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Overall, this campground was ok. It was kind of pretty with lots of Oleander and a few palm trees. The sites are grassy and level, but pretty narrow. Some sites have picnic tables, most do not. In the center of the campground is a pretty nice children's play area, however I did see quite a few fire ant beds there, and more than a few around the grounds. A launch/swimming area made the bayou very easy to access with our kayaks and that was the best part of the trip. It was a great area for our family to paddle. There was some boat traffic, but certainly not excessive. Bathroom were generally clean, but in need of maintenance: peeling paint, old sagging ceiling tiles, broken clothing hooks in the shower dressing areas. We didn't use the laundry facility, but it appeared to be clean and in good repair. The one thing that was very annoying came from across the street rather than the campground itself: a sushi restaurant that played loud music in the evenings way past midnight. There were no cable TV hook-ups, and WiFi was intermittent and painfully slow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$37
This is not a bad place to stay as long as you really need to be close to Moody Gardens or downtown Galveston. The slots were VERY narrow (once I had my slides open I had only a few inches to spare on each side). If someone had been next to me, it would have been a miserable camping experience. RV spots were grass/rock and not very level. There were quite a few old nasty RV's that looked to be permanent residents up near the front. I didn't use the bathrooms, but my guests did and they said they were OK, but quite old and need of a remodel. I had a water view slot, however the water was on the wrong side of the RV, so I had to pull my 5th wheel in truck first and drive my truck through the neighboring spot to get my truck unhooked. I would stay here again, only if I needed to be close to Moody Gardens. Otherwise, there are several other nicer RV parks with water views within 15 mins. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Camp spots are extremely tight. We had more room than most due to the small size of our trailer. Rigs with slideouts and awnings had to choose which they would use, no room for both and have any spot left. Limited activity going on, with the exception of a few kids in the playground and a few swimmers in the Bayou (crushed concrete access to the water). Park is not far from the Beach and Strand. Staff is friendly. In our opinion, this is not enjoyable camping. We won't stay here again unless there is no other place available in town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Great camp. We stayed here for a week so the nightly rate is a little cheaper. Very very friendly staff. Very helpful. It is right on the Bayou with great view's. Nice play area for the kids. Location is close to just about anything that you would want to go to. They do have Wi-Fi but it is not very strong, but does work. There is a restaurant/Bar right next to this property. Great place to have a dinner and watch the sun set. The park is a mature location but well keep. Would have gave it a 10 if they had cable. We will stay here again next time in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
We arrived after the office had closed, the assigned site was occupied. We parked at the available site next to our assigned site, which site the 30 amp hook-up was being used by our neighbor, fortunately we had a 50 amp adapter that we used to hook-up with. Friendly person changed our site next morning. Resort is in need up maintenance and cleaning around sites (trees, shrubs, ruts, etc.) Designated pet area is behind several of the sites and to use you have to go through a persons site. Several open walking areas, including playground, have animal waste throughout, which tells me some owners of pets here are irresponsible. No cable connection, was told it was not repaired since the last hurricane, but antenna reception was fine. Parking areas are full from overflow of guests. No club member discount available at Bayou Shores. Would stay here again if there were no other available RV sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$40
Stayed here during Mardi Gras & it had been raining very heavily so most of the park was flooded. The sewer drains were overflowing so they were useless and water was standing at least 4" deep in front of my camper. My biggest disappointment was because I had booked a waterfront spot several weeks prior but when I arrived they bumped me to the back of the park to make room for larger campers & I was extremely unhappy about that. Other than that, park is okay. Pretty crowded spots but bathrooms/showers clean, office staff very nice. We have had very good luck fishing in the bayou that fronts the rv park. It's only minutes away from Schlitterbahn and Moody Gardens. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$37
Convenience to attractions is the best reason to stay here. Staff was friendly and tried to be helpful but wasn't. This is an old campground which needs many improvements. Some shared hookups that are really inconvenient, ex. sewer on wrong side and caused a problem to dump. It was raining when I came in and the site was completely flooded with water. Wi-Fi didn't work on "back area" although staff thought it did. I took the trouble to move to the office area and wifi did work for 3 of 4 days. It went out one night and one day. I will check out the new city campground on the beach next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
Good location, easy access to I-45 and nice view of the bay. Nice staff who provided good information about Mardi Gras activities. The restaurant next door has the same owners and is OK. Some of the non-premium sites have a good view of the bay - better than the pull through sites. Sites are narrow - barely had room for our awning to be out without touching the RV next door. Nice happy hour Wed-Sat 3p-7p and Sun 11a-7p. Within biking distance of the seawall, but Galveston is not bike friendly at all outside of the path along the seawall. Between the park and the seawall (about 1 mile) there are areas with no sidewalk, broken sidewalk, sidewalk not cut for a driveway entrance, buckled sidewalk and the road doesn't have a bike lane. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Location of park is excellent. The upkeep and maintenance of the park could be improved significantly. Lots of trash in lots. Site had electrical problems, park staff did correct the problem promptly. I would probably stay here again Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
Nice park, but the place should actually HAVE WiFi like they claim. No signal could be detected. We've stayed here twice. Nice view of the bay. The restaurant next door (and owned by them) screwed up our food order multiple times on two visits. Fireworks visible on Friday nights from Moody Gardens. Wish I could score it higher than seven. :( We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
The view is great but there is too much trash in the campground, cig butts, dog waste and just plain old trash. The sewer and water hookups are on the opposite side of the electrical and most of the sewer pipes lacked covers. Not a very appealing sight or smell. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
Location, location, location and that's about all Bayou Shores offers! Not because it couldn't offer more, but because the management doesn't appear willing to do more. Located on the Southern shore of Offatts Bayou, Bayou Shores is the closest CG to historic downtown Galveston and the Gulf beaches. Unfortunately the men's bathroom had only one shower working and wasn't cleaned at all during our week long visit. The women's bathroom had the same "out of service until 5:00PM" sign on the door all week. My site included beer bottle caps, a few old D batteries and dog waste. What a shame. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
We spent 4 nights here and the park has been cleaned considerably. There is still hurricane debris in pockets all through Galveston. Some is left over from the current rebuilding of the area but it being cleared as expeditiously as possible. Water and electricity were good here and the management was accommodating. The view of the water was great and weather made for a nice trip despite 4 inches of rain the day we arrived. The campground is no resort but it is close to everything in Galveston and and a quiet oasis in the middle of town. It is a good place to use for touring Galveston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This was the only RV park open in Galveston when we wanted to go back. The State Park was still be rebuilt and the only other park on the island was in Jamaica Beach, so we stayed here. Overall, not a bad stay. About half of the park was long term, most of which were construction workers. They were gone early and back late, so we really didn't even notice. The one problem is the "restaurant" next door. It is actually a bar with a large patio and live bands. If you can, make sure your reservation is for section A or B. We were in A and with the doors/ windows shut and A/C running, the music was not an issue. If you are in section D, that might not hold true, as you would be backed up to the common property line. The bathrooms were clean, but one of the 3 showers in the men's was "Out of Order". We used the park as a place to sleep, heading out to Schlitterbahn, Moody Gardens and The Strand for most of each day. I would stay again, but would rather go back to GISP when it reopens. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
This place was horrible. 2 out of 3 toilets were cloggedr. Cockroaches were crawling around in the restroom at 11pm the night we arrived. There is no nice green grass as displayed in the picture..NOthing but fly away dirt that clings to everything including your shoes and feet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
One of the worst campgrounds we have ever stayed at. The shoreline was covered with trash and building materials that had been dumped there, not storm debris as the management said it was. The management couldn't answer any questions as to the condition of the boat ramp or docks listed on their website as part of the park when I made reservations, which were actually on the adjoining property, not part of Bayou Shores RV Park as listed. The campsites were not paved or gravel. We had no water at our campsite; we had to go purchase another hose to hook up our camper. The electrical outlet on the power pole didn't work. The campsites are very small. I understand a lot of workers are staying there right now while doing hurricane Ike related repairs, but the management should maybe enforce some rules as to the condition the campsites should be kept in. It is a campground, not a junkyard, car repair facility, or a dog breeding ground. We will never stay there again. I do not recommend this campground to anyone! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Poor quality of spots. We have stayed here three times: twice in pull through sites that are more like a driveway and hold water. Once in a really small site that was more like stuck in the bushes. We only use this park as a last resort when we want to go to Galveston. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
We camped here for 3 nights. It was a convenient location to friends we were visiting but that's where the good part ends. The sewer/water/electric hookups were on the wrong side of the coach so everything had to be fished underneath. The breakers couldn't handle the load of us and the coach next to us and kept blowing. The sewer connections were one small step above a hole in the ground and smelled bad. The bar next door (our site backed onto their parking lot) was noisy 'til very late. Very overpriced for what you got, might be OK for overnight only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
Upon looking at the web site I thought that this would be a very nice place to stay for a week. Upon arriving I found the sites to be cramped. My sewer connection was in front of my neighbors doors and my water connection was falling off of its post. There was a picnic table at my site however when I touched it, the table fell apart crashing to the ground. There is a bar next door and one of the patrons was passed out at the waters edge of the campground. Was unable to open my awning because it would be in the middle of campsite next to me. The website advertised that a manager was on duty 24 hours a day. I was unable to find anyone on site. I took my loss and packed up twenty minutes after arriving and found a new place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$27
We stayed here earlier this year, and I'm the guy that posted the review as 7. Sadly, we now have negative experience to share. We wanted to return for 3 nights early in August, and called to make a reservation two days in advance. They couldn't tell us if we could get a waterfront or waterview lot, and to make a reservation they required both a credit card number and our checking account number. When I protested giving both (especially the checking account number), she got beligerent on the phone and said that's their policy, if I don't want to follow it, I should stay somewhere else. So we did. I won't say that we'll never be back, but if we do, the devil will be wearing multiple sweaters and a down jacket! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$28
We stayed at this park in May '04. Things we liked about the park: Waterfront sites, nice view. Good Sam discount available Mon-Thur. Ease of getting to the park from I-45. Friendly office staff. Things we didn't like: Cramped sites, neighbor's sewer connection three feet from side door of our parked RV. Pop-up camper in next site virtually up against our RV. Messy waterfront. Broken concrete, etc. used as fill to prevent erosion. Cable TV available, but didn't work at our site. Modem in office, office closed after 5:00 pm. We will stay at this park again during the week due to our style of RV'ing which is to sight see rather than set up camp at a park. We used this park as a place to park with hook-ups and it worked okay for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$27
We're just back from a few days at this park, and had I looked at the prior 2 reviews, I never would have stayed there. It's really much better than the other 2 reviews indicated, in our opinion. What's good is that the view of the water is very pretty, and the staff seems quite helpful. The sites are grassy, and a bit soft. The park owner has built a reasonable restaurant next door, and there's lots within walking distance. What's bad is that there is one set of hookups shared by two sites, and if your hookup is on the patio side, you'll likely need hose and power cord extensions. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Went there for July 4th weekend. This place is dirty and old. They definitely need to update in the worst way. Broken down swing equipment. Tent campers were right outside our RV windows. Water edge had broken concrete and trash surrounding it. Getting cancellation $ back can take forever (and only by mail). They will not except credit card reservations over the phone. Only checks to hold a reservation. We have a 36' fifth wheel. It was very difficult to back in their crowded, tight slots. We will not be going back there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$22
The area was nice at first pull in. There is a nice bar & grill next door, but the trashed out water front doesn't do it any justice. There were rocks and broken up concrete mixed so there were no beaches. The only sand that we saw was a 10x20 ft. area that also doubled as the broken down boat ramp. We reserved a site a month out and it was occupied when we got there. We also setup a 5 day stay, but on the 5th day when we tried to check out the management told us that we scheduled to stay 6 days and the paperwork that stated that was missing. The owner was called in and he understood the problem, but said that they could not refund our money because we wrote a check. He said that they will send our money in the mail. A year later we are still waiting. The camp sites were small and close together we had space problems putting out our awnings. So for our future camping we will stay at the better RV park along the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com